SMS and voice APIs are bought by the message part and the minute, but the invoice also holds carrier fees, number rental and registration charges.
This guide ranks twelve providers on the first ninety days of setup, the real price once those extras are added, how an account and its balance end, and whether you can run it without a partner.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry
says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a
vendor. How that works.
In short
What SMS and voice apis software does
An SMS and voice API lets software send text messages and place or receive calls through a provider that connects to mobile carriers, billed per message part or per minute.
In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether
you can leave, and who each SMS and voice apis tool is built for. One rule sits on top of those tests:
Places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. Why those five, and why there is no
score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Per message by sender type plus number lease; amounts shown in the Azure calculator
—
Organisations already on Azure that want SMS next to chat, voice and email
Teams needing one sender for several countries or a fast launch
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a
different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the
entry says so.
Austin messaging and voice platform that lists per-part rates and passes carrier fees through
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best SMS and Voice APIs in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Telnyx lists local, toll-free and short-code rates separately, with RCS and MMS beside them. Registration for 10DLC is handled through a messaging profile in the portal or the API.
The 12-month renewal clause and 90 days' notice are worth reading before a commitment. Support is advertised as round the clock, and volume tiers only begin at 100 million parts a month, so small senders pay the base rate.
What stands out
Published rates
Carrier fees at cost
Self-serve
Where it costs you
Carrier pass-through can add nearly as much as the headline rate, per Telnyx's own worked example.
The network ownership claim is the vendor's statement and cannot be checked from outside.
Right for
Developers who want a printed per-part rate and direct control over US number types
Wrong for
Buyers wanting a fixed monthly price or a managed campaign tool
United StatesPay as you go per message part, published; carrier fees passed through at cost
Amsterdam messaging infrastructure sold by segment, destination and sender type
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best SMS and Voice APIs in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
The MessageBird API underneath Bird remains one of the better messaging integrations in Europe, and self-serve signup still works. The risk is commercial rather than technical: the product has been renamed, repositioned and repriced, and customers have had to redo their plans around it.
Each product now carries its own pricing, SMS by the segment with carrier and number fees on top, so a campaign's cost has to be assembled from several pages. Budget as though the packaging will change again.
What stands out
Segment rates
Plan capacity
Amsterdam
Where it costs you
Packaging and pricing have been reworked more than once
Each product is billed on its own terms, so the total takes assembling
Right for
Teams that want European messaging infrastructure with a self-serve start today
Wrong for
Buyers who need pricing stable over a three-year plan
NetherlandsPay as you go per segment by destination and sender, published; plans add balance or capacity
Austin voice and SMS API with a capped entry tier and a gated enterprise tier
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best SMS and Voice APIs in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
The page lists SIP trunking and audio streaming from small per-minute rates and a separate per-minute rate for voice AI agents, excluding telephony.
WhatsApp and Verify sit alongside SMS under Enterprise, with compliance options such as BAA, HIPAA and SSO. The company states a founding year of 2011 and offices in the United States and India, with its headquarters in Austin.
What stands out
Usage ceiling
Enterprise gate
US and India entry
Where it costs you
SMS appears only under the Enterprise plan, which starts at a published monthly minimum.
The entry tier covers the US and India only and is capped at a stated monthly usage.
Right for
Mid-sized senders in the US or India who will accept an enterprise minimum for coverage
Wrong for
Small teams sending SMS to many countries on a light budget
United StatesPay as you go for US and India with a usage ceiling; Enterprise plan with a published monthly minimum
Swedish messaging group listing SMS rates by country plus setup fees per number
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best SMS and Voice APIs in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Sinch carries other providers' traffic, so at volume the economics are hard to beat and worth negotiating. The company grew by acquisition and the consequences are visible: several consoles, several support organisations and documentation that assumes you know which lineage you are in.
Buy it for the routes and the rate card, with someone technical owning the integration. Do not buy it expecting one coherent marketing product.
