Farm management software holds field records, animal records, tasks, inputs and costs in one account that the owner and the crew can reach from a phone.
This guide ranks eleven products on setup effort, the bill once extra modules arrive, how farm data leaves, and whether a farm can buy and cancel without a dealer or consultant.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What farm management software does
Farm management software records crops, livestock, inputs, labour and costs by field or animal, and turns those records into work orders, compliance reports and margin figures for the farm business.
Five tests decide the order: setup effort, real cost, how your data leaves, whether you can walk away, and who the farm management tool was built for. One rule sits on top of those tests: places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. We explain on how we work why the tests are these five and why no product receives a score.
Free Basic plan; Plus plan at a published yearly price; FieldView Drive hardware listed separately
Yes
Row-crop growers wanting yield analysis and seed scripts from machine data
Livestock keepers and buyers avoiding a seed vendor's platform
We list the country the vendor operates from or contracts through. That is not the same as the hosting region, and any difference is spelled out in the entry.
Livestock and crop records with every plan priced on the page
Ranked #1 of 11 in Best Farm Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Farmbrite began in 2012 on a farm in the Colorado foothills, where a couple built the tool for their own livestock, crop and herb operation. The pricing page sorts plans by what a farm produces: livestock only, crops only, or both.
Higher tiers add inventory limits, custom data fields, timesheets, webhooks and a dedicated account manager. Tier creep is the cost to watch, because selling and invoicing sit above the first rung.
What stands out
Livestock and crops
Plan tiers
Built-in accounting
Where it costs you
The entry livestock plan stops at 300 active animals and five team members.
Orders, invoicing, the online store and bank connection start above the cheapest plan in each bundle.
Right for
Small mixed livestock and crop farms wanting records and accounts together
Wrong for
Buyers who want one flat price for unlimited animals
United StatesPublished monthly and annual prices across livestock, crop and combined plans; trial offered; enterprise tier on request
farmOS describes itself as a web application for farm management, planning and record keeping, built on Drupal so it is modular and extensible. All code sits in the farmOS GitHub organisation and a demo is linked from the site.
Hosting is either your own web server, following the installation and update guides, or Farmier's subscription service, which covers updates, backups and SSL. The price is therefore time or a hosting subscription, not a licence.
What stands out
Open source
Self-host
Drupal-based
Where it costs you
Support is a community forum, chat and calls, not a service contract.
Self-hosting means the farm installs and updates the application itself.
Right for
Technical growers who want to run and extend their own farm records
Wrong for
Farms without anyone able to run a server or pay hosting
Not stated by the vendorFree open source software under GPL-2.0; self-host on your own server or pay for subscription hosting from Farmier
Field records and crop rotation priced per month and hectare
Ranked #3 of 11 in Best Farm Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Farmdok lists its modules in a grid: fields, crop rotation, soil samples, map, task planning, notes with pictures, reports, stock management and costing. The grid also lists satellite and weather vegetation monitoring, application maps, third-party interfaces and extended support.
Reports leave as XLSX or PDF, which gives a farm a plain way out. The price page says its prices are valid from January 2025, so confirm the current rates before budgeting.
What stands out
Per hectare
Crop rotation
Precision add-on
Where it costs you
Prices are billed annually and exclude VAT.
The bill grows with every hectare beyond the 100 included.
Right for
Crop farms that want a price tied to hectares farmed
Wrong for
Herd-focused livestock farms with little arable land
AustriaPublished monthly price with a hectare allowance and a per-hectare rate beyond it; billed annually, excluding VAT; trial offered
Field journal, phytosanitary reports and costs for crop farms
Ranked #4 of 11 in Best Farm Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Agroptima's homepage centres on field records: treatments, location and workers for each field, with reports using official field codes and plant-protection product registration numbers. A cost module compares fields, crops and varieties by profitability.
Work orders and team job reports cover staff. A link with John Deere Operations Center sends machine data in. The FAQ says there is no limit on fields and larger companies can ask for bigger plans.
What stands out
15-day trial
Field journal
Cost per field
Where it costs you
Some records may stay behind, since the FAQ promises only most of the data.
Reports lean on official Spanish field codes and registration numbers.
