Business phone systems are bought per user, per system or per line, and the list price rarely includes the numbers, texting registration, recording retention and integrations an ordinary office needs.
This guide ranks twelve products on the first ninety days, the price once those extras are added, how your numbers and data leave, and whether you can run it without a partner.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry
says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a
vendor. How that works.
In short
What business phone systems do
A business phone system routes a company's incoming and outgoing calls to staff phones, apps and desk phones, with a main number, menus, voicemail, extensions and call history, delivered from the cloud or installed on a server.
In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether
you can leave, and who each business phone system is built for. One rule sits on top of those tests:
Places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. Why those five, and why there is no
score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Per user per month in three plans; trial only for existing Zoom Phone customers
—
Organisations already running Zoom meetings that want phones in one account
Buyers wanting a phone-only plan with a general trial
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a
different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the
entry says so.
German telephony platform with per-user tiers, monthly cancellation and a 30-day trial
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Business Phone Systems in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
The price ladder is simple: three tiers, two users minimum, two lines per user, with extra VoIP, mobile or routing lines at a fixed monthly amount.
The middle tier adds waiting queue, voice menu and busy lamp field plus a German landline and mobile flat rate. Calls outside the bundle are billed per minute, and the Enterprise tier is quoted and adds Teams integration and SAML single sign-on.
What stands out
Monthly cancellation
Minimum 2 users
German-language pages
Where it costs you
Pricing pages, terms and the company notice are in German, which an English-speaking administrator must check against support language.
Call recording is charged per minute on top of the tier, so a team that records everything pays more than the list price.
Right for
Small and mid-size offices wanting public per-user prices and monthly cancellation
Wrong for
Companies needing worldwide flat-rate calling inside one bundle
GermanyPer user per month in three business tiers, published; 30-day trial
Slovak per-user phone system with dialers, integrations and euro prices
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Business Phone Systems in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
CloudTalk s.r.o. of Bratislava lists four per-user tiers in euros, Lite to Expert, with annual billing cheaper than monthly. Lite has no standard integrations and keeps recordings for one month, as does Starter; unlimited retention starts at Essential.
The Power Dialer is an extra charge below Expert, so an outbound team pays more than the headline, and US or Canadian customers add an 11 percent compliance fee.
What stands out
Four tiers
Dialer add-ons
Euro billing
SlovakiaPer user per month in four tiers, published; 14-day trial
Hosted PBX with a flat per-user plan and every extra priced on its own line
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Business Phone Systems in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Unlimited bundles unlimited standard calling minutes, VoIP phones, auto attendants, voicemail and call parking, with enhanced SMS and MMS capped at 250 messages per account and a one-cent overage.
The Basic plan trims this to one auto attendant and three recording users, and bills calls at a per-minute rate. Number porting is charged per number plus a monthly amount, so moving a large block of lines is a real cost.
What stands out
Itemised add-ons
Minimum 5 users
Pay per account option
Where it costs you
Common features carry separate monthly charges, for example call recording per user, ring groups per group and busy lamp field, so the real price depends on the extras.
The plan page states OnSIP serves only some countries, and the Unlimited plan needs at least five users.
Right for
US small offices wanting an itemised price sheet and bundled desk phones
Wrong for
Organisations outside the services area or with fewer than five users
United StatesPer user per month with a five-user minimum, or a per-account basic plan; add-ons published
Phone and texting app for small teams, one number per user
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Business Phone Systems in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Every user receives a number, and extra numbers are an add-on. The lowest tier covers calling, texting, voicemail transcripts and an API; call recording, phone menus, group calling and analytics start one tier up.
Automation credits for the Sona AI agent are metered: ten calls worth are included, then monthly credit packs with a per-call overage rate. That makes the user price the smaller part of the bill for a team using the agent heavily.
What stands out
Shared numbers
US and Canada calling
Business texting
Where it costs you
Texting to US numbers requires registering with The Campaign Registry, with a one-time review fee and a monthly fee on top of the plan.
Calls and texts outside the US and Canada are charged per minute or per message as an add-on.
Right for
Small North American teams that want shared numbers and texting from phone apps
Wrong for
Offices placing most calls outside the US and Canada
United StatesPer user per month in three tiers, published; 7-day trial
Per-system annual licence sized by simultaneous calls, hosted or run yourself
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Business Phone Systems in 2026.
