Audiobook apps deliver narrated books to a phone through very different deals: unlimited subscriptions, credit memberships, single purchases, library loans and free volunteer recordings.
This guide lists twelve apps and ranks them on setup effort, real monthly cost, what you keep after leaving, independence from a retailer and the listener each one suits.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What audiobook apps software does
An audiobook app plays narrated books on a phone or tablet, and supplies them through a subscription, credits, one-off purchases, library lending or free public domain recordings.
Setup effort, true cost, data portability, exit options and buyer fit are the five tests, applied in that order to every audiobook apps tool here. Vendors outside the best-known names fill places 1 to 3 when they exist, and the big brands rank from place 4. Our how we work page explains the choice of these five and why we give no mark out of ten.
Volunteer-read public domain audiobooks, ad-free and non-profit
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Audiobook Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
LibriVox began in August 2005 and describes its goal as making public domain books available, read by real people. Texts come mainly from Project Gutenberg, and the project says its audio is donated to the public domain.
Nothing is charged and the site is ad-free. The cost is selection: old books can carry outdated language, and the pages we read name no official app.
What stands out
Public domain
Volunteer narrators
Ad-free
Where it costs you
The catalogue holds only books in the public domain, so recent releases are absent
Narration quality depends on individual volunteers and varies from book to book
Right for
Listeners of classic literature who want free recordings without accounts or adverts
Wrong for
Anyone wanting current bestsellers or a polished professional cast
Not stated by the vendorFree; volunteer-run and funded by occasional donation drives
Hour-capped streaming plans for audiobooks and ebooks from BookBeat AB
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Audiobook Apps in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
BookBeat counts time instead of titles. Audiobook hours are measured at normal narration speed, so speeding playback does not stretch an allowance, and ebooks are converted to time at an average reading pace.
Downloads are limited only by device storage. The Dutch page offers a 30-day trial with 20 hours, and up to five household members can share an account, one listener per profile.
What stands out
Hour-based plans
Offline downloads
Family profiles
Where it costs you
Basic caps listening at 20 hours a month on the Dutch page, which a commuter can pass
Extra profiles carry their own monthly fee, and family members can only be added after the trial
Right for
Regular listeners who want a predictable monthly bill and offline downloads
Wrong for
Heavy listeners who finish several long books a week
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly plans by listening hours; 30-day free trial
Audiobook and ebook subscription with three tiers and four family profiles
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Audiobook Apps in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Nextory runs one catalogue of 1.4 million audiobooks and ebooks across tiers that differ only in hours and simultaneous use. On the German page Family allows four profiles to listen at once, whereas Basic and Premium allow one.
A market selector lists twelve countries, each with its own terms. The 14-day trial carries 30 hours, which is shorter than the 30 days BookBeat gives.
What stands out
Hour-based plans
Family plan
Twelve markets
Where it costs you
The Basic plan allows 25 hours a month, so heavy listeners need a higher tier
Family profiles can only be added once the 14-day trial has ended
Right for
Households sharing one subscription across several listening profiles
Wrong for
Shoppers who want to own the files after they cancel
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly plans by hours; 14-day free trial
Daily discounted audiobooks you buy outright, with no membership
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Audiobook Apps in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Chirp turns the usual model around: no subscription, just deals. The page lists prices of 2 to 6 dollars, says past deals started at 1 dollar, and sends a daily email with new offers.
Titles are described as owned and play in the Chirp app. That suits patient shoppers; it fails when you need one particular book today at a fixed price.
What stands out
Pay per book
Daily deals
Own outright
Where it costs you
It sells only individual titles on sale, so a specific book may not be discounted
Our fetch was blocked by a bot check, so its terms and company details remain unread
Right for
Occasional listeners hunting cheap single audiobooks without any monthly commitment
Wrong for
Anyone who needs a specific series on a fixed schedule
Not stated by the vendorPublished per-book deal prices; no subscription or membership fee
Library-card app for audiobooks, ebooks, comics, film and music
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Audiobook Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Hoopla sits between a library and a streaming app. Midwest Tape, an Ohio company, has supplied media to public libraries for over twenty-five years, and the service pairs that with instant borrowing, so no queue forms for a title.