Right for
Fruit, vine, olive and arable growers who must produce phytosanitary reports
Wrong for
Livestock farms; the site describes crop and field work only
SpainThree named plans; 15-day trial of the full version; larger plans on contact
Orchard and vegetable records sold as modules on an annual base
Ranked #5 of 11 in Best Farm Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Croptracker's pricing page is a module list: Punch Clock for staff time, a kiosk add-on that starts work logs by badge scan, Spray for chemical records, Irrigation for water source and use, Packing for retail product creation, and Field Pack for piece rates and pallet labels.
Harvest Quality Vision and Crop Load Vision use a mobile device to read colour, size and fruit counts. Its terms name Croptracker, Inc. as the contracting party.
What stands out
Fruit and vegetables
Annual base fee
Add-on modules
Where it costs you
The base subscription covers only the first ten users.
Modules are listed separately, so the real bill depends on which ones a grower adds.
Right for
Commercial fruit and vegetable growers needing spray, labour and packing records
Wrong for
Livestock keepers and growers with only a few acres
CanadaPublished annual base price covering the first ten users; add-on modules such as Punch Clock, Spray and Packing
Farm accounting that links bills and inventory to field profit
Ranked #6 of 11 in Best Farm Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Traction Ag was founded in March 2020 by a team from farm management software. All three tiers handle several legal entities in one subscription with bank and credit-card sync.
Plus adds scale tickets and load tracking; Pro adds a balance sheet, cash-flow budgeting and invoices created from sharecrop and cash-rent land agreements. The vendor's onboarding plan promises real-time financials by day fourteen.
What stands out
Accounting first
Three tiers
Grain tracking
Where it costs you
Field activities and inventory start on the middle tier.
Payroll is a separate add-on powered by Paylocity.
Right for
Grain farms wanting accounting and per-field profitability in one subscription
Wrong for
Livestock operations and farms with no accounting need
United StatesPublished monthly and yearly prices on three tiers; payroll add-on; trial offered
Livestock mapping and records priced by the number of animals
Ranked #7 of 11 in Best Farm Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestAsia-Pacific
AgriWebb's pricing page asks for total cattle and total sheep before showing a yearly cost, which excludes GST. Essentials gives the farm map, livestock reconciliation, team tasks and drag-and-drop mob moves.
Compliance adds treatment and weight records, feed, joining and pregnancy scans, worm tests and cropping records. Performance adds stocking-rate against carrying-capacity reports and financial reporting. The trial notes offline use and no card.
What stands out
Per head
Offline use
Mob or individual
Where it costs you
Grazing and weight projection tools sit on the top tier.
Every animal added raises the bill, because pricing follows head count.
Right for
Cattle and sheep operations needing audit-ready records and grazing plans
Wrong for
Crop-only farms and growers with few animals
AustraliaPriced by animal head count through an online calculator; three tiers; trial without a card
Ranked #8 of 11 in Best Farm Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Herdwatch splits its offer into Pro for simple record keeping, Pro+ for breeding, health and performance insights, and Innovator for automation and integrations.
The app records moves, weights and notes offline at the crush and syncs afterwards. Pasture and grazing rotation tracking is part of the pitch. A six-month offer sits beside the annual plans, and the prices shown exclude VAT.
What stands out
Herd-size quote
Offline sync
Pasture tracking
Where it costs you
Plan prices appear only after a quote form is completed.
Large farms are sent to an enterprise conversation instead of a price.
Right for
Cow-calf and sheep ranchers who record weights and breeding in the paddock
Wrong for
Buyers who need a printed price before talking to anyone
United StatesQuoted by farm type and herd size; Pro, Pro+ and Innovator tiers; app trial
Enterprise farm ERP for plantations, contract farming and exports
Ranked #9 of 11 in Best Farm Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestAsia-Pacific
FarmERP positions itself as an agriculture ERP spanning farms and plantations, contract farming, seed production, nursery management, fresh produce supply chains, logistics and government programmes.
It cites ISO 27001 certification, 25,000-plus users and 1.2 million acres managed, all vendor figures. The story page traces the company to 2001. Expect an implementation project rather than a sign-up, since the only call to action is a demo.
What stands out
Enterprise ERP
Contract farming
ISO 27001
Where it costs you
No price, trial or self-service sign-up appears on the pages read.
Built around organisations with many users and sites, so a small farm gets little from it.
