Raycast alternatives: 11 text expander tools compared
Raycast is a launcher, and it sits in this category on our site because its free plan includes Snippets. As a pure text expander it is a loose fit: snippets are one feature next to clipboard history, quicklinks and window management. People who want only expansion, a Windows or Linux tool, or a snippet library shared by a team compare the dedicated tools below.
Short answer: Espanso, Typinator and Rocket Typist head the list of Raycast alternatives drawn from our text expander software ranking. Our rule for order: vendors outside the big brands go first, and the largest names are not placed in the top three. Espanso is the one to try if you want an open source expander that works on every desktop OS. Every one of the 11 products below comes from Best Text Expander Software in 2026, with a note on how it departs from Raycast.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
Pricing: Free personal plan; paid Pro, Plus and Max plans, per-user Teams tiers and custom Enterprise
Established in: Not stated by the vendor
Built for: Individuals who want snippets bundled with a launcher at no cost
Not for: Teams buying purely for a large shared snippet library
01
Why buyers look past Raycast
01
A launcher is the wrong shape for plain expansion
The Raycast home page presents Snippets next to Quicklinks, window management, clipboard history, file search and extensions for Linear, Spotify, Slack and Notion. If your need is typing a short keyword and getting a paragraph, most of that surface is unused, and the snippets are reached through an app you must also learn as a launcher.
02
Paid tiers are priced on AI credits
Pro costs $10 a month or $96 a year with 500 AI credits, Plus $20 or $192 with 3,000, and Max $50 or $480 with 7,500. Monthly credits expire 60 days after being granted, and AI is not part of any free plan. Pay for a tier and you are mostly buying AI use, while the free plan keeps clipboard history for three months only.
03
Shared libraries stop at thirty
Teams Free allows 5 shared Commands, 30 shared Snippets and 30 shared Quicklinks. Teams Pro is $15 per user a month or $144 a year, Plus $25 or $240, Max $65 or $624. A support desk with hundreds of canned replies will reach the free ceiling at once, and the paid tiers add AI credits rather than a larger snippet allowance on the page we read.
a support team needs shared snippets and helpdesk integrations
#6
03
What each one does differently
1
Espanso
Not stated by the vendor · See profile
Federico Terzi writes Espanso, published under GPL-3 for Windows, Linux and macOS. It expands keywords as you type, runs shell commands and scripts, offers snippet search on Alt+Space and takes community packages from the Espanso Hub. Everything is configured in files; the site says a graphical interface is planned. A donation is optional.
Switch from Raycast if you want an open source expander that works on every desktop OS.
From ergonis software GmbH in Perg, Austria, Typinator keeps snippets on the device and can sync through iCloud, Dropbox, OneDrive or a NAS or WebDAV server. It expands text, images, dates and formulas, shares sets by link and corrects typos. Basic is a one-time payment per major version; iPhone access needs an annual plan.
Switch from Raycast if you are on a Mac and want a European maker with local storage.
Witt Software, run by Daniel Witt, sells Rocket Typist for macOS 14 and later plus iPhone and iPad. Ten plain text snippets are free; Pro is unlocked per platform, listed at USD 19.95 for the Mac, or comes inside Setapp. Libraries import from TextExpander, TypeIt4Me, Typinator and CSV, and iCloud syncs them between devices.
Switch from Raycast if you want a cheap Apple-only tool you can leave again by CSV.
Tran Ky Nam Software makes aText for macOS and Windows. It inserts rich text, images and attachments into Word, Mail and Gmail, runs date scripts and editable fields, and syncs through OneDrive, Dropbox, Google Drive, iCloud Drive or a network folder, including between a Mac and a PC. The Mac version has a free 21-day trial.
Switch from Raycast if your desk mixes a Mac and a Windows machine.
Beeftext, by Xavier Michelon, is MIT-licensed and runs on Windows as an installer or a portable edition. A combo pairs a keyword with a snippet and works wherever pasting works, in any Unicode language. The site says it stores no typing data and only checks daily for updates, which can be switched off.
Switch from Raycast if you are on Windows and want a small, auditable tool that keeps to itself.
Text Blaze installs as a Chrome extension with macOS and Windows apps, and its snippets can hold fill-in forms and formulas for things like tax sums. The free plan lasts indefinitely; Pro is $2.99 a month billed yearly, Business $6.99 per user a month billed yearly. Shared folders push updates to colleagues.
Switch from Raycast if your typing happens mostly in browser tools such as Gmail or Salesforce.
Fast Technologies sells FastKeys as a lifetime licence: Personal at $29 for up to three computers per user, Professional at $39 for one computer, with an enterprise quote available. Besides text expansion it bundles Auto Complete, a Macro Recorder, a Clipboard Manager and Mouse Gestures. A fully featured trial and a 14-day money-back promise are mentioned.
Switch from Raycast if you want a one-time purchase that also replaces clipboard and macro tools.
Running with Crayons Ltd makes Alfred, a Mac launcher like Raycast. Its Powerpack licence adds snippets with auto-expansion, clipboard history for text, images and file paths, and workflows started by hotkey, keyword or an iPad remote. Single licence £34, Mega Supporter £59 with free lifetime upgrades; the page does not say whether licences are one-time.
Switch from Raycast if you like a launcher but would rather buy a licence than AI credits.
