To-do list apps differ less in features than in how they charge and where they run. Some sell a yearly plan, some a one-time licence per Apple device, and some tuck the list into an account you already hold.
This guide ranks twelve on first-week setup, real cost, how tasks leave, independence from a platform, and fit.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry
says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a
vendor. How that works.
In short
What to-do list apps software does
A to-do list app stores tasks with due dates, reminders and repeats, syncs them between phone, computer and browser, and often adds shared lists, calendar views or email links.
In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether
you can leave, and who each to-do list apps tool is built for. One rule sits on top of those tests:
Places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. Why those five, and why there is no
score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
No separate plan in the user guide; uses an iCloud account
—
Households on Apple devices who share lists, groceries and reminders
Mixed Windows and Android teams that need shared task views
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a
different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the
entry says so.
Task and calendar app with one yearly plan and strict free limits
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best To-Do List Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The first week is cheap because the free tier already syncs across platforms, but its limits are small enough that a working task system outgrows it within weeks.
Premium is one annual price rather than a ladder of plans, which keeps the real price predictable. Premium also raises sharing from 2 to 29 members per list. All data sits on AWS servers in the United States, and a manual backup can be created on the web.
What stands out
Calendar views
Habit tracking
One paid tier
Where it costs you
The free tier stops at 9 lists and 99 tasks per list
Appest Inc. does not state a country of establishment in its terms
Right for
Individuals who want tasks, calendar and habits in one app on every device
Wrong for
Buyers who must record the vendor's country before signing
Not stated by the vendorFree tier with list limits; Premium billed yearly, price published
Cross-platform task manager with a free Beginner plan and per-member Business tier
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best To-Do List Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Todoist is quick to start: the Beginner plan covers real daily use, and CSV import brings tasks over from other apps. The Pro plan raises projects to 300 and filters to 150 and adds calendar layout and task duration.
Team features such as roles, shared templates and central billing arrive only on Business. Backups run on paid plans only, up to 21 ZIP files of CSV, and completed tasks and archived projects are not in them.
What stands out
Projects and sub-tasks
CSV export
Team workspace
Where it costs you
Beginner allows only 5 personal projects and 3 filter views
Automatic backups need a paid plan and exclude completed tasks
Right for
Individuals and small teams who want one familiar task list across all platforms
Wrong for
Anyone who needs a one-time purchase instead of a subscription
United StatesFree plan called Beginner; Pro and Business billed per month or year
Mac and iOS task manager sold once per device type
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best To-Do List Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
The cost model is the opposite of most apps here: you buy each platform once, with no renewals, and moving to a new Mac or iPhone needs no second purchase.
The 15-day Mac trial gives full features, and after expiry you can still view tasks but changes are not saved. The price is set in the App Store, not on the vendor site. The trade is a hard platform wall: a colleague on Windows cannot read your list.
What stands out
Apple only
One-time purchase
Things Cloud sync
Where it costs you
It runs only on Apple devices, with no Windows, Android or web version
iPhone and iPad have no trial and are bought separately from the Mac app
Right for
Individuals who live entirely on Apple devices and dislike subscriptions
Wrong for
Teams, or anyone who also uses Windows or Android
GermanyOne-time purchase per platform; sync included; Mac trial of 15 days
Tasks and planner with Personal, Premium, Family and Teams plans
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best To-Do List Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Any.do prices the same Premium feature set three ways: per user yearly, per user monthly, or as a Family plan covering 4 members. Teams adds a shared workspace, unlimited project boards and admin tools per member.
Export is the weak side: lists leave as PDF from web and desktop, and archived personal tasks come as a zipped CSV by email after you request it. Check which plan your recurring tasks need before choosing the free one.
What stands out
Family plan
WhatsApp reminders
Team boards
Where it costs you
Recurring tasks and location reminders need Premium
The privacy policy names Any.do Inc. without a country of establishment
Right for
Households and small teams that want task reminders sent through WhatsApp
Wrong for
Buyers who need full task export in a spreadsheet format
Not stated by the vendorFree Personal plan; Premium, Family and Teams plans published per month or year
Microsoft's task list that follows your Microsoft account and Outlook
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best To-Do List Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The appeal is that there is little to set up: tasks flagged in Outlook appear next to your lists, and My Day offers a daily list. The cost shows up in the sharing rules, because a list can be shared between personal Microsoft accounts or between accounts at the same workplace, and the invitation is a link.
