Pet boarding and grooming software books runs, rooms and grooming slots, collects deposits, checks vaccinations and messages pet parents.
This guide ranks vendors on setup effort in the first ninety days, the real monthly bill once texting and payments are added, data export, whether the vendor is independent, and whether the product fits a kennel, a salon or both.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What pet boarding and grooming software does
Pet boarding and grooming software schedules kennel runs, daycare spaces and groomer appointments, stores pet and vaccination records, takes deposits and payments, and sends reminders to pet owners.
Setup effort, true cost, data portability, exit options and buyer fit are the five tests, applied in that order to every pet boarding and grooming tool here. Challengers hold places 1 to 3 wherever the category has them. Established brands begin at place 4. For why these five were chosen, and why nothing here gets a numeric score, see how we work.
Published monthly plans for boarding, grooming and daycare, with a trial
Ranked #1 of 13 in Best Pet Boarding and Grooming Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Pawfinity sells cloud software, so there is nothing to install or update. The pricing page covers grooming, boarding, daycare, training and therapy, and names Booking Genius online booking, a point of sale, two-way SMS, stored payments and QuickBooks Connect.
Annual billing lowers each plan, and the seven-day trial needs no card. A shop with a salon and a run area compares the Royal package against the two smaller plans. The page does not describe data export.
What stands out
Published plans
7-day trial
Boarding and grooming
Where it costs you
Texts above the included credits are billed per message, so reminder-heavy kennels get a variable bill.
Splitting the product into Groom and Train and Stay and Play plans means a business doing both pays for the top package.
Right for
Independent boarding and grooming shops that want a budget they can calculate from a price page
Wrong for
Mobile groomers or businesses that need a vendor-stated integration list
United StatesPublished monthly plans, cheaper when billed annually; SMS credits and per-message add-on; 7-day trial without a card
Cloud, hybrid or desktop software with a published price for each
Ranked #2 of 13 in Best Pet Boarding and Grooming Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
The pricing page sets out five ways to buy: KC Cloud with unlimited modules, a grooming-only Hello-Groom plan, a Hybrid plan with online and offline access, a Desktop plan with a local database and multi-station use, and Corporate on request.
Text-To-Pay, a Petwealth integration, a pet parent portal and live phone support are named. The Moorpark address is on the homepage. Which tier suits a shop depends on how much of the business is boarding.
What stands out
Cloud or desktop
Grooming-only plan
Free demo
Where it costs you
Two-way SMS is billed as its own monthly line on top of the plan.
The page lists a demo rather than a trial, so a buyer cannot test on live data.
Right for
Kennels and groomers that want a choice between cloud and a local desktop database
Wrong for
Operators who want to trial the product with their own data
United StatesPublished monthly plans per module; desktop option; add-ons for texting; free demo instead of a trial
Two published tiers covering boarding, daycare, cattery, grooming and training
Ranked #3 of 13 in Best Pet Boarding and Grooming Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
The pricing page lists Silver and Gold plans in both dollars and pounds, with a yearly saving on each. Daycare, boarding, cattery, grooming and training are supported, and the page names an online booker, integrated payments, booking reminders, vaccine management and free data upload.
That upload offer helps a shop leaving another system. An Integrations page is linked but its contents were not shown, so no integration is named here.
What stands out
Two tiers
Dollar and pound prices
Cattery support
Where it costs you
Plan limits are not stated, so a buyer cannot see where a tier ends.
Multi-location and medium to large businesses have no published price.
Right for
Mixed boarding, cattery and grooming businesses in the US or UK wanting listed prices
Wrong for
Chains wanting a published multi-site price or stated plan limits
United StatesPublished monthly or yearly tiers in dollars and pounds; larger sites quoted; trial without a card
Windows software for boarding, grooming, daycare and retail, with web reservations
Ranked #4 of 13 in Best Pet Boarding and Grooming Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Atlantis covers boarding, grooming, daycare and retail in one local program. The page names a loyalty rewards program, built-in credit card processing, multi-location data sharing, Idexx and PetDetect collar printing, barcode, printer and cash drawer support.
Demos are fully working with sample data, though the trial length is not stated. A shop that already runs a counter with a cash drawer and collar printer gets the most from it.
What stands out
Windows software
Works offline
Web reservations add-on
Where it costs you
Remote access depends on a VPN or Windows Remote Desktop, because no cloud service is described.
No prices appear on the page, so the total is known only after a quote.
Right for
Single-site kennels with Windows PCs that must keep taking bookings during outages
Wrong for
Mobile groomers or teams that want browser and phone apps
United StatesQuoted on request; add-ons without module pricing; optional hardware; demo with sample data
Plans by team size, with a Facility tier for overnight boarding
Ranked #5 of 13 in Best Pet Boarding and Grooming Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The Facility plan is the one that matters here: check-in and check-out, a capacity widget and a Stripe terminal for businesses with overnight boarding, daycare or play yards.
