Workflow automation software connects business apps so that a trigger in one, such as a form or a new invoice, starts actions in others without manual copying.
This guide ranks twelve products on setup effort, what the bill becomes once real step counts and AI steps are included, how flows can leave, and whether the supplier is independent.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What workflow automation software does
Workflow automation software links applications through triggers and actions, so that a new record or message in one system creates, updates or sends something in another without anyone retyping it.
Five tests decide the order: setup effort, real cost, how your data leaves, whether you can walk away, and who the workflow automation tool was built for. On top of them sits one rule. The top three places are for challengers, which means vendors outside the big names, where the category has any, and the household brands come in from fourth place. We explain on how we work why the tests are these five and why no product receives a score.
Berlin vendor that bills per workflow run, however many steps it has
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Workflow Automation Software in 2026.
Self-hostablePublished pricingEurope
In this market n8n is the answer for long flows. Its Berlin vendor counts one execution per run, so a flow of thirty steps costs the same as one of three, and every plan lists unlimited users and unlimited active workflows.
Starter is EUR 20 a month on annual billing for 2.5K executions, Pro EUR 50 for 10K. The Community Edition is free to run yourself, though Business and Enterprise keys check in daily with n8n's licence server.
What stands out
Per execution
Source available
Unlimited users
Where it costs you
The Business tier is listed as self-hosted only, with the cloud version still on a waitlist.
Cloud runs are capped at 5 minutes on Starter and 40 minutes on Pro.
Parts of the code sit under the Sustainable Use Licence, so reselling it needs a read of the terms.
Right for
Buyers whose flows have many steps and who want cost to follow runs rather than steps
Wrong for
Agencies planning to resell the software itself as a hosted product
GermanyPer workflow execution, cloud prices published; Community Edition free to run yourself; cloud trial
MIT-licensed core with a free hosted plan counted in credits
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Workflow Automation Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourceSelf-hostablePublished pricingNorth America
Activepieces gives a European buyer the gentlest entry on this list. The free plan needs no card, has no time limit, and includes 1,000 credits, five users and unlimited flows. Plus costs 20 a month for 10,000 credits and Team 200 for 50,000 with SSO.
A run costs one credit however many steps it has. Everything outside the ee directories is MIT, so leaving the cloud later is possible. The company is a US one, incorporated in Delaware.
What stands out
Open source core
Self-hostable
Credit based
Where it costs you
Audit logs, SCIM and custom roles sit only in the highest tier.
A frontier-model AI step burns 20 credits against 2 for a fast one.
The free plan waits for its credit reset once the 1,000 credits are gone.
Right for
Small teams wanting a free hosted start and an MIT core they could later move in-house
Wrong for
Heavy users of frontier AI models on the free or Plus plans
United StatesCredits per run, plans published including a free plan; self-hosting free; Enterprise quoted
Task-priced automation from a US company, with a free plan
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Workflow Automation Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Zapier is the starting point for people who have never built an automation, and that is the only reason to rank it where it sits. The free plan gives 100 tasks. Multi-step Zaps and premium apps arrive with Pro, at 19.99 a month annual for 750 tasks.
The trade-off is the meter: each extra step is another task, so a flow with six steps uses six tasks per run. The vendor is Zapier, Inc., a Delaware corporation, not a European company.
What stands out
Per task
Free plan
Premium apps
Where it costs you
Free is limited to 100 tasks a month and two-step Zaps, so real use starts on Pro.
Every step in a Zap counts as a task, which drains the allowance on long flows.
Team begins at 2,000 tasks, and the price climbs with each task tier.
Right for
Non-technical staff who want the quickest first automation and accept paying per task
Wrong for
Teams running long, multi-step flows on a tight monthly budget
United StatesPer task per month, prices published for Pro and Team; free plan with 100 tasks; Enterprise quoted
Visual scenario builder with a credit per module action, owned by Celonis
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Workflow Automation Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
Make is the Czech option here, headquartered in Prague and stated to be part of Celonis, with over 380 employees. Its six plans run from Free, with 1,000 credits, up to Enterprise.
