Dental systems hold the chart, the radiographs, the appointment book and the insurance ledger in one database, which makes them hard to leave.
This guide ranks fifteen on what the vendor's own site will tell you before a sales call: the billing unit, where the database runs, how records come back out, and whether the company behind it sells anything else.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry
says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a
vendor. How that works.
In short
What dental practice management software does
Dental practice management software runs a dental office: it books appointments, holds tooth and periodontal charts, stores radiographs, produces treatment plans and submits claims to insurers or public schemes.
In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether
you can leave, and who each dental practice management tool is built for. Why those five, and why there is no
score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Established US practices whose staff and integrations already run on it
New practices that want a published price and a hosted system
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a
different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the
entry says so.
Locally hosted practice software with one published fee per location
Ranked #1 of 15 in Best Dental Practice Management Software in 2026.
Self-hostablePublished pricingNorth America
The fees page lists separate rates for the United States, Canada and other countries, and states the software is provided without charge, with limited support, in developing countries. Support fees carry a 90-day money-back guarantee.
Conversion from another system is charged per database, after a written quote. Extra providers beyond three per location are billed monthly, and eServices such as texting are signed up per location. Open Dental Cloud is quoted by concurrent sessions.
What stands out
Self-hosted
Published price
Queryable database
Where it costs you
You run the server: the standard product is hosted locally or on remote hosting you arrange yourself.
The licence turned proprietary in version 24.4, and source code now goes only to certain large customers under a non-disclosure agreement.
Right for
Practices with someone who can look after a server and wants direct database access
Wrong for
Offices outside the US wanting a vendor-hosted cloud system
United StatesPer location per month, published; non-expiring 30-patient trial
Self-funded cloud system with three published plans and native imaging
Ranked #2 of 15 in Best Dental Practice Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Oryx Pro, Automate and AI all carry patient engagement, revenue cycle tools and clinical charting. A start-up offer waives the monthly fee on the two lower plans until the practice reaches 200 patients or twelve months.
The FAQ says 3D imaging runs on its own machine and software. The vendor describes its market as the United States and Canada, so claims and billing elsewhere are untested ground.
What stands out
Self-funded
Native imaging
12-month first term
Where it costs you
Each plan includes two providers; every further provider adds a monthly charge, and the charge is higher on the AI plan.
The pricing page names setup, data-conversion and image-conversion fees without giving their amounts.
Right for
Solo and start-up practices in the US or Canada wanting imaging included
Wrong for
Practices outside North America, or those avoiding a year-long first term
United StatesPer month per plan, published; extra providers billed monthly
Melbourne-built cloud system priced per location, unlimited users
Ranked #3 of 15 in Best Dental Practice Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingAsia-Pacific
The price drops per location for two sites and again for three or more. A one-off set-up fee applies. The included storage is ten gigabytes, which radiographs will fill.
The test drive is a full version for four weeks with no obligation. Data conversion is offered and generally takes about two weeks. The FAQ's answer to an internet outage is tethering to a phone; it describes no offline mode.
What stands out
Per-location price
CSV export
Australian hosting
Where it costs you
Every chair beyond two per location, every SMS and every gigabyte beyond the included storage is billed on top of the base fee.
All servers are in Australia and the named integrations are Australian services such as HICAPS and Tyro.
Right for
Australian practices of one to a few chairs wanting a fixed monthly fee
Wrong for
Practices that bill North American insurers or the NHS
AustraliaPer location per month, published; 4-week test drive
Cloud system with a low published base fee plus per-claim charges
Ranked #4 of 15 in Best Dental Practice Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
tab32 was founded in 2012 in Sacramento, California, and describes itself as Series B funded. Alpine is the tier for small offices, Summit the one for groups.
Scheduling, charting and imaging are included on all plans, and automated reminders are free up to a monthly message allowance before a per-message charge applies. Migration from Dentrix, Eaglesoft, Open Dental and others is offered, but the vendor asks you to contact it for the cost.
What stands out
Usage fees
14-day trial
Imaging included
Where it costs you
A practice that files many insurance claims pays per claim, per attachment set and per eligibility check on top of the base fee.
The Alpine start-up rate covers up to three providers and nearly doubles from the second year.
