Retail management software joins the till, stock and customer records for shops that sell in person and often online too.
This guide ranks eleven products by what the first ninety days cost in setup hours, what the bill becomes once stock and extra locations are added, how data leaves, and whether you can buy without a partner.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What retail management software does
Retail management software runs the sales till, tracks stock across shops, and records customers, returns and purchase orders so a retailer can price, replenish and report from one system.
Each retail management tool was put through the same five questions, in sequence: how hard is setup, what does it really cost, how does data come back out, can you leave, and who is it for. Top three places belong to challengers outside the best-known brands whenever possible, and incumbents follow from four. The reasoning behind the five tests, and behind having no score out of ten, is set out on the how we work page.
Published per-user monthly price billed yearly, with separate monthly tenant prices for web add-ons
—
Large retail estates already on Microsoft finance and wanting one commerce platform
Small chains that need a working till within weeks
We list the country the vendor operates from or contracts through. That is not the same as the hosting region, and any difference is spelled out in the entry.
Cloud retail till with plain plans and no software transaction fee
Ranked #1 of 11 in Best Retail Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingAsia-Pacific
The pricing page lists Essential and Plus with a monthly price that drops when billed annually, plus an Enterprise tier sold by quote. Every plan states 0% transaction fees and unlimited products, users and customers.
Hike-branded payment readers add a 1.5% per in-person transaction rate on top of the hardware price. Loyalty, gift cards and stock transfers sit in Plus. A 14-day trial needs no card.
What stands out
Single outlet entry
Zero transaction fees
Stock transfers on Plus
Where it costs you
Essential is limited to a single outlet, so opening a second shop means moving to Plus.
Accounting integrations with Xero, MYOB and QuickBooks Online are an add-on, not part of the plan price.
Right for
Independent shops with one to a few outlets wanting fixed software prices
Wrong for
Chains needing deep merchandising or planning tools
Retail till and back office priced per location, for Australia and NZ
Ranked #2 of 11 in Best Retail Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The pricing page names Essential for a single location, Professional for two to ten and Enterprise for more than ten, each billed per location per month. Enterprise adds an assigned customer success manager.
All tiers list offline POS, user permissions and 24/7 support. The site shows Australian and New Zealand phone numbers but gives no legal entity or address, and billing terms are not stated.
What stands out
Per-location pricing
Offline POS included
Australia and NZ focus
Where it costs you
Further POS registers cost an extra monthly fee each, so busy tills raise the bill per location.
Ecommerce, a test site and historical data access are add-ons with prices not shown.
Right for
Multi-store specialty retailers in Australia or New Zealand wanting published prices
Wrong for
Shops wanting a self-serve trial before talking to anyone
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly price per location by tier; extra registers charged separately; demo only
Till app that costs nothing until you add reporting or staff features
Ranked #3 of 11 in Best Retail Management Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The pricing page lists free tools, then three add-ons: unlimited sales history and advanced inventory, each charged per store per month, and employee management charged per employee.
Annual billing saves two months. Each add-on starts with a 14-day trial and chat support. The site names no operating company or country in the pages read. Annual billing is available for each add-on.
What stands out
Free core tools
Per-store add-ons
Multi-store included
Where it costs you
Sales reports cover only the last 31 days unless the history add-on is bought for each store.
Purchase orders and stock transfers need the advanced inventory add-on, priced per store.
Right for
Single shops and pop-ups wanting a working till without a subscription
Wrong for
Retailers needing long reporting history without paying per store
Not stated by the vendorFree POS with published paid add-ons per store or per employee; 14-day add-on trials
Till that runs offline and sits inside a wider business suite
Ranked #4 of 11 in Best Retail Management Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingEurope
In this market Odoo is the European option that stretches furthest beyond the shop floor. The till keeps selling offline and syncs when the connection returns, and the first app costs nothing for unlimited users.
Standard is EUR 24.90 per user a month and Custom EUR 44.90. Because inventory is a separate app, the free tier rarely covers a real retailer. Hosting can be Odoo Online, Odoo.sh or on-premise, and the Community code is LGPL-3.
What stands out
Offline sync
LGPL community edition
Pay per user
Where it costs you
Stock tracking sits in a separate Inventory app, so a working shop pays beyond the free first app.
Services and custom code maintenance fall outside every plan on the pricing page.
Right for
A retailer already planning to run stock, sales and back office in a single suite and willing to budget setup time.
Wrong for
An owner who needs one counter, one till and a finished set-up within the week.