Most actions use one credit, while Router and error-handler modules use none, so branching logic stays cheap. Each 10,000 credits brings 5 GB of transfer. Cancelling moves the account back to Free, and organisations under 20 employees may get 50% off Business.
What stands out
Credit based
Free plan
Celonis-owned
Where it costs you
Plan prices could not be read from the pricing page when we checked it.
Scenarios stop altogether when the credits run out.
Unused credits expire at the end of the term, and bundles bought mid-month last one month.
Right for
Buyers wanting a visual builder from a Prague-based vendor and willing to watch credits
Wrong for
Anyone who needs a fixed monthly price confirmed before talking to the vendor
CzechiaMonthly credit allowance per plan, one credit per action; free plan with 1,000 credits; Enterprise quoted
Code-first workflows with an AGPL core and worker-based pricing
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Workflow Automation Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourceSelf-hostablePublished pricingNorth America
Windmill sits at the technical end of this ranking because it prices capacity, not runs. The Community edition lists unlimited executions and can be hosted on Fargate, Docker or Kubernetes.
Enterprise starts at 120 a month, with a builder seat at 20 and a non-builder at half that, and one compute unit equals 2 worker-GB-months. Support there promises a 3 hour response, around the clock. The backend is AGPLv3, with proprietary enterprise code, and the company is Windmill Labs, Inc. in Delaware.
What stands out
Open source core
Worker pricing
Self-hostable
Where it costs you
The free edition caps at 3 workspaces, 50 users and 10 SSO users.
Community support runs through Discord only.
Audit logs and SAML or SCIM need the Enterprise plan from 120 a month.
Right for
Developer teams with scheduled, compute-heavy jobs who prefer paying for workers over runs
Wrong for
Companies that need audit logs or a support response time without paying for Enterprise
United StatesFree community edition run on your own servers; Enterprise priced by seat and compute unit, published
Pay-as-you-go automation billed in CPU seconds, not tasks
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Workflow Automation Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
Latenode's page gives a worked example of 100,000 CPU seconds at a stated total, with lower rates in higher brackets. Extras such as reserved workers, faster polling and longer execution time are priced as add-ons.
Nodes marked with a dollar sign draw plug-and-play tokens at provider cost. The page names no self-hosting option and no street address, only a remote-first team, so buyers needing a fixed office or own-server install should ask first.
What stands out
CPU-second billing
Free plan
JavaScript nodes
Where it costs you
The free plan allows 5 active workflows, one parallel worker, 3-minute runs and 3-day history.
Cost is tied to run time, so a slow API call raises the bill without any extra step.
Right for
Teams whose runs are short and many, who dislike per-step counting
Wrong for
Buyers wanting one predictable, fixed monthly bill
CyprusUsage per CPU second, tier rates published; free plan with 10,000 CPU seconds
Transaction-priced connector platform with a free tier of 100 transactions
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Workflow Automation Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
Albato's pricing slider runs from 1,000 to 2 million transactions. Pro adds Albato AI and AI agents, parallel scenario execution and 30-day log storage. Teams brings roles, invitations and shared workspaces. Custom adds a customer success manager, agreement signing and 60-day logs.
The pages we read list no on-premise option and name no legal entity, so ask who the contracting party is. Overage beyond a chosen band is charged per extra transaction, which makes a spike expensive to forecast.
What stands out
Per transaction
Free plan
Embedded option
Where it costs you
The free plan is capped at 2 steps per automation and 100 transactions.
Refresh intervals depend on the plan: 15 minutes on free, 1 minute only on Custom.
Right for
Marketing and agency teams wanting a low entry price with a team plan
Wrong for
Teams needing sub-minute triggers without an enterprise contract
Open-source Zapier alternative from Berlin that you can run yourself
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Workflow Automation Software in 2026.
