Childcare management software covers attendance, parent messaging, fee billing, subsidies and learning records for nurseries and daycare centres.
Rules differ sharply between the UK, Australia, New Zealand and North America, so this guide ranks eleven products on setup effort, the real bill once billing is added, how data leaves, and whether you can buy and cancel without a partner.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a vendor. How that works.
In short
What childcare management software does
Childcare management software runs the daily business of nurseries, daycares and after-school clubs: check-in, parent communication, child records, staff rotas, tuition invoicing and subsidy claims.
Ranking criteria for this childcare management tool list, applied top to bottom: effort to get started, cost in practice, data return, ability to leave, buyer fit. Smaller challengers are placed in the top three wherever the category has them; the well-known brands come after. We explain on how we work why the tests are these five and why no product receives a score.
Nursery platform from Copenhagen with tiered monthly packages
Ranked #1 of 11 in Best Childcare Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Famly ApS has a Copenhagen address and the about page also lists a German GmbH. Its price page shows the three packages, an annual option marked with a £240 saving, and says onboarding, support and training cost nothing extra.
Tax-Free-Childcare integration is on every package. The first drawback is tier placement, since rotas and registration forms need Professional. The second is geography: the page applies only to the UK and Ireland.
What stands out
Nursery management
Tiered packages
UK and Ireland pricing
Where it costs you
Registration forms, rotas, live translation and automatic invoicing sit on the highest of the three packages.
The price page covers only the UK and Ireland and says other regions have their own pricing.
Right for
Single nurseries and small UK or Irish groups wanting a monthly price
Wrong for
Settings outside the UK and Ireland, or groups needing a bespoke contract
DenmarkThree monthly packages and a custom tier for ten or more sites, prices published for the UK and Ireland; 2-week trial
Early years learning journal priced by number of children
Ranked #2 of 11 in Best Childcare Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The pricing page lists packages grouped as Smallest, Small, Medium, Large and Largest, from up to six children to up to four hundred, each as a yearly amount excluding VAT.
Photos, video, audio and documents are described as unlimited, and an Admin Toolkit moves child profiles between accounts. The vendor names no company or country in the pages read, and nursery management gets only a short description, so request a detailed demo first.
What stands out
EYFS journal
Priced by child count
Nursery add-on
Where it costs you
The core product is a learning journal, and nursery management is presented as a separate offering on the site.
Pricing steps are tied to a fixed child ceiling, so a setting that grows past a band moves to the next package.
Right for
Childminders and small settings in England that mainly need a low-cost observation journal
Wrong for
Centres wanting billing and rota in the same core product
Not stated by the vendorAnnual price by package size from 6 to 400 children, prices published; trial offered
Australian all-in-one system built around CCS billing and compliance
Ranked #3 of 11 in Best Childcare Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingAsia-Pacific
The pricing page offers Lite for preschools, Premium for centres, OSHC and multi-site providers, and Enterprise by quote for 25 or more centres. Payment fees are 1.75% on cards and 75c per direct debit.
The vendor recommends four to six weeks to onboard, or five days if data arrives quickly. Governing law in its terms is New South Wales. HR and payroll is a separate add-on charged per employee, which raises the real bill for staffed centres.
What stands out
Australian CCS
No lock-in contract
Multi-centre HQ
Where it costs you
Subsidy billing, financial reporting and multi-centre management are in Premium, so the cheapest tier is a preschool tool.
The site presents itself as Australian, which limits its value for centres in other countries.
Right for
Australian long day care and OSHC services that want to drop contract lock-in
Wrong for
Centres outside Australia without Child Care Subsidy rules
AustraliaMonthly or annual subscription from a published starting price; Enterprise quoted; payment fees listed
Romanian school and nursery suite sold per centre and per student
Ranked #4 of 11 in Best Childcare Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Offices are listed in Bucharest, Lisbon, Baar, Sao Paulo, Abu Dhabi and London, and the homepage cites a 2023 Romanian software award. Plans differ by seats and storage: Starter has 10 staff seats and 30 GB, Professional has 50 seats and 1 TB.
The per-student component means the bill grows with enrolment. Business Plus offers on-demand custom data export, a useful exit feature that standard plans do not list.
What stands out
Per-student pricing
Parent app
School and nursery
Where it costs you
Complete child development, incident reports and multi-location management sit on Professional or above.
