Best Dictation Software in 2026

Dictation software turns speech into typed text, either inside any application or only inside a browser, and the products here differ more than the name suggests.

We rank on setup effort in the first ninety days, what a working month costs once word caps and add-ons bite, whether audio can leave the device, vendor independence, and fit for the speaker.

Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.

In short

What dictation software does

Dictation software converts spoken words into typed text in documents, messages and browsers, often with voice commands for punctuation and editing, and sometimes transcribes recorded audio files or meetings too.

01

The top three

14 tools reviewed
02

How we ranked these

5 criteria, in order

The ranking follows five checks. Setup effort comes first, then real cost, then the route for getting data out, then lock-in, then the intended buyer. The ranking then gives places 1 to 3 to challengers outside the best-known brands, if the category has such vendors, and the incumbents follow. Why those five, and why there is no score out of ten, is on the how we work page.

14tools reviewed
12publish a price
10have a free tier
2countries represented
03

Compared at a glance

14 tools
#ToolCountryPricingFree tier Right forNot for
#1VoiceInkNot stated by the vendorOne-time licences per Mac in three published tiers, lifetime updates, downloadable trial—Mac users who want to pay once and keep speech processing on the deviceWindows, Intel Mac or buyers needing a named company
#2SpokenlyNot stated by the vendorFree local mode, a one-off Local+ purchase, Pro billed monthly or yearlyYesBuyers who want to test locally first and decide later on cloudOrganisations that must name a vendor entity in contracts
#3SuperwhisperNot stated by the vendorFree plan with unlimited Whisper models; Pro monthly, yearly or lifetime; Enterprise on requestYesMac-leaning users wanting a roomy entry tier before they pay anythingBuyers needing a named legal entity and a clear Pro price
#4SpeechnotesNot stated by the vendorFree dictation with ads; ad-free Premium monthly; transcription pay-as-you-go per minuteYesOccasional writers who dictate in Chrome and want minimal costAnyone dictating inside desktop applications or working offline
#5Voice InNot stated by the vendorFree plan without stated caps; Plus billed yearly; other tiers on a separate pageYesPeople who write mostly in web apps like Gmail and DocsAnyone dictating into desktop software or working offline
#6DictanoteNot stated by the vendorPro billed monthly at a published rate; free sign-up with limits not stated—Writers who want dictated notes organised and synced across devicesUsers who need dictation inside any desktop application
#7Wispr FlowNot stated by the vendorFree plan up to 2,000 words weekly; Pro, Teams and Enterprise tiers without prices on the pageYesLight users across phone and computer who start on the weekly allowanceHeavy dictators who need to know the paid price upfront
#8Willow VoiceNot stated by the vendorFree Basic tier with a weekly Scribe cap; Pro per user monthly; Business and Enterprise aboveYesIndividuals or small teams wanting tiers that climb to compliance controlsBuyers who want a time-limited trial of the paid tiers
#9Aqua VoiceNot stated by the vendorFree start with 1,000 words; Pro, Max and Business tiers without stated pricesYesTrying dictation on a small allowance before deciding on tiersBuyers who must see a published price before talking to sales
#10VoibeNot stated by the vendorFree tier without expiry; Dictation and Work plans yearly, monthly or lifetime; Enterprise quotedYesMac users who want meeting notes without a bot in the callWindows users who need dictation processed locally on their own machine
#11MacWhisperNetherlandsFree forever tier; Pro as a one-time purchase with lifetime updatesYesMac users transcribing recorded files and calls without uploading themAnyone seeking live dictation into other apps, or a Windows tool
#12Talon VoiceNot stated by the vendorBase app price not stated; Talon+ upgrade offered through Patreon—Users who cannot rely on their hands and will invest in scriptingBuyers wanting a plug-in-and-type app with a stated price
#13VocolaNot stated by the vendorFree, with no paid tiers mentionedYesWindows users already on Dragon who want custom voice commandsNewcomers wanting a complete dictation tool out of the box
#14Dragon ProfessionalNot stated by the vendorQuoted through a sales contact link; trial not mentioned—Windows offices wanting central management of shared templates and boilerplate textIndividuals who want to compare prices or try it first

Country: the vendor's base or contracting jurisdiction. Hosting is separate and is flagged per entry where it differs.

