Genealogy software stores the people, events, sources and places of a family tree, and the products here range from a volunteer project to a priced licence and a hosted profile site.
We rank by first-ninety-day effort, what upgrades and hosting add, how the tree leaves, independence from record-site owners, and fit for hobbyists or families sharing one tree.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What genealogy software does
Genealogy software records ancestors, families, events and source citations in one tree, prints charts and reports, and keeps that tree on a desktop, a self-run website or a hosted service.
Every genealogy tool was judged on five points in a fixed order: setup effort, cost in practice, how data is exported, how easily you can leave, and the buyer it was designed for. One rule overrides the order: smaller vendors take the first three places when the category offers them, and the best-known brands start at four. Reasons for the choice of tests, and for skipping a score out of ten, can be read on the how we work page.
Tree builder from one named company, sold monthly, yearly or perpetual
Ranked #1 of 11 in Best Genealogy Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Calico Pie Limited lists three ways to pay in its store: a monthly term, an annual term marked as recommended, and a perpetual licence. Schools and businesses get per-user yearly seats with a five-user minimum, and people upgrading from older versions receive percentage discounts.
That clarity is rare here. The weak spot is the perpetual route, because later major versions cost extra, so a long-term owner should price two upgrade cycles before choosing it over the annual term.
What stands out
Three licence terms
Education and business seats
Upgrade discounts
Where it costs you
Major new releases are bought separately even with the perpetual licence, so the one-off price is not the final one.
The store page names no feature limits for the 30-day trial.
A vendor country is missing from the pages read.
Right for
Hobbyists who want to choose between renting and owning a licence
Wrong for
Anyone needing a stated country or documented trial limits
Not stated by the vendorMonthly, annual and perpetual licences with published store prices; discounts for upgraders; 30-day trial
Desktop tree software for Windows and Mac with a no-expiry basic edition
Ranked #2 of 11 in Best Genealogy Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The RootsMagic site separates what costs nothing from what does not. A basic edition runs without a time limit, a full edition carries a one-off price, and existing users pay less for the current upgrade.
Its WebHints feature searches Ancestry, FamilySearch, MyHeritage and Findmypast while the data stays local, so you can use the big record sites without moving the tree there. Expect to pay for the full edition once you want personal support from the company.
What stands out
One-time licence
Records hinting
Windows and Mac
Where it costs you
Personal technical support is limited to the full paid version.
The listed prices carry no currency name on the page.
The tree sits on one computer, so relatives cannot open it without an export.
Right for
Buyers wanting to own a desktop licence and trial it on real data first
Wrong for
Families who want one shared tree edited online
Not stated by the vendorOne-time purchase with published prices and a cheaper upgrade; a free tier without time limit; no subscription
Volunteer-built genealogy programme released under the GNU General Public License
Ranked #3 of 11 in Best Genealogy Software in 2026.
Open sourcePricing on requestElsewhere
What sets Gramps apart is who runs it: the project says it is created, developed and governed by genealogists, with no buyer in the loop. Its repository is licensed GPL v2.0, which makes the licence a verified fact rather than a promise.
It ranks high for independence: you can adopt it, run it and leave it without any partner. The trade-off is the missing sales contact, so someone in your household must become the expert.
What stands out
GPL v2.0 licence
Community governed
No purchase needed
Where it costs you
No company, country or paid support plan is named on the pages read.
Help comes from a volunteer community, with no vendor behind it that you can hold to a service level.
Right for
Researchers who value an open licence and a permanent zero price
Wrong for
Anyone wanting a named company to contact
Not stated by the vendorCosts nothing to use; community-governed project with its code under GPL v2.0
Association-built GEDCOM programme for Windows, Mac and Linux, free for life
Ranked #4 of 11 in Best Genealogy Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Few genealogy tools list Linux next to Windows and macOS, and Ancestris does, offering an AppImage or a ZIP for it. The website describes an unlimited family tree freeware, free updates and compliance with GEDCOM.
An association develops it rather than a firm, which suits people avoiding vendor lock-in. Before relying on it for a large archive, ask the project which licence applies, because the page that was read leaves that question unanswered.
What stands out
Runs on Linux too
Association developed
GEDCOM compliant
Where it costs you
Reuse rights are unclear because the page read gives no licence name.
No country is given for the association behind it.
