eDiscovery software finds, preserves, reviews and produces electronic evidence for litigation, investigations and regulators. Vendors meter it by gigabyte, data tier, committed volume, credit or hours, and few publish an amount.
This guide ranks twelve products on first-ninety-day effort, the invoice once holds and AI are added, how data leaves, and whether you can run it without a provider.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry
says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a
vendor. How that works.
In short
What ediscovery software does
eDiscovery software ingests electronic documents and messages, lets legal teams search, tag, redact and review them, and produces the relevant material for lawsuits, investigations and information requests.
In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether
you can leave, and who each ediscovery tool is built for. One rule sits on top of those tests:
Places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. Why those five, and why there is no
score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Included with Microsoft 365 licences; premium features need E5 or an add-on
—
Organisations whose evidence lives entirely in Microsoft 365 and who want a first step
Teams collecting from many non-Microsoft sources or running large multi-party reviews
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a
different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the
entry says so.
Cloud, on-premises or hybrid platform with no per-GB or per-user fees
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best eDiscovery Software in 2026.
Self-hostablePricing on requestNorth America
Venio answers the independence test better than most: you can buy the platform in the cloud with terms from six months to three years, run it on your own servers, or split matters across both, with the same modules in each.
The page lists legal hold, processing, early case assessment, review, AI-assisted review and production in every model, with no higher tier for AI. Plan the first ninety days around the quote, since sizing and migration are quoted items.
What stands out
No per-GB fees
Hybrid deployment
Standalone legal hold
Where it costs you
Every price is a quote, so there is no way to model cost before a sales call
Migration from an existing platform is quoted separately from the licence
Right for
Mid-size legal teams wanting one flat quote across cloud and on-premises, without seat counting
Wrong for
Buyers who need a public price list before talking to sales
United StatesTiered by monthly data volume in the cloud, by data ingested on-premises; quoted per organisation
Pay-as-you-go discovery by stored gigabyte with unlimited users and projects
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best eDiscovery Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Logikcull is the quickest of the twelve to start: a sample matter is in every pay-as-you-go account, onboarding and training are included, and downloads are unlimited, so data can be taken out without a metered charge listed.
The real price depends on how long data stays stored, since billing runs monthly by gigabyte, and on whether you add AI fact-finding. Hold and collection sit in the separate Corporate Suite, an annual plan.
What stands out
Pay as you go
Unlimited users
Owned by Reveal
Where it costs you
AI fact-finding is a paid add-on on both the pay-as-you-go and the annual plan
The pricing page gives the metering unit but no amounts, so cost per matter needs a quote
Right for
Small legal teams with occasional matters wanting to start a review quickly
Wrong for
Teams needing legal hold, collection and review in one contract without upgrading
United StatesPer GB stored monthly with a 10 GB minimum, or annual subscription; amounts quoted
Review platform with unlimited user licences and credit-metered AI tools
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best eDiscovery Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Everlaw's base table includes onboarding and standard data migration, which cuts the first ninety days of set-up work. The security page claims SOC 2 Type 2, FedRAMP Moderate and GovRAMP Moderate.
Budget for credits: Deep Dive, translation and extractions are metered, and a large, multilingual matter will use more than a small one. Legal holds have their own pricing tab.
What stands out
Unlimited users
AI credits
SOC 2 Type 2
Where it costs you
Credit-based AI features make cost depend on how heavily a team uses them
The pricing page shows no amounts, so the base price needs a demo
Right for
Corporate and government legal teams that want unlimited reviewers and built-in security attestations
Wrong for
Teams that need a fixed AI price before the first matter
United StatesQuoted per organisation; AI features run on credits
AI review platform, pay as you go or subscription, unlimited users
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best eDiscovery Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Reveal's own pricing page promises flexible pay-as-you-go or subscription terms, support and training for small and large matters, and a migration walkthrough.
Its product list also includes Reveal Hold, Trial Director, Onna and a private deployment, which suits a buyer who may later need hosting under their own control. Ask for a written quote naming the product, since the Reveal, Logikcull and Onna brands sit side by side.
What stands out
Private deployment
Unlimited users
Owns Logikcull
Where it costs you
No amounts are shown on the pricing page, which carries a 2023 copyright line
Three products under one name (Reveal, Logikcull, Onna) means checking which one a quote covers
Right for
Teams wanting a full review platform with room to grow from Logikcull
Wrong for
Buyers who want to read the price before booking a demo
United StatesPay as you go or subscription, unlimited users per plan; amounts quoted
Review software in SaaS or on-premise editions, plus review services
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best eDiscovery Software in 2026.
