Self storage software runs a facility's rentals, recurring billing, delinquency, gate access and online booking. This guide covers management systems, booking platforms and access hardware sold to operators.
Our order favours independent vendors with one product, then weighs ninety-day setup effort, what payments and access modules add to the bill, how data can leave, and fit with a unit-based business.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What self storage software does
Self storage software manages unit inventory, tenant leases, recurring rent, late fees, online reservations and gate access, so operators run one or many facilities without paper ledgers or spreadsheets.
Our order comes from five tests, taken in turn: effort to set up, what you really pay, what happens to your data on the way out, how locked in you are, and the intended customer. A separate rule reserves the first three places for challengers and moves the household names to place 4 and below. Reasons for the choice of tests, and for skipping a score out of ten, can be read on the how we work page.
Single published plan with unlimited users and an open API
Ranked #1 of 11 in Best Self Storage Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Storeganise lists one plan with unlimited users and says it makes no setup charge. Around it sit a unit-listing website, a customer portal and a management portal spanning sites, with 50+ native integrations, Zapier and an Open API on platform data.
Valet and mobile storage and an AI booking assistant are also listed. Confirm the trial length, and what a second site costs, before committing.
What stands out
Unlimited users
Open API
No setup fee
Where it costs you
The trial button states no length, so a buyer cannot plan the evaluation window from the page.
Only one plan is shown, which leaves unclear how the price moves with site count.
Right for
Operators wanting a stated price, unlimited staff seats and API access to their data
Wrong for
Buyers needing an owner, address or trial length stated first
Not stated by the vendorPublished single plan, monthly or yearly billing, currency toggle; free trial; no setup fee
Cloud management with a large report library and hosted booking sites
Ranked #2 of 11 in Best Self Storage Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Doorswap bundles management, billing and hosted premium websites for one or several sites. Reports fall in five categories, over 70 in all, and can be scheduled to email.
Tenant profiles keep contacts, encrypted cards, lease details and attachments with a correspondence log, and digital leases carry a built-in signature. A Risk Assurance section sits in the menu but was not described. Ask which reports and websites sit inside the quoted subscription.
What stands out
Over 70 reports
Hosted websites
Regional tiers
Where it costs you
The site shows a demo button only, so no price can be estimated beforehand.
Its country appears only through an address on the about page.
Right for
Operators who want report-heavy management plus a hosted booking website
Wrong for
Buyers wanting to compare listed prices before talking to sales
United StatesRequest a demo; prices not shown on the site
Single-facility and multi-location plans with a US-based support team
Ranked #3 of 11 in Best Self Storage Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The offer splits into Single Facility and Multi-Location, the second sold by custom quote. Named features are SyraPay, e-signed leases, automatic card or ACH payments, a Rent Adjustment Wizard, task management and a mobile app.
Syrasoft Connect pulls over 250 standard reports across sites. The company puts its Baldwinsville office and US support staff up front. Autogate is the only integration named, so gate compatibility needs a direct question.
What stands out
Two plan types
SyraPay payments
250 reports
Where it costs you
The pages read show no prices, so the choice between the two plans cannot be costed.
Integrations are described as a wide selection of vendors without a single name given.
Right for
American operators choosing between one-site and multi-site plans with local support
Wrong for
Buyers who need a named hardware partner list before shortlisting
United StatesTwo plan types; multi-location quote by request; no amounts on the page read
Self-storage operating system with booking checkout and a public API
Ranked #4 of 11 in Best Self Storage Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Stora calls itself an operating system for storage. Its feature list runs from checkout on online bookings through payments, maps and contract signing to a CRM and dynamic rates.
Developers get a public API and the App Marketplace, and access control is an integration category. Regional sites exist for the EU, UK, US and five other markets. The yearly option is billed at ten months for twelve, but amounts appear only after a demo.
What stands out
Public API
50-unit entry
Dynamic pricing
Where it costs you
Entry plans begin at 50 units, so very small facilities fall outside what the pricing page states.
No price amounts are shown for any plan, and Premium requires talking to sales.
