CAT tools store what you have translated and offer it back when a similar sentence appears.
This guide ranks eleven of them on what the first ninety days cost in setup, what the bill looks like once a server or team plan is added, whether your memories leave in TMX, and how much of the stack a single vendor controls.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What CAT tools software does
CAT tools are translation editors that store past translations in a memory, suggest matches for new sentences, enforce terminology and exchange bilingual files with other tools.
In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether you can leave, and who each CAT tool is built for. Vendors outside the best-known names fill places 1 to 3 when they exist, and the big brands rank from place 4. For why these five were chosen, and why nothing here gets a numeric score, see how we work.
Volunteer-maintained translation memory tool that costs nothing to run
Ranked #1 of 11 in Best CAT Tools in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
OmegaT handles fuzzy matching, match propagation, glossaries with inflected forms and around thirty file formats, and it talks to other tools through TMX and XLIFF. It is distributed under the GNU GPL v3.
The project is run by an informal group of volunteers, so setup is yours: you install Java, learn the interface and arrange your own backups. Nobody can be held to a response time.
What stands out
Open source
Windows, macOS, Linux
Volunteer project
Where it costs you
Help comes from volunteers, with no contract and no response time.
The project's about page names no company or country, so there is nobody to hold to a service level.
Right for
Freelancers who want a working CAT tool with no licence and no vendor
Wrong for
Agencies that need contractual support or central vendor management
Not stated by the vendorFree of charge; open source under the GPL
Translator-built desktop CAT tool sold as a single licence
Ranked #2 of 11 in Best CAT Tools in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
CafeTran Espresso is made by Collaborative Translation Networks, LLC, with a postal address in Lewes, Delaware. The licence is either a one-time fee or a yearly subscription, and a trial can be tried before buying.
It reads sdlxliff, sdlppx, mqxliff and txml, and the single edition can run as a TM server. There is no refund once you buy, and no managed collaboration platform.
What stands out
One-off licence
Reads Studio and memoQ files
Downloadable trial
Where it costs you
Licences are not refundable; the vendor points to the trial as the way to evaluate before buying.
The shop offers two purchase options for the same edition, and no managed team or vendor-management product.
Right for
Freelancers who take jobs in other tools' file formats and want a one-time purchase
Wrong for
Agencies that need workflows, vendor invoicing and a managed platform
United StatesOne-off licence or yearly subscription, published; downloadable trial
Long-running translation memory family with desktop, Word and browser editions
Ranked #3 of 11 in Best CAT Tools in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Wordfast LLC lists a New York address. Wordfast Pro and Classic are priced as one-off licences, with a discounted price for users in developing economies, and Anywhere is presented on the home page as a free cloud tool.
The Server is where costs hide: no price is published and every connecting translator needs one of the other three products. Free licences go to universities.
What stands out
Free browser edition
One-off licences
TM server
Where it costs you
The server carries no listed price, and each translator needs another Wordfast product to connect.
The product line is split into four separate tools, so a team must decide which pieces to buy and how they connect.
Right for
Translators who want a one-off licence and a browser fallback from the same vendor
Wrong for
Buyers wanting one integrated platform instead of separate tools
United StatesPublished one-off licence per product; free browser edition; server on request
Veteran Windows CAT tool, sold per licence by a French publisher
Ranked #4 of 11 in Best CAT Tools in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Déjà Vu X3 comes in a free edition for satellite projects, a Professional licence and Workgroup licences sold in packs of five, ten, twenty and fifty. Atril gives a Lille address.
Its pitch is AutoWrite suggestions and DeepMiner fuzzy-match repair. The listed requirements cover Windows versions only, and the server product shows out of stock, so team deployments need a conversation first.
What stands out
Since 1993
Free edition
Per-seat licences
Where it costs you
The system requirements list Windows versions only, and the pages show no Mac version.
The shop listed every TEAMserver licence size as unavailable.
Right for
Windows-based translators who prefer buying a licence to renting a subscription
Wrong for
Mac-first translators and teams needing a hosted server today
FrancePublished one-off licences; free edition for satellite projects
Browser CAT tool whose code is published under the LGPL
Ranked #5 of 11 in Best CAT Tools in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
MateCat started as a joint project of the research centre FBK, the company Translated srl, the Université du Maine and the University of Edinburgh. The hosted version links to MyMemory by default.
