Best Digital Adoption Platform Software in 2026

A digital adoption platform sits on top of another application and layers in-app guidance, product tours, tooltips and onboarding checklists over it, aimed at getting new users productive and existing users through new features without a separate training session.

This guide ranks the 11 platforms on what separates them once the demo is over: whether pricing is actually published, how self-serve onboarding itself is, what a real deployment costs once a buyer is past any free tier, and which company or jurisdiction ultimately owns the vendor.

Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a vendor. How that works.

In short

What digital adoption platform software does

Digital adoption platform (DAP) software is a layer placed over another application that delivers in-app guidance — product tours, tooltips, checklists and contextual help — to shorten onboarding and drive feature adoption without a separate training program.

01

The top three

11 tools reviewed
02

How we ranked these

5 criteria, in order

Five things, in this order. Feature counts are not among them: they are the least useful comparison in software, because every vendor ticks every box.

  1. 01

    Setup effort in digital adoption platform software

    What the first ninety days of a digital adoption platform software rollout cost in hours, not in licence fees. A product that needs a partner engagement before it does anything is a different purchase from one a team configures in an afternoon.

  2. 02

    What digital adoption platform software really costs

    What the bill becomes once the modules a normal buyer of digital adoption platform software needs are added, and whether you can read that number without a sales conversation.

  3. 03

    Getting your data out of digital adoption platform software

    How your own data comes back out, in what format, and whether that export is included in the digital adoption platform software contract or billed as a project.

  4. 04

    Independence from the vendor

    Whether you can buy digital adoption platform software, run it and leave it on your own terms. This test decides most of the order on this page, and it is why the largest vendors in digital adoption platform software often sit below the smaller ones.

  5. 05

    Who the product is built for

    The size and shape of company each digital adoption platform software product was actually built for. Most regret in software comes from buying for a company you are not yet.

The fourth test decides most of the order on this page, and it is the reason the largest digital adoption platform software vendors sit below the smaller ones. A product with a published price, an export that works and no mandatory implementation partner is a product you can leave.

A platform suite that arrives with a quote, a partner and a two-year commitment may well be the better software and is still the harder decision to reverse. We rank digital adoption platform software for the buyer who has to live with that decision without a procurement department, which is a stated bias rather than a hidden one.

We do not publish a score out of ten. A number like 8.4 is a judgement dressed as a measurement, and nobody can check it.

What you can check is on this page: what each digital adoption platform tool costs, where the vendor is established, whether the price is published, and what we think it is bad at. Our full method is on the how we work page.

11tools reviewed
7publish a price
1have a free tier
6countries represented
03

Compared at a glance

11 tools
#ToolCountryPricingFree tier Right forNot for
#1Product FruitsCzechiaStarter from $111/month at 1,500 MAU, billed annually, published; scales via a public MAU slider; 14-day free trial—Czech no-code onboarding platform with published, MAU-based pricing and an AI assistant called Elvin—
#2UserGuidingTurkeyStarter from $174/month billed yearly; Growth from $349/month billed yearly, published (2,000 MAU base)—Turkish no-code product adoption platform with published pricing and a 30-day money-back guarantee—
#3UserpilotUnited StatesStarter $299/month (2,000 MAU); Growth from $849/month (100k MAU), published; Enterprise custom—Austin-based product growth platform combining in-app flows, onboarding and product analytics—
#4ChameleonUnited StatesStartup from $279 (2,000 MTU); Pro from $750/month; Growth from $1,250/month, published; Enterprise custom—San Francisco product adoption platform with the deepest no-code builder here, plus interactive demos via its Driveway acquisition—
#5PendoUnited StatesFree plan up to 500 MAU; Base, Core and Ultimate tiers quoted on requestYesRaleigh-based product experience platform pairing usage analytics with in-app guidance, with a genuine free tier—
#6AppcuesUnited StatesStart, Grow and Enterprise tiers by MAU and published-experience count; dollar amounts quoted on request—Boston-based onboarding platform with MAU-tiered plans and a dedicated program for small teams—
#7WhatfixUnited StatesNot disclosed; quote and demo only—Enterprise digital adoption platform dual-headquartered in San Jose and Bengaluru, with AI-powered training via Mirror—
#8WalkMeUnited StatesNot disclosed; quote and demo only—The category's pioneer, US-headquartered and Israeli-founded, now a wholly-owned subsidiary of SAP since 2024—
#9UserlaneGermanyQuoted on request; fixed annual fee per application, or usage-based across unlimited applications—Munich-based adoption platform built specifically for regulated industries, proven at Mercedes-Benz, BMW and the NHS—
#10Lemon LearningFranceQuoted on request; typical rollout around six weeks per the vendor—Paris-based platform built for Salesforce, SAP and Workday guidance, now also covering desktop apps via its Aidaxis acquisition—
#11NewiredItalyNot published; standard or OEM licensing model, both quoted on request—Turin-based “User Enablement Platform”, explicitly marketed as founded in the EU—

Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the entry says so.

04

The 11 tools, reviewed

Ranked

1. Product Fruits · 2. UserGuiding · 3. Userpilot · 4. Chameleon · 5. Pendo · 6. Appcues · 7. Whatfix · 8. WalkMe · 9. Userlane · 10. Lemon Learning · 11. Newired

#1 Product Fruits

Czech no-code onboarding platform with published, MAU-based pricing and an AI assistant called Elvin

Ranked #1 of 11 in Best Digital Adoption Platform Software in 2026.

Published pricingEurope

Product Fruits is one of only four vendors in this category that publishes real pricing rather than routing every visitor to a demo request: Starter is $111 a month for 1,500 monthly active users, billed annually, scaling through a public slider.

Founded in Prague in 2019, it ships no-code flows, checklists, tours and an AI assistant called Elvin, and backs the pricing with a genuine 14-day free trial that needs no credit card — a rarity in a category built around enterprise sales calls.

What stands out
  • Published MAU-based pricing
  • 14-day free trial, no card
  • No-code flows and checklists
CzechiaStarter from $111/month at 1,500 MAU, billed annually, published; scales via a public MAU slider; 14-day free trial

#2 UserGuiding

Turkish no-code product adoption platform with published pricing and a 30-day money-back guarantee

Ranked #2 of 11 in Best Digital Adoption Platform Software in 2026.

Published pricingMiddle East

UserGuiding, operated out of Istanbul, undercuts most of this list on price while still publishing real numbers: Starter from $174 a month, Growth from $349 a month, both billed yearly at a 2,000 MAU base.

A 30-day money-back guarantee on top of the usual 14-day free trial is unusually buyer-friendly for a no-code adoption platform, though its integration depth trails the larger US incumbents further up this list.

What stands out
  • Published yearly pricing
  • 30-day money-back guarantee
  • 14-day free trial
TurkeyStarter from $174/month billed yearly; Growth from $349/month billed yearly, published (2,000 MAU base)

#3 Userpilot

Austin-based product growth platform combining in-app flows, onboarding and product analytics

Ranked #3 of 11 in Best Digital Adoption Platform Software in 2026.

Published pricingNorth America

Userpilot, headquartered in Austin, Texas, sits squarely in the middle of this category on price and depth: Starter is $299 a month for 2,000 MAU, Growth moves to $849 a month at 100,000 MAU, and an AI agent called Lia ships with an MCP server for programmatic control.

Published pricing at every self-serve tier makes it easy to budget for, though Enterprise reverts to a quote like almost everything else on this page.

What stands out
  • Published MAU-tiered pricing
  • AI agent Lia and MCP server built in
  • 14-day free trial
United StatesStarter $299/month (2,000 MAU); Growth from $849/month (100k MAU), published; Enterprise custom

#4 Chameleon

San Francisco product adoption platform with the deepest no-code builder here, plus interactive demos via its Driveway acquisition

Ranked #4 of 11 in Best Digital Adoption Platform Software in 2026.

Published pricingNorth America

Chameleon, out of San Francisco and founded in 2015, has the deepest no-code builder in this category — tooltips, banners, modals, checklists and full product tours — and extended into interactive demos by acquiring Driveway in May 2024.

Pricing is published from Startup ($279 for 2,000 MTU) up through Growth ($1,250/month), and the free trial throws in 10,000 AI credits, but Growth and Enterprise both assume a team that already knows exactly what it wants to build.

