Returns management software gives online shops a portal where shoppers request a return or exchange, plus rules, labels, refunds and reporting behind it.
Vendors charge per tier, per return or per shop, and some bundle returns with shipping or logistics. This guide ranks twelve products on first-ninety-day effort, real price, exit terms and independence from a carrier or parent.
A vendor may pay to be more visible here. The wording of its entry, criticism included, stays ours, and no click on a vendor link pays us. How that works.
In short
What returns management software does
Returns management software lets an online retailer run return requests, exchanges, labels, refunds and return data through a branded portal and rule engine instead of by email and spreadsheet.
Each returns management tool was put through the same five questions, in sequence: how hard is setup, what does it really cost, how does data come back out, can you leave, and who is it for. On top of them sits one rule. The top three places are for challengers, which means vendors outside the big names, where the category has any, and the household brands come in from fourth place. Reasons for the choice of tests, and for skipping a score out of ten, can be read on the how we work page.
Amsterdam returns platform with monthly tiers and exchange-first workflows
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Returns Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Setup starts with an onboarding specialist who configures return rules with you, then a customer success manager takes over. The price ladder is short: Essential, Professional and a custom tier, each with a monthly and an annual rate.
Its fees page lists a support add-on separately, so check whether you need it. Return shipments run on Returnista carrier contracts unless you move to Professional and bring your own, which is the line a high-volume shop will cross first.
What stands out
Amsterdam office
Exchanges and store credit
Annual billing discount
Where it costs you
Custom e-commerce platform and BI-tool connections are Enterprise only, which is a quoted tier
Own carrier contracts are not in the Essential tier, so a shop with negotiated rates needs Professional
Right for
European fashion and sports shops that want exchange-led returns with published monthly prices
Wrong for
Stores that need a returns tool bundled with shipping labels or tracking
NetherlandsMonthly and annual tiers published; top tier quoted
Returns-only platform with a per-return fee instead of a subscription
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Returns Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Billing is the question to settle before the first call. The usage plan charges between 3.90 and 0.25 US dollars per return depending on volume, with no overage fee, so a seasonal shop pays less in quiet months.
The subscription starts at 299 US dollars a month. Plan changes mid-term are refused, which the vendor says on its own pricing page, and early renewal is its workaround. Two onboarding calls are required before launch.
What stands out
Per-return pricing
Shopify and BigCommerce
12-month contract
Where it costs you
A 12-month contract renews on its own unless notice is given 30 days before the signing date
No free trial is offered, so a pilot means a demo and a signed contract
Right for
Shopify and BigCommerce brands wanting to pay per return, with one returns tool
Wrong for
Shops on other carts, or teams wanting a trial before signing
Not stated by the vendorUsage-based per-return fee published; subscription from a published monthly price; no trial
Platform-agnostic returns and exchanges portal with a Shopify trial
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Returns Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
The implementation estimate on the vendor site is one to three days on Shopify, provided the carrier, 3PL, helpdesk and ERP connections are already in place. Other platforms take longer.
The plan table splits features into included, partial and add-on, so build your feature list first and price the add-ons that apply to you. Premium allows two users and Pro three, which a returns team of five will outgrow.
What stands out
Any e-commerce platform
Warranty and tracking add-ons
Shopify app
Where it costs you
Order tracking pages and notifications are an Enterprise feature or a paid add-on on the lower plans
The 14-day trial covers Shopify self-service plans only, not other platforms
Right for
Merchants on non-Shopify platforms that still want a published starting price
Wrong for
Shops after a single flat fee that covers tracking and upsells
United StatesTwo tiers published; enterprise quoted; 14-day trial on Shopify self-service
Shopify-only returns app with a five-return free tier and AI exchange offers
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Returns Management Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingAsia-Pacific
The free tier is genuinely small at five returns a month, so it works as a test rather than a plan. Beyond that, the model is a monthly request bucket plus a per-request overage, so a spike in January returns raises the bill by 0.49 US dollars per extra request.
The vendor states a free trial and 24 by 7 chat support. WMS and custom integrations appear only in the higher columns of its comparison table.
