Vacation rental software syncs Airbnb, Vrbo and Booking.com calendars, answers guests, takes direct bookings and, for managers, reports to property owners.
This guide ranks eleven products on setup effort, the bill once a website and accounting are added, how reservation data leaves, and whether a buyer can sign up without a sales call.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What vacation rental software does
Vacation rental software is a property management system for short-stay homes that keeps one calendar across booking sites, automates guest messages and payments, and adds direct booking and owner accounting.
The ranking follows five checks. Setup effort comes first, then real cost, then the route for getting data out, then lock-in, then the intended buyer. Top three places belong to challengers outside the best-known brands whenever possible, and incumbents follow from four. For why these five were chosen, and why nothing here gets a numeric score, see how we work.
Berlin booking system for holiday lets, priced per unit
Ranked #1 of 11 in Best Vacation Rental Software in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Smoobu GmbH, based in Berlin, puts two cost models side by side: Flex at a 0.9% booking fee, or Prepaid with none. For a buyer comparing vacation rental software, that makes the cost easy to work out from expected revenue.
Channel manager, website builder, Stripe and PayPal bookings and full API access come with Prepaid. The 14-day trial needs no credit card. Pro+ adds the pricing and invoicing tools, but only where the market allows.
What stands out
Per unit
Booking fee option
Holiday lets
Where it costs you
The 0.9% booking fee on Flex grows with revenue, so a busy host may do better on the Prepaid plan.
Dynamic pricing and e-invoicing sit in Pro+ and depend on market availability, so some hosts cannot buy them at all.
Only the sample prices are shown, so the final monthly bill depends on unit count and billing term.
Right for
A European host with a few units who wants the fee model chosen up front, with a Berlin company behind it
Wrong for
A host in a market without dynamic pricing or e-invoicing who expects those from the Pro+ tier
GermanyPer unit per month, published; Flex adds a booking fee, Prepaid has none; 14-day trial
Direct-booking-first rental software with open pricing and forums
Ranked #2 of 11 in Best Vacation Rental Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
OwnerRez sells to vacation rental operators who want to keep bookings on their own channels. It charges per property, with no setup fees, booking fees or contracts, and links directly to Vrbo, Airbnb, Booking.com and Google Vacation Rentals.
The company calls itself profitable, privately owned and free of outside investors. The trade-off is the module list: owner statements, accounting sync, websites and AI sit on top of the entry price. Data export is documented in its support centre.
What stands out
Per property
Premium modules
No booking fees
Where it costs you
Property Management, QuickBooks, hosted websites, SMS and Rezzy AI are paid extras, so the bill rises with each one added.
SMS carries usage fees after 500 outbound segments, which makes heavy guest messaging harder to budget.
The contact page gives no postal address or country of establishment, which a buyer who wants a named jurisdiction will notice.
Right for
A direct-booking host or manager who wants no booking fees and no contract, and who adds modules only when needed
Wrong for
A buyer who needs one fixed all-in price, or a vendor with a stated country of establishment
Not stated by the vendorPer property per month, published; premium modules extra; 14-day trial
Pay a flat fee or a share of bookings, per portfolio
Ranked #3 of 11 in Best Vacation Rental Software in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
The commission route suits a host whose bookings are uneven, because a quiet month costs nothing. Response targets are published by plan: two hours, one hour and 45 minutes, which gives a buyer something to hold the vendor to.
Annual billing, at a 10% saving, is limited to the two higher plans. Expect add-ons such as security deposits, smart locks and guest verification to appear as separate lines on the invoice.
What stands out
Commission option
API on all plans
Tiered support
Where it costs you
The entry plan is capped at 4 properties, and the pricing page contradicts itself on the number covered by the flat fee.
Owner statements, the Plus site and phone support are held back for the Manager plan or add-ons.
Right for
Hosts with a handful of listings who want to choose commission or flat.
Wrong for
Companies running 40-plus units who need fixed contracts.
United KingdomFlat monthly or commission per booking up to 10 properties; published; 14-day trial
Bootstrapped Seattle tool billed per booked night or property
Ranked #4 of 11 in Best Vacation Rental Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
The Flex plan makes iGMS cheap for a property that sits empty for months, since billing follows nights actually booked, with a USD 20 monthly minimum per property.
PRO moves to a fixed price and adds the bookable website and owner portal. Look at where you operate before paying for PRO+, because its dynamic pricing is not offered everywhere and the rest is reporting, an AI agent and owner statements.
