AI medical scribe software listens to a consultation or takes dictation and drafts the clinical note.
This guide ranks thirteen products on the effort to start, the bill once note volume and add-ons are counted, how notes leave, whether you can buy without a sales process, and what suits a solo clinician or a clinic. It reports only vendor statements.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What AI medical scribe software does
AI medical scribe software records or transcribes a clinical consultation and produces a draft note or document for the clinician to review, often with templates and transfer into a record system.
The ranking follows five checks. Setup effort comes first, then real cost, then the route for getting data out, then lock-in, then the intended buyer. One rule overrides the order: smaller vendors take the first three places when the category offers them, and the best-known brands start at four. Reasons for the choice of tests, and for skipping a score out of ten, can be read on the how we work page.
Therapy note taking with a free tier and flat monthly plans
Ranked #1 of 13 in Best AI Medical Scribe Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Upheal prices in a ladder: a free tier, a flat notes plan with unlimited sessions, a pay-per-session EHR plan and a higher EHR plan. That ladder lets a therapist start at nothing and move up only when an EHR is needed.
The free tier is described for individual therapy, so group or multi-site practices should check the plan pages first. A free trial exists, but its length is not stated, and a 30-day money-back guarantee covers paid plans.
What stands out
Therapy notes
Free tier
Per-session billing
Where it costs you
The free tier caps AI Assistant chat at a monthly usage limit.
Uncapped AI Assistant use needs a paid add-on or the highest EHR tier.
Right for
Solo therapists who want to start on a free tier and pay per session later.
Wrong for
Hospital departments needing a quoted enterprise contract.
United StatesPublished plans: a free tier, a flat monthly notes plan, per-session EHR billing and a higher EHR tier
Canadian-hosted scribe with published monthly plans and a short trial
Ranked #2 of 13 in Best AI Medical Scribe Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
A clinic can test volume before paying, since the opening days are unmetered and later use is counted. Pro is sold per provider, and Enterprise per user for five or more providers, adding API access, white labelling and an SLA.
The terms differ by document: the main terms name no jurisdiction, and the Business Associate Agreement is governed by United States law, so legal review should read both.
What stands out
Canadian hosting
Trial then metered
API on Enterprise
Where it costs you
Plan prices appear without a stated currency.
The AI receptionist add-on is metered per minute after 200 minutes.
Right for
Canadian clinics that want regional hosting on every plan including the trial.
Wrong for
Buyers who need every price shown with a stated currency.
CanadaPublished plans per provider: a short trial, Pro monthly or yearly, and Enterprise per user
Scribe with a free plan, a cheap personal tier and group pricing
Ranked #3 of 13 in Best AI Medical Scribe Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Twofold lists three tiers: a free plan, a personal plan and group pricing requested through a demo. The personal price appears as a first-month figure under an annual discount, so a buyer should confirm the full-year cost before committing.
Data location is stated as US based infrastructure. The entity named on the page is Ravel Technological Solutions LTD, but no country appears, which leaves jurisdiction questions for the vendor.
What stands out
Free plan
US infrastructure
Group demo
Where it costs you
No country or registered address is stated on the page.
A struck-through list price hides the ongoing monthly cost of the personal plan.
Right for
Individual clinicians who want a no-card free plan to compare scribes.
Wrong for
Practices that need a stated country of incorporation before buying.
Not stated by the vendorFree plan, a personal plan with annual discount, and group pricing on demand
Therapy note scribe sold in capped note tiers per clinician
Ranked #4 of 13 in Best AI Medical Scribe Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Mentalyc ties price to note volume, so cost is predictable only when your case load is. Mini allows 40 notes a month, Basic 100, Pro 160 and Super 330, and only Super covers every client type including groups.
Team seats carry unlimited notes under a fair usage limit. The trial includes 15 notes and full Pro access. A promotional team price is described as locked in, which a buyer should confirm in writing.
What stands out
Note caps
Therapy focus
Team per seat
Where it costs you
Each solo tier caps notes per month, so busy clinicians must size the tier.
Group clients are excluded below the top solo tier.
Right for
Therapists whose monthly note volume is steady enough to pick a capped tier.
Wrong for
Clinicians whose note volume swings month to month.
Not stated by the vendorPublished per-clinician tiers capped by notes per month, monthly or annual; team plan per seat; 14-day trial
Scribe with a free plan and unlimited notes at a yearly price
Ranked #5 of 13 in Best AI Medical Scribe Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Tandem puts unlimited note generation on its free plan, which is unusual in this list, and limits templates, co-workers and Pro Actions instead. The paid Pro plan is priced per user and billed yearly, and the enterprise tier adds custom integrations, onboarding and clinician-led support.
A discount is shown for yearly billing, but a monthly Pro amount is missing, so a buyer must ask. The page does not state where the company is based.