You can install the code on your own servers, but the operator offers no troubleshooting for your changes. The vendor page does not state a country; the terms are governed by Italian law.
What stands out
Open source
Browser-based
Free for all users
Where it costs you
Only XLIFF is handled out of the box; other formats need the separate Matecat Filters.
The operator may cut access for unfair usage, which the terms define by reference to outsourcing work away from Translated srl.
Right for
Anyone wanting a free web editor or a codebase to host themselves
Wrong for
Teams that need a commercial support contract or a guaranteed uptime
Not stated by the vendorFree for translators, agencies and enterprises; open source under the LGPL
Desktop translator edition and a tiered management system from Budapest
Ranked #6 of 11 in Best CAT Tools in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
As a CAT tool, memoQ is easy to size at the entry level: the translator edition is 396 EUR a year per licence with a 14-day trial, and the Starter management plan from 2,750 EUR a year already bundles a project manager and five linguists.
The sizing gets harder above that. Essential, Professional and Enterprise are quoted, and any machine translation you connect adds an outside account. Expect a Windows machine and a sales call once the team grows.
What stands out
Windows desktop
Tiered plans
14-day trial
Where it costs you
The translator edition is tied to Microsoft Windows, so Mac users need a workaround.
The higher management tiers carry no published price, so a team cannot budget before talking to sales.
Machine translation plugins connect for free but still need your own third-party account and its bill.
Right for
A small agency that wants a priced starting point of one project manager and five linguists
Wrong for
A freelancer on a Mac who wants to open the editor without setting up Windows first
Translation management platform priced per power user, with a built-in editor
Ranked #7 of 11 in Best CAT Tools in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
For a buyer comparing CAT tools, Wordbee sits at the platform end of the list. The editor comes with project management, invoicing and vendor management, and every plan has an open REST API.
Pricing counts power users, not requesters, so many colleagues can submit work cheaply. At 150 EUR per power user per month, the Enterprise tier covers 20 power users and 500 linguists. The other three tiers have no published figure, so ask for them before shortlisting.
What stands out
Per power user
Built-in CAT editor
REST API
Where it costs you
Only the Enterprise tier shows a price, so Essential, Smart and Infinity cannot be compared in advance.
The agentic AI add-on is billed annually on top of the plan and needs your own LLM keys.
Each tier caps power users and linguists, so growth in either moves you to the next plan.
Right for
A localisation department in Luxembourg or elsewhere that wants editor, invoicing and vendor records under one subscription
Wrong for
A freelancer who only wants a translation memory editor on their own laptop
LuxembourgPer power user per month, published for the top tier; other tiers on request
Closed translation management system from a German vendor, sold by demonstration
Ranked #8 of 11 in Best CAT Tools in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Across Systems GmbH lists Karlsbad, Germany, as its registered seat. The Language Server pairs a central translation memory with an integrated terminology system, and the vendor calls the environment a closed system that automates the supply chain.
It also sells an AI check of translation memories. Without published pricing or a trial, the first ninety days begin with a sales process.
What stands out
Central TM
Integrated terminology
Closed system
Where it costs you
A demonstration appointment is the only next step offered, with no price attached.
No trial is mentioned, so evaluation depends on the vendor's own demo.
Right for
Manufacturers and agencies that want one managed server for memory and terminology
Wrong for
Freelancers and small teams that want to start today by themselves
GermanyDemo appointment first; no prices on the product page
Localisation platform with translation management for in-house teams and agencies
Ranked #9 of 11 in Best CAT Tools in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Within a CAT tool shortlist, Phrase is the option with the most plan variants. The Team plan is billed annually with unlimited translation management seats, 20 Strings seats and 2,500,000 processed words per year, and every plan starts with a 14-day trial.
Freelancers and language service providers get their own plans, and Enterprise is by enquiry. The vendor runs entities in Prague and Hamburg. Work out your yearly word count first, because that figure decides which plan applies.
What stands out
Formerly Memsource
Annual plans
14-day trial
Where it costs you
Strings seats and translation seats are counted separately, so a headcount does not give one price.
The Team plan caps processed words at 2.5 million a year, which a busy agency could pass.
Enterprise and the separate Freelancer and LSP plans have to be asked for, not read off the page.
