Insurance agency software ranges from a full management system that holds policies, accounting and carrier downloads to a sales layer or a quoting tool for one line of business.
This guide ranks eleven products on first-ninety-day effort, the invoice once modules are added, how data leaves, and whether you can buy and leave without a partner.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry
says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a
vendor. How that works.
In short
What insurance agency software does
Insurance agency software is the system an agency or broker uses to hold clients and policies, quote, service renewals, track commissions, and exchange data with its carriers.
In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether
you can leave, and who each insurance agency tool is built for. One rule sits on top of those tests:
Places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. Why those five, and why there is no
score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
MGAs and carriers replacing core policy administration with a vendor active in many countries
Retail agencies seeking a quick, low-cost management system
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a
different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the
entry says so.
Independently owned agency management system sold without long-term contracts
Ranked #1 of 11 in Best Insurance Agency Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
HawkSoft bundles commercial and personal lines workflows, a sales pipeline, document storage, ACORD forms, invoicing, batch email and text messaging into the one system every agency receives.
Its site claims support is answered by phone and remote login, and that conversions of data from other systems are done by its own team. Missing: a price list, and any statement about export formats when you leave.
What stands out
Independent owner
Online or local install
Phone support
Where it costs you
The site shows no prices, so the real invoice for users and add-ons is only known after a sales conversation.
Installation comes in two forms, online and local in-office, so the choice carries IT work that a browser-only system avoids.
Right for
Independent property and casualty agencies wanting one bundled system and phone support, no contract
Wrong for
Carriers, MGAs or agencies wanting published prices before a sales call
United StatesPricing on request; the site names no long-term contracts
Quoting, underwriting and CRM tools for life and health agents
Ranked #2 of 11 in Best Insurance Agency Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
The site describes underwriting, quoting, CRM and point-of-sale tools for final expense, term life, Medicare supplement, dental, vision, hearing and hospital indemnity products. Both plans give unlimited use of all toolkits, and every account gets a shareable quote link.
Billing is monthly, and the agency plan includes five agent accounts. Policy accounting, carrier download and commission tracking are not described, and those are what an agency management system normally covers.
What stands out
Life and health
Published prices
Quoting and CRM
Where it costs you
The product lines named on the site are final expense, term, Medicare supplement and ancillary, so property and casualty agencies are not served.
The lead platform is an option on the agency plan, so lead sourcing is a second cost line.
Right for
Life and health agents selling simplified issue products who want a priced self-serve tool
Wrong for
Commercial lines agencies, brokers and any agency needing accounting or carrier download
United StatesPublished monthly price for an individual plan and an agency plan; trial offered
Modular insurance platform for MGAs, brokers and insurers
Ranked #3 of 11 in Best Insurance Agency Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
The platform splits into a product builder, distribution, accounting and reporting, and claims management, usable together or alone. The site says you can mix modules, integrate through open APIs and start small, and that a product can be built without writing code.
Its pricing page lists a dedicated key account manager for MGAs and a dedicated implementation team for insurers. It describes neither a trial nor export commitments.
What stands out
Modular
Low-code
Open APIs
Where it costs you
Pricing is quoted, so a small agency cannot see a price before a demo.
The audience is MGAs, insurers and larger brokers, so a retail agency would use a fraction of the product builder and accounting modules.
Right for
MGAs and brokers wanting to design their own products and accounting in one platform
Wrong for
Small retail agencies wanting a ready-made client and policy desk
United KingdomQuoted per MGA or insurer; monthly base fee plus modules, unlimited users
Agency management and commissions suite for health, life and benefits
Ranked #4 of 11 in Best Insurance Agency Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Four Plus products are listed: AMS+, Commissions+, Engage+ and Quote+. AMS+ covers a health-specific CRM, electronic scope of appointment, lead routing and VoIP, and its tiers vary the depth of lead workflows, text messaging and reporting.
Commissions+ imports carrier data and flags missed commissions. Agency websites cost extra. No prices appear on the pricing page, only a request form for customised pricing and a note that Commissions+ and Quote+ are sized by volume.
