Bookmark managers keep the links a team or a person returns to, from research sources to saved articles and reference pages.
We rank them by who builds them, what the first weeks of importing and tagging cost, how pricing behaves once a library grows, whether your saved links can leave again, and which device or reading habit each one serves.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What bookmark managers do
A bookmark manager stores web addresses with tags, notes and often an archived page copy, so saved links can be searched, shared and exported later instead of buried in a browser.
Our order comes from five tests, taken in turn: effort to set up, what you really pay, what happens to your data on the way out, how locked in you are, and the intended customer. On top of them sits one rule. The top three places are for challengers, which means vendors outside the big names, where the category has any, and the household brands come in from fourth place. The reasoning behind the five tests, and behind having no score out of ten, is set out on the how we work page.
Bookmark collections from a named individual, with an unlimited free tier
Ranked #1 of 14 in Best Bookmark Managers in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Few entries cost less to start with, because the free tier has no limit on bookmarks, collections or devices. The cost appears later: Pro adds 10 GB of monthly uploads, full-text search, a web archive and daily backups, with monthly and yearly billing and a yearly saving of about 20%.
Payments run through Paddle. The copyright line names one person in Astana, and terms and privacy sit on help.raindrop.io.
What stands out
Unlimited bookmarks
Pro web archive
Paddle billing
Where it costs you
Pro prices are not shown on the page read, so the paid cost cannot be budgeted.
Free uploads stop at 100 MB a month, a limit that matters for file-heavy collections.
Right for
Individuals and small groups wanting a free, generous home for saved links
Wrong for
Buyers who need a registered company address in the contract
KazakhstanFree tier with unlimited bookmarks; Pro billed monthly or yearly, with amounts not shown on the page
Annual-fee bookmarking founded in 2009 and run on its own servers
Ranked #2 of 14 in Best Bookmark Managers in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The annual fee covers the basic service, and a higher fee covers archiving accounts, so the archive is the real upgrade decision. Multi-year signups are discounted.
The FAQ says the service sits on servers it operates, with physical backups of its own, and that Maciej Cegłowski founded it in 2009 and works on it full-time. The terms footer reads Nine Fives Software and gives support@pinboard.in as the contact, with no stated jurisdiction.
What stands out
Yearly fee
Archiving accounts
Own servers
Where it costs you
Everyone pays up front, and the one-week refund window is the only way to test.
The pages read give no country, governing law or registered address.
Right for
People who want a paid, long-running service with archiving and a clear annual fee
Wrong for
Anyone wanting a free tier or a copy they run themselves
Not stated by the vendorPublished yearly fee, higher for archiving accounts; one-week refund window instead of a trial
AGPLv3 link collector you can rent or run on your own server
Ranked #3 of 14 in Best Bookmark Managers in 2026.
Open sourceSelf-hostablePublished pricingElsewhere
Linkwarden sits between a rented service and a project you host: the AGPLv3 code is public, the pricing page links its self-hosting guide on GitHub, and a 14-day trial precedes the single cloud plan.
That plan is billed per user, labelled 25% cheaper when paid yearly. The licence matters if you plan to modify and offer the code to others. No parent company or country is given, and the terms page returned a 404.
What stands out
AGPLv3
30,000 links per user
Self-hosting guide
Where it costs you
The cloud plan holds each user to 30,000 links, so heavy collectors will meet a ceiling.
The monthly price is not shown, only the yearly one.
Right for
Teams that want open code, a cloud option and the choice to host later
Wrong for
Large archives above the per-user link limit on the hosted plan
Not stated by the vendorCloud Yearly plan published per user with a 30,000 link limit; 14-day trial; self-hosting guide on GitHub
Minimal self-hosted bookmark manager in one Docker container
Ranked #4 of 14 in Best Bookmark Managers in 2026.
Free tierSelf-hostablePublished pricingElsewhere
Linkding keeps the footprint small: one Docker container, SQLite as its embedded database, and a page that mentions neither prices nor paid plans. A demo at demo.linkding.link lets you try it before installing.
It fetches metadata automatically, keeps copies as local HTML or via the Internet Archive, supports bulk edits, and moves data in and out as Netscape HTML. Firefox and Chrome extensions and a REST API cover capture and scripting, and multiple users can share bookmarks.