What stands out
  • Published tiered pricing
  • Acquired Driveway for demos (2024)
  • 14-day trial, 10k free AI credits
United StatesStartup from $279 (2,000 MTU); Pro from $750/month; Growth from $1,250/month, published; Enterprise custom

#5 Pendo

Raleigh-based product experience platform pairing usage analytics with in-app guidance, with a genuine free tier

Ranked #5 of 11 in Best Digital Adoption Platform Software in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingNorth America

Pendo, based in Raleigh, North Carolina, is the only vendor on this page with a genuinely usable free plan — up to 500 monthly active users, with real analytics and in-app guides rather than a stripped demo.

Everything past that free tier, Base, Core and Ultimate, is quote-only, so a growing team gets a real taste of the product before finding out what scale actually costs.

What stands out
  • Genuine free tier (500 MAU)
  • Analytics-first product experience suite
  • Paid tiers quote-only
United StatesFree plan up to 500 MAU; Base, Core and Ultimate tiers quoted on request

#6 Appcues

Boston-based onboarding platform with MAU-tiered plans and a dedicated program for small teams

Ranked #6 of 11 in Best Digital Adoption Platform Software in 2026.

Published pricingNorth America

Appcues, headquartered in Boston, prices by monthly active users and the number of published experiences rather than a flat per-seat fee, but the dollar figures themselves are never shown — every tier from Start through Enterprise routes to a quote.

Its Spark program, aimed specifically at teams under 25 people, is a genuine attempt to serve smaller buyers that the rest of its tier structure otherwise prices out.

What stands out
  • MAU and experience-count tiers
  • Spark program for teams under 25
  • Free trial, unlimited flows
United StatesStart, Grow and Enterprise tiers by MAU and published-experience count; dollar amounts quoted on request

#7 Whatfix

Enterprise digital adoption platform dual-headquartered in San Jose and Bengaluru, with AI-powered training via Mirror

Ranked #7 of 11 in Best Digital Adoption Platform Software in 2026.

Pricing on requestNorth America

Whatfix runs a dual headquarters in San Jose, California and Bengaluru, India, and is one of the most enterprise-scaled products in this category, adding Mirror, an AI-powered roleplay tool for hands-on training, alongside its core digital adoption platform and product analytics.

Nothing about pricing is published anywhere on its site; every deployment starts with a demo.

What stands out
  • Dual US/India headquarters
  • AI roleplay training (Mirror)
  • Enterprise sales-led pricing
United StatesNot disclosed; quote and demo only

#8 WalkMe

The category's pioneer, US-headquartered and Israeli-founded, now a wholly-owned subsidiary of SAP since 2024

Ranked #8 of 11 in Best Digital Adoption Platform Software in 2026.

Pricing on requestNorth America

WalkMe is the category's pioneer, founded in Tel Aviv, Israel in 2011 and headquartered today in San Francisco — but as of September 2024 it is no longer an independent company: SAP, the German enterprise software vendor, acquired WalkMe for $1.5 billion and delisted it from NASDAQ.

It remains the platform other vendors on this page are usually measured against, integrating with SAP's own Joule AI copilot, though pricing has never been published and every deployment is sales-led.

What stands out
  • Category pioneer, founded 2011
  • Acquired by SAP for $1.5B (2024)
  • Enterprise sales-led pricing
United StatesNot disclosed; quote and demo only

#9 Userlane

Munich-based adoption platform built specifically for regulated industries, proven at Mercedes-Benz, BMW and the NHS

Ranked #9 of 11 in Best Digital Adoption Platform Software in 2026.

Pricing on requestEurope

Userlane, based in Munich, positions itself explicitly as a platform for regulated industries, and its named customer list backs that up: Mercedes-Benz, BMW, the NHS, Vodafone, Daimler, Zurich Insurance, Celonis and Deutsche Bahn all appear on its site.

Pricing is entirely quote-only, offered as either a fixed annual fee per application or usage-based pricing across unlimited applications, which suits a large enterprise buyer far better than a small SaaS team evaluating its first adoption platform.

What stands out
  • Regulated-industry focus
  • Named enterprise customers
  • Quote-only pricing
GermanyQuoted on request; fixed annual fee per application, or usage-based across unlimited applications

#10 Lemon Learning

Paris-based platform built for Salesforce, SAP and Workday guidance, now also covering desktop apps via its Aidaxis acquisition

Ranked #10 of 11 in Best Digital Adoption Platform Software in 2026.