For team scheduling Microsoft points to Planner, a second product. We could not retrieve Microsoft's export instructions, so check them first.
What stands out
Outlook tasks
Shared lists
Planner link
Where it costs you
Sharing works only between personal accounts or inside one organisation
Team work is sent to Planner, a separate product
Right for
People already on Outlook and a Microsoft account who want a simple list
Wrong for
Buyers who want a task tool without a platform vendor behind it
United StatesNo separate plan appears on the pages checked; tied to a Microsoft account
Task manager for Apple devices with perpetual licences and a subscription
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best To-Do List Apps in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
OmniFocus offers three routes: a one-off Standard or Pro licence that includes all 4.x updates, a yearly subscription with the Pro version, or the web add-on on top of a licence.
A 14-day trial runs under an Omni Account and a 30-day money-back guarantee applies. Syncing through the Omni Sync Server costs nothing extra. Its weekly review is a routine you must keep up, and the web app is described as a companion to the native apps.
What stands out
Perpetual licence
Perspectives
Weekly review
Where it costs you
The web version costs extra unless you subscribe
It requires macOS 15.2 or iOS 18.2 and newer
Right for
Apple users who run a structured system with projects, tags and weekly reviews
Wrong for
Windows teams or buyers who want a flat monthly fee
United StatesPerpetual Standard or Pro licence, or yearly subscription; prices published; 14-day trial
Long-running task app with a Basic plan and a yearly Pro upgrade
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best To-Do List Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
The Basic plan covers reminders by email, text, instant message and mobile apps and integration with Gmail and Google Calendar, so a first week costs nothing.
The gap appears when you need sub-tasks, sharing beyond two people or attachments, all Pro features at one annual price. Pro also adds MilkScript automation, IFTTT and Zapier, and a beta AI connection. Export is a JSON download that imports into another account.
What stands out
Pro yearly plan
JSON export
Email and text reminders
Where it costs you
Sub-tasks and unlimited sharing need Pro
Basic keeps completed tasks for only 7 days
Right for
Individuals who want email, text and instant-message reminders on a mature app
Wrong for
Teams that need boards, roles or workload planning
United StatesFree Basic plan; Pro billed yearly, price published
Daily planner that pulls tasks and calendar into a timeboxed day
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best To-Do List Apps in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Sunsama is a planning ritual more than a list: you pull tasks from integrations, timebox them against your calendar and review the day. A single Pro plan and a manifesto that rejects free tiers keep the price simple, but a card-free 14-day trial is the only way to test it.
SOC 2 Type II reports are available on request, and Enterprise adds SSO and audit logs. Export generates CSV or JSON of task data from your primary workspace only.
What stands out
Daily planning
Timeboxing
SOC 2 Type II
Where it costs you
Its website terms are for persons located in the United States
Data export covers only the primary workspace
Right for
Knowledge workers who plan each day against a calendar and integrations
Wrong for
Buyers outside the United States and anyone wanting a free tier
United StatesOne paid plan, price published; 14-day trial without a card
AI project and calendar suite that auto-schedules tasks per seat
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best To-Do List Apps in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Motion answers a different question from a list app: it places tasks and meetings on your calendar for you. Pro AI gives 7,500 credits per seat each month, and Business AI gives 15,000 and adds capacity planning, Gantt charts, time tracking and permissions.
The first 90 days go on setting up projects and priorities, since the scheduler works from deadlines and durations. A pure list user would carry unused features.
What stands out
AI scheduling
Per-seat plans
Project management
Where it costs you
Plans carry monthly AI credit allowances per seat
It bundles projects, docs and meeting notes, well beyond a task list
Right for
Teams that want an AI planner to schedule tasks and projects for them
Wrong for
Individuals who need only a simple to-do list
United StatesPer-seat Pro and Business plans, price published; free trial
Notes and tasks combined, with a free tier and per-person plans
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best To-Do List Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
Superlist keeps tasks and notes together, with unlimited tasks and notes even on the free tier. That tier suits one person with five lists, and the jump to Basic unlocks unlimited lists, sublists and all integrations per person.
