Best Text Expander Software in 2026

Text expanders replace a short typed abbreviation with a stored phrase, form or formula, so repeated answers are typed once. Searches for the term mix dedicated expanders, launchers with a snippet feature and scripting tools.

This guide ranks twelve of them on ninety-day setup effort, the price once users and devices multiply, how snippets leave, dependence on any one platform, and fit for the work.

Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.

In short

What text expander software does

Text expander software watches what you type, swaps a short abbreviation for a saved phrase, template or formula, and keeps those snippets in a library that can sync across devices or be shared with colleagues.

01

The top three

12 tools reviewed
02

How we ranked these

5 criteria, in order

Setup effort, true cost, data portability, exit options and buyer fit are the five tests, applied in that order to every text expander tool here. One rule sits on top of those tests: places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. The reasoning behind the five tests, and behind having no score out of ten, is set out on the how we work page.

12tools reviewed
7publish a price
4have a free tier
2countries represented
03

Compared at a glance

12 tools
#ToolCountryPricingFree tier Right forNot for
#1EspansoNot stated by the vendorOpen source under GPL-3; no price stated, optional donation via PayPal—Technical users who want one open source expander on Windows, Linux and macOSTeams wanting a graphical editor and managed sharing today
#2TypinatorAustriaBasic is a one-time payment per major version; Advanced and Business are annual, with amounts not shown on the page—Mac-first users and small teams wanting local storage and a one-time optionWindows-based offices needing a production-ready expander now
#3Rocket TypistNot stated by the vendorFree tier holds ten plain text snippets; Pro unlocks are separate one-time purchases per platform, or part of SetappYesApple users testing an expander before paying, or migrating from another oneMixed Windows and Mac teams needing one shared tool
#4aTextNot stated by the vendorMacintosh licence after a 21-day trial; Windows terms and amounts are not shown on the page—Small offices running both Mac and Windows who already share a cloud folderBuyers who need published prices before booking any call
#5Text BlazeNot stated by the vendorFree forever plan; Pro and Business plans published in USD, billed monthly or yearly; Enterprise through salesYesBrowser-heavy teams using Gmail, Google Docs, LinkedIn or Salesforce dailyBuyers who must know the vendor's country before purchase
#6TextExpanderNot stated by the vendorPer-user plans from a free tier to Enterprise; annual billing is listed lower; tax may be added at checkoutYesSupport and healthcare teams needing snippets on every device with admin sharingIndividuals who want a one-off licence instead of subscriptions
#7BeeftextNot stated by the vendorOpen source under the MIT licence; installer or portable edition—Individual Windows users wanting a simple expander with no data collectionTeams needing shared libraries or users on other systems
#8FastKeysNot stated by the vendorPublished one-time licences for Personal and Professional; Enterprise quoted; trial edition offered—Single buyers wanting one lifetime licence that covers several automation helpersTeams needing shared snippet libraries with admin controls
#9Keyboard MaestroNot stated by the vendorPublished one-time licence with no subscription; paid upgrade between versions; trial offered—Mac power users who want expansion inside larger scheduled automationsAnyone wanting a ready snippet library with minimal learning
#10AlfredNot stated by the vendorPublished Powerpack licences in pounds; one-time versus subscription is not stated on the page—Mac users already living in a launcher who want snippets built inWindows users or teams needing shared snippet libraries
#11AutoHotkeyNot stated by the vendorOpen source under GNU GPLv2; cost is listed as zero—Windows users who already script and want expansion as one of many hotkeysNon-technical staff wanting a ready snippet manager
#12RaycastNot stated by the vendorFree personal plan; paid Pro, Plus and Max plans, per-user Teams tiers and custom EnterpriseYesIndividuals who want snippets bundled with a launcher at no costTeams buying purely for a large shared snippet library

Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the entry says so.

04

The 12 tools, reviewed

Ranked

1. Espanso · 2. Typinator · 3. Rocket Typist · 4. aText · 5. Text Blaze · 6. TextExpander · 7. Beeftext · 8. FastKeys · 9. Keyboard Maestro · 10. Alfred · 11. AutoHotkey · 12. Raycast

#1 Espanso

Open source expander for Windows, Linux and macOS, set up in files

Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Text Expander Software in 2026.

Open sourcePricing on requestElsewhere

Espanso fits people who are comfortable editing configuration files and who work across several desktop systems. It expands a typed keyword as you type, offers snippet search with ALT+Space, and adds dynamic dates, emojis, shell commands and forms that pass values to scripts.

