Best Calorie Counter and Nutrition Tracking Apps in 2026
Calorie counters look identical in the store and differ in what the free plan withholds, how deep the nutrient list goes and what happens after the trial.
This guide ranks thirteen of them on how much the free version covers, what the paid tier really adds, how photo logging is sold, and whether you can leave a subscription cleanly.
AuthorHannah ReiterSenior Analyst, Business Applications
Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry
says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a
vendor. How that works.
In short
What nutrition tracking apps software does
Nutrition tracking apps record the food a person eats, by search, barcode, photo or voice, and calculate calories, macronutrients and sometimes vitamins and minerals against a personal target.
In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether
you can leave, and who each nutrition tracking apps tool is built for. Why those five, and why there is no
score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Free tier; Premium subscription, monthly or annual, with 7-day trial
Yes
People who need a large ecosystem of connected apps and devices
Users who want an unrestricted barcode scanner without paying
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a
different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the
entry says so.
Calorie targets that adjust to your weight trend each week
Ranked #1 of 13 in Best Calorie Counter and Nutrition Tracking Apps in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
The vendor describes the app as adherence-neutral: it recalculates your macro targets each week from your calorie intake and weight changes, rather than from a fixed formula, and it says this works even when logging is imperfect.
It lists 1.36 million verified food entries, AI photo logging and barcode scanning. The price is a published subscription, and the vendor states there will never be a free version.
What stands out
Adaptive targets
Subscription only
Ad-free
Where it costs you
There is no way to try it beyond the 7-day trial, so the subscription decision comes quickly.
Targets are derived from logged intake and weight, which makes the output only as good as the logging behind it.
Right for
People tracking weight change who want targets recalculated from their own data weekly
Wrong for
Anyone who wants a permanent free tier
United StatesSubscription only, published monthly, six-monthly and yearly; 7-day trial
Tracks up to 84 nutrients, with barcode scanning on the basic plan
Ranked #2 of 13 in Best Calorie Counter and Nutrition Tracking Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Operated by Cronometer Software Inc., which says it is headquartered in British Columbia. Both plans log foods, exercise and biometrics, track up to 84 nutrients, accept custom foods and recipes and include a barcode scanner.
Gold costs less per month when billed annually and adds a macro scheduler, fasting timer, custom charts and partner discounts. The vendor does not mention a trial on the plans page.
What stands out
84 nutrients
Free tier
Gold upgrade
Where it costs you
Unlimited historical data access is listed as a Gold feature, so long-range charts on the basic plan are limited.
Photo Log and Voice Log sit behind Gold, so the basic plan is manual and barcode entry only.
Right for
Micronutrient-focused trackers who want a deep nutrient list without paying first
Wrong for
People who want photo logging without a subscription
CanadaFree tier; Gold subscription billed monthly or annually, published
Barcode scanning and 108 nutrients without ads or an expiry date
Ranked #3 of 13 in Best Calorie Counter and Nutrition Tracking Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
MyNetDiary Inc. says it is privately held and self-funded, based in Boca Raton, Florida, founded in 2005. The free tier lists unlimited barcode scanning, 13 charts, reports over any date range and Apple Health and Health Connect sync.
Premium adds the nutrient contributor analysis, AI Coach features and structured meal plans, with a higher tier above it. The Premium page also lists report export and diabetes tracking.
What stands out
Free tier
No ads
108 nutrients
Where it costs you
Meal Scan photo logging and intermittent fasting are excluded from the free tier.
Sync with Fitbit, Garmin and Withings needs a paid plan, which matters if your data lives on one of those devices.
Right for
Cost-conscious users who want an unrestricted barcode scanner and deep nutrient tracking
Wrong for
Users who want photo logging on the free plan
United StatesFree tier; annual Premium membership, published
Photo-only meal logging with no ads and no analytics
Ranked #4 of 13 in Best Calorie Counter and Nutrition Tracking Apps in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
The privacy policy names Robot Studios IT Consultancy BV in Berlaar, Belgium as controller, with data stored in Amsterdam at DigitalOcean and the analyser running in the United States through OpenRouter, Google and OpenAI.
