Solar design software lets installers and developers lay panels on a roof or ground site, simulate shading and yield, and turn the result into a proposal or plan set.
This guide ranks independent single-product vendors first, then weighs ninety-day setup effort, what extra modules cost, how projects leave the tool, and whether it suits residential or utility-scale work.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What solar design software does
Solar design software produces a panel layout for a roof or site, simulates shading and energy yield, and outputs documents that installers use for quotes, permits and engineering.
Ranking criteria for this solar design tool list, applied top to bottom: effort to get started, cost in practice, data return, ability to leave, buyer fit. The ranking then gives places 1 to 3 to challengers outside the best-known brands, if the category has such vendors, and the incumbents follow. Our how we work page explains the choice of these five and why we give no mark out of ten.
German yield simulator covering batteries and electric vehicles
Ranked #1 of 11 in Best Solar Design Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Valentin Software describes PV*SOL as a dynamic simulation programme for photovoltaic systems, including combinations with consumers, batteries and electric vehicles. A test version can be downloaded, and a separate online calculator exists as a different web tool.
The linked database covers modules, inverters, batteries and vehicles. The rental licence runs for one year and the homepage gives no amount. The imprint is a Berlin address.
What stands out
Yield simulation
Battery and EV modelling
Test version
Where it costs you
The shop shows a one-year rental licence without any amount, so budgeting needs a separate enquiry.
The pages read describe simulation and optimisation, not quoting, contracts or customer follow-up.
Right for
Engineers who need yield simulation with batteries and electric vehicles from one German vendor
Wrong for
Sales teams wanting proposals and e-signature in one tool
GermanyNo price shown on the homepage; one-year rental licence; downloadable test version
Swiss quote-to-install tool for solar, heat pumps and charging
Ranked #2 of 11 in Best Solar Design Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The System Designer produces a 3D building model, module layout, shading simulation and string assignment. Maps, LiDAR and drone data feed the model, and proposals include feasibility calculations with e-signature.
Price synchronisation and ordering run with distributors, and mounting-system software such as K2 and Clenergy is integrated. The vendor sells the same flow for batteries, heat pumps and EV charging, which widens scope beyond pure panel layout.
What stands out
3D system designer
Distributor ordering
Multi-technology
Where it costs you
Nobody can test the designer alone, since the trial entry is a scheduling form.
No price is shown, and the imprint never writes the country name.
Right for
Installers in several energy technologies who order from distributors through the same quote
Wrong for
Utility-scale developers working on large ground-mounted sites
Not stated by the vendorNo prices shown; trial button leads to a booking page
Vilnius vendor with separate rooftop, ground-mount and site-selection products
Ranked #3 of 11 in Best Solar Design Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Prospect handles site selection and early due diligence, Ground Mount covers utility-scale layout, Roof Mount covers rooftops and Yield models energy output. The company FAQ places its headquarters in Vilnius, with an office in Kaunas.
Pricing tiers depend on team size, platform scope, enterprise needs and geography, and the page offers request-pricing and demo buttons. No free plan or trial is mentioned.
What stands out
Utility-scale design
AutoCAD based
Four modules
Where it costs you
No plans or amounts appear, only a request route.
Ground Mount depends on AutoCAD, so a licence for it is a separate purchase decision.
Right for
Developers and engineers designing utility-scale ground-mounted plants inside AutoCAD
Wrong for
Small installers who need a quick rooftop proposal
LithuaniaQuoted by team size, platform scope and geography; request pricing form
London vendor with annual per-user pricing shown on the page
Ranked #4 of 11 in Best Solar Design Software in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
The individual plan is billed per user per year, and the three-user and five-user plans lower the per-seat amount. Enterprise is a custom contact-sales plan with unlimited users.
The homepage names Solar Designing with AI-powered 3D roof modelling, Shadow Analysis, a Generation and Financial Tool, Clara AI and advanced mapping. The footer gives a Stratford, London address.
What stands out
Annual per-user plans
Shadow analysis
Imagery sources
Where it costs you
Billing is annual, with a monthly toggle on the page but no monthly prices.
