Best Telehealth Software in 2026

Telehealth software lets clinicians see patients by video, with waiting rooms, consent steps and often notes and messaging around the visit.

This guide ranks vendors for practices and programmes, weighing ninety-day setup effort, the real bill once SMS, setup fees or session caps appear, how records leave, vendor independence and fit for the care setting.

Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.

In short

What telehealth software does

Telehealth software provides secure video visits between clinicians and patients, usually with a waiting room, consent, messaging and notes, so care can be delivered remotely without general meeting tools.

01

The top three

11 tools reviewed
02

How we ranked these

5 criteria, in order

Each telehealth tool was put through the same five questions, in sequence: how hard is setup, what does it really cost, how does data come back out, can you leave, and who is it for. The ranking then gives places 1 to 3 to challengers outside the best-known brands, if the category has such vendors, and the incumbents follow. Why those five, and why there is no score out of ten, is on the how we work page.

11tools reviewed
7publish a price
3have a free tier
4countries represented
03

Compared at a glance

11 tools
#ToolCountryPricingFree tier Right forNot for
#1Doxy.meNot stated by the vendorFree version for new providers; Premium billed per user per month; free trialYesA solo or small-practice clinician who wants to start video visits at no cost.Teams that need scheduling, billing and records in the same product.
#2VSeeNot stated by the vendorFree plan for one provider; Plus and Premium priced per provider per month; Enterprise quotedYesSmall teams that want a free start and room to add remote monitoring later.Buyers who want every price on the page, including Enterprise.
#3SpruceNot stated by the vendorPublished per user per month on two plans; 14-day trial; SMS carries a one-time fee—A clinic that mainly needs one shared line for calls, texts, faxes and video.Practices wanting charting and claims inside the same product.
#4HealthieUnited StatesPublished monthly or annual plans by active clients; 14-day trial of Plus—Dietitians, coaches and small clinics that want video bundled with charting.Large health systems that need virtual nursing or bedside carts.
#5WherebyNorwayFree plan; Pro and Business billed per host; Embedded billed by usageYesDevelopers building video into their own patient app on usage billing.Clinicians wanting a ready-made waiting room with notes included.
#6ClinikoAustraliaPublished monthly bands by practitioner count; 30-day trial—Allied health clinics that want records first and will add video separately.Providers who want a single product that includes video visits.
#7SimplePracticeUnited StatesPublished monthly plans for solo and group practices; 30-day trial—Therapists in solo or small group practice wanting video inside their EHR.Buyers who only need a lightweight video room without records.
#8UpdoxNot stated by the vendorQuoted; Standard and Enterprise usage plans with session caps—Practices that already live on fax and secure messaging and want video added.Clinics that want unlimited video visits at a fixed monthly price.
#9CaregilityNot stated by the vendorQuoted; subscription terms with pay-as-you-go options—Hospitals building virtual nursing and observation programmes tied to Epic.Private practices that need a simple waiting room and video link.
#10Zoom for HealthcareNot stated by the vendorPro priced per user in the listed rates; higher tiers unpriced; HIPAA needs a paid plan—Organisations already on Zoom that want visit notes synced into an EHR.Solo clinicians wanting the cheapest, simplest path to a video visit.
#11TeladocUnited StatesNo prices on the home page; sold to individuals, employers, health plans and hospitals—Employers and health plans buying virtual care programmes for members.Independent practices wanting their own video room and patient list.

Read country as the home of the company, not of the servers. Where hosting points elsewhere, the entry for that product says so.

04

The 11 tools, reviewed

Ranked

1. Doxy.me · 2. VSee · 3. Spruce · 4. Healthie · 5. Whereby · 6. Cliniko · 7. SimplePractice · 8. Updox · 9. Caregility · 10. Zoom for Healthcare · 11. Teladoc

#1 Doxy.me

Browser video visits for clinicians, with a free starter version

Ranked #1 of 11 in Best Telehealth Software in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere

Doxy.me puts the visit itself first, with patient transfer, a Teleconsent step and transcripts around the call. Its documentation options follow therapy and clinic habits.

The free version suits a clinician testing video before committing, while Premium lifts group calls to 25 people. What the checked pages leave open is where data is hosted, who owns the company and what Premium costs, so a buyer should request those before signing a contract.