04

The 14 tools, reviewed

Ranked

1. VoiceInk · 2. Spokenly · 3. Superwhisper · 4. Speechnotes · 5. Voice In · 6. Dictanote · 7. Wispr Flow · 8. Willow Voice · 9. Aqua Voice · 10. Voibe · 11. MacWhisper · 12. Talon Voice · 13. Vocola · 14. Dragon Professional

#1 VoiceInk

One-time Mac dictation app that transcribes on the device

Ranked #1 of 14 in Best Dictation Software in 2026.

Published pricingElsewhere

Three one-time tiers cover one, two or three Macs, and every tier carries lifetime updates, with a 14-day money-back guarantee on paid plans. Beyond plain dictation it offers a custom words dictionary, Smart Replace for expanding short phrases, voice commands that rewrite selected text, and timestamped notes saved to a Markdown journal.

The product is described as built in public on GitHub, though no licence name appears. Cloud Enhancement is optional, and when switched on only text goes out.

What stands out
  • Pay once
  • Apple Silicon only
  • Smart Replace
Where it costs you
  • It requires an Apple Silicon Mac running macOS 14.4 or later.
  • The trial download has no stated length and no company or country is shown.
Right for

Mac users who want to pay once and keep speech processing on the device

Wrong for

Windows, Intel Mac or buyers needing a named company

Not stated by the vendorOne-time licences per Mac in three published tiers, lifetime updates, downloadable trial

#2 Spokenly

Dictation app with unlimited on-device mode and bring-your-own-key option

Ranked #2 of 14 in Best Dictation Software in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere

The pricing page lists a local plan with unlimited on-device transcription, a keys plan where the chosen provider bills usage, Local+ as a one-time purchase adding settings sync and priority support, and Pro at a monthly rate or a cheaper yearly one.

The trial is a one-time share of cloud dictation shown as a percentage rather than minutes. Speech-to-text covers 100+ languages with automatic detection, and a Local Only Mode can restrict network access.

What stands out
  • Local mode
  • Bring your own keys
  • One-off option
Where it costs you
  • Using your own API keys means the model provider bills usage on top.
  • The vendor gives no company name, owner or location.
Right for

Buyers who want to test locally first and decide later on cloud

Wrong for

Organisations that must name a vendor entity in contracts

Not stated by the vendorFree local mode, a one-off Local+ purchase, Pro billed monthly or yearly

#3 Superwhisper

Voice-to-text in any app with local and cloud models

Ranked #3 of 14 in Best Dictation Software in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere

Three tiers exist: Free, Pro and Enterprise. The entry tier lists dictation in any app, meetings on Mac only, 100+ languages and email support. A trial gives Pro features for 3,000 words, after which the entry tier stays available.

All plans carry a 30-day refund. Pro offers monthly, yearly with two months free, or lifetime billing. Enterprise has custom pricing, enterprise-hosted models, centralised billing and authentication, model access control and SOC 2 Type II.

What stands out
  • Any-app dictation
  • Local and cloud
  • Lifetime option
Where it costs you
  • The Pro price could not be read reliably from the page, so budgeting needs a check at purchase.
  • Meeting features are listed for Mac only.
Right for

Mac-leaning users wanting a roomy entry tier before they pay anything

Wrong for

Buyers needing a named legal entity and a clear Pro price

Not stated by the vendorFree plan with unlimited Whisper models; Pro monthly, yearly or lifetime; Enterprise on request

#4 Speechnotes

Chrome dictation notepad with a low monthly ad-free upgrade

Ranked #4 of 14 in Best Dictation Software in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere

Two separate products sit on one site. Dictation is an online notepad plus a Chrome voice typing extension, unlimited and ad-supported at no charge, or ad-free for a small monthly fee that also supports the development team.

Transcription is pay-as-you-go with no recurring payment, adds timestamps and .srt caption export, offers speaker diarization in English only, and lists a REST API, webhooks and Zapier. No free transcription tier or trial is listed.

What stands out
  • Chrome only
  • Ad-free upgrade
  • Pay-per-minute transcription
Where it costs you
  • Dictation works only in Chrome, through the notepad and the extension.
  • Hosting, company and country are missing from the page.
Right for

Occasional writers who dictate in Chrome and want minimal cost

Wrong for

Anyone dictating inside desktop applications or working offline

Not stated by the vendorFree dictation with ads; ad-free Premium monthly; transcription pay-as-you-go per minute

#5 Voice In

Chrome extension that types by voice on thousands of websites

Ranked #5 of 14 in Best Dictation Software in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere

Built by the team behind Dictanote, Voice In offers dictation in 50+ languages with punctuation voice commands. The free plan states no usage caps.