The terms give a monthly plan with a 3-day trial and a yearly plan at a launch price, billed by Apple or Google. The site claims accuracy within 17 percent of a kitchen scale on typical meals.
What stands out
Photo-only logging
No ads
Belgian company
Where it costs you
It has no barcode scanner or food database, so packaged foods can only be logged by photo.
Meal photos are analysed by processors in the United States even though user data is stored in the EU.
Right for
People who want protein-focused photo logging without ads or tracking
Wrong for
Anyone who relies on barcode scanning or a food database
BelgiumMonthly plan with 3-day trial; yearly plan; prices published, billed by the app store
Generates a day of meals to hit your calorie and macro targets
Ranked #5 of 13 in Best Calorie Counter and Nutrition Tracking Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Operated by Eat This Much, Inc., a Delaware corporation with an address in Redondo Beach, California.
The pricing page lists a free plan with daily meal plans, food tracking and recurring foods, a Premium plan with leftovers management and PDF sharing, and a Professional plan for managing several clients with branding options. The Premium plan offers a trial at registration, though the page does not state its length.
What stands out
Meal planner
Free tier
Pro plan for coaches
Where it costs you
Week-ahead planning and grocery lists need Premium, so the free plan is limited to single-day plans.
Professional pricing is set per client, which is a separate budget for a coach.
Right for
People who want a generated meal plan and grocery list rather than only a diary
Wrong for
People who just want to log meals they already eat
United StatesFree tier; Premium annual subscription; Professional plan priced per client
A carb and macro tracker built around keto and low-carb eating
Ranked #6 of 13 in Best Calorie Counter and Nutrition Tracking Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Wombat Apps LLC says it owns, operates and does business as Carb Manager and Carbi; its terms name the courts of King County, Washington. The site claims 8 million users.
The premium page lists curated meal plans, shopping lists, device integration and biomarker tracking for blood pressure, ketones, fasting and sleep, with a free account for basic logging and billing in quarterly or annual cycles.
What stands out
Keto focus
Free tier
Ketone tracking
Where it costs you
The product is organised around keto and low-carb diets, which narrows its use for general calorie counting.
The premium page does not state a trial period, so there is nothing to test the paid features with.
Right for
People following a keto or low-carb diet who want net carbs front and centre
Wrong for
Anyone tracking a general or high-carb diet
United StatesFree tier; Premium billed quarterly or annually
Photo-led food logging with an optional coaching subscription
Ranked #7 of 13 in Best Calorie Counter and Nutrition Tracking Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
The terms identify FOODVISOR as a simplified joint stock company registered in Paris, with a customer service address in the 11th arrondissement. Free users can scan barcodes, track goals, log activities and access limited recipes.
Premium members get personalised coaching from nutrition experts, all recipes and daily courses. A 14-day trial precedes the paid subscription, and consumers have a 14-day withdrawal right.
What stands out
Photo recognition
Coaching
14-day trial
Where it costs you
The paid layer is mainly coaching and recipe content, so users who only want logging get little from it.
Premium renews monthly automatically, and billing runs through Apple, Google or Stripe, which decides where you cancel.
Right for
People who prefer photographing meals and want guided nutrition lessons
Wrong for
People who only want a plain food diary
FranceFree tier; Premium subscription with 14-day trial
Logs by photo, voice, text or barcode, with diet-based meal plans
Ranked #8 of 13 in Best Calorie Counter and Nutrition Tracking Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
Lifesum AB gives a Stockholm address in its terms. Premium is paid in advance, can be bought through Apple, Google, Samsung, the website or Paddle, and the terms give a 14-day withdrawal window if you have not started using the service.
The homepage claims 60 million users, lists wearable support for Apple Watch and Samsung Galaxy Watch, and names meal plans including Protein Weight Loss, Mediterranean, Fasting and Keto. Prices are not on the homepage.