What stands out
  • Free version
  • Waiting room
  • SOAP and DAP notes
Where it costs you
  • Group calls are capped at 25 participants on Premium, which rules out larger classes or panels.
  • The pricing page shows a placeholder where the Premium price should be, so cost needs confirming before a rollout.
  • Hosting model and ownership are not stated on the pages we read, so due diligence falls to the buyer.
Right for

A solo or small-practice clinician who wants to start video visits at no cost.

Wrong for

Teams that need scheduling, billing and records in the same product.

Not stated by the vendorFree version for new providers; Premium billed per user per month; free trial

#2 VSee

Telehealth platform with a free plan for a single provider

Ranked #2 of 11 in Best Telehealth Software in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere

VSee spreads from a free single-provider plan to an Enterprise tier that is billed per provider or administrator with a typical annual minimum. In between sit Plus, with unlimited group video, and Premium, for remote care teams of up to 50.

The site cites FedRAMP High, SOC 2 and HIPAA-compliant infrastructure, and EHR launch with two-way scheduling sync. The setup fee and the sales-only EPCS option are where real cost appears.

What stands out
  • Free plan
  • Remote monitoring
  • APIs and SDKs
Where it costs you
  • The free plan is limited to one provider and one-to-one video, so any group visit needs a paid tier.
  • Premium costs extra at the start, and prescribing support is only sold through the sales team.
  • Enterprise is quoted, usually with a minimum annual subscription, so large teams cannot price it up front.
Right for

Small teams that want a free start and room to add remote monitoring later.

Wrong for

Buyers who want every price on the page, including Enterprise.

Not stated by the vendorFree plan for one provider; Plus and Premium priced per provider per month; Enterprise quoted

#3 Spruce

Practice phone, text, fax and video visits on one platform

Ranked #3 of 11 in Best Telehealth Software in 2026.

Published pricingElsewhere

Spruce replaces separate phone, fax and texting subscriptions with one per-user price on a monthly default. Basic includes one phone line per user plus one extra, while Communicator includes two lines per user plus one extra.

Video visits sit alongside the rest. The checked pages state no hosting model, country or parent company, and say nothing about charting, so the telehealth part is one feature among several.

What stands out
  • Phone and text
  • E-fax
  • Business Associate Agreement
Where it costs you
  • The trial excludes SMS texting, so the feature most practices test first needs a one-time fee.
  • Heavy use may move an account to custom pricing even though no caps are stated.
  • Only communication tools are described on the pages, so records and billing need another system.
Right for

A clinic that mainly needs one shared line for calls, texts, faxes and video.

Wrong for

Practices wanting charting and claims inside the same product.

Not stated by the vendorPublished per user per month on two plans; 14-day trial; SMS carries a one-time fee

#4 Healthie

Practice platform with telehealth in every plan, sized by active clients

Ranked #4 of 11 in Best Telehealth Software in 2026.

Published pricingNorth America

Healthie works as a practice hub where telehealth comes included with scheduling, payments, charting and a mobile app. Core stops at 10 active clients, Essentials at 250, and Plus lifts the limit.

A 14-day trial of Plus needs no card. The site names behavioural health, nutrition and health coaching as clinical focus areas, so video sits beside records, which helps when notes and visits must stay together.

What stands out
  • Client-count plans
  • Telehealth in all plans
  • Client portal
Where it costs you
  • Group telehealth is not in the entry plans, so small group sessions push a practice up the ladder.
  • Each extra clinician on the Group plan adds a listed monthly charge.
  • The ClaimMD integration carries its own monthly price on top of the plan.
Right for

Dietitians, coaches and small clinics that want video bundled with charting.

Wrong for

Large health systems that need virtual nursing or bedside carts.

United StatesPublished monthly or annual plans by active clients; 14-day trial of Plus

#5 Whereby

Embeddable video rooms with a usage-billed developer tier

Ranked #5 of 11 in Best Telehealth Software in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingEurope

Whereby is video infrastructure more than a telehealth product. The meetings plans give Pro three rooms and 100 attendees, and Business unlimited rooms with a custom subdomain and a 14-day trial.

The Embedded route has a free test tier of 2,000 participant minutes a month. Founded in Norway as appear.in and owned since 2017 by Videonor, it focuses its engineering on Embedded, which suits a team writing its own app.

What stands out
  • Free plan
  • Embedded video
  • Per-host plans
Where it costs you
  • Free meetings end at 30 minutes with four attendees, which is tight for a routine consultation.
  • Pro allows one host while Business starts at three, leaving practices of two without a fitting tier.
  • Charting, notes and intake are absent from the listed features, so records live elsewhere.
Right for

Developers building video into their own patient app on usage billing.