What stands out
Free plan
1-click transfer
Enterprise rollout
Where it costs you
No monthly Pro price is shown, only the yearly billed rate.
The free plan limits custom templates to two and daily Pro Actions.
Right for
Small teams that want unlimited free notes with two co-workers invited.
Wrong for
Clinics that need monthly billing at a known Pro price.
Not stated by the vendorFree plan, Pro billed per user yearly, Enterprise tailored; trial length not stated
Per-clinician scribe plans with a seven-day trial and no free plan
Ranked #6 of 13 in Best AI Medical Scribe Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Freed is built for one clinician at a time, with Groups handled by a sales conversation. Starter caps notes at 40 a month, Core removes the cap, and Premier sits above it with a monthly or annual toggle.
Students can take a 50% discount on the monthly plan. The governing law in the platform terms is California. The site does not name a parent company or hosting model, so those questions go to the vendor.
What stands out
Per clinician
7-day trial
Trainee offer
Where it costs you
The pricing page does not make clear which of two figures per plan applies.
Starter is capped at 40 notes per month.
Right for
Individual clinicians who want unlimited notes and a trainee route to Core.
Wrong for
Anyone who needs a permanent entry tier without a note cap.
United StatesPublished per-clinician plans, monthly or annual; 7-day trial only; Groups quoted
Scribe plus agent tasks, with usage allowances on every plan
Ranked #7 of 13 in Best AI Medical Scribe Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Heidi is wider than a note taker. Its homepage names pre-charting, visit preparation, repeat prescriptions, referral triage and a desktop dictation tool, and the usage allowance applies to those agent tasks.
Scribing itself is outside the allowance, according to the pricing page. Clinician and Practice plans offer a 14-day trial, but no amounts are shown. Compliance pages are linked for several regions, while hosting and parent company are not stated.
What stands out
Free tier
Agent usage allowance
Pre-charting
Where it costs you
Paid plan prices are not shown on the pricing page.
The free tier carries a smaller weekly Agent usage allowance.
Right for
Clinics that want to try agent tasks beyond notes on a free tier.
Wrong for
Buyers who must compare paid prices before a sales call.
Not stated by the vendorFree tier, Clinician and Practice on request with a 14-day trial, Enterprise on request
Scribe with Canadian processing and a free plan, in Canadian dollars
Ranked #8 of 13 in Best AI Medical Scribe Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Tali lists a free plan limited to five AI scribes a month, then paid Premium and Pro plans in Canadian dollars. Unlimited AI Scribe sits on Pro, and an EHR Assistant is marked beta.
The homepage says it pre-fills forms and identifies billing codes from the encounter. With rival plan sets on one page and a missing terms page, a buyer should ask for a written quote and entity name.
What stands out
Free plan
Canadian processing
EMR integrations
Where it costs you
Two plan sets overlap on the pricing page, so the current prices are unclear.
The terms page returned an error, so the legal entity is unconfirmed.
Right for
Canadian clinics whose EMR is on the list and whose data must stay in Canada.
Wrong for
Buyers who need a confirmed legal entity before signing.
Not stated by the vendorFree plan, Premium and Pro priced monthly in Canadian dollars, Enterprise on request; 14-day trial
Scribe priced in Australian-style clinic tiers, with GST extra
Ranked #9 of 13 in Best AI Medical Scribe Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The pricing page is clearly written for Australian general practice: Best Practice, Cubiko and BetterConsult integrations, GST on clinic plans and Australian Privacy Principles. Every clinic plan includes an AI Document Sorter and unlimited scribe.
Seat mixes differ, from three practice nurse seats on Essentials to fourteen Pro GP seats on Premium. Enterprise adds SSO and SAML 2.0. Buyers elsewhere should check integration coverage.
What stands out
Clinic tiers
Care Plans
Australian hosting
Where it costs you
Clinic prices exclude GST and show only a dollar sign.
The free plan is capped at 50 transcribe actions a month.
Right for
Australian practices that want published clinic tiers and local data hosting.
Wrong for
Buyers outside Australia who need local-currency pricing.
Not stated by the vendorFree and eligible-user plans, Pro monthly or annual, clinic tiers published; Enterprise on request; 14-day Pro trial
Scribe sold through sales, with a try-it option and named audits
Ranked #10 of 13 in Best AI Medical Scribe Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Nabla leads with credentials rather than prices: HIPAA, SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001 and GDPR are named on the homepage. Retention policies are described as configurable, though the page names no cloud provider or data residency.
The try-it option leads into a web app, but its contents and length are not given. With offices in Brooklyn and Paris, a buyer should ask which entity signs the contract.
What stands out
Sales contact
SOC 2 Type 2
Configurable retention
Where it costs you
No prices are shown anywhere on the homepage.
