Reference management software stores the papers, books and web pages a writer cites, then formats citations and bibliographies in a chosen style.
The market spans a nonprofit, volunteer open-source editors, per-user subscriptions and publisher-owned products. This guide ranks eleven tools on setup effort, real price, how a library leaves the tool, independence from publishers and who each is built for.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What reference management software does
Reference management software collects bibliographic records and attached PDFs in a searchable library, then inserts in-text citations and generates formatted bibliographies in word processors and LaTeX documents.
Five tests decide the order: setup effort, real cost, how your data leaves, whether you can walk away, and who the reference management tool was built for. Vendors outside the best-known names fill places 1 to 3 when they exist, and the big brands rank from place 4. We explain on how we work why the tests are these five and why no product receives a score.
Nonprofit-run, open-source library manager with free sync and paid file storage
Ranked #1 of 11 in Best Reference Management Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingNorth America
Zotero's design choice is that the library lives on your computer first and syncs second. Data syncing, covering items, notes and tags, is free and unlimited; attachments are the layer that costs money, with 300 MB included and larger plans for individuals, labs and institutions.
Group libraries can be created at no charge. Word processor plugins for Word, LibreOffice and Google Docs are bundled with the application. Funding comes from storage subscriptions, which explains why files are the paid part.
What stands out
Open source
Word and Google Docs
300 MB file storage
Where it costs you
File storage beyond 300 MB needs a paid plan or a WebDAV server of your own
Group libraries draw their file space from the group owner's storage account
Right for
Students and research groups wanting a durable library with no vendor to depend on
Wrong for
Teams needing a vendor helpdesk contract and single sign-on
United StatesFree to use; published storage subscriptions for larger file allowances
Volunteer-built BibTeX-native reference manager storing libraries as plain text files
Ranked #2 of 11 in Best Reference Management Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
JabRef treats the BibTeX file as the database. Import covers over 15 reference formats, metadata can be fetched from an ISBN, DOI, PubMed-ID or arXiv-ID, and groups can be built from keywords or saved searches.
Cite-as-you-write works with editors such as Emacs, TeXstudio and Vim, and Word and LibreOffice are supported for formatted citations. The code is MIT licensed and developed on GitHub. Collaboration depends on the file sharing you already run, since the project hosts no library service.
What stands out
BibTeX and BibLaTeX
MIT licence
Word and LibreOffice
Where it costs you
No hosted sync or storage service appears on its feature list
Support runs through a forum and chat, staffed by volunteers working in their free time
Right for
LaTeX and Markdown writers who want references kept in one plain text file
Wrong for
Anyone expecting built-in cloud sync and a vendor helpdesk
Not stated by the vendorFree of charge; donations accepted
Browser-based manager tied to Google accounts, priced per user with annual billing
Ranked #3 of 11 in Best Reference Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Paperpile's pricing is easy to read: a Regular plan for storing PDFs and citing, an Expert plan adding full-text search across PDFs, notes, annotations, shared libraries, any file type and custom styles, and a quoted Enterprise plan with SAML single sign-on and HIPAA.
Academics get 50% off, plans bill annually, and the trial runs 30 days. Storage is described as unlimited, and the product connects to Google Drive for the files you upload.
What stands out
Google sign-in
Chrome extension
Google Docs plugin
Where it costs you
Sign-in is through a Google account, the only method shown on the sign-up page
Full-text PDF search and shared libraries need the higher Expert plan
Right for
Researchers who write in Google Docs and want a hosted library per user
Wrong for
Anyone without a Google account or needing a permanently free plan
United StatesPublished per user per month, billed annually; 30-day trial; Enterprise quoted
Mac reference manager with an iOS companion and a 50-reference demo
Ranked #4 of 11 in Best Reference Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Bookends is a Mac application with an iOS companion, which separates it from web-first tools. The demo runs every feature until the library reaches 50 references, so you can test import, search and citation on a real project.
A registration code removes the limit and covers two years of updates; the page does not say what later updates cost, so ask before buying. Purchase happens on a separate Buy page, and no company address appears on the product page.
What stands out
Mac and iOS
50-reference demo
Two years of updates
Where it costs you
Updates are covered for two years from the registration code, and later terms are not stated
Mac and iOS only, with no Windows version listed
Right for
Mac researchers who want to test a full-featured demo before buying a code
Wrong for
Windows or Linux users, or anyone needing a hosted web library
Not stated by the vendorPaid registration code; amount on a separate Buy page; demo limited to 50 references
Mac-only open-source bibliography editor aimed at LaTeX users, free of charge
Ranked #5 of 11 in Best Reference Management Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
BibDesk is a Mac bibliography manager for editing bibliographic data along with associated files and web links, and its page calls it particularly well suited to LaTeX users. It costs nothing, with contributions appreciated, and the project is listed on SourceForge.