Self-hostablePricing on requestElsewhere
CloudNine's home page describes a hybrid choice: LAW and Concordance for on-premise deployment and CloudNine Review for cloud review, so sensitive data can stay in your building while other work runs hosted.
It adds collection, processing and review services. The security page lists ISO 27001:2022. Since pricing and legal entity are not public, the first ninety days include an extended sales and contracting phase before any matter is loaded.
What stands out
SaaS or on-premise
ISO 27001:2022
Concordance and LAW
Where it costs you
No price list was found, and the pricing page is a 2019 blog post about market rates
The site does not state the country the company is established in
Right for
Firms that want the choice of SaaS or an installed review system
Wrong for
Buyers who need public prices or a stated company jurisdiction
Not stated by the vendorDemo request; no price list on the pages reviewed
Per-GB platform with AI, timelines and deposition tools included
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best eDiscovery Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The pricing page is unusually clear about what the per-GB rate covers: ediscovery filters, search, Cecilia generative AI Q&A, deposition review and timelines are all marked as included, and the Hold product lists unlimited users and custodians.
Auto Review is the exception, billed by document. Cost therefore follows gigabytes, so check how long data stays hosted. DISCO lists logins for US, Canada and EU regions.
What stands out
Per-GB pricing
AI included
Auto Review
Where it costs you
Auto Review is billed per document on top of the per-GB rate
The pricing page gives no rate, only a request for a quote
Right for
Litigation teams with predictable data volumes who want AI included in the rate
Wrong for
Teams with very large archives that sit untouched for years
United StatesPer GB for the platform, per document for Auto Review; quoted
Consumption-licensed investigation engine for cloud, private cloud or on-premise
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best eDiscovery Software in 2026.
Self-hostablePricing on requestAsia-Pacific
Nuix lets the buyer choose the environment: its deployment page names vendor SaaS, customer-run cloud, on-premise, partner-managed service and an appliance. That freedom has a price in effort, since your own cloud or servers need staff.
The first ninety days depend on which Neo edition you buy, and the pricing page promises consumption-based licensing without amounts. The country shown reflects its ASX investor page and Australian entity in its privacy notice.
What stands out
Deploy any way
Investigations
Neo Discover
Where it costs you
The hosted SaaS option is limited to Nuix Neo Discover
The pricing page shows a licensing model but no amounts
Right for
Regulators and investigators who must pick where their data is processed
Wrong for
Small legal teams wanting a quick hosted start with posted prices
AustraliaConsumption-based licensing by data volume; quoted
Discovery platform with FedRAMP High authorisation, joined with OPEXUS
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best eDiscovery Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Casepoint's pricing page says price reflects the applications and use cases you need and that you do not pay for products you skip.
The platform spans eDiscovery, investigations, legal hold and public-records requests, with FedRAMP High and DOD IL5 and IL6 authorisations stated by the vendor. Allow time at the start for scoping which modules apply, and ask what the OPEXUS combination changes in your contract.
What stands out
FedRAMP High
Government focus
Modular pricing
Where it costs you
Joined with OPEXUS, so it is part of a larger government software group
No rates are shown, only a request to contact sales
Right for
Government agencies and corporate teams needing authorised hosting for discovery and FOIA
Wrong for
Small private firms wanting self-service sign-up with posted prices
United StatesTailored by the applications and use cases you pick; quoted
Discovery, legal hold, forensic and privacy products from one Portland vendor
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best eDiscovery Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Exterro's navigation spans legal hold, discovery data management, review, FTK forensics, request management and data governance, with Portland, Oregon given as its corporate headquarters. That helps a corporation that wants one vendor for legal and IT risk.
The first ninety days depend on which modules are bought, and each module needs its own scoping. Zapproved's page says Exterro acquired it, so ask which review product is being sold to you.
What stands out
Broad suite
FTK forensics
Owns Zapproved
Where it costs you
The pages reviewed show no prices, only a demo route
Zapproved's ZDiscovery site carries a banner saying it was acquired, so product lines overlap
Right for
Corporate legal and security teams that also buy forensic or privacy software
Wrong for
Buyers wanting one small product with a transparent price
United StatesDemo request; no price list on the pages reviewed
Managed eDiscovery services with a published rate card and an AI suite
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best eDiscovery Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Lighthouse's rate card makes the real price visible: data processing, export, hosting tiers by retrieval time, per-user review seats and per-document enhancements are each listed.