Nothing on the site describes team libraries or an admin console, so a department rolling it out must plan its own file distribution.

What stands out
  • GPL-3 licence
  • File-based config
  • Espanso Hub packages
Where it costs you
  • Setup means editing configuration files, because the graphical interface remains a future plan.
  • The page names a developer but no company or country, so there is no organisation to hold to a service level.
Right for

Technical users who want one open source expander on Windows, Linux and macOS

Wrong for

Teams wanting a graphical editor and managed sharing today

Not stated by the vendorOpen source under GPL-3; no price stated, optional donation via PayPal

#2 Typinator

Austrian Mac and iPhone expander with one-off and annual plans

Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Text Expander Software in 2026.

Pricing on requestEurope

Typinator suits Mac users who want snippets kept on their own machines rather than in a vendor cloud. It expands text, images, dates, AI prompts, formulas and code, and corrects misspelled terms while you type.

The Basic plan is private use only and macOS only, so a business has to move to the annual Business plan, priced by number of users, and the buyer must ask the vendor what that costs.

What stands out
  • ISO 27001 statement
  • Local snippet storage
  • iCloud or WebDAV sync
Where it costs you
  • Windows exists only as a public beta that the vendor says is not ready for production.
  • The page lists plan types but no amounts, and does not mention a trial.
Right for

Mac-first users and small teams wanting local storage and a one-time option

Wrong for

Windows-based offices needing a production-ready expander now

AustriaBasic is a one-time payment per major version; Advanced and Business are annual, with amounts not shown on the page

#3 Rocket Typist

Mac and iPhone expander with a capped starter tier and many imports

Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Text Expander Software in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere

Rocket Typist works as a low-risk first expander because the starter tier is limited by snippet count rather than by time.

Pro brings formatted text, images, JavaScript snippets on the Mac and AI-based Smart Snippets, and lets paying users share snippet folders. iCloud keeps a personal library in step across devices, so syncing depends on every user having an Apple account.

What stands out
  • Ten-snippet starter tier
  • Imports from TextExpander
  • Smart Snippets with AI
Where it costs you
  • Only Apple platforms are listed, so Windows colleagues cannot share the same setup.
  • Some price figures on the page appear unlabelled and the iOS price did not load, so the real bill is unclear.
Right for

Apple users testing an expander before paying, or migrating from another one

Wrong for

Mixed Windows and Mac teams needing one shared tool

Not stated by the vendorFree tier holds ten plain text snippets; Pro unlocks are separate one-time purchases per platform, or part of Setapp

#4 aText

Mac and Windows expander that syncs through shared cloud folders

Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Text Expander Software in 2026.

Pricing on requestElsewhere

aText is a plain fit for a shared folder workflow: pick OneDrive, Dropbox or a network share and both operating systems read the same library. It adds date and time scripts, editable fields and mouse scripts.

The clear drawback is that the page lists Version 3 for macOS and a separate Windows release, so licences and trials may differ by platform, and the vendor must confirm what a mixed office pays.

What stands out
  • 21-day Mac trial
  • Folder-based sync
  • Rich text and images
Where it costs you
  • The page shows no prices, so the cost for a team cannot be compared from the site.
  • Windows trial terms are not stated, and the Windows download is pointed to the Microsoft Store.
Right for

Small offices running both Mac and Windows who already share a cloud folder

Wrong for

Buyers who need published prices before booking any call

Not stated by the vendorMacintosh licence after a 21-day trial; Windows terms and amounts are not shown on the page

#5 Text Blaze

Browser-first expander with a forever plan and shared team folders

Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Text Expander Software in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere

Text Blaze is the category's most explicit about limits: rows per space, API requests per hour and sharing allowances all rise by plan, so a team can predict where it will hit a ceiling.

Shared folders push updates to colleagues, and formulas handle calculations such as taxes. Buyers who need audit logs or SAML SSO must go to the quoted Enterprise tier.

What stands out
  • Chrome extension
  • Fill-in forms
  • Row and API limits
Where it costs you
  • Free plan limits snippet and folder sharing, and caps rows at 10,000 per space.
  • The page states no country, only a company name and two contact addresses.
Right for

Browser-heavy teams using Gmail, Google Docs, LinkedIn or Salesforce daily

Wrong for

Buyers who must know the vendor's country before purchase

Not stated by the vendorFree forever plan; Pro and Business plans published in USD, billed monthly or yearly; Enterprise through sales

#6 TextExpander

Per-user subscription expander synced across Mac, Windows, Chrome and iOS

Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Text Expander Software in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere

TextExpander is the subscription option for teams that need one library on Mac, Windows, Chrome and iOS. Every user pays monthly or annually, and tax of an estimated 20% may be added outside the US.