Plus is described in the FAQ as $60 per year, and its Advanced Mode unlocks dictation on 1000+ sites, while other tiers sit on a plan page we did not read. It runs on Windows, Mac, Linux and Chromebooks. Only an optional email and a paying customer's name are stored.

What stands out
  • Browser extension
  • 50+ languages
  • Advanced Mode
Where it costs you
  • It does not work in desktop apps such as Word or Outlook.
  • It requires an internet connection and does not work offline.
Right for

People who write mostly in web apps like Gmail and Docs

Wrong for

Anyone dictating into desktop software or working offline

Not stated by the vendorFree plan without stated caps; Plus billed yearly; other tiers on a separate page

#6 Dictanote

Browser dictation notes app with cloud sync and voice editing

Ranked #6 of 14 in Best Dictation Software in 2026.

Published pricingElsewhere

Languages run to 50+ with 80+ dialects, and both built-in and custom voice commands are offered. Support spans Chrome and Edge on desktop, Chrome on Android, and Safari 26+ on Mac, iPhone and iPad.

Audio is not stored; transcription is done by the browser's speech service, while notes are kept encrypted on Dictanote servers. Pro appears struck through from $8 with a 37 per cent saving label, and the currency is not named.

What stands out
  • Notes app
  • Cloud sync
  • Custom voice commands
Where it costs you
  • Dictation needs an internet connection even though notes can be edited offline.
  • Limits of the free sign-up are not stated, so the entry tier cannot be judged.
Right for

Writers who want dictated notes organised and synced across devices

Wrong for

Users who need dictation inside any desktop application

Not stated by the vendorPro billed monthly at a published rate; free sign-up with limits not stated

#7 Wispr Flow

Cross-device dictation with a free weekly word allowance

Ranked #7 of 14 in Best Dictation Software in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere

The weekly allowance of 2,000 words needs no card and no trial countdown. Flow Pro unlocks unlimited dictation, Teams adds one plan with central billing and an admin portal for seats, and Enterprise adds enforced SSO, admin-set data retention, audit logs and bulk pricing.

Over 100 languages are detected automatically, and Notetaker records Zoom, Meet, Teams, Slack huddles and in-person meetings on Mac or Windows. The page says data is never sold.

What stands out
  • 2,000 words weekly
  • Cross-device sync
  • Notetaker
Where it costs you
  • Pro, Teams and Enterprise prices are not shown on the page read.
  • Whether audio is processed locally or in the cloud is not stated.
Right for

Light users across phone and computer who start on the weekly allowance

Wrong for

Heavy dictators who need to know the paid price upfront

Not stated by the vendorFree plan up to 2,000 words weekly; Pro, Teams and Enterprise tiers without prices on the page

#8 Willow Voice

Dictation with tiered plans and a zero-retention business mode

Ranked #8 of 14 in Best Dictation Software in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere

Pro adds an unlimited Frontier Pro model, priority transcription, writing-style memory and longer dictation, shown struck through from $15. Business, struck through from $35, adds zero-data-retention privacy mode and advanced admin controls, while Enterprise adds invoice or PO billing, SSO/SAML, an MSA and DPA, usage dashboards and an API.

Offline mode runs entirely on the device, and over 100 languages are listed. Students, educators, nonprofits and veterans can get discounts on Individual Pro.

What stands out
  • Offline mode
  • Zero data retention
  • Writing-style memory
Where it costs you
  • The Basic plan limits Scribe to 20 uses per week.
  • The pricing page does not say whether Business is charged per seat.
Right for

Individuals or small teams wanting tiers that climb to compliance controls

Wrong for

Buyers who want a time-limited trial of the paid tiers

Not stated by the vendorFree Basic tier with a weekly Scribe cap; Pro per user monthly; Business and Enterprise above

#9 Aqua Voice

Dictation app with a starter word allowance and team controls

Ranked #9 of 14 in Best Dictation Software in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere

The starter tier gives 1,000 words, Deep Context and MCP/CLI access. Pro lists unlimited dictation with custom instructions and a personal dictionary, Max adds Realtime Mode, voice commands and early access, and Business adds team billing, SSO, usage reports, zero data retention and shared dictionaries.

