Library software is bought on catalogue features that every product claims, then regretted over hosting, support and exit.
This guide ranks eleven systems on what a library actually carries: who runs the server, what is priced apart from the base subscription, whether records leave in standard formats, and how far a small independent supplier can serve you.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What library management software does
Library management software holds a library's catalogue, patron records and loans, and handles cataloguing, circulation, acquisitions and the public search page patrons use to find and reserve items.
Setup effort, true cost, data portability, exit options and buyer fit are the five tests, applied in that order to every library management tool here. Smaller challengers are placed in the top three wherever the category has them; the well-known brands come after. Reasons for the choice of tests, and for skipping a score out of ten, can be read on the how we work page.
Large institutions wanting one cloud platform for all resources and shared configurations
Small libraries needing a visible price and a lightweight setup
We list the country the vendor operates from or contracts through. That is not the same as the hosting region, and any difference is spelled out in the entry.
Hosted-only library system for public libraries, with unlimited users included
Ranked #1 of 11 in Best Library Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Biblionix LLC lists an Austin, Texas address. Staff and patrons use a web browser, and the offer includes a trial with data migration from your current system.
Circulation notices go out by text, email and phone, and FlexShare Consortia shares catalogues between libraries. Gabbie handles two-way texting with patrons. Add the modules you need to the base quote, and get their prices in writing.
What stands out
Hosted only
No contract
Small public libraries
Where it costs you
The vendor sets a ceiling of 300,000 items, so a growing collection can outrun the product.
Four add-ons are priced apart from the subscription, and the site publishes no figure for any of them.
Right for
Public libraries under 300,000 items that want a hosted system and a cancellable subscription
Wrong for
Libraries needing their own server or a collection above 300,000 items
United StatesQuoted per library, annual subscription; trial with data migration
Koha is distributed under the GNU GPL version 3 or later and is sponsored by libraries, volunteers and support companies; a Koha Charitable Foundation page is linked. The site names MARC 21, UNIMARC and Z39.50 among its supported standards, alongside SRU, SIP2 and NCIP.
A demo is reachable from the home page through the Try it now link. Before choosing, ask a support company for a fixed quote that covers upgrades, hosting and data migration.
What stands out
Open source
Self-hosted
Consortia
Where it costs you
No single owner or service desk is named; support is bought from separate companies.
The project site shows no prices, so the cost of hosting or support has to be quoted by those companies.
Right for
Libraries with IT skills or a support company wanting standards-based software without licence fees
Wrong for
Libraries wanting one supplier answering for hosting and support
Not stated by the vendorFree software under the GPL; paid support from third-party companies
Browser-based system from Book Systems with no per-seat licensing
Ranked #3 of 11 in Best Library Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The product page lists SIP2, NCIP and Z39.50 integrations, mobile apps and an offline mode. The hosting page describes two tiers: managed ASP hosting, where the customer owns a perpetual licence, and Express SaaS, aimed at churches, schools and smaller public libraries.
Backups are daily with offsite storage, and the page gives a 99.9% uptime guarantee. The home page also mentions on-premise deployment. Ask which tier your quote assumes and what migration costs.
What stands out
No per-seat fees
Managed hosting
SIP2 and NCIP
Where it costs you
No prices appear on the pages read, so the real figure only emerges from a demo and a quote.
Phone support is staffed in US Central hours, a gap for libraries elsewhere.
Right for
School, church and public libraries wanting hosted software without paying per workstation
Wrong for
Buyers who need published prices before talking to any salesperson
United StatesPerpetual licence with managed hosting, or Express subscription; request a demo
Cataloguing priced by item cap, with a free plan for 5,000 items
Ranked #4 of 11 in Best Library Management Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The pricing page lists Basic, Pro and Ultimate in US dollars, with Pro billed monthly or yearly and managers on Pro added individually. Ultimate allows further blocks of 50 managers and 100 collections to be added.
The page offers a 25% reduction on Pro for education and nonprofit customers. It mentions no trial because Basic fills that role, and it says nothing about hosting location or data export, so ask both before moving a catalogue.
What stands out
Free plan
Published price
Item caps
Where it costs you
Basic has no multi-user management, so more than one staff member means paying.
Every tier caps collections at 100, so large or multi-site libraries pay for add-on blocks.
