Personal trainer software lets a coach build programmes, deliver them through a client app, follow check-ins and collect payment.
This guide ranks twelve tools by how a roster of five, fifty or five hundred clients moves the monthly bill, how fast a trial can be set up, what leaving costs, and whether an independent maker stands behind it.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What personal trainer software does
Personal trainer software is a coaching platform where trainers assign workouts and nutrition to remote or in-person clients, record progress through a client app, and run messaging, scheduling and billing.
Our order comes from five tests, taken in turn: effort to set up, what you really pay, what happens to your data on the way out, how locked in you are, and the intended customer. A challenger rule applies on top. Places 1 to 3 are kept for lesser-known vendors when the category has them; large brands rank from 4. The reasoning behind the five tests, and behind having no score out of ten, is set out on the how we work page.
Published monthly plans by active client count, annual billing lower; 14-day trial on the top plan
—
Dietitians and wellness practices needing charting and telehealth next to coaching
Trainers whose job is workouts, check-ins and form feedback
We list the country the vendor operates from or contracts through. That is not the same as the hosting region, and any difference is spelled out in the entry.
Three client-count plans from a single UK limited company
Ranked #1 of 12 in Best Personal Trainer Software in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
PT Distinction runs on three plans priced in US dollars and tiered by client count: Basic at three clients, Pro at twenty-five and Master at fifty.
Past the opening month, each extra client on Pro and Master adds a small monthly charge, so a roster never meets a hard wall, yet the invoice keeps moving. The company is a registered UK limited company, and its terms let the one-month trial be used once.
What stands out
Client-count plans
One-month trial
UK limited company
Where it costs you
The entry plan holds just three clients, so a growing roster forces an upgrade quickly.
Extra clients on Pro and Master are charged individually after the opening month, which makes the monthly total harder to predict.
Right for
Solo trainers who want a short, predictable price ladder from a registered UK company
Wrong for
Coaches who need a permanent entry plan while building a roster
United KingdomPublished monthly plans in US dollars by client count, with per-client extras on the upper two; one-month trial on each
Euro-priced coaching plans with a permanent starter tier
Ranked #2 of 12 in Best Personal Trainer Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
My PT Hub prices in euros across four plans. Lite is permanent but tiny, Starter covers three clients, and Premium and Ultimate lift the caps on clients, workouts and nutrition plans.
The trial runs 30 days on paid tiers without a card and then returns the account to Lite instead of locking it. The company behind it is Fitii Ltd in England. The branded app is the main hidden cost, because the page lists it as an extra.
What stands out
Permanent starter tier
Euro pricing
Branded app add-on
Where it costs you
Lite allows one client, ten workouts and ten nutrition plans, which only suits a coach who is still testing.
The custom branded app is billed separately from every plan, so the full price is higher than the plan card suggests.
Right for
New coaches who want to begin at no cost and scale to unlimited clients
Wrong for
Trainers wanting a branded app included in the plan price
United KingdomFree Lite tier, then published monthly euro plans; 30-day trial on paid tiers; branded app sold as an add-on
Per-seat pricing that falls as the client roster grows
Ranked #3 of 12 in Best Personal Trainer Software in 2026.
Published pricingMiddle East
Kahunas bills each seat monthly; clients still in use and staff not yet archived both fill one. The listed rate starts at a few dollars per seat for small rosters and falls to cents per seat above a thousand.
Storage is 1 GB per seat with a 5 GB minimum, and 250 AI credits are included monthly, with larger packs sold separately. Archiving inactive clients is therefore the lever that controls the invoice.
What stands out
Per-seat pricing
AI credit packs
Cloud hosting
Where it costs you
A card is taken at signup, so the 14-day trial needs a payment method.
Team members count as seats, so adding assistant coaches raises the bill alongside clients.