The legal country of registration is not stated.
Right for
Buyers who want named security audits listed up front and will negotiate.
Wrong for
Small practices that need a published price today.
Not stated by the vendorPrices not shown; contact the vendor; a try-it option of unstated length
EHR-linked scribe at one promotional price per user per month
Ranked #11 of 13 in Best AI Medical Scribe Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Sunoh keeps pricing simple, with one per-user rate and no stated usage limits. The catch is that the rate is labelled promotional, so the long-run price is the struck-through one.
Its pitch is EHR coverage, naming athenahealth, Cerner, eClinicalWorks, Epic, ModMed, Practice Fusion and Tebra, plus a free sync browser extension with a subscription. The footer carries a healow copyright without a stated parent company.
What stands out
Single plan
EHR sync extension
Runs on Azure
Where it costs you
The monthly rate is promotional and the regular price is higher.
No legal entity or country is shown on the pages read.
Right for
Practices on the named EHRs who want one flat per-user price.
Wrong for
Teams that need lower-cost tiers or a stated legal entity.
Not stated by the vendorOne published per-user monthly rate, promotional for a limited time; trial of unstated length
Scribe sold by contact form, with no prices on the pages read
Ranked #12 of 13 in Best AI Medical Scribe Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Suki gives a buyer only a contact route. No plan names, no amounts and no billing basis appear on the pages read, and neither a free plan nor a trial is mentioned.
The privacy policy covers transfer of personal data to company offices and servers in the United States, which a buyer outside that country should weigh. Everything commercial must be established in conversation, so ask for terms, entity and hosting in writing.
What stands out
Contact sales
US data transfer
No trial listed
Where it costs you
There are no prices or trial terms to compare before contacting sales.
Country of incorporation and governing law are not stated.
Right for
Organisations ready to run a sales process and compare quotes.
Wrong for
Solo clinicians who want to try before talking to sales.
Not stated by the vendorPrices not shown on the pages read; contact form
Contact-sales scribe from a Philadelphia-headquartered company
Ranked #13 of 13 in Best AI Medical Scribe Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Abridge appears here for completeness and sits near the bottom because little can be checked from public pages. The homepage points only to a contact form, with no plan, price or trial. The privacy policy names Abridge AI, Inc.
and its affiliates and gives a Philadelphia address. A buyer will need a written quote, hosting terms and the contracting entity before comparing it with tools that publish their pricing.
What stands out
Contact sales
US headquarters
No trial listed
Where it costs you
No prices, billing basis or currency appear on the homepage.
Incorporation and governing law are not stated.
Right for
Large organisations that expect to negotiate directly with the vendor.
Wrong for
Buyers who want public prices or a self-service trial.
United StatesPrices not shown; contact the vendor; no trial listed
AI medical scribe software records or transcribes a clinical consultation and produces a draft note or document for the clinician to review, often with templates and transfer into a record system. A feature table will not settle this choice. These steps will.
01
Start with pricing transparency
3 vendors on this page sell by quote, while 10 publish a pricing model you can read today: Upheal, Scribeberry, Twofold Health, Mentalyc, Tandem Health, Freed, Heidi Health, Tali AI, Lyrebird Health, Sunoh.
02
Ask which country the contract runs through
Headquarters range over 3 countries and 2 regions: Elsewhere 9, North America 4. Legal exposure follows the vendor, not only the data centre, so read the contracting entity before you sign.
How to compare AI medical scribe software on price
Scribe pricing is not one model. Upheal publishes a free tier, a flat notes plan and a per-session option. Mentalyc caps notes per month by tier, from 40 to 330. Lyrebird Health prices clinic tiers by seat mix with GST extra. Tandem Health bills Pro per user yearly. Nabla, Suki and Abridge show nothing on the pages read.
Convert each plan to your own monthly note count and number of clinicians before comparing, then add any add-on such as Scribeberry's per-minute receptionist. Note which figures are struck-through promotions, as at Freed and Sunoh, because the promotional rate may not be the renewal rate.
Count notes per month per clinician
Ask which price is the renewal price
List add-ons billed per minute or per claim
Check the trial before you rely on it
Trials differ sharply in this market. Freed offers seven days and no card, Mentalyc gives 14 days with 15 notes, Scribeberry gives three days of unlimited use and then 20 uses a month, and Heidi Health pairs a free tier with a 14-day trial on paid plans.
Sunoh and Upheal mention a trial without a length. A short trial may end before you have seen a full clinic week, so check whether your busiest days fit inside it. Write down how many notes the trial includes, since a capped trial can finish early on a heavy schedule.