Right for
Linux users wanting a no-cost tree program that keeps to the GEDCOM standard
Wrong for
Anyone who must read the licence text before adopting
Not stated by the vendorCosts nothing, updates included; the maintainers say the software is free for life
Windows tree programme with an untimed demo and a flat licence
Ranked #5 of 11 in Best Genealogy Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The shop page spells out the terms: a full licence for one private user on any number of that person's computers, an upgrade price for versions 3 and 4, and a demo with no end date.
That demo is capped at 50 people and puts a watermark on printouts, yet it opens larger files, so you can inspect an existing tree before buying. The copyright notice names an individual, Dirk Böttcher, which fits a small-scale buyer who wants no subscription.
What stands out
Untimed demo
Private-use licence
Windows-based
Where it costs you
A licence covers private use by one user only, so a shared family purchase needs more than one.
The demo watermarks printouts and is limited to 50 people.
The software is Windows-based.
Right for
Windows users who prefer paying once for a private-use licence
Wrong for
Mac owners or researchers doing paid client work
Not stated by the vendorSingle paid licence with published price and cheaper upgrade; untimed demo capped at 50 people
Apple-only tree app syncing between devices through iCloud
Ranked #6 of 11 in Best Genealogy Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Synium Software lists MacFamilyTree 11 at a normal price with a limited-time reduction for new customers, plus a cheaper upgrade offer. After download, the app asks whether to unlock the full version, so the demo and the paid product are one file.
Collaboration through CloudTree works only with other MacFamilyTree and MobileFamilyTree users and relies on iCloud. That works inside the Apple world only.
What stands out
macOS 12 or later
iCloud sync
Separate iOS app
Where it costs you
The iOS and iPadOS companion, MobileFamilyTree 11, is sold separately.
Real-time sharing depends on iCloud and on relatives also using Synium software.
What the demo restricts is not spelled out.
Right for
Mac households wanting a native app with iCloud-based tree sharing
Wrong for
Windows users or relatives holding Android phones only
Not stated by the vendorPaid app with launch discount for new customers and a cheaper upgrade tier; demo download unlocks to full
Cross-platform tree program with demo, free download and online companion account
Ranked #7 of 11 in Best Genealogy Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Few rivals reach all four of Windows, macOS, iOS and Android, and Heredis lists each. Its online companion needs only a free account.
The site announces Heredis 2027 with AI transcription and translation of documents, a full-health check of the tree and a 64-bit Windows build; treat these as plans until released. Test the free version on a real tree first, because the pages do not reveal what separates it from paid editions.
What stands out
Windows, macOS, iOS, Android
Online companion
200+ features
Where it costs you
No edition prices are shown on the pages read.
The announced Heredis 2027 features are not yet shipped, so they cannot be relied on today.
Vendor country is not stated.
Right for
Households that need the same tree on desktop and phones
Wrong for
People wanting upfront prices for each edition
Not stated by the vendorDemo and a version download at no charge; edition prices not shown on the pages read
Mac and Windows tree builder that can sync with an Ancestry tree
Ranked #8 of 11 in Best Genealogy Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Where Family Tree Maker stands out is change history and data volume. Turn Back Time 5000 stores five times more change-log steps than the earlier 1,000-step version, a places database holds over three million names, and FamilySearch hints link to more than six billion online records, described as free.
Sync with Ancestry is the selling point and also the dependency, so a tree that matters to you should be exported on a schedule.
What stands out
Ancestry tree sync
TreeVault backup
Large places database
Where it costs you
The product page shows no prices, only two regional stores.
Its main sync feature points at an Ancestry tree, which ties you to that record site.
The country is not stated on the pages read.
Right for
Ancestry users who want their online tree mirrored on a few computers
Wrong for
People avoiding any link to a record-site subscription
Not stated by the vendorTwo regional stores with no prices on the product page; cloud backup service bundled
Open source website for letting relatives build one tree together
Ranked #9 of 11 in Best Genealogy Software in 2026.
Open sourceSelf-hostablePricing on requestElsewhere
This is a website, not a desktop program: the tree lives on hosting you supply, with PHP and MySQL as the requirements. Its strength is collaboration, since extra accounts let several relatives add to the same tree, and a live demo of version 2.2.6 is open on the site.
Because input arrives as GEDCOM files, moving in from another tool is practical. Budget the time and hosting fees that the zero licence price does not cover.