Students get 70 per cent off Pro and Max. The older withaqua.com address redirects to aquavoice.com, and the product name is unchanged. Privacy, Terms and Trust Center pages exist but were not read.

What stands out
  • 1,000-word start
  • Deep Context
  • Privacy Mode
Where it costs you
  • No price or currency is shown for Pro, Max or Business.
  • Language coverage is 49, below the 100+ that some other tools here list.
Right for

Trying dictation on a small allowance before deciding on tiers

Wrong for

Buyers who must see a published price before talking to sales

Not stated by the vendorFree start with 1,000 words; Pro, Max and Business tiers without stated prices

#10 Voibe

Apple Silicon dictation that runs on the device, with meeting notes

Ranked #10 of 14 in Best Dictation Software in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere

Beyond the $99 Dictation plan, FAQ prices also list $9.90 monthly and $199 lifetime, and Work lists $19 monthly and $399 lifetime, with a 30-day money-back guarantee on Dictation.

New accounts get a 7-day trial of every Work feature without a card, then drop to the free tier. A zero-retention cloud mode is also offered, and Enterprise is custom priced for more than 10 seats with a BAA on request.

What stands out
  • On-device dictation
  • Meeting notes
  • 7-day trial
Where it costs you
  • Dictation on Windows is cloud-only.
  • The entry tier is limited in words and tied to one device.
Right for

Mac users who want meeting notes without a bot in the call

Wrong for

Windows users who need dictation processed locally on their own machine

Not stated by the vendorFree tier without expiry; Dictation and Work plans yearly, monthly or lifetime; Enterprise quoted

#11 MacWhisper

Mac transcription app with local models and one-time purchase

Ranked #11 of 14 in Best Dictation Software in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingEurope

Pro costs a single payment per licence and is sold through Gumroad or the App Store. The app records Zoom, Teams, Webex, Skype and Discord calls without bots joining.

You can bring your own API keys for providers such as OpenAI, Anthropic and Google, or point it at local models through Ollama and LM Studio. Offline use is stated, and the Try for free button leads to Gumroad without naming a trial length.

What stands out
  • Local models
  • Bot-free recording
  • One-time Pro
Where it costs you
  • Its described uses are file and call transcription, with typing into other apps left out.
  • The free tier's limits and the trial length are not stated.
Right for

Mac users transcribing recorded files and calls without uploading them

Wrong for

Anyone seeking live dictation into other apps, or a Windows tool

NetherlandsFree forever tier; Pro as a one-time purchase with lifetime updates

#12 Talon Voice

Hands-free control toolkit with scripted voice, eye and sound input

Ranked #12 of 14 in Best Dictation Software in 2026.

Pricing on requestElsewhere

Installers cover macOS, Windows and Linux on X11, downloaded from the vendor's site, and hosting is local with no cloud mode stated. The paid Talon+ route, sold through Patreon, promises more features and better support.

A command such as select all maps to a key press in a .talon file, and documentation sits at talonvoice.com/docs. Whether the base app costs anything is not stated, and the page names no licence type.

What stands out
  • Hands-free control
  • Scriptable commands
  • Eye and sound input
Where it costs you
  • Custom commands are written in .talon files, so setup takes scripting effort.
  • Neither a company, a country nor a privacy page appears on the site.
Right for

Users who cannot rely on their hands and will invest in scripting

Wrong for

Buyers wanting a plug-in-and-type app with a stated price

Not stated by the vendorBase app price not stated; Talon+ upgrade offered through Patreon

#13 Vocola

MIT-licensed command layer for Dragon or Windows Speech Recognition

Ranked #13 of 14 in Best Dictation Software in 2026.

Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere

Source sits on GitHub in separate Vocola 2 and Vocola 3 repositories. Commands use a simple syntax where most are one-liners, changed commands load automatically, and a command can capture dictated words or run a sequence of commands.

Include files and user-defined functions give reuse in both versions. Hosting is local on Windows, though the page does not say so explicitly, and the author is named as an individual with no company or country.

What stands out
  • MIT licence
  • Command scripting
  • Windows
Where it costs you
  • It does nothing alone, as another engine must supply the recognition.
  • The site links no legal or contact pages, and its copyright line ends at 2023.
Right for

Windows users already on Dragon who want custom voice commands

Wrong for

Newcomers wanting a complete dictation tool out of the box

Not stated by the vendorFree, with no paid tiers mentioned

#14 Dragon Professional

Windows speech recognition suite sold through contact sales

Ranked #14 of 14 in Best Dictation Software in 2026.