Right for
New or small US practices with modest claim volume and no server
Wrong for
High-volume insurance practices that want a flat, predictable bill
United StatesPer month per practice, published; per-claim usage fees; 14-day trial
Per-office subscription that includes installation, training and support
Ranked #5 of 15 in Best Dental Practice Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
The trial installs on a workstation or a server and stops at thirty patients, enough to judge charting but not a working day. A second office is priced lower than the first, and dentists beyond three add a monthly charge each.
Most Smart Tools come with thirty-day trials on month-to-month terms. The vendor's site gives a post office box in El Dorado Hills as its address.
What stands out
Published price
Priced add-ons
30-patient trial
Where it costs you
Auto-texting, online scheduling, tablet forms, reviews and ePrescribing are each a separately priced monthly add-on.
The homepage and the pricing page showed different monthly figures when checked, so get the rate confirmed in writing.
Right for
Single-office practices that want every line of the bill visible beforehand
Wrong for
Practices wanting one fee that already covers patient communication
United StatesPer office per month, published; 30-patient trial
Venture-backed cloud platform at one flat price per location
Ranked #6 of 15 in Best Dental Practice Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Archy was founded by two former Uber colleagues, is based in San Jose, California, and says it supports practices across the US. New practices get a reduced rate until they reach 400 patients or one year.
Insurance verification in the Front Office suite is supplied by Vyne and imaging AI by Pearl, so parts of the stack depend on other firms. The pricing page says nothing about contract length, onboarding or conversion fees.
What stands out
Flat per-location fee
Unlimited providers
Venture-backed
Where it costs you
AI Scribe, voice perio charting, imaging AI and automated claim posting sit in add-on suites whose prices are not shown.
The flat location fee is the same for a one-dentist office as for a ten-provider one.
Right for
Busy multi-provider US offices that would otherwise pay per seat
Wrong for
A solo dentist for whom a flat location fee is steep
United StatesPer location per month, published; add-on suites quoted
Ontario vendor selling cloud and in-office editions since 1977
Ranked #7 of 15 in Best Dental Practice Management Software in 2026.
Free tierSelf-hostablePricing on requestNorth America
Freemium is pitched at evaluations, start-ups, hygiene practices and teaching institutions, and comes with ninety days of access to the vendor's learning system. No other product ranked here offers a permanent no-cost edition of its full interface.
The weak point is the step up: reporting and analytics, reputation management and remote backup are optional extras, and nothing on the site tells you what the paid editions cost.
What stands out
Free plan
Cloud or on-premise
Canada and US
Where it costs you
No price for ABELDent Cloud or Local Plus appears on the site; buying starts with a sales meeting.
Freemium leaves telephone support, ongoing updates and data migration as paid extras at regular rates.
Right for
Canadian start-ups and hygiene practices that want to begin without a licence fee
Wrong for
Buyers who need a published price to compare before a call
CanadaQuoted per practice; zero-cost starter edition
Canadian practice software from Mint Ops with published starting prices
Ranked #8 of 15 in Best Dental Practice Management Software in 2026.
Self-hostablePublished pricingNorth America
The modules are Patient Management, MaxiChart for clinical charting, Billing and Claims, Treatment and A/R, Reporting and Cloud Backup, with EngageB handling recalls, confirmations and online booking.
Dental clinic plans come in Starter, Growth and Scale tiers. The vendor says both deployment choices give the same features, a choice few rivals ranked here offer. The company is in Winnipeg. Data conversion terms are not set out on the product page.
What stands out
Cloud or on-premise
Canadian practices
Imaging add-on
Where it costs you
Grayscale imaging is an add-on with its own monthly price, not part of the base software.
Mint Ops sells to Canadian dental practices; nothing on the site addresses claims or billing in other countries.
Right for
Canadian clinics, hygienists and denturists who want a price before a demo
Wrong for
Practices outside Canada, or buyers wanting software without services
CanadaPer month by practice type, starting prices published
Built for Canadian practices, deployed in cloud, on-premise or hybrid
Ranked #9 of 15 in Best Dental Practice Management Software in 2026.