Right for
Small collections and classrooms that want a published price and a plan costing nothing
Wrong for
Multi-branch libraries needing consortium sharing or acquisitions workflows
Not stated by the vendorFree Basic plan; Pro and Ultimate billed monthly or yearly, published
PHP library system under GPL, run on your own server or Docker
Ranked #5 of 11 in Best Library Management Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourceSelf-hostablePricing on requestElsewhere
The README says SLiMS covers books, journals and digital documents, lending, cataloguing upkeep, member records and stock counts, and that it is licensed under GNU GPL version 3.
Requirements listed are PHP 8.1 or later, MySQL 5.7 or MariaDB 10.3, and the GD, gettext and mbstring PHP extensions. The repository holds a Dockerfile and compose file. Test an upgrade on a copy first, because nobody else is responsible for it.
What stands out
Open source
Self-hosted
PHP and MySQL
Where it costs you
The repository is the only documentation we read, and it names no support provider.
No hosted option is shown, so every installation and upgrade is your own task.
Right for
Technically capable libraries wanting a GPL system they can host without a vendor
Wrong for
Offices without anyone able to maintain a PHP server
Not stated by the vendorGPL v3 open source code; no price stated
French-language free software with hosted or local installation options
Ranked #6 of 11 in Best Library Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The home page offers two routes: Solution hébergée and Installation locale. It lists tailored configuration, multi-site management, handling of physical and digital documents, a steering tool and portal administration.
PMB Services supports and guides users, though the page does not say who develops the software. Ask for the exact licence text, the hosting price, and whether English interface and manuals exist before comparing it with Koha.
What stands out
Free software
Hosted or local
French-language site
Where it costs you
The licence version, price and owner are not stated on the page we read.
The page is in French, so English documentation cannot be assumed.
Right for
French-speaking libraries wanting a local install or hosted version with multi-site management
Wrong for
English-only teams requiring documented prices and a named licence
Not stated by the vendorLogiciel libre; hosted or local installation, price not stated
GPL-licensed library system installed on your own Linux server
Ranked #7 of 11 in Best Library Management Software in 2026.
Open sourceSelf-hostablePricing on requestElsewhere
The Evergreen repository describes itself as Evergreen ILS, shows a GPL-2.0 licence and about 31,000 commits, and its README begins with installing the Evergreen server on Linux accounts such as Debian.
Beyond that we verified nothing, because the project site refused automated requests. Before shortlisting, read the project's own documentation, find a support company, and ask what upgrades cost in staff time each year.
What stands out
Open source
GPL-2.0
Self-hosted
Where it costs you
The main website was unreadable to us, so features and support options are unverified.
The README documents a server install, not a hosted service.
Right for
Libraries or consortia with system administrators ready to install and maintain their own server
Wrong for
Libraries wanting a vendor to host, support and answer for it
Not stated by the vendorGPL-2.0 open source code; no price list seen
Community-owned open source library services platform with modular design
Ranked #8 of 11 in Best Library Management Software in 2026.
Open sourcePricing on requestElsewhere
The site calls FOLIO modern and modular, built through collaboration of libraries, developers and vendors. The footer credits The Open Library Foundation, and the complete platform repository is under the Apache licence 2.0 with a copyright range of 2015 to 2026.
A Hosting Service Options page exists under the Platform menu, which we did not read. Compare the hosting providers on that page, not the software, because their terms set your cost.
What stands out
Open source
Apache-2.0
Modular platform
Where it costs you
The home page states neither a price, hosting detail nor country.
A modular platform needs configuration work that is not counted in any licence cost.
Right for
Libraries with technical staff wanting a community-directed, modular alternative to proprietary platforms
Wrong for
Small libraries wanting a catalogue running in a week
Not stated by the vendorApache-2.0 open source code; hosting options listed, no price stated
Library automation from COMPanion Corporation, a company dating from 1987
Ranked #9 of 11 in Best Library Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The vendor page offers sales by phone and email, with no address or country. Alexandria is named as library automation software in a suite that also holds Textbook Tracker and KeepnTrack, and COMPanion says all its products have flexible interfaces with customisable fields.
Nothing else about Alexandria appeared, so the buyer should ask in writing about hosting, data export, migration help and every recurring fee.
