Best Home Health Care Software in 2026

Agencies that visit patients at home buy software for scheduling, visit documentation, electronic visit verification and billing, and Medicare-certified agencies add assessments and claims.

Non-medical agencies need a lighter product. This guide ranks twelve products on first-ninety-day effort, the real price once modules are added, how data leaves, independence from partners, and which care model each fits.

Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a vendor. How that works.

In short

What home health care software does

Home health care software runs an agency's patient intake, visit scheduling, clinician documentation, electronic visit verification and billing, and in the United States often supports Medicare assessments and claims.

01

The top three

12 tools reviewed
02

How we ranked these

5 criteria, in order

In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether you can leave, and who each home health care tool is built for. One rule sits on top of those tests: Places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. Why those five, and why there is no score out of ten, is on the how we work page.

12tools reviewed
0publish a price
0have a free tier
3countries represented
03

Compared at a glance

12 tools
#ToolCountryPricingFree tier Right forNot for
#1Alora Home HealthUnited StatesQuoted by users or patients served; written quote by email or phone—Agencies mixing Medicare home health and non-medical care under one vendor loginBuyers who want to see published prices or test alone
#2AxisCareUnited StatesQuoted by client count in four size bands—Home care agencies of 25 to 500 clients that may add skilled visits laterAgencies that need to price software before talking to sales
#3AxxessUnited StatesSold through a demo request; no prices shown on the site—Mid-sized agencies that run home health and hospice and want one vendor for bothSmall agencies that need a price list before a call
#4CareSmartz360United StatesQuoted by active clients, not per-user licences—Private-duty and Medicaid home care agencies that add office staff faster than clientsMedicare-certified agencies that need OASIS assessments built in
#5KanTimeUnited StatesSold through a demo request; no prices shown on the site—Agencies running home health, hospice and home care together on a single recordSingle-line agencies that want a narrower, cheaper product
#6AlayaCareCanadaQuoted per organisation by modules, volumes and regions—Multi-branch or multi-state agencies that want to add modules in stagesSmall agencies that want a flat price list
#7AnkotaUnited StatesNo price shown on the site; contact by phone or email—Home care, adult day and I/DD organisations that may want only an EVV moduleSkilled home health agencies that bill Medicare and need charting
#8CareswitchNot stated by the vendorSold through a demo booking; no prices shown on the site—Private-pay and VA home care agencies that want billing handled by the same groupMedicare-certified home health agencies that need clinical charting
#9HHAeXchangeUnited StatesSold through a demo request; no prices shown on the site—Medicaid personal care and I/DD providers that must work inside state-sponsored EVVPrivate-pay agencies and Medicare skilled home health providers
#10Homecare HomebaseUnited StatesSold through a demo request; no prices shown on the site—Home health and hospice agencies that want a platform with optional services around itSmall agencies that want a flat price and no corporate group
#11MatrixCareUnited StatesSold through a demo request; no prices shown on the site—Agencies that want strong exchange of medication and patient data with other providersNon-medical home care agencies that need scheduling-first software
#12WellSky Home HealthUnited StatesSold through a demo request; no prices shown on the site—Medicare-certified agencies that want built-in OASIS quality assurance and claimsSmall agencies that want an independent single-product vendor

Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the entry says so.

04

The 12 tools, reviewed

Ranked

1. Alora Home Health · 2. AxisCare · 3. Axxess · 4. CareSmartz360 · 5. KanTime · 6. AlayaCare · 7. Ankota · 8. Careswitch · 9. HHAeXchange · 10. Homecare Homebase · 11. MatrixCare · 12. WellSky Home Health

#1 Alora Home Health

Atlanta vendor covering skilled home health and home care in one system

Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Home Health Care Software in 2026.

Pricing on requestNorth America

Alora answers the independence test better than most: one company, one system, and a quote that depends on how many people use it or how many patients you serve. One login covers several offices, and EVV runs through a GPS app or by telephone.

The first ninety days are not priced: the FAQ says implementation takes a few days to several weeks, depending on agency size. Ask for the user-count and patient-count quotes side by side.