Team plans add a staff app with GPS tracking, time off, roles and permissions, and Solo adds visit videos, text messaging, Zapier and QuickBooks Online. Contracts are not required, and data sits in monitored data centres with daily backups. It reads as a sitting product that has added kennels.
What stands out
Staff-size plans
Facility boarding tier
14-day trial
Where it costs you
No plan on the pricing page mentions grooming.
The solo Lite plan needs the vendor's own payments product to send invoices.
Right for
Boarding facilities that also run sitting or walking staff with GPS-tracked visits
Wrong for
Grooming salons that need a vendor-confirmed grooming workflow
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly or yearly plans by staff size; custom Full Service; 14-day trial without a card or contract
Grooming-first scheduling that prices per van, with online booking
Ranked #6 of 13 in Best Pet Boarding and Grooming Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The pricing page shows Basic for a single groomer, Growth and Ultimate per van, and an Enterprise tier for franchises and chains with an API platform. Included are a 24/7 online booking portal, card-present and card-not-present payments, reminders by text, email and phone, and two-way messaging.
Ultimate adds custom CSS or JS in online booking and a branded phone number. As the van count grows, so does the monthly bill, since every van is its own line.
What stands out
Per-van pricing
Smart Schedule
Mobile grooming
Where it costs you
Text messages are capped per van, so busy vans need a higher tier.
The pricing page lists no boarding features.
Right for
Mobile and salon groomers who run vans and want routes planned to cut driving
Wrong for
Kennels and daycares whose main income is overnight boarding
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly tiers, charged per van on higher plans; enterprise quoted; demo offered
Cloud kennel software with a mobile app, texting and data transfer
Ranked #7 of 13 in Best Pet Boarding and Grooming Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The homepage lists PetExec Mobile, unlimited texting, coaching, data transfer and payment processing. The old petexec.com address redirects to petexec.net, and the product is still sold as PetExec.
A Start Your Free Trial button is offered, but its length is not stated, and a Join Our Pack link leads to a purchase page that was not read. Grooming is not named in the features read, so a salon should ask before buying.
What stands out
Mobile app
Unlimited texting
Data transfer
Where it costs you
The homepage shows no plans or prices, so cost is hidden behind the purchase page.
The trial has no stated length or terms.
Right for
Kennels that send many client texts and want them without a per-message charge
Wrong for
Buyers who need a stated country or legal entity before signing
Not stated by the vendorQuoted on its purchase page; trial of unstated length
Booking, payments and pet parent app for runs, rooms and groomers
Ranked #8 of 13 in Best Pet Boarding and Grooming Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The homepage ties the pieces together: scheduling by run, room or groomer, deposits, packages and tips taken inside the same system, and report cards that send photos and activity notes.
PreCheck handles vaccinations, waivers and belongings before drop-off, while the Pet Parent app covers booking, payments and record updates. Security is described as SOC 2 Type II. Because only a demo is offered, comparing the monthly cost with Pawfinity or Kennel Connection requires a sales call.
What stands out
Pet parent app
PreCheck
SOC 2 Type II
Where it costs you
The homepage shows no plans or prices, only a Book a Demo button.
Partner integrations are mentioned without naming them.
Right for
Boarding and daycare sites that want vaccination checks done before arrival
Wrong for
Shops that want to see a price before they book a call
United StatesQuoted after a demo; pricing page not published on the homepage
Cloud reservations and operations app for pet resorts, with labour planning
Ranked #9 of 13 in Best Pet Boarding and Grooming Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The homepage describes one app for pet guests, customers, reservations and operations, with tasks, workflows and custom reports. Required labour hours are calculated from reservations, and customer and lead filters support targeted marketing.
Saved cards, stored discounts and recurring charges are handled at checkout, and data is described as protected and reachable from anywhere. Grooming is not named in the text read, which leaves a salon to ask the vendor directly.
What stands out
Labour-hour planning
Saved payment cards
Demo only
Where it costs you
Its pricing address returned an error and the homepage names no price.
No trial is mentioned; the only next step is a demo registration.
Right for
Resort-style boarding sites that plan staff hours from the reservation book
Wrong for
Buyers who want published prices or a self-serve trial
Not stated by the vendorNot stated on the homepage; demo registration only
Appointment book, payments and payroll from a multi-product software company
Ranked #10 of 13 in Best Pet Boarding and Grooming Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The page covers a digital appointment book, reminders by text and email, digital forms, two-way texting, review requests and a website builder. Checkout takes chip, swipe or tap, including Apple Pay and Google Pay, and stored cards back deposits.
Employee scheduling, payroll and time clocks sit alongside more than 50 reports and a mobile app. The old daysmartpet.com address redirects here.
