Crypto payment gateways let a shop or platform take payment in coins or stablecoins and receive either those coins or a bank currency.
This ranking puts self-run and small independent options first, then weighs the full fee stack, who holds funds, onboarding limits and how a merchant leaves. Products that are wallets rather than gateways go last.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What crypto payment gateways software does
A crypto payment gateway creates invoices, watches the blockchain for incoming payments, and settles the proceeds to a merchant in crypto or fiat through plugins, hosted checkout or an API.
We ranked the 13 crypto payment gateways tools on setup effort first, then total cost, then data export, then exit, then fit for the buyer. Vendors outside the best-known names fill places 1 to 3 when they exist, and the big brands rank from place 4. Why those five, and why there is no score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Self-run payment processor with point-of-sale and invoicing apps
Ranked #1 of 13 in Best Crypto Payment Gateways in 2026.
Free tierSelf-hostablePublished pricingElsewhere
The software is MIT-licensed and the site advertises 0% fees. It ships a point-of-sale app, tipping button, payment links and crowdfunding, creates and exports invoices for bookkeeping, and includes a built-in wallet that supports hardware wallets.
Shopify, WooCommerce, OpenCart and Magento integrations exist, plus an API. Running it on a cloud server, own hardware or an existing host is the merchant's job, and so are its costs.
What stands out
MIT licence
Self-hosted
Point-of-sale app
Where it costs you
The site names no owning entity, and its about page returned an error, so accountability sits with whoever runs your server.
Hosting costs are not stated and depend on where the merchant puts the server.
Right for
Merchants with technical staff who want no intermediary taking a cut of payments
Wrong for
Teams without anyone able to maintain a server
Not stated by the vendorFree software under the MIT licence; the merchant pays only for wherever the server runs
Self-hosted processor for 50+ coins with a Python SDK
Ranked #2 of 13 in Best Crypto Payment Gateways in 2026.
Free tierSelf-hostablePublished pricingElsewhere
Bitcart accepts 50+ cryptocurrencies, naming Bitcoin, Ethereum, Tron and Monero plus ERC20, BEP20 and TRC20 tokens. The Lightning Network can be switched on with one command.
It uses the Electrum wallet, so private keys never need to reach the server. Components are modular, so only the parts you need are installed, and a Python SDK is offered. Being self-hosted, upgrades and backups are yours to schedule.
What stands out
MIT licence
50+ coins
Lightning option
Where it costs you
No owner or country is stated, which leaves nobody named to hold to account.
Hosting costs fall on the merchant and the site gives no estimate.
Right for
Developers wanting a modular, self-run processor that covers Monero and Tron
Wrong for
Shops expecting a vendor-run dashboard and support desk
Not stated by the vendorFree software with zero fees stated; the merchant bears hosting; no paid tiers described
Volume-tiered percentage fee, 100+ coins, shop plugins, no API key
Ranked #3 of 13 in Best Crypto Payment Gateways in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The fee schedule is tiered by the previous 30 days: 1.000% up to $249,999, 0.900% to $999,999, 0.800% to $2,499,999, then lower steps to 0.250% at $20 million.
Payments can be split across up to 20 addresses, and libraries exist for PHP, Python, Node.js and Django. Volume discounts change from 1 November 2026, so confirm the ladder before modelling costs. Support for 100+ coins includes USDT on several networks.
What stands out
30-day volume tiers
No API key
Payment splitting
Where it costs you
Any payment below a coin's minimum amount is ignored and cannot be recovered, so small purchases can silently vanish.
No legal entity or country appears on the pages read.
Right for
Small shops wanting a printed fee ladder and a plugin for their cart
Wrong for
Buyers who must see a legal entity and terms first
Not stated by the vendorPublished tiers by trailing 30-day volume; no setup or monthly fees; network fees added on top
Per-transaction crypto checkout with payout lines and four cart plugins
Ranked #4 of 13 in Best Crypto Payment Gateways in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Standard processing is 1% per transaction. Crypto payouts cost 0.50 EUR plus 0.5%, payouts with conversion 0.50 EUR plus 1.5%, and refunds 0.25 EUR plus 0.1%.