The rate card applies to services under its Master Spectra Subscription Agreement and sits on a page headed 2023 rates, so confirm current figures. Founded in 1995 and headquartered in Bellevue, Washington, it sells expertise as much as software, so the first ninety days involve its team.
What stands out
Rate card
Managed services
LighthouseIQ
Where it costs you
The only rate card found is headed 2023 rates, so current prices need confirming
Hosting charges are monthly and cannot be prorated, so timing a shutdown matters
Right for
Corporate teams that want a provider to run discovery, with prices they can read
Wrong for
Teams that want to run reviews themselves without a provider
United StatesPublished rate card per GB, hour, user and document (2023 rates)
Platform sold on committed data volume with AI included and open APIs
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best eDiscovery Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Relativity's pricing page makes a clear trade: one commitment on data volume covers processing, analytics, review, redaction, workflows and the AI tools, with no per-user fees.
Extension through open APIs, the App Hub and partners is stated as free of licence cost. Specialised workflows such as legal hold and FOIA are licensed separately. The first ninety days include deciding who administers the platform, in-house or through a partner.
What stands out
AI included
Data-volume licence
App Hub
Where it costs you
Legal hold, FOIA, translation and breach response are separate licences
The pricing page shows no amounts, only a request-pricing route
Right for
Large legal teams and providers wanting an extensible platform with AI in the price
Wrong for
Small teams without a litigation-support specialist or a provider
United StatesCommitted data volume, pay as you go or 1 to 3 year terms; quoted
Built-in eDiscovery for Microsoft 365 content, with premium features on E5
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best eDiscovery Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Purview eDiscovery is the cheapest start for a company already on Microsoft 365, since search, holds and export sit in the same tenant. Microsoft's own page says premium features need an E5 or related add-on, and licensing requirements can vary even within one capability.
Check the subscription requirements page before assuming a seat includes review sets. The price of staying inside one vendor is that other sources need separate collection work.
What stands out
Microsoft 365 only
E5 for premium
Search and export
Where it costs you
It covers Microsoft 365 services only, so other data sources need another tool
Premium features depend on E5 or related add-on licences
Right for
Organisations whose evidence lives entirely in Microsoft 365 and who want a first step
Wrong for
Teams collecting from many non-Microsoft sources or running large multi-party reviews
United StatesIncluded with Microsoft 365 licences; premium features need E5 or an add-on
eDiscovery software ingests electronic documents and messages, lets legal teams search, tag, redact and review them, and produces the relevant material for lawsuits, investigations and information requests. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is
the order we would work through them.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
1 of the 12 tools here publish what they cost; the other 11 quote per organisation. The ones you can compare without a sales call: Lighthouse.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
These 12 vendors are established in 3 countries across 3 regions (North America 10, Asia-Pacific 1, Elsewhere 1). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
Gigabyte, volume tier, credit or hour: how eDiscovery is metered
The same matter costs very different amounts depending on the meter. Logikcull bills stored gigabytes monthly with a 10 GB minimum. DISCO charges per gigabyte for the platform and per document for Auto Review. Relativity bills a committed data volume with AI included. Everlaw lists unlimited user licences but runs several AI features on credits. Venio Systems sizes cloud quotes by monthly volume and on-premises quotes by data ingested.
Lighthouse prints hourly, per-user and per-GB rates. Only Lighthouse shows its rates, and they are headed 2023. Ask every vendor to price one realistic matter, including how long the data stays hosted afterwards, because a metered line that looks small in month one is the one that keeps running after the case has settled and nobody is reviewing anything.
Ask for the price of one real matter, with volume, months hosted and AI use.
Find out which features sit outside the base rate, such as AI or legal hold.
Check whether reviewers, custodians or projects carry separate charges.
Cloud, your own servers or hybrid: where the evidence sits
Deployment is a legal decision before a technical one. Venio Systems quotes cloud, on-premises and hybrid on one page, with the same modules in each. Nuix lists vendor SaaS, a customer-run cloud, on-premise, partner-managed service and an appliance, though SaaS covers only Nuix Neo Discover. CloudNine splits LAW and Concordance for installed use from CloudNine Review in the cloud.