What stands out
Appointment book
Payroll and time clocks
Over 50 reports
Where it costs you
The product page does not name run or overnight boarding features.
No price appears on the page, and the trial length is not stated.
Right for
Salons wanting payroll, time clocks and card checkout inside one appointment system
Wrong for
Kennels whose main need is overnight run and room management
Not stated by the vendorNot stated on the product page; trial button of unstated length
One all-inclusive plan for walking, sitting, overnights, daycare and grooming
Ranked #11 of 13 in Best Pet Boarding and Grooming Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
The pricing page lists scheduling, visit tracking and report cards across walking, sitting, overnights, daycare, training and grooming. It adds automated invoicing and payments, a client portal and team reporting and analytics.
One plan covers all of it, and there is no per-user charge. The 5% client fee is set out openly. The page names no integrations and no hosting model, so a kennel with accounting software would ask before committing.
What stands out
Single plan
Report cards
Client portal
Where it costs you
Pet parents pay a 5% service fee on online payments made through the platform.
The trial starts only after a demo booking and an onboarding session.
Right for
Sitter-led businesses that add overnights, daycare or grooming and want one price
Wrong for
Kennels that want to name integrations or choose a hosting model
United StatesPublished single monthly plan, cheaper billed yearly; 30-day trial after onboarding
Sitting software with GPS check-in, priced per active staff member
Ranked #12 of 13 in Best Pet Boarding and Grooming Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The page offers a 30-day trial with full access and no card, and subscribing during it gives up to half off the first year. Scheduling supports repeat services with GPS check-in and out, and a client portal tracks vaccinations.
QuickBooks Online and Stripe are the integrations named. The product is described as fully cloud-based. Because boarding and grooming never appear, it ranks low for this category despite a clear price page.
What stands out
Per-staff pricing
GPS check-in
30-day trial
Where it costs you
Neither boarding nor grooming appears among the listed features.
Team cost rises with every active staff member.
Right for
Sitting and walking firms that bill in pounds or Australian dollars
Wrong for
Kennels and salons that need run, room or groomer scheduling
Not stated by the vendorPublished solo and team plans in three currencies, per active staff; 30-day trial without a card
Sitting and dog-walking software priced in bands of active staff
Ranked #13 of 13 in Best Pet Boarding and Grooming Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The pricing page runs from a solo band through bands up to 101 or more staff, with multi-location and franchise pricing on request. Visit management, pet care journals, billing, payments, reports and staff payroll are named, and the free trial length is not given.
The company describes itself as cloud-based, with no country or legal entity stated. It belongs on a boarding shortlist only for the walking side of a mixed business.
What stands out
Staff-count bands
Unlimited clients
Late arrival alerts
Where it costs you
The listed features leave out boarding and grooming.
Cost steps up with each band of active staff.
Right for
Dog-walking and sitting firms that want unlimited clients and payroll in each band
Wrong for
Kennels or salons looking for runs, rooms or groomer calendars
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly bands by active staff, annual discount; trial of unstated length
Pet boarding and grooming software schedules kennel runs, daycare spaces and groomer appointments, stores pet and vaccination records, takes deposits and payments, and sends reminders to pet owners. Feature lists look alike, so we would settle these points one at a time instead.
01
Work out how much a sales call is worth to you
Only 8 of the 13 print a price; 5 quote per organisation. Comparable without a sales call: Pawfinity, Kennel Connection, Revelation Pets, Time To Pet, MoeGo, PetPocketbook, Pet Sitter Plus, Precise Petcare.
02
Look at where the vendor sits
2 regions are represented (Elsewhere 7, North America 6). A vendor outside your own legal area is not a problem as such, but it changes who can compel it to hand over data.
Pet boarding and grooming software: kennel, salon or both
Start with what fills your calendar, because these products were built around different businesses. MoeGo is groomer-first, with plans priced per van. Kennelsoft and Pet Resort Pro describe boarding, daycare and resort operations. Pawfinity and Kennel Connection split their plans so a salon, a kennel or both can choose.
Time To Pet, PetPocketbook, Pet Sitter Plus and Precise Petcare lean towards walkers and sitters, with boarding as an add-on in some cases. A shop that sells both services should check that the grooming calendar and the run calendar share one client record. Ask each vendor to show a reservation with an overnight stay and a bath on one invoice.
List the share of income from boarding, grooming and daycare
Ask for one invoice that mixes a stay and a groom
Check which services the vendor names on its own pricing page
Texting, deposits and card fees: where the monthly bill grows
Pet businesses live on reminders and deposits, and that is where quotes grow. Pawfinity includes SMS credits in its top plan and charges per message beyond them. Kennel Connection bills two-way SMS as its own monthly line. MoeGo caps texts per van on each tier, while PetExec advertises unlimited texting.