BelgiumPublished per-user plans for all apps; a first app is free, with unlimited users
Till sold per register that syncs with an existing web shop
Ranked #5 of 11 in Best Retail Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Pricing is per register with monthly and yearly tabs, and an Enterprises tier handled by quote with a dedicated consultant for 100-plus stores. The FAQ claims 50-plus integrations.
Standard lists real-time sync with offline mode; Premium lists multi-currency and click and collect. A free trial page is linked but states no length, and the footer gives no address. Standard also lists unlimited payment gateways and staff access control.
What stands out
Per-register pricing
Web shop sync
Stock-take on Premium
Where it costs you
The pricing page shows two sets of figures without labelling which is monthly, and Premium differs between them.
Stock transfer and stock-take only appear on Premium, so multi-shop stock work costs the dearer tier.
Right for
Online sellers adding a physical till to an existing Shopify or Magento shop
Wrong for
Shops with no web shop wanting a standalone till
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly price per register on three tiers; enterprise tier quoted
Hardware-led till bundles with a monthly payments and support subscription
Ranked #6 of 11 in Best Retail Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Epos Now is the hardware-first choice among the retail tools here. Its UK page sells bundles from GBP 299, 349 or 225 to 275 depending on the banner, plus a payments and support subscription from GBP 25 a month over twelve months.
Card payments run at one flat rate for the main schemes, with Amex, JCB and UnionPay at a second rate. Named extras include kitchen display, loyalty, Xero, QuickBooks and Deputy. The company began in Norwich in 2011.
What stands out
Hardware bundles
12-month term
Payments built in
Where it costs you
The sales banners show three different bundle prices, so the true cost cannot be read from the UK page.
The Complete Solution bundle needs a 12-month payments and support subscription.
Right for
A British shop that wants tills, card payments and support delivered as one hardware package.
Wrong for
A buyer who wants a plan-by-plan feature table before committing to hardware.
United KingdomPublished hardware bundle prices plus a 12-month payments and support subscription; trial signup offered
Per-store retail system with tiers that cap monthly sales turnover
Ranked #7 of 11 in Best Retail Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Erply prices by store, from USD 59 or 49 for the gift and grocery tier to USD 199 or 179 for Multichannel, which adds Shopify and a warehouse licence. The page lists two unlabelled price sets, so check which one applies.
Net sales above USD 25,000 a month push a business out of the first two tiers, and those tiers allow one and two user accounts. NetSuite buyers get a separate POS from USD 1,800, and the footer address is in Florida.
What stands out
Per-store pricing
Turnover cap
NetSuite POS tier
Where it costs you
The two cheaper tiers stop at USD 25,000 of company net sales a month.
Cancelling needs a written request 30 days before billing ends, with no refund on a downgrade.
Right for
A chain of gift or grocery stores that wants a fixed fee per store and expects a steady turnover.
Wrong for
A fast-growing shop whose monthly sales will soon pass the tier ceiling.
United StatesPublished monthly price per store on two tiers, with fixed-price NetSuite and franchise tiers
Three published plans with purchase orders and loyalty on every tier
Ranked #8 of 11 in Best Retail Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Lightspeed is the Canadian pick on this list, headquartered in Montreal. Basic costs USD 89 a month, Core 149 and Plus 289, each with one register.
The tiers differ less than usual, since purchase orders, loyalty, API access, custom roles, SSO and round-the-clock chat and phone support appear on all three. Card-present payments cost 1.5% on every plan. The trial button gives no length, and the page warns that prices can vary and service fees may apply.
What stands out
Three plans
Card rate 1.5%
Purchase orders included
Where it costs you
Extra registers, locations and employees show no prices on the plan page.
AI Doc Import costs extra on Basic and Core.
Right for
A shop that wants every plan to carry purchasing, loyalty and phone support, and only grows by tier.
Wrong for
A buyer who needs the full monthly bill, including extra tills, before the trial.
CanadaPublished monthly price per plan, cheaper billed annually; trial button, length not stated
In-person selling that shares one catalogue with a Shopify web shop
Ranked #9 of 11 in Best Retail Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
For retail buyers Shopify POS is cheapest when the web shop already exists. Plans begin at EUR 28 a month, and the trial offer is three days free, then three months at EUR 1 a month.
The jump comes with POS Pro, billed yearly per location, which unlocks unlimited staff, roles, permissions, inventory counts and purchase orders. Basic keeps staff access limited. Shopify states that it is headquartered in Canada, which matters for data transfers from Europe.
What stands out
Per-location add-on
Shared web catalogue
Unlimited staff on Pro
Where it costs you
Stock counts, purchase orders and low stock alerts only arrive with POS Pro at EUR 79 a month per location.
The Basic POS limits staff access and accepts returns only at the original location.