Right for
Coaches whose roster swings up and down and who want volume discounts
Wrong for
Trainers who want to test without entering a card
United Arab EmiratesPublished per-seat monthly rate that drops by volume band, yearly cheaper; 14-day trial with a card taken at signup
Forever-free starter tier with add-on modules priced on top
Ranked #4 of 12 in Best Personal Trainer Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Everfit separates its plans from its modules. Starter stays free for up to five clients, Pro tiers run from five to 300 clients, and Studio from 50 to 500, with annual billing shown at a lower monthly rate.
Modules for automation, collections, packages and recipe books each start at their own monthly fee. A coach who wants all four should add them up before comparing with flatter plans.
What stands out
Forever-free starter
Client-count tiers
Priced add-ons
Where it costs you
Automation, collections, payments and meal plans are each add-ons, so the working bill exceeds the plan price.
Enterprise is shown only as a contact route, and the trial runs for an unstated period.
Right for
Online coaches who start small and want paid modules only when needed
Wrong for
Buyers who need one all-inclusive monthly price from the start
United StatesFree tier for five clients, then published monthly plans by client count; extra modules billed as add-ons; trial on paid plans
One published coaching plan, built by the Hevy team
Ranked #5 of 12 in Best Personal Trainer Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The plan is called a personal training platform and renews automatically each month. Coaches build routines into a programme library, assign them, and follow client results, while clients log workouts and chat in the app.
The exercise library holds more than 400 movements and accepts custom ones. The page mentions the Hevy team as builder but states no country, and its tiers disagree with the FAQ on the maximum roster.
What stands out
Single plan
Exercise library
Client logging app
Where it costs you
The tier table reaches 1,000 clients but the FAQ gives 500 as the limit.
Only a trial is offered before the monthly charge begins.
Right for
Strength coaches who value a simple routine builder and one clear plan
Wrong for
Teams wanting several plan levels to grow into
Not stated by the vendorSingle published monthly plan with automatic renewal and client-count bands; 30-day trial without a card
Euro plans capped at fifty customers, own app on top plan
Ranked #6 of 12 in Best Personal Trainer Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Every Harbiz plan includes Harbiz AI, groups, marketing tools, a community and a business dashboard, so the plans differ mainly in client count and support.
Basic suits five customers, Pro lifts that to fifty and adds premium support, and the top plan adds the coach's own app on iOS and Android at a higher monthly fee. Because annual payment is the baseline, a monthly payer should budget for the stated premium.
What stands out
Customer-count plans
Own-app tier
Euro pricing
Where it costs you
Neither Pro nor the top plan goes beyond fifty customers, so a bigger roster has no listed plan.
Prices exclude VAT and monthly billing carries a 25 percent premium over annual.
Right for
Small studios wanting a trainer-branded mobile app within a fixed budget
Wrong for
Coaches with hundreds of clients on one plan
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly euro plans by customer count, listed without VAT; yearly payment cheaper; 14-day trial
Eleven athlete-count tiers with assistant coaches billed separately
Ranked #7 of 12 in Best Personal Trainer Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
The ladder starts at a single athlete and passes through steps at 5, 15, 25, 35, 50, 100, 250, 500, 750 and 1,000 athletes, with a contact route beyond. Small steps mean a coach pays for roughly the roster they have.
Assistant coaches are billed individually, so a gym with several programmers sees a second cost line. The 14-day trial asks for no card, and no permanent plan is listed.
What stands out
Athlete tiers
Assistant coach fee
Denver company
Where it costs you
Each assistant coach adds a monthly charge on top of the athlete tier.
Above one thousand athletes there is no listed price.
Right for
Strength coaches with a changing roster who want fine-grained steps
Wrong for
Coaches who need a standing plan at no cost
United StatesPublished monthly tiers by athlete count up to a large roster; assistant coaches charged each; 14-day trial without a card
Habit-coaching app with wearable and nutrition integrations, month to month
Ranked #8 of 12 in Best Personal Trainer Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Coach Catalyst combines scheduling, communication and progress tracking, a workout builder, nutrition tracking, habit coaching and forms. Coach Pro adds unlimited coaches and communities, Habby AI and priority support.
