Online tutoring platforms connect a learner with a paid tutor over video, through a marketplace or through bundled lesson plans.
This guide orders eleven of them by what the vendor shows before payment: whether prices are published, how trials and guarantees work, how easy it is to stop, and which learner each product suits.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What online tutoring platforms do
Online tutoring platforms match students with tutors for live video lessons, handling search, booking and payment, and often adding guarantees, lesson packages or group classes.
Setup effort, true cost, data portability, exit options and buyer fit are the five tests, applied in that order to every online tutoring platform here. Smaller challengers are placed in the top three wherever the category has them; the well-known brands come after. Why those five, and why there is no score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
UK-facing tutor marketplace that covers the next lesson if the first disappoints
Ranked #1 of 11 in Best Online Tutoring Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Tutorful presents itself as a UK tutoring service, with the .co.uk domain and UK tutors mentioned, and the older tutorful.com address simply forwards there. The operator named is Tutora Ltd.
Its main promise is the first-lesson guarantee, which funds a replacement tutor when the opening session goes badly. The homepage button to get started goes straight to tutor results, and no trial terms, pricing page or registered address could be read.
What stands out
First-lesson guarantee
UK tutors
Single-purpose marketplace
Where it costs you
The rate quoted on the homepage reads oddly as written, so the starting price needs confirming.
No pricing page is linked and tutor commission is not shown, which leaves the cost structure unseen.
Right for
Families seeking UK-based tutors who want a refund-style safety net after lesson one
Wrong for
Buyers outside the UK or those wanting listed prices
Not stated by the vendorHourly lessons advertised from a stated rate on the homepage; commission not shown
Subject tutoring sold in monthly hours or six-month packages
Ranked #2 of 11 in Best Online Tutoring Platforms in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
The pricing page lays out individual monthly plans of one, three and five hours at 39.99, 114.99 and 179.99 dollars, plus ten, thirty and fifty hour packages valid over six months, falling from 35 to 29 dollars an hour.
Cancelling or changing a monthly plan is allowed whenever you like. The firm was incorporated in Delaware in 2000, is headquartered in New York and hosts data in the United States.
What stands out
Published packages
24/7 on-demand
Institutional sales
Where it costs you
The grade guarantee only applies to students who work two hours a month for three consecutive months.
No free trial appears on the pricing page, so a first session means buying a plan.
Right for
Students needing homework help at odd hours, or schools buying tutoring for many learners
Wrong for
Learners wanting a low-commitment single trial lesson or session
United StatesPublished hourly packages, monthly or six-month; change or cancel anytime on monthly plans
Language lessons bought one at a time from teachers who set rates
Ranked #3 of 11 in Best Online Tutoring Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Here the buyer pays per lesson and no subscription sits in the way: teachers set their own prices, and the homepage shows featured teachers starting between USD 7.00 and USD 15.00.
A free practice area for the community runs next to the paid lessons, and an Instant Lesson can be booked as a trial. The footer names italki HK Limited, which does not say where it is established. Commission and fees were not visible on the pages read.
What stands out
Pay per lesson
Teacher-set rates
Language focus
Where it costs you
No fee structure or pricing page appears on the pages read, so total cost depends on each teacher.
The trial through Instant Lesson has no stated terms or cost on the homepage.
Right for
Learners who pay lesson by lesson and want free community practice alongside
Wrong for
Anyone wanting one fixed monthly bill or a non-language subject
Not stated by the vendorPay-as-you-go lessons priced by each teacher; community practice costs nothing
Language tutoring with per-language starting prices and a free trial
Ranked #4 of 11 in Best Online Tutoring Platforms in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The homepage lists starting prices per hour for several languages: English from EUR 13.36, Spanish EUR 7.13, French EUR 6.23, Italian EUR 8.91, and Japanese and Korean EUR 16.03.
A free trial lesson is offered, described as totally free of charge. The page also quotes lessons from EUR 4.45. Tutor commission, the paying party and the country are not given, and the footer shows only a 2026 copyright line for Verbling.
What stands out
Per-language prices
Free trial lesson
Language tutoring
Where it costs you
No pricing page is linked, so commission and who pays it cannot be checked.