What stands out
Single container
SQLite database
REST API
Where it costs you
You carry the upgrades, backups and uptime yourself, because the site offers no hosted plan.
The page names no licence, so legal review needs a trip to GitHub.
Right for
Technical users wanting a lean bookmark store with an API and extensions
Wrong for
Buyers wanting a vendor-run service with support and a contract
Not stated by the vendorFree software to self-host; the site shows no paid plan; a demo instance is available
AI-tagged bookmarks with hybrid search, hosted or on Docker
Ranked #5 of 14 in Best Bookmark Managers in 2026.
Self-hostablePublished pricingElsewhere
Karakeep leans on search and automation more than most entries here. Four search modes exist (full-text, keyword, hybrid, semantic), OCR for text inside images, AI-generated tags and summaries, rules triggered by URL patterns, and hourly RSS checks.
Capture comes from iOS and Android apps plus extensions for Chrome, Firefox and Safari, while a CLI, API and MCP server use scoped keys with no-access, read-only or read-and-write levels. No storage or bookmark limits are stated.
What stands out
Hybrid and semantic search
AI tags and summaries
MCP server
Where it costs you
The pricing page was unreachable, so cloud costs and limits are unconfirmed.
Reuse terms stay open because the homepage never names the licence.
Right for
Heavy savers who want semantic search and automatic tagging over their library
Wrong for
Buyers who need a published cloud price before they begin
Not stated by the vendorCloud version free to try with no trial length stated; self-host with Docker; pricing page unreachable
Read-it-later app to self-host or rent from wallabag.it
Ranked #6 of 14 in Best Bookmark Managers in 2026.
Self-hostablePricing on requestElsewhere
Wallabag is a reading tool first. Saved pages are cleaned into a plain view free of ads or tracking, and you reach them from browser extensions, mobile apps, RSS readers, e-readers or an API. Imports from Pocket and Omnivore ease a switch.
The hosting choice is explicit: run it yourself using the linked guide, or take wallabag.it, with professional support, upgrades and daily backups, after a 14-day trial. Contact goes to hello@wallabag.org.
What stands out
Read-it-later
Managed hosting
Pocket import
Where it costs you
The price after the managed 14-day trial is not given on the page read.
No licence, country or numeric limit is stated, so due diligence continues on GitHub.
Right for
Readers who want articles cleaned, kept and shipped to e-readers or RSS
Wrong for
Teams who mostly file reference links rather than read articles
Not stated by the vendorNo price shown for the self-hosted copy; managed wallabag.it has a 14-day trial, with the later price not shown
Go bookmark manager shipped as a single MIT-licensed binary
Ranked #7 of 14 in Best Bookmark Managers in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Shiori's appeal is how little it asks. The README calls it a simple bookmark manager in Go that works from the command line or as a web application, distributed as one binary with Docker images and an Alpine variant.
The database can be SQLite3, PostgreSQL, MariaDB or MySQL, and an offline archive of readable content is saved by default. Netscape import and export are supported, as is import from Pocket. The repository shows 11.7k stars and 679 commits on master.
What stands out
MIT licence
Four database options
Offline archive
Where it costs you
The extension is labelled beta, so capture from the browser may lag behind the app.
The repository page shows 91 open issues and no latest release date.
Right for
Self-hosters who prefer a single binary and a choice of database
Wrong for
Buyers who want a vendor to answer for uptime and support
Not stated by the vendorFree MIT-licensed software; the repository page shows no paid plan or hosted offer
Self-hosted link archive with uptime checks and single sign-on
Ranked #8 of 14 in Best Bookmark Managers in 2026.
Free tierSelf-hostablePublished pricingElsewhere
LinkAce treats a bookmark list as something that decays, so it checks availability and notifies you when a site moves or goes down, then archives to the Internet Archive. Access control is finer than its rivals here: OAuth or OIDC single sign-on, plus guest access per link, tag or list.
Install through Docker, Kubernetes, one-click cloud deployment or PHP, try demo.linkace.org, and expect a REST API, Zapier and 15 interface languages. Funding comes from donation requests.
What stands out
Link availability checks
OAuth and OIDC sign-in
Docker or PHP
Where it costs you
Official hosting is in beta on a waitlist with no price, so self-install is the real route.
Reuse terms are unclear, as only the GitHub repository carries the licence.
