HOA management software handles assessments, accounting, violations, resident messages and board records for a homeowners' association or a management company.
This guide ranks eleven products on setup effort, the real price once voting, AI and payments are added, how data leaves, independence from a partner, and fit. Smaller vendors with posted prices come first, and landlord tools sit lower.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What HOA management software does
HOA management software collects dues and assessments, keeps association accounts, tracks violations and requests, and gives boards and residents one portal for announcements, documents, requests and votes.
Setup effort, true cost, data portability, exit options and buyer fit are the five tests, applied in that order to every HOA management tool here. On top of them sits one rule. The top three places are for challengers, which means vendors outside the big names, where the category has any, and the household brands come in from fourth place. For why these five were chosen, and why nothing here gets a numeric score, see how we work.
Per-community pricing with unlimited homeowners, admins and storage
Ranked #1 of 11 in Best HOA Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
PayHOA counts each home, condo or lot as one unit and sets the price from that count, with unlimited homeowners, admins, storage, texts, emails and calls on the plans. Above 500 units a per-unit rate applies with a monthly minimum for management companies.
The homepage names invoicing and payments, accounting, mass communication and violations. It is a hosted service; the pages read do not mention a self-hosted option, and the trial runs 30 days without a card.
What stands out
Unit-band pricing
Unlimited homeowners
30-day trial
Where it costs you
Prices for 51 to 400 units are not written out on the page.
The site names PayHOA, LLC but gives no country or address.
Right for
Self-managed boards and small management firms that want a published unit-band price
Wrong for
Buyers who need a vendor country stated before signing
Not stated by the vendorPublished tiers by unit count, not per seat; 30-day trial only
Accounting, violations and work orders in one cloud system
Ranked #2 of 11 in Best HOA Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The homepage describes accounting, architectural requests, work orders and portals in one system, with violation tracking and online payments. CORE covers management; MAX adds budgets, bank integrations and collections.
Both plans state unlimited users, cloud storage and transactions, which removes seat counting from the quote. Against that, the page says minimums and implementation fees apply and gives no currency or billing basis, so the real first-year cost can only be learned from a quote.
What stands out
Two plans
Unlimited users
Implementation fees
Where it costs you
Quote and demo buttons stand where the plan figures would be.
Accounting features such as budgets and bank integrations sit in the higher MAX plan.
Right for
Managers who want accounting, architectural requests and work orders under one login
Wrong for
Boards that must compare a monthly price in advance
Not stated by the vendorQuoted for two plans; minimums and implementation fees apply
Published Pro and Advanced tiers with a separately priced voting add-on
Ranked #3 of 11 in Best HOA Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
TownSq publishes monthly prices, with a 10% saving on annual payment, and ties the plan to the number of communities as well as units. Add-ons are itemised: voting at a fixed amount per event with a one-off setup fee, and per-community monthly extras.
The homepage names AI Suggested Reply, Request Interception for triaging homeowner questions, accounting services, and Ink Print + Mail for billing and delinquency letters. It is offered on web and mobile.
What stands out
Unit-band tiers
Community-count limits
Priced add-ons
Where it costs you
Digital voting is billed per event on top of the plan.
Trial wording covers only the larger unit bands on yearly terms.
Right for
Boards and managers who want to read plan prices before any sales call
Wrong for
Buyers who need the trial to cover the smallest tier
Not stated by the vendorPublished tiers by unit band and community count; trial on some terms
Condo and HOA portal with e-voting, payments and an AI assistant
Ranked #4 of 11 in Best HOA Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Condo Control runs as a cloud platform at app.condocontrol.com with mobile apps. Its pricing page maps unit-count bands to plan columns, and a separate selector exists for self-managed management companies, but every route ends in a custom quote or a Contact Sales button for the 500-plus band.
E-voting, accounting and online payments are named on the homepage. The Terms and Privacy pages could not be read, so liability and data terms remain unchecked.
What stands out
Unit-count bands
Three plan tiers
E-voting
Where it costs you
The pricing page shows two band sets that do not match each other.
The footer names no company, so legal entity and country stay unconfirmed.