What stands out
  • Independent vendor
  • Skilled and non-skilled
  • Offline apps
Where it costs you
  • The price is a written quote with no published figure to compare against
  • The pages checked name no trial or sandbox, so the first hands-on look is a vendor-led demo
Right for

Agencies mixing Medicare home health and non-medical care under one vendor login

Wrong for

Buyers who want to see published prices or test alone

United StatesQuoted by users or patients served; written quote by email or phone

#2 AxisCare

Home care platform with skilled and IDD modules, quoted by client count

Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Home Health Care Software in 2026.

Pricing on requestNorth America

AxisCare splits its offer into home care, skilled care and IDD, so an agency can start with non-medical scheduling and add clinical documentation such as plans of care and practitioner orders later.

The pricing page defines size by clients: starting at 25, then 40 to 500, 500 to 1,000 and above 1,000. Managed Medicaid and VA billing sits under revenue cycle management. Ask whether skilled care and managed billing are in the first quote.

What stands out
  • Client-count bands
  • Home care and skilled care
  • Managed billing option
Where it costs you
  • No price is published; each of the four size bands ends in a quote request
  • Medicaid and VA billing is a managed service listed separately from the software, so it is a second line on the invoice
Right for

Home care agencies of 25 to 500 clients that may add skilled visits later

Wrong for

Agencies that need to price software before talking to sales

United StatesQuoted by client count in four size bands

#3 Axxess

Dallas vendor spanning home health, home care, hospice and palliative software

Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Home Health Care Software in 2026.

Pricing on requestNorth America

Axxess lists home health, home care, hospice and palliative care software under one roof, plus revenue cycle management with billing services and an exchange for patient data powered by Kno2.

That breadth helps an agency that runs several lines, and it also means the price depends on how many parts you buy. Nothing on the site states ninety-day setup effort or export terms. Ask in writing how data leaves if you stop using the platform.

What stands out
  • Home health and hospice
  • Revenue cycle option
  • Demo-led sale
Where it costs you
  • The site shows no price or trial, only demo requests
  • Revenue cycle management and data exchange are named as separate offers, so the total depends on which parts are added
Right for

Mid-sized agencies that run home health and hospice and want one vendor for both

Wrong for

Small agencies that need a price list before a call

United StatesSold through a demo request; no prices shown on the site

#4 CareSmartz360

Client-count pricing for home care, with Medicaid, VA and insurance billing

Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Home Health Care Software in 2026.

Pricing on requestNorth America

The pricing page splits agencies by active clients: growing agencies with up to 100, large with 101 to 249, enterprise with 250 or more, and a franchisor plan. AI and business intelligence are described as included in all plans.

Multi-location customers get one-to-one training and guided data migration. The quote still has to be requested, so ask for the figure at your client count and at double that count.

What stands out
  • Active-client pricing
  • Multi-payer billing
  • Multi-state EVV
Where it costs you
  • Every size band ends in a quote request and no figure is published
  • The pages checked name no OASIS or Medicare billing, so skilled home health is outside what the site shows
Right for

Private-duty and Medicaid home care agencies that add office staff faster than clients

Wrong for

Medicare-certified agencies that need OASIS assessments built in

United StatesQuoted by active clients, not per-user licences

#5 KanTime

One EMR for six post-acute lines from home health to self-direction

Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Home Health Care Software in 2026.

Pricing on requestNorth America

KanTime states that it runs six lines of business in one scalable solution, from admissions and scheduling through billing and claims. The breadth is the draw for a group with home health, hospice and self-direction programmes, since one record follows the client.

The cost is that a single-line agency pays attention to what it does not use. Nothing on the page covers setup effort or data export, so ask for both in writing.

What stands out
  • Six care lines
  • Single record
  • Demo-led sale
Where it costs you
  • The home page shows no price or trial, only a demo request
  • Ownership of the company is not stated on the page
Right for

Agencies running home health, hospice and home care together on a single record

Wrong for

Single-line agencies that want a narrower, cheaper product

United StatesSold through a demo request; no prices shown on the site

#6 AlayaCare

Modular home care platform with three module tiers and AI agents

Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Home Health Care Software in 2026.