Open sourceSelf-hostablePricing on requestEurope
The repository states that the AGPL-3.0 licence covers all files except those with .ee. in the name, which fall under an enterprise licence. The site stresses keeping data on your own servers.
It is the lightest fit here for a team that wants a plain trigger and action tool and is happy to operate it, at the cost of vendor assurances.
What stands out
AGPL-3.0
Self-hosted
Berlin
Where it costs you
The home page shows no cloud price, support terms or connector count.
Files marked as enterprise are under a separate commercial licence.
Right for
Developers who want an AGPL Zapier-style tool on their own servers
Wrong for
Buyers who need published prices and a support contract
GermanyOpen source community edition to host yourself; cloud offered, pricing not shown on the page read
Task-based automation with lifetime plans and uncounted internal steps
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Workflow Automation Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingAsia-Pacific
The pricing page lists Free, Standard at 10,000 tasks, Unlimited, and three lifetime tiers at 3,000, 10,000 and 20,000 tasks a month.
Prices are shown in rupees, and the page contradicts itself on whether the cheaper monthly rate needs annual billing. Only action steps count toward tasks. Pabbly sells a bundle of other products, so the supplier is a portfolio.
What stands out
Lifetime plans
Free internal steps
Free plan
Where it costs you
Lifetime plans cannot be upgraded later, and the cheapest lifetime plan is described as subject to feature restrictions.
The terms state the services are appropriate only for use in India.
Right for
Small Indian businesses wanting a one-off payment instead of a subscription
Wrong for
Buyers outside India who need clear contract terms
IndiaMonthly and one-time lifetime plans, prices published in rupees; free plan with 100 tasks
The tiers are Free at 100 tasks, Starter at 2,000, Professional at 10,000, Growth at 30,000 and Business at 150,000. A limited-time offer lists premium plans at a nominal first-month price.
The legal entity appears under two spellings across its terms, so confirm the contracting party. Taxes are extra on the Business tier. Only annual-billing prices are shown. Nothing we read describes how flows are exported.
What stands out
Per task
Annual billing
Free plan
Where it costs you
Only annual-billing prices are displayed on the pricing page, so a monthly payer cannot see a figure.
The Free plan stops at 100 tasks.
Right for
Solo operators wanting a cheap, task-based tool with prebuilt automations
Wrong for
Teams needing documented own-server deployment or a support contract
IndiaPer task tiers, annual-billing prices published; free plan with 100 tasks
Consumer-origin applets with credits, from a free plan up
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Workflow Automation Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
The plan page offers Free, Starter, Pro and Pro+ with 1,000, 5,000, 20,000 and 100,000 credits. Credits power applet runs, MCP usage and AI features. Filters, delays, queries and multi-action applets are included on every plan.
Polling is every hour on Free, every 15 minutes on Starter, and every 5 minutes on Pro and Pro+. Shared workspaces and audit trails are not in the plan comparison.
What stands out
Credit based
Free plan
Smart-home services
Where it costs you
Free applets are polled hourly, so triggers can lag by up to an hour.
Several accounts per service are available only on Pro+.
Right for
Individuals and tiny teams linking smart-home and social services cheaply
Wrong for
Operations teams needing roles, audit trails or fast triggers
United StatesMonthly credit bands from Free to Pro+, prices listed; custom plans on request
Flow editor in the browser, run on your own hardware or cloud
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Workflow Automation Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
The about page says flows are deployed to the runtime in one click and that JavaScript functions can be written in the editor. Because flows are plain JSON, they are easy to export.
The founder started FlowFuse in 2021 to push the project towards enterprise use, which is a separate company. Treat Node-RED as a toolkit, not a packaged product with an account manager.
What stands out
Open source
Flow editor
JSON flows
Where it costs you
The project page names no hosted service, so running, patching and backing up fall to you.
The 5,000-plus nodes are community-shared, so quality and upkeep vary by node.