Self-hostablePricing on requestNorth America
The vendor's own description is software built for Canadian dental practices, and the FAQ confirms cloud data is stored in Canada. Guided onboarding and data migration are offered.
ClearDent Link connects an on-premise installation to cloud services, a gradual route for a server-based office. The cost is a pricing model with four moving parts and no public number, so two practices of the same size can receive different quotes.
What stands out
Canadian billing
Cloud or on-premise
Annual subscription
Where it costs you
The FAQ says price varies with deployment, users, feature modules and support level, and gives no figure for any of them.
Imaging, Online Booking and ClearConnect are named as modules that affect the price, so the base quote is not the full one.
Right for
Canadian practices that want a choice between hosted and in-office deployment
Wrong for
Practices outside Canada, or anyone needing month-to-month terms
CanadaQuoted annual subscription by users and modules
Large cloud suite with two starting prices and built-in imaging
Ranked #10 of 15 in Best Dental Practice Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Essentials covers scheduling, online appointments, charting, imaging, a patient portal, eligibility verification and claims. Intelligence adds AI clinical notes, voice perio charting and X-ray analysis. Good Methods Global Inc.
is the company behind it, founded in 2015 and headquartered in Celebration, Florida, with offices in Trivandrum, Kochi and Bangalore. It says it serves over 3,000 practices. What the site leaves out is contract length, and whether the starting price applies per location.
What stands out
Starting prices shown
Multi-location
Demo only
Where it costs you
The published figures are 'starting at' prices; the quote moves with locations, chairs and providers.
An implementation fee may be charged where data migration or training is complex, and its size is not stated.
Right for
Multi-location groups in the US, UK or Australia standardising on one system
Wrong for
A two-chair office that wants a fixed price up front
United StatesPer month per plan, starting prices published; final price quoted
Long-established North American cloud system with quote-only pricing
Ranked #11 of 15 in Best Dental Practice Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The package named on the pricing page spans front office scheduling and billing, charting and perio charting, electronic claims with ERA and eligibility, backup and disaster recovery, business analytics and Curve GRO patient engagement.
The legal entity is CD Newco, LLC in Alpharetta, Georgia. None of the vendor pages read for this ranking stated a contract length, a conversion fee or how records are exported; open the demo with those three questions.
What stands out
Cloud only
US and Canada
Unlimited eClaims
Where it costs you
The pricing page contains no prices; the only routes are 'Get Pricing' and 'Schedule Demo'.
The vendor describes its customers as being in the US and Canada only.
Right for
US and Canadian practices that value a long cloud track record
Wrong for
Buyers comparing on price before speaking to sales
Henry Schein One cloud system priced per surgery with NHS integration
Ranked #12 of 15 in Best Dental Practice Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
The published table runs from one surgery to nine, excluding VAT. Pro adds a dedicated customer success manager, custom integrations, custom email domains and the full portal. Onboarding runs in four steps including data migration.
The site has regional editions for Australia, Canada, Ireland and New Zealand. The pricing page mentions no trial period and says nothing about set-up, migration or training fees.
What stands out
NHS integration
Per-surgery price
Henry Schein One
Where it costs you
Starter excludes Dentally Vision imaging, the Dentally Portal and multi-site capability; those need Essentials or Pro.
AI clinical notes are capped at a monthly number of transcriptions per surgery, even on Pro.
Right for
UK and Irish practices, NHS or mixed, that want a published price
Wrong for
Buyers who want a vendor with a single product line
Centaur Software's on-premise system, widely installed across Australian practices
Ranked #13 of 15 in Best Dental Practice Management Software in 2026.
Self-hostablePricing on requestAsia-Pacific
The feature list covers appointment booking, clinical records, financial management, digital imaging integration, recalls and reminders, reporting and marketing automation, plus eAppointments, eForms and an eKiosk for check-in.
The company has regional managers in each Australian state and in New Zealand. Its site does not state who owns Centaur Software Development Co Pty Ltd, nor how data leaves the product, so ask both.
What stands out
On-premise
Australia and NZ
Enquiry only
Where it costs you
No price, trial or demo is offered on the product page; the only action is 'Enquire Now'.
An on-premise installation leaves the practice responsible for the server environment the vendor says it lets you control.