Right for
A merchant whose web shop runs on Shopify and who wants the till on the same catalogue.
Wrong for
A shop owner with a different web platform or none at all.
CanadaPublished monthly plan plus a per-location POS Pro add-on billed yearly; short paid-down trial offer
Specialty-retail till and back office sold through certified partners
Ranked #10 of 11 in Best Retail Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The home page lists intelligent pricing and promotions, store operations, replenishment and inventory management, customer and employee management, and a link to SAP.
The primary action is a consultation with a Business Partner rather than a demo or quote. Headquarters are listed in Folsom, California, with a Dubai branch, and a news item reports Nayax completing its acquisition of Retail Pro International.
What stands out
Partner-sold
Replenishment tools
SAP link
Where it costs you
No prices and no hosting model appear on the site; everything starts with a consultation form.
A certified Business Partner is the route in, so you rarely deal with the vendor directly.
Right for
Specialty retailers with several stores needing replenishment and promotions logic
Wrong for
Single-shop owners wanting to sign up and sell today
United StatesQuoted per organisation through a Business Partner; consultation form, no prices shown
Enterprise omnichannel commerce suite priced per user plus tenant add-ons
Ranked #11 of 11 in Best Retail Management Software in 2026.
Self-hostablePublished pricingNorth America
The product page prices the base per user per month, paid yearly, with an e-commerce add-on and a headless add-on each priced per tenant per month. Named capabilities include distributed order management, B2B commerce, inventory management, loyalty and personalisation.
It offers a Try for free link without terms. Microsoft is shown headquartered in Redmond, Washington. Each tier has a Contact us button, so a final quote still goes through Microsoft or a partner.
What stands out
Per-user base
Web add-ons per tenant
Cloud or on-premises
Where it costs you
The e-commerce add-on is charged per tenant per month in the thousands, billed yearly, on top of the per-user base.
The page states no system requirements, and each tier carries a Contact us button.
Right for
Large retail estates already on Microsoft finance and wanting one commerce platform
Wrong for
Small chains that need a working till within weeks
United StatesPublished per-user monthly price billed yearly, with separate monthly tenant prices for web add-ons
Retail management software runs the sales till, tracks stock across shops, and records customers, returns and purchase orders so a retailer can price, replenish and report from one system. Differences that change the outcome seldom sit in the features. Here is the sequence we would follow.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
1 vendors on this page sell by quote, while 10 publish a pricing model you can read today: Hike POS, Retail Express, Loyverse, Odoo POS, ConnectPOS, Epos Now, Erply, Lightspeed Retail, Shopify POS, Microsoft Dynamics 365 Commerce.
02
Weigh the vendor's home jurisdiction
Jurisdiction is a buying criterion here. The 11 vendors are spread over 6 countries (North America 5, Elsewhere 3, Europe 2, Asia-Pacific 1), and the home country determines which disclosure rules bind them.
03
Consider whether you want the source
Source code is available for Odoo POS. Running it yourself swaps the licence fee for your own upkeep.
Retail management software: priced per store, register or user
The unit on the invoice decides your total more than any feature. Hike POS and Retail Express charge per location, with Retail Express adding a fee for each extra register. ConnectPOS charges per register, Erply per store, Odoo POS per user, and Lightspeed Retail per plan with one register included. Loyverse is free at the till and charges per store or employee for add-ons.
Dynamics 365 Commerce charges per user plus a monthly amount per tenant for its web add-ons. Price your own shop count, tills and staff in each model before comparing. A three-till single shop and a ten-shop chain land on different winners, and a flat price that looks cheap at one location can double at five.
Count locations, registers and staff, then price each model
Ask what an extra register or location costs
Check whether web, API or accounting links are add-ons
Stock tools: what the entry plan leaves out
Retail software lives on stock accuracy, and the entry tier often hides it. Loyverse puts purchase orders and transfers behind a paid advanced inventory add-on. Shopify POS lists inventory counts and purchase orders only under POS Pro, charged per location. Hike POS includes purchase orders and stocktakes in Essential but keeps stock transfers for Plus.
Odoo POS keeps stock tracking in a separate Inventory app, so a stocked shop cannot stay on the single free app. ConnectPOS reserves stock transfer and stock-take for Premium. Lightspeed Retail is the contrast, listing purchase orders on all three plans. List the stock jobs you do weekly, such as receiving, counting and moving goods between shops, and find the cheapest tier that does all of them.
List receiving, counting and transfer jobs you do each week
Find the lowest tier that includes all of them
Check whether stock lives in a separate app or add-on
Hardware, card rates and contract length
In retail, the till is bought with a card terminal and a contract, so the software price is only one part. Epos Now sells bundles tied to its own payments and a year-long subscription, and its page shows several banner prices for the same bundle. Hike POS takes no software transaction fee, but its own card readers add a 1.5% per in-person transaction rate.
