Best EHR Software in 2026

Electronic health record software is bought on a monthly figure that rarely survives contact with a real clinic.

This guide ranks thirteen systems by how many hours setup takes, what the bill becomes with portal, billing and interface fees, whether patient data leaves with you, and whether a practice can run it without a partner.

Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.

In short

What EHR software does

EHR software stores patient records, clinical notes, orders and prescriptions, and usually adds scheduling, patient portals and billing so a medical practice or hospital can run care from one system.

01

The top three

13 tools reviewed
02

How we ranked these

5 criteria, in order

In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether you can leave, and who each EHR tool is built for. On top of them sits one rule. The top three places are for challengers, which means vendors outside the big names, where the category has any, and the household brands come in from fourth place. Why those five, and why there is no score out of ten, is on the how we work page.

13tools reviewed
8publish a price
3have a free tier
4countries represented
03

Compared at a glance

13 tools
#ToolCountryPricingFree tier Right forNot for
#1ClinikoAustraliaPer month by practitioner band, published; 30-day trial—Allied health clinics wanting published banded pricing and customisable treatment notesPhysician practices needing orders and prescribing workflows
#2JaneCanadaPer month by plan in Canadian dollars, published; add-ons priced separately—Clinics that want one published plan ladder and optional add-onsPractices that need direct insurance billing outside Canada
#3HealthieUnited StatesPer month by plan, published; 14-day trial of the top plan—Solo and small wellness practices that want client-count based pricingMulti-specialty physician groups with complex orders and lab workflows
#4OpenEMRNot stated by the vendorFree to download; open source; professional support listed separatelyYesPractices with IT capability that want a licence-free record they controlClinics wanting a vendor to run everything for one monthly fee
#5Elation HealthUnited StatesQuoted per practice through an online form—Independent primary care and direct primary care practicesHospitals and large multi-site health systems
#6SimplePracticeUnited StatesPer month by plan, published; 30-day trial—Solo therapists and small mental health or speech therapy practicesPhysician practices outside behavioural health and speech therapy
#7MedplumUnited StatesFree tier for prototyping; paid hosted tiers per month, published; self-host optionYesHealth-tech teams building their own EHR on open standardsSmall clinics wanting a ready EHR on day one
#8OpenMRSNot stated by the vendorFree open source software with no licence feesYesHealth programmes with technical staff wanting an adaptable open recordSingle clinics wanting a ready-to-use cloud EHR
#9eClinicalWorksUnited StatesPer provider per month, published; billing service as a share of collections—Multi-provider ambulatory practices wanting a published per-provider priceSolo clinicians wanting minimal setup and no usage fees
#10ModMedUnited StatesSold through demos; no price list on the pages reviewed—Specialty practices in dermatology, ophthalmology, orthopedics or similarPrimary care and therapy practices
#11NextGen HealthcareNot stated by the vendorSold through sales; fees listed in a cost disclosure page—Ambulatory groups able to negotiate licence, support and interface feesPractices wanting a single published monthly price
#12EpicUnited StatesNo price list on the vendor site—Health systems wanting one vendor across clinical and patient recordsSmall practices wanting transparent pricing and quick setup
#13ProspyrUnited StatesNot published; quoted after a demo, onboarding and training included—Self-pay med spas, cosmetic surgery and dermatology practices that want charting, booking, payments and marketing on one recordPractices that bill insurance for most of their work, or clinics outside aesthetic medicine

A country in this table is where the vendor is based or signs contracts. Hosting regions are covered in the individual entries.

04

The 13 tools, reviewed

Ranked

1. Cliniko · 2. Jane · 3. Healthie · 4. OpenEMR · 5. Elation Health · 6. SimplePractice · 7. Medplum · 8. OpenMRS · 9. eClinicalWorks · 10. ModMed · 11. NextGen Healthcare · 12. Epic · 13. Prospyr

#1 Cliniko

Practice management with treatment notes for clinics and allied health

Ranked #1 of 13 in Best EHR Software in 2026.