What stands out
Health and benefits
Commissions
Upline support
Where it costs you
Commissions+ and Quote+ are priced separately by volume, so the full cost grows with transactions and groups.
The focus is health, senior, benefits and life, so property and casualty workflows are not described.
Right for
Health and benefits agencies and uplines that need commission processing next to the CRM
Wrong for
Commercial and personal lines property and casualty retail agencies
Not stated by the vendorPackages quoted on request; AMS+ tiers and add-on modules by volume
Sales and retention CRM layered on top of an agency management system
Ranked #5 of 11 in Best Insurance Agency Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The pricing page lists Essential, Growth and Pro. Lead management, task management, referral tracking, producer referral sites and activity reports sit in all three tiers, while Google review requests and renewal automation start at Growth.
Pro adds events automation, a service center, click to call and an activity tracker. Annual billing carries a 20 percent discount. The page says the integration with some management systems may cost extra.
What stands out
Sales CRM
Published prices
Producer goals
Where it costs you
It does not replace an agency management system, so the real cost is its tiers plus the system beneath.
Integration with some agency management systems may need additional cost, according to the pricing page.
Right for
Agencies with a working management system that want lead pipeline, renewal and goal tracking
Wrong for
Agencies that need policy servicing, accounting or carrier download in one place
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly prices for Essential, Growth and Pro tiers; 14-day trial
Agency management system from Dyad, formerly XDimensional Technologies
Ranked #6 of 11 in Best Insurance Agency Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Dyad says it was formed in 2023 from the makers of Nexsure, built for retail agencies, and ALIS, built for MGAs, wholesalers and program administrators.
The same vendor lists carrier connectivity, outsourcing and an AI extractor as separate products, and describes embedded AI to automate intake and quoting. The pages give no pricing, no trial details and no data export terms, so those need to be asked for in writing.
What stands out
Agency management
Carrier connectivity
MGA sister product
Where it costs you
The name changed hands in a 2023 merger, so documentation and support contacts may sit under the Dyad brand.
No prices or plan limits are published, so cost comparison needs a quote.
Right for
Retail agencies that want one vendor also serving MGAs and wholesalers they trade with
Wrong for
Buyers who need published prices or a free self-serve start
Not stated by the vendorPricing on request; demo booking on the Dyad site
All-in-one agency management system and comparative rater from Applied Systems
Ranked #7 of 11 in Best Insurance Agency Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The pricing page says cost depends on users and the products needed, and network members usually get a discount.
Products listed are an all-in-one management system, a comparative rater and agency websites, with an embedded AI assistant called EVA to cut manual data entry. The site offers a free trial button and a buy-now button. The terms are issued by Applied Systems, Inc., Chicago.
What stands out
Comparative rater
AI assistant EVA
Applied Systems
Where it costs you
The vendor states no flat rate, so the price per user changes with the products chosen.
It is owned by the same company as Applied Epic, so independence from a large vendor is not available.
Right for
Newly independent or growing agencies that want rating and management from one vendor
Wrong for
Agencies wanting to avoid a large insurance-software group
United StatesQuoted by user count and product mix; trial and buy-now buttons on the site
Broker technology with prospecting data, content and client engagement
Ranked #8 of 11 in Best Insurance Agency Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The home page groups tools under analyse data, power distribution, simplify client servicing and reduce risk, with miEdge for lead generation, a marketing automation product and a Client Engagement Suite for risk management, benefits and learning content.
It also names AI agents for prospecting, quoting and renewals. The site shows no pricing and does not state where the company is based.
What stands out
Broker platform
Prospecting data
Client content
Where it costs you
The pages read do not describe a policy and accounting system, so it is a set of add-ons rather than a core system.
No prices are published, and the modules are bought by product.
Right for
Brokers wanting prospecting data, content and client engagement next to their core system
Wrong for
Agencies looking for a single core policy and accounting system
Not stated by the vendorPricing on request; modules sold by product
Agency management system from Vertafore with accounting and carrier download
Ranked #9 of 11 in Best Insurance Agency Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The page names policy lifecycle features (carrier download of policies, endorsements, claims and renewals), billing, invoicing and producer payments, and business intelligence reports.