Starting prices are minimums per language, not what a typical tutor charges.
Right for
Learners comparing languages by hourly starting price before booking a free lesson
Wrong for
Buyers who want subjects other than languages taught
Not stated by the vendorStarting hourly prices published per language on the homepage; trial lesson listed as free of charge
Tutor marketplace with flexible plans and a switch-tutor promise
Ranked #5 of 11 in Best Online Tutoring Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Preply's subscription page calls its plans flexible but shows no amounts, and a currency selector lists BRL, GBP, EUR, PLN, UAH and USD, so billing is local for many countries.
The homepage promises a free switch to another tutor if the student is not satisfied. The contact section gives a Brookline, Massachusetts address and the footer reads Preply Inc., yet the country of establishment is never stated outright.
What stands out
Subscription plans
Multi-currency checkout
Tutor swap promise
Where it costs you
Plan amounts are absent from the subscription page, so cost has to be found in the help centre.
Tutor fees and commission are not shown on the pages read, so the split between tutor and platform is unknown.
Right for
Learners who want a stated way out of a mismatched tutor
Wrong for
Buyers who need exact plan prices before they sign up
Not stated by the vendorFlexible subscription plans described without amounts on the pages read; detail sits in the help centre
Berlin language school with a self-paced plan and a two-month bootcamp
Ranked #6 of 11 in Best Online Tutoring Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Two plans exist: Flex, for study at your own pace, and Sprint, built for higher intensity over two months. New students can start with a no-commitment week of access, which can be spent on a few group sessions or a single one-to-one session.
A limited offer gives 15 percent off the first month of Flex monthly plans. The footer lists Lingoda GmbH with a Berlin address, which makes it the one platform here with a confirmed German base.
What stands out
Flex and Sprint plans
7-day trial
Group and private classes
Where it costs you
The pricing page shows no amounts, so a buyer cannot compare Flex and Sprint before signing up.
The launch discount excludes the smallest plan and cannot be combined with other offers.
Right for
Adults who want a structured, timetabled course and a ready-made two-month intensive
Wrong for
Learners who want a subject other than a language
GermanyTwo plans, Flex and Sprint; amounts not on the pricing page; 7-day trial
Native English tutors on monthly plans from small groups to Pro
Ranked #7 of 11 in Best Online Tutoring Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Three plans are shown in euros: Small Groups at a listed 34 per month now 17, Private+ at a listed 72 now 36, and Pro at a listed 90 now 45.
Private+ adds recordings, transcripts and automated feedback, while Pro adds exclusive tutors, structured lessons and self-study recommendations. No free trial is shown, though the page mentions exploring without a subscription. Only Cambly Inc. is named, with no country.
What stands out
Native English tutors
Tiered monthly plans
Recordings and transcripts
Where it costs you
Every tier pairs a higher listed figure with a reduced current one, so the long-run price is unclear.
The group tier is restricted by age, which leaves younger learners out.
Right for
Adults wanting conversation with native English tutors and lesson recordings
Wrong for
Buyers wanting a listed trial lesson before paying
Not stated by the vendorMonthly plans on the homepage with a listed price and a lower current price in euros; no trial shown
Post a question with a budget and get a vetted tutor
Ranked #8 of 11 in Best Online Tutoring Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Each request starts from the student: set a budget, set a time limit, wait for a match. Money changes hands only once the live session is finished and the student is satisfied.
On the tutor side, the sign-up page advertises earnings of up to 7,500 dollars a month. No student price, commission or country was found, so the model is easy to grasp but the cost is hard to forecast.
What stands out
Question-based requests
Pay after session
Student-set budget
Where it costs you
The pricing page returned a site error, so student rates and platform commission could not be checked.
Matching is per question, so there is no stated way to book a recurring weekly tutor.
Right for
Students with a single stuck assignment who want to set their own budget
Wrong for
Learners wanting a continuing relationship with one tutor
Not stated by the vendorStudent sets a budget per question; payment after the session; student prices not shown
Tutors set their own rate, with the first hour guaranteed
Ranked #9 of 11 in Best Online Tutoring Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Tutors name their own rate and get paid via the site. The guarantee wording is short: the right fit, or it is free.