Published pricingAsia-Pacific

The pricing page shows six bands from one practitioner up to 200, and every plan includes all features, unlimited admin users and support. That makes the real price easy to forecast: you count practitioners and SMS volume.

Data can be imported and exported, and an API exists for add-ons. Accounts created in Australia, the UK and Canada keep data in that country. The limit is scope: it is built for clinics, not for specialty physician practices.

What stands out
  • Allied health
  • Published price
  • Practitioner bands
Where it costs you
  • Text messages are bought as credits at ten cents each, so reminders add a variable cost
  • Priced in US dollars, and the band jumps with every extra practitioner group
Right for

Allied health clinics wanting published banded pricing and customisable treatment notes

Wrong for

Physician practices needing orders and prescribing workflows

AustraliaPer month by practitioner band, published; 30-day trial

#2 Jane

Scheduling, charting and billing for health and wellness clinics

Ranked #2 of 13 in Best EHR Software in 2026.

Published pricingNorth America

Jane prices its plans per month, with the practitioner count counted by full-time or part-time hours, so a clinic with many part-timers pays less than a headcount suggests. The base plans include unlimited admins, locations and online booking.

Cost grows through add-ons: scribe and group telehealth are charged per opted-in practitioner, insurance billing and payroll monthly. It is a clinic tool; hospitals and specialty physician practices are not the audience.

What stands out
  • Clinic EMR
  • Published price
  • Add-on modules
Where it costs you
  • The lowest plan caps appointments at twenty a month
  • Direct insurance billing lists Canadian payers only, and costs extra
Right for

Clinics that want one published plan ladder and optional add-ons

Wrong for

Practices that need direct insurance billing outside Canada

CanadaPer month by plan in Canadian dollars, published; add-ons priced separately

#3 Healthie

Cloud EHR for dietitians, therapists and coaches, priced by active client

Ranked #3 of 13 in Best EHR Software in 2026.

Published pricingNorth America

Healthie keeps the basics in every plan: charting, scheduling, payments, telehealth and a client portal are in every plan. The ladder is decided by active clients rather than seats, which rewards a small practice and penalises a growing one.

Essentials adds data transfer support, faxing and a claims integration, with the claims tool priced separately. Top-tier features such as group telehealth need Plus.

What stands out
  • Active-client tiers
  • Published price
  • Wellness practices
Where it costs you
  • The cheapest plan caps active clients at ten
  • Team members on the group plan are billed per clinician on top of the plan price
Right for

Solo and small wellness practices that want client-count based pricing

Wrong for

Multi-specialty physician groups with complex orders and lab workflows

United StatesPer month by plan, published; 14-day trial of the top plan

#4 OpenEMR

Open source medical records you can download, host and modify yourself

Ranked #4 of 13 in Best EHR Software in 2026.

Free tierOpen sourceSelf-hostablePublished pricingElsewhere

OpenEMR gives full control: the source code is open, the data stays on infrastructure you pick, and leaving means moving your own database. A free hosted option exists for US-based providers, and an AWS deployment is offered, but the project does not run your practice for you.

Professional support vendors are listed on the site. Compared with SaaS options, the work shifts from invoices to administration, backups and upgrades, and compliance configuration is yours.

What stands out
  • Open source
  • Self-hosted
  • ONC certified
Where it costs you
  • Hosting, setup and support are your own cost or a paid third party
  • The project is asking donors to fund its ONC certification work
Right for

Practices with IT capability that want a licence-free record they control

Wrong for

Clinics wanting a vendor to run everything for one monthly fee

Not stated by the vendorFree to download; open source; professional support listed separately

#5 Elation Health

Primary care EHR with billing and direct primary care membership tools

Ranked #5 of 13 in Best EHR Software in 2026.