Right for
Buildings that want voting and announcements in one resident portal
Wrong for
Buyers who need a stated price or a trial first
Not stated by the vendorQuoted by unit-count band; trial not mentioned
Six-product suite running from accounting to gated-community security
Ranked #5 of 11 in Best HOA Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The privacy policy names Community Investors, Inc. dba FRONTSTEPS and sets Colorado law, with a support address on Broadway in Denver. Payments are processed through a PCI DSS compliant processor.
Caliber is described with automated workflows and AI-powered reporting. Manager and Dwelling are web-based and mobile apps exist, but the site states no hosting model and no trial. Which of the six products a given community needs is a question for the sales call.
What stands out
Product suite
Caliber accounting
Demo-led sales
Where it costs you
No pricing page or plan list was found; the only call to action is a demo.
Splitting the suite across six named products makes the true scope hard to price.
Right for
Managers who want accounting and gated-community security from one vendor
Wrong for
Small boards that need a price before a call
United StatesDemo-led sales; prices not shown on the site
HOAi AI workforce, resident app and automated vendor payments
Ranked #6 of 11 in Best HOA Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Vantaca presents itself through named products rather than plans. HOAi is described as an AI workforce, Vantaca Vendor handles automated payments, and Accounting Services sits under Expert Services. Mobile apps appear on the Apple App Store and Google Play.
The privacy policy points to a separate Data Processing Addendum for customer data but states no governing law on the page read. Anything about cost, contract term or implementation has to come from a demo.
What stands out
HOAi workforce
Vendor payments
Demo-led sales
Where it costs you
The site shows no prices, plans or trial, only demo routes.
The hosting model is not stated on the pages read.
Right for
Managers who want vendor payments and AI automation named as products
Wrong for
Buyers who want to compare tiers online first
Not stated by the vendorPrices not shown; demo and product tour only
Per-unit plans with minimums and AI agents on higher tiers
Ranked #7 of 11 in Best HOA Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The three plans are priced from a low per-unit rate with minimums that rise by tier. The cheapest plan carries unlimited users, document storage and API access.
The middle plan adds a Receptionist Agent and priority support, and the top plan adds Maintenance Ops and Lease Renewal agents. Yearly payment saves up to a quarter. Rent reminders, late fees, vendor payments and an owner portal are listed, and the service is described as cloud-based.
What stands out
Per-unit billing
Monthly minimums
AI agents
Where it costs you
The page lists a per-unit charge above 100 units without explaining how it applies.
Named features centre on rent and leasing, not assessments or violations.
Right for
Small mixed portfolios that manage rentals next to an association
Wrong for
Associations that need violations and board voting tools
Not stated by the vendorPublished per-unit tiers with monthly minimums; demo only
Three published tiers, with onboarding required above entry level
Ranked #8 of 11 in Best HOA Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The tiers differ by bank accounts and support: Essential charges for each business bank account and offers ticket support, Growth includes ten accounts and phone support, and Premium includes one hundred with priority support.
No unit limits are listed, and pricing above 5,000 units goes through a call. Named features include property accounting, online rent collection, maintenance requests, tenant screening and online leasing. The customer base is stated as the U.S. and Canada.
What stands out
Starting-at tiers
Onboarding required
14-day trial
Where it costs you
Community association quotes go through a phone call rather than the page.
Growth and Premium make onboarding mandatory, adding a setup stage.
Right for
Managers whose portfolio is mostly rentals with a few associations
Wrong for
Association-only boards that want a posted association price today
Not stated by the vendorPublished tiers starting at a monthly price; 14-day trial
Per-unit tiers with minimums, an implementation fee and paid contact centres
Ranked #9 of 11 in Best HOA Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Billable units move in 50-unit steps, and enterprise API access adds a per-unit charge to any package. The contact centres carry their own per-unit rate and a setup fee each.
Named features centre on lead tracking, tenant screening, payments, work orders and utility billing, plus an open API for two-way data exchange. Nothing on the pages read describes assessments or violation handling, so its place in this ranking rests on being an adjacent property tool.
