Recipe and meal planning apps store the dishes a household cooks, schedule them across the week and turn the plan into a shopping list.
Our order favours small independent makers, then weighs what each recipe collection costs once it grows, whether recipes can be taken out again, which devices the app covers and how the grocery step is handled.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What recipe and meal planning apps software does
Recipe and meal planning apps collect recipes from websites and books, assign them to days, and generate grocery lists, so households plan and shop from one place.
To rank recipe and meal planning apps tools we asked, in turn, how much work setup takes, what it truly costs, whether data can be taken back out, whether leaving is possible, and who the product suits. On top of them sits one rule. The top three places are for challengers, which means vendors outside the big names, where the category has any, and the household brands come in from fourth place. The reasoning behind the five tests, and behind having no score out of ten, is set out on the how we work page.
One plan, one price, with a recipe clipper and store-aisle lists
Ranked #1 of 13 in Best Recipe and Meal Planning Apps in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The pricing page shows a single plan, monthly or yearly, with every feature included and no add-on modules. A 60-day money-back guarantee is advertised beside the 14-day trial, which needs no card.
Cook View adds named timers, and nutrition facts appear per recipe and as daily totals on the planner. Because the recipe count is unlimited, cost never rises with a growing collection, though nothing here is free after the trial.
What stands out
Single plan
14-day trial
Store-aisle lists
Where it costs you
Nothing stays free once the 14-day trial ends, so a household that only wants to store recipes pays anyway.
The pages name no owner or country, only support hours in Mountain time.
Right for
Households planning a week or more of dinners who will pay a flat fee
Wrong for
Cooks wanting a permanent no-cost tier for a small collection
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly and yearly price on a single plan; 14-day trial only
Recipe clipper, planner and list with a free tier to 40 recipes
Ranked #2 of 13 in Best Recipe and Meal Planning Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The home page describes a recipe manager made of a clipper, a shopping list and a meal planner, syncing through the web and Android and iOS apps.
Paid membership is quoted at one dollar a month, with yearly and lifetime variants, and one membership works across devices. Each clipped recipe keeps its source link. The trade-off is transparency: the contact address is an email, and no postal location is stated.
What stands out
Free tier
Lifetime option
Recipe clipper
Where it costs you
The 40-recipe limit is reached quickly by anyone importing a whole bookshelf.
The terms page could not be read, so company details are unverified.
Right for
Light cooks wanting a recipe clipper at a tiny cost
Wrong for
Buyers who need a named company and country before signing up
Not stated by the vendorFree tier up to 40 recipes; published monthly, yearly or lifetime paid option
Tandoor adds search by ingredients you already have, sharing with permissions and share links, supermarket-sorted shopping lists, and meal plans carrying nutrition and cost calculations.
Cloud pricing climbs from free through three paid steps, with AI credits and upload storage rising alongside the member count. A live demo runs at app.tandoor.dev. The page describes a volunteer project, so no company stands behind an agreement or support promise.
What stands out
Self-host option
Cloud tiers
Shopping by supermarket
Where it costs you
The entry cloud tier holds ten recipes and one member, so households outgrow it fast.
Self-hosting puts upgrades and backups on the household, and the licence is not named on the page.
Right for
Technical households wanting shared recipes on their own server or a cheap cloud seat
Wrong for
Anyone who wants an app store install and no setup
GermanyPublished monthly cloud tiers including a free tier; self-hosting open source
German app with three new recipes daily on its free tier
Ranked #4 of 13 in Best Recipe and Meal Planning Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
Fridge Finds builds meals from ingredients you already have, and the seven-day plan feeds one combined shopping list. Premium is priced annually and offered with a discount against its listed price; PRO sits above it and adds the Skippi assistant without limits.
One account follows you between iOS and Android. Premium also covers personalised diets and exclusions. The imprint gives a Berlin commercial register number.
What stands out
Free tier
Euro pricing
Fridge Finds
Where it costs you
The free tier shows only three new recipes a day, so planning ahead needs Premium.
Only iOS and Android apps are listed, with no desktop or web route.
Right for
Phone-first cooks wanting a large recipe library plus a seven-day plan
Wrong for
Cooks who want to import their own recipe collection
GermanyFree tier; published annual Premium and PRO plans; 7-day trial
Self-hosted recipe manager with household separation and a REST API
Ranked #5 of 13 in Best Recipe and Meal Planning Apps in 2026.
Open sourceSelf-hostablePricing on requestElsewhere
Meal plans cover breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks on a calendar, and an interactive OpenAPI reference documents the REST API for automation. The split between groups and households suits a family sharing recipes while keeping separate lists.