Beyond that the page is sparse: it mentions no sync service, no group libraries and no Word integration, so evaluate it as a personal editor on one machine. The platform requirement of OS X 10.13 or later is stated explicitly.
What stands out
Mac only
LaTeX users
Files and web links
Where it costs you
Runs on Mac only, requiring OS X 10.13 or later
No maintainers or organisation are named on the project page
Right for
Mac users writing in LaTeX who want a local bibliography editor
Wrong for
Windows, Linux or mobile users, and teams wanting shared libraries
Not stated by the vendorFree of charge; contributions appreciated
Desktop and web reference manager sold by Lumivero, with an on-premise team server
Ranked #6 of 11 in Best Reference Management Software in 2026.
Self-hostablePricing on requestNorth America
Citavi comes as a browser version and a desktop one, and individuals can buy either or both. Storage is the notable choice: cloud, local drive or institutional server, with DBServer for teams that must keep data inside their own network.
Integrations listed are a Microsoft Word add-in, a browser picker and NVivo Desktop, while Google Docs is handled by pasting formatted citations. Cloud storage is sold as an optional add-on, so the total depends on the options chosen.
What stands out
Web and Desktop
DBServer option
NVivo integration
Where it costs you
Trial length and cloud server location are not stated on the product page
Prices depend on platform and licence type, so comparing costs needs a quote or a basket
Right for
University departments and teams of ten or more wanting hosting on their own servers
Wrong for
Individuals wanting a permanently free plan or a visible price list
United StatesPaid licences by platform and licence type; groups of ten or more quoted; trial offered
Digital Science reference manager with AI chat over PDFs and per-user plans
Ranked #7 of 11 in Best Reference Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
ReadCube Papers renamed its tiers. Essentials, formerly Papers Essentials, covers core reference management, the browser extension, SmartCite and basic AI chat with PDFs. Plus, formerly Papers Pro, adds groups of up to ten users, extended chat and advanced search.
Enterprise, formerly ReadCube Pro, brings single sign-on, an admin dashboard and a Research Assistant on a quote. Yearly billing costs less than twelve monthly payments on both lower tiers.
What stands out
AI chat with PDFs
SmartCite
Digital Science
Where it costs you
AI chat on Essentials is limited per day, with extended chat only on Plus
Groups of up to ten users need Plus, and larger groups need a quoted Enterprise plan
Right for
Individual researchers wanting AI chat over their PDFs at a published per-user price
Wrong for
Anyone needing a permanently free plan or an independent vendor
Not stated by the vendorPublished per user per month or year; 30-day trial of Plus; Enterprise quoted
Free-to-start citation generator with Word and Google Docs download, no ads
Ranked #8 of 11 in Best Reference Management Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
MyBib's home page is built around speed: type a title or paste a URL or ISBN, and Autocite fills a citation for websites, books, journals, newspapers and videos. APA, MLA, Chicago and Harvard are named alongside over 10,000 other styles, and results download to Word and Google Docs.
The site links to a GitHub account and a support address. It describes a free start without listing later tiers, so confirm nothing is withheld before relying on it for a long project.
What stands out
No ads or trackers
10,000+ styles
Autocite
Where it costs you
The home page lists no PDF storage, annotation or shared libraries
Paid plans, if any, and the operating company are not shown
Right for
Students who need quick bibliographies for single essays without installing software
Wrong for
Researchers managing hundreds of PDFs across a long thesis project
Not stated by the vendorFree to get started; no paid plans or prices shown on the home page
Sciwheel, renamed Lean Library Workspace, with sign-up and demo routes
Ranked #9 of 11 in Best Reference Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Sciwheel's own sign-up page now carries the Lean Library Workspace name, which signals a rebrand rather than a separate product. It offers a Start for free route with no credit card required, though the terms are not described, and the main site's call to action is Request a demo.
Pricing, plan limits, import and export formats and Word integration are not visible on the pages checked, so each must be confirmed in writing before a decision.