What stands out
Free plan
Shopify app store only
Indian company
Where it costs you
Only Shopify is supported, so a move to another cart means a new returns vendor
Webhooks, API access and fraud prevention are not in the lower tiers
Right for
Small Shopify stores testing a returns portal before paying anything
Wrong for
Merchants on non-Shopify carts or needing warehouse system links
IndiaFree plan with five returns a month; paid tiers published; per-extra-return fee
Warehouse-side returns inspection software for 3PLs and brands, with hardware
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Returns Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Where other tools in this list start with the shopper, Two Boxes starts with the warehouse associate and a tablet. It digitises the SOPs of each brand, so one 3PL can process returns for many brands in a single flow.
The vendor says staff can be trained within a day. Hardware ships with the software, so expect a rollout that involves a warehouse floor, not just a settings page and an app install.
What stands out
3PL focus
Warehouse tablets
Denver company
Where it costs you
There is no public price list, so cost is only known after a demo
It handles what happens after the parcel arrives, so shoppers still need a separate portal
Right for
Brands and 3PLs that lose time and margin grading returned units in the warehouse
Wrong for
Small shops that mainly need a branded customer returns page
Shipping, tracking and returns in one post-checkout suite from Outvio OĆ
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Returns Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
The pricing page splits the offer into three groups: Post-Checkout for merchants, Enterprise, and 3PL for logistics providers managing several brands. Returns and exchanges rules sit inside the Post-Checkout plan next to carrier management, so you configure shipping and returns together.
The vendor names fully automated Shopify exchanges under a Revenue Plus label. Ask which carriers you need at the contract rate, because that line drives the real cost.
What stands out
Post-checkout suite
90+ couriers
Separate helpdesk module
Where it costs you
Plan prices are not visible on the pricing page, so budgeting needs a quote or an account
The returns portal is one module of a wider suite, so a returns-only shop buys unused scope
Right for
Shops wanting labels, tracking and returns from one vendor with many European couriers
Wrong for
Merchants who want a standalone returns tool without shipping modules
EstoniaPricing on request; plan prices not rendered on the page
Shopify-born returns platform with a fee-funded free tier for some merchants
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Returns Management Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Loop built its product for Shopify, and its home page now says it works on all platforms. The pricing table compares Checkout+ and Core, and lists Instant Exchange, Bonus Credit and Shop Now among the features it sells.
Loop also sells tracking, order editing and a package-protection upsell, so the invoice is not returns alone. Request your own volume figures on a call to learn which column you land in.
What stands out
Columbus company
Checkout+ programme
SOC 2
Where it costs you
Checkout+ eligibility depends on order and return volume, so the free route is not guaranteed
Core covers up to 1,000 returns, so a larger shop must move to a custom quote
Right for
Established Shopify brands that want exchange tools plus a possible zero-fee route
Wrong for
Small shops that cannot meet Checkout+ eligibility or need fixed low cost
United StatesCore from a published monthly fee; Checkout+ free for eligible merchants
Shopify commerce suite whose returns portal costs nothing and pays for labels
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Returns Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
The pricing page lists returns as free and shows per-event rates for the rest: 0.08 US dollars per tracked order, 0.20 per support resolution and 0.99 for AI agent resolutions. An AI returns add-on is quoted.
The point to test is what sits behind the free label: Redo says it pays for return labels, so ask how the label spend is recovered, for example from claims, shipping or the other product lines.
What stands out
Redo Tech, Inc.
Free returns portal
Pay-per-use modules
Where it costs you
The merchant terms are written for Shopify-enabled online stores, which narrows the platforms
The free portal sits inside a suite that earns money from email, SMS and support products
Right for
Shopify merchants wanting zero-subscription returns who may adopt other Redo products
Wrong for
Merchants wanting a returns tool that is neutral on every other product
United StatesReturns portal free; other products priced per use
UK returns software and carrier network, now part of Global Blue
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Returns Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
The product has two halves: portal software with paid returns, live exchanges, refund to store credit and a WhatsApp returns flow, and a logistics side with carrier claims and a German returns hub.
Ownership by Global Blue is a fact to weigh in test four, because the buyer now deals with a larger group. Ask whether the software can run alone if you later change carriers.