Right for
Groups that want single sign-on, guest access and warnings about dead links
Wrong for
Readers wanting a polished article view or mobile apps
Not stated by the vendorFree of charge, funded by donation requests; official hosting still in beta on a waitlist
Apple-only bookmark app with a floating Anydock bar
Ranked #9 of 14 in Best Bookmark Managers in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Anybox pairs a floating bookmarks bar called Anydock with Quick Find offline search, Quick Save, nested tags and folders, and Smart Lists. Pages can be archived as PDF, Web Archive or screenshot.
The page lists Siri Shortcuts, AppleScript and an MCP Server for automation, and sync runs on iCloud. Prices are monthly, yearly and lifetime in USD, though App Store prices may vary by region. The privacy URL returned a 404.
What stands out
iPhone, iPad and Mac
Lifetime option
Anydock
Where it costs you
It runs only on iPhone, iPad and Mac, which excludes Windows and Android colleagues.
The free plan stops at 50 saved links and 12 links on Anydock.
Right for
Apple users who want offline search, archives and automation hooks on every device
Wrong for
Mixed-platform teams sharing one bookmark library across devices
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly, yearly and lifetime options; free plan capped at 50 saved links
Apple reading-list app bought once, syncing through iCloud
Ranked #10 of 14 in Best Bookmark Managers in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
GoodLinks is closer to a reading list than a link vault. It stores articles, highlights, tags and reading position in iCloud, logs in to paywalled sites for full content, and offers light, sepia, dark and night themes.
Highlights have colours and notes, are reviewed in a Notebook and export as Markdown. A Focus filter shows only links with chosen tags, and Shortcuts, Siri, AppleScript and widgets are named. The interface comes in six languages.
What stands out
One-time purchase
Highlights to Markdown
Focus filter
Where it costs you
The purchase buys only one year of feature upgrades, then newer features may need a further payment.
No price, trial or developer location appears on the page.
Right for
Apple readers who want highlights, themes and Shortcuts without a monthly fee
Wrong for
Users on Windows or Android, or anyone needing a web login
Not stated by the vendorOne-time purchase that includes one year of feature upgrades; price not displayed on the page
Read-later and highlights service with a 30-day trial
Ranked #11 of 14 in Best Bookmark Managers in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Reader is sold alone or inside the full Readwise bundle that adds Highlights, with Highlights and Highlights Lite as separate lower plans. Content types listed as unlimited are articles, PDFs, EPUBs, emails, YouTube, RSS and X threads, and no storage caps appear on the pricing page.
Yearly billing saves up to 23%, and students can ask for 50% off. The terms name Readwise, Inc., Delaware law and a Raleigh mailing address.
What stands out
Reader and Highlights
30-day trial
Delaware law
Where it costs you
All routes are paid after thirty days, and monthly prices are not displayed.
No owner or parent company is stated on the pages read.
Right for
Heavy readers who want one place for articles, PDFs, newsletters and highlights
Wrong for
Buyers wanting a free tier or a copy to host themselves
United StatesPublished plans billed yearly for Reader, Highlights or both; 30-day trial; student discount on request
Saved browser tabs for teams, with a capped starter tier
Ranked #12 of 14 in Best Bookmark Managers in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Toby organises sets of saved tabs rather than a long-term link archive. The free Starter tier and both paid plans allow unlimited members; the paid Productivity and Team plans also remove the tab cap, and are priced per member in USD, monthly or at a lower yearly rate.
No trial is mentioned for the paid plans. The terms name Launch Labs, Inc. doing business as Axiom Zen, with British Columbia law and arbitration in Vancouver.
What stands out
60-tab starter limit
Per-member pricing
Unlimited members
Where it costs you
The free Starter tier holds only 60 saved tabs, which a research library passes quickly.
Prices are per member, so a large team's bill rises with every seat.
Right for
Teams sharing groups of open tabs across projects and workspaces
Wrong for
Readers needing article extraction, page archives or highlights
Not stated by the vendorFree Starter tier limited to 60 saved tabs; paid plans charged per member, monthly or yearly
Card-based visual notebook for saved pages, sold by subscription
Ranked #13 of 14 in Best Bookmark Managers in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Mymind is closer to a private visual scrapbook than a link database. Three tiers are live: Student of Life, Mastermind with uploaded videos up to 500 MB each, and The Bookmarker at the lowest monthly price with no card limit.