Pricing on requestElsewhere

Version 16 claims up to 99 per cent recognition accuracy and dictation three times faster than typing. Custom voice commands insert boilerplate text or signatures into documents.

The Nuance Management Center manages templates and boilerplate across an organisation, and the Auto Transcribe Folder Agent handles batches of audio files. The footer carries Microsoft and Nuance Communications copyright notices, while legal and privacy pages were linked but could not be read, so hosting and country stay unstated.

What stands out
  • Windows
  • Custom voice commands
  • Batch transcription
Where it costs you
  • No price, plan or trial is shown, so cost is known only after contact with sales.
  • Where it is hosted, and by whom, goes unsaid.
Right for

Windows offices wanting central management of shared templates and boilerplate text

Wrong for

Individuals who want to compare prices or try it first

Not stated by the vendorQuoted through a sales contact link; trial not mentioned
06

How to choose dictation software

Dictation software converts spoken words into typed text in documents, messages and browsers, often with voice commands for punctuation and editing, and sometimes transcribes recorded audio files or meetings too. Feature lists look alike, so we would settle these points one at a time instead.

  1. 01

    Decide whether you need a published price

    The split is 12 published against 2 quoted. If you want to compare numbers first, start with VoiceInk, Spokenly, Superwhisper, Speechnotes, Voice In, Dictanote, Wispr Flow, Willow Voice, Aqua Voice, Voibe, MacWhisper, Vocola.

  2. 02

    Weigh the vendor's home jurisdiction

    The 14 companies behind this list are established in 2 countries, by region Elsewhere 13, Europe 1. Disclosure obligations attach to the company, so they travel with the vendor even when the servers stay at home.

  3. 03

    Check the open source options

    Source code is available for Vocola. Running it yourself swaps the licence fee for your own upkeep.

Dictation software splits into typing tools, transcribers and control kits

A buyer who types the keyword meets three different jobs. Superwhisper, Wispr Flow, Willow Voice and Aqua Voice put spoken words into whatever window has the cursor. MacWhisper is built around transcribing recorded files and calls, and the pages we read mention no voice typing elsewhere.

Talon Voice and Vocola belong to a third group: they run a computer or add commands, and Vocola needs a separate recogniser underneath. Mixing these up wastes a trial week, because a transcriber will not replace a keyboard and a control kit will not give you quick prose. Decide first whether you speak into live documents, process recordings, or cannot use your hands.

  • Name your main job: live typing, recordings or hands-free control
  • Check that the tool's own description matches that job
  • Treat MacWhisper and Vocola as specialists, not general replacements

Where your voice goes: the device, the browser or a vendor's servers

Processing location differs sharply and is often buried. VoiceInk and MacWhisper run transcription on the Mac, Voibe does so on Apple Silicon but its Windows dictation is cloud-only, and Spokenly depends on whether you pick a local or a cloud model. Voice In transcribes in the browser, yet it needs internet, and Dictanote leans on the browser's own speech service.

Aqua Voice stores nothing only when Privacy Mode is enabled, and Wispr Flow does not say where audio is handled. Read the vendor's own wording rather than a compliance badge, and test with a harmless sample before sending anything sensitive, because a privacy promise on a marketing page and a setting inside the app are two different things. Where the page is silent, as with Dragon Professional, ask in writing.

  • Find the vendor's statement on where audio is processed
  • Ask what changes when optional cloud features are switched on
  • Confirm the setting you need is on the plan you will pay for

Pricing shapes: weekly word caps, one-off licences and sales quotes

Five meters compete here and they are not comparable at first glance. Wispr Flow allows 2,000 words a week and Aqua Voice starts with 1,000 words, so a heavy talker meets the wall in days. VoiceInk and MacWhisper sell a single purchase with lifetime updates, Spokenly adds a one-off Local+ tier, and Voibe offers yearly, monthly and lifetime options.

Willow Voice and Dictanote bill monthly, Speechnotes charges per minute for transcription, and Dragon Professional answers only through a contact link. Wispr Flow and Aqua Voice show no paid price on the pages read. Estimate the words you speak in a week, then price each tool at that volume, including any module or seat you would add after the first month. A cheap entry point that forces an upgrade by week two is not cheap.