Confirm trial length and note cap
Run it across a full clinic week
Ask what happens to notes after the trial
Match the scribe to your record system and region
Integrations and data location decide fit more than note quality claims. Sunoh names athenahealth, Cerner, eClinicalWorks and Epic. Tali AI lists Canadian EMRs and states Canadian processing. Lyrebird Health names Australian systems and offers Australian hosting at Enterprise. Scribeberry lists Canadian hosting on every plan, and Twofold Health states US based infrastructure.
Ask each vendor whether your exact record system is supported on the plan you would buy, since several integrations sit on higher tiers. Do not assume transfer into your record is one click: Tandem Health describes 1-click transfer to over 100 record systems on Pro only, while Mentalyc limits EHR transfers on its lower tiers. Test one real note end to end during the trial before you commit to any plan.
Name your record system to the vendor
Ask where recordings and notes are stored
Check which plan includes the integration
Read the legal entity and the compliance pages
Several vendors state compliance without stating a country. Nabla names HIPAA, SOC 2 Type 2, ISO 27001 and GDPR, Freed names SOC 2 Type II and HIPAA, and Heidi Health links regional pages. Yet Twofold Health, Tali AI and Suki leave the country or entity unclear on the pages read.
Ask for the contracting entity, governing law and data processing terms in writing, and for a business associate agreement where one applies, as Scribeberry provides. This guide reports only what vendor pages state and makes no claim about note accuracy.
Request the contracting entity in writing
Ask for the data processing terms
Get any business associate agreement before use
What goes wrong most often when buying AI medical scribe software
Choosing on the headline price without checking whether it is a struck-through promotion, as shown at Freed and Sunoh.
Assuming a free tier covers real clinic volume, when Upheal and Lyrebird Health both cap monthly actions on theirs.
Taking a compliance badge as proof of where data lives, since Nabla and Freed state certifications but not hosting.
Starting a trial on a quiet week, so Mentalyc's 15-note allowance or Scribeberry's three days end before busy days.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best AI medical scribe software in 2026?
Upheal takes first place among the 13 we reviewed. Upheal, Inc. is based in Miami and aims its notes at individual therapy. The free tier covers AI notes from text, dictation and uploads, while the notes plan is flat with unlimited sessions.
A per-session EHR option has no minimum. The catch is that the AI Assistant chat carries a monthly usage limit on the free tier, and uncapped use costs an add-on or the top EHR plan.
Which AI medical scribe tools publish their pricing?
10 out of 13 state a price model on their own site:
Upheal: Published plans: a free tier, a flat monthly notes plan, per-session EHR billing and a higher EHR tier.
Scribeberry: Published plans per provider: a short trial, Pro monthly or yearly, and Enterprise per user.
Twofold Health: Free plan, a personal plan with annual discount, and group pricing on demand.
Mentalyc: Published per-clinician tiers capped by notes per month, monthly or annual; team plan per seat; 14-day trial.
Tandem Health: Free plan, Pro billed per user yearly, Enterprise tailored; trial length not stated.
Freed: Published per-clinician plans, monthly or annual; 7-day trial only; Groups quoted.
Heidi Health: Free tier, Clinician and Practice on request with a 14-day trial, Enterprise on request.
Tali AI: Free plan, Premium and Pro priced monthly in Canadian dollars, Enterprise on request; 14-day trial.
Lyrebird Health: Free and eligible-user plans, Pro monthly or annual, clinic tiers published; Enterprise on request; 14-day Pro trial.
Sunoh: One published per-user monthly rate, promotional for a limited time; trial of unstated length.
The remaining 3 sell by quote.
Is there a free AI medical scribe tool?
Upheal, Twofold Health, Tandem Health, Heidi Health, Tali AI, Lyrebird Health have a free plan or free self-hosted edition.
Where are these AI medical scribe software vendors established?
Vendor countries on this page, Elsewhere 9, North America 4:
Upheal: United States.
Scribeberry: Canada.
Twofold Health: Not stated by the vendor.
Mentalyc: Not stated by the vendor.
Tandem Health: Not stated by the vendor.
Freed: United States.
Heidi Health: Not stated by the vendor.
Tali AI: Not stated by the vendor.
Lyrebird Health: Not stated by the vendor.
Nabla: Not stated by the vendor.
Sunoh: Not stated by the vendor.
Suki: Not stated by the vendor.
Abridge: United States.
What should you use instead of Upheal?
The next in line are Scribeberry, aimed at Canadian clinics that want regional hosting on every plan including the trial., and Twofold Health, aimed at Individual clinicians who want a no-card free plan to compare scribes..
Who should not buy Upheal?
Hospital departments needing a quoted enterprise contract.. The free tier caps AI Assistant chat at a monthly usage limit..
Makers of AI medical scribe software products can ask us to look at theirs. Say what it does and who uses it. We choose what to add, and nothing can be bought; see software advice for what a listing means.