Pricing on requestEurope

Lemon Learning, operating out of Paris since 2014, is built specifically around named guidance for Salesforce, SAP and Workday rather than a generic 'any web app' pitch, and its December 2025 acquisition of Aidaxis extended that coverage to native desktop applications — a segment none of the other ten vendors here explicitly cover.

Pricing is quote-only, with a rollout the vendor states typically takes around six weeks.

What stands out
  • Deep Salesforce/SAP/Workday guidance
  • Covers desktop apps since Aidaxis (Dec 2025)
  • Quote-only pricing
FranceQuoted on request; typical rollout around six weeks per the vendor

#11 Newired

Turin-based “User Enablement Platform”, explicitly marketed as founded in the EU

Ranked #11 of 11 in Best Digital Adoption Platform Software in 2026.

Published pricingEurope

Newired, registered in Turin, Italy, brands itself a ‘User Enablement Platform’ rather than a conventional DAP, and markets its EU origin explicitly.

It is also the least transparent vendor in this category: no founding year, no named customers, no compliance certifications and no published pricing appear anywhere on the site reviewed, leaving a buyer to establish almost everything else about the company through a direct conversation.

What stands out
  • EU-founded, explicitly marketed as such
  • OEM licensing option
  • Thinnest public info of the field
ItalyNot published; standard or OEM licensing model, both quoted on request
06

How to choose digital adoption platform software

Digital adoption platform (DAP) software is a layer placed over another application that delivers in-app guidance — product tours, tooltips, checklists and contextual help — to shorten onboarding and drive feature adoption without a separate training program. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is the order we would work through them.

  1. 01

    Decide whether you need a published price

    7 of the 11 tools here publish what they cost; the other 4 quote per organisation, which means a sales conversation before you can compare anything. If you are buying without a procurement function, start with the ones that publish: Product Fruits, UserGuiding, Userpilot, Chameleon, Pendo, Appcues, Newired.

  2. 02

    Work out what the first ninety days cost in time

    Licence cost is the number in the contract; setup effort is the number that surprises people. Ask every shortlisted vendor who does the configuration, how long it took the last customer of your size, and what happens if that person leaves halfway.

  3. 03

    Check the exit before the entry

    Ask for an export of your own data in a format you can open, and ask whether it is included or billed as a project. A vendor that hesitates here is telling you what renewal negotiations will feel like in three years.

  4. 04

    Match the tool to the size you are, not the size you plan to be

    Most regret in this category comes from buying for a headcount that never arrived. The entry-level products here are not worse; they are aimed at a different company.

  5. 05

    Decide how much the jurisdiction matters

    These 11 vendors are established in 6 countries across 3 regions (North America 6, Europe 4, Middle East 1). Where a vendor is established decides which government can compel access to what it holds, which is a different question from where the servers are. For most buyers that is a factor, not a veto.

What goes wrong most often when buying digital adoption platform software

  • Shortlisting digital adoption platform software on a feature matrix. Every vendor in this category ticks every box, so the matrix tells you nothing and costs a week.
  • Testing with clean data. Import the messy export from the system you are replacing, because that is what your first week of digital adoption platform software will actually look like.
  • Letting the vendor run the demo. Ask for a digital adoption platform tool sandbox and do your own three most common tasks in it, timed.
  • Buying for the company you plan to become. The entry-level digital adoption platform tools here are not worse products, they are aimed at a different size of company.
07

Frequently asked questions

9 answers
What is the best digital adoption platform in 2026?

Product Fruits leads our ranking of 11. Product Fruits is one of only four vendors in this category that publishes real pricing rather than routing every visitor to a demo request: Starter is $111 a month for 1,500 monthly active users, billed annually, scaling through a public slider.

Founded in Prague in 2019, it ships no-code flows, checklists, tours and an AI assistant called Elvin, and backs the pricing with a genuine 14-day free trial that needs no credit card — a rarity in a category built around enterprise sales calls.

How did you rank these digital adoption platform tools?