Pricing on requestNorth America

Elation's pricing form asks for specialty, payment model and clinician count, which signals how it quotes: per practice. The site describes an EHR, Elation Billing and Patient Passport as separate products, plus telehealth and referral management.

Membership management is aimed at direct primary care practices. The cost of the arrangement is that you only learn the invoice after a sales conversation.

What stands out
  • Primary care
  • Quoted price
  • Membership billing
Where it costs you
  • No price is shown, so comparison needs a quoted offer
  • Billing is a separate product, and AI billing is shown as a preview tour
Right for

Independent primary care and direct primary care practices

Wrong for

Hospitals and large multi-site health systems

United StatesQuoted per practice through an online form

#6 SimplePractice

EHR and billing for therapists and speech-language pathologists

Ranked #6 of 13 in Best EHR Software in 2026.

Published pricingNorth America

SimplePractice publishes three solo plans, Starter, Essential and Plus, billed monthly, and a Plus group rate with a price for the first practitioner and a lower one for each additional practitioner.

A free credentialing offer is advertised alongside the trial. It is a vertical product: the site lists therapists and speech-language pathologists as its audiences, which is the right fit if you are one and a weak one if you are not.

What stands out
  • Therapists
  • Published price
  • 30-day trial
Where it costs you
  • The three-month half-price offer requires starting a paid account within seven days
  • Larger practices are sent to custom pricing
Right for

Solo therapists and small mental health or speech therapy practices

Wrong for

Physician practices outside behavioural health and speech therapy

United StatesPer month by plan, published; 30-day trial

#7 Medplum

Open source healthcare developer platform with a ready-made provider app

Ranked #7 of 13 in Best EHR Software in 2026.

Free tierOpen sourceSelf-hostablePublished pricingNorth America

Medplum publishes its hosted tiers and offers a community self-hosted option under Apache 2.0, so the exit path is to run it yourself. The price ladder reflects that it is sold to builders: a free tier, a production tier, a premium tier and a contact-us enterprise tier.

Its homepage frames it as the developer platform for shipping clinical software, with HIPAA and SOC 2 Type II noted. Time is the cost: the build is yours.

What stands out
  • Open source
  • Developer platform
  • Self-hosted option
Where it costs you
  • The tier recommended for treating patients is a paid monthly plan
  • It is a platform to build on, so a clinic without engineers must buy services
Right for

Health-tech teams building their own EHR on open standards

Wrong for

Small clinics wanting a ready EHR on day one

United StatesFree tier for prototyping; paid hosted tiers per month, published; self-host option

#8 OpenMRS

Community-built open source medical record system used worldwide

Ranked #8 of 13 in Best EHR Software in 2026.

Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere

OpenMRS describes more than 8,000 facilities and 15 million patient records, and says there are no licence fees or vendor lock-in. The cost is entirely in implementation: the project provides documentation, an academy, community calls and a demo, not a managed subscription.

For a health programme with developers that is a feature. For a three-doctor clinic, it is a project that will need someone to own it for years.

What stands out
  • Open source
  • Community-run
  • Global use
Where it costs you
  • No company on the project site offers a supported hosted service to sign up for
  • Local adaptation is expected, which means developer and implementation effort
Right for

Health programmes with technical staff wanting an adaptable open record

Wrong for

Single clinics wanting a ready-to-use cloud EHR

Not stated by the vendorFree open source software with no licence fees

#9 eClinicalWorks

Ambulatory EHR with published per-provider and collections-based prices

Ranked #9 of 13 in Best EHR Software in 2026.

Published pricingNorth America

The pricing page lists two per-provider plans with no start-up costs and cloud hosting, disaster recovery and 24x7 support included, plus billing as a percentage of collections.

It offers to migrate data from an existing EHR for free. The price ladder is honest but incomplete: practice management is the second plan, large practices pay implementation fees, and per-transaction charges exist.