Content spans audiobooks, ebooks, comics, video and music. The listener pays nothing directly, but the library pays Hoopla, and the library decides whether you can use it at all.
What stands out
Library card
Instant borrows
Audio and video
Where it costs you
Access disappears if your library stops participating or your membership lapses
Borrow allowances and loan periods are not stated on the help pages we fetched
Right for
Library members who want audiobooks, comics and film from one app
Wrong for
Readers whose library does not take part in the service
United StatesFree with a participating public library membership
OverDrive's free library app with holds, offline downloads and Kindle sending
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Audiobook Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Libby is the reading app of OverDrive, whose company page counts 92,000 libraries and schools in 115 countries. You borrow with a card, stream or download, and adjust font, layout and lighting for ebooks.
Audiobooks play through CarPlay, Android Auto and Bluetooth. The catalogue is whatever your library bought, so a small library means a short shelf, and the loans end by date.
What stands out
Library lending
Holds and tags
Offline listening
Where it costs you
Popular titles sit behind holds, and each library decides which titles it licenses
Send to Kindle is limited to US libraries
Right for
Library card holders who want holds, tags and offline listening in one app
Wrong for
Listeners who want any title on demand without a waiting list
Not stated by the vendorFree with a library card; the library chooses what is offered
Bolinda Digital's library app for eAudiobooks, eBooks, newspapers and magazines
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Audiobook Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
BorrowBox is published by Bolinda Digital Pty Ltd and treats the library as the customer. The page walks through five steps ending in activation with library membership, and lists eAudiobooks, eBooks, eNewspapers and eMagazines.
Supported devices include iPhone, iPad, Android phones and tablets, and Kindle Fire. Support goes through an email address on the page, and the cost to you is whatever your library charges, which may be nothing.
What stands out
Library lending
Kindle Fire app
Newspapers and magazines
Where it costs you
The page publishes no catalogue size, so the shelf depends on your library service
It needs a membership of a library that has joined, with no direct signup
Right for
Public library members, especially Kindle Fire owners, wanting free eAudiobooks and magazines
Wrong for
Anyone without a library card at a participating service
Not stated by the vendorFree with a membership of a participating local library
Stockholm-based streaming subscription sold in more than 25 launched markets
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Audiobook Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Storytel AB (publ) is listed as headquartered in Stockholm, with more than 25 launched markets on its group site. The group reports its subscriber numbers in quarterly reports, and its investor pages are public.
What we could not read were consumer plan cards, so the first step for a buyer is to open the page for their own country and write down the plan, hours and trial terms.
What stands out
Streaming subscription
25+ markets
Stockholm
Where it costs you
Plan amounts are not verified here because our fetches redirected to a sign-in page
Plans differ by market, so a comparison made in one country may not hold in another
Right for
Listeners in Storytel's markets who want a large streaming catalogue
Wrong for
Buyers who need a price before creating an account
SwedenMonthly subscription; plans and amounts differ by market
Credit-based membership with a 30-day trial and a 10,000-title free shelf
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Audiobook Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Audiobooks.com offers a 30-day trial with one book from the full library plus two VIP titles, and a shelf of 10,000 free audiobooks. After that, members buy content with credits that roll over, though subscription credits lapse after three months.
Credits bought through Apple or Google do not expire. The terms name Storytel Audiobooks USA LLC and a Canadian address, which can confuse a buyer checking the operator.
What stands out
Credit membership
Free shelf
Storytel-owned entity
Where it costs you
Monthly subscription credits expire three months after issue
The terms give no refunds on subscription charges, and the trial converts automatically
Right for
Credit buyers who want a catalogue bigger than any one subscriber's reading speed
Wrong for
People who dislike auto-converting trials and non-refundable charges
CanadaMonthly credit membership; 30-day free trial; amounts not shown on the page we read
Scribd's subscription with unlock allowances on top of unlimited audio and podcasts
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Audiobook Apps in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Everand layers three monthly plans over one catalogue. Everyone gets unlimited access to 20,000 audiobooks, ebooks and podcasts, while unlocks add single titles from a 1.5 million library for the length of the subscription.