What stands out
Phone sales
COMPanion suite
Established 1987
Where it costs you
Price, trial and hosting are all missing from the page we read.
The only capability claim covers the whole suite, not Alexandria alone.
Right for
Libraries comfortable buying through a sales call from a long-established smaller supplier
Wrong for
Buyers wanting prices, trial terms and hosting details before contact
Not stated by the vendorNot stated; contact sales by phone or email
School library suite offering cloud hosting plus an AI assistant option
Ranked #10 of 11 in Best Library Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Hosting in the cloud and a Library AI Assistant add-on sit inside the Library Suite listing. The company page gives a Westchester, Illinois address in the footer. Services mentioned include implementation, training and managed services, with no pricing shown.
Because the suite bundles several products, ask for each module and each service as a separate line, and ask how a district exports catalogue records if it later changes supplier.
What stands out
Library Suite
Cloud hosting
Optional AI assistant
Where it costs you
No price is shown, and services are part of the offer, so the total is hard to compare.
The suite spans several named products, which makes the exact scope of a quote unclear.
Right for
School districts already buying resources and services from Follett across several buildings
Wrong for
Single libraries wanting a stand-alone product with a visible price
United StatesNot stated on product pages; implementation and training sold as services
Cloud library services platform from Ex Libris, part of Clarivate
Ranked #11 of 11 in Best Library Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The product page presents Alma as unified management of resources, with Alma Library Analytics, APIs and Linked Data, and sharing of configurations and report templates between institutions.
The Ex Libris knowledge base adds AI-assisted workflows. The page says the platform gives immediate access to new features, which implies the vendor controls upgrade timing. Ask for pricing in writing, plus the export formats and fees on leaving.
What stands out
Cloud platform
Part of Clarivate
Analytics and APIs
Where it costs you
The page shows no price, even for the separately subscribed Library Open Workflows.
Ownership sits inside Clarivate, so a buyer deals with a group supplier.
Right for
Large institutions wanting one cloud platform for all resources and shared configurations
Wrong for
Small libraries needing a visible price and a lightweight setup
Not stated by the vendorNot shown on the product page; contact the team
Library management software holds a library's catalogue, patron records and loans, and handles cataloguing, circulation, acquisitions and the public search page patrons use to find and reserve items. Feature lists look alike, so we would settle these points one at a time instead.
01
Work out how much a sales call is worth to you
Prices are public at 2 products (Koha, Libib) and on request at the remaining 9, so budget time for quotes if your favourite is in that second group.
02
Ask which country the contract runs through
Where a company is established decides which courts and regulators can reach it. Here that means 2 countries: Elsewhere 8, North America 3.
03
Check the open source options
Open source here means Koha, SLiMS, Evergreen ILS, FOLIO. The price of self-hosting is the time your team spends maintaining it.
Hosted library software against a system you run yourself, as with Biblionix Apollo and Koha
The first decision is who keeps the server alive. Biblionix Apollo is hosted only, with unlimited users included and a cancellable subscription. Koha, Evergreen ILS and SLiMS are open source code that you install yourself or pay a support company to run, so the licence costs nothing while the labour does not.
Atriuum offers both routes: Book Systems manages the server for a perpetual licence, or you take the Express subscription. Count the hours of a volunteer or IT person over ninety days before treating free software as the cheaper path. A hosted quote that includes upgrades, backups and support can turn out cheaper than an unsupported install that leaves one staff member as the only person who understands it.
Who patches and upgrades the server, and who is called when it fails?
Is the quote hosted, licensed, or a subscription, and is that stated in writing?
What happens to a self-run system when its one technical volunteer leaves?
The extras that Biblionix Apollo, Atriuum and Libib price apart from the base plan
Base prices mislead in this market. Biblionix charges separately for four modules, among them Acquisitions and Auto-Calling. Atriuum lists Add-On Services and Hardware as separate items, so a quote can leave out what you assume is included. Libib publishes its tiers, but Basic stops at 5,000 items and one manager, Pro bills each extra manager, and each tier limits collections to 100.
Ask every supplier for a line-by-line quote that covers the modules you will use in the first year: acquisitions, notices to patrons, enriched catalogue content, mobile access and data migration. Then compare the totals, not the headline subscription, and note which suppliers refuse to put module prices in writing.