Lightspeed Retail shows 1.5% for card-present payments through Lightspeed Payments. Erply requires a written cancellation 30 days before the end of a billing period and refunds nothing on downgrade. Ask for the full cost of hardware, card rate and notice period, and check whether your existing terminal or processor will work.
Ask for a quote covering hardware, software and card rates
Check the minimum term and notice period in writing
Confirm whether your current terminal and processor work
Fit by size: a till, a suite or a partner-sold system
These products serve different sizes of retailer, and the mismatch is the usual failure. Loyverse and Hike POS suit a single owner-run shop. Retail Express suits groups of stores with predictable per-location pricing. Odoo POS suits a retailer ready to run accounting and stock in one customisable system and carry the implementation work, which no plan includes.
Retail Pro sells through certified Business Partners and publishes no prices, so expect a consultation first. Dynamics 365 Commerce charges per user plus per-tenant web add-ons and is meant for large estates. A one-shop owner buying the big suite pays for scale they cannot use, and a growing chain on a free till outgrows it within a year.
Match the product to your store count today and in two years
Ask who implements it and who supports you afterwards
Test one real week of sales, returns and stock counts
What goes wrong most often when buying retail management software
Comparing the headline monthly price without adding extra registers, locations or web-shop connectors.
Assuming the entry plan includes purchase orders and stock transfers, when several of these tills reserve them for a higher tier.
Signing a 12-month hardware and payments bundle before checking that a card terminal you already own would work.
Buying a large retail suite for one or two shops, then spending the first season on implementation instead of selling.
07
Frequently asked questions
8 answers
What is the best retail management software in 2026?
Hike POS takes first place among the 11 we reviewed. Hike POS Pty Ltd sells one product, a cloud till for shops. Essential covers one outlet with purchase orders and stocktakes.
Plus adds more outlets, stock transfers, loyalty, gift cards and API access. The software takes no cut of sales. The catch: a second shop forces the dearer plan, accounting links are an add-on, and the Hike-branded card readers charge a per-swipe rate.
Which retail management tools publish their pricing?
10 out of 11 state a price model on their own site:
Hike POS: Published monthly plans by outlet, cheaper billed annually; 14-day trial; enterprise tier quoted.
Retail Express: Published monthly price per location by tier; extra registers charged separately; demo only.
Loyverse: Free POS with published paid add-ons per store or per employee; 14-day add-on trials.
Odoo POS: Published per-user plans for all apps; a first app is free, with unlimited users.
ConnectPOS: Published monthly price per register on three tiers; enterprise tier quoted.
Epos Now: Published hardware bundle prices plus a 12-month payments and support subscription; trial signup offered.
Erply: Published monthly price per store on two tiers, with fixed-price NetSuite and franchise tiers.
Lightspeed Retail: Published monthly price per plan, cheaper billed annually; trial button, length not stated.
Shopify POS: Published monthly plan plus a per-location POS Pro add-on billed yearly; short paid-down trial offer.
Microsoft Dynamics 365 Commerce: Published per-user monthly price billed yearly, with separate monthly tenant prices for web add-ons.
The remaining 1 sell by quote.
Is there a free retail management tool?
Loyverse, Odoo POS offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these retail management software vendors established?
In 6 countries across 4 regions: North America 5, Elsewhere 3, Europe 2, Asia-Pacific 1.
Hike POS: Australia.
Retail Express: Not stated by the vendor.
Loyverse: Not stated by the vendor.
Odoo POS: Belgium.
ConnectPOS: Not stated by the vendor.
Epos Now: United Kingdom.
Erply: United States.
Lightspeed Retail: Canada.
Shopify POS: Canada.
Retail Pro: United States.
Microsoft Dynamics 365 Commerce: United States.
Which retail management tools are open source?
Odoo POS.
Which retail management tools can you host yourself?
Microsoft Dynamics 365 Commerce. The other 10 are hosted by the vendor only.
What should you use instead of Hike POS?
Second is Retail Express, which suits Multi-store specialty retailers in Australia or New Zealand wanting published prices. Third is Loyverse, which suits Single shops and pop-ups wanting a working till without a subscription.
Who should not buy Hike POS?
Chains needing deep merchandising or planning tools. Essential is limited to a single outlet, so opening a second shop means moving to Plus..
If a retail management software product of yours deserves a place among these 11, say what it is and who it serves. Inclusion rests with us alone. See software advice for the rules.