Pricing on requestNorth America

The pricing page lays out operational, care delivery, care network and governance modules across three tiers, so a growing agency can start low and add. A base subscription covers scheduling, visit management, documentation, workforce tools and standard reporting.

EVV, billing and AI agents appear as modules. Because cost moves with branches and regions, ask for a quote at your current size and at the size you expect in two years.

What stands out
  • Module tiers
  • Multi-region
  • Demo-led sale
Where it costs you
  • Advanced mobile functions and integrations are priced inside the proposal, not the base subscription
  • Three module tiers mean the price moves with every module added
Right for

Multi-branch or multi-state agencies that want to add modules in stages

Wrong for

Small agencies that want a flat price list

CanadaQuoted per organisation by modules, volumes and regions

#7 Ankota

Boston home care, EVV, adult day and I/DD software with modular parts

Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Home Health Care Software in 2026.

Pricing on requestNorth America

Ankota builds home care management around client plans, caregiver records, scheduling and an app with EVV clock-in and a telephone fallback for caregivers without smartphones.

Some components are sold as modules for organisations that already own other systems, and a public API exists. That modular stance helps if you only need EVV. It does not help a skilled agency, since the pages checked list no clinical assessments. Request a price before a demo.

What stands out
  • Modular components
  • EVV
  • Adult day and I/DD
Where it costs you
  • The pages checked show no OASIS or Medicare home health billing
  • No price appears on the site and the /pricing/ address returns an error page
Right for

Home care, adult day and I/DD organisations that may want only an EVV module

Wrong for

Skilled home health agencies that bill Medicare and need charting

United StatesNo price shown on the site; contact by phone or email

#8 Careswitch

Home care system with an AI assistant, now part of Paradigm

Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Home Health Care Software in 2026.

Pricing on requestElsewhere

Careswitch positions its software around caregiver profiles, a caregiver app, shifts and clock-ins, care plans, scheduling and billing for private pay, VA and long-term care.

Looper is limited by the permissions of the person who asked and each task waits in review until a person marks it complete. Paradigm offers a billing team for third-party payers. Ask what happens to the billing service and the data if you leave the software.

What stands out
  • Paradigm company
  • AI assistant
  • Private pay and VA
Where it costs you
  • The pages checked list no skilled clinical documentation or Medicare billing
  • No price or trial appears; the call to action is a demo booking
Right for

Private-pay and VA home care agencies that want billing handled by the same group

Wrong for

Medicare-certified home health agencies that need clinical charting

Not stated by the vendorSold through a demo booking; no prices shown on the site

#9 HHAeXchange

Medicaid home care network linking providers, payers and caregivers

Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Home Health Care Software in 2026.

Pricing on requestNorth America

The site is organised around HCBS providers, payers and caregivers. Providers get scheduling, a caregiver app, billing and claims, private pay and payroll under a new CarePay offer, plus a state-sponsored EVV portal.

Payers get dashboards and program integrity tools. It is built for Medicaid flows, so a private-pay agency uses a product shaped around payers. Ask which state programmes your contracts require.

What stands out
  • Medicaid HCBS
  • Payer network
  • State EVV portal
Where it costs you
  • The pages checked show no prices or trial, only a demo request
  • Payers use the same network, so the vendor serves both sides of the claim, which a provider should weigh
Right for

Medicaid personal care and I/DD providers that must work inside state-sponsored EVV

Wrong for

Private-pay agencies and Medicare skilled home health providers

United StatesSold through a demo request; no prices shown on the site

#10 Homecare Homebase

Home health, hospice and personal care platform in the Hearst Health network

Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Home Health Care Software in 2026.

Pricing on requestNorth America

HCHB organises its offer into a core platform, the PointCare mobile app, back-office tools, services such as revenue cycle and authorizations, and extensions such as analytics, intake and smart scheduling.

The page also states a customer retention figure and an agency count, which are the vendor own claims. Group ownership by Hearst Health does not make it independent in test four, so ask what you can switch off.