Standard gives 1 unlock, Plus 3, Deluxe 5, with Fable Plus included. A 30-day trial carries one unlock, and Everand Originals appear on the page.
What stands out
Unlock allowance
Ebooks and podcasts
Scribd Inc.
Where it costs you
Unlock-based plans mean the 1.5 million book library is only reachable one title at a time
The page we read did not state a headquarters country
Right for
Mixed readers who want unlimited audio, ebooks and podcasts plus a few premium unlocks
Wrong for
Listeners who want to keep every book after cancelling
United StatesPublished monthly plans by unlocks; 30-day free trial
Text-to-speech reader that voices your own documents and ebooks
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Audiobook Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Speechify reads text you supply, so it competes with audiobook apps only when no audiobook exists for what you want to hear.
The free plan limits speed to 1.5x and uses ten robotic voices; Premium gives more than 1,000 voices in over 60 languages. A separate API page covers developer pricing. It does not sell narrated books, so it is a companion to the apps above.
What stands out
Text-to-speech
Voice typing
Developer API
Where it costs you
The free plan voices are ten robotic-sounding ones, with natural voices only on Premium
Premium is priced monthly or yearly, so the monthly rate costs far more than the discounted yearly one
Right for
Readers who want their own PDFs, articles and ebooks read aloud at speed
Wrong for
Listeners wanting a human narrator's performance of a published novel
United StatesFree plan; Premium published monthly or yearly; separate API pricing
Amazon affiliate selling credit memberships whose purchased titles you keep
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Audiobook Apps in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Audible offers two UK memberships: Standard and Premium. Premium includes a credit each month that rolls over until used or until the membership ends.
Anything bought with credits or cash remains yours after cancelling, which separates it from catalogue-access services. Audible, Inc. says in its terms that it is an Amazon affiliate and an Amazon service, so independence from a retailer is low.
What stands out
Credit membership
Keep purchases
Amazon affiliate
Where it costs you
Plus Catalogue titles and Standard selections are lost when you cancel
Introductory prices are time-limited, and the offer dates change on the page
Right for
Buyers who want to keep purchased titles permanently and use rolling credits
Wrong for
Shoppers who want no tie to Amazon's ecosystem
United StatesPublished monthly memberships; credit rollover; 30-day trial for new members
An audiobook app plays narrated books on a phone or tablet, and supplies them through a subscription, credits, one-off purchases, library lending or free public domain recordings. Rather than compare features, settle the following points one after another.
01
Work out how much a sales call is worth to you
The split is 10 published against 2 quoted. If you want to compare numbers first, start with LibriVox, BookBeat, Nextory, Chirp, Hoopla, Libby, BorrowBox, Everand, Speechify, Audible.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
Where a company is established decides which courts and regulators can reach it. Here that means 4 countries: Elsewhere 6, North America 5, Europe 1.
Audiobook apps sell five different things: Nextory, BookBeat, Audible and the rest
The label hides five business models. Nextory and BookBeat rent a streaming catalogue by the hour. Audible and Audiobooks.com sell credits that buy a title. Chirp sells single discounted books with no membership. Libby, Hoopla and BorrowBox lend through a library card.
LibriVox records public domain books for free. A listener who wants to keep books will be disappointed by a streaming plan, and a bestseller reader will be frustrated by a free shelf. Decide which of the five models matches how you actually listen before comparing prices, and ask what remains once you stop paying.
Name the model: rent by hour, credits, per book, library or free
Ask what is left on your phone after you cancel
Check that the books you want exist in that model
Real monthly cost: hours, credits, unlocks and free library access
Prices cannot be compared directly because each app counts something different. BookBeat and Nextory limit hours a month and charge for extra profiles. Audible Premium includes one credit that rolls over, while Audiobooks.com credits lapse after three months. Everand grants unlocks on top of unlimited audio and podcasts.
Libby, Hoopla and BorrowBox cost the listener nothing, though your library decides what exists, and Chirp prices each title. Convert each offer into the number of books you finish in a month and divide, then check whether the introductory price changes after the trial or promotion.