What stands out
Renamed product
Library-linked
Demo request
Where it costs you
No price, plan list or ownership statement appears on the pages checked
After the rename, the product can be found under either name, which muddies comparisons
Right for
Librarians evaluating a library-linked tool and willing to book a demo
Wrong for
Individuals comparing visible prices before they commit to a trial
Not stated by the vendorQuoted on request after a demo; sign-up without a card offered
Elsevier-run manager whose Premium plan has moved into LeapSpace AI subscriptions
Ranked #10 of 11 in Best Reference Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Mendeley's pricing page was rewritten around LeapSpace, which Elsevier describes as an AI workspace built on Scopus data and full text from Elsevier and other publishers.
Paid AI features reach into Mendeley: Ask My Library searches, summarises and compares saved PDFs, and a Reading Assistant explains any document. A Word add-in is part of the plan. A 2020 notice says Mendeley refocused on reference management, research data management and citation.
What stands out
Elsevier
Word add-in
LeapSpace AI
Where it costs you
The pricing page prices AI features, and the cost of the plain library is not shown there
The individual plans are stated not to be for corporate use
Right for
Academics already inside Elsevier tools who want AI summaries over saved PDFs
Wrong for
Corporate teams and buyers wanting a vendor without a publishing business
Not stated by the vendorPaid AI subscription published monthly and yearly; organisation access quoted
Clarivate's reference manager, sold as EndNote 2025 with Fusion and Web editions
Ranked #11 of 11 in Best Reference Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
EndNote 2025 is the edition individuals buy, with cloud sync, team library sharing, smart groups, one-click capture and Word and Google Docs integration. Unlimited storage and AI-assisted search are listed as 2025 additions, and AI can summarise papers, answer follow-up questions and translate PDFs.
EndNote Web is the browser version, EndNote Fusion the new institutional offering, and the former RefWorks web address now redirects into the Fusion page. Multi-user and site licences go through sales.
What stands out
7,000+ styles
Retraction alerts
Fusion edition
Where it costs you
No price or trial length appears on the home page
The line-up spans EndNote 2025, EndNote Web, Fusion and legacy EndNote Online, which complicates choosing
Right for
Universities and companies wanting a vendor-backed manager with Word and Google Docs plugins
Wrong for
Solo users who want a posted price before talking to anyone
Not stated by the vendorBuy page for individuals with no price on the home page; multi-user and site licences quoted; trial offered
Reference management software collects bibliographic records and attached PDFs in a searchable library, then inserts in-text citations and generates formatted bibliographies in word processors and LaTeX documents. Products in this area look alike on a feature list, so we would decide these questions first.
01
Work out how much a sales call is worth to you
Only 7 of the 11 print a price; 4 quote per organisation. Comparable without a sales call: Zotero, JabRef, Paperpile, BibDesk, ReadCube Papers, MyBib, Mendeley.
02
Look at where the vendor sits
Check the vendor's home market (Elsewhere 8, North America 3), because that is where subpoenas and data requests arrive first, whatever region holds your files.
03
Check the open source options
2 of these are open source: Zotero, BibDesk. Hosting one yourself trades a subscription for maintenance.
Zotero, JabRef and Bookends: where the library file actually lives
The question that decides regret in this market is what you hold when you stop paying or the vendor changes course. Zotero keeps the library on your computer and syncs data for nothing, charging only for attachment storage beyond 300 MB. JabRef saves everything in a plain text file, so a library can be copied, versioned and read by other programs.
Bookends and BibDesk are Mac programs with local libraries, though Bookends needs a registration code once the demo reaches 50 references. Hosted tools such as Paperpile and Sciwheel keep your collection in an account, which is convenient until you need to leave. Test exit with a real library of fifty items before you commit, not with a sample file.
Export your trial library to BibTeX or RIS and re-import it elsewhere.
Ask where PDF attachments are stored and what happens when a subscription ends.
Check whether the vendor documents its file format.
Paperpile, ReadCube Papers and Mendeley: what a subscription covers
Subscriptions in this category pay for different things. Paperpile publishes two annual per-user plans, with full-text PDF search and shared libraries only on the upper one. ReadCube Papers splits Essentials, Plus and a quoted Enterprise tier by AI chat limits and group size, and gives academics 40% off.
Mendeley's pricing page now sells LeapSpace, an AI workspace, so the AI features are what carries the price. Zotero charges for storage rather than features. Compare plans by the feature you will use daily, such as shared folders or PDF chat, and then multiply by the number of authors who need seats. Academic discounts change the answer, so state your status before you ask for a quote.
List the three features you will use every week and find the plan that holds them.
Ask whether academic discounts apply to your whole team.
Confirm what stays usable if you stop paying.
