Online fax is still required by clinics, courts and banks, and vendors meter it by page, minute or API call, with extra charges for numbers, porting and compliance terms.
This guide ranks twelve online fax services on setup effort, the price once a number and receiving are added, how easily you leave, independence and fit.
Vendors can pay for visibility on this page. It never changes what an entry
says about a product, including the criticism, and we earn nothing when you click through to a
vendor. How that works.
In short
What online fax services software does
An online fax service lets you send and receive faxes through a web app, email, mobile app or API, using a cloud-hosted fax number instead of a fax machine and phone line.
In this order: setup effort, what it really costs, how your data comes back out, whether
you can leave, and who each online fax services tool is built for. One rule sits on top of those tests:
Places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. Why those five, and why there is no
score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Free sending of up to 3 pages with branding; a per-fax charge for longer sends
Yes
One-off senders faxing a short form to the United States or Canada
Anyone who must receive faxes or send more than a handful
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a
different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the
entry says so.
Metered internet fax from a Denver company with a plan table
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Online Fax Services in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Faxage prints its plan table in full, which makes the first ninety days easy to price: a lite plan at a low monthly base with every minute charged, a professional plan with 300 minutes each way, and business plans up to unlimited inbound.
Web faxing, email-to-fax, fax-to-email and the API come with every account, along with unlimited storage. Modelling cost needs minutes of use, not page counts, and each extra number is a separate monthly line.
What stands out
Per-minute metering
Plan table
API included
Where it costs you
Billing is per minute of transmission, not per page, so cost depends on line quality as well as length
A setup charge applies to every line and the lite plan includes no minutes
Right for
Small offices wanting plain published pricing and API access on every plan
Wrong for
Buyers who want a flat page allowance and a team console
United StatesPublished monthly plans metered by minutes; per-minute overage and a setup charge per line
Cloud fax carrier since 1999 with a signed BAA on every plan
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Online Fax Services in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
WestFax publishes two tiers, Solo for one user at a stated monthly price with 500 pages, and Team with five or twenty-five users and 1,500 or 3,000 pages. Billing is monthly and cancellable, and each plan states a signed BAA.
Costs grow through numbers: extra lines on Team are charged monthly plus a one-time provisioning fee, and porting an existing number carries the same fee. Enterprise adds API access, unlimited users and a dedicated account manager at quoted prices.
What stands out
Own network
Monthly billing
BAA on all plans
Where it costs you
API access is listed only in the Enterprise tier
International faxing is an add-on and each new or ported number costs a one-time fee
Right for
Clinics and small teams that need monthly billing and a signed BAA from day one
Wrong for
Developers who need API access without an Enterprise contract
United StatesPublished monthly plans, cancel anytime; Enterprise volume pricing quoted
Geneva-built fax service with a small free allowance and tiered plans
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Online Fax Services in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
The free plan gives 10 pages in total, enough to test the web app and email-to-fax. Basic then adds 200 pages a month for one member, and each tier raises the allowance, lowers the extra-page rate and lifts the page limit per fax.
Team features such as the admin console start at Business, and toll-free numbers and porting at Premium. Annual billing is discounted, and custom or memorable numbers carry one-time fees on top of the plan.
What stands out
Free allowance
Tiered plans
Swiss origin
Where it costs you
HIPAA with a BAA and data residency are limited to the Enterprise plan
Number porting for United States or Canadian numbers requires Premium or higher
Right for
Individuals and small teams wanting to try faxing before paying
Wrong for
Regulated teams that cannot afford the Enterprise tier
SwitzerlandFree plan of 10 pages in total; four tiers published with annual discount; Enterprise from a stated price
Phone-first fax app with a 24-hour free number and two paid tiers
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Online Fax Services in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
FaxBurner has been an email-to-fax provider and iOS app since 2010. The free plan receives 25 pages a month on a disposable number that expires after 24 hours, which suits waiting for one document.
Professional adds a permanent toll-free number and 500 pages in and out each month, and Premier raises that to 2,000. Email-to-fax and fax-to-email work on every plan. Teams will find no user management on the pricing page, so it fits one person.
What stands out
Mobile app
Free plan
Individuals
Where it costs you
The free number lasts 24 hours and sending is capped at 5 pages in total
The pricing page lists no team, API or compliance features
Right for
Individuals faxing a few forms from an iPhone or inbox
Wrong for
Offices needing shared inboxes, API access or signed compliance terms
United StatesFree plan with a number lasting 24 hours; two paid tiers published
Healthcare-focused cloud fax platform formerly sold as mFax
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Online Fax Services in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Documo grew from the mFax product launched in 2017 and became one brand in 2025. The Solo plan covers one user and one number with 300 pages; Business adds five numbers, ten users and API access; Enterprise adds single sign-on and 6,000 pages.
