School management software holds the records a school cannot lose: who is enrolled, who was absent, what grade was given and what a family owes.
This guide ranks twelve products on the first term of setup, the bill once payments and messaging are added, whether records can leave, and whether you can buy and run it without a reseller.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry
says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a
vendor. How that works.
In short
What school management software does
School management software keeps student records, attendance, grades, timetables and fees in one system, with portals so teachers, parents and office staff can read and update them.
In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether
you can leave, and who each school management tool is built for. One rule sits on top of those tests:
Places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. Why those five, and why there is no
score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Sold by contacting an expert; prices not shown on the pages read
—
Districts wanting SIS, learning and family engagement products from a single vendor
Independent schools wanting a lightweight, single-purpose system
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a
different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the
entry says so.
OpenEduCat is built on the Odoo framework and describes 70-plus modules sharing one database, from admissions and timetables to library and gradebook. Cloud plans are billed annually; on-premise is a one-time fee.
The Free Edition is the exit route, but the Enterprise edition's terms are not shown on the pricing page. Mobile apps for Android and iOS are separate paid items, which matters for parent communication.
What stands out
Open source core
Self-host option
Per-module pricing
Where it costs you
The price list is long: platform, modules, user packs and onboarding hours are each line items, so a realistic bundle takes a spreadsheet to total.
The pages we read name offices in both India and the United States but do not say which is headquarters.
Right for
Schools and colleges wanting published prices and the option to run the software on their own server
Wrong for
Schools that want one vendor to configure and run everything
IndiaFree Edition under LGPL; paid modules and user packs published; 15-day trial
A student information system sold to small schools with staff training included
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best School Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Gradelink keeps attendance, lunch count, IEP notes and student files in one record, with grade entry that allows weighted assignments. It also sells a separate school website product.
Support is offered by web, email and phone, and the company claims more than 2,200 schools. The pages say nothing about data export or limits on student numbers, so ask for both in writing before signing a multi-year term.
What stands out
Small-school SIS
Quote-based
Training included
Where it costs you
No prices are shown; the buy page asks you to answer questions about your school and wait for an emailed quote.
The pages we read mention no trial, only a demo, so you commit before you use it with your own data.
Right for
Small private or charter schools wanting one vendor to set up the account and train staff
Wrong for
Large districts or colleges needing state reporting and admissions in one suite
United StatesCustom quote on request; free demo, no trial stated
Web-based school and college ERP with yearly plans and unlimited users
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best School Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingAsia-Pacific
Fedena describes itself as a multipurpose school ERP with 100-plus modules, suited to boards such as CBSE, ICSE and IB. Online classes connect to Google Meet, Zoom and BigBlueButton rather than running natively.
The company claims more than 40,000 institutions in 200-plus countries, which is a vendor figure. Standard, Premium and Ultimate plans are billed yearly and include onboarding data setup and one-to-one online training.
What stands out
Published yearly plans
Unlimited users
Enterprise source code
Where it costs you
Product source code is listed only under the Enterprise plan, which is quoted, so cheaper plans depend entirely on the vendor's hosting.
The pricing page lists module groups without making clear which plan unlocks which, so confirm your must-haves before buying.
Right for
Schools and colleges, especially in India, wanting predictable yearly pricing regardless of headcount
Wrong for
UK or US schools needing local curriculum and state reporting formats
IndiaYearly plans, published; free trial; enterprise plan on request
Gibbon is published on GitHub under GPL-3.0, so a school can read, modify and move it without permission. The site lists student profiles, planning and assessment, with calendar and student alerts in version 30.
It supports right-to-left text and UTF-8. The foundation sells annual membership, which funds development rather than hosting. Treat total cost as staff time, because no hosted offer is described.
What stands out
GPL v3
Self-hosted
Foundation-run
Where it costs you
You carry hosting, upgrades, backups and security yourself, which the project's site presents as the school's choice of server.
The project is run by a foundation and volunteers, so no commercial support contract is described on the pages we read.