What stands out
Country rate tables
Number fees
Trial sign-up
Where it costs you
Support quality depends on which acquired brand you signed with
The product estate is still several products wearing one name
Right for
High-volume senders with technical staff who will negotiate beyond the list rates
Wrong for
A marketing team that wants one tool and one contact
SwedenPay as you go per message by country, published; number setup and monthly fees extra
One pay-as-you-go account across SMS, email, Viber, WhatsApp and voice
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best SMS and Voice APIs in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Infobip built its own operator connections across markets other providers reach through wholesale, and that is the reason to choose it: fewer hops, better delivery reporting, and someone who can chase an operator.
Moments, the campaign layer, is competent without being the draw. SMS itself is pay as you go from a free account, with per-country prices on the website, but platform subscriptions and volume rates go through sales, and the console repays only the time you put into it.
What stands out
Multi-channel
Calculators
Sales for numbers
Where it costs you
Platform plans and volume rates go through sales
The console takes real time to learn
Right for
Senders reaching markets where route quality is genuinely unreliable without a local operator
Wrong for
A small European list that never leaves the EU
CroatiaPay as you go per channel with calculators; number prices and bundles quoted by sales
Raleigh carrier-backed voice and messaging API with a published US rate card
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best SMS and Voice APIs in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Bandwidth lists US 10DLC SMS and local voice rates, then quotes SIP trunking and other products. It says it built a nationwide all-IP voice network with a partner in the mid-2000s.
The legal page splits terms into an order form, a services agreement and product terms, so the commercial detail sits in documents you only see with a quote.
What stands out
Own voice network
US focus
Order forms
Where it costs you
Pricing beyond the US rate card is by request, and no trial is mentioned.
Contracts run through order forms that can contain minimum spend commitments.
Right for
US-focused businesses that need voice and messaging from a carrier-backed provider
Wrong for
Teams sending mainly outside the US or wanting self-serve signup
United StatesVolume-based, US rates published; other products quoted on request
Melbourne prepaid SMS credit with volume tiers and no subscription
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best SMS and Voice APIs in 2026.
Pricing on requestAsia-Pacific
ClickSend is a gateway with a friendly front end, born in Perth and part of the Sinch group since 2022. Messages go out from a web dashboard, email-to-SMS, a long list of integrations or the API, and every rate per country is published, so a finance team can check the invoice.
That makes it a sensible default for an Australian, American or British business sending operational texts and simple campaigns. The marketing layer is thin, though, and the prepaid tiers reward committing money before you know your volume.
What stands out
Prepaid credit
Volume tiers
Inbound replies
Where it costs you
Campaign tooling is basic next to a marketing suite
Better rates depend on committing credit in advance
Right for
Businesses sending to several countries without a contract or sales call
Wrong for
Retail marketers wanting journeys, segments and revenue attribution
AustraliaPrepaid top-up credit with volume tiers; no subscription; trial offered
Pay-as-you-go SMS with itemised fees for carriers, numbers, failures and add-ons
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best SMS and Voice APIs in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Twilio is the reference implementation for programmable messaging: published rates, self-serve, thorough documentation, and an export path that is just your own database. Scored on independence it wins the page.
Scored on what a marketer receives on day one, it loses: standard STOP replies on long codes are handled by default, but consent capture, scheduling, segmentation and reporting are all yours to build and then to keep working. For regulated European buyers the jurisdiction question also stays open.
What stands out
Itemised fees
Add-on pricing
Developer docs
Where it costs you
There is no marketing application; you build it
US company and US jurisdiction regardless of the data centre
Right for
Product teams building messaging directly into their own application or product
Wrong for
A marketing department with no engineering time to spare
United StatesPay as you go per segment, published; discounts with volume or sales
Messaging vendor with a prepaid self-serve plan and sales-led tiers
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best SMS and Voice APIs in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The packages page offers Prepaid as a do-it-yourself pay-as-you-go plan, and three tiers priced by sales. The platform list includes Broadcasts, Automations, Chat Desk and Payments, with SMS, WhatsApp, Apple Messages, Web Chat and USSD as channels.
The site states no country of establishment in the pages read, and a country regulations page sits under resources.
What stands out
Prepaid plan
Sales-led tiers
Chat commerce
Where it costs you
The SMS rate calculator showed no figures in the page text, so prices were not visible.
Only the prepaid plan is self-serve; Connect, Interact and Transact need sales.