What stands out
Per-unit tiers
Implementation fee
Contact centres
Where it costs you
Implementation fees equal twice the monthly subscription.
Contact centre services and transaction fees add to the published tier price.
Right for
Operators of larger rental portfolios that want an open API
Wrong for
Boards of single associations that watch total cost closely
Not stated by the vendorPublished per-unit tiers with minimums and implementation fee; trial promoted
French co-ownership platform sold as quote-based syndic plans
Ranked #10 of 11 in Best HOA Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
The plans split by who does the work: in MateraCooperatif the co-owners manage themselves with support, and in MateraSyndic local the management is delegated.
The platform covers budget management, tracking of ongoing files, a craftsmen directory and a co-owner communication module, with access to over 200 experts and about 30 co-ownerships per manager. The legal notice names Matera SAS at a Paris address, with a Paris trade register number.
What stands out
Quote-based
Syndic plans
Paris-registered
Where it costs you
The fee schedule PDF could not be read, so billing basis stays unknown.
The site pages read are written in French for French co-ownerships.
Right for
French co-ownership boards weighing a self-managed against a delegated syndic
Wrong for
Associations outside France with local rules to follow
FranceQuoted: custom quote button, no prices on the page
Online billing and collection platform from LOFT Payments by ClickPay
Ranked #11 of 11 in Best HOA Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
ClickPay's homepage presents LOFT Payments for property managers and landlords, and points associations to a separate solutions section. Its contact routes are Demo and Request info forms.
The copyright line carries the product name but no legal entity, address or country, and the footer links to RealPage resources without saying that RealPage owns the product. It is described as an online platform; no self-hosted option is mentioned.
What stands out
Payments focus
Association section
Demo forms
Where it costs you
The link meant for pricing returned an error, so costs are unknown.
The pages read name billing and collection but no accounting or violation features.
Right for
Boards that already keep accounts elsewhere and want online collection
Wrong for
Buyers who need one system for accounts and violations
Not stated by the vendorPrices not shown; demo and info forms only
HOA management software collects dues and assessments, keeps association accounts, tracks violations and requests, and gives boards and residents one portal for announcements, documents, requests and votes. What separates these products is rarely a feature. Work through the steps below.
01
Check who publishes a price
6 vendors on this page sell by quote, while 5 publish a pricing model you can read today: PayHOA, TownSq, DoorLoop, Buildium, Propertyware.
02
Look at where the vendor sits
Where a company is established decides which courts and regulators can reach it. Here that means 3 countries: Elsewhere 9, North America 1, Europe 1.
HOA management software: what the unit count does to the bill
Most HOA platforms price by the size of the community, but each one counts differently, so the same 300-home association gets very different quotes. PayHOA treats every home, condo or lot as a unit and publishes bands, with a per-unit rate above 500. TownSq publishes Pro and Advanced tiers and also limits by number of communities.
Condo Control sells by unit-count band but shows two band sets that do not match. DoorLoop and Propertyware bill per unit with monthly minimums, and Propertyware also bills a setup charge worth two months. Write down your homes, communities and board admins, then ask each vendor to price exactly that, including minimums and setup charges.
List your units, communities and admins before asking for quotes
Ask whether a monthly minimum or implementation fee applies
Check which unit band your growth plan will reach in two years
Accounting inside or outside: where HOA suites split
The sharpest difference between products is where the books live. Smartwebs keeps budgets, bank links and collections for its MAX plan and leaves CORE as plain management. FRONTSTEPS sells Caliber as its accounting and financial management product, separate from the Community apps and Manager back office. PayHOA lists accounting beside invoicing and violations on its homepage, and Vantaca names accounting services under Expert Services.
ClickPay describes billing and collection, so a board using it still needs another place for the ledger. Decide whether a volunteer treasurer or an outside accountant keeps the books, then ask each vendor which plan includes the ledger, the budgets and the bank feeds, and how the records leave the system if you switch.