Its legal line places it inside IXL Learning, and the copyright notice runs from 2005 to 2026. Neither the homepage nor the about page names a country, and no amounts, commission or fee page could be found.
What stands out
Tutor-set rates
Good Fit Guarantee
IXL Learning division
Where it costs you
No fees page is linked from the homepage, so commission and the payer are unseen.
As a division of IXL Learning it is not an independent single-product vendor.
Right for
Students wanting to pick a tutor and rate and test the first hour
Wrong for
Buyers who need a published fee structure up front
Not stated by the vendorTutor-set hourly rates; no fees page linked from the homepage; commission not shown
One-to-one tutoring, weekly live classes and practice tests, priced by sales
Ranked #10 of 11 in Best Online Tutoring Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The buying route starts with a questionnaire that recommends a plan across three offers: private sessions, group classes held weekly and test practice. For pricing the homepage points to a phone number and a sales conversation, and nothing is listed publicly.
Nerdy is named as the parent group. The page does not state a country, and the usual pricing addresses returned 404, so a buyer cannot check rates alone.
What stands out
Sales-led pricing
Live classes
Practice tests
Where it costs you
Costs stay private until a buyer has spoken to a salesperson.
The pricing and prices paths returned 404, which leaves nothing to compare in advance.
Right for
Families who want a guided plan recommendation, live classes and practice tests
Wrong for
Shoppers who compare tutors on published hourly rates
Not stated by the vendorPrices not shown online; visitors are asked to talk to the team or call
Ranked #11 of 11 in Best Online Tutoring Platforms in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Only the page title could be read. It describes live online classes, a very large subject list and an age range of 3 to 18. Everything else loaded client-side and showed nothing, so price, trial and country are unknown.
It sits last because the evidence for any further claim is missing, and a buyer should check the site directly before relying on it.
What stands out
Classes for kids
Ages 3 to 18
Live online
Where it costs you
The pages loaded as an empty shell, so prices and any trial could not be checked.
The catalogue is aimed at young learners, so adults sit outside its scope.
Right for
Parents looking for live classes for children across many subjects
Wrong for
Adults or anyone needing one-to-one tutoring in a school subject
Not stated by the vendorNot visible: the pages read rendered only a title
Online tutoring platforms match students with tutors for live video lessons, handling search, booking and payment, and often adding guarantees, lesson packages or group classes. Feature lists look alike, so we would settle these points one at a time instead.
01
Start with pricing transparency
9 vendors on this page sell by quote, while 2 publish a pricing model you can read today: Tutor.com, Verbling.
02
Ask which country the contract runs through
The vendors on this page are based in 3 countries (Elsewhere 9, North America 1, Europe 1). The country of the contracting company sets which authorities can ask it for your data, whatever the hosting region.
Online tutoring platforms: what the price page actually shows
Start by checking how much each vendor puts in writing, because it varies far more than the lessons do. Tutor.com publishes monthly plans and six-month blocks with an hourly rate for each, and Cambly lists three monthly tiers in euros. Verbling shows starting hourly prices per language, and italki shows a range for featured teachers.
Preply, Wyzant, Tutorful and Studypool show no tutor commission, and Varsity Tutors asks you to call for a price. Outschool showed nothing readable at all. A missing price is not proof of a high one, but it means your first real figure arrives at checkout. Screenshot what you saw, and compare one hour of the same subject across three vendors.
Note whether the price is per hour, per month or per package
Ask who pays the platform commission, tutor or student
Compare the same subject and level across three vendors
Trial lessons and guarantees: read the conditions, not the headline
Nearly every platform here promises a safety net, but the terms differ. Wyzant guarantees the first hour with a new tutor. Preply lets you try another tutor for free if unsatisfied. Tutorful funds a fresh tutor if the first session leaves the student unhappy. Verbling offers a trial described as free of charge, and Lingoda gives a week of access with a capped number of classes.
Tutor.com ties its better-grades promise to steady use over a quarter. Studypool collects payment only after the session, when you are satisfied. Cambly shows no trial. Decide whether you want a refund, a replacement tutor or simply a cheap first session, then choose the guarantee that gives it. Keep the vendor's wording on file in case of a dispute later.