There is no trial, so evaluation means a guided demonstration.
Right for
Small installer teams wanting a visible per-seat annual price for design work
Wrong for
Buyers who need a hands-on trial before paying
United KingdomPublished annual per-user plans that fall with seat count; Enterprise by sales; demo instead of a trial
Design and sales suite the vendor says costs nothing
Ranked #5 of 11 in Best Solar Design Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The homepage lists Auto Design and Auto BOM for design, then Sell tools such as Sales Machine Proposal, CashFlow, Integrated Finance and E-signature. Manage tools include Supplier Assist, a Project Management CRM and Permitting Integrations.
The copyright line reads 2026 OpenSolar with Terms, Privacy and Trust Center links. The vendor offers the API as an add-on rather than within the free offer.
What stands out
Free of charge
Design plus sales
Add-on API
Where it costs you
The API costs extra, so integrations are not part of the zero-price offer.
Country and owner are not shown on the homepage, which makes independence hard to check.
Right for
Small residential installers that want design, proposals and CRM without a software invoice
Wrong for
Buyers who need a named owner and country before signing
Not stated by the vendorFree of charge per the vendor; API sold as an add-on
Drone-based and satellite-based design with a field survey app
Ranked #6 of 11 in Best Solar Design Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
PrelimDesign works from satellite imagery, Nearmap and LiDAR-based shading, while DroneDesign builds 3D models from onsite drone captures. Field Ops digitises site surveys on iOS and Android, and Design Services deliver outsourced plan sets.
Integrations are named only generally: proposal tools, financing platforms, racking partners and CAD export. The only call to action on the homepage is a demo request.
What stands out
Drone 3D models
Field survey app
Design services
Where it costs you
No price or trial is shown, only a demo booking.
The drone workflow needs someone on site flying the aircraft, which adds field labour.
Right for
Installers who want shading checked from drone captures before a roof design is sold
Wrong for
Remote-only sales teams without site visits or drone pilots
Not stated by the vendorNo prices shown; demo booking only
Design studio with sales design and lead management
Ranked #7 of 11 in Best Solar Design Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Design Studio and Sales Design sit beside Lead Management and Advanced Battery Modelling. Named compatible tools are Salesforce, HighLevel, DocuSign, Zoho and Nearmap.
Rupee plans exclude 18 percent GST, and the lowest plan has a project cap with CRM as an add-on. A Free column header in the comparison table carries no terms, and the calls to action are demo bookings.
What stands out
Design Studio
Lead management
Battery modelling
Where it costs you
The pricing page contradicts itself on dollar plans, so confirm the amount in writing.
The footer shows two addresses and no stated country of establishment.
Right for
Installers wanting design and lead tracking with named CRM and signature integrations
Wrong for
Buyers who need one unambiguous published price
Not stated by the vendorPublished plans in rupees and dollars; the page lists conflicting figures
Ranked #8 of 11 in Best Solar Design Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Four annual plans scale from small to Enterprise through project allowances and user counts, and additional projects cost extra on each. The homepage names Sol as an AI assistant, Propel financing and the Express Editor, and mentions an Enlighten integration.
The pricing page offers a customise option with no price and mentions neither a free plan nor a trial. Sign-up references Enphase's terms.
What stands out
Annual plans
Project allowances
AI assistant
Where it costs you
The pricing page lists API access as an extra charge and as included for Enterprise.
Country of establishment and ownership are not stated, and the Enphase link is unexplained.
Right for
Installers who prefer a flat annual plan with a known project allowance
Wrong for
Teams that need API access priced clearly
Not stated by the vendorPublished annual plans with project and user allowances; extra projects billed separately
Ranked #9 of 11 in Best Solar Design Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Basic and Premium each give one user 50 projects per month, billed monthly or annually, with annual billing lowering the rate. Enterprise is priced per project with unlimited users and no stated project limit.
The homepage names Aurora AI, Contract Manager and Expert Design Services. Some services, such as on-demand site models, are separate add-ons. The footer carries only a copyright line, with regional menus.