PetPocketbook lets pet parents bear a 5% service fee on online payments. Time To Pet needs its own payments product for solo invoicing. Count your monthly reminders, no-show deposits and card volume before comparing plan prices, then ask each vendor for a total that includes them. The cheapest plan is rarely the cheapest invoice.
Count monthly reminders and texts before asking for a quote
Ask who pays the card fee, the business or the pet parent
Request a total that includes texting and payments
Cloud, hybrid or Windows desktop: how you will run it
Hosting differs more here than in most categories. Pawfinity is cloud-based with nothing to install. Kennel Connection sells cloud, hybrid and desktop editions, the last with a local database. Kennelsoft Atlantis is Windows software that keeps working during internet outages and uses a VPN or Remote Desktop for remote access.
Pet Resort Pro and Pet Sitter Plus describe themselves as cloud-based. A kennel with a counter PC, cash drawer and collar printer may want the local option, while a mobile groomer needs phone access in a van. Ask where bookings go during an outage and who updates the software.
Decide whether staff work at one counter or on phones
Ask what still works when the internet drops
Check who installs updates and when
Vaccinations, pet records and leaving the product
Vaccine control is the operational core of boarding. Gingr runs PreCheck to verify vaccinations, waivers and belongings before drop-off, and Revelation Pets lists vaccine management. Time To Pet and Pet Sitter Plus add client portals, with the latter tracking vaccinations.
Exit is rarely described, though Revelation Pets offers free data upload on the way in, and PetExec lists data transfer. Before signing, ask for a sample export of clients, pets, vaccine dates and invoice history, in a file format you can open. Also ask how long records stay available after cancellation. A shop with several years of vaccine history cannot afford to lose it.
Ask for a sample export of pets and vaccine dates
Check how long records stay after cancelling
Confirm who can upload your existing records
What goes wrong most often when buying pet boarding and grooming software
Choosing a grooming-first tool such as MoeGo for a kennel whose income comes from overnight stays.
Comparing plan prices without adding texting, card fees and hardware such as a Kennelsoft card pad.
Buying a sitter and walker product like Precise Petcare or Pet Sitter Plus for a business that runs kennels.
Skipping a data export test, then finding vaccine history cannot leave the system.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best pet boarding and grooming software in 2026?
First of 13 on this page is Pawfinity. Pawfinity prints three plans with prices: a top package that includes SMS credits, plus separate Groom and Train and Stay and Play plans. A salon and a kennel can each pay for half the product.
Every plan states unlimited clients, pets, runs and logins. The catch is texting: messages beyond the included credits are billed per message, so a chatty front desk adds cost. The vendor names no company country beyond building the software in the USA.
Which pet boarding and grooming tools publish their pricing?
Published pricing exists for 8 products on this page:
Pawfinity: Published monthly plans, cheaper when billed annually; SMS credits and per-message add-on; 7-day trial without a card.
Kennel Connection: Published monthly plans per module; desktop option; add-ons for texting; free demo instead of a trial.
Revelation Pets: Published monthly or yearly tiers in dollars and pounds; larger sites quoted; trial without a card.
Time To Pet: Published monthly or yearly plans by staff size; custom Full Service; 14-day trial without a card or contract.
MoeGo: Published monthly tiers, charged per van on higher plans; enterprise quoted; demo offered.
PetPocketbook: Published single monthly plan, cheaper billed yearly; 30-day trial after onboarding.
Pet Sitter Plus: Published solo and team plans in three currencies, per active staff; 30-day trial without a card.
Precise Petcare: Published monthly bands by active staff, annual discount; trial of unstated length.
The other 5 quote per organisation.
Is there a free pet boarding and grooming tool?
No, every product on this page is paid.
Where are these pet boarding and grooming software vendors established?
Across 2 countries (Elsewhere 7, North America 6):
Pawfinity: United States.
Kennel Connection: United States.
Revelation Pets: United States.
Kennelsoft: United States.
Time To Pet: Not stated by the vendor.
MoeGo: Not stated by the vendor.
PetExec: Not stated by the vendor.
Gingr: United States.
Pet Resort Pro: Not stated by the vendor.
DaySmart Pet: Not stated by the vendor.
PetPocketbook: United States.
Pet Sitter Plus: Not stated by the vendor.
Precise Petcare: Not stated by the vendor.
What should you use instead of Pawfinity?
The next in line are Kennel Connection, aimed at Kennels and groomers that want a choice between cloud and a local desktop database, and Revelation Pets, aimed at Mixed boarding, cattery and grooming businesses in the US or UK wanting listed prices.
Who should not buy Pawfinity?
Mobile groomers or businesses that need a vendor-stated integration list. Texts above the included credits are billed per message, so reminder-heavy kennels get a variable bill..
Do you make a pet boarding and grooming software product that is not listed here? Describe what it does and who buys it. We decide on inclusion, a listing cannot be bought, and the details are under software advice.