New accounts get 30 days of advanced features before dropping to the free plan. Without a stated headquarters or owner, procurement staff must ask for those details directly.

What stands out
  • Per-user plans
  • 30-day preview
  • Snippet Requests
Where it costs you
  • Pro and Business each carry two different monthly figures on the page, unexplained.
  • The free plan allows five active snippets, which a support desk outgrows quickly.
Right for

Support and healthcare teams needing snippets on every device with admin sharing

Wrong for

Individuals who want a one-off licence instead of subscriptions

Not stated by the vendorPer-user plans from a free tier to Enterprise; annual billing is listed lower; tax may be added at checkout

#7 Beeftext

Windows open source expander that sends no typing data anywhere

Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Text Expander Software in 2026.

Open sourcePricing on requestElsewhere

Beeftext is deliberately narrow: keyword in, snippet out, in any program that accepts pasted text. The version shown is 16.0, offered as an installer or a portable copy that can run from a USB drive.

The only network activity is the daily update check, which a privacy-minded user can disable. Because it lacks sharing features, an office must copy files by hand.

What stands out
  • MIT licence
  • Windows only
  • Unicode snippets
Where it costs you
  • It runs on Windows only, so Mac and Linux users cannot use the same library.
  • Nothing on the page covers moving a library between machines.
Right for

Individual Windows users wanting a simple expander with no data collection

Wrong for

Teams needing shared libraries or users on other systems

Not stated by the vendorOpen source under the MIT licence; installer or portable edition

#8 FastKeys

Lifetime-licence bundle of expander, macros, clipboard manager and gestures

Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Text Expander Software in 2026.

Published pricingElsewhere

FastKeys treats the expander as one tool in an automation toolbox. The lifetime licence avoids annual renewals, and volume discounts exist for the Professional edition, but each Professional licence covers a single computer.

Anyone wanting only abbreviations would pay for macros, gestures and a clipboard manager they may never open, and no team sharing is described on the order page.

What stands out
  • Lifetime licence
  • Macro Recorder
  • Clipboard Manager
Where it costs you
  • The page gives no operating system, so compatibility must be checked before buying.
  • Trial length and country are not stated, and the input list domain did not resolve.
Right for

Single buyers wanting one lifetime licence that covers several automation helpers

Wrong for

Teams needing shared snippet libraries with admin controls

Not stated by the vendorPublished one-time licences for Personal and Professional; Enterprise quoted; trial edition offered

#9 Keyboard Maestro

macOS automation tool with a one-time licence and a snippet prompt action

Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Text Expander Software in 2026.

Published pricingElsewhere

Keyboard Maestro makes sense when expansion is only one step in a longer macro: fill a web form, download a statement, then paste a stored reply.

The price is a single payment, with a cheaper upgrade from a previous version. The cost sits in time, because building macros means learning conditions, loops and actions. Nothing here describes snippet sharing across a team.

What stands out
  • One-time licence
  • macOS only
  • Hundreds of actions
Where it costs you
  • It runs on macOS only, and version 11.1.1 needs macOS 10.13 or later.
  • The trial length is not given on the page.
Right for

Mac power users who want expansion inside larger scheduled automations

Wrong for

Anyone wanting a ready snippet library with minimal learning

Not stated by the vendorPublished one-time licence with no subscription; paid upgrade between versions; trial offered

#10 Alfred

Mac launcher whose Powerpack adds snippets, clipboard history and workflows

Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Text Expander Software in 2026.

Published pricingElsewhere

Alfred counts as an expander only through its paid Powerpack, where snippets sit next to clipboard history and workflows.

Two licence tiers exist for one user, with free upgrade to Alfred 6 on the lower one and lifetime upgrades on the higher. No team plan appears on the page. A buyer should read the licence terms before assuming it is a perpetual purchase.

