Best Veterinary Practice Management Software in 2026
Veterinary practice management software runs the appointment book, medical record, invoice and client reminders of an animal clinic.
The price is rarely the headline figure, because doctors, texting, payments and AI notes are metered separately. This guide ranks twelve products on first-ninety-day effort, real monthly cost, data exit, vendor independence and who each suits.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry
says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a
vendor. How that works.
In short
What veterinary practice management software does
Veterinary practice management software is the system an animal clinic uses to schedule visits, keep patient records, bill clients, track inventory and send reminders, usually called a PIMS.
In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether
you can leave, and who each veterinary practice management tool is built for. One rule sits on top of those tests:
Places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. Why those five, and why there is no
score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Sold through demos; the product page shows no prices
—
Established IDEXX-diagnostics practices that keep software on their own server
New clinics wanting cloud software and no server to maintain
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a
different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the
entry says so.
Per-doctor cloud PIMS with unlimited users and a posted price list
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Veterinary Practice Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Shepherd answers the first-ninety-days question in writing: onboarding and support carry no fee, and for a single location billing begins twelve weeks after onboarding starts, even when you go live sooner.
The real price depends on headcount of vets, not staff. A four-vet clinic pays far less per doctor than a solo practice, while relief vets are a separate monthly package. Add texting and the migration fee before comparing totals.
What stands out
Per-doctor pricing
Unlimited users
Two data exports
Where it costs you
Data migration is a separate one-time fee, due at the end of onboarding
Two-way texting is sold in blocks of 5,000 messages on top of the subscription
Right for
Independent general practices with many support staff wanting a posted per-doctor price
Wrong for
Buyers who want one flat price however many vets they employ
United StatesPublished per doctor per month; other staff included; texting and migration extra
Cloud practice software with a stated monthly entry price and no-cost export
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Veterinary Practice Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
The cheapest honest comparison in this market starts from a stated number, and DaySmart Vet gives one. Its page also commits to no-charge data migration and to coordinating an export at no cost if you leave.
Both answer the setup and exit tests directly. The gap is scale: discounts for larger teams are discussed only with sales, and voice notes cost extra, so a three-vet practice should ask for a written total.
What stands out
Cloud-based
Stated entry price
No-cost export
Where it costs you
Daisy Voice, the AI note tool, is an add-on rather than part of the base price
Pricing for multi-doctor and multi-location teams is not stated and goes through sales
Right for
Small and mobile practices wanting a stated entry price and a clear exit clause
Wrong for
Large groups that need a priced multi-site structure before a demo
United StatesPublished from a monthly floor; AI voice notes and larger teams priced separately
Finnish cloud PIMS priced per vet, with non-vet staff included
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Veterinary Practice Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Provet is the one product here whose price list names both a US and a UK column, which suits groups spanning markets. Core covers a single site, and Pro adds the referral portal, triage board and multi-location management.
Each vet is a billed seat after the platform fee, while non-vet staff are included. Price the scribe seat and the payments revenue share before you conclude the Core price is the final one.
What stands out
Per-vet pricing
Non-vet staff included
Nordic roots
Where it costs you
The AI scribe is billed per seat as an add-on to either plan
Multi-location management and the referral portal require the higher Pro tier
Right for
Multi-site or referral practices, especially in the UK and Nordics, wanting published per-vet prices
Wrong for
Solo vets objecting to a monthly platform fee on top of seats
FinlandPublished per vet per month plus a platform fee; AI scribe and payments sold separately
Tiered cloud PIMS with in-house migration and a pet parent app
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Veterinary Practice Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The setup test favours Digitail: migration, onboarding and support sit in every tier, and new clinics are offered a first-year discount programme. The price test is harder.
The feature table marks SMS, VoIP, enterprise reporting and a white-label app as add-ons, and wellness plans and buy-now-pay-later carry usage fees. The AI tools carry one-month trials in the plan table, which hints that the AI tiers are the cost driver.
What stands out
Tiered plans
Pet parent app
In-house migration
Where it costs you
The plans page shows no amounts, so total cost is known only after a quote
SMS, VoIP, enterprise reporting and wellness plans are add-ons or carry usage fees
Right for
New or mobile clinics wanting client app, migration and onboarding bundled in every tier
Wrong for
Buyers who need a printed price before booking a demo
United StatesQuoted per organisation; four named tiers, no amounts on the plans page
Three-tier cloud PIMS with a one-time onboarding fee covering migration
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Veterinary Practice Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
NectarVet is sold in three steps: Essentials as the core PIMS, Ecosystem adding the Vetcove integration and core client communication, and Expert adding an advanced portal and AI exam tools.