A demo is linked from the site. The repository states the licence, but the site gives no pricing, limits or owner, and no vendor support terms are stated.
What stands out
AGPL-3.0
Docker deployment
REST API
Where it costs you
Running it needs a server and Docker knowledge, which a casual cook may lack.
The hosted option is mentioned without details, so a managed version cannot be priced.
Right for
Self-hosters wanting a documented API and separate plans per household
Wrong for
People wanting a ready-made app with a vendor behind it
Not stated by the vendorSelf-hosted open source under AGPL-3.0; site lists no prices
Apple-only recipe app storing data in your own iCloud
Ranked #6 of 13 in Best Recipe and Meal Planning Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Recipes are kept in a private iCloud container, so storage sits with the user rather than with the developer. Feeds from recipe blogs are checked for new recipes, and cook mode shows steps full screen with built-in timers.
Meal plans use a calendar. Keeping groceries in Apple Reminders leaves the shop step inside Apple's own apps, which also ties it to Apple devices.
What stands out
iOS and macOS
iCloud storage
Book scanning
Where it costs you
Only iOS and macOS are listed, so a partner on Android cannot share the collection.
No price, trial or company appears on the site.
Right for
Apple households wanting recipes in their own iCloud and Reminders lists
Wrong for
Mixed-device families or anyone needing a named company
Not stated by the vendorPage lists no prices, plans or trial
Apple-device recipe organiser with automatic weekly plan generation
Ranked #7 of 13 in Best Recipe and Meal Planning Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The weekly planner assigns saved recipes to each day, and an automatic plan can be generated from what is stored. Coverage reaches watchOS and visionOS as well as the iPhone and Mac.
Scaling and unit conversion handle bigger or smaller groups. The footer names Crouton LLC but no place. Contact is given as an email address, and the home page leaves all money questions to the store.
What stands out
Apple devices
iCloud household sync
Recipe scaling
Where it costs you
Pricing and trial terms live only in the App Store listing, not on the vendor site.
No location or imprint appears on the pages read.
Right for
Apple households wanting weekly plans generated from saved recipes
Wrong for
Android users, or buyers wanting prices before downloading
Not stated by the vendorPrice shown in the App Store listing, none on the site
Imports from Instagram and TikTok and syncs across phones and desktops
Ranked #8 of 13 in Best Recipe and Meal Planning Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Coverage is wide: iPhone, iPad, Android phones and tablets, plus PC and Mac, with automatic sync between them. The shopping list groups items by aisle, and the planner works weekly or monthly.
Social import is the distinctive part, since it reaches Instagram and TikTok as well as websites. However, the pricing page is the one place a buyer would look for terms, and it supplies none.
What stands out
Social import
Book scanning
Cross-platform sync
Where it costs you
The pricing page lists no amounts and no trial length, so the cost is unknown before signing up.
Only Tudorspan Limited is named, with no address or country.
Right for
Mixed-device households importing recipes from social feeds and cookbooks
Wrong for
Buyers needing published prices or a stated company country
Not stated by the vendorPricing page lists no prices; trial invited, length unstated
Meal plan generator with a free plan and a Premium weekly view
Ranked #9 of 13 in Best Recipe and Meal Planning Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The price ladder here has three steps: a plan with no expiry, Premium at a monthly figure tied to annual billing, and Professional where each client is priced separately. A Premium trial exists but its length is not given.
The footer shows Eat This Much Inc. and no country. What you buy is generation and tracking, so a family keeping handwritten favourites gets less from it than from a collection manager.
What stands out
Free tier
Weekly planning
Coach dashboard
Where it costs you
Weekly planning and the grocery list need Premium, which leaves the free plan on single days.
No clipper or import feature is mentioned on the pricing page.
Right for
Cooks who want plans generated for them, plus coaches with clients
Wrong for
Collectors who mainly want to archive recipes from websites
Not stated by the vendorFree tier; published Premium annual plan; Professional priced per client
Subscription meal plans with grocery items sent to Walmart or Kroger
Ranked #10 of 13 in Best Recipe and Meal Planning Apps in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Plans are bought for a term, with the longer term priced lower per month, and no permanent free plan exists after the 14-day trial. Shopping can go to four named retailers or be done by hand.
Custom recipes and automatic lists are available in the apps. The copyright line reads eMeals Inc., 2002 to 2026, with no parent or country shown, so a buyer cannot tell where it is based from the site.
What stands out
Term subscription
Retailer ordering
14-day trial
Where it costs you
Breakfast and lunch plans are separate purchases, so full-day planning costs more than the dinner price.
