Classroom management software covers the tools teachers use to run a lesson and the class around it: behaviour points, assignments, screen monitoring, parent messaging and shared documents.
This guide ranks twelve products by vendor independence first, then by ninety-day rollout effort, the bill once extras arrive, how records can be exported, and which classroom job each product is built for.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What classroom management software does
Classroom management software helps teachers direct a class: it records behaviour, sets and collects work, limits student screens, and keeps parents informed, so teachers run groups without registers.
Ranking criteria for this classroom management tool list, applied top to bottom: effort to get started, cost in practice, data return, ability to leave, buyer fit. The ranking then gives places 1 to 3 to challengers outside the best-known brands, if the category has such vendors, and the incumbents follow. We explain on how we work why the tests are these five and why no product receives a score.
Points, class stories and parent messages, free for teachers
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Classroom Management Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The home page lists Points and Big Ideas, Stories as a private classroom feed, an Events calendar with reminders, and a Teacher Toolkit holding attendance sheets and timers.
Sign-up routes exist for teachers, parents, students, school leaders and district leaders, so one product spans the whole school. The headline promise is free for teachers, forever, yet leaders buying for a district must ask the vendor what a school tier costs, since we saw no figures.
What stands out
Behaviour points
Class Stories
Teacher Toolkit
Where it costs you
Plan prices could not be read because the pricing page returned an error, so a school cannot budget from our sources.
The privacy policy names ClassDojo, Inc. but gives no country, which leaves jurisdiction questions open.
Right for
Teachers who want behaviour points and a family feed without a purchase order
Wrong for
Schools needing screen monitoring or device control for students
Not stated by the vendorFree for teachers according to the home page; school and district prices not seen
Teaching, learning and family messaging in one school-licensed platform
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Classroom Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The pricing page names three packages: Seesaw LMS, Instruction & Insights and Seesaw AI, plus add-ons for Alignment Services and Professional Development and supplemental curriculum for the last two packages.
None shows a price. The vendor writes that it does not offer paid teacher licences, and the page mentions no trial period, so the first meaningful step for a buyer is a sales call. Plan that time into the first ninety days.
What stands out
School licences only
Seesaw AI
Family communication
Where it costs you
A teacher who wants to start alone cannot, because the vendor sells licences to schools or districts only.
Prices for Seesaw LMS, Instruction & Insights and Seesaw AI all sit behind a sales conversation.
Right for
School teams ready to buy one platform for lessons and family contact
Wrong for
Single teachers wanting to buy a licence for themselves
Not stated by the vendorQuoted to schools and districts across three packages; teacher licences not sold
Web filtering, teacher screen oversight and wellbeing alerts for schools
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Classroom Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Copyright is held by Liminex, Inc., trading as GoGuardian. Five named products make up the range: Admin for web filtering across operating systems, Teacher for classroom management with one-to-one chat, Beacon for AI detection of warning signs, Hall Pass, and Discover for software licence tracking and compliance.
The classroom piece is therefore one module among several, and a school wanting only that should ask how the bundle is priced before assuming Teacher can be bought alone.
What stands out
Web filtering
Teacher classroom tool
Beacon alerts
Where it costs you
The quote depends on enrolment, contract length and bundling, so the real price moves with every product added.
Neither a trial nor a headquarters is stated on the pages read, which slows early evaluation.
Right for
Districts wanting filtering, classroom oversight and wellbeing alerts from one supplier
Wrong for
Teachers wanting a simple points system for pupil behaviour
Not stated by the vendorQuoted from enrolment, contract length and product bundling
Chrome and Edge student activity view with Google Classroom integration
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Classroom Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The home page frames the product around the student browser: usage in Chrome or Edge is visible to the teacher, harmful or distracting content can be blocked, wellness warning signs trigger alerts, and hall passes show who is out of the room.
Integration with Google Classroom is named too. Nothing there describes behaviour records or parent contact, so it complements a points or messaging tool rather than replacing one. The footer address is in Raleigh, North Carolina.
What stands out
Chrome and Edge
Hall pass visibility
Wellness alerts
Where it costs you
As a business unit of Cordance Operations LLC, it brings a larger parent into the deal.
Tailored pricing with no figures or trial on the home page leaves budgeting to a sales exchange.
Right for
Google-based schools wanting to watch student browsing in Chrome or Edge
Wrong for
Schools wanting behaviour points or a parent messaging feed
United StatesQuoted as tailored options; the home page shows no prices or trial
Teacher screen sharing and messaging, cloud or locally hosted
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Classroom Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Two editions exist: LanSchool Air is cloud-hosted and LanSchool Classic is locally hosted, so a school with its own servers can choose where the software runs. Named functions are messaging, screen sharing and safety filters, with Google Classroom integration mentioned in a testimonial.