What stands out
  • Published price
  • Cloud hosting included
  • Per-provider
Where it costs you
  • Practices with more than nine providers pay additional implementation fees, with airfare billed separately
  • Fees apply per patient statement and per messenger transaction
Right for

Multi-provider ambulatory practices wanting a published per-provider price

Wrong for

Solo clinicians wanting minimal setup and no usage fees

United StatesPer provider per month, published; billing service as a share of collections

#10 ModMed

Cloud EHR built separately for each of eleven medical specialties

Ranked #10 of 13 in Best EHR Software in 2026.

Pricing on requestNorth America

ModMed calls EMA its specialty-specific EHR, built with workflows for each field, and the home page lists eleven specialties. Founded in 2010, it is headquartered in Boca Raton, with an office in Hyderabad, India.

AI assistants for scribing and claims are part of the current pitch. The trade is depth for narrowness: good if your specialty is on the list, and a cost opaque until a salesperson answers.

What stands out
  • Specialty EHR
  • Cloud-based
  • AI scribe
Where it costs you
  • The site shows no price, only a demo request
  • Primary care and behavioural health are not on the specialty list
Right for

Specialty practices in dermatology, ophthalmology, orthopedics or similar

Wrong for

Primary care and therapy practices

United StatesSold through demos; no price list on the pages reviewed

#11 NextGen Healthcare

Ambulatory EHR split into Enterprise for ten or more providers and Office

Ranked #11 of 13 in Best EHR Software in 2026.

Pricing on requestElsewhere

NextGen's cost disclosure page is unusually specific about what costs extra. It states that some interfaces and the FHIR API are included in the standard licensing package, while the first-time portal licence carries a one-time setup fee.

The drug interaction database carries an annual per-provider licence fee. For a buyer, that detail helps build a budget. The site gave no headquarters address, so country is not stated here.

What stands out
  • Ambulatory EHR
  • Two editions
  • Add-on fees
Where it costs you
  • Interfaces for labs and registries need a licence, an implementation fee and annual support
  • The patient portal has a setup fee and a monthly per-provider subscription
Right for

Ambulatory groups able to negotiate licence, support and interface fees

Wrong for

Practices wanting a single published monthly price

Not stated by the vendorSold through sales; fees listed in a cost disclosure page

#12 Epic

Single-vendor health system record used by hospitals and practices

Ranked #12 of 13 in Best EHR Software in 2026.

Pricing on requestNorth America

Epic is based in Verona, Wisconsin, founded in 1979, and lists customers including independent practices, urgent care and mental health alongside hospitals. Its software spans patient experience, health systems, payers and life sciences.

That breadth is the strength and the independence problem: you buy into one vendor's whole platform. Without published pricing, the first ninety days of cost are not visible beforehand.

What stands out
  • Health systems
  • Single vendor
  • No price list
Where it costs you
  • The site shows no prices or plan tiers
  • It is a suite from one vendor, so buying one part is not the model
Right for

Health systems wanting one vendor across clinical and patient records

Wrong for

Small practices wanting transparent pricing and quick setup

United StatesNo price list on the vendor site

#13 Prospyr

Aesthetic medicine EHR and practice platform from Austin, Texas

Ranked #13 of 13 in Best EHR Software in 2026.

Pricing on requestNorth America

Prospyr Medical, Inc. sells one platform for aesthetic practices that combines an EHR with CRM, scheduling and payments. Its site lists charting with smart note templates, digital intake and consents, a tagged media archive with consent tracked on each photo, e-prescribing, lab ordering, video visits, online booking, deposits, payment links, memberships and packages, two-way SMS, lead management, review replies and inventory, plus an iOS app for iPhone and iPad. Its payment policy caps card processing fees at 3.2% and $0.30 per transaction.