Wrong for

Clinicians wanting a ready-made waiting room with notes included.

NorwayFree plan; Pro and Business billed per host; Embedded billed by usage

#6 Cliniko

Allied health practice system priced by practitioner count

Ranked #6 of 11 in Best Telehealth Software in 2026.

Published pricingAsia-Pacific

Cliniko prices by practitioner band, from one practitioner to a 26 to 200 band, and puts all features in each. Support is free and admin users are unlimited.

Features include scheduling, customisable treatment notes, reporting, an API for custom add-ons and data import and export, which eases leaving. Starting the trial requires no payment details. For telehealth it is a records anchor, not a video product.

What stands out
  • Practitioner bands
  • Treatment notes
  • Data import and export
Where it costs you
  • Telehealth video is not among the listed features, so a separate video tool is needed.
  • SMS credits are charged per message on top of the practitioner band.
  • Accounts outside Australia, the UK or Canada are housed on servers in Australia.
Right for

Allied health clinics that want records first and will add video separately.

Wrong for

Providers who want a single product that includes video visits.

AustraliaPublished monthly bands by practitioner count; 30-day trial

#7 SimplePractice

Therapy practice system with telehealth built into the EHR

Ranked #7 of 11 in Best Telehealth Software in 2026.

Published pricingNorth America

SimplePractice treats telehealth as one feature of a therapy record. The pricing page shows three solo tiers and a Plus group price for the first practitioner, with a lower rate for each added one.

The home page also advertises a free credentialing offer. The vendor is SimplePractice, LLC, in Santa Monica. For a clinician who values notes and insurance work in the same place, video is simply included.

What stands out
  • Integrated telehealth
  • Solo and group plans
  • Insurance tools
Where it costs you
  • The introductory discount applies for three months and only if a paid account starts within seven days.
  • Group pricing adds a charge for every additional practitioner.
  • Larger practices are moved to custom pricing, so the page gives no figure for them.
Right for

Therapists in solo or small group practice wanting video inside their EHR.

Wrong for

Buyers who only need a lightweight video room without records.

United StatesPublished monthly plans for solo and group practices; 30-day trial

#8 Updox

Fax, secure text and telehealth sold in usage-capped bundles

Ranked #8 of 11 in Best Telehealth Software in 2026.

Pricing on requestElsewhere

Updox puts telehealth inside a messaging suite and counts everything: 1,000 fax pages, 500 texts and 500 appointment reminders on Standard, with higher numbers on Enterprise.

Extra bundles add volume, and a Charge Capture plan exists. A buyer should estimate monthly sessions first, because the session cap is the tightest limit. The site gives a Denver address but no country statement, and no trial is named.

What stands out
  • Usage caps
  • Secure fax
  • Patient portal
Where it costs you
  • Standard caps telehealth at 75 sessions, so a busy clinic would outgrow it quickly.
  • No figures are published for Standard or Enterprise, so budgeting starts with a sales call.
  • Extra volume needs add-on bundles, which makes the monthly total hard to predict.
Right for

Practices that already live on fax and secure messaging and want video added.

Wrong for

Clinics that want unlimited video visits at a fixed monthly price.

Not stated by the vendorQuoted; Standard and Enterprise usage plans with session caps

#9 Caregility

Hospital virtual nursing and patient observation platform for inpatient wards

Ranked #9 of 11 in Best Telehealth Software in 2026.

Pricing on requestElsewhere

Caregility belongs to the inpatient end of the market, where the product is a platform with room devices and sensors rather than a video link. Its virtual nursing and observation features target admissions, discharges and high-risk monitoring.

Its inpatient engagement offer follows a subscription model with pay-as-you-go options, and the site cites a 2026 Epic Toolbox listing. Smaller buyers gain little, and hardware and rollout effort sit outside the licence.

What stands out
  • Virtual nursing
  • Hospital rooms
  • Epic integration
Where it costs you
  • Pricing is quote-based, with a value calculator and a team to walk buyers through it.
  • Its design centres on inpatient rooms and devices, which a small clinic does not need.
  • Headquarters country, ownership and hosting are not stated on the pages we read.
Right for

Hospitals building virtual nursing and observation programmes tied to Epic.

Wrong for

Private practices that need a simple waiting room and video link.

Not stated by the vendorQuoted; subscription terms with pay-as-you-go options

#10 Zoom for Healthcare

General video suite with a healthcare plan and EHR note sync

Ranked #10 of 11 in Best Telehealth Software in 2026.