The company says it is small, independent and has zero outside funding. The footer mentions New York City and the Pacific Northwest, but the terms give no governing law or registered address.
What stands out
Card-based
Three live tiers
Zero outside funding
Where it costs you
Every tier needs payment, since the pricing page names no way to test first.
Newton is shown at an annual price but marked as not yet available.
Right for
Individuals saving pages, images and notes who value a visual, card-based layout
Wrong for
Teams wanting shared libraries, an API or a self-run copy
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly or yearly subscriptions on three live tiers; Newton listed but not yet available
Ranked #14 of 14 in Best Bookmark Managers in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Eagle is a visual asset library that happens to include a browser extension. The extension batch-saves from a web page by size and format, and Alt + right-click saving is named.
Inside the app, tags, nested folders, smart folders, ratings, duplicate scanning, password protection and font management organise files. AI Search and AI Action are advertised with no stated caps. The trial lasts 30 days and the licence is one-time with lifetime access.
What stands out
One-time purchase
Design assets
Windows and macOS
Where it costs you
The homepage describes images and fonts, not links, so web bookmarking is not its stated job.
The terms page returned a 404 and the homepage names no company location.
Right for
Designers collecting image references on a Windows or macOS desktop
Wrong for
Anyone filing articles, reading lists or shared team links
Not stated by the vendorOne-time purchase with a 30-day trial; no exact price or currency shown on the homepage
A bookmark manager stores web addresses with tags, notes and often an archived page copy, so saved links can be searched, shared and exported later instead of buried in a browser. Differences that change the outcome seldom sit in the features. Here is the sequence we would follow.
01
Start with pricing transparency
3 vendors on this page sell by quote, while 11 publish a pricing model you can read today: Raindrop.io, Pinboard, Linkwarden, Linkding, Karakeep, Shiori, LinkAce, Anybox, Readwise Reader, Toby, Mymind.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
Headquarters range over 3 countries and 2 regions: Elsewhere 13, North America 1. Legal exposure follows the vendor, not only the data centre, so read the contracting entity before you sign.
03
Check the open source options
1 of these are open source: Linkwarden. Hosting one yourself trades a subscription for maintenance.
Bookmark managers: free tier, subscription or one purchase
How a bookmark manager charges tells you who it is built for. Raindrop.io gives unlimited bookmarks free and holds back archive and backups for Pro, while Pinboard sells only yearly accounts, with archiving at a higher fee. Linkwarden and Toby bill per user, Linkwarden capping each at 30,000 links and Toby capping its free tier at 60 saved tabs.
Anybox and GoodLinks sell one-off or lifetime routes on Apple devices, and GoodLinks bundles only a year of upgrades. Linkding, Shiori and LinkAce cost no licence fee but cost your own server time. Before choosing, count your saved links, your seats and the years you want the library to last. Check how each vendor words its limits, because a cap on links, tabs or uploads usually appears only on the pricing page.
Count saved links and seats against each plan's stated limit
Ask what a lapsed subscription does to the archive
Check whether a one-time price covers future versions
Self-hosting Linkding, Shiori, LinkAce or Linkwarden
Running your own bookmark server swaps a bill for chores. Linkding needs one Docker container with SQLite, Shiori ships one binary and also works with PostgreSQL, MariaDB or MySQL, and LinkAce offers Docker, Kubernetes, one-click deployment or PHP. Linkwarden points to a guide in its GitHub README, while Karakeep and Wallabag can be run on your own server or rented from the vendor.
Each choice leaves updates, backups and uptime with you. Licences vary: Shiori states MIT and Linkwarden AGPLv3, but several pages here name none. Pick the hosted option when nobody on your team will own the maintenance. A Docker-literate colleague can usually finish an install in an afternoon, but the long cost is the maintenance that follows.
Name the person who will apply updates and test restores
Read the licence in the repository before relying on it
Compare the rented option with your server hours
Saved links rot: what archives and readers keep
A bookmark is only an address, and the page behind it may move, so ask what a tool keeps. Raindrop.io puts its web archive behind Pro, and Pinboard puts archiving on a higher-priced account. Shiori saves an offline copy of readable content by default, Linkding archives to local HTML or the Internet Archive, and LinkAce checks for dead links before archiving.