  • Count your weekly words before comparing tiers
  • Ask for the paid price in writing if the page shows none
  • Compare one-off licences by device count and update terms

Platform limits: Apple Silicon, Chrome tabs and Windows only

Many entries are tied to one platform, and the restriction is easy to miss until after purchase. VoiceInk runs only on newer Apple hardware with a recent macOS. Voice In lives in the browser and does not work in Word or Outlook, Speechnotes dictation runs in Chrome, and Dictanote adds Safari 26+ and Chrome on Android.

Dragon Professional is described for Windows, while Talon Voice covers macOS, Windows and Linux on X11. Wispr Flow lists Mac, Windows, iPhone and Android with syncing between them. Mixed fleets need either a cross-platform tool or two licences, so list every device and operating system before shortlisting, and verify that the specific mode you want exists on each one.

  • List every operating system and browser your team uses
  • Test the exact app where you type most
  • Check that features such as meetings are offered on your platform

What goes wrong most often when buying dictation software

  • Choosing a transcription app such as MacWhisper when the real need is typing by voice into live documents.
  • Assuming a free start is enough, then hitting a weekly cap such as 2,000 or 1,000 words in the first busy week.
  • Reading a compliance badge as proof of local processing instead of checking what each vendor says about audio.
  • Buying a one-off Mac licence for a team that also uses Windows laptops or Chromebooks.
07

Frequently asked questions

7 answers
What is the best dictation software in 2026?

First of 14 on this page is VoiceInk. VoiceInk is credited to a person called Pax, with no company, owner or country shown, so the thing to weigh is who stands behind it.

The reward is a one-off licence with lifetime updates and transcription that runs on the device. It demands an Apple Silicon Mac on macOS 14.4 or later, and the optional cloud enhancement sends transcribed text off the machine.

Which dictation tools publish their pricing?

12 of the 14, with the pricing model each one publishes:

  • VoiceInk: One-time licences per Mac in three published tiers, lifetime updates, downloadable trial.
  • Spokenly: Free local mode, a one-off Local+ purchase, Pro billed monthly or yearly.
  • Superwhisper: Free plan with unlimited Whisper models; Pro monthly, yearly or lifetime; Enterprise on request.
  • Speechnotes: Free dictation with ads; ad-free Premium monthly; transcription pay-as-you-go per minute.
  • Voice In: Free plan without stated caps; Plus billed yearly; other tiers on a separate page.
  • Dictanote: Pro billed monthly at a published rate; free sign-up with limits not stated.
  • Wispr Flow: Free plan up to 2,000 words weekly; Pro, Teams and Enterprise tiers without prices on the page.
  • Willow Voice: Free Basic tier with a weekly Scribe cap; Pro per user monthly; Business and Enterprise above.
  • Aqua Voice: Free start with 1,000 words; Pro, Max and Business tiers without stated prices.
  • Voibe: Free tier without expiry; Dictation and Work plans yearly, monthly or lifetime; Enterprise quoted.
  • MacWhisper: Free forever tier; Pro as a one-time purchase with lifetime updates.
  • Vocola: Free, with no paid tiers mentioned.

The other 2 quote per organisation.

Is there a free dictation tool?

Spokenly, Superwhisper, Speechnotes, Voice In, Wispr Flow, Willow Voice, Aqua Voice, Voibe, MacWhisper, Vocola offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.

Where are these dictation software vendors established?

In 2 countries across 2 regions: Elsewhere 13, Europe 1.

  • VoiceInk: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Spokenly: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Superwhisper: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Speechnotes: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Voice In: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Dictanote: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Wispr Flow: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Willow Voice: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Aqua Voice: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Voibe: Not stated by the vendor.
  • MacWhisper: Netherlands.
  • Talon Voice: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Vocola: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Dragon Professional: Not stated by the vendor.
Which dictation tools are open source?

Vocola.

What should you use instead of VoiceInk?

The next in line are Spokenly, aimed at Buyers who want to test locally first and decide later on cloud, and Superwhisper, aimed at Mac-leaning users wanting a roomy entry tier before they pay anything.

Who should not buy VoiceInk?

Windows, Intel Mac or buyers needing a named company. It requires an Apple Silicon Mac running macOS 14.4 or later..

—

Tools reviewed

14 products
—

Head to head

All comparisons
—

More Operations software advice

16 guides

For software vendors

Not on this list?

Vendors who think their dictation software product should be here can tell us about it: what it does, who it is for. The call is ours, and software advice sets out what being listed means.

Suggest a product →