Right for
Operators with 50 or more units who want online checkout and an API
Wrong for
Single small sites below the stated entry size
Not stated by the vendorThree plans; amounts not shown, quoted through sales; yearly billing discount
Vendor incorporated in 2000 with corporate-level rent price control
Ranked #5 of 11 in Best Self Storage Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Self Storage Manager lists management software, online rental, call tracker, site walkthrough with work orders, SAMARA, e-signature, IVR payments, a Power BI module and a web platform. Advanced Revenue Management changes unit prices for one site or many centrally.
The CRM covers leads, reservations and campaigns, with collection reminders and 24x7 customer support. Since every item is described as its own product, ask which ones the base subscription actually includes.
What stands out
Incorporated 2000
Corporate rate changes
Many modules
Where it costs you
Modules are listed as separate lines with no prices, so the real total is hard to forecast.
The page says over one thousand facilities, which the vendor does not support with detail.
Right for
Multi-site operators wanting rent pricing changed from a corporate office
Wrong for
Buyers who want plan names and prices visible before a demo
United StatesRequest a demo; prices not shown on the site
SC Navigator platform with tiered plans and its own payment product
Ranked #6 of 11 in Best Self Storage Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
SC Navigator is described as cloud-based management that automates billing, late fees, move-out reminders and delinquency workflows. The site claims 150+ interactive reports.
Access partners include DoorKing, PTI Security Systems, Stor-Guard, SpiderDoor, DaVinci Lock and Noke, with QuickBooks Desktop for accounting and Twilio for messages. Optimize carries a Best Value tag, but every tier ends in a demo or Get Pricing button, so get tier contents confirmed in writing.
What stands out
Four tiers
150+ reports
SC Pay
Where it costs you
Pricing shows four tier names and no amounts, so tiers cannot be compared on cost.
Multi-location discounts are mentioned without any stated size or percentage.
Right for
Operators wanting tiered plans, a payments product and named gate partners
Wrong for
Buyers who want an owner, country or listed price visible
Not stated by the vendorFour tiers including A La Carte; amounts quoted through Get Pricing
Operator-funded Hummingbird management system with an API platform
Ranked #7 of 11 in Best Self Storage Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Tenant Inc groups Hummingbird, Mariposa online rentals, SuperLease, Alita AI, Dynamic Value Pricing, Charm, Mobile Manager and a data warehouse. Nectar is its open API platform, and Storelocal membership and digital marketing sit alongside.
The about page states funding from 200+ self-storage investors and a 2023 merger with Storelocal. With so many named products, ask which belong to the management subscription and which are separate services.
What stands out
Hummingbird system
Nectar API
Operator-funded
Where it costs you
The pages read give no pricing, so cost stays hidden until contact.
No headquarters address is stated, only a phone number.
Right for
Operators who like a vendor funded by other storage operators
Wrong for
Buyers who need prices and a trial visible in advance
Not stated by the vendorNot shown on the solutions or about pages
Kiosks, electronic locks, auctions and security monitoring in one catalogue
Ranked #8 of 11 in Best Self Storage Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
OpenTech Alliance sells Rent & Assist kiosks with call centre options, automated collections, cloud access control, electronic locks, motion detection and monitoring.
StorageTreasures runs online auctions, the StoreTracker app covers site operations, and a wireless mesh network links devices, staff and tenants. It calls itself a PropTech company with 10+ products. Treat it as an equipment and access supplier first, and confirm the tenant ledger separately.
What stands out
Kiosks and locks
Online auctions
10+ products
Where it costs you
The pricing URL covers third-party home security, so no OpenTech plan is priced anywhere.
No third-party integrations are named, although a partner page is linked.
Right for
Operators who need kiosks, locks and monitoring bought from one vendor
Wrong for
Buyers after a plain management and billing system
Storable's long-running product with Windows and browser editions
Ranked #9 of 11 in Best Self Storage Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The product traces itself to 1996 and now belongs to the Storable range. The desktop Web Edition installs on Windows 10 and 11, while myHub runs in a browser against the same server database for payments, transfers, e-leases and audits.