Right for
Plantations, seed producers and agribusinesses running contracted growers at scale
Wrong for
Individual farms wanting to start cheaply on their own
IndiaDemo-led sale; no prices or trial on the pages read
Enterprise farm management and AI agents sold through demos
Ranked #10 of 11 in Best Farm Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
AGRIVI 360 FMS organises a farm into agronomy, operations and economics. The page lists crop planning, satellite monitoring and scouting, work orders, machinery and input inventory, mobile and offline data collection, and budget against actual by season.
Traceability and compliance is a separate variant. Customer logos include Kaufland and Nestlé, and the vendor claims 200-plus crop types in 50-plus countries; the pages give no price.
What stands out
Enterprise farms
Demo only
AI Workforce
Where it costs you
No price appears anywhere on the pages read, and the pricing address leads nowhere.
Product pages address enterprises, supply chains and public programmes before individual farms.
Right for
Large growers and food companies tracking contracted farms and compliance
Wrong for
Small farms that want to try the product alone
CroatiaDemo-led sale; no price or trial on the product pages read
Bayer's field data platform with a zero-cost Basic plan
Ranked #11 of 11 in Best Farm Management Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
FieldView's pricing page shows two plans, Basic and Plus, both billed annually. The solutions menu groups the product into gathering information, scouting fields, building prescriptions and analysing data, with an Advisor tool for dealers.
FieldView Drive 2.0 hardware captures and stores field data, and the site lists an iPad mounting kit. The about page ties the platform to Bayer programmes such as ForGround.
What stands out
Bayer
Basic plan
Seed scripting
Where it costs you
Plus is billed per year; the pricing page shows no monthly option.
The platform is owned by a crop-inputs company, so a seed supplier stays in the picture.
Right for
Row-crop growers wanting yield analysis and seed scripts from machine data
Wrong for
Livestock keepers and buyers avoiding a seed vendor's platform
United StatesFree Basic plan; Plus plan at a published yearly price; FieldView Drive hardware listed separately
Farm management software records crops, livestock, inputs, labour and costs by field or animal, and turns those records into work orders, compliance reports and margin figures for the farm business. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is the order we would work through them.
01
Work out how much a sales call is worth to you
Only 6 of the 11 print a price; 5 quote per organisation. Comparable without a sales call: Farmbrite, farmOS, Farmdok, Croptracker, Traction Ag, Climate FieldView.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
The vendors on this page are based in 8 countries (North America 5, Europe 3, Asia-Pacific 2, Elsewhere 1). The country of the contracting company sets which authorities can ask it for your data, whatever the hosting region.
03
Consider whether you want the source
Source code is available for farmOS. Running it yourself swaps the licence fee for your own upkeep.
Farm management software prices a different thing at every vendor
Before comparing monthly figures, find what each vendor counts. AgriWebb prices by cattle and sheep head count, Herdwatch gives a plan price only after a form about your ranch and herd, and Farmdok bills a hectare allowance plus a rate for every hectare above it. Croptracker sells an annual base that covers its first ten users, then modules.
Traction Ag charges per tier for accounting depth, not for acreage. A 40-hectare vineyard, a 600-head cow-calf herd and a 3,000-acre grain farm will each rank these five differently, so run your own numbers rather than reading a headline price. Ask each vendor for the cost at today's size and at double it.
Write down animals, hectares, users and legal entities before asking for a quote
Ask what the price is at twice today's size
Check whether the price you were quoted includes VAT or GST
Plan caps in Farmbrite, Herdwatch and AgriWebb show up after the first season
Cheap entry plans tend to hide their limits in the feature list. Farmbrite's entry livestock plan stops at 300 animals with a five-person crew, and its online store, invoicing and bank-connected accounting start higher up. AgriWebb keeps audit and biosecurity tools for its Compliance tier and grazing and weight projections for Performance.
Herdwatch splits Pro, Pro+ and Innovator, with automation and integrations at the top. Farms usually discover the missing feature in the middle of a season, when moving up a tier means paying for the whole year. Match the tier to the jobs you will do in your busiest month, not to the quiet-week jobs you do today.
List the three jobs you do in your busiest month and check each against the tier
Ask whether upgrading mid-season is pro-rated
Count team members who need logins, including seasonal staff
Getting records out of Agroptima, Farmdok or farmOS
A farm's records are its audit trail, so test the exit before the first entry. Agroptima's FAQ admits only most of the data exports to Excel, so some stays behind. Farmdok exports reports as XLSX or PDF. farmOS is open source under GPL-2.0, so a farm can run it on its own server and keep the database, though someone must maintain it.