Ask which plan includes budgets and bank integrations
Confirm who keeps the ledger and how it is exported
Check whether payments and accounting share one login
Buildium, DoorLoop and Propertyware: landlord tools in an HOA search
Property-management products appear in HOA searches because they collect money and track maintenance, but they are priced and described for rentals. DoorLoop talks about rent reminders, late fees and an owner portal. Buildium sends association quotes to a phone call, and its public tiers vary by business bank accounts and support level.
Propertyware lists lead tracking, screening and utility billing, with contact centres sold per unit. They suit a manager whose portfolio is mostly rentals with a few associations. A pure homeowners' association gains little from lease features and may pay for them. Ask each one to show violation tracking, board reporting and assessment handling in a demo before comparing prices.
Ask for a demo of violations and assessments, not rent rolls
Confirm association pricing in writing for Buildium
Check which lease features you would pay for but never use
AI assistants, voting and add-ons: the second invoice
Many HOA vendors now sell AI as a named layer, and each is a separate line. PayHOA offers the Gable AI add-on, priced after an introductory period. Condo Control names the Capstan AI assistant, Vantaca names HOAi, FRONTSTEPS names ALLi, and TownSq names AI Suggested Reply and Request Interception.
Voting is another line: TownSq bills digital voting by the event with a one-off setup charge, while Condo Control lists e-voting among its features. Pricing pages rarely say whether these are included, so the plan price understates the bill. Ask for a quote that includes the assistant, one voting event, and print and mail, then compare totals rather than plan prices, and note which lines renew every year.
Ask whether the AI assistant is in the plan or an add-on
Price one voting event and one mailing
Compare totals, not the entry plan
What goes wrong most often when buying HOA management software
Comparing PayHOA, TownSq and Condo Control without first converting each unit definition and band to your own count.
Assuming a landlord product such as DoorLoop or Propertyware handles assessments, violations and board reporting without seeing them in a demo.
Buying a payments product such as ClickPay and discovering that the ledger and budgets still need a second system.
Reading a quote-based page from Smartwebs, FRONTSTEPS or Vantaca as a price, when minimums, implementation and AI lines are not shown.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best HOA management software in 2026?
PayHOA leads our ranking of 11. PayHOA prices by community size instead of by seat, so a board can add admins and homeowners without moving the bill.
The page spells out tiers for 1 to 50 units and 401 to 500, plus a per-unit rate above 500; the middle bands sit behind a calculator. The operator is PayHOA, LLC, but no country is given. The Gable AI assistant costs extra.
Which HOA management tools publish their pricing?
The ones that do, with the model each states:
PayHOA: Published tiers by unit count, not per seat; 30-day trial only.
TownSq: Published tiers by unit band and community count; trial on some terms.
DoorLoop: Published per-unit tiers with monthly minimums; demo only.
Buildium: Published tiers starting at a monthly price; 14-day trial.
Propertyware: Published per-unit tiers with minimums and implementation fee; trial promoted.
Everything else on the list is priced on request.
Is there a free HOA management tool?
Not among the products reviewed here: no vendor on this list has a free tier worth using.
Where are these HOA management software vendors established?
The headquarters are spread over 3 countries and 3 regions, Elsewhere 9, North America 1, Europe 1:
PayHOA: Not stated by the vendor.
Smartwebs: Not stated by the vendor.
TownSq: Not stated by the vendor.
Condo Control: Not stated by the vendor.
FRONTSTEPS: United States.
Vantaca: Not stated by the vendor.
DoorLoop: Not stated by the vendor.
Buildium: Not stated by the vendor.
Propertyware: Not stated by the vendor.
Matera: France.
ClickPay: Not stated by the vendor.
What should you use instead of PayHOA?
Smartwebs and TownSq are the next two on this page. Smartwebs is for Managers who want accounting, architectural requests and work orders under one login; TownSq is for Boards and managers who want to read plan prices before any sales call.
Who should not buy PayHOA?
Buyers who need a vendor country stated before signing. Prices for 51 to 400 units are not written out on the page..
Do you make a HOA management software product that is not listed here? Describe what it does and who buys it. We decide on inclusion, a listing cannot be bought, and the details are under software advice.