Several Business Plus modules (staff cover, timecards, meeting scheduler) are labelled soon on the pricing page.
Right for
Nurseries and private schools in Europe wanting one system with a published rate
Wrong for
Pure childcare centres wanting subsidy billing for US or Australia
RomaniaFour plans billed monthly or annually, a per-centre and per-student price published; Business Plus quoted
Learning-story documentation tool priced per child per month
Ranked #5 of 11 in Best Childcare Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingAsia-Pacific
Educa Limited is a New Zealand company with a Wellington address in its terms, and the site offers New Zealand, Australia and worldwide versions. Advanced adds planning, measurement and a 300 MB per-video limit, while Basic covers recording and sharing.
Add-ons are 20c per child for student log-in, 10c for ratings and 10c for the hub. The fee model suits small rolls well, though cost grows linearly with every child enrolled.
What stands out
Learning stories
Per-child pricing
NZ and Australia
Where it costs you
The plan pages describe documentation and communication, with no tuition billing or subsidy handling.
A 15-child minimum applies, and settings above 200 children must contact the vendor.
Right for
Early learning centres that want documentation and parent sharing, billed per child
Wrong for
Operators needing fee billing, payroll or enrolment in one system
New ZealandPer child per month on two plans, monthly or prepaid annually, prices published; free trial offered
Multi-location childcare platform with built-in CRM and waitlists
Ranked #6 of 11 in Best Childcare Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The product page groups attendance, flexible reporting, a form builder for paperless registration, observations against its own or custom milestones, and messaging. The CRM supports multi-location workflows, so enquiry tracking does not need a separate tool.
The vendor names no country and the pages read show no prices. Its terms renew a subscription automatically each cycle unless cancelled in the account page or through support, so note the cancellation route before signing.
What stands out
Integrated CRM
Waitlist management
Phone and chat support
Where it costs you
No price is shown on the site pages read, so a quote is needed before any comparison.
Terms set automatic renewal and arbitration under Delaware law, which matters for non-US buyers.
Right for
Multi-site US-style providers that want CRM and waitlists inside the billing system
Wrong for
Buyers who must compare published prices before a demo
Not stated by the vendorNo price list on the site pages checked; demo-led sales
AI-assisted daycare platform with three tiers and AI add-ons
Ranked #7 of 11 in Best Childcare Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The site lists offices in Delaware (US), Singapore, Kuala Lumpur, Dubai and Bangalore, and states over 4,000 childcare centres use it. The Standard tier is capped at 50 students and offers daily reports, check-in, messaging and incident records.
Business adds online payments by ACH and card, financial dashboards and capacity planning. Because no price is displayed, the AI add-ons should be quoted in writing alongside the tier.
What stands out
AI translation
Subsidy tracking
Multi-centre
Where it costs you
Billing automation needs Business and CRM needs Enterprise, so the entry tier covers only daily reports and attendance.
The AI lesson creator, observations and enrolment agent are add-ons that raise the real price.
Right for
Centres in multilingual markets that value AI translation of parent messages
Wrong for
Small centres wanting a visible price and billing from day one
Not stated by the vendorStandard, Business and Enterprise tiers; quoted per organisation; AI features as add-ons
Family-engagement and documentation tool with an all-in-one tier
Ranked #8 of 11 in Best Childcare Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The pricing page states more than 11,850 early learning services use it and that the product is free for families. It offers three paid shapes: documentation, all-in-one management and enterprise. Attendance can be parent-led or educator-led.
Its terms name Storypark Limited and Xap Technologies Pty Ltd, which suggests the billing and subsidy features come from the Australian group member. Regional pricing exists for Australia and New Zealand.
What stands out
Child portfolios
Family sharing
Multi-site packages
Where it costs you
Single sign-on is not included on the entry tier and is optional or add-on elsewhere.
The AI story assistant costs extra on the lowest package.
Right for
Services focused on learning stories and parent partnership across several countries
Wrong for
Operators that want every back-office function from one entry tier
Not stated by the vendorPer child per month from a published starting price; custom multi-site packages; free trial offered
Childcare and before-and-after-school platform from Buffalo, New York
Ranked #9 of 11 in Best Childcare Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The footer gives a Buffalo, New York address and the Kangarootime, Inc. name. Solutions separate childcare, school-age care and an Education Hub covering lesson plans and professional development for teachers.