Right for
A company that needs a CAT workflow for documents and also has app strings to translate
Wrong for
A single translator who wants one editor and a flat annual fee
CzechiaPublished business plans billed annually; enterprise on request; 14-day trial
Browser-based translation platform now sold around AI coworkers and a marketplace
Ranked #10 of 11 in Best CAT Tools in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Smartcat is the browser-only choice in this ranking, and it is the one that has moved furthest from the classic CAT idea. The Adapt plan starts at 1,200 USD a year, billed annually, with unlimited users and a standard SLA, and the site says you can start free.
Accelerate adds marketplace experts at a custom price. The platform lists more than 280 languages. Test the free start on a real file, then decide whether you need Accelerate.
What stands out
Free to start
Marketplace experts
Browser platform
Where it costs you
The pitch is now built around AI coworkers, so a plain CAT editor is no longer the headline product.
Marketplace experts come only with the Accelerate plan, which has no published price.
The contracting entity is a Delaware company in the United States.
Right for
A team that wants unlimited users on a browser platform and can start with a free trial
Wrong for
A translator who just wants a desktop memory tool with no marketplace around it
United StatesYearly plans, entry plan published; larger plan on request; free to start
Desktop and browser CAT tools owned by RWS, priced monthly or annually
Ranked #11 of 11 in Best CAT Tools in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Trados has the most readable price list among the commercial CAT tools here. Trados Go is 24 GBP a month for browser use with one million target words a year, and Trados Freelance is 34 GBP a month with unlimited target words on the desktop.
Studio Pro can be bought annually or perpetually, and the Language Weaver Pro add-on covers 12 million characters a year. The catch is environment: Mac needs Windows, and corporate domains need a different licence.
What stands out
Owned by RWS
Desktop and browser
14-day trial
Where it costs you
Studio is not officially supported on Mac, so users run it through Windows.
The Studio Freelance licence will not run on domain-based company networks.
The browser-only Go plan allows one million target words a year, which a steady workload may exceed.
Right for
A freelance translator who needs a published monthly price and a 14-day risk-free trial
Wrong for
A company IT team that wants one freelance licence deployed across its managed network
United KingdomPublished monthly or annual plans for translators; 14-day trial; team products quoted
CAT tools are translation editors that store past translations in a memory, suggest matches for new sentences, enforce terminology and exchange bilingual files with other tools. Differences that change the outcome seldom sit in the features. Here is the sequence we would follow.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
Prices are public at 9 products (OmegaT, CafeTran Espresso, Wordfast, Déjà Vu, MateCat, Wordbee, Phrase, Smartcat, Trados) and on request at the remaining 2, so budget time for quotes if your favourite is in that second group.
02
Look at where the vendor sits
Where a company is established decides which courts and regulators can reach it. Here that means 8 countries: Europe 6, North America 3, Elsewhere 2.
03
Consider whether you want the source
Open source here means OmegaT, MateCat. The price of self-hosting is the time your team spends maintaining it.
How to choose between OmegaT, Wordfast and CafeTran Espresso for solo work
A freelancer's first ninety days cost hours, not licences. OmegaT asks for a Java 11 runtime and some patience with its interface, then charges nothing. CafeTran Espresso is a one-time purchase or a yearly subscription, with a trial you can download first, and it opens sdlxliff and mqxliff files from clients. Wordfast sells separate Pro, Classic and Anywhere products, so you also decide which piece you actually need.
None of the three needs a partner or a sales call. The common trap is buying for the file formats you might one day receive. Check which formats your three biggest clients actually send, test those files in a trial, and only then compare the price of a licence with the time you will spend learning the interface.
List the bilingual file types your clients send you in the last year
Run one real client package through a trial before paying
Count the setup hours as part of the price
What a CAT tool really costs once a server or team is added
Desktop prices are easy to read; team prices are where this market hides cost. Wordfast publishes Pro and Classic licences, but the Server is unpriced and every connecting translator needs a licence or an Anywhere account. memoQ shows a Starter management plan and a translator subscription, then sends Essential, Professional and Enterprise to sales.
Wordbee shows a per power user figure for its top tier only, and its Agentic add-on is billed separately. Phrase counts strings seats and translation words separately. Ask each vendor for the all-in annual figure for your real team: project managers, linguists, a server if one is needed, and the AI add-on you expect to switch on within the first year.