Wallabag extracts articles into a clean reading view, and Anybox stores PDF, Web Archive or screenshot copies. Readwise Reader treats articles, PDFs and newsletters as content to read, not links to visit. Test with five pages you would hate to lose, including one behind a login. Remember that an archive stored on the vendor's side disappears with a cancelled subscription unless you export it first.
Save five sample pages and check each archived copy
Confirm which plan includes the archive feature
Test one page that sits behind a paywall or login
Apple-only, browser-only and cross-platform bookmark managers
Where you save from is as important as where you store. GoodLinks and Anybox work on iPhone, iPad and Mac, sync through iCloud and offer Shortcuts, which helps Apple households and shuts out Windows or Android colleagues. Eagle runs on Windows and macOS but is aimed at images and fonts.
Linkding and Shiori lean on browser extensions and a web interface, Karakeep adds mobile apps and a CLI, and Wallabag adds e-reader and RSS access. Whatever you pick, test export early: Linkding and Shiori name Netscape HTML, GoodLinks exports highlights as Markdown, and Anybox allows export on its free plan. Finally, ask how a shared link reaches the library from a phone, since capture friction decides whether people keep saving.
List the devices and browsers every user saves from
Export a sample to HTML or Markdown before importing everything
Check how the mobile share sheet saves a link
What goes wrong most often when buying bookmark managers
Importing ten years of bookmarks into a tool before checking its link limit, such as 30,000 links per Linkwarden user or 50 on Anybox's free plan.
Treating a saved link as a saved page and finding the original gone when the archive feature sat behind a higher plan.
Choosing an Apple-only app for a mixed team, then discovering Windows and Android colleagues cannot open the library.
Starting a self-hosted install with nobody named to apply updates, run backups and restore after a failed upgrade.
07
Frequently asked questions
8 answers
What are the best bookmark managers in 2026?
Our ranking of 14 puts Raindrop.io first. Raindrop.io carries the copyright of Rustem Mussabekov in Astana, so the maker is a named person rather than a company with a portfolio.
The free tier allows unlimited bookmarks, collections and devices, but uploads stop at 100 MB a month. Full-text search, the web archive and daily backups belong to Pro, whose price the page did not display. No trial is mentioned and no registered address was found.
Which bookmark managers publish their pricing?
11 of the 14, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Raindrop.io: Free tier with unlimited bookmarks; Pro billed monthly or yearly, with amounts not shown on the page.
Pinboard: Published yearly fee, higher for archiving accounts; one-week refund window instead of a trial.
Linkwarden: Cloud Yearly plan published per user with a 30,000 link limit; 14-day trial; self-hosting guide on GitHub.
Linkding: Free software to self-host; the site shows no paid plan; a demo instance is available.
Karakeep: Cloud version free to try with no trial length stated; self-host with Docker; pricing page unreachable.
Shiori: Free MIT-licensed software; the repository page shows no paid plan or hosted offer.
LinkAce: Free of charge, funded by donation requests; official hosting still in beta on a waitlist.
Anybox: Published monthly, yearly and lifetime options; free plan capped at 50 saved links.
Readwise Reader: Published plans billed yearly for Reader, Highlights or both; 30-day trial; student discount on request.
Toby: Free Starter tier limited to 60 saved tabs; paid plans charged per member, monthly or yearly.
Mymind: Published monthly or yearly subscriptions on three live tiers; Newton listed but not yet available.
The remaining 3 sell by quote.
Is there a free bookmark manager?
Raindrop.io, Linkding, Shiori, LinkAce, Anybox, Toby can be used for free, either as a free plan or a self-hosted edition.
Where are these bookmark manager vendors established?
Across 3 countries (Elsewhere 13, North America 1):
The next in line are Pinboard, aimed at People who want a paid, long-running service with archiving and a clear annual fee, and Linkwarden, aimed at teams that want open code, a cloud option and the choice to host later.
Who should not buy Raindrop.io?
Buyers who need a registered company address in the contract. Pro prices are not shown on the page read, so the paid cost cannot be budgeted..
This list covers 14 bookmark managers products. A product we left out can be put to us by its maker, with a short note on its purpose and its customers; we decide on inclusion ourselves. The rules are under software advice.