What stands out
Per-user plans
Sales Mode
Add-on services
Where it costs you
Basic and Premium cap at 50 projects a month for one user.
Add-ons like site models are billed on top, so the real bill exceeds the plan price.
Right for
Residential installers who want design and sales modes with a visible per-user price
Wrong for
High-volume teams that dislike monthly project caps
Not stated by the vendorPublished per-user plans billed monthly or annually; Enterprise quoted per project
Sales operating system for US residential installers
Ranked #10 of 11 in Best Solar Design Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Modules named are Virtual Sales Rep for web lead capture and instant quotes, Integrated Solar Design, Lendflo for loans and leases, Docflo for contracting with e-signature, and Install Tracker.
The vendor says it is not available outside the US at this time and lists all 50 states. The homepage directs visitors to a discovery call and shows no pricing or trial.
What stands out
Residential CRM
Financing modules
US only
Where it costs you
It connects other design tools instead of being one, so you pay for a design product as well.
It is not available for use outside the United States.
Right for
US residential installers who want CRM, financing and contracts around a connected design tool
Wrong for
Buyers outside the United States or those wanting a standalone designer
Not stated by the vendorNo prices shown; discovery call booking
Storage and solar financial analysis with controllers and monitoring
Ranked #11 of 11 in Best Solar Design Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
ETB Developer is the financial analysis product, ETB Controller is sold in packages sized from 100 kWh to 5,000 kWh, and ETB Monitor tracks solar and storage assets in real time.
Monitor packages include a hardware kit and one-year subscription. Developer, support packages and consulting show no price. No free plan is mentioned, and the 30-minute demo call needs no credit card.
What stands out
Financial analysis
Storage controllers
Monitoring
Where it costs you
Panel layout design is not among the named offerings.
The parent company is described but never named, so ownership cannot be checked.
Right for
Developers modelling storage economics who also want controllers and monitoring from one vendor
Wrong for
Installers looking for roof layout and shading tools
Not stated by the vendorPublished starting prices for controller and monitor packages; software through sales
Solar design software produces a panel layout for a roof or site, simulates shading and energy yield, and outputs documents that installers use for quotes, permits and engineering. Feature lists look alike, so we would settle these points one at a time instead.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
Prices are public at 6 products (SurgePV, OpenSolar, Arka360, Solargraf, Aurora Solar, Energy Toolbase) and on request at the remaining 5, so budget time for quotes if your favourite is in that second group.
02
Look at where the vendor sits
The 11 companies behind this list are established in 4 countries, by region Elsewhere 8, Europe 3. Disclosure obligations attach to the company, so they travel with the vendor even when the servers stay at home.
Solar design software: residential, commercial or utility-scale
The first question is the size of the project, because these products were built for different jobs. PVcase offers separate products: Prospect, Ground Mount for utility-scale layouts inside AutoCAD, Roof Mount and Yield. PV*SOL concentrates on simulating yield, including batteries and electric vehicles.
Aurora Solar, SurgePV, OpenSolar and Arka360 describe roof design joined to sales tools, and Eturnity extends that flow to heat pumps and charging. Enerflo and Energy Toolbase sit beside design: one runs the US residential sales process, the other models storage economics. Name your typical job, then check which product states that job on its own site before you ask for a demonstration.
Write down the typical project size and roof or ground type
Check the vendor's own page for that project type
Treat sales suites and finance tools as companions, not designers
Project caps, seats and add-ons decide the real price
Plans in this market are counted in projects and users, and the allowance matters more than the headline rate. Aurora Solar caps Basic and Premium at 50 projects a month for one user. Solargraf sells four annual plans with project and user allowances and charges for extra projects.
SurgePV shows unlimited projects but prices by seat, with cheaper seats on bigger teams. Arka360's lowest rupee plan limits residential projects and adds CRM separately. OpenSolar says its software costs nothing and sells the API as an add-on. Count your monthly projects and your users, then ask what an extra project, extra user or API connection costs.
