Virtualization has become a purchasing question again, because licence changes at the largest vendor pushed many buyers to compare alternatives.
This guide ranks twelve platforms on first-quarter setup effort, the price once support and add-ons are included, how easily workloads leave, and whether you can run the product without a partner.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry
says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a
vendor. How that works.
In short
What virtualization platforms do
A virtualization platform is software that runs many virtual machines on shared servers, and usually adds clustering, live migration, backup hooks and management, sold per socket, core, host or inside a larger subscription.
In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether
you can leave, and who each virtualization platform is built for. One rule sits on top of those tests:
Places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. Why those five, and why there is no
score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Per CPU socket term entitlement inside Citrix subscriptions; contact Citrix sales
—
Citrix customers who already own a subscription that includes XenServer
Buyers wanting a hypervisor sold and priced on its own
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a
different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the
entry says so.
KVM and container platform from Vienna, sold as per-socket support subscriptions
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Virtualization Platforms in 2026.
Self-hostablePublished pricingEurope
Proxmox sells the platform and its support in one place. The pricing page lists four subscription levels per CPU socket per year, with core count not affecting the price. Standard and Premium add remote support over SSH.
The platform combines KVM virtual machines and Linux containers behind one web interface, and Proxmox Datacenter Manager adds a central view across several clusters. Tickets are limited on the lower tiers, so plan the support level around how often you expect to need help.
What stands out
AGPL-3.0
Self-hosted
Per-socket support
Where it costs you
Subscriptions are counted per CPU socket, and all nodes in a cluster must use the same support level, so one critical host raises the bill for the rest.
The cheapest tier is forum-only and meant for non-production use, so a production estate needs at least the Basic tier with three tickets a year.
Right for
Teams with Linux skills who want published per-socket prices and no reseller in the middle
Wrong for
Teams wanting a hypervisor with round-the-clock support on every tier
AustriaPer CPU socket per year in four support tiers, published; all features at every tier
Xen-based hypervisor from Vates with Xen Orchestra management and host-based support
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Virtualization Platforms in 2026.
Open sourceSelf-hostablePublished pricingEurope
XCP-ng runs on your own hardware and is managed through Xen Orchestra, a web console that also handles backup. Vates sells the bundle as plans: two fixed-price plans for up to three hosts, then Pro and Enterprise per host with minimums of three and four.
Three-year and five-year terms are listed with savings of up to 10 and 15 percent. Storage clustering (XOSTOR) and monitoring add-ons are priced separately, so total cost grows with the modules.
What stands out
Xen-based
Self-hosted
Vates support
Where it costs you
Support with an SLA is sold only inside Vates plans, so running production on community help alone means no contractual response time.
The Essential plans stop at three hosts, and the per-host plans start at three or four hosts, so the pricing shape fits clusters rather than single servers.
Right for
Teams that want a Xen hypervisor with a web console and host-based support
Wrong for
Buyers who want one named vendor for hardware and software
FranceHypervisor without licence fees; Vates support plans per host, published
Integrated hypervisor and storage for small clusters and many edge sites
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Virtualization Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Scale Computing positions HyperCore for edge locations, from one to 50,000 sites according to its about page. The Professional Essentials tier fixes a three-node cluster with 256 GB of RAM per node, which suits a small business that wants a predictable shape.
A remote sandbox and an on-site trial are offered. The ownership history matters for a long contract: the brand is the result of an acquisition in 2025 and the owner states Oaktree backing.
What stands out
Edge sites
Per-core
Three tiers
Where it costs you
The site shows no price list, only a pricing tool, so you cannot compare totals before entering your configuration.
Replication and GPU virtualisation are listed under Professional, so disaster recovery needs the higher tier.
Right for
Organisations with many small sites that want one integrated platform and a trial
Wrong for
Large single data centres wanting to reuse existing servers and arrays
United StatesAnnual per-core subscription in three tiers; price built in an online tool
Apache-licensed hyperconverged platform on KVM and Kubernetes, sold by SUSE as SUSE Virtualization
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Virtualization Platforms in 2026.