Its feature list also names NectarPay card processing and unlimited two-way texting. A one-time onboarding fee covers migration, setup and training, so the first-ninety-days cost is a quote, not a list. Ask for the fee, per-tier monthly price and contract term in writing.
What stands out
Three tiers
Built-in payments
Onboarding fee
Where it costs you
The plans page shows no amounts, and the onboarding fee is a separate line
No country of establishment or contract entity is stated on the pages reviewed
Right for
Small clinics wanting card processing, texting and AI notes under one quoted contract
Wrong for
Buyers who must know the vendor's country before a demo
Not stated by the vendorQuoted per organisation; three tiers named, one-time onboarding fee
Veterinarian-founded cloud EMR for primary and advanced care
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Veterinary Practice Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Instinct is one of the few vendors here with distinct EMR editions for general practice and for advanced care, which matters when a referral hospital charts differently from a wellness clinic.
The scribe, the treatment-sheet product and the Plumb's drug reference are listed as separate products, so the stack is assembled from several. With no prices on the site, the first-ninety-days cost is whatever the demo quote says.
What stands out
Cloud EMR
Vet-founded
AI scribe
Where it costs you
No prices appear on the pages reviewed, so a first-year budget cannot be built from the site
Scribe, treatment plan and drug reference are separate products, so the full stack is several purchases
Right for
Specialty, emergency and general practices wanting vet-led software with an integrated AI scribe
Wrong for
Buyers who compare vendors by published monthly prices
United StatesSold through demos; the product pages show no prices
Cloud PIMS with built-in messaging, AI scribe and per-clinic client pricing
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Veterinary Practice Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The feature that separates Vetspire is customisable client pricing by clinic, service and department, a real need once a group has locations with different fee schedules.
Messaging, reminders and online booking sit inside the platform, and the vendor argues this removes third-party tools. What the site omits is commercial: no prices, no trial terms and no export commitment, so each has to be obtained in writing.
What stands out
AI scribe
Two-way messaging
Multi-location pricing
Where it costs you
The pages reviewed show no prices, trial terms or export commitments
No country of establishment is stated, so data location must be asked
Right for
Multi-location and emergency groups wanting per-clinic client pricing and built-in messaging
Wrong for
Buyers who need published terms or a stated exit clause
Not stated by the vendorSold through demos; the site shows no prices
IDEXX-backed cloud PIMS with one stated monthly entry price
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Veterinary Practice Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
ezyVet's pitch is that every feature and update comes with the subscription, so price does not climb with modules. Diagnostics, imaging, payments and client messaging run natively, with 100-plus certified integrations beyond IDEXX.
The catch is the owner: the deepest links are to IDEXX services, and the pricing FAQ answers on contract term, training and data conversion were not readable. Ask for those in writing.
What stands out
IDEXX-backed
All features included
Cloud-based
Where it costs you
Contract terms and data-conversion details were not readable on the pricing page
Its strongest integrations are the IDEXX diagnostics, which favours IDEXX users
Right for
Growing practices already using IDEXX diagnostics that want cloud software and phone support
Wrong for
Practices wanting independent software with no diagnostics-vendor ownership
United StatesPublished from a monthly price; further details on request
IDEXX cloud PIMS aimed at simple setup and fast everyday tasks
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Veterinary Practice Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
IDEXX presents Neo as brilliantly simple cloud software: a practice dashboard, one-click patient history, a scheduler that starts consultations, and a payments portal.
IDEXX gives no price on the product page and the speed claim is its own. The clearest decision is Neo against ezyVet, since both are cloud products from one owner. Ask IDEXX which of its products fits your clinic size, and why.
What stands out
Cloud-based
IDEXX-owned
Simple scope
Where it costs you
The product page shows no prices or contract terms
IDEXX also sells ezyVet and Cornerstone, so buyers must choose between three products of one owner
Right for
Small practices wanting a cloud system with a short learning curve from IDEXX
Wrong for
Practices wanting a vendor that is not also a diagnostics company
United StatesSold through demos; the product page shows no prices
Cloud operating system formerly eVetPractice, tied to Covetrus services
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Veterinary Practice Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Pulse is the centre of the Covetrus platform: electronic records, prescriptions through vRxPro, Covetrus Payments, Covetrus Comms for reminders and texting, and CarePlans imported into the record.