Right for
Australian and New Zealand practices that want their records on their own server
Wrong for
Practices that want to compare prices without an enquiry
Planet DDS cloud system built for dental groups and DSOs
Ranked #14 of 15 in Best Dental Practice Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
The subscription bundles cloud hosting, backup, security, updates and unlimited support. Named features include SmartAssist, AI Voice Perio, insurance verification and online booking.
Planet DDS is headquartered in Irvine, California, and also owns the Cloud 9 orthodontic system and Apteryx imaging, so a group can be steered towards the whole portfolio. The site mentions a reduced-cost subscription for solo and private practices but directs you to sales for the number.
What stands out
Built for DSOs
Cloud only
No per-user charge
Where it costs you
Packages, features and add-ons are customised per practice, so the published starting figure is a floor.
The vendor's own implementation estimate is about two months before a solo practice is live.
Right for
Dental groups and DSOs centralising scheduling, billing and reporting across locations
Wrong for
A single small office that needs to be live quickly
United StatesMonthly subscription, starting price published; packages quoted
Henry Schein One's on-premises system, sold in packages by quote
Ranked #15 of 15 in Best Dental Practice Management Software in 2026.
Self-hostablePricing on requestNorth America
Named components include Dentrix Imaging, the Dentrix API Exchange for third-party connections and Connected Care Essentials, alongside insurance billing and analytics dashboards. The company is based in American Fork, Utah.
For a buyer the facts that matter are absent from the site: licence or subscription basis, what a package contains, contract length and conversion cost. That absence is why it ranks last here, not any shortage of function.
What stands out
On-premises
Henry Schein One
Packages and suites
Where it costs you
No price or package content is published; the site routes every question to a demo request or a sales call.
Henry Schein One sells several overlapping systems, so which product you are steered to is partly the vendor's choice.
Right for
Established US practices whose staff and integrations already run on it
Wrong for
New practices that want a published price and a hosted system
Dental practice management software runs a dental office: it books appointments, holds tooth and periodontal charts, stores radiographs, produces treatment plans and submits claims to insurers or public schemes. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is
the order we would work through them.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
10 of the 15 tools here publish what they cost; the other 5 quote per organisation. The ones you can compare without a sales call: Open Dental, Oryx, Praktika, tab32, Practice-Web, Archy, MaxiDent, CareStack, Dentally, Denticon.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
These 15 vendors are established in 4 countries across 3 regions (North America 12, Asia-Pacific 2, Europe 1). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
Where a dental practice management database actually runs
The first fork in this market is who keeps the server. Open Dental is hosted by the practice itself; its vendor-run cloud is in limited release and open to US customers. Dental4Windows is sold as on-premise software for practices that want control of their own IT, and Dentrix is positioned the same way against its cloud sibling.
MaxiDent and ClearDent let you choose: private cloud or your own servers for the first, and cloud, on-premise or a hybrid link for the second. Oryx, Archy, tab32 and Praktika exist only as hosted services. The difference shows on the day the internet drops: Praktika's own answer is to tether to a phone. It also decides who is answerable for the backup of several years of radiographs.
Ask who restores the imaging archive after a failure, and how long the vendor says it takes.
For a hosted system, test the appointment book on a phone hotspot before signing.
For a local server, price the hardware, backup and remote access alongside the licence.
What dental software is billed per: location, provider, surgery or claim
No two vendors in this ranking meter the same thing. Archy charges one fee per location and leaves users, providers and claims unlimited. Oryx includes two providers per plan and bills each further one monthly. Open Dental covers three providers per location before a per-provider charge begins. Dentally prices by the number of surgeries, Praktika by location with two chairs included and a fee for each chair beyond.
tab32 sets a low base and then charges per claim, per attachment set and per eligibility check. CareStack quotes on a mix of locations, chairs and providers. A four-dentist, six-chair office that files heavily with insurers will therefore rank these products in a completely different order from a single hygienist-supported dentist, and neither should trust a headline figure.
Write down providers, chairs, locations and monthly claim count before requesting any quote.
Recalculate each offer for the associate you plan to hire next year.
Ask which of texting, imaging and eligibility checks sit outside the base fee.