What stands out
  • Hearst Health network
  • PointCare mobile app
  • Service add-ons
Where it costs you
  • The site shows no price or trial, only demo requests
  • Revenue cycle services, authorizations and extensions are separate items, so the first quote may not cover them
Right for

Home health and hospice agencies that want a platform with optional services around it

Wrong for

Small agencies that want a flat price and no corporate group

United StatesSold through a demo request; no prices shown on the site

#11 MatrixCare

Home health EHR from a vendor also serving senior living and nursing

Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Home Health Care Software in 2026.

Pricing on requestNorth America

MatrixCare presents an EHR designed by clinicians for home health, with interoperability through CommonWell Health Alliance, Carequality and Surescripts, medication reconciliation on a mobile device, speech-to-text and electronic faxing inside the record.

OASIS Review Services are offered at several service levels. The product family also covers senior living and skilled nursing, so ask a home-health-only reference customer how much of the roadmap is relevant to you.

What stands out
  • Multi-setting vendor
  • Interoperability
  • OASIS review service
Where it costs you
  • The site shows no prices or trial
  • OASIS review is sold as a service tier, so it is a separate cost line
Right for

Agencies that want strong exchange of medication and patient data with other providers

Wrong for

Non-medical home care agencies that need scheduling-first software

United StatesSold through a demo request; no prices shown on the site

#12 WellSky Home Health

Home health EHR with OASIS checks, claims, EVV from a large vendor

Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Home Health Care Software in 2026.

Pricing on requestNorth America

WellSky Home Health describes an AI-powered record with intake and scheduling, delivery of care with offline access and EVV, quality assurance with OASIS issue identification, claims management and predictive analytics.

A separate Personal Care product serves non-medical agencies, so a mixed agency may run two WellSky products. The company states its address as Overland Park. Ask how the two products share client data.

What stands out
  • OASIS quality checks
  • Offline access
  • Multi-product vendor
Where it costs you
  • The site shows no prices or trial, only demo requests
  • A wide product catalogue means a home health buyer pays attention to a vendor focused on many other settings
Right for

Medicare-certified agencies that want built-in OASIS quality assurance and claims

Wrong for

Small agencies that want an independent single-product vendor

United StatesSold through a demo request; no prices shown on the site
06

How to choose home health care software

Home health care software runs an agency's patient intake, visit scheduling, clinician documentation, electronic visit verification and billing, and in the United States often supports Medicare assessments and claims. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is the order we would work through them.

  1. 01

    Decide whether you need a published price

    0 of the 12 tools here publish what they cost; the other 12 quote per organisation. The ones you can compare without a sales call: none here.

  2. 02

    Decide how much the jurisdiction matters

    These 12 vendors are established in 3 countries across 2 regions (North America 11, Elsewhere 1). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.

Skilled home health or non-medical home care: pick the model first

Two different products hide under one search term. Skilled home health agencies bill Medicare and complete assessments, and WellSky Home Health lists real-time OASIS issue identification while Alora Home Health states it bills Medicare and handles skilled and non-skilled care. Non-medical agencies serve private-pay, VA and long-term care clients, which is how Careswitch and CareSmartz360 describe their billing, and the pages checked name no OASIS in either.

Ankota lists home care, EVV, adult day and I/DD. Buying a skilled product for a companion-care agency adds cost, and the reverse leaves a gap that the vendor cannot fill with a configuration change. Mixed agencies, with both Medicare visits and private-pay clients, need a vendor that runs both in one record rather than two logins and two invoices.

  • Write down which payers pay you and whether any visit needs a clinician assessment.
  • Ask each vendor in writing whether skilled and non-skilled care run in the same system.
  • Confirm the vendor names your assessment and billing workflow on its own pages.

What the quote is metered on: clients, users or modules

None of these vendors publishes a price, so the meter matters more than the figure. AxisCare sizes quotes by client count, with bands from 25 clients to more than 1,000. CareSmartz360 states pricing follows active clients rather than per-user licences. Alora Home Health prices by how many people use the system or how many patients are served.

AlayaCare prices by modules, volumes, branches and regions, and says advanced mobile functions are priced in the proposal. An agency that adds office staff faster than clients fares differently under each meter, so ask for the same agency modelled on two meters before comparing totals. A quote that looks cheap at 40 clients can look different once a second branch, a payroll integration or an advanced mobile feature is added to the proposal.