The vendor says its AI features come at no extra cost. The commercial picture is not on the page. Because so much is Covetrus-owned, ask what each connected service costs and what a clean exit looks like.
What stands out
Cloud-based
Covetrus ecosystem
AI included
Where it costs you
The product page shows no prices or contract terms
Online pharmacy, payments and messaging are separate Covetrus products tied into Pulse
Right for
Practices already buying pharmacy and supplies from Covetrus that want one supplier
Wrong for
Buyers who want a practice system independent of a distributor
United StatesSold through demos; the product page shows no prices
Covetrus practice software built around a whiteboard and prescription links
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Veterinary Practice Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
AVImark's page sells workflow tools rather than platform features: a centralised whiteboard, a notes glossary, custom follow-up lists, and prescriptions written through vRxPro.
Inventory goes further with CUBEX integration and a cloud-based Intelligent Inventory add-on, and payments and messaging are separate Covetrus products. The page does not say where the core product runs, so a buyer should ask hosting, backup and exit terms.
What stands out
Covetrus-owned
Whiteboard
vRxPro link
Where it costs you
The page does not describe the core product as cloud-based, only certain add-ons
No prices or contract terms are shown on the product page
Right for
Existing AVImark practices that want to stay with whiteboard workflows and vRxPro
Wrong for
First-time buyers who want a cloud-based system described on the page
United StatesSold through demos; the product page shows no prices
Server-based IDEXX practice software with the deepest diagnostic links
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Veterinary Practice Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Cornerstone is the one product here that its vendor calls server-based, while IDEXX sells ezyVet and Neo as cloud. The gain is depth with IDEXX diagnostics, imaging, SmartOrder, payments and the Vello client app, with a long partner list.
The cost is hardware, remote access and backups on your side, and the page gives no price, contract length or exit terms.
What stands out
Server-based
IDEXX diagnostics
Large partner list
Where it costs you
It is described as server-based, so the practice carries hardware and backup work
The product page shows no prices or contract terms
Right for
Established IDEXX-diagnostics practices that keep software on their own server
Wrong for
New clinics wanting cloud software and no server to maintain
United StatesSold through demos; the product page shows no prices
How to choose veterinary practice management software
Veterinary practice management software is the system an animal clinic uses to schedule visits, keep patient records, bill clients, track inventory and send reminders, usually called a PIMS. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is
the order we would work through them.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
4 of the 12 tools here publish what they cost; the other 8 quote per organisation. The ones you can compare without a sales call: Shepherd, DaySmart Vet, Provet Cloud, ezyVet.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
These 12 vendors are established in 3 countries across 3 regions (North America 9, Elsewhere 2, Europe 1). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
How veterinary software is metered: per doctor, per vet or from a floor
Several vendors here meter by doctor or vet rather than by user, so headcount of non-vets barely moves the bill. Shepherd charges by doctor, with the first licence dearest and unlimited other staff. Provet Cloud charges per vet plus a platform fee, and publishes separate US and UK prices. DaySmart Vet states a monthly starting figure, and ezyVet does likewise, while Instinct Science, Vetspire and the Covetrus and IDEXX products show no prices at all.
Count your doctors, relief vets and sites, then ask each vendor for one written monthly total that includes texting, payments and the scribe, since a low entry figure rarely covers them. Compare those totals for the year, not the first month, because onboarding fees and billing start dates differ between vendors.
Count full-time vets, relief vets and sites before asking for a quote.
Ask whether non-vet staff, tablets and extra workstations are included.
Request one written monthly total including texting, payments and the scribe.
Cloud or server: what Cornerstone and ezyVet show about the market
The same owner sells both models, which makes the split easy to see. IDEXX calls Cornerstone server-based, while ezyVet and Neo are cloud products, and ezyVet publishes pages on moving from server to cloud. Instinct Science describes its primary-care EMR as fully cloud-based, Covetrus Pulse is cloud-based, and the AVImark page names only certain add-ons as cloud.