Open sourcePricing on requestEurope
The project page describes Harvester as hyperconverged infrastructure for bare metal, using KVM for virtual machines and Longhorn for replicated storage. SUSE's product page adds built-in high availability: if a node fails, affected VMs restart on healthy nodes.
Migration is covered by the VM Import Controller for VMware and by Coriolis for AWS and Azure. SUSE pairs it with SUSE Rancher for managing Kubernetes clusters alongside VMs, a further product to learn.
What stands out
Apache-2.0
KubeVirt
Bare metal
Where it costs you
It is built on Kubernetes, so administrators who only know classic hypervisors have a new layer to learn before the first VM.
The project page describes installation onto bare metal servers, so you need spare hardware to try it.
Right for
Teams that already run Kubernetes and want VMs and containers on one platform
Wrong for
Admins who want a classic hypervisor console and no Kubernetes
GermanyOpen source, no per-CPU or per-VM fees stated; support from SUSE
Hyperconverged cloud software for service providers, from a Schaffhausen entity
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Virtualization Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
The company lists Virtuozzo International GmbH in Schaffhausen, Switzerland, and Virtuozzo Inc. in Bellevue, Washington. Its support plans run from a four-hour urgent response on Standard to thirty minutes on Enterprise, with annual ticket limits of 24, 48 and unlimited.
A technical account manager is offered on the Enterprise plan. The open source OpenVZ container project and the VzLinux operating system trace back to the same company, which helps if you already run them.
What stands out
Service providers
Multi-tenant
OpenVZ origin
Where it costs you
No software price appears on the pages we reviewed, so a buyer cannot estimate the first-year cost before contact.
The product messaging is written for providers reselling IaaS, so an enterprise IT team may buy multi-tenant features it never uses.
Right for
Hosting companies and MSPs that resell cloud capacity under their own brand
Wrong for
A single company wanting a simple per-host hypervisor price
SwitzerlandSoftware price not stated on the pages reviewed; three support tiers
Hypervisor included in Windows Server, priced through the core-based server licence
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Virtualization Platforms in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
The documentation describes Hyper-V as a type-1 hypervisor with live migration, high availability and Hyper-V Replica for disaster recovery in Windows Server. The pricing page shows suggested prices for Windows Server 2025 Standard and Datacenter, both core-based.
The virtualisation rights are the lever: Standard permits two guests plus the host role per licence, Datacenter permits unlimited guests. Microsoft is a very large vendor, so its sixth place reflects independence and Windows-licence cost, not weak technology.
What stands out
Windows Server
Per-core licence
Included
Where it costs you
Standard allows two virtual machines per licence, so a dense host needs Datacenter at a much higher list price.
Client access licences are required on top of the core licences, which a hypervisor-only comparison easily forgets.
Right for
Windows-centred companies that already license Windows Server for their hosts
Wrong for
Estates mostly running Linux guests and avoiding Windows licensing
United StatesIncluded with Windows Server; core-based list prices published
System containers and KVM virtual machines under one tool, with Ubuntu Pro support
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Virtualization Platforms in 2026.
Open sourcePricing on requestElsewhere
LXD is image based, with images for many Linux distributions and Windows VMs, and has built-in snapshots, live migration, projects and hardware passthrough. Long-term releases arrive every two years with five years of support.
MicroCloud, a Canonical product built on LXD, targets edge clusters. VMs use VirtIO with UEFI Secure Boot and vTPM support. The Canonical site lists a group address in the Isle of Man and offices in London.
What stands out
AGPL-3.0
System containers
Clusters to 50 servers
Where it costs you
Clusters are described as up to 50 servers, so very large estates need several clusters.
Commercial support is bought through Ubuntu Pro, so the support bill follows your Ubuntu subscription rather than the virtual machine count.