What stands out
Open source
Self-hosted
GEDCOM based
Where it costs you
You must supply and maintain a web host with PHP and MySQL.
No licence name appears on the page read, which hides the reuse terms.
Right for
Families with a technical member willing to run a shared site
Wrong for
Solo researchers who want to install and start
Not stated by the vendorOpen source and costs nothing; you provide a web host running PHP and MySQL
Tree program whose footer carries a MyHeritage name
Ranked #10 of 11 in Best Genealogy Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Legacy appeals through output: more than 100 charts and reports, place mapping on Google Maps, and hints from four record sites. The page read states neither a price nor a limit, and the footer credit to MyHeritage means the maker is tied to a bigger group.
That is why it sits below the independent vendors, not for lack of features. Confirm what the download restricts before entering years of research.
What stands out
Over 100 charts
Records hinting
Google Maps
Where it costs you
The page shows no prices and no usage limits for the free download.
The footer names MyHeritage, so independence is not demonstrated.
Place mapping relies on Google Maps.
Right for
Chart-heavy researchers who want to test a download before deciding
Wrong for
Researchers who rank independence from record sites first
Not stated by the vendorDownload button offered without charge; the page shows no prices or usage limits
Hosted profile-based world tree with a basic tier and Pro upgrade
Ranked #11 of 11 in Best Genealogy Software in 2026.
Free tierPricing on requestElsewhere
Geni lives in the browser: profiles sit on the vendor's servers, so no installation is needed. Basic is free with unlimited profiles and 1GB of uploads, while Pro opens search across more than 285 million profiles and relationship path diagrams.
A free trial of Pro exists, but nothing on the page says how long it lasts or what it will cost afterwards. Ask both questions, and plan how you would export your data.
What stands out
Hosted tree
Basic tier
Pro tier trial
Where it costs you
The Pro price and billing period are not stated.
The trial length is not given.
Owner and country are not stated on the pages read.
Right for
Hobbyists who want a hosted tree and relatives joining by profile
Wrong for
Users who need an offline file they fully control
Not stated by the vendorBasic tier at no charge; Pro tier with a trial of unstated length and no price shown
Genealogy software records ancestors, families, events and source citations in one tree, prints charts and reports, and keeps that tree on a desktop, a self-run website or a hosted service. Differences that change the outcome seldom sit in the features. Here is the sequence we would follow.
01
Work out how much a sales call is worth to you
The split is 4 published against 7 quoted. If you want to compare numbers first, start with Family Historian, RootsMagic, Ancestris, Ahnenblatt.
02
Ask which country the contract runs through
Check the vendor's home market (Elsewhere 11), because that is where subpoenas and data requests arrive first, whatever region holds your files.
03
Check the open source options
Source code is available for Gramps, webtrees. Running it yourself swaps the licence fee for your own upkeep.
Genealogy software: desktop licence, web host or hosted tree
Three different bills hide behind this category. A desktop licence such as RootsMagic or Ahnenblatt is paid once, and Family Historian also sells monthly and annual terms. A self-run website such as webtrees costs nothing in licences but needs a host with PHP and MySQL, and you must maintain it.
A hosted service such as Geni keeps profiles on the vendor's servers, with a Basic tier and a Pro tier whose price the page does not state. Decide which of these three you can live with before comparing features, because moving a lifetime of research between them is slow, manual work. A buyer who only wants to record ancestors at home rarely needs a website, while a family that wants cousins to contribute probably does.
Write down who will maintain a web host before choosing webtrees
Ask what happens to major new releases after a perpetual purchase
Find the Pro price of Geni before filling a hosted tree
Hints and sync from Ancestry, FamilySearch and MyHeritage
Record hints are the daily convenience, and each tool picks its own sources. RootsMagic WebHints searches Ancestry, FamilySearch, MyHeritage and Findmypast while the tree stays on your computer. Legacy Family Tree hints from FamilySearch, Findmypast, GenealogyBank and MyHeritage.
Family Tree Maker goes further and syncs with an online Ancestry tree to up to three computers, which is useful but ties you to that subscription. Check which record sites you already pay for, then choose the tool whose hints match them, and test whether a hint opens without a paid account at that site. Hints are only a convenience, so keep your sources and citations inside the tree itself, where every tool can export them.