A server product puts hardware, backups and remote access on the clinic. A cloud product moves that to the vendor but makes you depend on the vendor's uptime, support hours and export terms. Neither model is wrong. The error is buying one while budgeting for the other, so settle where the data lives first and the price second, then check that the vendor's own pages say the same as the sales call.
Ask where the live database sits and who restores it after a failure.
Check whether the vendor commits to uptime or support hours in writing.
For a server product, price hardware, remote access and backup hours.
The add-ons that move the invoice: texting, payments, AI scribes and migration
The monthly licence is only part of the first-year bill. Shepherd sells texting in blocks of 5,000 messages and charges a one-time migration fee. Provet Cloud bills its Clinical Agent scribe per seat, and its Provet Pay has no monthly fee but takes a share of revenue.
DaySmart Vet sells Daisy Voice as an add-on, while Digitail marks SMS, VoIP and wellness plans as add-ons or usage-fee items. NectarVet charges a one-time onboarding fee that covers migration. Covetrus says its AI comes at no extra cost inside Pulse, which is the exception on that list. Total each add-on you will actually use, and ask the vendor to confirm the total in writing.
Ask what a clinic of your size pays for texting in a normal month.
Check whether payment processing is a revenue share or a per-transaction rate.
Confirm whether data migration and onboarding are in the price or extra.
Leaving a veterinary system: export terms before you sign
Clinical records are the asset a replacement needs, so exit terms deserve the same attention as price. Shepherd says it provides two complimentary data exports if you leave. DaySmart Vet says its team can coordinate an export at no cost. Digitail lists CSV export in its feature table and Provet lists data exports on all three tiers.
The pricing page for ezyVet shows a contract-terms question without a readable answer, and several vendors here say nothing about exit. Ask for the export format, timing and any fee in writing before the demo ends, preferably as a clause, and test an export during onboarding rather than at departure, when leverage has gone.
Ask for the export format and whether images and attachments are included.
Check whether the export is free and how long you have after cancelling.
Confirm contract length and notice period before signing, including renewal.
What goes wrong most often when buying veterinary practice management software
Comparing the per-doctor or per-vet price without adding texting, payments, scribe seats and the migration fee.
Choosing a product because it is owned by a diagnostics or pharmacy supplier, then finding that leaving also means replacing laboratory, payments and messaging links.
Treating a server product and a cloud product as the same purchase, when backups and remote access become the clinic's job on one of them.
Signing without a written export promise, so the clinical records are held until a negotiation about format and fees.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best veterinary practice management software in 2026?
Shepherd leads our ranking of 12. Shepherd sells the whole system by the doctor: the first licence costs most, doctors two and three less, and technicians and front desk log in at no charge.
Onboarding is included and, for a single location, billing starts twelve weeks into it. Texting is sold in blocks and migration is a one-time fee. The vendor sits inside Synergy Pet Group, so the independence here is pricing clarity, not ownership.
Which veterinary practice management tools publish their pricing?
4 of the 12, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Shepherd: Published per doctor per month; other staff included; texting and migration extra.
DaySmart Vet: Published from a monthly floor; AI voice notes and larger teams priced separately.
Provet Cloud: Published per vet per month plus a platform fee; AI scribe and payments sold separately.
ezyVet: Published from a monthly price; further details on request.
The other 8 quote per organisation.
Is there a free veterinary practice management tool?
No. None of the 12 offer a usable free tier.
Where are these veterinary practice management software vendors established?
In 3 countries across 3 regions: North America 9, Elsewhere 2, Europe 1.
Shepherd: United States.
DaySmart Vet: United States.
Provet Cloud: Finland.
Digitail: United States.
NectarVet: Not stated by the vendor.
Instinct Science: United States.
Vetspire: Not stated by the vendor.
ezyVet: United States.
IDEXX Neo: United States.
Covetrus Pulse: United States.
AVImark: United States.
IDEXX Cornerstone: United States.
What should you use instead of Shepherd?
DaySmart Vet and Provet Cloud are the next two on this page.
DaySmart Vet is for small and mobile practices wanting a stated entry price and a clear exit clause; Provet Cloud is for Multi-site or referral practices, especially in the UK and Nordics, wanting published per-vet prices.
Who should not buy Shepherd?
Buyers who want one flat price however many vets they employ. Data migration is a separate one-time fee, due at the end of onboarding.
If your veterinary practice management software product belongs among these 12, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.