Right for
Linux teams mixing containers and VMs who already run Ubuntu servers
Wrong for
Windows-first estates needing a full graphical hypervisor suite
Isle of ManOpen source under AGPL-3.0; commercial support through Ubuntu Pro
Hypervisor built into Nutanix Cloud Infrastructure, licensed per core and not sold alone
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Virtualization Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Nutanix Cloud Infrastructure term licences run on Nutanix appliances, OEM platforms, third-party servers and public cloud, and the licence must cover all cores of the cluster.
Nutanix Move handles migrations, and features named on the AHV page include live migration, high availability and the Flow microsegmentation. Editions are Starter, Pro and Ultimate; Pro lifts the 12-node cluster limit. All licences are terms that must be renewed to keep software access and support.
What stands out
Hyperconverged
Per-core
Term licence
Where it costs you
AHV cannot be bought alone, so a hypervisor swap also means adopting the Nutanix storage and management layer.
The Starter edition limits clusters to 12 nodes, and recovery sites need a separate licence.
Right for
Mid-size data centres wanting hypervisor, storage and management from one vendor
Wrong for
Teams that only want a hypervisor and keep their own storage
United StatesIncluded in a per-core Nutanix Cloud Infrastructure term licence; not sold separately
KVM virtual machines running inside an OpenShift Kubernetes cluster
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Virtualization Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Red Hat lists included migration services and links its Migration Toolkit for Virtualization for moving VMs. The VM-only edition removes containerisation features and uses per-node licensing for bare metal.
Management of the surrounding estate links to Advanced Cluster Management and Ansible Automation Platform, which are separate products. Red Hat's company page gives a Raleigh, North Carolina address. The trial link leads to an OpenShift trial rather than a standalone virtualisation one.
What stands out
KVM
Kubernetes
Included with OpenShift
Where it costs you
It runs inside an OpenShift cluster, so a VM-only team must also operate Kubernetes.
The pages reviewed show no prices, and the licence metric differs between the full platform and the VM-only engine.
Right for
Organisations already running OpenShift that want VMs beside containers
Wrong for
Teams without Kubernetes skills wanting a plain hypervisor
United StatesIncluded with any OpenShift subscription; separate VM-only edition, no prices shown
Community-run KVM management project with a self-hosted engine and no vendor price
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Virtualization Platforms in 2026.
Open sourceSelf-hostablePricing on requestElsewhere
oVirt installs the engine as a virtual machine on one host, and a second host makes the engine highly available. Hosts can be oVirt Node, a minimal CentOS-based image, or a standard Enterprise Linux install.
Storage options listed include NFS, GlusterFS exports and iSCSI. The site mentions KVM, OVN networking, high availability and Ansible automation. Release 4.5.7 is the current one named, and the nightly snapshots are advised against for production.
What stands out
Apache-2.0
KVM
Community-driven
Where it costs you
The site names no company or support offer, so there is nobody to hold to a response time.
Engine and hosts are listed on RHEL 9 or 10 and CentOS Stream 9 or 10 only, which narrows the operating system choice.
Right for
Experienced Linux admins already on RHEL-family hosts who accept community support
Wrong for
Buyers who need a vendor contract or a named support desk
Not stated by the vendorOpen source under Apache-2.0; no price stated
Established hypervisor, now sold by Broadcom as per-core subscriptions
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Virtualization Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The June 2026 vSphere Foundation documentation lists the components included, among them the vSphere Kubernetes Service. It defines a core as a single physical computational unit of the processor and requires the licence count to match the server's cores.
A customer may run the software on a server with up to the licensed number of cores. We read this document rather than a price list, so figures come from your reseller or Broadcom.
What stands out
Subscription only
Per-core
Broadcom
Where it costs you
Every core on a server must be licensed, including cores deactivated in the BIOS, and each processor counts as at least 16.