Self-hostablePublished pricingEurope
One annual licence covers the whole system and is sized by how many calls run at once, not by user count, so a fifty-person office may sit on a small licence.
You can run it on your own server or cloud account, or pay 3CX hosting, which is a separate annual charge after the trial. Numbers and SIP trunks are bought apart, and the vendor says it sells through its partner network.
What stands out
Self-hosted option
Per-system licence
Partner-sold
CyprusAnnual licence per system by simultaneous calls, published; hosting charged separately; trial offered
Four subscription levels mixed within one system, priced after a demo
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Business Phone Systems in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
The four subscriptions differ in devices and concurrent calls per user: 1 device and 2 calls on PBX-Basic, 10 devices and 4 calls on UC-Essential, 8 calls on UC-Business, which adds web meetings, AI transcripts, summaries and an integration hub, and UC-Premium, which adds call reporting and contact-centre dashboards.
Add-ons such as global calling are sold on top. Billing can run monthly, yearly or for five years.
What stands out
Mix-and-match plans
Partner network
Quote only
Where it costs you
No subscription price is shown, so cost can be judged only after a demo.
Mixing four subscription levels and add-ons means the final configuration must be sized by someone who knows the product, which usually points to a partner.
Right for
Mid-size organisations with mixed roles, from warehouse phones to customer teams
Wrong for
Buyers who want a self-serve price and sign-up
EstoniaQuoted per organisation; monthly, yearly or five-year terms
Cloud phone service billed on usage, with unlimited users included
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Business Phone Systems in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The offer rests on one idea: users and premium features are included and the bill follows usage. The site lists call queues, phone menus, call flows, mobile and web apps, desk phones, recording, texting and number porting, with an online dashboard and role permissions for administrators.
Emergency services and healthcare are named as customers, and SOC 2 Type 1, GDPR and HIPAA compliance are stated. What usage means in euros or dollars is left to the sales call.
What stands out
Usage-based
Unlimited users
HIPAA stated
Where it costs you
No price of any kind is shown on the site, so a buyer cannot test the usage-based claim before talking to sales.
The site does not state the company's country of establishment, which an organisation with data residency rules must ask about.
Right for
Organisations with many occasional users who want usage-based billing
Wrong for
Buyers who need a public price list before any call
Not stated by the vendorUsage-based with a custom plan from sales; trial arranged through sales
Per-user office phone with texting caps that rise by tier
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Business Phone Systems in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Core, Engage and Scale differ mainly in volume and reach: texts per user rise from 100 to 500 to unlimited, toll-free minutes from none to 2,000 to 10,000, and shared email, social and review sources rise alongside.
Core already has voice, business texting, video meetings and call routing. Scale adds skills-based routing and journey tools that move it toward contact-centre territory, at a clearly higher user price.
What stands out
Texting caps
Tiered plans
Toll-free minutes
Where it costs you
Core limits texts to 100 per user per month and has no included toll-free minutes, so a texting team needs Engage or above.
The annual discount applies only to new customers with 1 to 100 employees on a twelve-month term.
Right for
Small offices wanting per-user phones with texting and team chat bundled
Wrong for
Teams that want to test the product on a trial first
United StatesPer user per month in three small-business tiers, published; no trial stated
Per-user cloud phone with AI call notes built into the base tier
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Business Phone Systems in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Standard already carries unlimited calling, AI meetings, built-in messaging, HD audio and real-time transcripts with instant summaries, which is the main difference from older per-user phones.
Pro adds the CRM integrations, 24/7 support and management of several offices. Enterprise adds single sign-on, user access controls, unlimited office locations and a 99.9 percent uptime figure, and is the only tier without a listed price.
What stands out
AI call summaries
Two public tiers
Enterprise by contact
Where it costs you
The billing period behind the published per-user figures is not stated on the page we read.
Single sign-on and user access controls are limited to the Enterprise tier, which is quoted on contact.
Right for
Teams that want AI call summaries and transcripts without a separate add-on
Wrong for
Organisations needing single sign-on without an enterprise contract
United StatesPer user per month in two tiers plus Enterprise on contact, published; 14-day trial
Five plans from phone system to contact centre, priced through sales
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Business Phone Systems in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The line-up is a ladder of five: the base phone system with meetings and messaging, the same with an AI receptionist and 100 credits, a customer-experience tier with messaging channels and a team inbox, a complete tier adding webinars, and a contact-centre tier with agent dashboards and an auto-dialer.