Stoneware, Inc. lists a Morrisville address. Because the site gives no tiers, price comparison needs the purchasing page, and buyers of eligible Lenovo machines may receive the licence with them.
What stands out
Screen sharing
Cloud or local
Lenovo-backed
Where it costs you
No tiers or prices appear on the site, so cost for a fleet that is not Lenovo has to be asked for.
Lenovo backing ties the commercial story to a hardware group, which counts against vendor independence.
Right for
Schools buying Lenovo computers who want screen sharing and messaging
Wrong for
Teachers looking for behaviour tracking or parent communication
United StatesQuoted through a purchasing page; trial offered; licence bundled with eligible Lenovo computers
Behaviour points, seating plans and a parent app, from Tes
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Classroom Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Features named on the home page cover behaviour management with points and reports, seating plans, attendance and behaviour tracking, a parent app, detentions, homework, wellbeing and connected insights.
It is branded Tes Class Charts, and the navigation lists Tes Timetable, Tes Engage and Tes Provision Map. We could not read the pricing page because it redirected to a login, and no country is stated. Treat cost as unknown until a demo has been held.
What stands out
Seating plans
Detentions
Parent app
Where it costs you
Pricing sat behind a login, so no plan structure could be checked.
Tes sells Timetable, Engage and Provision Map alongside it, which marks a portfolio supplier rather than a single-product one.
Right for
Schools wanting behaviour, seating and detention records in one place
Wrong for
Teachers wanting a no-cost tool with no sales call
Not stated by the vendorQuoted through sales; demo offered
Tiered per-student yearly plans with payments and admissions add-ons
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Classroom Management Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Four plans carry yearly starting prices per student, with 360 at the top. Bloomz Pay is a separate add-on, included in 360, with its own rate for schools under 300 students; the Admissions CRM and Bloomz Grow, priced per staff member, are further add-ons.
Teachers and families use the platform at no charge, while districts get no trial. Currency appears only as a dollar sign, and the price is locked for the contract term.
What stands out
Per-student yearly
Annual minimums
Price lock
Where it costs you
Annual minimums on smaller schools and districts can lift the real price above the per-student starting figure.
The pages we read did not list classroom features, so a buyer must check fit before trusting the price.
Right for
Schools wanting a visible per-student price before talking to sales
Wrong for
Districts looking for a trial period before committing money
Not stated by the vendorPublished starting prices per student per year in four tiers; custom quote on each
Two-way teacher and family messaging in 90+ languages
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Classroom Management Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Remind Chat is free, with sign-up on the home page, and covers group and one-to-one messaging with automatic translation across more than 90 languages. Remind Hub is a separate offer for organisations outside K-12 and adds message history logs; its pricing is not stated.
The site announces that Remind is now part of the ParentSquare family. For a classroom buyer, that places it as a contact channel to pair with a behaviour or assignment tool.
What stands out
Remind Chat
Message translation
ParentSquare family
Where it costs you
It handles messaging only, so behaviour points, assignments and screen control must come from other tools.
Since joining the ParentSquare family, its product direction and bundling depend on that parent.
Right for
Teachers wanting free two-way messages with families in many languages
Wrong for
Anyone expecting behaviour tracking, assignments or classroom control
Not stated by the vendorFree two-way Chat; Hub pricing not stated
District communication packages joining messaging, websites and voice
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Classroom Management Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Three packages are named, Engage, Engage Premium and Engage 360, all on a contact-sales basis. Engage 360 is described as unifying communication, websites and voice into one connected experience for families.
Separate add-ons cover Smart Sites, Payments, Virtual Phone and Attendance Plus, again without prices. The group also owns Remind, which supplies teacher-level messaging. The pricing page shows no trial, so a pilot would need to be negotiated.
What stands out
Engage 360
District packages
Attendance Plus
Where it costs you
No price, billing basis or limit appears for any package, so comparison starts with a sales call.
Its packages centre on family communication, leaving behaviour tracking and screen control outside the scope shown.
Right for
Districts consolidating parent messaging, school websites and phone contact in one purchase
Wrong for
Individual teachers wanting a tool they can adopt today
Not stated by the vendorQuoted per district across three packages; add-ons listed without prices
Student response lessons and assessment, with a free teacher plan
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Classroom Management Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Pricing runs in three layers: Teacher Free at no cost, Teacher Premium billed yearly after an educator discount, and custom Schools & Districts plans. Pear Assessment has its own Teacher Premium, with a trial option, beside a Teacher Free level and Pear Start for educators.