Right for
Teams wanting a prepaid trial first and a chat-commerce platform later
Wrong for
Developers who need rates and a legal entity stated up front
Not stated by the vendorPrepaid pay-as-you-go plan; other tiers quoted per organisation
SMS, voice, Verify and number lookup APIs billed per request
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best SMS and Voice APIs in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The docs present a Messages API for SMS and a Voice API that both need an application created in the developer dashboard. Verify supports Silent Authentication as the first channel in a workflow, and Number Insight returns phone number details.
The SMS page promises auto-redaction for privacy and lists SMPP access in its concept guides, which suits high-volume senders.
What stands out
Per-request billing
Verify
Number lookup
Where it costs you
Commercial pricing pages could not be read, so rates and minimums are unchecked here.
Sender identity and US registration rules are spread across separate guides.
Right for
Developers who want per-request billing and Verify or number lookup beside SMS
Wrong for
Buyers who need printed rates and a stated country before comparing
Not stated by the vendorPay as you go per request against a balance topped up in the dashboard
AWS pub/sub service whose SMS is delivered and billed through End User Messaging
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best SMS and Voice APIs in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Standard topics are billed per request and delivery, with each 64 KB chunk counted separately.
For SMS, End User Messaging lists 10DLC numbers at a monthly fee, toll-free numbers at a higher fee and a dedicated short code at a much larger one, plus one-time 10DLC registration charges. AWS may end the customer agreement for any reason on 30 days' notice.
What stands out
Pub/sub
AWS billing
Cloud only
Where it costs you
The US SMS rate is in a downloadable file, not on the page, and carrier fees vary by number type.
The pricing page lists no SMS-specific allowance, only the general AWS offer.
Right for
Teams already on AWS who add SMS alerts to an existing topic design
Wrong for
Buyers wanting a standalone SMS provider with simple prepaid billing
United StatesPer request and delivery for topics; SMS by destination country under End User Messaging
Microsoft cloud APIs for SMS, voice, chat and email tied to billing address
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best SMS and Voice APIs in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Provisioning times in the docs run from instant for dynamic alphanumeric sender IDs to six to eight weeks for short codes, with toll-free at five to six and 10DLC at two to three.
Short codes carry throughput up to 6000 messages a minute. Opt-out handling is automatic for toll-free numbers and short codes, and Teams users interacting with Azure apps cost nothing.
What stands out
Azure billing
Sender-type limits
Cloud only
Where it costs you
Sender types are tied to the country of the billing address, and one sender cannot cross countries.
Microsoft's own overview warns of breaking changes and retirements of some services.
Right for
Organisations already on Azure that want SMS next to chat, voice and email
Wrong for
Teams needing one sender for several countries or a fast launch
United StatesPer message by sender type plus number lease; amounts shown in the Azure calculator
An SMS and voice API lets software send text messages and place or receive calls through a provider that connects to mobile carriers, billed per message part or per minute. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is
the order we would work through them.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
6 of the 12 tools here publish what they cost; the other 6 quote per organisation. The ones you can compare without a sales call: Telnyx, Bird, Plivo, Sinch, Bandwidth, Twilio.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
These 12 vendors are established in 6 countries across 4 regions (North America 6, Europe 3, Elsewhere 2, Asia-Pacific 1). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
Registration decides your SMS launch date more than the API does
In the US, the API call is the easy part. Azure Communication Services documents provisioning times of two to three weeks for 10DLC, five to six for toll-free and six to eight for a short code, and Amazon SNS sends through AWS End User Messaging, which lists a dedicated short code at a large monthly fee plus one-time brand registration and vetting charges.
Telnyx handles 10DLC through a messaging profile in its portal or API. Alphanumeric sender IDs launch instantly in some countries and need pre-registration in others. Decide which number type your traffic needs, then count weeks for approval before comparing any per-message rate.
Which sender type does your use case need in each destination country?
How many weeks does registration take, and who submits it?
Are brand, vetting or campaign fees one-off or monthly?