Word, Google Docs or LaTeX: choose by the writing tool first
A reference manager earns its keep inside the document, so start from where you write. Zotero bundles plugins for Word, LibreOffice and Google Docs. Paperpile leans on Google Docs and a Chrome extension. JabRef is built around BibTeX and BibLaTeX, with cite-as-you-write support for Emacs, TeXstudio and Vim as well as Word and LibreOffice.
Citavi offers a Word add-in but handles Google Docs by pasting formatted citations, and MyBib exports to Word and Google Docs. EndNote lists Word and Google Docs integration. A manager whose plugin lags your word processor after an update becomes a daily obstacle, so run one real chapter through each shortlisted tool, including the moment you switch citation style and the moment a co-author edits the same file.
Insert fifty citations in your real manuscript and change the style once.
Check the plugin supports your exact version of Word or Docs.
Open the file in your co-author's setup before you commit.
EndNote, Citavi and Sciwheel: institutional licences and who pays
Many researchers never choose their manager; the library does. EndNote sells multi-user and site licences through sales, and its newer Fusion edition is aimed at librarians with admin controls. Citavi offers volume pricing for ten or more users and an on-premise DBServer for institutions that keep data in-house.
Sciwheel, now Lean Library Workspace, leads with a demo request. If your university licenses one of these, the free access is real but ends when you graduate or move, so keep an export of your library in a neutral format. If you buy for a lab, ask about group libraries, administration and what leaving costs when the grant or the project ends and the seats are removed.
Ask your library which manager it licenses and for how long.
Request a written price for your group size and a second-year figure.
Keep a yearly export in BibTeX or RIS regardless of the licence.
What goes wrong most often when buying reference management software
Choosing a manager because a colleague uses it without checking it supports your word processor version.
Importing a few hundred PDFs into a hosted tool with no export test, then discovering the storage limit or a price rise later.
Treating a university-supplied licence as permanent and having no neutral-format copy of the library after leaving.
Comparing per-user prices without noting which plan holds the shared folders, full-text search or AI chat you actually need.
07
Frequently asked questions
8 answers
What is the best reference management software in 2026?
First of 11 on this page is Zotero. Zotero is a project of Digital Scholar, a nonprofit based in Vienna, Virginia, so no shareholder owns the roadmap. Data syncing is free and unlimited, while file syncing includes 300 MB before paid plans for 2 GB, 6 GB or unlimited space.
Plugins for Word, LibreOffice and Google Docs ship with it. The weak point is storage: PDF-heavy libraries outgrow the free allowance quickly or need a WebDAV server.
Which reference management tools publish their pricing?
The ones that do, with the model each states:
Zotero: Free to use; published storage subscriptions for larger file allowances.
JabRef: Free of charge; donations accepted.
Paperpile: Published per user per month, billed annually; 30-day trial; Enterprise quoted.
BibDesk: Free of charge; contributions appreciated.
ReadCube Papers: Published per user per month or year; 30-day trial of Plus; Enterprise quoted.
MyBib: Free to get started; no paid plans or prices shown on the home page.
Mendeley: Paid AI subscription published monthly and yearly; organisation access quoted.
The other 4 quote per organisation.
Is there a free reference management tool?
Zotero, JabRef, BibDesk, MyBib have a free plan or free self-hosted edition.
Where are these reference management software vendors established?
Across 2 countries (Elsewhere 8, North America 3):
Zotero: United States.
JabRef: Not stated by the vendor.
Paperpile: United States.
Bookends: Not stated by the vendor.
BibDesk: Not stated by the vendor.
Citavi: United States.
ReadCube Papers: Not stated by the vendor.
MyBib: Not stated by the vendor.
Sciwheel: Not stated by the vendor.
Mendeley: Not stated by the vendor.
EndNote: Not stated by the vendor.
Which reference management tools are open source?
Zotero, BibDesk.
Which reference management tools can you host yourself?
Citavi. The other 10 are hosted by the vendor only.
What should you use instead of Zotero?
The next in line are JabRef, aimed at LaTeX and Markdown writers who want references kept in one plain text file, and Paperpile, aimed at Researchers who write in Google Docs and want a hosted library per user.
Who should not buy Zotero?
Teams needing a vendor helpdesk contract and single sign-on. File storage beyond 300 MB needs a paid plan or a WebDAV server of your own.
Makers of reference management software products can ask us to look at theirs. Say what it does and who uses it. We choose what to add, and nothing can be bought; see software advice for what a listing means.