Reveal offers a private deployment hosted wherever you choose. Casepoint states FedRAMP High and DOD IL5 and IL6 authorisations for government work. A hosted-only tool is faster to start, but a client contract, a regulator or an internal security policy may require otherwise, and finding that out after the first ingest is expensive.
Write down where client contracts allow the data to sit before shortlisting.
Ask which products and editions exist in each deployment, not just the vendor.
For your own servers, price hardware, backups and staff, not only the licence.
Holds, collection and review: one vendor or several
Preservation comes before review, and vendors package it differently. Venio Systems sells legal hold as a standalone flat fee, with no data-volume sizing. DISCO lists Hold with unlimited requests, users and custodians in its per-GB rate. Relativity licenses Legal Hold, FOIA, translation and breach response separately from the data volume. Logikcull puts hold and collection in its Corporate Suite, an annual plan.
Exterro sells legal hold, request management and forensic tools as separate products, and now owns Zapproved. A single vendor means fewer hand-offs, but add-ons raise the invoice. Decide whether holds are needed before the first matter, not after the first demand letter, because a preservation step bolted on later usually means a second contract, a second login and a second export.
List the steps you run in-house: hold, collection, processing, review, production.
Ask which of those steps are in the quoted price and which are add-ons.
Check how a hold notice and its audit trail export if you switch vendors.
Leaving a platform: hosting charges, notice and data return
Discovery data is held for months or years after a matter ends, so exit terms are part of the purchase. Lighthouse states that hosting is billed monthly, cannot be prorated and needs notice before the first of the month. Logikcull's pay-as-you-go plan lists unlimited downloads. Everlaw includes standard data migration in its base table.
Venio Systems quotes migration from your current platform separately. Purview eDiscovery exports content from Microsoft 365 services, but its reach stops at those services. Ask for the export format, the fee and the notice period in writing, and test a sample export during the trial or demo rather than at the end of a matter, when the people who knew the file structure may already have moved on.
Request the export format and a sample file during the demo.
Confirm hosting notice, proration and archive tiers in the order form.
Ask whether productions, tags and privilege logs leave with the documents.
What goes wrong most often when buying ediscovery software
Comparing per-gigabyte rates without asking how many months the data will stay hosted after the matter closes.
Treating AI as included, then finding credits or per-document charges on the features the team uses most.
Choosing a Microsoft 365 built-in tool for a matter whose evidence sits in other systems.
Buying a review platform for one dispute and discovering later that legal hold and collection are separate licences.
07
Frequently asked questions
7 answers
What is the best ediscovery software in 2026?
Venio Systems leads our ranking of 12. Venio prices by deployment rather than by seat or gigabyte: cloud tiers follow monthly data volume, on-premises follows data ingested, and the page states no per-GB metering and no per-user fees.
It quotes cloud, on-premises and hybrid side by side, plus a flat-fee standalone legal hold. The catch is that every figure comes from a sales quote, and migration from your current platform is quoted separately.
Which ediscovery tools publish their pricing?
1 of the 12, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Lighthouse: Published rate card per GB, hour, user and document (2023 rates).
The other 11 quote per organisation.
Is there a free ediscovery tool?
No. None of the 12 offer a usable free tier.
Where are these ediscovery software vendors established?
In 3 countries across 3 regions: North America 10, Asia-Pacific 1, Elsewhere 1.
Venio Systems: United States.
Logikcull: United States.
Everlaw: United States.
Reveal: United States.
CloudNine: Not stated by the vendor.
DISCO: United States.
Nuix: Australia.
Casepoint: United States.
Exterro: United States.
Lighthouse: United States.
Relativity: United States.
Microsoft Purview eDiscovery: United States.
Which ediscovery tools can you host yourself?
Venio Systems, CloudNine, Nuix. The other 9 are hosted by the vendor only.
What should you use instead of Venio Systems?
Logikcull and Everlaw are the next two on this page. Logikcull is for small legal teams with occasional matters wanting to start a review quickly; Everlaw is for Corporate and government legal teams that want unlimited reviewers and built-in security attestations.
Who should not buy Venio Systems?
Buyers who need a public price list before talking to sales. Every price is a quote, so there is no way to model cost before a sales call.
If your ediscovery software product belongs among these 12, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.