Auto attendants, dial plans and ring groups are listed as unlimited, and international calling covers more than 50 countries.
What stands out
Quote only
Shared toll-free minutes
Contact centre tier
Where it costs you
Every plan is behind a contact-sales button, so there is no list price to compare.
The page we read states no country of establishment for the company.
Right for
Mid-size organisations wanting a phone system that can grow into a contact centre
Wrong for
Buyers who need prices published before talking to anyone
Not stated by the vendorQuoted per organisation; demo and custom quote
Add-on-heavy per-user phone system with a small capped trial
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Business Phone Systems in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
RingEX is sold by user count with a saving for annual payment, and the vendor states more than 330 integrations and unlimited VoIP calls inside the organisation. Calls to the US and Canada are unlimited; other international calling is sold as plans or bundles.
The Advanced and Ultra packages add cost centre management, multi-admin support, custom roles, adoption analytics and Business Analytics Essentials, which matter once several branches share one account.
What stands out
Add-on pricing
Capped trial
Several packages
Where it costs you
The per-user plan prices were not visible in the page text, only the add-on prices, so the base cost needs the live page.
SMS cannot be tested during the trial, and trial hardware must be returned within 21 days to avoid charges.
Right for
Multi-site organisations wanting admin controls and many app integrations
Wrong for
Small offices wanting one flat price including texting
United StatesPer user per month with an annual discount; add-ons priced separately; 14-day trial
Per-user phone plans bundled with Zoom Workplace tiers
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Business Phone Systems in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Each plan is a pair, a Phone plan with a Workplace tier. Basic covers domestic calling, SMS and MMS, call recording and AI post-call summaries. Pro Plus adds 30-hour meetings, unlimited AI note-taking and a booking page.
Business Plus adds 300-participant meetings, single sign-on, managed domains, multi-region storage, information barriers and archiving APIs. Global PSTN coverage is stated for 49 or more countries, or you bring your own carrier.
What stands out
Bundled with Workplace
Metered international
Bring your own carrier
Where it costs you
International calling is metered, and unlimited domestic calling covers only the US and Canada.
The Basic plan limits meetings to 40 minutes, so a phone buyer who also wants long meetings must move up.
Right for
Organisations already running Zoom meetings that want phones in one account
Wrong for
Buyers wanting a phone-only plan with a general trial
United StatesPer user per month in three plans; trial only for existing Zoom Phone customers
A business phone system routes a company's incoming and outgoing calls to staff phones, apps and desk phones, with a main number, menus, voicemail, extensions and call history, delivered from the cloud or installed on a server. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is
the order we would work through them.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
7 of the 12 tools here publish what they cost; the other 5 quote per organisation. The ones you can compare without a sales call: sipgate, CloudTalk, OnSIP, Quo (formerly OpenPhone), 3CX, Nextiva, Dialpad.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
These 12 vendors are established in 6 countries across 3 regions (North America 6, Europe 4, Elsewhere 2). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
How business phone system pricing is counted
Three counting methods hide behind the word price. sipgate and OnSIP charge per user with a minimum number of seats, Wildix per subscription level, and 3CX per system, sized by simultaneous calls, so fifty users do not mean fifty licences.
Per-system pricing wins when many people phone rarely, and loses when everyone is on a call at once, because capacity then has to grow. Add what the headline leaves out: numbers, SIP trunks, hosting, texting registration and recording storage. Ask each vendor for the invoice at your headcount, your peak calls and your number of lines, then compare totals, not rates.
Ask for the total at your user count, peak simultaneous calls and number of lines
List every separate charge: numbers, trunks, hosting, texting registration, recording retention
Check the minimum user count, which sipgate sets at two and OnSIP at five
Numbers, texting and where calls are included
Calling bundles are regional. Quo includes calls and texts to US and Canadian numbers, Zoom Phone includes domestic calling for the US and Canada and meters the rest, and sipgate bundles German landline and mobile calls in its middle tier and EU networks in the top one.
Texting adds a registration step in the US, which Quo shows with a one-time fee and a monthly charge, and OnSIP gives a registration guide. Nextiva caps texts by tier. CloudTalk adds an 11 percent compliance fee for US and Canadian customers. Work out where your customers are, then count minutes and messages by region before comparing tiers.