Ask for a quote that includes server, seats and AI add-ons
Check whether linguists count against a plan or are billed separately
Compare year-two cost, not only the first invoice
Can your translation memory leave? Exit tests for Trados, memoQ and Smartcat
A translation memory is the asset you build, and the exit test is whether it leaves in a standard file without a fee. OmegaT is built around TMX and XLIFF exchange, and MateCat handles XLIFF out of the box with other formats needing its separate Filters.
Trados, memoQ and Smartcat hold memories on their own desktop or hosted platforms, so ask how a full export works before you commit, how long it takes and whether it is inside the plan. A browser platform such as Smartcat keeps your work on the vendor's servers while you are a customer. Run a test export of a small memory in the first week and open it in a second tool to prove the round trip works.
Export a test memory to TMX in week one
Open the exported file in a second tool
Ask whether bulk export is included in the plan or charged
Independence in the CAT tools market: who owns what, and who can you buy from directly
Ownership changes the answer more than features do. Trados sits inside RWS Holdings plc, so choosing it means dealing with a listed group; CafeTran Espresso is sold by an American LLC; OmegaT names no company, only volunteers.
Across Language Server and Wordbee are run by companies in Germany and Luxembourg, and the first sells through a demonstration appointment, while MateCat lets you host the LGPL code yourself, though the hosted service carries a fair-usage clause. Buying a desktop licence needs no partner; a management system often does. Write down who you would call, and what you would do, if the vendor changed its pricing next year.
Identify the company that owns the product and who it answers to
Check whether you can buy and run it without a reseller
Plan what you would do if licence terms changed next year
What goes wrong most often when buying CAT tools software
Buying Trados because one client mentions it, when that client only sends bilingual files that other tools also open.
Pricing the Wordfast Pro licence and forgetting the unpriced server and the per-translator licences behind it.
Choosing a management system from its entry plan, then discovering that the tiers you need are quoted.
Assuming a free tool such as OmegaT or MateCat comes with a support contract or an uptime promise.
07
Frequently asked questions
7 answers
What is the best CAT tools in 2026?
OmegaT takes first place among the 11 we reviewed. A desktop application under the GNU GPL v3 that runs on Windows, macOS and Linux and needs a Java 11 runtime.
There is nothing to buy or renew, and TMX and XLIFF support let your memories leave whenever you choose. The price of that independence is the missing vendor: help comes through a user group and mailing lists, and bugs are reported on SourceForge trackers.
Which CAT tools publish their pricing?
9 out of 11 state a price model on their own site:
OmegaT: Free of charge; open source under the GPL.
CafeTran Espresso: One-off licence or yearly subscription, published; downloadable trial.
Wordfast: Published one-off licence per product; free browser edition; server on request.
Déjà Vu: Published one-off licences; free edition for satellite projects.
MateCat: Free for translators, agencies and enterprises; open source under the LGPL.
Wordbee: Per power user per month, published for the top tier; other tiers on request.
Phrase: Published business plans billed annually; enterprise on request; 14-day trial.
Smartcat: Yearly plans, entry plan published; larger plan on request; free to start.
Trados: Published monthly or annual plans for translators; 14-day trial; team products quoted.
Everything else on the list is priced on request.
Is there a free CAT tool?
OmegaT, MateCat offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these CAT tool vendors established?
Across 8 countries (Europe 6, North America 3, Elsewhere 2):
OmegaT: Not stated by the vendor.
CafeTran Espresso: United States.
Wordfast: United States.
Déjà Vu: France.
MateCat: Not stated by the vendor.
memoQ: Hungary.
Wordbee: Luxembourg.
Across Language Server: Germany.
Phrase: Czechia.
Smartcat: United States.
Trados: United Kingdom.
Which CAT tools are open source?
OmegaT, MateCat.
What should you use instead of OmegaT?
Look at CafeTran Espresso (made for Freelancers who take jobs in other tools' file formats and want a one-time purchase) and Wordfast (made for Translators who want a one-off licence and a browser fallback from the same vendor), which hold places two and three.
Who should not buy OmegaT?
Agencies that need contractual support or central vendor management. Help comes from volunteers, with no contract and no response time..
Do you make a CAT tools product that is not listed here? Describe what it does and who buys it. We decide on inclusion, a listing cannot be bought, and the details are under software advice.