Count books finished per month before choosing a plan
Find the price after the promotional period ends
Check whether extra family profiles carry a separate fee
Leaving: ownership, rented catalogues and library loans
Exit is where the models differ most. Audible states titles bought with credits or cash stay yours after cancelling, and Chirp describes its books as owned. Everand unlocks last only for the length of the subscription, and BookBeat and Nextory are streaming services.
Library loans from Libby, Hoopla and BorrowBox end by date, and Hoopla access ends if you stop being a library patron. Audiobooks.com offers no refunds on subscription charges and lets credits expire. A listener who changes phones or countries should know which of these they can take with them.
Ask whether purchased titles can be played after cancelling
Check how credits expire and whether they roll over
Read the refund and auto-renewal terms before the trial
Availability depends on your country and your library
Several apps in this market are bound to place. Nextory lists twelve markets, Storytel more than 25 launched markets, and BookBeat shows a country selector with its own prices.
Library apps depend on whether your local service has joined: Libby covers libraries across many countries, Hoopla is tied to participating libraries, and BorrowBox needs a library that has signed with Bolinda Digital. Send to Kindle in Libby is limited to US libraries. Prices on this page come from single country pages and will differ elsewhere, so check your own market before signing up.
Open the plan page for your own country, not a global one
Check your library service before relying on a library app
Confirm the narrator and language exist in your market
What goes wrong most often when buying audiobook apps software
Comparing a 20-hour monthly plan with a one-credit plan as if each gave the same number of books.
Starting a trial without noting the cancellation date when it converts to a paid plan automatically.
Assuming a streaming subscription lets you keep titles after you stop paying.
Skipping the library apps because you expect the catalogue to be small, without checking what your own library licenses.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best audiobook apps in 2026?
Our ranking of 12 puts LibriVox first. LibriVox records books already in the public domain, mostly sourced from Project Gutenberg, and calls itself a non-commercial, non-profit and ad-free project.
Listening costs nothing and there is no account wall. The catalogue stops at old books, readers are unpaid volunteers whose delivery varies, and the pages we read name no app, so a phone listener must pick one.
Which audiobook apps tools publish their pricing?
10 of the 12, with the pricing model each one publishes:
LibriVox: Free; volunteer-run and funded by occasional donation drives.
BookBeat: Published monthly plans by listening hours; 30-day free trial.
Nextory: Published monthly plans by hours; 14-day free trial.
Chirp: Published per-book deal prices; no subscription or membership fee.
Hoopla: Free with a participating public library membership.
Libby: Free with a library card; the library chooses what is offered.
BorrowBox: Free with a membership of a participating local library.
Everand: Published monthly plans by unlocks; 30-day free trial.
Speechify: Free plan; Premium published monthly or yearly; separate API pricing.
Audible: Published monthly memberships; credit rollover; 30-day trial for new members.
The other 2 quote per organisation.
Is there a free audiobook apps tool?
LibriVox, Hoopla, Libby, BorrowBox, Speechify can be used for free, either as a free plan or a self-hosted edition.
Where are these audiobook apps vendors established?
Across 4 countries (Elsewhere 6, North America 5, Europe 1):
LibriVox: Not stated by the vendor.
BookBeat: Not stated by the vendor.
Nextory: Not stated by the vendor.
Chirp: Not stated by the vendor.
Hoopla: United States.
Libby: Not stated by the vendor.
BorrowBox: Not stated by the vendor.
Storytel: Sweden.
Audiobooks.com: Canada.
Everand: United States.
Speechify: United States.
Audible: United States.
What should you use instead of LibriVox?
Look at BookBeat (made for Regular listeners who want a predictable monthly bill and offline downloads) and Nextory (made for Households sharing one subscription across several listening profiles), which hold places two and three.
Who should not buy LibriVox?
Anyone wanting current bestsellers or a polished professional cast. The catalogue holds only books in the public domain, so recent releases are absent.
Missing from this audiobook apps ranking? Contact us with a short description of the product and its users. Adding it is an editorial choice, and software advice explains what a listing does and does not involve.