Map your calls and texts by destination country against each bundle
Ask whether US texting needs carrier registration and what it costs per month
Check texting caps per user on the tier you intend to buy
Contracts, trials and leaving
Exit terms differ more than prices. sipgate cancels monthly after a 30-day trial, while Nextiva's annual rate needs a twelve-month term and Wildix sells monthly, yearly or five-year terms. 3CX renews an annual licence, and a pre-sale trial is the only free test of hosting, since 3CX hosting becomes a charge afterwards.
RingCentral limits its 14-day trial to 20 phone lines and excludes SMS, and Zoom Phone offers a trial only to existing customers. Test the thing you will actually use, then confirm in writing how numbers port out and in what format call recordings leave.
Confirm the minimum term and the notice period before signing
Run the trial with your real numbers, phones and texting, noting what the trial excludes
Ask in writing how numbers port out and how recordings are exported
Who installs it and who runs it
Cloud phones are set up by you in an admin console. 3CX is different: you can host it on your own server, in your cloud account or with the vendor, and it states that it sells through partners, so a partner often quotes, installs and supports it.
Telzio and GoTo Connect arrange pricing through sales, while Dialpad and Quo are mostly self-serve. A system you can run yourself reduces dependency on a reseller but moves updates, security and phone provisioning to you. Decide who will answer at 8 a.m. when the main number is silent.
Decide whether you want a reseller, the vendor or your own IT to run it
Ask who provisions desk phones and handles number porting
Check which tiers the vendor sells online and which only through sales
What goes wrong most often when buying business phone systems
Choosing a tier from the per-user price and discovering later that texting, call recording or integrations sit one tier higher.
Counting only the users and forgetting the lines, simultaneous calls and extra numbers that change the licence size.
Skipping the trial limits, such as the RingCentral trial that excludes SMS, and then finding the feature you needed was never tested.
Signing a twelve-month term before porting a main number and confirming how it can leave if the product disappoints.
07
Frequently asked questions
7 answers
What are the best business phone systems in 2026?
sipgate leads our ranking of 12. Run by sipgate GmbH of Düsseldorf, which lists three business tiers per user per month with a two-user minimum and monthly cancellation. Each user gets two lines, extra lines are priced separately, and porting your numbers costs nothing.
The calling bundle depends on the tier: a German landline and mobile flat rate from the middle one, EU networks from the top one. Pricing, terms and the company notice are written in German.
Which business phone systems publish their pricing?
7 of the 12, with the pricing model each one publishes:
sipgate: Per user per month in three business tiers, published; 30-day trial.
CloudTalk: Per user per month in four tiers, published; 14-day trial.
OnSIP: Per user per month with a five-user minimum, or a per-account basic plan; add-ons published.
Quo (formerly OpenPhone): Per user per month in three tiers, published; 7-day trial.
3CX: Annual licence per system by simultaneous calls, published; hosting charged separately; trial offered.
Nextiva: Per user per month in three small-business tiers, published; no trial stated.
Dialpad: Per user per month in two tiers plus Enterprise on contact, published; 14-day trial.
The other 5 quote per organisation.
Is there a free business phone system?
No. None of the 12 offer a usable free tier.
Where are these business phone system vendors established?
In 6 countries across 3 regions: North America 6, Europe 4, Elsewhere 2.
sipgate: Germany.
CloudTalk: Slovakia.
OnSIP: United States.
Quo (formerly OpenPhone): United States.
3CX: Cyprus.
Wildix: Estonia.
Telzio: Not stated by the vendor.
Nextiva: United States.
Dialpad: United States.
GoTo Connect: Not stated by the vendor.
RingCentral: United States.
Zoom Phone: United States.
Which business phone systems can you host yourself?
3CX. The other 11 are hosted by the vendor only.
What should you use instead of sipgate?
CloudTalk and OnSIP are the next two on this page. CloudTalk is for Slovak per-user phone system with dialers, integrations and euro prices; OnSIP is for US small offices wanting an itemised price sheet and bundled desk phones.
Who should not buy sipgate?
Companies needing worldwide flat-rate calling inside one bundle. Pricing pages, terms and the company notice are in German, which an English-speaking administrator must check against support language..
If your business phone systems product belongs among these 12, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.