Super adds AI meeting notes, AI chat and email and Slack summaries at a higher per-person price. Yearly billing takes 20% off. The pricing page names no Windows app, so plan for browser access there.
What stands out
Notes and tasks
Berlin company
Voice AI
Where it costs you
The free tier stops at 5 lists and 25 MB uploads
The pricing page names no Windows app, only macOS, iOS, Android and web
Right for
Small teams that keep notes and tasks together and want a Berlin vendor
Wrong for
Windows users who want a native desktop app
GermanyFree tier for individuals; Basic and Super billed per person, price published
Light task list inside Gmail, Calendar and Google Workspace
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best To-Do List Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Setup is close to zero: open Tasks in Calendar or the Gmail side panel and a list exists. Tasks can be created from an email, a Chat message or a Docs file, and assigned from Docs on eligible Workspace accounts.
Google LLC is the provider outside Europe, and Google Ireland Limited is the contracting party in the EEA. The limit is depth, and the page we read describes no export option, so check that before building a system on it.
What stands out
Gmail side panel
Google Calendar
Mobile app
Where it costs you
Work or school accounts depend on an administrator to switch it on
The help page we read mentions no export option or team workload view
Right for
People already in Gmail and Calendar who need a basic list
Wrong for
Teams that need shared workloads, roles or project views
United StatesNo separate Tasks plan on its help pages; reached through Google accounts
Apple's built-in reminders app with shared lists and grocery lists
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best To-Do List Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The guide shows how much sits in the app already: sub-tasks, tags, templates, assigned shared reminders and printable lists. The first 90 days cost almost nothing in setup time, but the price is hidden in the platform choice.
Features depend on updated iCloud reminders, and an iCloud account is allocated 5 GB of storage. The guide documents the Mac app, so check your other devices.
What stands out
Shared lists
Grocery lists
Apple Intelligence
Where it costs you
Some features need updated iCloud reminders, not other providers' accounts
The guide covers shared lists, not team workspaces or roles
Right for
Households on Apple devices who share lists, groceries and reminders
Wrong for
Mixed Windows and Android teams that need shared task views
United StatesNo separate plan in the user guide; uses an iCloud account
A to-do list app stores tasks with due dates, reminders and repeats, syncs them between phone, computer and browser, and often adds shared lists, calendar views or email links. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is
the order we would work through them.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
8 of the 12 tools here publish what they cost; the other 4 quote per organisation. The ones you can compare without a sales call: TickTick, Todoist, Any.do, OmniFocus, Remember The Milk, Sunsama, Motion, Superlist.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
These 12 vendors are established in 3 countries across 3 regions (North America 8, Europe 2, Elsewhere 2). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
How to-do apps charge: per member, per year or once
The sticker comparison hides three different meters. Superlist bills per person, Any.do Teams per member and Motion per seat, so a ten-person team multiplies the price. TickTick sells one yearly Premium plan to an individual. Sunsama has one paid plan after a 14-day trial.
Things and OmniFocus sell perpetual licences, but Things sells each of Mac, iPhone, iPad and Vision separately, while OmniFocus offers a universal purchase and a yearly subscription. Motion adds a credit allowance per seat on top. Count the devices, the people and the years you will use the tool, then divide the total, because the cheapest monthly price is rarely the cheapest over four years of daily use.
Multiply the price by the number of seats and years you expect to use it.
Ask whether each device type is a separate purchase.
Check whether team features sit behind a per-member tier.
What the free tier really limits
Free tiers in this market are caps, not trials. TickTick stops at 9 lists, 99 tasks per list and 2 reminders per task. Todoist's Beginner plan allows 5 personal projects and 3 filter views. Superlist's free tier has 5 lists and 25 MB uploads, and Remember The Milk's Basic plan shares lists with only 2 others and lacks sub-tasks.
These caps are easy to ignore in week one and painful in month three. Write down how many lists, projects and collaborators your current system uses before you pick one, A cap reached in month three forces an upgrade or a migration, so compare the upgrade price, not the headline of zero.