Does the quote list acquisitions, notices and catalogue enrichment as separate lines?
How many items, managers and collections does the tier allow before the next tier?
Are migration and training included or billed on top?
Getting records out of a library system: MARC, Z39.50 and SIP2
A catalogue is years of cataloguing work, and the exit test is whether it leaves in a standard format. Koha states that data can be exported and supports several standards, MARC 21 among them. Atriuum names the same circulation and cataloguing protocols, SIP2 among them.
Libib and Alexandria say nothing on their pages about export, and Ex Libris Alma, Follett Destiny and FOLIO were not read for it, so ask directly. Request a sample export of your own records before signing, and check that patron records, loans and fines come out as well as bibliographic records. A supplier that agrees to this in writing is easier to leave than one that offers only a screenshot of a report.
Will the supplier export bibliographic, patron and loan data in writing?
Which standards does the system list: MARC 21, UNIMARC, Z39.50, SIP2, NCIP?
Is a trial export of your own records possible before signing?
Why Follett Destiny and Ex Libris Alma are suites, and what that means for small libraries
Follett Destiny sits inside a Library Suite with several named products, and Ex Libris Alma is a platform from a company that is part of Clarivate. Neither shows a price on the pages we read, and Follett lists implementation, training and managed services as part of its offer.
Suites suit institutions that buy many modules from one supplier and have staff to configure them. A small public or school library gets more from a narrower product with a clear quote, such as Biblionix Apollo or Atriuum, or from a platform such as FOLIO if it has technical staff. Ask a suite vendor which parts you would actually use and what each costs alone.
Which suite modules would your staff use in the first year?
Is the quote itemised by module and by service?
What does leaving the suite supplier cost in time and fees?
What goes wrong most often when buying library management software
Counting Koha, Evergreen ILS or SLiMS as free without budgeting the staff time or support contract that keeps them running.
Reading the Biblionix Apollo subscription as the whole bill when several modules are priced apart from it.
Choosing Libib for a multi-staff library without noting that Basic has no multi-user management and collections stop at 100 per tier.
Signing with a supplier that shows no prices, such as Alexandria or Ex Libris Alma, before getting a written export and migration clause.
07
Frequently asked questions
8 answers
What is the best library management software in 2026?
Biblionix Apollo leads our ranking of 11. Built for public libraries holding fewer than 300,000 items, and sold as one annual subscription covering unlimited users and computers. No contract is required, and unused subscription time is refunded on cancellation.
Acquisitions, Syndetics Unbound, Auto-Calling and Gabbie are priced apart from that subscription, so the quote grows with each module. It runs only as a hosted service, which rules out libraries needing their own server.
Which library management tools publish their pricing?
2 of the 11, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Koha: Free software under the GPL; paid support from third-party companies.
Libib: Free Basic plan; Pro and Ultimate billed monthly or yearly, published.
Everything else on the list is priced on request.
Is there a free library management tool?
Koha, Libib, SLiMS offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these library management software vendors established?
Vendor countries on this page, Elsewhere 8, North America 3:
Biblionix Apollo: United States.
Koha: Not stated by the vendor.
Atriuum: United States.
Libib: Not stated by the vendor.
SLiMS: Not stated by the vendor.
PMB: Not stated by the vendor.
Evergreen ILS: Not stated by the vendor.
FOLIO: Not stated by the vendor.
Alexandria: Not stated by the vendor.
Follett Destiny: United States.
Ex Libris Alma: Not stated by the vendor.
Which library management tools are open source?
Koha, SLiMS, Evergreen ILS, FOLIO.
Which library management tools can you host yourself?
Koha, SLiMS, Evergreen ILS. The remaining 8 run only on the vendor's servers.
What should you use instead of Biblionix Apollo?
Koha and Atriuum are the next two on this page. Koha is for Libraries with IT skills or a support company wanting standards-based software without licence fees; Atriuum is for School, church and public libraries wanting hosted software without paying per workstation.
Who should not buy Biblionix Apollo?
Libraries needing their own server or a collection above 300,000 items. The vendor sets a ceiling of 300,000 items, so a growing collection can outrun the product..
Vendors who think their library management software product should be here can tell us about it: what it does, who it is for. The call is ours, and software advice sets out what being listed means.