Marketplace, Websites, Access, Insurance, Collections and CRM are the named modules. Support comes with the subscription and you may cancel whenever you like, but amounts are shown only after a demo.
What stands out
Storable product
Monthly commitment
Web Edition
Where it costs you
The product now lives on Storable's pages, with no separate owner statement beyond the footer.
The page shows inconsistent facility counts, 33,000+ in one place and over 25,000 in another.
Right for
Operators wanting a desktop edition and a browser edition on a monthly commitment
Wrong for
Buyers preferring a stand-alone vendor with listed prices
Not stated by the vendorMonthly billing with a monthly commitment; amounts not shown; demo only
Ranked #10 of 11 in Best Self Storage Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The line covers smart locks, smart keypads and an app, portal and software offer for storage facilities. Its page title ties it to Janus, and the navigation is Janus International's menu, though no owner statement appears in the text read.
Storage Commander lists it among its gate and access partners. Because the software page failed to load, treat it as access hardware and ask your management vendor how the link works.
What stands out
Smart locks
Keypads
Access hardware
Where it costs you
The software subpage returned a 404, so the software offer could not be verified.
No pricing, trial or headquarters is shown on the page read.
Right for
Operators adding smart locks to a management system they already run
Wrong for
Buyers seeking one product for billing, bookings and reporting
Not stated by the vendorNot shown on the page read
Residential property tool with a self-storage property type
Ranked #11 of 11 in Best Self Storage Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Listed features run from marketing and leasing to rent collection, accounting, payables, owner tools, maintenance and renters insurance. Self Storage appears only as a property type in the navigation, and the Premier tier adds general ledger tracking and menu-level security.
The rate is stated per unit, with a monthly floor, for annual agreements. For a storage operator this is an accounting-led option, which explains why dedicated systems rank above it.
What stands out
Per-unit rate
Annual agreement
Residential focus
Where it costs you
The page read is for residential management, and no storage features are named beyond a property type.
A monthly floor sits on top of the per-unit rate, under an annual agreement.
Right for
Operators already managing mixed property who want one ledger
Wrong for
Storage-only operators needing gate, auction or unit-pricing tools
Not stated by the vendorPer unit per month, published; floor amount; annual agreement
Self storage software manages unit inventory, tenant leases, recurring rent, late fees, online reservations and gate access, so operators run one or many facilities without paper ledgers or spreadsheets. What separates these products is rarely a feature. Work through the steps below.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
The split is 2 published against 9 quoted. If you want to compare numbers first, start with Storeganise, Yardi Breeze.
02
Ask which country the contract runs through
Jurisdiction is a buying criterion here. The 11 vendors are spread over 2 countries (Elsewhere 8, North America 3), and the home country determines which disclosure rules bind them.
Self storage software: management system, kiosk bundle or access hardware
Vendors in this market sell very different things under one label. Storeganise, Stora and Doorswap present a management system with a website and booking layer. Tenant Inc spreads Hummingbird, Mariposa and Nectar over several named products. OpenTech Alliance leads with Rent & Assist kiosks, electronic locks and auctions, while Nokē Smart Entry is smart locks and keypads.
Yardi Breeze comes from residential property. A buyer who compares these as equals ends up weighing a lock against a ledger. Decide first whether you need a replacement for your management system, a booking front end, or access hardware, and shortlist inside that group. Then ask each vendor which of its named products the subscription includes, because several pages list modules without saying.
Write down whether you need management, bookings or hardware
Ask which named modules sit inside the subscription
Check the vendor sells storage first, not property in general
Reading self storage software prices: units, tiers and payments
Few vendors here show money. Storeganise publishes one plan with unlimited users, Yardi Breeze publishes a per-unit rate with a monthly minimum, and Stora lists three plans where Essentials and Advanced start at 50 units. Storage Commander shows four tiers with Establish, Optimize, Pinnacle and A La Carte but no amounts, and Self Storage Manager, Doorswap, Syrasoft and Sitelink offer demos only.