Right for
Schools with a technical teacher or contractor who want full control and no licence fee
Wrong for
Schools without anyone who can maintain a web server
Not stated by the vendorFree, open source; you host it yourself or pay a third party
Australian school management system with over 35 configurable modules
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best School Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestAsia-Pacific
Sentral describes whole-of-child data in one place, class creation from student data, and open integrations with learning management, timetabling and cloud accounting software.
A canteen and uniform solution is linked to StudentPayPlus, and its privacy policy names a subsidiary, Our Online Canteen, trading as QuickCliq. The company says it has 25-plus years in education. The pages give no export or exit terms.
What stands out
Australian schools
35+ modules
ISO 27001
Where it costs you
No price or trial appears on the pages we read; the route in is a demo or an enquiry.
The product is presented around Australian schools, so overseas buyers should check curriculum and reporting fit.
Right for
Australian independent and government schools wanting one platform with a parent app
Wrong for
Schools outside Australia needing local reporting formats
AustraliaSold by demo request; prices not shown on the pages read
Cloud platform joining student records, learning, finance and admissions
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best School Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
The site lists modules for recruitment and admissions, academic management, financial management, student services and alumni, plus portals for students, parents, staff, alumni, agents and applicants.
It says it connects to more than 40 tools including Office 365, Moodle, Zoom and Teams, with an API. The company claims over 500 institutions. A discount of up to 20 per cent is mentioned for bi-annual billing.
What stands out
12 modules
Azure hosted
K-12 and higher ed
Where it costs you
Pricing is behind an enquiry page, so no budget figure exists before talking to sales.
Twelve modules and eight portal types is more to configure than a single-campus school needs.
Right for
Mixed K-12 and higher education institutions wanting records, finance and learning in one platform
Wrong for
Single small schools wanting a quick, simple records system
GreeceSold by demo request; billed annually or bi-annually
Australian school software covering admin, wellbeing, teaching and billing
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best School Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestAsia-Pacific
Compass lists modules for activity management, school administration, wellbeing, community engagement, teaching and learning, and finance and billing, with a mobile app and a parent portal.
A Compass Private solution is aimed at independent schools. The company claims 5,000 schools globally, a vendor figure. The pages we read do not describe an export route, so ask how student records leave before a multi-year commitment.
What stands out
Australian schools
Parent portal
Acquisitive
Where it costs you
Modules acquired from other companies mean features may not feel uniform across the product.
The pages we read give no prices and no trial, only a demo or an information pack.
Right for
Australian schools wanting activities, wellbeing and billing handled in one parent-facing platform
Wrong for
Schools that need published pricing or a self-service trial
AustraliaSold by demo request; prices not shown on the pages read
One shared database for private schools, from admissions to fundraising
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best School Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The site lists modules for academics and student life, admission and enrollment, development, accounting, tuition management, student health, behaviour, marketing and portals, plus an API and more than 200 integration partners.
It describes itself as fully web-based. It lists offices in Wakefield, Massachusetts, Queensland and London. It claims more than 3,300 schools. Nothing on the pages we read covers export or contract terms.
What stands out
Private K-12
Single database
Development module
Where it costs you
No price or trial is shown, only a demo request.
The suite spans eleven areas, from accounting to development, so scoping the first phase takes planning.
Right for
Independent and boarding schools wanting admissions, finance and fundraising in a single record
Wrong for
Public districts and schools with a small office team
United StatesSold by demo request; prices not shown on the pages read
UK school MIS with separate editions for schools, trusts and councils
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best School Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Arbor lists products for school, trust and local authority MIS, finance, workflows, HR through SAMpeople, and TimeTabler. The company claims more than 12,500 schools and trusts, plus self-reported figures of 117 minutes saved per staff member weekly, which we have not tested.
Hosting details are not given on the page we read. The Key Group ownership means pricing and roadmap sit inside a larger group.
What stands out
UK schools
Trust editions
Part of The Key Group
Where it costs you
Add-ons such as school payments, SMS and a data warehouse are listed separately, so the first quote may understate the final bill.
Its editions are framed around the UK system, with Wales as a separate add-on listing, so overseas schools should check fit.