Role pages address owners, directors, teachers and parents. As the vendor shows no pricing, plan details or integration list on the pages read, a buyer needs a written scope and cancellation terms before trusting the quoted figures.
What stands out
US childcare
Before and after school
Education hub
Where it costs you
The vendor site shows no price or plan limits, so a call is the only way to learn the cost.
No data-export route is described on the pages read.
Right for
US operators running both daycare and school-age programmes who accept a demo-led buy
Wrong for
Buyers who need public prices or documented export terms first
United StatesDemo-led sales; no price page found on the vendor site
US-focused all-in-one app with payroll and CACFP menus
Ranked #10 of 11 in Best Childcare Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Terms are a contract with DSSV, Inc. and include a California-specific waiver. Billing covers autopay, tuition plans and subsidy management, and staffing covers time tracking and payroll.
The vendor lists 160,000-plus reviews on its pricing page, a figure it reports itself. Since the quote depends on capacity and number of locations, expect cost to rise as you add sites, and ask whether payroll and the AI assistant are included.
What stands out
Payroll
CACFP menus
Request pricing
Where it costs you
Pricing is hidden behind a questionnaire that collects name, phone and email.
The form lists only US and Canadian regions, so it is built around North American licensing.
Right for
North American centres that want payroll and CACFP menus inside the childcare app
Wrong for
Centres outside North America or buyers wanting a visible tariff
Not stated by the vendorQuoted per organisation after a seven-step questionnaire on capacity and locations
Education line of the multi-industry Xplor software group
Ranked #11 of 11 in Best Childcare Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Xplor says its education software was founded in 2015, and the about page cites 3,000 employees, 130,000 customers and 15 global offices. Terms are split by region, with separate Master Terms of Service and payment terms for Australia and Europe.
Payments is a distinct product line, so check which fees come from embedded payment processing. With many products in one group, confirm who the contracting entity is for your country before signing.
What stands out
Group-owned
Australia and UK
Multi-industry vendor
Where it costs you
The group spans many unrelated industries, so childcare is one line among several.
Pricing is not shown on the pages read, and regional Master Terms vary by country.
Right for
Larger operators in Australia, New Zealand or the UK that prefer a group vendor
Wrong for
Small independents wanting a specialist vendor and visible pricing
Not stated by the vendorDemo-led; no price list found on the pages checked
Childcare management software runs the daily business of nurseries, daycares and after-school clubs: check-in, parent communication, child records, staff rotas, tuition invoicing and subsidy claims. Compare on the following points, in this order, before you compare features.
01
Check who publishes a price
5 vendors on this page sell by quote, while 6 publish a pricing model you can read today: Famly, Tapestry, OWNA, Kinderpedia, Educa, Storypark.
02
Ask which country the contract runs through
Look at the contracting entity: these 11 vendors sit in 6 countries, split by region as Elsewhere 6, Europe 2, Asia-Pacific 2, North America 1. The servers can be anywhere; the legal obligations follow the company.
Choosing childcare management software by country and rule set
Start with where the children are. Tapestry is organised around EYFS and Key Stage 1 and 2, Famly prices in pounds with Tax-Free-Childcare integration, while OWNA is organised around the Australian Child Care Subsidy and Brightwheel around US licensing, CACFP menus and state lists. Kinderpedia and illumine span several regions and cite offices on three or four continents.
A tool that works well under one rule set may need workarounds under another, such as funding claims or ratio reports. Ask each vendor which regional rules are built in, not bolted on, and ask for a reference centre in your own country before the demo is booked. A vendor that cannot name one has probably not tested its funding and ratio reports against your regulator, and the gap tends to show only after the first month of live invoicing.
Name the funding or subsidy scheme you must claim and ask for a live demo of the claim
Ask for a reference centre in your own country
Check whether ratio and licensing reports follow your regulator's format
Learning journal, billing system or both
Products fall into two shapes. Educa, Storypark and Tapestry began as documentation tools: observations, photos, learning stories and parent sharing. Famly, OWNA, Kindertales, Kangarootime and Brightwheel start from attendance and fee billing. Storypark's terms name a group that includes Xap Technologies, an Australian company, which sits behind its all-in-one tier.
If you buy a journal, price the second system that will send invoices. If you buy a billing suite, test whether the observation features satisfy your inspector, not just the manager. Many centres end up running both kinds, so check that child records, parent contacts and photos can move between the two without retyping, because double entry is where the hours of the first ninety days disappear.