The terms place hosting in the United States, and the privacy policy names an EU representative in Vienna. Subscriptions run month to month, but the plan cards are labelled for three clients, which leaves the larger-roster price unclear.
What stands out
Month to month
Wearable integrations
US-hosted
Where it costs you
Both listed plans say up to three clients, so the cost of a bigger roster is not visible on the page.
The currency is not stated and yearly prices showed as loading when the page was read.
Right for
Habit and nutrition coaches who want wearable data in one client app
Wrong for
Buyers who need a clear price for fifty clients
Not stated by the vendorTwo published monthly plans labelled for three clients, month to month; 14-day trial; demo route above 300 clients
Seat-tiered coaching platform with a one-client permanent tier
Ranked #9 of 12 in Best Personal Trainer Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Four tiers run from the permanent Basic seat through Grow and Pro to Studio Plus, which is billed per location for 500 or more clients and also appears as Custom. Pro covers five to more than 200 seats.
The founding story places the company in Vancouver, though the footer names TSR Gym Technik Ltd. Because the page shows two sets of numbers, request written confirmation of the rate before signing.
What stands out
Seat tiers
Per-location studio plan
Group-owned
Where it costs you
Table, FAQ and plan cards show different prices, and the page asks buyers to confirm current figures.
Basic includes only one client seat, so any real roster needs a paid tier.
Right for
Coaches who want a long trial and a standing tier before paying
Wrong for
Buyers wanting an independent maker with a stable price page
Not stated by the vendorFree Basic tier for one client, then published monthly seat tiers; 30-day trial with unlimited clients
Active-client plans with iOS and Android apps for coaches
Ranked #10 of 12 in Best Personal Trainer Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
TrueCoach tiers its monthly plans by active clients: Starter up to five, Standard up to twenty and Pro up to fifty. The page shows no fixed price beyond that, so a growing business must ask.
Each plan carries a promotional month offer, footnoted against annual billing. The 14-day trial needs no card. The terms say Xplor Technologies owns the platform, which matters to anyone who prefers a standalone maker.
What stands out
Active-client plans
Fifty-client ceiling
Xplor-owned
Where it costs you
Nothing is priced above fifty active clients, so a larger roster has no published plan.
Promotional months are compared against annual billing, which weakens the saving for monthly payers.
Right for
Independent one-to-one coaches who expect to stay under fifty active clients
Wrong for
Coaches expecting to scale past fifty clients on a posted price
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly plans by active clients up to fifty; 14-day trial; promotional months tied to annual billing
Athlete-count strength plans with unlimited coaches on every tier
Ranked #11 of 12 in Best Personal Trainer Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
The four strength plans cost more as the athlete count rises, from 50 to 1,000, and coaches are unlimited at every level, so staff size does not change the invoice. Annual billing is shown cheaper than monthly.
The Strength AMS add-on, the gym-management product and a bundled stack are priced separately, while a custom stack has no price and points to a demo. A European entity is listed in the footer.
What stands out
Athlete-count tiers
Unlimited coaches
Gym stack add-ons
Where it costs you
Entry starts at 50 athletes, far above a solo trainer's roster.
Gym management and the full stack are separate paid products.
Right for
Strength departments and teams with many athletes and several coaches
Wrong for
Solo personal trainers with fewer than twenty clients
United StatesPublished monthly or annual tiers by athlete count, coaches unlimited; extra products as add-ons; trial length not stated
Clinical practice platform priced by active clients, not trainer-built
Ranked #12 of 12 in Best Personal Trainer Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
In a personal trainer list Healthie is the outlier. The pricing page presents a cloud EHR with charting, scheduling, telehealth, a client portal and billing, then tiers four plans by active clients.
Annual payment is about ten percent cheaper, a 14-day trial covers the Plus plan, and the group plan adds a fee for each extra clinician. Buy it when records matter; otherwise a trainer-built platform costs less effort.