What stands out
  • Powerpack licence
  • Clipboard history
  • Workflow hotkeys
Where it costs you
  • The page does not say whether licences are one-time or subscription.
  • Only the Mac Powerpack is listed, and snippets sit beside many other features.
Right for

Mac users already living in a launcher who want snippets built in

Wrong for

Windows users or teams needing shared snippet libraries

Not stated by the vendorPublished Powerpack licences in pounds; one-time versus subscription is not stated on the page

#11 AutoHotkey

Open source Windows scripting language that can replace typed text

Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Text Expander Software in 2026.

Open sourcePricing on requestElsewhere

AutoHotkey supports imperative, object-oriented and command-based styles, which gives experienced scripters full control over replacements and key behaviour.

That freedom is also the burden: every abbreviation is code someone has to write and maintain. Because the project is open source under GPLv2, there is no licence fee or vendor, and no one to call when a script breaks.

What stands out
  • GNU GPLv2
  • Windows scripting
  • Hotkeys and remapping
Where it costs you
  • Expansion only works by writing scripts, with no snippet library described.
  • It runs on Windows only and the page states no company or country.
Right for

Windows users who already script and want expansion as one of many hotkeys

Wrong for

Non-technical staff wanting a ready snippet manager

Not stated by the vendorOpen source under GNU GPLv2; cost is listed as zero

#12 Raycast

Launcher with snippets in its personal plan and paid AI credit tiers

Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Text Expander Software in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere

Raycast is the weakest match here because snippets are one line in a long feature list, and the paid plans exist to sell AI credits. The free personal plan is enough to try snippets.

Teams Free adds shared Commands and Quicklinks, and Enterprise brings SAML and SCIM. The page does not state a country or owner, which a procurement review would need.

What stands out
  • Snippets in personal plan
  • AI credit tiers
  • Teams Free caps
Where it costs you
  • Teams Free allows only 30 shared Snippets, which limits a shared library.
  • Paid tiers are built around AI credits that expire, not around text expansion.
Right for

Individuals who want snippets bundled with a launcher at no cost

Wrong for

Teams buying purely for a large shared snippet library

Not stated by the vendorFree personal plan; paid Pro, Plus and Max plans, per-user Teams tiers and custom Enterprise
06

How to choose text expander software

Text expander software watches what you type, swaps a short abbreviation for a saved phrase, template or formula, and keeps those snippets in a library that can sync across devices or be shared with colleagues. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is the order we would work through them.

  1. 01

    Start with pricing transparency

    Prices are public at 7 products (Rocket Typist, Text Blaze, TextExpander, FastKeys, Keyboard Maestro, Alfred, Raycast) and on request at the remaining 5, so budget time for quotes if your favourite is in that second group.

  2. 02

    Decide how much the jurisdiction matters

    The vendors on this page are based in 2 countries (Elsewhere 11, Europe 1). The country of the contracting company sets which authorities can ask it for your data, whatever the hosting region.

  3. 03

    Consider whether you want the source

    3 of these are open source: Espanso, Beeftext, AutoHotkey. Hosting one yourself trades a subscription for maintenance.

Text expander software or a launcher with snippets

Searches for text expander software return two kinds of product. Dedicated tools such as TextExpander, Typinator, aText and Beeftext exist to store phrases and insert them. Others treat snippets as a side feature: Raycast and Alfred are launchers, Keyboard Maestro and AutoHotkey are automation tools, and FastKeys bundles an expander with macros and gestures.

The distinction matters because the side-feature products ask you to learn and pay for a larger system. A person who only wants to type a short code and get a paragraph will usually be happier with a dedicated tool, while someone who already lives in a launcher may find the bundled version enough.

  • Decide whether you want a dedicated expander or an automation tool
  • Check how many snippets the free plan or trial allows
  • Read what else you are paying for in bundles like Alfred or Raycast

Platform coverage across Mac, Windows and Linux

Operating system support splits this market sharply. Beeftext and AutoHotkey run on Windows only, Keyboard Maestro and Alfred on macOS, and Rocket Typist on Apple devices. Typinator lists macOS and iOS, with Windows only as a public beta.

Espanso covers Windows, Linux and macOS, TextExpander covers Mac, Windows, Chrome, iPhone and iPad, and Text Blaze starts in the browser and adds macOS and Windows apps. A team with mixed machines therefore has very few choices, and a licence bought for one platform may not cover another. List every device that will use the library, including phones and browsers, before comparing prices.