Right for
Engineers wiring devices, APIs and data flows on their own infrastructure
Wrong for
Business teams wanting a hosted tool with a support desk
Not stated by the vendorFree to install and run; no vendor price list on the project page
Workflow automation software links applications through triggers and actions, so that a new record or message in one system creates, updates or sends something in another without anyone retyping it. What separates these products is rarely a feature. Work through the steps below.
01
Start with pricing transparency
Only 11 of the 12 print a price; 1 quote per organisation. Comparable without a sales call: n8n, Activepieces, Zapier, Make, Windmill, Latenode, Albato, Pabbly Connect, Integrately, IFTTT, Node-RED.
02
Weigh the vendor's home jurisdiction
Where a company is established decides which courts and regulators can reach it. Here that means 7 countries: Europe 5, North America 4, Asia-Pacific 2, Elsewhere 1.
03
Check the open source options
Source code is available for Activepieces, Windmill, Automatisch, Node-RED. Running it yourself swaps the licence fee for your own upkeep.
How workflow automation software bills: Zapier tasks, Make credits, n8n executions
Every vendor in this market invents its own meter, and the meter decides the bill more than the plan name. Zapier counts a task per action step, so a ten-step Zap uses ten. Make charges a credit per module action but not for routers or error handlers. n8n bills an execution per run of a workflow, and Activepieces counts one credit per run, with AI steps at 2, 10 or 20.
Latenode meters CPU seconds, so a slow API call costs more than a fast one. Before choosing, take one real week of your own runs, count steps per run and price it under each meter. A three-step flow run often is cheap everywhere; a thirty-step one is not.
Count the steps in your five busiest flows and price them under each vendor's meter
Check whether AI steps, routers and error handlers cost extra credits
Ask what happens at the allowance limit: stop, queue or overage charge
Self-hosting n8n, Activepieces or Windmill: read the licence before the price
Three products here let you run the software yourself, and they are not alike. Activepieces keeps most of the repository under MIT, with enterprise directories licensed separately. Windmill's backend is AGPLv3 with proprietary enterprise code, and its free edition caps at 3 workspaces and 50 users. n8n applies the Sustainable Use Licence to most code, reserving enterprise files for another licence, and its paid self-hosted keys check in with a licence server daily.
Automatisch is AGPL-3.0 and Node-RED is Apache-2.0. Self-hosting removes the per-run meter but adds an operator: someone must patch, back up and monitor the server, and a security fix that lands upstream is yours to apply. Compare that staffing cost with the hosted price of the same product before you decide the saving is real.
Read the licence file in the repository, not the marketing page
Check which features such as SSO or audit logs sit behind the enterprise licence
Name who will run, patch and back up the server
Free plans and polling speed: IFTTT, Albato and Pabbly Connect compared
A free plan here is a test, and the limits differ. IFTTT's Free plan gives 1,000 credits with hourly polling, while Starter polls every 15 minutes and Pro every 5. Albato's free plan allows 5 automations of 2 steps and 100 transactions, refreshing every 15 minutes; Pro shortens that to 5. Pabbly Connect's free plan allows 2 workflows of 2 steps and 100 tasks.
Zapier's free plan is limited to two-step Zaps. If a lead must reach your CRM within a minute, a trigger that is checked every 15 or 60 minutes fails the requirement however cheap it is. Webhook triggers avoid polling where the source app supports them, so ask which of your triggers are instant and which are polled before you trust a plan's headline price.
Find the polling or refresh interval for the plan you would actually buy
Check the steps-per-flow cap on the free plan against your real flows
Test one time-sensitive trigger before paying
Expiring credits and lifetime plans: Make, Pabbly Connect and what you can take out
Prepaid allowances and one-off payments change your exit. On Make, leftover credits lapse when the term closes and bought-in bundles last a month on monthly plans; cancelling drops the organisation to the free plan. Pabbly Connect sells lifetime plans that cannot be upgraded later, and its cheapest lifetime plan carries feature restrictions. Node-RED flows are stored as JSON, which gives you a plain file to move.