Count your current lists, projects and shared people.
Find which feature sits behind the first paid tier.
Test the cap with real data, not a demo list.
Apple-only or everywhere: Things, OmniFocus and Apple Reminders
Three tools here run only in Apple's ecosystem. Things and OmniFocus are native apps with no Windows or Android version, and OmniFocus needs macOS 15.2 or iOS 18.2, with a web companion that costs extra unless you subscribe. Apple Reminders sits in the same ecosystem, and some features need updated iCloud reminders.
TickTick, Todoist, Any.do and Superlist run across platforms, though Superlist lists no Windows app. A single colleague on Windows breaks the Apple-only route for any shared list, and a family that mixes iPhones with an Android handset hits the same wall. Decide who must read the list before you buy, and test the web version if one is offered, since that is the only door a Windows colleague has.
List every operating system that must open your tasks.
Ask whether a web version is included in the price.
Check the minimum operating system version.
Leaving a to-do app: what an export contains
Task apps look easy to leave until you read the export. Todoist exports a project to CSV on every plan, but its automatic backups need a paid plan and leave out completed tasks. Remember The Milk downloads a JSON file that imports into another account, with an iCalendar feed as a lighter option.
Sunsama exports CSV or JSON of the primary workspace only. Any.do exports personal lists as PDF on web and desktop and sends archived tasks as zipped CSV by email. Run one export before you commit, and see what survives: comments, recurrence, sub-tasks and completed items. An export you have never opened is a hope, not an exit.
Run a test export and open it in a spreadsheet.
Check whether comments and recurring dates survive.
Ask whether completed tasks are included.
What goes wrong most often when buying to-do list apps software
Choosing on the free tier without counting the lists, projects and shared people you already use.
Buying an Apple-only app and discovering later that one colleague uses Windows.
Treating an AI scheduler such as Motion as a list app and paying for credits you will not use.
Never testing an export, then finding that comments or completed tasks did not leave with the rest.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best to-do list apps in 2026?
TickTick leads our ranking of 12. One paid tier sits above a free tier capped at 9 lists, 99 tasks per list and 2 reminders per task, so a heavy user meets the ceiling quickly.
Premium lifts that to 299 lists and 999 tasks and moves calendar views from basic to unlimited. Data stays after Premium lapses. The operator, Appest Inc., names no country in its terms, so the legal home is unknown.
Which to-do list apps tools publish their pricing?
8 of the 12, with the pricing model each one publishes:
TickTick: Free tier with list limits; Premium billed yearly, price published.
Todoist: Free plan called Beginner; Pro and Business billed per month or year.
Any.do: Free Personal plan; Premium, Family and Teams plans published per month or year.
OmniFocus: Perpetual Standard or Pro licence, or yearly subscription; prices published; 14-day trial.
Remember The Milk: Free Basic plan; Pro billed yearly, price published.
Sunsama: One paid plan, price published; 14-day trial without a card.
Motion: Per-seat Pro and Business plans, price published; free trial.
Superlist: Free tier for individuals; Basic and Super billed per person, price published.
The other 4 quote per organisation.
Is there a free to-do list apps tool?
TickTick, Todoist, Any.do, Remember The Milk, Superlist offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these to-do list apps vendors established?
In 3 countries across 3 regions: North America 8, Europe 2, Elsewhere 2.
TickTick: Not stated by the vendor.
Todoist: United States.
Things: Germany.
Any.do: Not stated by the vendor.
Microsoft To Do: United States.
OmniFocus: United States.
Remember The Milk: United States.
Sunsama: United States.
Motion: United States.
Superlist: Germany.
Google Tasks: United States.
Apple Reminders: United States.
What should you use instead of TickTick?
Todoist and Things are the next two on this page. Todoist is for Individuals and small teams who want one familiar task list across all platforms; Things is for Individuals who live entirely on Apple devices and dislike subscriptions.
Who should not buy TickTick?
Buyers who must record the vendor's country before signing. The free tier stops at 9 lists and 99 tasks per list.
If your to-do list apps product belongs among these 12, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.