What stands out
Multi-input logging
Meal plans
Prepaid Premium
Where it costs you
Prices are shown in the app and on the website rather than on the pages we reviewed, so comparing cost takes an account.
Premium is paid in advance for a set period and renews automatically unless cancelled on the platform you bought through.
Right for
People who want several ways to log a meal and a ready-made diet plan
Wrong for
Buyers who need a price before installing
SwedenFree tier; Premium subscription paid in advance
Calorie counter with barcode scanner, recipes and a Pro tier
Ranked #9 of 13 in Best Calorie Counter and Nutrition Tracking Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
YAZIO GmbH, registered in Erfurt according to its privacy policy, operates the website and the YAZIO app, which the policy calls a digital calorie counter.
The calorie counter page lists nutrient tracking, a barcode scanner, a food rating, healthy recipes and custom goal and nutrient ratios as the free offer, and refers to a Pro version without describing its contents or pricing.
What stands out
Free tier
Recipes
Pro upgrade
Where it costs you
The public page does not itemise Pro features or prices, so the paid layer cannot be assessed beforehand.
Without a stated trial on that page, testing Pro before paying is not documented there.
Right for
People wanting a straightforward free calorie counter with recipes included
Wrong for
Buyers who want costs and Pro features listed in advance
Grades foods you scan, alongside calorie and macro tracking
Ranked #10 of 13 in Best Calorie Counter and Nutrition Tracking Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Fooducate is operated by Maple Media LLC at an address in San Mateo, California. The terms describe purchase, subscription and trial services, with weekly, monthly or yearly recurring options handled by the app store provider.
The homepage lists food grading, a barcode scanner, macro tracking and water and exercise logging and diet customisation in the free version, claims 8 million downloads and states a 3-day trial of PRO.
What stands out
Food grades
Free tier
PRO upgrade
Where it costs you
The homepage does not state the PRO price, so the cost is visible only in the store listing.
Renewal must be cancelled at least 24 hours before the term ends to avoid being charged again.
Right for
Shoppers who want a grade on packaged foods while tracking
Wrong for
People who need detailed micronutrient reporting
United StatesFree tier; PRO subscription with 3-day trial
Photo calorie tracking whose site says core features are free
Ranked #11 of 13 in Best Calorie Counter and Nutrition Tracking Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The terms are issued by Perception Labs, Inc., covering snapcalorie.com and the apps, with contacts by email only. Each person receives one free trial, after which users are enrolled in monthly or yearly plans, cancellable at the end of the billing cycle.
The homepage lists photo tracking, a meal planner, voice notes and trend insights and promises that core features are free.
What stands out
Photo tracking
Free core
Plans after trial
Where it costs you
The terms enrol users into a paid plan after the trial, so the free claim and the billing terms need reading together.
No country or address is stated, and the terms require binding arbitration rather than court proceedings.
Right for
People who want to try photo-based tracking before paying anything
Wrong for
Buyers who need a stated company location and address
Not stated by the vendorFree core features; monthly or yearly plans after a trial
Photo-first calorie tracking sold as a subscription after a trial
Ranked #12 of 13 in Best Calorie Counter and Nutrition Tracking Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Cal AI, Inc. is a Delaware corporation with a mailing address in Boca Raton, Florida. The homepage says users can snap a photo, scan a barcode or describe a meal and claims 5 million users.
Its terms state that subscriptions automatically renew unless cancelled at least 24 hours before the period ends; they give no trial length or price. The homepage also lists photo, barcode and text logging, and food and recipe customisation.
What stands out
Photo logging
3-day trial
Subscription
Where it costs you
The homepage states no prices, so a buyer cannot compare cost before starting the trial.
A 3-day trial is short, and renewal happens automatically unless you cancel at least 24 hours before it ends.