For hosted tools, ask how a scenario or flow can be exported and rebuilt elsewhere, since connectors and credentials rarely travel. Write down your flows in plain language as insurance, listing the trigger, each action, the credentials used and who owns the account, because a rebuild after a vendor change starts from that description, not from the old tool's export.
Ask what is lost when credits expire or a plan is cancelled
Check whether a lifetime plan can be upgraded or only replaced
Keep a plain-language description of each production flow outside the tool
What goes wrong most often when buying workflow automation software
Choosing on the entry price of Zapier or Make without counting how many steps each real flow runs.
Treating a free plan as a pilot when its two-step or hourly-polling limit rules out your actual use case.
Self-hosting n8n, Activepieces or Windmill to save fees and forgetting who patches, monitors and backs up the server.
Buying a lifetime plan from Pabbly Connect before checking its feature restrictions, upgrade rules and the India-use wording in its terms.
07
Frequently asked questions
8 answers
What is the best workflow automation software in 2026?
n8n leads our ranking of 12. n8n GmbH counts one execution per workflow run, whatever the step count, and each plan lists unlimited users plus unlimited active workflows. That suits long multi-step flows.
The Business tier is listed as self-hosted only, with a cloud version on a waitlist. The code is under the Sustainable Use Licence, apart from separately licensed enterprise files, so check its terms before reselling it.
Which workflow automation tools publish their pricing?
Published pricing exists for 11 products on this page:
n8n: Per workflow execution, cloud prices published; Community Edition free to run yourself; cloud trial.
Activepieces: Credits per run, plans published including a free plan; self-hosting free; Enterprise quoted.
Zapier: Per task per month, prices published for Pro and Team; free plan with 100 tasks; Enterprise quoted.
Make: Monthly credit allowance per plan, one credit per action; free plan with 1,000 credits; Enterprise quoted.
Windmill: Free community edition run on your own servers; Enterprise priced by seat and compute unit, published.
Latenode: Usage per CPU second, tier rates published; free plan with 10,000 CPU seconds.
Albato: Per transaction bands, prices published; free plan; 7-day trial of Pro; Custom quoted.
Pabbly Connect: Monthly and one-time lifetime plans, prices published in rupees; free plan with 100 tasks.
Integrately: Per task tiers, annual-billing prices published; free plan with 100 tasks.
IFTTT: Monthly credit bands from Free to Pro+, prices listed; custom plans on request.
Node-RED: Free to install and run; no vendor price list on the project page.
The remaining 1 sell by quote.
Is there a free workflow automation tool?
Activepieces, Zapier, Make, Windmill, Latenode, Albato, Pabbly Connect, Integrately, IFTTT, Node-RED offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these workflow automation software vendors established?
Vendor countries on this page, Europe 5, North America 4, Asia-Pacific 2, Elsewhere 1:
n8n: Germany.
Activepieces: United States.
Zapier: United States.
Make: Czechia.
Windmill: United States.
Latenode: Cyprus.
Albato: Portugal.
Automatisch: Germany.
Pabbly Connect: India.
Integrately: India.
IFTTT: United States.
Node-RED: Not stated by the vendor.
Which workflow automation tools are open source?
Activepieces, Windmill, Automatisch, Node-RED.
Which workflow automation tools can you host yourself?
n8n, Activepieces, Windmill, Automatisch, Integrately. The remaining 7 run only on the vendor's servers.
What should you use instead of n8n?
The next in line are Activepieces, aimed at small teams wanting a free hosted start and an MIT core they could later move in-house, and Zapier, aimed at Non-technical staff who want the quickest first automation and accept paying per task.
Who should not buy n8n?
Agencies planning to resell the software itself as a hosted product. The Business tier is listed as self-hosted only, with the cloud version still on a waitlist..
Vendors who think their workflow automation software product should be here can tell us about it: what it does, who it is for. The call is ours, and software advice sets out what being listed means.