Right for
UK primary, secondary and special schools and trusts wanting a specialist school MIS
Wrong for
Schools outside the UK or buyers who want an independent owner
United KingdomSold by demo request or brochure; prices not shown on the page
Cloud K-12 student information system with built-in analytics layer
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best School Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Alma lists enrolment and admissions, attendance, class scheduling, fee management, traditional and competency grading, electronic report cards, incidents and communications.
A spreadsheet data editor and Google Classroom integration are mentioned. The site claims more than 6 million students, a 2026 CODiE award, and reach in 44 states and 61 countries, and it mentions an Alma UK. The pages give no export terms.
What stands out
K-12 SIS
Analytics built in
State reporting
Where it costs you
Pricing is not shown; the site links to school and district package pages and a free live demo.
Ownership is not described, so buyers cannot judge the vendor's backing from its own pages.
Right for
Charter and independent schools or small districts wanting grading, fees and state reporting together
Wrong for
Buyers who need published prices or a self-service trial
United StatesSold by demo request; package pages exist but prices are not shown
Employee-owned district SIS with add-ons for payments, food and messaging
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best School Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The company, headquartered in Blaine, Minnesota, claims about 3,200 districts and 11 million students in 46 states, and says it has 650-plus employee-owners.
Products include a statewide SIS, analytics, workflow and learning suites, and a report translation module. The pages we read show no prices and no trial, only demos and sales contact, and they describe nothing about data export.
What stands out
District SIS
Employee-owned
Statewide SIS
Where it costs you
Payments, food service, messaging and registration are separate add-on products, so the full bill needs several quotes.
It is aimed at districts and state agencies; the pages we read do not address single independent schools.
Right for
Districts and state education agencies wanting a long-established SIS from an employee-owned company
Wrong for
Single small schools with limited administrative staff
United StatesSold by demo request; prices not shown on the pages read
K-12 operating system spanning SIS, learning, enrolment and finance products
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best School Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
PowerSchool, based in Folsom, California, says it serves more than 15,000 organisations and over 60 million students, including over 80 per cent of North American districts.
Its pages list SIS, special programs, attendance, assessment through Performance Matters, finance through Allovue, ERP and recruiting. The portfolio is the selling point and the risk: modules connect to each other, which complicates leaving one. No export terms are shown.
What stands out
Bain Capital owned
Product portfolio
K-12 districts
Where it costs you
Ownership by a private equity firm and a wide product portfolio make it the opposite of buying from a small independent.
No prices or trial appear on the pages read; the route in is talking to a sales expert.
Right for
Districts wanting SIS, learning and family engagement products from a single vendor
Wrong for
Independent schools wanting a lightweight, single-purpose system
United StatesSold by contacting an expert; prices not shown on the pages read
School management software keeps student records, attendance, grades, timetables and fees in one system, with portals so teachers, parents and office staff can read and update them. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is
the order we would work through them.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
3 of the 12 tools here publish what they cost; the other 9 quote per organisation. The ones you can compare without a sales call: OpenEduCat, Fedena, Gibbon.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
These 12 vendors are established in 6 countries across 4 regions (North America 5, Asia-Pacific 4, Europe 2, Elsewhere 1). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
03
Consider whether you want the source
2 of these are open source: OpenEduCat, Gibbon. Hosting one yourself trades a subscription for maintenance.
How to choose school management software without buying a district suite
Start by deciding what you are buying: a student record, or the whole office. Infinite Campus, PowerSchool and Alma are built around district or network reporting, with state submissions and many roles. A single independent school paying for that is paying for features it will not open.
Gradelink and Sentral are sold to ordinary schools and describe setup help, but both quote prices privately. OpenEduCat and Fedena publish theirs, which lets you compare before any call. The test is the first ninety days: who loads the students, who builds the timetable, and who trains the staff? Ask each vendor to write down who does which job, and how many hours your own office must give.
Who imports the students and staff, the vendor or you?
How many of your own hours does the first term need?
Does the quote include training, or is it extra?
The real price is modules, add-ons and user packs
School software rarely costs what the first page implies. OpenEduCat sells the core platform, each module, user packs by headcount and onboarding hours as separate lines, and Arbor lists school payments, an SMS subscription and a data warehouse as add-ons. Infinite Campus sells payments, food service and messaging as separate products.
