Landlords look for a TurboTenant alternative when the screening fee, the plan structure or the scope of the platform no longer matches their portfolio. Some want a flat subscription, some want screening bought report by report with no platform at all, and some want accounting or automatic decisions that a listing-and-leasing tool does not emphasise.
Short answer: The first three alternatives to TurboTenant in our tenant screening software ranking are MyRental, RentPrep and RentSpree. Places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. Choose MyRental if you want screening bought per applicant with no subscription and stated state limits. Each of the 10 alternatives sits in Best Tenant Screening Software in 2026 and is described against TurboTenant.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
Pricing: Free plan with published annual tiers by units; screening paid by the applicant; Autopilot quoted
Established in: Not stated by the vendor
Built for: Landlords who want applicants to cover the report cost and listings on 25+ sites.
Not for: Portfolios that want a flat fee per screening paid by the landlord.
01
Why buyers look past TurboTenant
01
The fee depends on your plan
TurboTenant's screening page says the applicant pays $45 or $55 depending on the landlord's plan, and the pricing page ties the $45 to Pro and the $55 to the Free plan. Free-plan landlords also see a $2 fee on ACH rent payments. The applicant's cost therefore moves with a subscription choice the applicant never made.
02
Useful extras sit behind paid tiers
The Free plan lists the Landlord Forms Pack at $199 and a listing review that can take up to 48 hours. Essentials includes the forms pack and a review under 24 hours, but connects one bank account, while unlimited accounts start at Pro. A landlord who wants those items moves up through unit bands from $149 to $999 a year.
03
Screening detail stops at the report
The page names credit from TransUnion, criminal and eviction searches, and Snappt-powered fraud detection, with most reports taking 1 to 3 days. It names no criminal or eviction data provider and states no lookback periods in the text we read. Landlords who need documented state limits or an automatic approve or decline look elsewhere.
you screen both staff and tenants and work with Canadian records
#11
03
What each one does differently
1
MyRental
Not stated by the vendor · Published
MyRental sells nothing but screening, by the applicant: three packages plus single reports, with no sign-up or monthly charge. Its pages are unusually frank about limits, listing Massachusetts as having no criminal records and seven states without the Renter Pay Option. Reports stay viewable for 30 days. The trademark owner is named as SafeRent Solutions, LLC.
Switch from TurboTenant if you want screening bought per applicant with no subscription and stated state limits.
RentPrep publishes a fixed price for each of three packages: credit only, background only, or both. Income and employment checks are add-ons. Its background check is paid by the landlord alone, whereas the credit report can go either way. Landlords with 50 or more doors are routed to a custom enterprise offer. The footer names Roofstock Inc. as parent.
Switch from TurboTenant if you want a fixed price list and are willing to pay for the background check yourself.
RentSpree runs two report tiers, and the fuller one adds bank-verified income and reference checks to the credit, criminal and eviction basics. Landlords can use the Basic plan without paying, and PRO comes with a 30-day trial that asks for a card. Anyone who needs income proof must buy the more expensive report.
Switch from TurboTenant if verified income from the bank matters more than the cheapest report.
RentRedi replaces unit-band pricing with one subscription offered at monthly, six-month and annual lengths, and every feature is inside it. A landlord with many doors pays the same as one with few. Applicants pay for screening and can add income verification at a higher price. Rent reporting costs a separate monthly sum, and the vendor says billing starts at signup and is not a trial.
Switch from TurboTenant if your portfolio is growing and you want one price however many units you hold.
Avail puts applications and TransUnion reports for credit, criminal and eviction inside its Unlimited plan, which has no per-unit fee. Unlimited Plus adds custom application questions. Listings are syndicated to 19 sites, and premium placement is an upgrade. The footer shows an Austin, Texas address, and the vendor does not name a trial.
Switch from TurboTenant if you want listing syndication to 19 sites and applications on a no-cost plan.
TenantCloud limits plans by the number of leases: Starter 10, Growth 30 and Pro 60, each with a 14-day trial, and Business sold by quote. Screening runs on TransUnion and the applicant pays, while tenants carry a $1.50 to $1.95 ACH fee. Its pricing page shows two conflicting price sections, so confirm the figure directly.
Switch from TurboTenant if you count leases rather than units and want to test a plan for 14 days.
Landlord Studio starts from bookkeeping: income, expenses and reports for rental owners, with screening attached. The applicant receives a TransUnion-based report of financial, criminal and eviction history at no cost to the landlord. The Go plan is free for three units, and Pro has a 14-day trial without a card. The pricing mixes pounds and dollars.
Switch from TurboTenant if your main need is accounts for the rental business and screening is occasional.
SmartMove is the screening arm of TransUnion itself, and the site says reports arrive straight from the bureau. Packages are three, priced per screening, with no membership or minimum, and income verification is an add-on. Most reports come the same day after identity checks. Its ResidentScore leans on a 2016 study that TransUnion cites.
Switch from TurboTenant if you want reports straight from a credit bureau and no platform subscription.