The vendor states that it runs the data migration itself for records, appointment history and CRM data, that onboarding and training are included, and that a Business Associate Agreement is available; its terms require one before protected health information is processed. Insurance billing is not offered today and is described as a roadmap item. Pricing is not published and is quoted after a call. The terms are governed by Delaware law with courts in Philadelphia, and its privacy policy gives an Austin, Texas address.

What stands out
  • Aesthetic medicine
  • Self-pay practices
  • No insurance billing
Where it costs you
  • Insurance billing is not available today and appears on the vendor's roadmap
  • No price list; cost is quoted after a demo
  • Built for aesthetic practices in the United States, not general medicine
Right for

Self-pay med spas, cosmetic surgery and dermatology practices that want charting, booking, payments and marketing on one record

Wrong for

Practices that bill insurance for most of their work, or clinics outside aesthetic medicine

United StatesNot published; quoted after a demo, onboarding and training included
06

How to choose EHR software

EHR software stores patient records, clinical notes, orders and prescriptions, and usually adds scheduling, patient portals and billing so a medical practice or hospital can run care from one system. What separates these products is rarely a feature. Work through the steps below.

  1. 01

    Start with pricing transparency

    Only 8 of the 13 print a price; 5 quote per organisation. Comparable without a sales call: Cliniko, Jane, Healthie, OpenEMR, SimplePractice, Medplum, OpenMRS, eClinicalWorks.

  2. 02

    Ask which country the contract runs through

    The vendors on this page are based in 4 countries (North America 9, Elsewhere 3, Asia-Pacific 1). The country of the contracting company sets which authorities can ask it for your data, whatever the hosting region.

  3. 03

    Check the open source options

    Source code is available for OpenEMR, Medplum, OpenMRS. Running it yourself swaps the licence fee for your own upkeep.

Practitioner bands, client caps and per-provider rates measure different things

EHR prices look comparable until you ask what the number counts. Cliniko charges by practitioner band, so the sixth practitioner moves a clinic from the two-to-five band to the six-to-eight band. Healthie counts active clients, which means the cheapest plan stops at ten and a growing practice is pushed up quickly. eClinicalWorks counts providers and then adds implementation fees above nine providers, with airfare billed separately.

Jane counts full-time and part-time practitioners differently, which can favour a clinic with many part-timers. Before comparing, rebuild each quote for your own headcount, patient volume and messages sent, and ask which of those the vendor can raise without renegotiating. A cheap entry plan is only useful if you can stay on it.

  • Count practitioners, active clients and monthly messages before reading any price.
  • Ask what happens to the price when you add a provider.
  • Check whether implementation, training and travel are separate lines.

Open source removes the licence and leaves the work

OpenEMR, OpenMRS and Medplum all publish source code, and for each the licence costs nothing. The money moves elsewhere. OpenEMR is free to download, but hosting, setup and support come from you or from third-party vendors, and the project itself is raising donations to keep its ONC certification funded.

OpenMRS has no company selling a hosted service on its site, so a clinic must have people who can implement it. Medplum is a developer platform: its free tier is for prototyping, and the page recommends a paid production tier for treating patients. The honest comparison is licence-free software plus your IT time against a SaaS invoice that includes the work.

  • List who installs, backs up and upgrades the system and what they cost.
  • Find out which tier the vendor recommends for real patients.
  • Ask who signs the support agreement when something breaks.

Specialty fit decides more than feature lists

These products are not interchangeable. ModMed builds a separate EHR for each of eleven specialties, so dermatology and ophthalmology are served in depth while primary care is not on its list. Elation is written for primary care and direct primary care, SimplePractice for therapists and speech-language pathologists, and Cliniko for allied health clinics.

Epic and NextGen cover broad ambulatory and system needs, with Epic naming everything from independent practices to hospitals. A tool built for another specialty usually forces workarounds in templates, billing codes and referrals. Start by testing one real day of work in your specialty, not a generic demo, and see whether notes, orders and claims need extra steps.

  • Run one real clinic day in the trial, with your own templates.
  • Confirm your specialty is named on the vendor's own pages.
  • Ask which specialties the vendor refuses to support.