Stairways Software Pty Ltd sells Keyboard Maestro for macOS at US$36 once, with a US$25 upgrade from earlier versions and a trial of unstated length. Version 11 added a Prompt for Snippet action, but hundreds of other actions cover loops, conditions, web forms and scheduled tasks. Snippets are a corner of a much larger toolbox.
Switch from Raycast if you want to automate whole Mac workflows, not only expand text.
AutoHotkey is a Windows scripting language under GNU GPLv2, created by Chris Mallett and others. You define hotkeys, remap keys and mouse buttons, and write autocorrect-like replacements in code. The pages we read show no snippet library, sync or team sharing, so the tool rewards people who are happy to maintain scripts.
Switch from Raycast if you are comfortable scripting and want free Windows control.
TextExpander syncs snippets between Mac, Windows, Chrome, iPhone and iPad on every plan. Free holds five active snippets, Pro is $60 per user a year, Business $120 and removes the five-user limit with Snippet Requests and guest sharing. Zendesk, Salesforce, Epic, Cerner and Help Scout are listed. New accounts get a 30-day preview, and tax may be added.
Switch from Raycast if a support team needs shared snippets and helpdesk integrations.
You want one free expander across Windows, Linux and macOS
Espanso: Espanso is GPL-3 licensed and runs on all three, with shell and script support and community packages. Configuration is by file, since the graphical interface is only planned.
02
You are on Windows and want something small and private
Beeftext: Beeftext is MIT-licensed, comes as an installer or portable edition, and the site says it stores no typing data. It handles any Unicode language.
03
Your team needs shared, form-filling snippets
Text Blaze: Text Blaze Business is $6.99 per user a month billed yearly, with fill-in forms, formulas and shared folders that push updates to colleagues. It works as a Chrome extension and in macOS and Windows apps.
04
You like the launcher style but would pay for a licence
Alfred: Alfred's Powerpack adds snippets with auto-expansion and clipboard history to a Mac launcher, at £34 for a single licence or £59 for Mega Supporter. The page does not state whether these are one-time.
05
You are on a Mac and want a low-cost start
Rocket Typist: Rocket Typist holds ten plain text snippets at no charge, and Pro is listed at USD 19.95 for macOS. It imports TextExpander, TypeIt4Me, Typinator and CSV libraries.
04
When Raycast is still the right choice
Raycast stays a good choice if you already use it for app launching, window management, clipboard history and extensions, and snippets are a pleasant extra. Its free plan keeps Snippets, Quicklinks and a calculator at no charge, and extensions reach tools like Slack and Notion without opening them. In that case you do not need a second tool unless a team library outgrows the 30 shared snippets.
05
What moving off Raycast involves
01
Do not count on a ready-made import
None of the alternative pages we read names Raycast as an import source. Rocket Typist lists TextExpander, TypeIt4Me, Typinator and CSV files, so a CSV export and a trial run on a handful of snippets is the safest route. Re-check keyword prefixes, because replacement tools differ in how they trigger.
02
Replacing snippets does not replace the launcher
Quicklinks, window management, file search and clipboard history stay behind in Raycast. Alfred covers clipboard history and workflows on a Mac, and FastKeys bundles a clipboard manager, while the pure expanders cover none of that. Decide whether you keep Raycast for those jobs and add an expander beside it.
06
Questions about replacing Raycast
6 answers
Is Raycast a text expander?
Partly. Its Snippets feature inserts reusable text from a keyword, and it is included in the free personal plan. The product is a launcher, though, so shared libraries, imports and platform coverage are narrower than in tools built for expansion.
What does Raycast cost?
Individuals pay $0 on Free, $10 a month or $96 a year on Pro, $20 or $192 on Plus, and $50 or $480 on Max.
Teams plans run $15, $25 and $65 per user a month, and Enterprise is quoted. A free Pro trial is open to eligible new accounts, and students get 50% off Pro.
Where is Raycast based?
The terms of service name Raycast Technologies Ltd., a private limited company registered in England and Wales, with an address in Altrincham, Cheshire, and English law applies. The pricing page itself names no country, so the terms are the place to confirm it.
Which alternatives are open source?
Espanso is GPL-3, Beeftext is MIT and AutoHotkey is GNU GPLv2. Espanso runs on Windows, Linux and macOS, while Beeftext and AutoHotkey are Windows only.
Which options avoid a subscription?
Keyboard Maestro is US$36 once, FastKeys $29 or $39 for a lifetime licence, and Rocket Typist unlocks Pro per platform, listed at USD 19.95 for macOS.
Typinator Basic is paid once per major version, and Alfred's licences are priced in pounds, though its page does not say one-time.
What should a team use for shared snippets?
TextExpander lists Business at $120 per user a year, and Text Blaze Business is $6.99 per user a month billed yearly, both with shared folders or groups. Typinator shares sets by link. Raycast Teams Free would cap you at 30 shared snippets.
—
Sources
Checked 7 November 2026
Raycast pricing: Individual and Teams plan prices, AI credits, Teams Free caps, free Pro trial, student discount, Enterprise.
Founder of The Knowledge Engineers and of 2 Steps Ahead, an AI search visibility agency. Editorially responsible for every page on this site; research and drafting are AI-assisted.
Checked and edited by Sebastiaan Smits, last on 7 November 2026. The editorial process explains the method.