Farmbrite lists data importing and exporting from its Essentials plans. Compliance records, spray logs and animal treatment histories are the ones an inspector can ask for years later. Export a sample while on the trial, open it in a spreadsheet, and check that dates, field names and product registration numbers survive.
Export one season of spray or treatment records during the trial
Confirm the export includes field names, dates and product numbers
Ask what happens to your data if you cancel
Enterprise suites such as FarmERP and AGRIVI are bought differently from farm apps
FarmERP and AGRIVI both sell through demos; neither publishes a price or offers a self-serve trial. FarmERP targets plantations, contract farming and government programmes; AGRIVI aims at enterprise farms, supply chains and public programmes, and has a separate line of AI agents.
Climate FieldView sits at the other end, with a no-cost Basic plan and a yearly Plus plan, but it belongs to Bayer, which also sells crop inputs. Traction Ag absorbed Conservis and Granular Business for its large-farm suite, a reminder that vendors in this market change hands. For a mid-size farm, ask who owns the product today, whether a pilot is possible, and how long implementation usually takes.
Ask who owns the product today and who owned it two years ago
Request a pilot on one farm or one crop before signing
Get implementation hours in writing, separate from licence cost
What goes wrong most often when buying farm management software
Choosing on feature lists alone and ignoring that the unit of pricing (head, hectare, user, legal entity) decides the bill.
Buying the cheapest tier at Farmbrite, AgriWebb or Herdwatch, then finding that audit tools, invoicing or integrations sit one level up.
Entering a full season of spray and treatment records without testing whether Agroptima, Farmdok or any other tool can export them.
Assuming a free plan covers the real work: FieldView Basic is a data inbox, while seed scripts are listed under Plus.
07
Frequently asked questions
8 answers
What is the best farm management software in 2026?
Farmbrite takes first place among the 11 we reviewed. Farmbrite is operated by Surestuff LLC under Colorado law and lists its plans openly, split into livestock, crop and combined bundles.
The entry livestock plan caps active animals at 300 and team members at 5, so growth means moving up a tier. Accounting comes with the livestock and crop plans. Multi-farm management and custom onboarding belong to an enterprise tier with no listed price.
Which farm management tools publish their pricing?
6 of the 11, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Farmbrite: Published monthly and annual prices across livestock, crop and combined plans; trial offered; enterprise tier on request.
farmOS: Free open source software under GPL-2.0; self-host on your own server or pay for subscription hosting from Farmier.
Farmdok: Published monthly price with a hectare allowance and a per-hectare rate beyond it; billed annually, excluding VAT; trial offered.
Croptracker: Published annual base price covering the first ten users; add-on modules such as Punch Clock, Spray and Packing.
Traction Ag: Published monthly and yearly prices on three tiers; payroll add-on; trial offered.
Climate FieldView: Free Basic plan; Plus plan at a published yearly price; FieldView Drive hardware listed separately.
Everything else on the list is priced on request.
Is there a free farm management tool?
farmOS, Climate FieldView have a free plan or free self-hosted edition.
Where are these farm management software vendors established?
The headquarters are spread over 8 countries and 4 regions, North America 5, Europe 3, Asia-Pacific 2, Elsewhere 1:
Farmbrite: United States.
farmOS: Not stated by the vendor.
Farmdok: Austria.
Agroptima: Spain.
Croptracker: Canada.
Traction Ag: United States.
AgriWebb: Australia.
Herdwatch: United States.
FarmERP: India.
AGRIVI: Croatia.
Climate FieldView: United States.
Which farm management tools are open source?
farmOS.
Which farm management tools can you host yourself?
farmOS. The other 10 are hosted by the vendor only.
What should you use instead of Farmbrite?
Look at farmOS (made for Technical growers who want to run and extend their own farm records) and Farmdok (made for Crop farms that want a price tied to hectares farmed), which hold places two and three.
Who should not buy Farmbrite?
Buyers who want one flat price for unlimited animals. The entry livestock plan stops at 300 active animals and five team members..
Vendors who think their farm management software product should be here can tell us about it: what it does, who it is for. The call is ours, and software advice sets out what being listed means.