The apps work only with an active subscription.
Right for
Busy households who want ready-made dinner plans ordered to a grocer
Wrong for
Cooks wanting to store and manage their own recipe collection
Not stated by the vendorPublished subscription by term; 14-day trial; breakfast and lunch plans sold separately
Free account with cookbooks, meal plans and Walmart pickup ordering
Ranked #11 of 13 in Best Recipe and Meal Planning Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Platforms covered are iOS, Android and computer. Recipes can be added from the web or typed in, and organised into personal cookbooks. The meal planner leaves room for leftovers.
The page carries a 2026 copyright line but no company, country or imprint. A trial is not mentioned, and the free account's limits are not stated, so only the app itself shows what stays at no cost.
What stands out
Free account
Walmart shopping
Gold tier
Where it costs you
Gold is described by benefits only, so the upgrade cost is unknown.
Shop Now in the app goes through a single retailer.
Right for
Walmart shoppers wanting cookbooks and a plan from one account
Wrong for
Buyers needing published prices or stated free-account limits
Not stated by the vendorAccount at no cost with unstated limits; Gold tier shown without a price
Web and iOS recipe store with ingredients placed inside the steps
Ranked #12 of 13 in Best Recipe and Meal Planning Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The one distinctive feature is Easy Read Recipes, which merges ingredients and quantities into the method so you stop looking back at a list. Import from many websites and cloud sync cover the basics.
Terms, Privacy and Copyright pages exist. For a category about planning meals, the home page offers storage and reading, not scheduling, so it works as a recipe box only.
What stands out
Web and iOS
Easy Read Recipes
Cloud sync
Where it costs you
No meal planner or grocery list is mentioned on the home page.
Terms name only Pestle, with no company or country.
Right for
Cooks on iPhone and web wanting recipes with amounts inside each step
Wrong for
Anyone needing weekly planning or a grocery list
Not stated by the vendorNo prices or plans on the page; cloud storage stated at no cost
Recipe sharing community with a premium tier and 20-plus regional sites
Ranked #13 of 13 in Best Recipe and Meal Planning Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The product is a recipe community first: searching, saving and posting recipes after login, plus trending lists and hall-of-fame rankings. The Japanese page shows the service live under this name on the check date.
Premium adds meal plans and ranked recipe lists, but the page gives neither prices nor limits. The footer names Cookpad Inc., yet the country could not be confirmed from the pages read.
What stands out
Recipe community
Premium service
Regional sites
Where it costs you
Meal plans sit inside the premium service, whose price is not shown.
The company page that would confirm the location was not retrieved.
Right for
Cooks who search and share recipes with a community more than they plan
Wrong for
Planners wanting grocery lists and a calendar as the core
Not stated by the vendorBrowsing without login; premium service, no prices on the page
How to choose recipe and meal planning apps software
Recipe and meal planning apps collect recipes from websites and books, assign them to days, and generate grocery lists, so households plan and shop from one place. Feature lists look alike, so we would settle these points one at a time instead.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
Only 6 of the 13 print a price; 7 quote per organisation. Comparable without a sales call: Plan to Eat, Copy Me That, Tandoor, KptnCook, Eat This Much, eMeals.
02
Look at where the vendor sits
2 regions are represented (Elsewhere 11, Europe 2). A vendor outside your own legal area is not a problem as such, but it changes who can compel it to hand over data.
03
Check the open source options
Source code is available for Tandoor, Mealie. Running it yourself swaps the licence fee for your own upkeep.
Recipe and meal planning apps: what the price is attached to
Pricing in this market hangs on different things, so compare the unit before the amount. Plan to Eat has a single plan, billed by month or year. Copy Me That is free to 40 recipes and then charges for an unlimited collection. KptnCook gates the recipe library and the weekly plan behind Premium and PRO.
Tandoor caps members, recipes and upload storage by cloud tier. Mela and Crouton print no price on their own sites; Crouton points to its App Store listing. Write down how many recipes you will store, how many people share them and which devices they use.
Count recipes, household members and devices before comparing prices
Check whether the price is per platform or per account
Find where the trial length is actually stated
Getting recipes in: clippers, scanners and imports
A planner is only as useful as the recipes already inside it, so test the import route you will really use. Plan to Eat clips from web and social sources, RecipeKeeper pulls in Instagram and TikTok posts and can scan paper pages, and Mela reads printed books through text recognition.
Crouton accepts a website, a photo or only a title, while Mealie relies on a built-in scraper for supported websites, so other sites may not import. Pestle imports from many websites but mentions no planner. Before paying, import ten of your own recipes from the places you actually find them and check what survives.