Payments need separate attention: SC Pay, SyraPay and the vendor payment tools sit beside the subscription, and Storage Commander's saving claim for SC Pay does not say what it is measured against. Ask for one written quote that covers your unit count, card processing, website and any access module.
Ask for a quote based on your exact unit count
Ask how card processing is charged
Confirm whether the website and access modules are extra
Gate access and integrations in self storage software
Most operators run a gate or smart locks, so integration lists matter more here than in office software. Storage Commander names DoorKing, Noke Smart Entry, PTI Security Systems, Stor-Guard, SpiderDoor and DaVinci Lock. Syrasoft names only Autogate and describes the rest as a wide selection of vendors.
Storeganise states 50+ native integrations across access control, accounting and payments, and Stora lists access control as an integration category. OpenTech Alliance sells its own electronic locks and cloud access control, which fits a single-vendor approach. Before signing, get your gate hardware model confirmed in writing against the exact edition you would buy, because a general claim of integration does not cover a specific controller.
List your gate and lock models for the vendor
Get the integration confirmed for your edition in writing
Ask who supports the link when it fails
Reports, API and leaving: what multi-site operators should test
Operators with several sites live on reporting and need a way out. Storage Commander claims 150+ interactive reports, Syrasoft Connect over 250 standard reports and Doorswap over 70 that can be emailed on a schedule. Counts are not quality, so run your own occupancy and delinquency reports in a demo.
For data exit, Stora offers a public API and Storeganise an Open API covering platform data, while Tenant Inc calls Nectar its open API platform. Sitelink states a monthly commitment, cancellable at any time. None of the pages read describes an export format or an end-of-contract data handover, so ask for one in the contract, and test a full export during any trial.
Run your own delinquency report in the demo
Ask for the export format and handover terms in writing
Check the cancellation period against your site timeline
What goes wrong most often when buying self storage software
Choosing on gate-hardware logos without confirming the exact controller model and software edition you would run.
Comparing a monthly commitment such as Sitelink's with a yearly deal without pricing the full term.
Treating a long module list as included, when vendors like Self Storage Manager show modules as separate product lines.
Assuming a general property tool such as Yardi Breeze handles auctions, unit pricing and gate integration for storage.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best self storage software in 2026?
First of 11 on this page is Storeganise. Storeganise shows one plan on its pricing page, with unlimited users, a currency toggle and no setup fee, so a first budget is quick to draft.
The product spans a listing website, a customer portal for booking and signing, and a management portal with access control. The gaps are in the detail: the page gives no trial length, headquarters or owner, so check each before signing.
Which self storage tools publish their pricing?
2 out of 11 state a price model on their own site:
Storeganise: Published single plan, monthly or yearly billing, currency toggle; free trial; no setup fee.
Yardi Breeze: Per unit per month, published; floor amount; annual agreement.
Everything else on the list is priced on request.
Is there a free self storage tool?
No, every product on this page is paid.
Where are these self storage software vendors established?
Vendor countries on this page, Elsewhere 8, North America 3:
Storeganise: Not stated by the vendor.
Doorswap: United States.
Syrasoft: United States.
Stora: Not stated by the vendor.
Self Storage Manager: United States.
Storage Commander: Not stated by the vendor.
Tenant Inc: Not stated by the vendor.
OpenTech Alliance: Not stated by the vendor.
SiteLink: Not stated by the vendor.
Nokē: Not stated by the vendor.
Yardi Breeze: Not stated by the vendor.
What should you use instead of Storeganise?
Second is Doorswap, which suits Operators who want report-heavy management plus a hosted booking website. Third is Syrasoft, which suits American operators choosing between one-site and multi-site plans with local support.
Who should not buy Storeganise?
Buyers needing an owner, address or trial length stated first. The trial button states no length, so a buyer cannot plan the evaluation window from the page..
This list covers 11 self storage software products. A product we left out can be put to us by its maker, with a short note on its purpose and its customers; we decide on inclusion ourselves. The rules are under software advice.