Five AI agents marked live include an email agent, a reconciliation agent and a policy intake agent. It connects to WorkSmart, Proposal Builder and InsurLink. Hosting is not stated on the page, and the website terms are governed by Colorado law with Denver courts.
What stands out
Agency management
Carrier download
Accounting
Where it costs you
The page publishes no prices, so a quote is needed to compare cost.
Several named extras, such as WorkSmart and InsurLink, are other Vertafore products, which deepens reliance on one vendor.
Right for
Agencies already using Vertafore tools for proposals, certificates and client email
Wrong for
Agencies wanting a vendor with a single product and published prices
United StatesPricing on request; demo and phone contact on the site
Browser-native agency management system for mid-size and enterprise agencies
Ranked #10 of 11 in Best Insurance Agency Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The product page says Epic handles prospecting, pipeline, market access, personal and commercial lines quoting and submissions, accounting and digital payments, reporting and policy management.
It describes a browser-native platform with APIs, granular security controls and flexible configuration. Applied Recon and Applied Pay are listed as separate products from the same vendor. The page cites no pricing and describes no trial, so the cost of each module needs to be asked for.
What stands out
Property and casualty plus benefits
Cloud-based
Enterprise
Where it costs you
No prices are published, so licence cost per user can only be learned from sales.
The target is mid-size and enterprise agencies, so small agencies carry setup effort built for larger firms.
Right for
Large multi-location agencies that run P&C and benefits in a single system
Wrong for
Small agencies with few users and no appetite for a long implementation
United StatesPricing on request; sales contact on the Applied site
Core platforms for insurers rather than for retail agencies
Ranked #11 of 11 in Best Insurance Agency Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestMiddle East
The site lists SapiensAIP, IDITSuite for property and casualty, CoreSuite for life and pensions, DataSuite, decision management and reinsurance products. Its about page cites 600 active customers, 30 countries and 2024 revenue of 542 million US dollars.
Analyst awards from Celent are quoted on the home page. No pricing, trial or self-service signup is shown, so every engagement starts with a sales conversation.
What stands out
Insurer platforms
Policy administration
Global
Where it costs you
Insurer-grade policy administration is far beyond what a retail agency needs.
No prices or trial are published on the pages we read.
Right for
MGAs and carriers replacing core policy administration with a vendor active in many countries
Wrong for
Retail agencies seeking a quick, low-cost management system
IsraelPricing on request; demo booking on the site
Insurance agency software is the system an agency or broker uses to hold clients and policies, quote, service renewals, track commissions, and exchange data with its carriers. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is
the order we would work through them.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
2 of the 11 tools here publish what they cost; the other 9 quote per organisation. The ones you can compare without a sales call: Insurance Toolkits, AgencyZoom.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
These 11 vendors are established in 4 countries across 4 regions (North America 5, Elsewhere 4, Europe 1, Middle East 1). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
What an insurance agency management system holds
An agency management system is the record of every client, policy, endorsement and renewal, plus the accounting that follows premium and commission. Epic describes P&C and benefits in one platform, while AgencyBloc is built around health, senior and group benefits. Insurance Toolkits is narrower still: quoting and underwriting for final expense, term, Medicare supplement and ancillary products.
Decide which lines you sell first, because a product built for another line forces workarounds in forms, commissions and carrier data that staff then repeat on every policy. Then separate the core system from the layers on top of it, such as sales CRM, rating, marketing and content, since the second group is often a separate bill.
Name the lines of business you sell and ask the vendor which workflow covers each one
Ask whether accounting, commissions and carrier download are in the base package
Confirm what sits in the core system and what is a separately sold module
Pricing and contracts for HawkSoft, EZLynx and the rest
Only a minority publish prices. AgencyZoom lists three monthly tiers and Insurance Toolkits lists an individual and an agency plan, while HawkSoft, EZLynx, Insly and Applied Epic ask you to talk to sales. EZLynx states that price depends on users and products, and Insly describes a monthly base package plus modules. HawkSoft states no long-term contracts.