Import ten real recipes from your usual sources during the trial
Check that ingredient amounts and steps survive the import
Confirm the source link stays with each clipped recipe
Grocery lists and ordering: aisle sorting and retailer links
The shopping step separates apps that plan from apps that only store. Plan to Eat organises by store and aisle, and Tandoor sorts by supermarket. Mela keeps its list in Apple Reminders, which shares through Apple's own sharing.
eMeals can hand ingredients to four named grocers, and Prepear orders through Walmart in its mobile app, so both tie ordering to named retailers that may not serve your area. Decide whether you want a printed list, a shared list or an order placed with a grocer, then test that path with a real week.
Test a full week of meals and read the combined list
Check which retailers are linked and whether they serve you
Ask who else in the household can edit the list
Platforms, sync and where your recipes live
Recipe collections last for years, so check where yours would be stored and how it could leave you. Mela and Crouton keep data in iCloud and run on Apple devices, with Crouton also covering watchOS and visionOS. KptnCook offers iOS and Android apps. RecipeKeeper reaches phones, tablets and both desktop systems.
Tandoor and Mealie can run on your own server, which moves backups to you. Eat This Much suits generated plans more than archiving. Ask each vendor how recipes can be exported, because several sites read here do not say, and a collection built by clipping hundreds of pages is slow to rebuild by hand later.
Ask how recipes are exported before saving a large collection
Match the apps to every phone and computer in the household
Decide who owns backups if you self-host
What goes wrong most often when buying recipe and meal planning apps software
Assuming a recipe app can export your whole collection, then finding on the day you leave that the vendor's site never said how.
Importing a whole cookbook into a free tier such as Copy Me That, whose cap is 40 recipes, and hitting the limit mid-import.
Choosing an Apple-only app like Mela or Crouton for a household where one partner uses Android.
Treating an app with a retailer link, such as eMeals or Prepear, as if it works with every local grocer.
07
Frequently asked questions
8 answers
What is the best recipe and meal planning apps in 2026?
Our ranking of 13 puts Plan to Eat first. Plan to Eat sells one plan with no tiers or add-ons, billed monthly or yearly and usable on as many devices as you like.
The clipper saves recipes from websites and social platforms with no recipe cap, and the planner builds a grocery list by store and aisle. The company calls itself customer-funded but names no owner or country. After the 14-day trial you pay.
Which recipe and meal planning apps tools publish their pricing?
The ones that do, with the model each states:
Plan to Eat: Published monthly and yearly price on a single plan; 14-day trial only.
Copy Me That: Free tier up to 40 recipes; published monthly, yearly or lifetime paid option.
Tandoor: Published monthly cloud tiers including a free tier; self-hosting open source.
KptnCook: Free tier; published annual Premium and PRO plans; 7-day trial.
Eat This Much: Free tier; published Premium annual plan; Professional priced per client.
eMeals: Published subscription by term; 14-day trial; breakfast and lunch plans sold separately.
Everything else on the list is priced on request.
Is there a free recipe and meal planning apps tool?
Copy Me That, Tandoor, KptnCook, Eat This Much offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these recipe and meal planning apps vendors established?
Across 2 countries (Elsewhere 11, Europe 2):
Plan to Eat: Not stated by the vendor.
Copy Me That: Not stated by the vendor.
Tandoor: Germany.
KptnCook: Germany.
Mealie: Not stated by the vendor.
Mela: Not stated by the vendor.
Crouton: Not stated by the vendor.
RecipeKeeper: Not stated by the vendor.
Eat This Much: Not stated by the vendor.
eMeals: Not stated by the vendor.
Prepear: Not stated by the vendor.
Pestle: Not stated by the vendor.
Cookpad: Not stated by the vendor.
Which recipe and meal planning apps tools are open source?
Tandoor, Mealie.
Which recipe and meal planning apps tools can you host yourself?
Tandoor, Mealie. The other 11 are hosted by the vendor only.
What should you use instead of Plan to Eat?
Copy Me That and Tandoor are the next two on this page. Copy Me That is for Light cooks wanting a recipe clipper at a tiny cost; Tandoor is for Technical households wanting shared recipes on their own server or a cheap cloud seat.
Who should not buy Plan to Eat?
Cooks wanting a permanent no-cost tier for a small collection. Nothing stays free once the 14-day trial ends, so a household that only wants to store recipes pays anyway..
Your recipe and meal planning apps product is not among these 13? Tell us what it is for and who it serves, and we will consider it. The decision is editorial, and the ground rules are set out under software advice.