Fedena avoids some of this with yearly plans and unlimited users, but the module breakdown by plan is unclear on the page. Write down every function your office needs, including payments, parent messaging and a mobile app, and ask each vendor for one total across three years. Compare totals rather than headline plans, and keep the quotes, because a school office changes hands more often than a contract does.
Is parent messaging in the price or an add-on?
Are mobile apps charged separately, as at OpenEduCat?
What is the three-year total with every module you need?
Getting student data out when you leave
A student record is kept for years, so the exit matters more here than in most software. Gibbon is GPL v3 and you hold the database yourself, which is the cleanest exit, but you also carry the hosting. OpenEduCat offers its Free Edition and on-premise installs, so a school can keep running without the vendor.
Veracross, Compass and Alma describe broad modules on a shared database but, on the pages we read, give no export terms, so ask. Request a full export in an open format of students, grades, attendance and finance before signing, and ask what it costs. Test it with a sample of records, not a promise. Check retention for former students too.
Can you export grades, attendance and fees in an open format?
Is the export included in the price?
Who holds the database if you stop paying?
Match the product to your country and school type
Several products are tied to one education system. Arbor is a management information system for UK schools, trusts and local authorities. Sentral and Compass are sold to Australian schools. Veracross is aimed at private and boarding schools. Fedena names CBSE, ICSE and IB boards, and Classter covers both schools and higher education.
If you are outside a vendor's home system, ask for a reference school in your country and check the grading, calendar and reporting formats you must file. Buying a product built for a different curriculum usually means paying for customisation, so confirm what is configurable and what needs vendor work before signing, and ask the vendor to put that split in the contract.
Does the vendor have reference schools in your country?
Are your report cards and calendar configurable without vendor work?
Does the product match your school type, such as boarding or independent?
What goes wrong most often when buying school management software
Judging by the demo instead of loading a sample of your own students, classes and fees and asking the vendor to show them back to you.
Buying a district-scale platform such as PowerSchool or Infinite Campus for one school, then paying for roles and reports nobody uses.
Treating the quoted starting price as the bill and discovering later that payments, messaging and mobile apps are extra.
Signing a multi-year term without a written export of student records, grades and attendance in a format another system can read.
07
Frequently asked questions
8 answers
What is the best school management software in 2026?
OpenEduCat leads our ranking of 12. Publishes a full price list and lets you leave with the software: the Free Edition is LGPL-3.0, and paid editions run in the vendor's cloud or on your own server.
Nothing is charged per student. The catch: platform, modules, user pack and onboarding hours are bought separately, so total the list first.
Which school management tools publish their pricing?
3 of the 12, with the pricing model each one publishes:
OpenEduCat: Free Edition under LGPL; paid modules and user packs published; 15-day trial.
Fedena: Yearly plans, published; free trial; enterprise plan on request.
Gibbon: Free, open source; you host it yourself or pay a third party.
The other 9 quote per organisation.
Is there a free school management tool?
OpenEduCat, Gibbon offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these school management software vendors established?
In 6 countries across 4 regions: North America 5, Asia-Pacific 4, Europe 2, Elsewhere 1.
OpenEduCat: India.
Gradelink: United States.
Fedena: India.
Gibbon: Not stated by the vendor.
Sentral: Australia.
Classter: Greece.
Compass: Australia.
Veracross: United States.
Arbor: United Kingdom.
Alma: United States.
Infinite Campus: United States.
PowerSchool: United States.
Which school management tools are open source?
OpenEduCat, Gibbon.
Which school management tools can you host yourself?
OpenEduCat, Gibbon. The other 10 are hosted by the vendor only.
What should you use instead of OpenEduCat?
Gradelink and Fedena are the next two on this page. Gradelink is for small private or charter schools wanting one vendor to set up the account and train staff; Fedena is for Schools and colleges, especially in India, wanting predictable yearly pricing regardless of headcount.
Who should not buy OpenEduCat?
Schools that want one vendor to configure and run everything. The price list is long: platform, modules, user packs and onboarding hours are each line items, so a realistic bundle takes a spreadsheet to total..
If your school management software product belongs among these 12, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.