The software is sold as a subscription, so leaving it later means the licence stops while your virtual machines still need a destination.
Right for
Estates with large existing vSphere skills and budget for a Broadcom subscription
Wrong for
Small clusters watching per-core minimums and renewal costs
Not stated by the vendorSubscription per core with a 16-core minimum per processor; no price on the pages read
Xen-based hypervisor now reachable only through Citrix subscriptions, with a trial
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Virtualization Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The site describes a Premium edition counted per populated CPU socket, with unpopulated sockets needing no licence. A promotion gives eligible Citrix customers 10,000 XenServer Premium socket licences without charge.
The entitlement route runs through three Citrix subscription names listed on the pricing page. The XenServer 9 release page mentions improvements for Citrix DaaS and non-Citrix environments, so non-Citrix use is supported, only the purchase path is tied.
What stands out
Per-socket
Citrix entitlement
XenServer 9
Where it costs you
It is only available as an entitlement of a Citrix subscription, so a non-Citrix buyer cannot purchase it on its own.
Prices go through Citrix sales or a partner, so you cannot compare a total before contact.
Right for
Citrix customers who already own a subscription that includes XenServer
Wrong for
Buyers wanting a hypervisor sold and priced on its own
Not stated by the vendorPer CPU socket term entitlement inside Citrix subscriptions; contact Citrix sales
A virtualization platform is software that runs many virtual machines on shared servers, and usually adds clustering, live migration, backup hooks and management, sold per socket, core, host or inside a larger subscription. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is
the order we would work through them.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
3 of the 12 tools here publish what they cost; the other 9 quote per organisation. The ones you can compare without a sales call: Proxmox VE, XCP-ng, Microsoft Hyper-V.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
These 12 vendors are established in 7 countries across 3 regions (North America 4, Europe 4, Elsewhere 4). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
03
Consider whether you want the source
4 of these are open source: XCP-ng, SUSE Harvester, Canonical LXD, oVirt. Hosting one yourself trades a subscription for maintenance.
What a Proxmox VE or vSphere licence counts, and why that matters
The metric decides the invoice more than the headline price. Proxmox VE counts populated CPU sockets per year and says core count does not change the price. VMware's vSphere Foundation counts cores, with a minimum of 16 per processor, so a small server is billed for cores it lacks. Nutanix prices per core inside a term licence, and XenServer counts populated sockets within a Citrix entitlement.
Vates charges per host, with fixed plans for up to three hosts. Work out your sockets, cores and hosts first, then run every product through the same sheet. Add the support tier you will really need, because several products separate software from support. Nutanix, for example, says licences must cover every core of the cluster and recovery sites need their own licence, which a per-server estimate misses.
Count sockets, cores and hosts for the current and the planned estate
Check any minimum per processor, per host or per order
Price the support level you need, not the cheapest tier
Open source platforms sell support, so buy the tier you will use
Proxmox VE, XCP-ng, SUSE Harvester, oVirt and LXD can all be run without paying the vendor, but that is not the same as running them without support. Proxmox states that all features are in every tier and sells ticket allowances and response times. Vates sells production-grade support only inside its plans. oVirt names no company or support offer on its site.
LXD leans on Ubuntu Pro for commercial support. A team that cannot staff weekend incidents should price a paid tier from day one, and a team that can may prefer the community route with a tested restore plan. Also read the small print on scope: the Essential plans from Vates stop at three hosts, and Proxmox Basic allows three tickets a year.
Find who answers a production incident, and in how many hours
Check ticket limits per year on the tier you intend to buy
Confirm which operating systems and versions are supported
Moving off VMware means checking the migration path before the price
The tools differ. SUSE's VM Import Controller connects to vCenter or ESXi hosts and moves VMs from the interface, and Coriolis covers AWS and Azure sources. Red Hat links its Migration Toolkit for Virtualization and mentions included migration services. Nutanix names Move for migrations. Vates sells a fixed-scope migration package delivered by its engineers.