Right for
People who want to log meals from a photo with minimal typing
Wrong for
Anyone who wants to compare prices before installing
United StatesSubscription renewing automatically after a 3-day trial
A food diary whose barcode and macro tools sit behind Premium
Ranked #13 of 13 in Best Calorie Counter and Nutrition Tracking Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
MyFitnessPal, Inc. gives an address in Austin, Texas in its terms, which do not mention a parent company. The premium page lists barcode and meal scan, voice log, custom macro tracking, ad-free logging, intermittent fasting, food insights, multi-day logging and net carbs mode.
The free plan is limited in barcode scanning and macro customisation, and premium access continues to the end of the paid period.
What stands out
Free tier
Premium upgrade
35+ app connections
Where it costs you
Barcode scan is limited on the free plan, whereas MyNetDiary and Cronometer include a barcode scanner in theirs.
The 7-day trial requires a credit card and begins charging when it ends unless cancelled.
Right for
People who need a large ecosystem of connected apps and devices
Wrong for
Users who want an unrestricted barcode scanner without paying
United StatesFree tier; Premium subscription, monthly or annual, with 7-day trial
Nutrition tracking apps record the food a person eats, by search, barcode, photo or voice, and calculate calories, macronutrients and sometimes vitamins and minerals against a personal target. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is
the order we would work through them.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
12 of the 13 tools here publish what they cost; the other 1 quote per organisation. The ones you can compare without a sales call: MacroFactor, Cronometer, MyNetDiary, Snapkin, Eat This Much, Carb Manager, Foodvisor, Lifesum, YAZIO, Fooducate, SnapCalorie, MyFitnessPal.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
These 13 vendors are established in 7 countries across 3 regions (North America 8, Europe 4, Elsewhere 1). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
What a free nutrition tracking app really covers
Almost every app here advertises a free plan, and the plans are not alike. MyNetDiary states that its free tier has an unlimited barcode scanner, voice logging, up to 108 nutrients, no ads and no expiry. Cronometer puts a barcode scanner and up to 84 nutrients on its Basic plan, but reserves unlimited history and ad-free use for Gold.
MyFitnessPal's free plan is nutrition, weight and exercise tracking, with barcode scanning limited. MacroFactor has no free version at all. Compare the free plans on the three things you will use daily: scanning, nutrient depth and history. A plan that looks generous on the pricing page can be limiting by week three, and the only reliable way to find out is to read the plan comparison line by line before you enter a month of food.
Does the free plan include an unlimited barcode scanner?
How many nutrients can you track without paying?
Is historical data still visible after seven days?
How photo logging is sold in calorie counters
Photo logging is where the vendors now compete, and it is priced very differently. Cal AI is built around it and sells a subscription after a 3-day trial. SnapCalorie says its core features, including photo tracking, are free. MacroFactor lists AI photo logging inside its subscription, Cronometer keeps Photo Log in Gold, and MyNetDiary lists Meal Scan outside its free tier.
None of the pages we reviewed publish an accuracy figure, so treat every photo estimate as a starting point. Weigh three meals you eat often, log each by photo, and compare. If the error is larger than your daily margin, photo logging saves time and costs accuracy. Also check how each product handles a photo of a mixed dish, such as a stew or a salad, where volume is hardest to judge.
Is photo logging in the free plan or a paid tier?
Can you correct the estimate before it is saved?
Does the app also offer a barcode or manual route?
Meal plans versus food diaries in nutrition apps
Some products record, others prescribe. Eat This Much generates daily meals to meet your targets and puts week-ahead planning and grocery lists in Premium. Carb Manager couples tracking with meal plans for keto and low-carb diets. Lifesum offers plans such as Mediterranean and fasting. Foodvisor sells coaching and recipes as its paid layer. Cronometer and MyNetDiary lean towards recording and analysis, with MyNetDiary listing structured meal plans outside its free tier.
Decide first whether you want a diary of what you ate or a plan for what to eat; paying for planning is wasted on someone who cooks without one, and a pure diary leaves a person who dislikes deciding to work out every meal alone. Whichever you choose, look at what the product says its planning is based on, such as your targets, tastes or schedule.