What stands out
Clinical records
Active-client plans
Per-clinician fee
Where it costs you
Plans are sized by active clients from ten upward, so a busy trainer reaches a higher tier early.
The pricing page frames the product as a clinical EHR, which is outside most training work.
Right for
Dietitians and wellness practices needing charting and telehealth next to coaching
Wrong for
Trainers whose job is workouts, check-ins and form feedback
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly plans by active client count, annual billing lower; 14-day trial on the top plan
Personal trainer software is a coaching platform where trainers assign workouts and nutrition to remote or in-person clients, record progress through a client app, and run messaging, scheduling and billing. These are the questions that actually differ between vendors, in the order we would ask them.
01
Check who publishes a price
No vendor on this page hides the price. All of them publish a pricing model: PT Distinction, My PT Hub, Kahunas, Everfit, Hevy Coach, Harbiz, TrainHeroic, Coach Catalyst, Trainerize, TrueCoach, TeamBuildr, Healthie.
02
Weigh the vendor's home jurisdiction
The 12 companies behind this list are established in 4 countries, by region Elsewhere 6, North America 3, Europe 2, Middle East 1. Disclosure obligations attach to the company, so they travel with the vendor even when the servers stay at home.
Personal trainer software pricing: clients, seats or athletes
The first question is what the invoice counts. Trainerize sells seats, TrueCoach counts active clients, Harbiz counts customers, and Everfit tiers by client number from five to 300. Kahunas fills a seat with every live client and every team member alike. TrainHeroic and TeamBuildr count athletes, and TeamBuildr gives every plan unlimited coaches while TrainHeroic bills each assistant coach.
A solo trainer with thirty clients and a two-person gym with the same thirty face very different totals. Price your real roster and your real staff on each page before comparing, and recheck after a year, because the same roster may sit on a higher tier. Trainerize also sells a Studio Plus plan per location, which matters for a coach working across more than one gym.
List clients, staff and inactive accounts and price each unit
Check whether archived clients still count
Add the cost of assistant coaches before comparing totals
Trials and standing plans: how long you can test before paying
Trial terms differ more than plan prices. PT Distinction gives one month on every plan and the terms let it be used once. My PT Hub and Trainerize give 30 days, Hevy Coach 30 days without a card, TrueCoach, Harbiz and Coach Catalyst 14 days. Kahunas offers 14 days but takes a card at signup.
Everfit and TeamBuildr say start a trial without stating its length. Standing plans change the picture: Everfit keeps five clients forever, My PT Hub keeps one on Lite, and Trainerize falls back to a one-client Basic tier. A coach who needs to prove demand before paying should favour a tool with a standing tier, not just a short trial.
Note trial length and whether a card is required
Ask what the account becomes when the trial ends
Run the trial with real clients, not test logins
Branded apps, AI credits and add-ons that lift the real bill
Plan cards rarely show the final price. My PT Hub lists a custom branded app as a separate item, while Harbiz places the coach's own iOS and Android app on its top plan. Everfit sells its automation, collection, payment and meal-plan modules one by one. Kahunas includes 250 AI credits a month and sells larger packs.
TrainHeroic charges for assistant coaches and TeamBuildr sells gym management as a separate product. Decide which of these you need in the first year, add them to the plan price and compare that figure. Ask whether the app carries your branding or the vendor's, because that decides how clients see you and whether a monthly app fee applies. Also check whether credits or storage are included per seat.
Write down the app, payments and nutrition features you need
Add each module to the plan to get a real total
Ask whether the branded app is included or separate
Matching the tool to the job: coach, squad or clinic
Not every tool in this list serves a one-to-one trainer. TeamBuildr is built for strength departments, with plans sized from 50 athletes, so a solo coach pays for capacity they cannot use. Healthie is a clinical records platform for health practices, relevant only if you also practise dietetics.