Carrier fees turn a headline SMS rate into a different number
Most vendors here quote a base rate and bill carrier fees on top. Telnyx works through a million parts: the base charge plus a blended carrier pass-through that nearly doubles it. Twilio lists a base segment rate, carrier fees per network, number rental, a charge for failed messages and add-ons priced per outbound SMS.
Bird's headline is lower, with carrier fees extra. Sinch tabulates rates by country plus setup fees per number. Multiply your expected volume by the all-in figure for your actual mix of networks, not by the headline.
Is the carrier fee in the quoted rate or added on top?
Are failed or undelivered messages charged?
Which add-ons are priced per message?
Plan gates decide who gets SMS at all
Plivo's pay-as-you-go tier covers the US and India with a stated usage ceiling, and SMS, WhatsApp and Verify are listed under Enterprise from a published monthly minimum. Bandwidth publishes US rates and quotes the rest. Clickatell offers a prepaid plan and sells its other tiers through sales.
Infobip prices numbers and senders by quote. The shape matters more than the unit price: a team of three sending to five countries can be pushed into the enterprise bracket by coverage alone. Ask which countries, features and throughput limits sit on the plan you would buy.
Which countries are included on the entry plan?
What throughput applies before you pay for more?
Is the minimum monthly spend published or quoted?
Exit terms and balances are written into the small print
Telnyx renews in 12-month terms, asks 90 days' notice and allows deactivation once the balance is low and no commitments apply. Twilio treats paid fees as non-refundable and allows termination on 30 days' notice.
Bird may end an account idle for 12 months, deletes stored customer data within 45 days after termination and does not refund prepaid balances after a compliance suspension. AWS may terminate the customer agreement for any reason on 30 days' notice. Read these clauses before you load a large balance, and keep message logs in your own storage.
Is any unused prepaid balance refundable on exit?
How long is the notice period and the renewal term?
How are message logs and numbers returned or ported?
What goes wrong most often when buying SMS and voice apis software
Comparing base rates without adding carrier fees, number rental and registration charges.
Choosing a provider before checking which number type each destination country requires.
Loading a large prepaid balance before reading the refund and idle-account clauses.
Treating an API that sits inside a cloud account as a standalone SMS service when billing and permissions come with it.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best SMS and voice apis in 2026?
Telnyx leads our ranking of 12. Telnyx prints its US rate per message part and bills carrier fees at cost on top, so a month can be calculated before signing. Its own worked example nearly doubles the headline rate once carriers are added.
The site says Telnyx runs the network end to end, a claim we could not test. Terms renew in 12-month blocks with 90 days' notice, though an account with no commitments can be deactivated.
Which SMS and voice apis tools publish their pricing?
6 of the 12, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Telnyx: Pay as you go per message part, published; carrier fees passed through at cost.
Bird: Pay as you go per segment by destination and sender, published; plans add balance or capacity.
Plivo: Pay as you go for US and India with a usage ceiling; Enterprise plan with a published monthly minimum.
Sinch: Pay as you go per message by country, published; number setup and monthly fees extra.
Bandwidth: Volume-based, US rates published; other products quoted on request.
Twilio: Pay as you go per segment, published; discounts with volume or sales.
The other 6 quote per organisation.
Is there a free SMS and voice apis tool?
No. None of the 12 offer a usable free tier.
Where are these SMS and voice apis vendors established?
In 6 countries across 4 regions: North America 6, Europe 3, Elsewhere 2, Asia-Pacific 1.
Telnyx: United States.
Bird: Netherlands.
Plivo: United States.
Sinch: Sweden.
Infobip: Croatia.
Bandwidth: United States.
ClickSend: Australia.
Twilio: United States.
Clickatell: Not stated by the vendor.
Vonage API: Not stated by the vendor.
Amazon SNS: United States.
Azure Communication Services: United States.
What should you use instead of Telnyx?
Bird and Plivo are the next two on this page. Bird is for teams that want European messaging infrastructure with a self-serve start today; Plivo is for Mid-sized senders in the US or India who will accept an enterprise minimum for coverage.
Who should not buy Telnyx?
Buyers wanting a fixed monthly price or a managed campaign tool. Carrier pass-through can add nearly as much as the headline rate, per Telnyx's own worked example..
If your SMS and voice apis product belongs among these 12, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.