  • List each operating system your staff really use
  • Confirm mobile support separately from desktop support
  • Check whether a licence covers all platforms or only one

Pricing models: free tiers, one-off licences and per-user subscriptions

Pricing in this category runs from nothing to per-user subscriptions. Espanso, Beeftext and AutoHotkey are open source and carry no stated price. Keyboard Maestro and FastKeys sell one-time licences, while TextExpander and Text Blaze charge per user with free tiers that cap snippets or sharing.

Rocket Typist caps its starter tier by snippet count. Pages from aText and Typinator show plan types without amounts, so the real bill needs a vendor question. For a team of ten or more, recurring per-user fees add up over several years, while one-off licences may cover only one computer.

  • Count users and computers, not only licences
  • Ask for amounts where the page shows none
  • Compare three-year cost of subscriptions with one-off licences

Snippet storage, sync and sharing

Where snippets live decides both privacy and teamwork. Beeftext makes a point of keeping typing local. Typinator keeps snippets on the device with optional iCloud, Dropbox, OneDrive or NAS and WebDAV sync, and shares sets by link. aText uses any cloud folder you already share, and TextExpander syncs across its own apps on every plan.

Text Blaze pushes shared folders to colleagues. Espanso uses files, which suits version control but leaves distribution to you. Before rollout, test what happens when two people edit the same snippet, and how a library leaves if you switch.

  • Check where the library is stored and who can read it
  • Test an export or import, for example from Typinator or CSV
  • Confirm how shared edits reach colleagues

What goes wrong most often when buying text expander software

  • Buying a launcher or automation suite for its snippets, then paying for AI credits or macro features nobody uses.
  • Choosing a Mac-only expander such as Alfred or Rocket Typist for a team that also has Windows laptops.
  • Reading a free tier as a team plan when Text Blaze, TextExpander and Raycast limit snippets, sharing or members.
  • Assuming an expander has no price because the page shows none, as with aText and Typinator.
07

Frequently asked questions

7 answers
What is the best text expander software in 2026?

First of 12 on this page is Espanso. Espanso is written by one named developer, Federico Terzi, and published as open source under GPL-3 for Windows, Linux and macOS. No vendor account, partner or subscription decision stands between you and the tool.

It runs shell commands and scripts, and community packages come from the Espanso Hub. The cost is setup time: configuration lives in files, and the site says a graphical interface is planned but not yet available.

Which text expander tools publish their pricing?

7 out of 12 state a price model on their own site:

  • Rocket Typist: Free tier holds ten plain text snippets; Pro unlocks are separate one-time purchases per platform, or part of Setapp.
  • Text Blaze: Free forever plan; Pro and Business plans published in USD, billed monthly or yearly; Enterprise through sales.
  • TextExpander: Per-user plans from a free tier to Enterprise; annual billing is listed lower; tax may be added at checkout.
  • FastKeys: Published one-time licences for Personal and Professional; Enterprise quoted; trial edition offered.
  • Keyboard Maestro: Published one-time licence with no subscription; paid upgrade between versions; trial offered.
  • Alfred: Published Powerpack licences in pounds; one-time versus subscription is not stated on the page.
  • Raycast: Free personal plan; paid Pro, Plus and Max plans, per-user Teams tiers and custom Enterprise.

5 vendors do not print a price.

Is there a free text expander tool?

Rocket Typist, Text Blaze, TextExpander, Raycast have a free plan or free self-hosted edition.

Where are these text expander software vendors established?

In 2 countries across 2 regions: Elsewhere 11, Europe 1.

  • Espanso: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Typinator: Austria.
  • Rocket Typist: Not stated by the vendor.
  • aText: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Text Blaze: Not stated by the vendor.
  • TextExpander: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Beeftext: Not stated by the vendor.
  • FastKeys: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Keyboard Maestro: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Alfred: Not stated by the vendor.
  • AutoHotkey: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Raycast: Not stated by the vendor.
Which text expander tools are open source?

Espanso, Beeftext, AutoHotkey.

What should you use instead of Espanso?

Look at Typinator (made for Mac-first users and small teams wanting local storage and a one-time option) and Rocket Typist (made for Apple users testing an expander before paying, or migrating from another one), which hold places two and three.

Who should not buy Espanso?

Teams wanting a graphical editor and managed sharing today. Setup means editing configuration files, because the graphical interface remains a future plan..

—

Tools reviewed

12 products
—

More Operations software advice

16 guides

For software vendors

Not on this list?

Vendors who think their text expander software product should be here can tell us about it: what it does, who it is for. The call is ours, and software advice sets out what being listed means.

Suggest a product →