Hevy Coach keeps things narrow, with a routine builder and a library of 400+ exercises, while Coach Catalyst favours habit coaching and wearable integrations such as Oura and Apple Health. TrueCoach and Harbiz both stop at fifty clients on listed plans, which suits an owner-operator who plans to stay small. Compare the product with the work you do each day before the price, then confirm the roster ceiling.
Name your coaching style: programming, habits or clinical
Check the largest roster each plan lists
Confirm that integrations you use are on the plan you buy
What goes wrong most often when buying personal trainer software
Choosing by the entry price and then discovering that the plan holds only three clients or one seat.
Trusting a pricing page without checking that its table, FAQ and plan cards agree, as on Trainerize.
Forgetting that team members and assistant coaches can occupy seats or carry their own charge.
Buying a squad or clinic platform such as TeamBuildr or Healthie for a one-to-one coaching practice.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best personal trainer software in 2026?
Our ranking of 12 puts PT Distinction first. PT Distinction Ltd is a registered company in Wiltshire, England, and its price ladder is short: Basic covers three clients, Pro twenty-five and Master fifty, with a set rate for each extra client on the upper two.
The one-month trial on every plan makes testing cheap. The catch is that only a trial exists, not a standing plan.
Which personal trainer tools publish their pricing?
The ones that do, with the model each states:
PT Distinction: Published monthly plans in US dollars by client count, with per-client extras on the upper two; one-month trial on each.
My PT Hub: Free Lite tier, then published monthly euro plans; 30-day trial on paid tiers; branded app sold as an add-on.
Kahunas: Published per-seat monthly rate that drops by volume band, yearly cheaper; 14-day trial with a card taken at signup.
Everfit: Free tier for five clients, then published monthly plans by client count; extra modules billed as add-ons; trial on paid plans.
Hevy Coach: Single published monthly plan with automatic renewal and client-count bands; 30-day trial without a card.
Harbiz: Published monthly euro plans by customer count, listed without VAT; yearly payment cheaper; 14-day trial.
TrainHeroic: Published monthly tiers by athlete count up to a large roster; assistant coaches charged each; 14-day trial without a card.
Coach Catalyst: Two published monthly plans labelled for three clients, month to month; 14-day trial; demo route above 300 clients.
Trainerize: Free Basic tier for one client, then published monthly seat tiers; 30-day trial with unlimited clients.
TrueCoach: Published monthly plans by active clients up to fifty; 14-day trial; promotional months tied to annual billing.
TeamBuildr: Published monthly or annual tiers by athlete count, coaches unlimited; extra products as add-ons; trial length not stated.
Healthie: Published monthly plans by active client count, annual billing lower; 14-day trial on the top plan.
0 vendors do not print a price.
Is there a free personal trainer tool?
My PT Hub, Everfit, Trainerize come with a no-cost entry point, a free plan or a self-hosted edition.
Where are these personal trainer software vendors established?
Vendor countries on this page, Elsewhere 6, North America 3, Europe 2, Middle East 1:
PT Distinction: United Kingdom.
My PT Hub: United Kingdom.
Kahunas: United Arab Emirates.
Everfit: United States.
Hevy Coach: Not stated by the vendor.
Harbiz: Not stated by the vendor.
TrainHeroic: United States.
Coach Catalyst: Not stated by the vendor.
Trainerize: Not stated by the vendor.
TrueCoach: Not stated by the vendor.
TeamBuildr: United States.
Healthie: Not stated by the vendor.
What should you use instead of PT Distinction?
My PT Hub and Kahunas are the next two on this page.
My PT Hub is for New coaches who want to begin at no cost and scale to unlimited clients; Kahunas is for Coaches whose roster swings up and down and who want volume discounts.
Who should not buy PT Distinction?
Coaches who need a permanent entry plan while building a roster. The entry plan holds just three clients, so a growing roster forces an upgrade quickly..
If a personal trainer software product of yours deserves a place among these 12, say what it is and who it serves. Inclusion rests with us alone. See software advice for the rules.