Check whether the guarantee refunds money or only swaps the tutor
Read the usage condition attached to any grade guarantee
Confirm how long a trial lasts and what it covers
Subscription, package or single lesson: pick the billing shape first
How you pay shapes how easily you can leave. italki charges per lesson with teacher-set rates, so stopping costs nothing. Tutor.com lets monthly plans be changed or cancelled any time, while its six-month blocks fix the hours over half a year. Cambly sells monthly plans, and Lingoda splits into self-paced Flex and a two-month Sprint bootcamp.
Preply describes its plans only as flexible. Studypool prices each question separately against a budget you set. A learner with an exam date suits a block of hours; one who is unsure about tutoring suits pay-per-lesson. Match the commitment to how certain you are, and ask each vendor in writing what happens to hours you have paid for but not used if the tutor leaves or the learner stops.
Choose single lesson, monthly plan or block before browsing
Check whether unused hours expire and when
Find out how to pause or cancel before paying
Matching platform to learner: language, school subject, children or institutions
These products are built for different learners, so fit comes before price. Cambly is for conversation with native English tutors, with Small Groups reserved for adults of 21 and over. Lingoda, italki, Verbling and Preply centre on languages. Tutor.com offers 24/7 on-demand help in more than 250 subjects and sells to schools and libraries. Varsity Tutors adds weekly live classes and practice tests, while Wyzant and Tutorful are tutor marketplaces.
Outschool lists classes for ages 3 to 18, and Studypool handles one-off questions. Write down the learner's age, subject and goal first, then drop every platform whose own description does not mention it. Only then compare prices, because a cheap platform that does not teach the subject costs more than an expensive one that does, and a school or employer may already pay for access.
State the learner's age, subject and goal in one line
Remove platforms that do not mention that subject
Check if a school or employer already buys access
What goes wrong most often when buying online tutoring platforms
Judging a marketplace by the lowest featured rate, when most of the cost is set by the tutor you actually pick.
Assuming a guarantee refunds money, when Tutorful, Preply and Wyzant describe a replacement or a free first hour.
Buying a six-month block for a learner who has not yet had a single trial lesson.
Choosing a language specialist for school subjects, or a children's class catalogue for adult exam help.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What are the best online tutoring platforms in 2026?
Tutorful takes first place among the 11 we reviewed. Tutorful sits first because it does one job: it puts students in touch with UK tutors, and the operator named behind its domain is Tutora Ltd.
The first-lesson guarantee is concrete, since an unhappy student gets the next lesson with a new tutor paid for. But no pricing page is linked, the homepage rate line is garbled, and country and commission are not stated.
Which online tutoring platforms publish their pricing?
Published pricing exists for 2 products on this page:
Tutor.com: Published hourly packages, monthly or six-month; change or cancel anytime on monthly plans.
Verbling: Starting hourly prices published per language on the homepage; trial lesson listed as free of charge.
The other 9 quote per organisation.
Is there a free online tutoring platform?
No. None of the 11 offer a usable free tier.
Where are these online tutoring platform vendors established?
The headquarters are spread over 3 countries and 3 regions, Elsewhere 9, North America 1, Europe 1:
Tutorful: Not stated by the vendor.
Tutor.com: United States.
italki: Not stated by the vendor.
Verbling: Not stated by the vendor.
Preply: Not stated by the vendor.
Lingoda: Germany.
Cambly: Not stated by the vendor.
Studypool: Not stated by the vendor.
Wyzant: Not stated by the vendor.
Varsity Tutors: Not stated by the vendor.
Outschool: Not stated by the vendor.
What should you use instead of Tutorful?
The next in line are Tutor.com, aimed at Students needing homework help at odd hours, or schools buying tutoring for many learners, and italki, aimed at Learners who pay lesson by lesson and want free community practice alongside.
Who should not buy Tutorful?
Buyers outside the UK or those wanting listed prices. The rate quoted on the homepage reads oddly as written, so the starting price needs confirming..
Makers of online tutoring platforms products can ask us to look at theirs. Say what it does and who uses it. We choose what to add, and nothing can be bought; see software advice for what a listing means.