On what separates products after the demo: how much setup the first ninety days take, what the price becomes once the modules a normal buyer needs are added, how your data comes back out, whether you can buy and leave it without a partner engagement, and who the product is genuinely for.

That fourth test is why the large platform suites usually sit lower here than their market share would suggest. Not on feature counts, and not on a score we invented.

Which digital adoption platform tools publish their pricing?

7 of the 11, with the pricing model each one publishes:

  • Product Fruits: Starter from $111/month at 1,500 MAU, billed annually, published; scales via a public MAU slider; 14-day free trial.
  • UserGuiding: Starter from $174/month billed yearly; Growth from $349/month billed yearly, published (2,000 MAU base).
  • Userpilot: Starter $299/month (2,000 MAU); Growth from $849/month (100k MAU), published; Enterprise custom.
  • Chameleon: Startup from $279 (2,000 MTU); Pro from $750/month; Growth from $1,250/month, published; Enterprise custom.
  • Pendo: Free plan up to 500 MAU; Base, Core and Ultimate tiers quoted on request.
  • Appcues: Start, Grow and Enterprise tiers by MAU and published-experience count; dollar amounts quoted on request.
  • Newired: Not published; standard or OEM licensing model, both quoted on request.

The other 4 quote per organisation.

Is there a free digital adoption platform tool?

Pendo offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition. Read what the free tier excludes before you plan around it.

Where are these digital adoption platform vendors established?

In 6 countries across 3 regions: North America 6, Europe 4, Middle East 1.

  • Product Fruits is established in Czechia.
  • UserGuiding is established in Turkey.
  • Userpilot is established in the United States.
  • Chameleon is established in the United States.
  • Pendo is established in the United States.
  • Appcues is established in the United States.
  • Whatfix is established in the United States.
  • WalkMe is established in the United States.
  • Userlane is established in Germany.
  • Lemon Learning is established in France.
  • Newired is established in Italy.

Establishment decides whose courts and whose disclosure laws apply, which is a separate question from where the data is hosted.

What should you use instead of Product Fruits?

UserGuiding and Userpilot are the next two on this page.

UserGuiding is for Turkish no-code product adoption platform with published pricing and a 30-day money-back guarantee; Userpilot is for Austin-based product growth platform combining in-app flows, onboarding and product analytics. All 11 are ranked here with what each one is bad at.

Who should not buy Product Fruits?

Product Fruits is one of only four vendors in this category that publishes real pricing rather than routing every visitor to a demo request: Starter is $111 a month for 1,500 monthly active users, billed annually, scaling through a public slider.

Founded in Prague in 2019, it ships no-code flows, checklists, tours and an AI assistant called Elvin, and backs the pricing with a genuine 14-day free trial that needs no credit card — a rarity in a category built around enterprise sales calls.

Do you get paid for these rankings?

Vendors can pay for visibility, which affects where and how prominently a product appears. It does not change a word of what the entry says about that product, including the criticism, and it cannot buy inclusion for something that does not belong in the category.

We take no commission when you click through to a vendor and we do not know whether you bought anything. The full arrangement is on our disclosure page.

How often is this digital adoption platform guide updated?

Whenever the facts move: a price change, an acquisition, a product that stops being maintained. The published and updated dates at the top of the page are real, and a review means someone went back to the vendor documentation rather than bumping a date.

—

Tools reviewed

11 products

For software vendors

Not on this list?

These 11 products are the ones we judged worth ranking in digital adoption platform. If yours belongs here and is missing, tell us what it does and who it is for, and we will look at it. Inclusion is an editorial call and it is not for sale — but nobody gets considered for a list they were never put in front of.

Suggest a product →

What a listing is

  • Read at the moment of choosing

    People land on this page with a shortlist to make, not a browsing habit to feed. That is a narrower audience than a banner reaches and a far more decided one.

  • Written by us, about you

    We describe the product in our own words, say who it suits and say who it does not. A vendor never writes the entry and never sees it before it goes up.

  • A correction costs nothing

    If a fact about your product is wrong here, tell us and we fix it, whether or not there is any money between us. That offer is older than any commercial arrangement on this site.

  • Placement is separate, and disclosed

    Where a product sits in the ranking can be paid for, and the notice above the list says so on every page. What the entry says about the product is not for sale at any price.