  • Request quotes at your current client count and at double that number.
  • Ask which modules, mobile features and integrations are outside the base subscription.
  • Ask whether adding office staff or branches changes the quote.

EVV and Medicaid: what the state requires decides the shortlist

Electronic visit verification is a state matter for Medicaid-funded care, and vendors present it differently. HHAeXchange runs a state-sponsored EVV portal and connects providers with managed care organisations and state Medicaid programmes. CareSmartz360 lists 45 plus state EVV integrations. Alora Home Health supports EVV through a GPS app or by telephone, and Ankota offers an EVV-compliant app with a dial-in option for caregivers without smartphones.

An agency in one state may be told by its payer which aggregator to use, which can rule out a product before features are compared. Agencies working across several states have a harder job, because each state may use a different system, and the vendor must show the connection, not only claim it.

  • Ask your Medicaid payer or managed care organisation which EVV system it requires.
  • Ask each vendor to name the states it integrates with, not a count.
  • Test telephone clock-in if your caregivers lack smartphones.

Switching in and out: migration help and bundled billing services

Home care vendors often bundle services with software, which helps when you arrive and complicates leaving. CareSmartz360 offers guided data migration for multi-location customers. A Careswitch customer quoted on the vendor's own page says Paradigm moved years of WellSky data into the product, and Paradigm's billing team can take over VA, Medicaid and long-term care claims.

AxisCare lists managed Medicaid and VA billing as a revenue cycle service. Each of those services is a second contract, with its own notice period and its own fee, and none is visible on a software price list. Before signing, ask how patient and billing data export if you leave, and whether the billing service continues without the software.

  • Ask for the export format and the cost of a full data export in the contract.
  • Ask whether a managed billing service can be cancelled separately from the software.
  • Ask who performs data migration into the product and what it costs.

What goes wrong most often when buying home health care software

  • Comparing list prices that do not exist: every vendor here asks for a quote, so compare quotes made on the same client count, payers and modules.
  • Buying a skilled home health product for a non-medical agency, or the reverse, because the search term was the same.
  • Choosing before checking which EVV system the state or managed care organisation requires for Medicaid visits.
  • Signing a billing or migration service without asking whether it ends if the software contract ends.
07

Frequently asked questions

6 answers
What is the best home health care software in 2026?

Alora Home Health leads our ranking of 12. Alora Healthcare Systems, LLC is a single-product vendor in Atlanta that covers skilled home health and non-medical home care in one system.

It bills Medicare, Medicaid, insurance, VA and self pay, and its clinician apps work offline. Pricing follows the number of users or patients and arrives as a written quote. The pages checked show no prices and no trial, so quotes must be compared before committing.

Which home health care tools publish their pricing?

0 of the 12, with the pricing model each one publishes:

  • None of them publish a price.

The other 12 quote per organisation.

Is there a free home health care tool?

No. None of the 12 offer a usable free tier.

Where are these home health care software vendors established?

In 3 countries across 2 regions: North America 11, Elsewhere 1.

  • Alora Home Health: United States.
  • AxisCare: United States.
  • Axxess: United States.
  • CareSmartz360: United States.
  • KanTime: United States.
  • AlayaCare: Canada.
  • Ankota: United States.
  • Careswitch: Not stated by the vendor.
  • HHAeXchange: United States.
  • Homecare Homebase: United States.
  • MatrixCare: United States.
  • WellSky Home Health: United States.
What should you use instead of Alora Home Health?

AxisCare and Axxess are the next two on this page. AxisCare is for Home care agencies of 25 to 500 clients that may add skilled visits later; Axxess is for Mid-sized agencies that run home health and hospice and want one vendor for both.

Who should not buy Alora Home Health?

Buyers who want to see published prices or test alone. The price is a written quote with no published figure to compare against.

—

Tools reviewed

12 products
—

More Operations software advice

16 guides

For software vendors

Not on this list?

If your home health care software product belongs among these 12, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.

Suggest a product →