List the invoices, funding claims and reports needed each month
Test whether observations meet your inspector's format
Price the second system if you buy a journal-only tool
Reading the real price: per child, per centre or by quote
Models differ widely. Educa charges per child per month with add-ons per child, Tapestry sells yearly packages by child count, Kinderpedia combines a centre fee with a per-student rate, Famly sells three monthly packages, and OWNA lists tiers plus payment fees of 1.75% on cards. Brightwheel, illumine, Kindertales, Kangarootime and Xplor Education show no prices on the pages we read.
Compare using your own roll at full capacity, and add payroll, AI add-ons, form setup and payment fees, since each vendor charges these separately. A per-child price that looks low at forty children can overtake a flat centre fee at eighty, and a free-looking entry tier can lack the billing module that justified the purchase.
Calculate cost at full enrolment, not today's roll
Add payroll, AI add-ons and form setup charges
Ask for payment processing fees in writing
Exit, contracts and who owns the data
Contract terms decide how painful leaving is. OWNA states there is no contract or notice period, and Famly's monthly contract ends on a month's notice. Kindertales renews automatically each billing cycle and uses American Arbitration Association proceedings under Delaware law. Tapestry offers an Admin Toolkit for transferring child profiles between accounts, while Kinderpedia lists on-demand custom data export on its top tier only.
Before signing, ask what an export contains: child records, observations, photos and invoices are separate sets, and photos are often the largest and slowest to retrieve. Ask for a sample export during the trial, because a vendor that can produce one in a day has usually done it before.
Ask which export formats cover child records, photos and invoices
Confirm notice period and renewal terms in writing
Check who retains child data after cancellation
What goes wrong most often when buying childcare management software
Buying a learning journal and discovering later that fee billing and subsidy claims need a second paid system.
Comparing today's roll instead of full capacity when the price is set per child or per student.
Trusting a quoted headline price without payment fees, payroll and add-ons that sit outside the tier.
Skipping the export question until cancellation, when photos and records are hardest to retrieve.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best childcare management software in 2026?
Famly leads our ranking of 11. Famly ApS sells Foundation, Premium and Professional packages by the month, with no setup fee and support and training included. A monthly contract ends on one month's notice.
Registration forms, staff rotas and automatic invoicing only start on the top package, and the public API is an add-on. The prices quoted apply to the UK and Ireland, so buyers elsewhere must use their own regional page.
Which childcare management tools publish their pricing?
Published pricing exists for 6 products on this page:
Famly: Three monthly packages and a custom tier for ten or more sites, prices published for the UK and Ireland; 2-week trial.
Tapestry: Annual price by package size from 6 to 400 children, prices published; trial offered.
OWNA: Monthly or annual subscription from a published starting price; Enterprise quoted; payment fees listed.
Kinderpedia: Four plans billed monthly or annually, a per-centre and per-student price published; Business Plus quoted.
Educa: Per child per month on two plans, monthly or prepaid annually, prices published; free trial offered.
Storypark: Per child per month from a published starting price; custom multi-site packages; free trial offered.
Everything else on the list is priced on request.
Is there a free childcare management tool?
No, every product on this page is paid.
Where are these childcare management software vendors established?
Across 6 countries (Elsewhere 6, Europe 2, Asia-Pacific 2, North America 1):
Famly: Denmark.
Tapestry: Not stated by the vendor.
OWNA: Australia.
Kinderpedia: Romania.
Educa: New Zealand.
Kindertales: Not stated by the vendor.
illumine: Not stated by the vendor.
Storypark: Not stated by the vendor.
Kangarootime: United States.
Brightwheel: Not stated by the vendor.
Xplor Education: Not stated by the vendor.
What should you use instead of Famly?
The next in line are Tapestry, aimed at Childminders and small settings in England that mainly need a low-cost observation journal, and OWNA, aimed at Australian long day care and OSHC services that want to drop contract lock-in.
Who should not buy Famly?
Settings outside the UK and Ireland, or groups needing a bespoke contract. Registration forms, rotas, live translation and automatic invoicing sit on the highest of the three packages..
Sell childcare management software and missing from the ranking? Send us a line on what the product does and who buys it. Whether it is added is our decision alone, and the terms of a listing sit on the software advice page.