What stands out
Per booked night
Bootstrapped
AI replies
Where it costs you
Dynamic pricing is available only on PRO+ and only in the US, Canada, Australia, Mexico, the UK and Spain.
A named customer success manager is reserved for accounts with 20 or more properties.
Right for
Hosts whose bookings are uneven and who prefer paying per booked night.
Wrong for
Operators with owner-heavy accounting needs on small plans.
United StatesPer booked night on Flex, per property on PRO and PRO+; published; 14-day trial
Messaging-led rental software with a free first tier
Ranked #5 of 11 in Best Vacation Rental Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
Hospitable climbs by plan: Essentials for sync and scheduled messages, Host for automations and pricing, Professional for direct booking and smart devices, Mogul for payouts and accounting.
That ladder means a host pays more only when a need appears. It also means a manager with owners to report to lands on the highest plan and should price that tier, not the free one, before comparing vendors.
What stands out
Free Essentials
AI messaging
Tiered features
Where it costs you
Owner statements, invoices and payouts exist only on the top Mogul plan.
Paid plan prices were not visible in the fetched page text, so the monthly cost per property has to be read off the live selector.
Right for
Solo hosts who want shared inbox and calendar before paying anything.
Wrong for
Property managers who need owner accounting from day one.
Per-property pricing with a platform fee and add-on modules
Ranked #6 of 11 in Best Vacation Rental Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Hostfully fits a manager who expects to pass the Growth ceiling of fifty listings, because Pro lifts the cap to 199 and drops the payment and direct booking fees.
Anyone relying on direct bookings should model those fees against the higher Pro price. The Open API is an add-on, so a buyer who plans reporting from an outside warehouse should include it from the start.
What stands out
Platform fee
Open API add-on
Three tiers
Where it costs you
The platform fee is added to the per-property price and its amount is not shown on the page.
No free plan or trial is mentioned; the only offer is a demo.
Right for
Managers expecting to pass fifty listings and move up from Growth.
Wrong for
Hosts who want to try the product before talking to anyone.
United StatesPublished from a per-property monthly price plus platform fee; Enterprise quoted by volume
Venture-funded rental suite sold after a listing-count form
Ranked #7 of 11 in Best Vacation Rental Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Hostaway suits a manager with enough listings to justify a sales process and a wish to connect many outside apps. Get the quote in writing and ask which marketplace tools carry their own subscription, since the marketplace lists over 100 outside solutions.
The form begins at two listings and sends single-property hosts to a separate link, a sign the product is aimed at portfolios.
What stands out
Quoted price
Venture funded
Marketplace
Where it costs you
A buyer cannot see any price before answering the listing-count questions.
The about page names offices but no headquarters, so the country of the contracting entity must be asked.
Right for
Growing managers who value a large app marketplace over price clarity.
Wrong for
Cost-sensitive hosts who want to see a price first.
Not stated by the vendorQuoted after a listing-count form; no prices shown
Trust-accounting property system for rentals, hotels and resorts
Ranked #8 of 11 in Best Vacation Rental Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Track is the choice when accounting accuracy, not price, drives the decision: trust accounting is the first feature it puts forward. Its modules, PMS, distribution and the Pulse contact centre, are separate products, so scope the quote by module.
The old trackhs.com address redirects to trackhospitality.com, which is worth knowing when comparing older references or quotes from earlier years.
What stands out
Trust accounting
Hotels and rentals
Intro call
Where it costs you
Nothing on the site states a price, trial or country of establishment.
The product is built for rentals, hotels and resorts together, which is more than a single-home host needs.
Right for
Managers who must keep owner and guest funds in separate ledgers.
Wrong for
Individual hosts with one or two homes.
Not stated by the vendorNo prices on the site; introduction call offered
Arizona-based enterprise rental platform with a built-in phone system
Ranked #9 of 11 in Best Vacation Rental Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Streamline bundles what larger managers otherwise buy separately, for example a phone system, a homeowner acquisition tool and business intelligence reports. The cost is dependence on one vendor for many functions.
Ask which of the listed modules the quote covers, how the Starter, Growth and Pro case-study tiers map to contract terms, and how data would be extracted if you left.
What stands out
Trust accounting
Phone system
Quote only
Where it costs you
No prices or trial appear anywhere on the fetched pages; the form says a quote follows a call.
The positioning is for large operators, so a small host takes on scope it will not use.