Quote-only EHRs hide the real price until late

Epic, ModMed, NextGen and Elation do not show a price list. Elation asks for specialty, payment model and clinician count in a form and replies with a personalised price. NextGen publishes a cost disclosure page instead, listing which interfaces and portal features carry licence, setup or per-provider fees. ModMed routes to a demo.

Compare that with eClinicalWorks, whose pricing page lists per-provider plans and a percentage-of-collections billing service. A published price is not always the lowest, but it lets you build a budget before a salesperson is involved. For quoted products, ask for a written list of every fee a practice like yours pays in year one, and for the cost of leaving.

  • Request an itemised first-year quote including interfaces and portals.
  • Ask for the exit cost and the export format in writing.
  • Compare against one published-price option as a reference.

What goes wrong most often when buying EHR software

  • Choosing the lowest monthly plan without checking that its client, appointment or provider cap fits a normal month.
  • Treating a free open source download as a finished system and not budgeting for hosting, setup and support.
  • Buying a specialty EHR such as ModMed or SimplePractice when your specialty is not the one it was built for.
  • Accepting a quote that omits portal, interface and implementation fees, which NextGen and eClinicalWorks both list separately.
07

Frequently asked questions

8 answers
What is the best EHR software in 2026?

Cliniko takes first place among the 13 we reviewed. Cliniko covers booking, treatment notes and invoicing for clinics and allied health practitioners, and the monthly price is set by practitioner count in published bands, with every feature in every plan.

It describes itself as a practice management system: its feature list names scheduling, health records, finance and reporting, not orders or prescribing, so a physician group should look at the fuller EHRs below.

Which EHR tools publish their pricing?

The ones that do, with the model each states:

  • Cliniko: Per month by practitioner band, published; 30-day trial.
  • Jane: Per month by plan in Canadian dollars, published; add-ons priced separately.
  • Healthie: Per month by plan, published; 14-day trial of the top plan.
  • OpenEMR: Free to download; open source; professional support listed separately.
  • SimplePractice: Per month by plan, published; 30-day trial.
  • Medplum: Free tier for prototyping; paid hosted tiers per month, published; self-host option.
  • OpenMRS: Free open source software with no licence fees.
  • eClinicalWorks: Per provider per month, published; billing service as a share of collections.

The remaining 5 sell by quote.

Is there a free EHR tool?

OpenEMR, Medplum, OpenMRS have a free plan or free self-hosted edition.

Where are these EHR software vendors established?

In 4 countries across 3 regions: North America 9, Elsewhere 3, Asia-Pacific 1.

  • Cliniko: Australia.
  • Jane: Canada.
  • Healthie: United States.
  • OpenEMR: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Elation Health: United States.
  • SimplePractice: United States.
  • Medplum: United States.
  • OpenMRS: Not stated by the vendor.
  • eClinicalWorks: United States.
  • ModMed: United States.
  • NextGen Healthcare: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Epic: United States.
  • Prospyr: United States.
Which EHR tools are open source?

OpenEMR, Medplum, OpenMRS.

Which EHR tools can you host yourself?

OpenEMR, Medplum. The other 11 are hosted by the vendor only.

What should you use instead of Cliniko?

Second is Jane, which suits Clinics that want one published plan ladder and optional add-ons. Third is Healthie, which suits Solo and small wellness practices that want client-count based pricing.

Who should not buy Cliniko?

Physician practices needing orders and prescribing workflows. Text messages are bought as credits at ten cents each, so reminders add a variable cost.

—

Tools reviewed

13 products
—

Replacing a product on this page

All alternatives
—

More Operations software advice

16 guides

For software vendors

Not on this list?

Do you make a EHR software product that is not listed here? Describe what it does and who buys it. We decide on inclusion, a listing cannot be bought, and the details are under software advice.

Suggest a product →