Pricing on requestElsewhere

Zoom treats healthcare as an industry layer on its meeting suite. Pro shows monthly and annual per-user prices in US dollars, while the larger tiers need a conversation.

Integrations named on the healthcare page include Microsoft, ServiceNow, Google, Oracle, Salesforce and Atlassian. Zoom Clinical Note writes visit documentation into the EHR. The pages we read give no country or parent statement, and the BAA is a step the buyer must complete.

What stands out
  • Healthcare plans
  • 200+ integrations
  • Clinical Note
Where it costs you
  • HIPAA compliance requires a paid plan and a signed Business Associate Agreement.
  • The upper healthcare tiers are listed without prices.
  • As a company-wide suite it carries features a one-room clinic will not use.
Right for

Organisations already on Zoom that want visit notes synced into an EHR.

Wrong for

Solo clinicians wanting the cheapest, simplest path to a video visit.

Not stated by the vendorPro priced per user in the listed rates; higher tiers unpriced; HIPAA needs a paid plan

#11 Teladoc

Virtual care service sold to employers, health plans and hospitals

Ranked #11 of 11 in Best Telehealth Software in 2026.

Pricing on requestNorth America

Teladoc Health is headquartered in New York and sells a spread of programmes: Mental Health, BetterHelp, GLP-1 Prescription and Support, Integrated Care, Wellbound EAP and Solo Platform among them.

Hospitals can buy virtual nursing and connected care. A buyer looking to run their own clinic's visits should treat it as a different category of purchase, because the offer is the service and its network, not a licence.

What stands out
  • Care services
  • Hospital solutions
  • Employer programmes
Where it costs you
  • Service prices are missing from the page, apart from one promotional offer.
  • It sells care programmes and hospital solutions, not a visit tool for your own clinicians.
  • No ownership or acquisition statement appears on the pages we read.
Right for

Employers and health plans buying virtual care programmes for members.

Wrong for

Independent practices wanting their own video room and patient list.

United StatesNo prices on the home page; sold to individuals, employers, health plans and hospitals
06

How to choose telehealth software

Telehealth software provides secure video visits between clinicians and patients, usually with a waiting room, consent, messaging and notes, so care can be delivered remotely without general meeting tools. Differences that change the outcome seldom sit in the features. Here is the sequence we would follow.

  1. 01

    Work out how much a sales call is worth to you

    Prices are public at 7 products (Doxy.me, VSee, Spruce, Healthie, Whereby, Cliniko, SimplePractice) and on request at the remaining 4, so budget time for quotes if your favourite is in that second group.

  2. 02

    Decide how much the jurisdiction matters

    The vendors on this page are based in 4 countries (Elsewhere 6, North America 3, Europe 1, Asia-Pacific 1). The country of the contracting company sets which authorities can ask it for your data, whatever the hosting region.

Telehealth software that is only a video room: Doxy.me, Whereby and Zoom for Healthcare

The first split in this market is between products built for the clinical visit and general meeting tools. Doxy.me bundles the waiting room, check-in and note templates a clinician expects. Whereby offers rooms and an embedded API, and its free plan stops at four attendees and 30 minutes.

Zoom for Healthcare adds a Business Associate Agreement and EHR note sync, but only on a paid plan. A bare room is cheap, yet the missing steps then land on staff: consent, notes and intake sit in separate tools, and each handover is a place where information gets lost. Count the clicks a clinician needs from opening a visit to finishing a note.

  • Ask which visit steps are included: waiting room, check-in, consent, notes.
  • Check the free plan's limits against a normal consultation length.
  • Confirm that a signed BAA is available for the plan you would buy.

Pricing telehealth software: per provider, per client or per session

Telehealth vendors do not bill alike, so a headline price rarely compares. VSee charges per provider per month, with a free plan for one provider, a setup fee on Premium and EPCS e-prescribing through sales. Healthie bills by active clients, from 10 to unlimited. Updox meters usage, with 75 telehealth sessions on Standard and 500 on Enterprise.

Spruce bills per user, but its trial leaves out SMS texting. Work out your own volume first: providers, active clients and visits a month. A cheap plan with a hard cap can cost more than a larger one once extra bundles or fees arrive. Ask each vendor for a worked example at your own volume, in writing, before you compare totals.

  • Count providers, active clients and monthly visits before you compare plans.
  • List every fee outside the plan: setup, SMS, e-prescribing, integrations.
  • Ask what happens at the cap: block, upgrade or extra bundle.