Findigs checks identity, income, employment and documents, watches fraud signals across its network and applies the landlord's own policy to approve or decline automatically. It is written for portfolios from 250 units, in three size bands, and price comes only after a demo. Renters pay Findigs nothing, and a human team covers difficult fraud cases around the clock.
Switch from TurboTenant if you run 250 or more units and want decisions made by your own written policy.
Certn is a hiring-checks company whose self-serve price list is in Canadian dollars. It offers criminal checks, a selfie-to-ID check, credit reports and public records, with the public-records item limited to Canada. Connections go to applicant tracking systems such as Greenhouse, Lever and Workday. Using it for tenants is possible but is not what it is organised around.
Switch from TurboTenant if you screen both staff and tenants and work with Canadian records.
You want to buy screening per applicant with no subscription
MyRental: Three packages and single reports, no sign-up or monthly fee, with state limits stated up front.
02
You need bank-verified income on the applicant report
RentSpree: The fuller of its two reports adds bank-verified income and reference checks; the Basic plan costs nothing.
03
You hold a growing number of units and want one price
RentRedi: A single subscription at three billing lengths, with no per-unit fees and every feature included.
04
You mainly need bookkeeping for the rental business
Landlord Studio: The free Go plan covers three units and the applicant report is TransUnion-based at no landlord cost.
05
You run 250 or more units and want policy-based decisions
Findigs: It approves or declines automatically using your own policy, and pricing is by demo only.
04
When TurboTenant is still the right choice
TurboTenant remains a sensible choice for a small landlord who wants listings, applications and leases in one place at no monthly cost. The Free plan carries unlimited listings and the landlord pays nothing for screening, since the applicant covers it. The page states reports from TransUnion, criminal and eviction searches and Snappt fraud detection, and the offer of paying the fee yourself is there if you want it.
05
What moving off TurboTenant involves
01
Applications in progress
Finish or export pending applications first. The screening page says the landlord is notified to pull each report once the applicant verifies identity, so reports not yet pulled may need to be restarted with the new provider and the applicant may be charged again.
02
Leases and forms
Download signed leases and any forms from your account before closing it. On the Free plan the Landlord Forms Pack is a separate $199 purchase, so check what you hold. A replacement platform will need your own copies to build its records.
03
Rent payments
If tenants pay rent by ACH or card through TurboTenant, agree a changeover date and tell them how to set up the new method. The pricing page lists a 3.49% card fee, which tenants may notice changes.
06
Questions about replacing TurboTenant
7 answers
Who pays for screening with TurboTenant?
The applicant pays, and the landlord pays $0, per the screening page. The fee is $45 for landlords on Pro and $55 for landlords on Free, and a landlord can choose to cover it instead.
Does TurboTenant have a free trial?
No. The pricing page says it does not offer free trials and points to the Free plan, available at $0. Paid plans start with annual prices of $149 for Essentials and $199 for Pro in the 1 to 10 unit band.
Which alternatives let the landlord avoid a monthly fee?
MyRental, SmartMove and RentPrep price per screening or package, with no membership stated. Avail has an Unlimited plan at no cost per unit and Landlord Studio has a free Go plan for three units.
Can I get income verification elsewhere?
Yes. RentSpree's fuller report includes bank-verified income, RentRedi and SmartMove offer income verification as a dearer option or add-on, and RentPrep sells income and employment checks as add-ons.
Is there an option for large portfolios?
Findigs targets 250 units and up with automatic decisions under your policy, and RentPrep has an enterprise route for 50 or more doors. Both are priced through contact, so no figures are shown.
What does TurboTenant Autopilot cost?
The pricing page gives no figure for Autopilot and asks you to call. It also lists a standalone tenant placement service at a one-time $1,500 flat fee.
Do these alternatives all state where they are based?
No. Most category records say the vendor does not state a country. Avail shows Austin, Texas, and Findigs shows only a copyright line, so check the terms before relying on jurisdiction.
—
Sources
Checked 8 November 2026
TurboTenant pricing: Free, Essentials and Pro plans, annual prices by units from $149 to $999, $199 forms pack, $45 and $55 screening fees, $2 ACH fee, 3.49% card fee, Autopilot by phone, $1,500 placement, no free trial.
TurboTenant tenant screening: Applicant pays, TransUnion credit, criminal and eviction searches, Snappt fraud detection, 1 to 3 days.
RentSpree: Two report tiers, bank-verified income, Basic plan, PRO 30-day trial.
MyRental: Per-applicant packages, no monthly fees, state limits, 30-day report access, SafeRent Solutions, LLC.
RentPrep: Three fixed-price packages, income add-ons, landlord-pay background check, 50+ doors enterprise, Roofstock.
RentRedi: One subscription at three billing lengths, tenant-paid screening, rent reporting charge, not a trial.
Founder of The Knowledge Engineers and of 2 Steps Ahead, an AI search visibility agency. Editorially responsible for every page on this site; research and drafting are AI-assisted.
Checked and edited by Sebastiaan Smits, last on 8 November 2026. The editorial process explains the method.