Right for
Established managers wanting accounting, phones and CRM in one platform.
Wrong for
Owners who want to start with a printed price.
United StatesQuoted after a sales call; no prices or trial shown
Tiered rental platform from small-host Lite to quoted Pro
Ranked #10 of 11 in Best Vacation Rental Software in 2026.
Published pricingMiddle East
Guesty runs three tiers. Lite suits one to three listings from USD 9 per listing with a 14-day trial, Pro starts at four listings, and Enterprise at 200. Channel manager, multi-calendar and unified inbox are in all plans, while revenue management and an owners portal arrive with Pro.
In this market it is the option built for growth, and the cost of that is a quote-led route. It began as SuperHost in 2013 and moved its headquarters to Tel Aviv in 2014.
What stands out
Lite for 1-3
Quoted Pro
Add-ons
Where it costs you
Only Lite shows a starting price, USD 9 per listing, while Pro and Enterprise need a quote.
PriceOptimizer, Damage Protection and LocksManager have no amounts shown, so the full cost cannot be seen in advance.
Investors listed on the about page include Apax and KKR, so independence from outside capital is not on offer.
Right for
A manager moving from one to three listings towards Pro or Enterprise scale who accepts a sales conversation
Wrong for
A buyer who wants every price in public, or a vendor free of large outside investors
IsraelLite per listing, published, 14-day trial; Pro and Enterprise quoted by listing count
Expedia Group's flat-fee system for established rental managers
Ranked #11 of 11 in Best Vacation Rental Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Escapia's flat-fee approach removes the percentage cut on bookings, which matters most to a manager with high-value stays. Unlimited users and eSignatures also avoid per-seat creep, and onboarding is listed as free.
The trade is that the vendor is part of Expedia Group, so a manager should ask what leaving costs and how reservation data is exported before signing a term.
What stands out
Flat fee
Expedia Group
Trust accounting
Where it costs you
The fee is quoted by phone or form; the pricing page itself shows no amount.
Ownership by Expedia Group means a buyer cannot purchase from an independent vendor.
Right for
Established managers wanting fixed fees and unlimited users with trust accounting.
Wrong for
Hosts who want independence from the large travel platforms.
Not stated by the vendorQuoted as a flat monthly fee by property count; no percentage booking fees
Vacation rental software is a property management system for short-stay homes that keeps one calendar across booking sites, automates guest messages and payments, and adds direct booking and owner accounting. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is the order we would work through them.
01
Work out how much a sales call is worth to you
4 vendors on this page sell by quote, while 7 publish a pricing model you can read today: Smoobu, OwnerRez, Uplisting, iGMS, Hospitable, Hostfully, Guesty.
02
Weigh the vendor's home jurisdiction
4 regions are represented (Elsewhere 4, North America 3, Europe 3, Middle East 1). A vendor outside your own legal area is not a problem as such, but it changes who can compel it to hand over data.
Vacation rental software: booking fee, flat fee or per night
Vacation rental software charges in four ways, and the choice decides what a good year costs. Smoobu offers Flex with a 0.9% booking fee or Prepaid with none. Uplisting lets a small host pay a 3% commission with no monthly fee, then moves Operators to 1.5%. iGMS charges one dollar per booked night on Flex. OwnerRez publishes a per-property price with no booking fees.
Hostfully adds a platform fee to each property, plus a 1% payment fee on Growth. Model last year's bookings against each rule rather than the headline price. A host with long gaps may win on commission; one that books solid should favour fixed prices. Ask each vendor when the commission starts, on gross rent or net of channel fees.
Run last year's booked nights and revenue through each pricing rule
Ask whether commission applies to gross rent or to net payouts
Check what the entry plan caps, such as Uplisting's four properties
Direct booking website: included, premium or add-on
Every product here sells a way to take bookings outside Airbnb, but only the packaging differs. Uplisting includes a basic site on all plans and charges extra for the Plus site. Hospitable puts the direct booking website on Professional. OwnerRez treats Hosted Websites and the WordPress plugin as premium features.
iGMS ties its bookable website to PRO. Hostfully sells a Premium Direct Booking Site as an add-on. A host who depends on repeat guests should price the website the first day, not after the free trial ends, because the plan that carries it is often a tier above the one advertised. Test checkout on a phone, and confirm who handles the payment processor.