Match the tool's hint sources to the record sites you already use
Confirm that Family Tree Maker sync needs an Ancestry tree
Test one hint end to end before relying on it
Mac, Windows, Linux and phones: where each tree program runs
Platform decides more than features here. MacFamilyTree needs macOS 12 or later and sells its iPhone and iPad companion separately. Ahnenblatt is Windows-based, Family Tree Maker 2024 covers Mac and Windows, and Ancestris reaches Linux as an AppImage or ZIP. Heredis lists Windows, macOS, iOS and Android, which suits mixed households.
A mismatch shows up late, when a parent on Windows cannot open the file the Mac user built. List every device in the family, including phones, and pick software that all of them can run or read through a shared website. Also check whether the vendor states system requirements at all, as only some of these vendors do, and ask the others.
List the operating systems of every relative who needs access
Check whether the phone app is a separate purchase
Open a trial file on the oldest computer in the household
Free versions, demos and trials in genealogy: read the limits
Almost every product offers a way in, and the limits differ. The RootsMagic free tier has no time limit but no personal support; Ahnenblatt's demo never ends yet stops at 50 people and watermarks printouts; Family Historian gives 30 days; Heredis offers a demo and a free version; MacFamilyTree turns its demo into the full version by unlocking it.
Gramps and Ancestris cost nothing at all. Legacy shows a free download with no stated limits. Load a few hundred real people into any candidate before paying, because a demo that hides its ceiling can trap you at the moment your tree grows. Where the page states no limits, such as Legacy and Heredis, write to the vendor and keep the answer.
Import a few hundred real people, not sample data
Note the demo ceiling, such as 50 people, before you start
Ask whether the free version can print and export
What goes wrong most often when buying genealogy software
Buying a perpetual Family Historian licence without pricing the major releases that are sold separately later.
Choosing Family Tree Maker for its Ancestry sync and then letting the Ancestry subscription lapse without an export.
Starting a webtrees site without a host that supports PHP and MySQL.
Trusting an unlimited demo such as Ahnenblatt's with a tree larger than 50 people and then finding printouts watermarked.
07
Frequently asked questions
8 answers
What is the best genealogy software in 2026?
Family Historian takes first place among the 11 we reviewed. Family Historian 8 is sold by Calico Pie Limited, one named company, and its store is the only one on this list that publishes monthly, annual and perpetual prices side by side, in euros.
A 30-day trial is offered. The catch is that the perpetual licence leaves major new releases to be bought separately, and the pages read give neither trial limits nor a country.
Which genealogy tools publish their pricing?
The ones that do, with the model each states:
Family Historian: Monthly, annual and perpetual licences with published store prices; discounts for upgraders; 30-day trial.
RootsMagic: One-time purchase with published prices and a cheaper upgrade; a free tier without time limit; no subscription.
Ancestris: Costs nothing, updates included; the maintainers say the software is free for life.
Ahnenblatt: Single paid licence with published price and cheaper upgrade; untimed demo capped at 50 people.
The remaining 7 sell by quote.
Is there a free genealogy tool?
RootsMagic, Geni have a free plan or free self-hosted edition.
Where are these genealogy software vendors established?
The headquarters are spread over 1 countries and 1 regions, Elsewhere 11:
Family Historian: Not stated by the vendor.
RootsMagic: Not stated by the vendor.
Gramps: Not stated by the vendor.
Ancestris: Not stated by the vendor.
Ahnenblatt: Not stated by the vendor.
MacFamilyTree: Not stated by the vendor.
Heredis: Not stated by the vendor.
Family Tree Maker: Not stated by the vendor.
webtrees: Not stated by the vendor.
Legacy Family Tree: Not stated by the vendor.
Geni: Not stated by the vendor.
Which genealogy tools are open source?
Gramps, webtrees.
Which genealogy tools can you host yourself?
webtrees. The remaining 10 run only on the vendor's servers.
What should you use instead of Family Historian?
Look at RootsMagic (made for Buyers wanting to own a desktop licence and trial it on real data first) and Gramps (made for Researchers who value an open licence and a permanent zero price), which hold places two and three.
Who should not buy Family Historian?
Anyone needing a stated country or documented trial limits. Major new releases are bought separately even with the perpetual licence, so the one-off price is not the final one..
Makers of genealogy software products can ask us to look at theirs. Say what it does and who uses it. We choose what to add, and nothing can be bought; see software advice for what a listing means.