Annual billing is cheaper than monthly, and extra users and numbers cost a few dollars each. Intelligent document processing, which classifies and extracts data from incoming faxes, is a separate per-document quote.
What stands out
Page allowance
API on higher tiers
Healthcare focus
Where it costs you
API access starts at the Business tier
Document processing and the custom platform are quoted, so a fax-only buyer cannot price the full product
Right for
Healthcare practices and integrators wanting HIPAA on every plan and an API
Wrong for
Individuals who send a few faxes a month
Not stated by the vendorPublished tiers by page allowance with a trial; document processing priced per document
App-led online fax where the entry plan cannot receive faxes
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Online Fax Services in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
iFax lists Basic at a monthly price for 200 pages that sends faxes only, then Plus for 500 pages with one number, sending and receiving, HIPAA and apps for iOS, Android, Windows and Mac.
A banner shows a 50 percent discount at checkout and annual billing saves 20 percent. The page promises no setup fee and no overage costs. Budget for Plus if inbound faxes matter, and ask for a written price for Pro before committing.
What stands out
App-led
Send-only entry plan
No overage fees
Where it costs you
The entry plan sends only, so receiving needs the next tier
Pro and Enterprise prices are not shown in the page text
Right for
Phone-first senders who want apps and no overage fees
Wrong for
Buyers needing a receiving number on the cheapest plan
United KingdomPublished monthly tiers with annual discount; Pro and Enterprise priced by volume
Fax API sold per page with no monthly plan and automatic volume tiers
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Online Fax Services in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Phaxio publishes four numbers: a per-page rate for the United States and Canada, a higher one for other countries, a monthly charge per number and a small per-fax caller-name fee.
Accounts crossing 50,000 pages a month move to lower rates automatically. The supported-countries list marks several as beta. Cost is easy to forecast from page volume, but integration work is yours, and the pages do not describe a web console for staff.
What stands out
Fax API
Per-page rates
Developers
Where it costs you
Each phone number carries a monthly charge on top of per-page rates
The pages describe an API and documentation, not a team inbox
Right for
Developers adding fax to an application at predictable per-page rates
Wrong for
Offices wanting a ready inbox with user management
United StatesPublished per-page rates, a monthly charge per number, automatic volume discounts
Upland's enterprise cloud fax with subscription and prepaid packages
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Online Fax Services in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
InterFAX sells three monthly subscriptions, each with equal inbound and outbound page allowances and a local number, plus two prepaid packages with no monthly commitment. Beyond the allowance, extra pages carry a stated per-page rate.
PCI DSS compliant transmission is an optional per-fax add-on. Custom packages add toll-free numbers, multiple lines and data sovereignty. Test with the free trial credits and send a long, slow document to see how the duration billing affects your invoice.
What stands out
Prepaid packages
Enterprise focus
Upland product
Where it costs you
Pages over a minute are billed in six-second steps, which lifts the cost of slow transmissions
The page claims no overage charges yet lists a per-page rate beyond the allowance
Right for
Enterprises wanting prepaid or subscription fax with Upland support
Wrong for
Individuals sending occasional faxes on a tight budget
United StatesPublished monthly subscriptions and prepaid packages; trial credits; custom packages by enquiry
Pay-as-you-go fax API riding on the carrier's own network
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Online Fax Services in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Telnyx lists fax at a fraction of a cent per page, sent or received, with no platform fee and no monthly minimum on pay as you go. Numbers cost a stated monthly amount each, and the transmission rides on SIP trunk usage billed separately.
An enterprise tier adds a monthly minimum spend. The page includes a worked example for 10,000 pages. Treat it as infrastructure: you build the interface, and carrier pass-through and taxes vary by destination.
What stands out
Fax API
Pay as you go
Carrier network
Where it costs you
Fax is billed per page plus SIP trunking usage, so two meters appear on the invoice
It is an API product with no mailbox or email-to-fax described on the pricing page
Right for
Developers and carriers wanting the lowest published per-page rate
Wrong for
Offices without developers to build the sending and receiving layer
United StatesPublished per-page rate with no monthly platform fee; SIP trunk usage and numbers billed separately
Fax add-on from a phone vendor with a shared page pool
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Online Fax Services in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Nextiva vFax offers two published plans priced from a monthly figure, with 500 or 1,000 pages shared between sent and received faxes. Failed faxes do not count against the pool and extra pages cost three cents each.