Telehealth software inside a chart: SimplePractice, Healthie and Cliniko

Some practices want video as part of the record, not as a separate purchase. SimplePractice builds telehealth into an EHR aimed at therapy practices. Healthie includes telehealth in every plan beside scheduling, charting, payments and a client portal. Cliniko handles treatment notes and scheduling, but video is not among its listed features, so it would need a partner tool.

The trade-off is lock-in: a record that holds your notes and your video is harder to leave. Check export and import options early, as Cliniko lists both. Also ask what happens to visit history and consent records if you later change record system, because those are the items practices most often forget to request.

  • Test whether a visit can be started and charted without leaving the record.
  • Ask how notes and client lists export before you sign.
  • Check whether group sessions need a higher plan, as with Healthie.

Hospital and programme telehealth: Caregility, Teladoc and Spruce

At the other end of the market, products are sold to institutions rather than clinicians. Caregility links hospital rooms, devices and virtual nursing teams and prices by quote. Teladoc sells care programmes aimed at employers, insurers and hospitals, with no service prices on its front page. These are poor picks for a clinic wanting its own video link.

Spruce sits in the middle: a communication platform joining phone, text, fax and video for a practice, with a per-user price and a Business Associate Agreement offered to eligible organisations. Decide first whether you buy a tool or a service. A licence puts your own clinicians in front of their own patients; a service puts the vendor's network between you and the patient, with its own terms and costs.

  • Decide whether you need a licence for your own staff or a care service.
  • Ask hospital-focused vendors what hardware and rollout work sit outside the licence.
  • Check that a Business Associate Agreement is offered where patient data is handled.

What goes wrong most often when buying telehealth software

  • Choosing a free video plan and discovering later that one provider, four attendees or 30-minute meetings does not fit a normal consultation.
  • Comparing per-provider, per-client and per-session prices as if they were the same unit, then missing a session cap such as Updox's 75 on Standard.
  • Treating a trial as the full product when it leaves out part of it, as Spruce's trial does with SMS texting.
  • Buying a hospital platform or a care service when the real need is a simple, branded video link for a small practice.
07

Frequently asked questions

6 answers
What is the best telehealth software in 2026?

First of 11 on this page is Doxy.me. Doxy.me is a video platform for healthcare professionals, built around a waiting room, check-in, session history and SOAP and DAP notes.

A free version exists for providers just starting out, and Premium adds group calls of up to 25 participants. It ranks first because a solo clinician can begin without paying. The vendor names no parent company or hosting model, so scale and data location need a direct question.

Which telehealth tools publish their pricing?

7 out of 11 state a price model on their own site:

  • Doxy.me: Free version for new providers; Premium billed per user per month; free trial.
  • VSee: Free plan for one provider; Plus and Premium priced per provider per month; Enterprise quoted.
  • Spruce: Published per user per month on two plans; 14-day trial; SMS carries a one-time fee.
  • Healthie: Published monthly or annual plans by active clients; 14-day trial of Plus.
  • Whereby: Free plan; Pro and Business billed per host; Embedded billed by usage.
  • Cliniko: Published monthly bands by practitioner count; 30-day trial.
  • SimplePractice: Published monthly plans for solo and group practices; 30-day trial.

The remaining 4 sell by quote.

Is there a free telehealth tool?

Doxy.me, VSee, Whereby can be used for free, either as a free plan or a self-hosted edition.

Where are these telehealth software vendors established?

Vendor countries on this page, Elsewhere 6, North America 3, Europe 1, Asia-Pacific 1:

  • Doxy.me: Not stated by the vendor.
  • VSee: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Spruce: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Healthie: United States.
  • Whereby: Norway.
  • Cliniko: Australia.
  • SimplePractice: United States.
  • Updox: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Caregility: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Zoom for Healthcare: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Teladoc: United States.
What should you use instead of Doxy.me?

Second is VSee, which suits small teams that want a free start and room to add remote monitoring later.. Third is Spruce, which suits a clinic that mainly needs one shared line for calls, texts, faxes and video..

Who should not buy Doxy.me?

Teams that need scheduling, billing and records in the same product.. Group calls are capped at 25 participants on Premium, which rules out larger classes or panels..

—

Tools reviewed

11 products
—

More Operations software advice

16 guides

For software vendors

Not on this list?

Do you make a telehealth software product that is not listed here? Describe what it does and who buys it. We decide on inclusion, a listing cannot be bought, and the details are under software advice.

Suggest a product →