Premium unlocks the Teacher Dashboard, Draggable and Drawing responses and Reflect & Review. District plans add a District Library, efficacy reports and LMS integrations where fees may apply. Currency is not stated.
What stands out
Teacher Dashboard
Pear Assessment
Reflect & Review
Where it costs you
It addresses live lesson responses and assessment, so behaviour logging and device control are absent from the features named.
LMS integrations on the school plan may carry fees, which can lift the district bill.
Right for
Teachers collecting drawn and dragged student responses during live lessons
Wrong for
Schools seeking behaviour records or monitoring of student devices
Not stated by the vendorFree teacher plan; premium teacher plan billed yearly; school plans on custom quote
Document tools linked to Google Classroom, Schoology, Canvas and Teams
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Classroom Management Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Plans run from a free Basic plan through a Teacher licence, Pro and Work to a custom School or District plan. Pro adds unlimited co-editors, Work adds Bates numbering, and the vendor lists 40+ tools. New teacher accounts receive a 30-day trial.
The company says it was developed in Aotearoa, New Zealand and became a US company after a 2024 acquisition by Boston Ventures Investment Partners. As the page contradicts itself on some prices, confirm in writing.
What stands out
40+ tools
Teacher licence
Bates numbering
Where it costs you
Pro and Work prices differ between the plan cards and the compare table, so a buyer must confirm the figure with the vendor.
Nothing in the facts we hold shows behaviour tracking, parent contact or student device control.
Right for
Teachers sharing documents through Google Classroom, Canvas, Schoology or Teams
Wrong for
Anyone needing behaviour records or live control of student screens
United StatesFree Basic plan; paid teacher, Pro and Work plans; school plans on custom quote; 30-day trial
Assignment and grading hub inside Google Workspace for Education
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Classroom Management Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The vendor lists interactive practice sets with AI hints, originality reports, assigning and grading across classes, and BigQuery log export. Admin controls, APIs, a student information system integration and hundreds of edtech apps sit around it.
Optional paid add-ons are Google AI Pro for Education and Teaching and Learning, and Education Fundamentals offers a free trial sign-up. With no behaviour or monitoring features named, it pairs with a specialist tool, and suite dependence counts against independence.
What stands out
Workspace for Education
Originality reports
BigQuery export
Where it costs you
Classroom analytics are marked coming soon, so reporting depth cannot be assumed today.
Paid editions and add-ons carry no listed prices, and no behaviour points or device control appear among the functions named.
Right for
Schools already on Workspace for Education wanting assignments, grading and app links
Wrong for
Schools avoiding dependence on a large suite vendor
Not stated by the vendorFree AI tools; paid Fundamentals and Plus editions without listed prices; optional paid add-ons
Classroom management software helps teachers direct a class: it records behaviour, sets and collects work, limits student screens, and keeps parents informed, so teachers run groups without registers. Work through these questions in order; they separate the products better than a feature matrix does.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
6 vendors on this page sell by quote, while 6 publish a pricing model you can read today: ClassDojo, Bloomz, Remind, Pear Deck, Kami, Google Classroom.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
Look at the contracting entity: these 12 vendors sit in 2 countries, split by region as Elsewhere 9, North America 3. The servers can be anywhere; the legal obligations follow the company.
Classroom management software: four jobs under one label
Buyers searching for classroom management software often compare products that do different work. ClassDojo and Class Charts record behaviour through points, reports and, in Class Charts, seating plans and detentions. GoGuardian, Hapara and LanSchool watch or limit what students do on their devices. Remind, ParentSquare, Bloomz and Seesaw are mainly about reaching families.
Pear Deck, Kami and Google Classroom sit closest to lesson content and assignments. Decide which problem is hurting first, whether noise in the room, wandering browsers, unanswered parents or lost handouts, and shortlist only from that group. Seesaw straddles two groups, since it combines teaching with family contact. A school that buys a messaging platform to fix behaviour, or a monitoring tool to fix communication, pays twice.
Name the one classroom problem you want solved in the first term
Shortlist from the matching job group before comparing prices
Write down which jobs you will leave to a second tool
Teacher plans against school licences in classroom management software
The person who starts the trial is rarely the person who signs the contract, and vendors here draw that line sharply. ClassDojo states that it is free for teachers, forever, while Pear Deck offers a Teacher Free level and Kami a free Basic plan. Seesaw goes the other way: licences are only sold to schools or districts, and it does not offer paid teacher licences.
Bloomz shows per-student yearly starting prices but applies annual minimums to small schools and districts. ParentSquare packages are contact-sales only. If you are a single teacher, begin with a free teacher plan and ask what migrating a class into a school contract would cost and whether records carry over.