Faxes arrive in your inbox with text alerts, and you can keep your current number. The annual option saves 20 percent. HIPAA-compliant fax is handled by phone, so budget time for a quote before assuming the entry price applies.
What stands out
Page pool
Phone vendor
HIPAA on request
Where it costs you
The HIPAA edition is priced by contact only
The product page lists no API, number porting terms or per-user pricing
Right for
Light office users already comfortable buying from a phone vendor
Wrong for
Healthcare teams that need a published HIPAA price
United StatesPublished from-prices by page pool; HIPAA version by contact
Fax built into the RingEX phone and meetings platform
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Online Fax Services in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
RingCentral builds fax into RingEX, so setup is a matter of enabling it for an extension rather than buying a second product. Users send from the web app, the desktop app, an email to an rcfax.com address or the print menu.
Attachments reach 20 MB and one fax can go to up to 50 recipients. The RingEX trial runs 14 days and includes fax. Page allowances and fax pricing are not on the fax page, so confirm them in the quote.
What stands out
Part of UCaaS
Email-to-fax
Broadcast
Where it costs you
Fax is sold inside RingEX, so a fax-only buyer pays for a phone system
The fax page shows no standalone price or page allowance
Right for
Companies already running RingEX that want fax in the same app
Wrong for
Buyers who only need fax and no phone platform
United StatesIncluded in the RingEX subscription; the fax page shows no separate fax price
Ad-supported web form for sending a few faxes without an account
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Online Fax Services in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
FaxZero is a web form. Fill in sender and receiver details, attach a document of Word or PDF type, pass the confirmation code and the fax goes out. The free route allows up to 3 pages plus a cover page with branding, and 5 free faxes a day, funded by advertising.
The paid route is a single fax at a fixed price through PayPal, up to 25 pages, with priority delivery and no branding. There is no account to manage, which is both its appeal and its limit.
What stands out
Ad-supported
No account
Send form
Where it costs you
Free faxes carry FaxZero branding and are limited to 3 pages and 5 a day
No inbox, numbers or accounts are described, so it cannot receive faxes
Right for
One-off senders faxing a short form to the United States or Canada
Wrong for
Anyone who must receive faxes or send more than a handful
Not stated by the vendorFree sending of up to 3 pages with branding; a per-fax charge for longer sends
An online fax service lets you send and receive faxes through a web app, email, mobile app or API, using a cloud-hosted fax number instead of a fax machine and phone line. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is
the order we would work through them.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
11 of the 12 tools here publish what they cost; the other 1 quote per organisation. The ones you can compare without a sales call: Faxage, WestFax, Fax.Plus, FaxBurner, Documo, iFax, Phaxio, InterFAX, Telnyx Fax, Nextiva vFax, FaxZero.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
These 12 vendors are established in 4 countries across 3 regions (North America 8, Europe 2, Elsewhere 2). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
Pages, minutes or API calls: how online fax is metered
Online fax invoices look alike until you read the meter. Nextiva vFax pools pages across sent and received faxes and ignores failed ones. Faxage bills minutes, so a lite plan with no minutes included charges for every minute of transmission. InterFAX counts a page under one minute as one page and bills longer pages in six-second steps.
Telnyx Fax charges per page plus SIP trunk usage, and Phaxio charges per page plus a monthly fee per number. A plan with a generous allowance can still cost more than a metered one if your documents are long and your recipients' machines are slow. Pull a month of real faxes, with page counts and durations, and price each vendor's meter against them.
Collect last month's faxes with page counts and transmission times.
Ask whether failed or busy attempts count against the allowance.
Check how pages above the plan allowance are priced.
Receiving, numbers and porting on online fax services
Sending is the easy half. Receiving needs a number, and numbers are where plans diverge. WestFax charges a one-time fee to provision or port each number and a monthly fee for extra numbers on Team. Fax.Plus requires Premium or higher to port a United States number. Faxage adds a setup fee per line and a monthly charge per extra virtual number.
FaxBurner's free plan gives a number that lasts 24 hours, which suits waiting for one document and nothing else. iFax's Basic plan sends only. If clients already know your fax number, porting terms matter more than the monthly price, so ask what the carrier charges and how long a port takes before you cancel the old line.
List every fax number you must keep and who currently owns it.
Ask what porting costs and whether it needs a higher plan.