Count monthly projects and the users who open the tool
Ask the price of an extra project, user and API connection
Compare annual and monthly billing for the same plan
Pricing pages that contradict themselves or hide the number
Several vendors here give less than a buyer needs. PV*SOL, Eturnity, Scanifly, Enerflo and PVcase show no plan prices, only rental, request or demo routes. Solargraf lists API access as a separate charge and as included in Enterprise on the same page. Arka360 shows two sets of dollar plans with different figures.
SurgePV offers a demonstration, not a trial. Eturnity routes trial requests through scheduling. Where a price is missing or contradictory, get the amount, currency, tax treatment and billing period in writing, because a page that disagrees with itself will not protect you in a dispute.
Get currency, tax and billing period in writing
Ask which of two conflicting page prices applies
Confirm whether a trial or only a demo exists
Imagery, shading and field data feed the design
A layout is only as good as the roof model beneath it. Scanifly builds shading from drone captures, Nearmap imagery and LiDAR, and sends crews out with a field survey app. SurgePV names Google, Esri and Nearmap imagery, Arka360 lists Nearmap as compatible, and Eturnity uses maps, LiDAR and drone data.
These sources come with their own coverage, cost and site-visit effort. Ask each vendor where the roof model comes from for your region, whether imagery is included or billed per site model, as Aurora Solar's on-demand site models are, and who corrects the model when the data is wrong.
Ask where the roof model comes from in your region
Check if imagery or site models cost extra per project
Plan who fixes the model when the data is wrong
What goes wrong most often when buying solar design software
Buying a sales suite such as Enerflo when the real need is a layout and shading engine.
Comparing per-user plans without counting the monthly projects that Aurora Solar or Solargraf cap.
Accepting a pricing page with two conflicting figures, as Arka360 shows, without a written quote.
Choosing a utility-scale tool like PVcase Ground Mount for rooftop jobs that a roof-focused product handles faster.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best solar design software in 2026?
PV*SOL leads our ranking of 11. PV*SOL comes from Valentin Software GmbH in Berlin, a company whose imprint names one managing director and no parent. It simulates photovoltaic systems together with consumers, batteries and electric vehicles, and links a module and inverter database.
The homepage shows no price, only a one-year rental licence, and the pages read name no proposal or CRM tools, so sales follow-up needs another product.
Which solar design tools publish their pricing?
Published pricing exists for 6 products on this page:
SurgePV: Published annual per-user plans that fall with seat count; Enterprise by sales; demo instead of a trial.
OpenSolar: Free of charge per the vendor; API sold as an add-on.
Arka360: Published plans in rupees and dollars; the page lists conflicting figures.
Solargraf: Published annual plans with project and user allowances; extra projects billed separately.
Aurora Solar: Published per-user plans billed monthly or annually; Enterprise quoted per project.
Energy Toolbase: Published starting prices for controller and monitor packages; software through sales.
Everything else on the list is priced on request.
Is there a free solar design tool?
OpenSolar have a free plan or free self-hosted edition.
Where are these solar design software vendors established?
In 4 countries across 2 regions: Elsewhere 8, Europe 3.
PV*SOL: Germany.
Eturnity: Not stated by the vendor.
PVcase: Lithuania.
SurgePV: United Kingdom.
OpenSolar: Not stated by the vendor.
Scanifly: Not stated by the vendor.
Arka360: Not stated by the vendor.
Solargraf: Not stated by the vendor.
Aurora Solar: Not stated by the vendor.
Enerflo: Not stated by the vendor.
Energy Toolbase: Not stated by the vendor.
What should you use instead of PV*SOL?
The next in line are Eturnity, aimed at Installers in several energy technologies who order from distributors through the same quote, and PVcase, aimed at Developers and engineers designing utility-scale ground-mounted plants inside AutoCAD.
Who should not buy PV*SOL?
Sales teams wanting proposals and e-signature in one tool. The shop shows a one-year rental licence without any amount, so budgeting needs a separate enquiry..
Sell solar design software and missing from the ranking? Send us a line on what the product does and who buys it. Whether it is added is our decision, though commercial arrangements can also affect it, and the terms of a listing sit on the software advice page.