Find which tier or add-on carries the website in each quote
Test a full booking on a phone before the trial ends
Ask which payment fee applies to direct reservations
Owner statements and trust accounting for managers
A host who manages homes for other owners needs more than a calendar. Escapia, Streamline VRS and Track Hospitality each lead with trust accounting; Track describes native dual-ledger accounting. Smaller tools gate the same work by plan. Hospitable offers owner statements, invoices and payouts only on Mogul.
OwnerRez sells Property Management, with commission tracking and statements, as a premium module. Uplisting lists owner statements on Manager and sells a statements portal as an add-on. Guesty's Pro plan adds an owners portal. If you hold other people's money, put your accounting rules in writing and ask each vendor to produce a sample statement and a payout report from test data before you sign.
Ask each vendor for a sample owner statement from test data
Confirm which plan or module holds the trust accounting
Check who can export ledger history if you leave
Quote-only vendors: Hostaway, Guesty Pro and Streamline VRS
Several established products in this market hide their price. Hostaway shows only a form asking for listing count. Guesty prints a price for Lite only; Pro and Enterprise come through a quote button. Streamline promises a quote after a call, and Track offers an introduction call. Escapia quotes a flat fee by phone or form.
This is not a flaw in itself, but it shifts the work to you. Request the quote in writing, with every module the sales team mentioned, the term, the renewal rule and the cost of extra properties. Then price the same portfolio on the published-price tools Smoobu, Uplisting and OwnerRez, so the quote is judged against a number.
Get every quote in writing with modules, term and renewal rule
Price the same portfolio on a published-price tool as a yardstick
Ask for the contracting entity's country and the exit process
What goes wrong most often when buying vacation rental software
Choosing on the entry price alone, then adding website, accounting and messaging modules that raise the bill at OwnerRez or Hostfully.
Picking a commission plan for a fully booked property, where Smoobu Flex or Uplisting commission can cost more than a fixed fee.
Buying a top tier such as iGMS PRO+ or Hospitable Professional for a feature, like dynamic pricing or tax collection, that only works in listed countries.
Signing a quote from Hostaway, Guesty Pro or Escapia without asking what it costs to export reservations and owner ledgers on leaving.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best vacation rental software in 2026?
Our ranking of 11 puts Smoobu first. Smoobu GmbH of Berlin lets a host pick between Flex, which charges a 0.9% booking fee, and Prepaid, which charges none, and prints both on one page.
Channel manager, website builder, API access and statistics sit in the Prepaid base. Dynamic pricing and e-invoicing need Pro+ and depend on market availability, so a host outside those markets pays for neither.
Which vacation rental tools publish their pricing?
7 of the 11, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Smoobu: Per unit per month, published; Flex adds a booking fee, Prepaid has none; 14-day trial.
OwnerRez: Per property per month, published; premium modules extra; 14-day trial.
Uplisting: Flat monthly or commission per booking up to 10 properties; published; 14-day trial.
iGMS: Per booked night on Flex, per property on PRO and PRO+; published; 14-day trial.
Hostfully: Published from a per-property monthly price plus platform fee; Enterprise quoted by volume.
Guesty: Lite per listing, published, 14-day trial; Pro and Enterprise quoted by listing count.
The remaining 4 sell by quote.
Is there a free vacation rental tool?
Hospitable come with a no-cost entry point, a free plan or a self-hosted edition.
Where are these vacation rental software vendors established?
The headquarters are spread over 6 countries and 4 regions, Elsewhere 4, North America 3, Europe 3, Middle East 1:
Smoobu: Germany.
OwnerRez: Not stated by the vendor.
Uplisting: United Kingdom.
iGMS: United States.
Hospitable: Netherlands.
Hostfully: United States.
Hostaway: Not stated by the vendor.
Track Hospitality: Not stated by the vendor.
Streamline VRS: United States.
Guesty: Israel.
Escapia: Not stated by the vendor.
What should you use instead of Smoobu?
The next in line are OwnerRez, aimed at a direct-booking host or manager who wants no booking fees and no contract, and who adds modules only when needed, and Uplisting, aimed at Hosts with a handful of listings who want to choose commission or flat..
Who should not buy Smoobu?
A host in a market without dynamic pricing or e-invoicing who expects those from the Pro+ tier. The 0.9% booking fee on Flex grows with revenue, so a busy host may do better on the Prepaid plan..
This list covers 11 vacation rental software products. A product we left out can be put to us by its maker, with a short note on its purpose and its customers; we decide on inclusion ourselves. The rules are under software advice.