Confirm the plan can receive, not only send.
HIPAA fax: read the plan, not the homepage
Many fax vendors mention healthcare on the front page, but the contract terms sit at plan level. WestFax states a signed business associate agreement on every plan. Documo states HIPAA compliance on every plan. Fax.Plus limits HIPAA with a BAA to its Enterprise plan.
Nextiva vFax prices its HIPAA edition by contact only, and iFax lists HIPAA on Plus. Whether a service is suitable for your records is a decision for your compliance adviser, not a feature to infer from a logo. Ask for the agreement itself, find out which plan it attaches to, and confirm that the plan you are pricing is the one that carries it.
Ask for the vendor's business associate agreement before the trial ends.
Check which plan tier the agreement attaches to.
Confirm retention and storage terms for received faxes.
Free faxes and what the limit really is
Several services open with a free route, and each limit is different. FaxZero sends up to 3 pages with its branding on the cover, up to 5 free faxes a day, and offers no receiving. FaxBurner's free plan sends 5 pages in total and receives 25 pages a month on a number that expires after 24 hours. Fax.Plus gives 10 pages in total.
These suit a single form, such as a signed document that must reach a recipient who insists on fax. They do not suit a clinic, a legal office or anything recurring. Decide whether you need a number that stays, a receipt for each fax and a plan that survives a busy week, then price the first paid tier.
Count how many faxes you expect in the first month.
Check whether branding appears on pages you send.
Confirm whether a free number expires and when.
What goes wrong most often when buying online fax services software
Comparing monthly prices without comparing the meter, so a minutes-based plan looks cheaper than a page pool until long documents arrive.
Choosing a send-only entry tier, such as iFax Basic, and discovering at the first inbound fax that receiving needs the next plan.
Assuming HIPAA terms apply to the cheapest plan when the vendor attaches the agreement to a higher tier, as Fax.Plus does with Enterprise.
Cancelling the old fax line before the port completes, which leaves the number unreachable for days.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best online fax services in 2026?
Faxage leads our ranking of 12. EC Data Systems of Denver runs Faxage and prints its whole plan table, from a lite plan with no minutes included to carrier lines. Every account gets web faxing, email-to-fax and the API.
The catch is the meter: usage is billed in minutes, not pages, so long or slow transmissions cost more than a page count suggests, and each line carries a setup charge.
Which online fax services tools publish their pricing?
11 of the 12, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Faxage: Published monthly plans metered by minutes; per-minute overage and a setup charge per line.
WestFax: Published monthly plans, cancel anytime; Enterprise volume pricing quoted.
Fax.Plus: Free plan of 10 pages in total; four tiers published with annual discount; Enterprise from a stated price.
FaxBurner: Free plan with a number lasting 24 hours; two paid tiers published.
Documo: Published tiers by page allowance with a trial; document processing priced per document.
iFax: Published monthly tiers with annual discount; Pro and Enterprise priced by volume.
Phaxio: Published per-page rates, a monthly charge per number, automatic volume discounts.
InterFAX: Published monthly subscriptions and prepaid packages; trial credits; custom packages by enquiry.
Telnyx Fax: Published per-page rate with no monthly platform fee; SIP trunk usage and numbers billed separately.
Nextiva vFax: Published from-prices by page pool; HIPAA version by contact.
FaxZero: Free sending of up to 3 pages with branding; a per-fax charge for longer sends.
The other 1 quote per organisation.
Is there a free online fax services tool?
Fax.Plus, FaxBurner, FaxZero offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these online fax services vendors established?
In 4 countries across 3 regions: North America 8, Europe 2, Elsewhere 2.
Faxage: United States.
WestFax: United States.
Fax.Plus: Switzerland.
FaxBurner: United States.
Documo: Not stated by the vendor.
iFax: United Kingdom.
Phaxio: United States.
InterFAX: United States.
Telnyx Fax: United States.
Nextiva vFax: United States.
RingCentral Fax: United States.
FaxZero: Not stated by the vendor.
What should you use instead of Faxage?
WestFax and Fax.Plus are the next two on this page. WestFax is for Clinics and small teams that need monthly billing and a signed BAA from day one; Fax.Plus is for Individuals and small teams wanting to try faxing before paying.
Who should not buy Faxage?
Buyers who want a flat page allowance and a team console. Billing is per minute of transmission, not per page, so cost depends on line quality as well as length.
If your online fax services product belongs among these 12, tell us what it does and who it is for. Inclusion is an editorial call; what a listing is and is not is set out under software advice.