Do you want a record of meals or a plan for them?
Is the diet you follow, such as keto, supported directly?
Are grocery lists part of the paid tier?
Cancelling a calorie counter subscription without surprises
Billing terms differ more than prices do. Lifesum Premium is paid in advance and renews automatically unless cancelled on the platform where you bought it, which can be Apple, Google, Samsung, its website or Paddle. Foodvisor renews monthly and bills through Apple, Google or Stripe, with a 14-day withdrawal period. Fooducate asks you to switch off renewal at least 24 hours before a term ends.
MyFitnessPal's 7-day trial needs a credit card and charges when it ends. Write down the trial end date on day one, note which store holds the subscription, and cancel there. Deleting the app does not end the billing, and a subscription taken out on the website is cancelled on the website, not in the phone's store settings. Keep the confirmation email, because it says which payment platform holds the plan.
Which store or processor holds the subscription?
When does the trial end, and does it need a card?
Is a withdrawal period stated in the terms?
What goes wrong most often when buying nutrition tracking apps software
Choosing an app from its free plan alone, then finding the barcode scanner or history capped at the point you start relying on it.
Trusting photo estimates of calories without weighing a few meals first to see how far off they are.
Starting a trial with a card and forgetting that Cal AI, MyFitnessPal and others begin billing when it ends.
Buying a keto-specific or meal-planning product such as Carb Manager or Eat This Much when only a plain food diary was needed.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best nutrition tracking apps in 2026?
MacroFactor leads our ranking of 13. Sold by a single company that also runs a separate workouts app, and the only product here that states it will never offer a gratis tier.
That is the trade: no adverts and no sale of user data, in return for a bill from day one. Its estimate of your energy expenditure comes from logged intake against weight change, so it only works if you weigh yourself regularly.
Which nutrition tracking apps tools publish their pricing?
12 of the 13, with the pricing model each one publishes:
MacroFactor: Subscription only, published monthly, six-monthly and yearly; 7-day trial.
Cronometer: Free tier; Gold subscription billed monthly or annually, published.
Snapkin: Monthly plan with 3-day trial; yearly plan; prices published, billed by the app store.
Eat This Much: Free tier; Premium annual subscription; Professional plan priced per client.
Carb Manager: Free tier; Premium billed quarterly or annually.
Foodvisor: Free tier; Premium subscription with 14-day trial.
Lifesum: Free tier; Premium subscription paid in advance.
YAZIO: Free tier; Pro subscription.
Fooducate: Free tier; PRO subscription with 3-day trial.
SnapCalorie: Free core features; monthly or yearly plans after a trial.
MyFitnessPal: Free tier; Premium subscription, monthly or annual, with 7-day trial.
The other 1 quote per organisation.
Is there a free nutrition tracking apps tool?
Cronometer, MyNetDiary, Eat This Much, Carb Manager, Foodvisor, Lifesum, YAZIO, Fooducate, SnapCalorie, MyFitnessPal offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these nutrition tracking apps vendors established?
In 7 countries across 3 regions: North America 8, Europe 4, Elsewhere 1.
MacroFactor: United States.
Cronometer: Canada.
MyNetDiary: United States.
Snapkin: Belgium.
Eat This Much: United States.
Carb Manager: United States.
Foodvisor: France.
Lifesum: Sweden.
YAZIO: Germany.
Fooducate: United States.
SnapCalorie: Not stated by the vendor.
Cal AI: United States.
MyFitnessPal: United States.
What should you use instead of MacroFactor?
Cronometer and MyNetDiary are the next two on this page. Cronometer is for Micronutrient-focused trackers who want a deep nutrient list without paying first; MyNetDiary is for Cost-conscious users who want an unrestricted barcode scanner and deep nutrient tracking.
Who should not buy MacroFactor?
Anyone who wants a permanent free tier. There is no way to try it beyond the 7-day trial, so the subscription decision comes quickly..
If your nutrition tracking apps product belongs among these 13, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.