What stands out
Global Blue owned
Carrier network
Returns hub in Germany
Where it costs you
Prices outside the Shopify app are not published, so cross-border cost is quoted
The carrier-network model ties returns to ZigZag lanes, which a shop with its own contracts may not want
Right for
Cross-border retailers that want one vendor for portal, carrier lanes and returns hub
Wrong for
Domestic shops with their own carrier contracts and a simple policy
United KingdomShopify app 14-day trial; other pricing on request
Returns logistics network and software for large omnichannel brands
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Returns Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
ReBound describes itself as managing the entire returns ecosystem, so you outsource the physical flow as well as the portal. That removes warehouse work but raises dependence on its network, which test four weighs heavily.
Its solutions include retail returns, a circularity portal and a data product called Radar. Ask for the data-export format and the notice period in writing before committing a whole returns flow.
What stands out
Logistics plus software
Retail returns
TikTok Shop partner
Where it costs you
Positioned at large and scaling brands, so a small shop is outside the stated target
No price list exists, and logistics service terms add to the software contract
Right for
Large multi-market brands that want software and return logistics from one provider
Wrong for
Small stores that want a self-serve app they can install in minutes
Shipping platform whose plans include a branded returns portal
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Returns Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Sendcloud is a shipping platform first, and returns management is one module of it: the plans list a return portal, return rules (a limited number on the entry tier), QR code returns and return analytics.
Higher plans add per-label fees and cap labels per year. A shop already shipping with Sendcloud adds returns cheaply, while a returns-only buyer pays for a shipping tool.
What stands out
Shipping first
Returns portal on every tier
Per-label fees
NetherlandsPlans published; free trial offered; per-label fee on higher tiers
UPS-owned box-free return drop-off network with a returns portal
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Returns Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The model differs from the portal-only tools: shoppers drop an item at a Return Bar, staff verify it and a refund can be triggered at once, and returns are consolidated before they reach your warehouse.
The vendor cites faster restocking and fewer service contacts, using its own 2024 data. Weigh the dependence: the drop-off network, the fraud audits and the logistics all come from one UPS-owned vendor.
What stands out
UPS company
Return Bar network
Fraud scoring
Where it costs you
No published prices, so cost depends on a demo
The service is built around Happy Returns drop-off and consolidation, which makes its owner part of your supply chain
Right for
Retailers whose shoppers want in-person box-free returns and refund after drop-off scanning
Wrong for
Shops wanting an independent software vendor with no carrier owner
Returns management software lets an online retailer run return requests, exchanges, labels, refunds and return data through a branded portal and rule engine instead of by email and spreadsheet. A feature table will not settle this choice. These steps will.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
5 vendors on this page sell by quote, while 7 publish a pricing model you can read today: Returnista, ReturnLogic, ReturnGO, Return Prime, Loop Returns, Redo, Sendcloud.
02
Weigh the vendor's home jurisdiction
Look at the contracting entity: these 12 vendors sit in 6 countries, split by region as North America 5, Europe 5, Asia-Pacific 1, Elsewhere 1. The servers can be anywhere; the legal obligations follow the company.
Per tier, per return or bundled with logistics
Returns tools meter cost in three ways. Returnista and ReturnGO publish monthly tiers. ReturnLogic offers a per-return fee with no subscription and a subscription from 299 US dollars a month. Return Prime sells monthly buckets of returns with a fee for each extra request. Sendcloud, Outvio and ReBound Returns bundle returns with shipping or logistics, so the price of returns is hidden in a wider contract.
Compare on your own return volume: take last year's count and its seasonal peak, then ask each vendor to price that exact pattern, including overage fees, onboarding charges and every add-on module you need. A quote that leaves any of these out is not comparable, and the vendor that quotes the lowest figure may simply have left the most out.
Count returns per month for a full year, including the peak.
Ask for the overage rule in writing for any bucket plan.
Separate the returns line from shipping or logistics lines.
The feature that lifts a tier
A tier name says little until you read the table. ReturnGO places API and webhooks, packing slips and ERP integrations at Pro and keeps tracking and order notifications for Enterprise or add-ons. Returnista holds own carrier contracts and a dedicated success manager for Professional, and custom storefront links for Enterprise.
Loop Returns lists instant exchange, bonus credit and workflows in a feature table beside its paid plan. A shop with its own carrier rates or a warehouse system will often find the cheapest tier does not connect to either, so name those two links before you read any price. Then ask each vendor which tier carries them, and write the answer down, because a sales page rarely states it as plainly as the comparison table does.