Ask each vendor for the supported source versions, whether the tool is included in the price, and how a rollback works. A cheaper platform that needs weeks of manual conversion costs more than its list price suggests. Also ask what happens to licences during the move, since you may pay for the old platform and the new one in parallel for the length of the migration window.
Ask which source hypervisor versions the migration tool supports
Check whether the tool or service is included in the quote
Test a rollback on a non-critical VM before committing
Small sites, Windows estates and providers need different shapes
Scale Computing HyperCore is built for many small sites and offers a fixed three-node Professional Essentials tier, a shape that suits a small business with one server room. Microsoft Hyper-V costs nothing extra in the hypervisor, but Windows Server Standard covers two virtual machines per licence and Datacenter covers unlimited ones, and client access licences apply.
Virtuozzo targets providers selling cloud capacity under their own brand. Match the product to that shape rather than to the longest feature list, because the wrong shape is the usual cause of regret. Scale Computing also states that its pricing comes from an online tool, so enter your real configuration before comparing it with published per-socket prices from Proxmox or per-host prices from Vates.
Decide whether you run one site, many sites or resell capacity
Count Windows guests per host before choosing between Hyper-V editions
Check cluster size limits, such as 12 nodes on Nutanix Starter
What goes wrong most often when buying virtualization platforms
Comparing list prices per socket with prices per core without converting both to cost per host.
Assuming open source means no support cost, then having no contract when a production incident arrives.
Choosing a platform for its hypervisor and discovering later that it is only sold bundled with storage or another subscription.
Skipping a restore and rollback test, so the first real test of the new platform is a failure.
07
Frequently asked questions
8 answers
What are the best virtualization platforms in 2026?
Proxmox VE leads our ranking of 12. Proxmox Server Solutions GmbH of Vienna builds this platform, and the code is licensed under the AGPL version 3.
You pay for support, not features: the pricing page states that every function is available at every level, from a community tier with forum help only up to a premium tier with a two-hour first response. The catch is that each socket needs its own subscription and every node in a cluster must share one level.
Which virtualization platforms publish their pricing?
3 of the 12, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Proxmox VE: Per CPU socket per year in four support tiers, published; all features at every tier.
XCP-ng: Hypervisor without licence fees; Vates support plans per host, published.
Microsoft Hyper-V: Included with Windows Server; core-based list prices published.
The other 9 quote per organisation.
Is there a free virtualization platform?
No. None of the 12 offer a usable free tier.
Where are these virtualization platform vendors established?
In 7 countries across 3 regions: North America 4, Europe 4, Elsewhere 4.
Proxmox VE: Austria.
XCP-ng: France.
Scale Computing HyperCore: United States.
SUSE Harvester: Germany.
Virtuozzo: Switzerland.
Microsoft Hyper-V: United States.
Canonical LXD: Isle of Man.
Nutanix AHV: United States.
Red Hat OpenShift Virtualization: United States.
oVirt: Not stated by the vendor.
VMware vSphere: Not stated by the vendor.
XenServer: Not stated by the vendor.
Which virtualization platforms are open source?
XCP-ng, SUSE Harvester, Canonical LXD, oVirt.
Which virtualization platforms can you host yourself?
Proxmox VE, XCP-ng, oVirt. The other 9 are hosted by the vendor only.
What should you use instead of Proxmox VE?
XCP-ng and Scale Computing HyperCore are the next two on this page.
XCP-ng is for teams that want a Xen hypervisor with a web console and host-based support; Scale Computing HyperCore is for Organisations with many small sites that want one integrated platform and a trial.
Who should not buy Proxmox VE?
Teams wanting a hypervisor with round-the-clock support on every tier. Subscriptions are counted per CPU socket, and all nodes in a cluster must use the same support level, so one critical host raises the bill for the rest..
If your virtualization platforms product belongs among these 12, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.