Getting charts and radiographs out of a dental system
Switching means moving odontograms, perio measurements, ledgers and years of images, and vendors are far more forthcoming about arriving than leaving. Oryx is the exception worth noting: its FAQ says an export can be requested at any time and lists radiographs and DICOM files among the contents. Praktika commits to CSV files plus the original image and document files on request or at termination.
Open Dental lets third parties query the database read-only. On the way in, Open Dental and Practice-Web publish a conversion fee, Oryx names separate data and image conversion fees without amounts, and tab32 asks you to contact it. Curve Dental, Dentrix and Dental4Windows did not describe an export route on the pages read for this guide.
Ask for the export format of images separately from the export format of patient data.
Get the conversion fee for both data and images in the first written quote.
Request a test conversion of your own database before committing to a go-live date.
Claims, the NHS and Canadian billing: dental software is national
A dental system is only as useful as the payers it can bill, and that is settled by country. Dentally is integrated with the NHS in England, Wales and Scotland and with HSC in Northern Ireland. ClearDent describes itself as built for Canadian dental practices, and MaxiDent's vendor sells to Canadian clinics. Praktika names Australian integrations such as HICAPS and Tyro.
Oryx states its market as the United States and Canada, Archy says it supports practices across the US, and Curve Dental counts its locations in those two countries. CareStack lists offices in the US, UK and Australia. A product that ranks well here can be unusable for you, so treat the country column as a filter applied before the ranking, not as a detail after it.
Name your main insurers or public scheme and ask for a live claim submission in the demo.
Check that fee codes for your country are supplied and updated by the vendor.
Ask for two reference practices in your own country, not the vendor's.
What goes wrong most often when buying dental practice management software
Buying on the monthly base fee and discovering that imaging, texting or eligibility checks are billed as separate modules or per use.
Assuming the word 'open' in Open Dental still means a GPL licence; the vendor made it proprietary in version 24.4.
Signing before asking how radiographs, not just patient demographics, are exported and in what file format.
Choosing a system by feature list when it has never submitted a claim to your country's insurers or public dental scheme.
07
Frequently asked questions
7 answers
What is the best dental practice management in 2026?
Open Dental leads our ranking of 15. One monthly fee per location covers every computer and up to three providers, and it drops after twelve consecutive months. You host it yourself, so the server, backups and remote access are your job.
The licence has been proprietary since version 24.4; before that it was GPL. Third parties may still query the database read-only. The vendor-hosted Open Dental Cloud is limited release and for US customers.
Which dental practice management tools publish their pricing?
10 of the 15, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Open Dental: Per location per month, published; non-expiring 30-patient trial.
Oryx: Per month per plan, published; extra providers billed monthly.
Praktika: Per location per month, published; 4-week test drive.
tab32: Per month per practice, published; per-claim usage fees; 14-day trial.
Practice-Web: Per office per month, published; 30-patient trial.
Archy: Per location per month, published; add-on suites quoted.
MaxiDent: Per month by practice type, starting prices published.
CareStack: Per month per plan, starting prices published; final price quoted.
ABELDent offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these dental practice management vendors established?
In 4 countries across 3 regions: North America 12, Asia-Pacific 2, Europe 1.
Open Dental: United States.
Oryx: United States.
Praktika: Australia.
tab32: United States.
Practice-Web: United States.
Archy: United States.
ABELDent: Canada.
MaxiDent: Canada.
ClearDent: Canada.
CareStack: United States.
Curve Dental: United States.
Dentally: United Kingdom.
Dental4Windows: Australia.
Denticon: United States.
Dentrix: United States.
Which dental practice management tools can you host yourself?
Open Dental, ABELDent, MaxiDent, ClearDent, Dental4Windows, Dentrix. The other 9 are hosted by the vendor only.
What should you use instead of Open Dental?
Oryx and Praktika are the next two on this page. Oryx is for Solo and start-up practices in the US or Canada wanting imaging included; Praktika is for Australian practices of one to a few chairs wanting a fixed monthly fee.
Who should not buy Open Dental?
Offices outside the US wanting a vendor-hosted cloud system. You run the server: the standard product is hosted locally or on remote hosting you arrange yourself..
If your dental practice management product belongs among these 15, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.