List your carrier contract and warehouse system before comparing tiers.
Check which tier unlocks API and webhooks.
Ask whether exchanges and store credit are in the base price.
Free tiers, free portals and who pays for labels
Three vendors advertise something free. Redo lists its returns portal as free and says it covers return label cost, funded by its wider product suite. Return Prime has a five-returns-a-month plan. Loop Returns offers Checkout+ at no software cost to merchants who qualify, where shoppers pay a small fee.
None of these is free in the sense of no counterparty, so find who is paid. Ask what happens to the free route if your volume rises, whether eligibility can be withdrawn, and which data, upsell or paid product the vendor takes in return. A free route that disappears at your next growth step is a trial, not a plan, and should be budgeted as the paid tier it will become.
Ask who funds the free route and for how long.
Check eligibility rules and what happens above the volume cap.
Confirm whether label costs are covered or passed on.
Software only, or software with a return network
Two Boxes works in the warehouse, Happy Returns runs a drop-off network owned by UPS, and ZigZag Global is now owned by Global Blue and sells carrier lanes beside software. Those models solve physical problems that a portal cannot, but they tie you to the network. Portal-only tools such as ReturnLogic, ReturnGO and Returnista leave the carrier choice with you.
Decide whether your pain is the shopper experience, the warehouse, or the parcel journey, and ask each logistics-led vendor whether its software can run without its network if you leave. The honest answer shapes the exit test: a vendor that owns the parcel journey can offer more, but you cannot take that journey with you.
Name the problem: shopper portal, warehouse inspection or parcel journey.
Ask if the software runs without the vendor's logistics network.
Get the data export and notice period in the contract.
What goes wrong most often when buying returns management software
Choosing on the headline monthly price and discovering later that carrier contracts, API access or exchanges sit one tier higher.
Signing a 12-month auto-renewing contract, as ReturnLogic describes, without a note in the calendar for the 30-day notice date.
Treating a free returns portal as free of consequence, without asking how the vendor recovers the label and support cost.
Testing only the shopper portal and not the refund, restock and reporting steps that your own team will run daily.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best returns management software in 2026?
Returnista takes first place among the 12 we reviewed. Returnista works from an Amsterdam head office with a second office in Munich and sells a returns portal, exchanges, store credit and return analytics.
The Essential tier covers exchanges and insights, while own carrier contracts and a dedicated success manager start at Professional. Custom storefronts and BI connections need the quoted Enterprise tier, so a headless shop is priced by negotiation. Annual payment takes two months off.
Which returns management tools publish their pricing?
7 of the 12, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Returnista: Monthly and annual tiers published; top tier quoted.
ReturnLogic: Usage-based per-return fee published; subscription from a published monthly price; no trial.
ReturnGO: Two tiers published; enterprise quoted; 14-day trial on Shopify self-service.
Return Prime: Free plan with five returns a month; paid tiers published; per-extra-return fee.
Loop Returns: Core from a published monthly fee; Checkout+ free for eligible merchants.
Redo: Returns portal free; other products priced per use.
Return Prime, Loop Returns offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these returns management software vendors established?
Vendor countries on this page, North America 5, Europe 5, Asia-Pacific 1, Elsewhere 1:
Returnista: Netherlands.
ReturnLogic: Not stated by the vendor.
ReturnGO: United States.
Return Prime: India.
Two Boxes: United States.
Outvio: Estonia.
Loop Returns: United States.
Redo: United States.
ZigZag Global: United Kingdom.
ReBound Returns: United Kingdom.
Sendcloud: Netherlands.
Happy Returns: United States.
What should you use instead of Returnista?
Second is ReturnLogic, which suits Shopify and BigCommerce brands wanting to pay per return, with one returns tool. Third is ReturnGO, which suits Merchants on non-Shopify platforms that still want a published starting price.
Who should not buy Returnista?
Stores that need a returns tool bundled with shipping labels or tracking. Custom e-commerce platform and BI-tool connections are Enterprise only, which is a quoted tier.
Missing from this returns management software ranking? Contact us with a short description of the product and its users. Adding it is an editorial choice, and software advice explains what a listing does and does not involve.