Because a quote hides the module count and the user count, ask for one itemised sheet that includes the rater, accounting, texting, websites and any integration charges. AgencyZoom warns that some management-system integrations cost extra, which shows how a low tier can sit on top of a larger invoice once the whole stack is counted.
Request an itemised quote with every module and per-user charge
Ask for the contract length, renewal terms and notice period in writing
Check whether integration with your existing system carries a separate fee
Hosting, setup and getting your data out
Setup effort decides the first quarter. Insly says a product can go live in seven to fourteen days, and its pricing page lists an implementation team for insurers, while HawkSoft offers an online and a local in-office installation. Epic describes a browser-native platform, whereas Vertafore does not state hosting for AMS360 on its page, so ask which it is before you plan your own devices and staff training.
Data conversion from your old system is the heavy step, and HawkSoft claims its own conversions team does it. None of the pages we read describe an export format, so ask what file you receive when you leave, who produces it, how long it takes and whether it costs anything.
Ask for a conversion plan and a date for the first live renewal
Ask what export you get on exit, in which format and at what charge
Confirm hosting and who carries the IT work for local installs
Choosing between a core system and a sales layer
A sales layer is not a replacement for a core system. AgencyZoom handles lead pipeline, renewals and goals but needs a management system underneath it, and Zywave sells prospecting data, content and client engagement next to the system you already use. Sapiens sits at the other end, with insurer-grade platforms for carriers and MGAs.
A retail agency should choose a core system first, then add one layer at a time and measure whether it is used. Buying three layers on day one raises the monthly bill and the training load without fixing the data that lives in the core record, and each layer adds one more export to plan for.
List which tasks the core system already does before adding a second product
Test one producer on the layer for a month before rolling it out
Check which layers the core vendor also sells, to avoid paying twice
What goes wrong most often when buying insurance agency software
Comparing list prices of a sales layer with the quote for a full management system, which are different scopes.
Signing a multi-year term before testing carrier download with the carriers that produce most of your premium.
Treating a vendor's trial as proof of conversion quality, when conversion of old data is a separate project.
Forgetting that a rater, websites and texting are often separate modules that add to the invoice.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best insurance agency software in 2026?
HawkSoft leads our ranking of 11. HawkSoft, Inc. says it is independently owned with zero outside investment and that every agency receives the full system, with no long-term contracts. That makes leaving a contractual non-event.
The price is not shown, so budget comparison needs a sales call. Agencies choose between an online and a local in-office installation, which adds an infrastructure decision that browser-only systems skip.
Which insurance agency tools publish their pricing?
2 of the 11, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Insurance Toolkits: Published monthly price for an individual plan and an agency plan; trial offered.
AgencyZoom: Published monthly prices for Essential, Growth and Pro tiers; 14-day trial.
The other 9 quote per organisation.
Is there a free insurance agency tool?
No. None of the 11 offer a usable free tier.
Where are these insurance agency software vendors established?
In 4 countries across 4 regions: North America 5, Elsewhere 4, Europe 1, Middle East 1.
HawkSoft: United States.
Insurance Toolkits: United States.
Insly: United Kingdom.
AgencyBloc: Not stated by the vendor.
AgencyZoom: Not stated by the vendor.
Nexsure: Not stated by the vendor.
EZLynx: United States.
Zywave: Not stated by the vendor.
Vertafore AMS360: United States.
Applied Epic: United States.
Sapiens: Israel.
What should you use instead of HawkSoft?
Insurance Toolkits and Insly are the next two on this page.
Insurance Toolkits is for Life and health agents selling simplified issue products who want a priced self-serve tool; Insly is for MGAs and brokers wanting to design their own products and accounting in one platform.
Who should not buy HawkSoft?
Carriers, MGAs or agencies wanting published prices before a sales call. The site shows no prices, so the real invoice for users and add-ons is only known after a sales conversation..
If your insurance agency software product belongs among these 11, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.