Check whether the product can be bought by one teacher at all
Ask what a school contract adds to a teacher plan already in use
Ask whether class records export when a teacher plan ends
Device monitoring tools: GoGuardian, Hapara and LanSchool compared
These three answer a question the behaviour apps ignore: what is on the student screen right now. Hapara names Chrome and Edge, hall pass visibility, content blocking and wellness alerts. GoGuardian splits the job across products, with Admin for web filtering, Teacher for classroom management and Beacon for warning-sign detection, and it prices on enrolment, contract length and bundling.
LanSchool comes as cloud-hosted Air and locally hosted Classic, and a licence accompanies eligible Lenovo computers. Hosting choice matters for schools with strict network rules, and the Lenovo link matters for schools on other hardware. None shows prices, so ask each for a quote covering the same number of devices and the same modules.
List the browsers and devices your pupils actually use
Decide whether cloud hosting or local hosting suits your network
Ask each vendor to price identical device counts and modules
Pricing pages in this market are often missing or inconsistent, and that is itself information. ClassDojo's pricing page returned an error when we fetched it, Class Charts redirected to a login, and Seesaw, ParentSquare and Hapara show no prices at all. Kami's plan cards and compare table disagree on the Pro and Work figures, and Pear Deck gives no currency.
Only Bloomz publishes starting prices per student. Treat any figure you cannot read on a vendor's own page as unknown, ask for a written quote naming the currency, the billing unit and the contract length, and keep that quote with your records so the renewal conversation starts from evidence rather than memory. Remind and Pear Deck mention a free level, but that says nothing about what a school will pay.
Request a written quote that states currency and billing unit
Note any gap between plan cards and comparison tables
Record which add-ons the quote includes before signing
What goes wrong most often when buying classroom management software
Buying Remind or ParentSquare to improve pupil behaviour, when both are built around contact with families rather than points or reports.
Assuming a teacher's free account covers the whole school, when Seesaw sells only school or district licences and ClassDojo school costs were not visible.
Quoting Kami's Pro or Work price from a single page area without noticing that the compare table shows different figures.
Choosing a screen tool before checking hosting: LanSchool Air runs in the cloud, LanSchool Classic is locally hosted, and the two suit different networks.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best classroom management software in 2026?
ClassDojo takes first place among the 12 we reviewed. ClassDojo leads because it covers the central task of this category, class points and a private classroom feed, in a product the vendor says is free for teachers, forever.
Messages translate automatically into 190+ languages, and a Teacher Toolkit adds attendance sheets and timers. Against that, the pricing page blocked our fetch, so school and district costs are unknown, and the vendor's country is not stated.
Which classroom management tools publish their pricing?
The ones that do, with the model each states:
ClassDojo: Free for teachers according to the home page; school and district prices not seen.
Bloomz: Published starting prices per student per year in four tiers; custom quote on each.
Remind: Free two-way Chat; Hub pricing not stated.
Pear Deck: Free teacher plan; premium teacher plan billed yearly; school plans on custom quote.
Kami: Free Basic plan; paid teacher, Pro and Work plans; school plans on custom quote; 30-day trial.
Google Classroom: Free AI tools; paid Fundamentals and Plus editions without listed prices; optional paid add-ons.
Everything else on the list is priced on request.
Is there a free classroom management tool?
ClassDojo, Remind, Pear Deck, Kami, Google Classroom can be used for free, either as a free plan or a self-hosted edition.
Where are these classroom management software vendors established?
The headquarters are spread over 2 countries and 2 regions, Elsewhere 9, North America 3:
ClassDojo: Not stated by the vendor.
Seesaw: Not stated by the vendor.
GoGuardian: Not stated by the vendor.
Hapara: United States.
LanSchool: United States.
Class Charts: Not stated by the vendor.
Bloomz: Not stated by the vendor.
Remind: Not stated by the vendor.
ParentSquare: Not stated by the vendor.
Pear Deck: Not stated by the vendor.
Kami: United States.
Google Classroom: Not stated by the vendor.
What should you use instead of ClassDojo?
Second is Seesaw, which suits School teams ready to buy one platform for lessons and family contact. Third is GoGuardian, which suits Districts wanting filtering, classroom oversight and wellbeing alerts from one supplier.
Who should not buy ClassDojo?
Schools needing screen monitoring or device control for students. Plan prices could not be read because the pricing page returned an error, so a school cannot budget from our sources..
Makers of classroom management software products can ask us to look at theirs. Say what it does and who uses it. We choose what to add, and nothing can be bought; see software advice for what a listing means.