Deposits are free, and crypto and SEPA withdrawals are free above a 50 EUR minimum, while SWIFT withdrawals cost 0.50%. It accepts Bitcoin, USDC and 10+ other cryptocurrencies, and the API covers payments, payouts, billing and balances.
What stands out
Standard plan
Four shop plugins
Payouts in 180+ countries
Where it costs you
Euro payouts to third parties are not supported according to the FAQ.
Manual currency exchange costs 1% and every refund carries a fixed charge plus a percentage.
Right for
Shops on WooCommerce, Magento 2, PrestaShop or OpenCart wanting a readable fee table
Wrong for
Businesses that pay suppliers in euros through the gateway
LithuaniaPublished per-transaction fees on a Standard plan with no monthly fee; Enterprise quoted by volume
Lightning and on-chain settlement behind a short API integration
Ranked #5 of 13 in Best Crypto Payment Gateways in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
Lightning settlement is described as instant and on-chain settlement as near-instant final. Bitcoin withdrawals come in three forms: scheduled on-chain is free and weekly, on-demand Lightning is free and instant, on-demand on-chain costs 1%.
Scheduled bank transfers are processed daily and arrive the next business day, on-demand ones take 1 to 2 business days. The page lists EUR, GBP and USD, and claims a 10-line API example.
What stands out
Lightning settlement
Weekly withdrawals
EUR, GBP and USD
Where it costs you
Bank transfer fee amounts are not listed on the pricing page.
The 'Start for free' links carry no stated trial length or conditions.
Right for
Merchants who want instant Lightning settlement and a short API example
Wrong for
Merchants needing fully itemised fiat payout costs up front
United StatesWithdrawal fees published; conversion stated as always free; custom quotes for high-risk merchants
Merchant fees by processing mode, 40+ coins and bank withdrawals
Ranked #6 of 13 in Best Crypto Payment Gateways in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Checkout appears under the merchant's brand and rates lock for 60 minutes. Funds can forward automatically to the merchant's own wallet, stay as crypto, convert to stablecoins, or go to a bank by SWIFT, ACH, SEPA or Faster Payments.
Nightly mode bundles one network fee across a batch. Integration is by plug-ins, hosted checkout or API, and all outbound transfers require two-factor authentication. Personal-wallet deposits are free up to a monthly allowance, but conversions are excluded from it.
What stands out
Processing modes
Branded checkout
SWIFT, ACH and SEPA withdrawal
Where it costs you
ASAP mode adds one network fee per payment, so many small sales cost more than the headline rate.
Business verification is required before go-live and large transactions need an additional approval.
Right for
Merchants wanting a branded checkout and a choice of settlement routes
Wrong for
Shops that need to start accepting payments the same day
Not stated by the vendorPublished percentage fees by processing mode; no subscription plans on the fees page; adjustments for high-risk industries
One 1% starting fee, 350+ coins and volume discounts
Ranked #7 of 13 in Best Crypto Payment Gateways in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The pricing page prints one number, a 1% service fee, and sends everything else to a call or contact form. Volume discounts are counted in BTC without thresholds.
The homepage cites up to 1000 transactions processed at a time and 100+ supported wallets, and gives 300+ cryptocurrencies in one place and 350+ in another. That inconsistency is worth raising before you rely on a specific coin.
What stands out
1% starting fee
350+ coins
Batch of 1000 payments
Where it costs you
Discount thresholds are not stated, so a buyer cannot predict the rate at higher volume.
The homepage describes itself as a test environment and asks visitors not to send funds.
Right for
Merchants who want a single starting rate and a very wide coin list
Wrong for
Buyers who need a named legal entity before signing
Not stated by the vendorStarting fee published with volume discounts measured in BTC; enterprise terms on request
Stablecoin checkout and supplier payouts from a licensed Singapore institution
Ranked #8 of 13 in Best Crypto Payment Gateways in 2026.
Pricing on requestAsia-Pacific
One integration is described as reaching customers in 140+ countries, and payouts go to 70+ countries in 30+ local currencies. Suppliers can also be paid in stablecoins at any hour.
The Singapore licence is the strongest checkable fact on the page. Against that, no transaction limits, fees, plans or trial are stated, so a finance team has to request a quote and compare it against the printed ladders above.
What stands out
Stablecoin checkout
Licensed by MAS
30+ payout currencies
Where it costs you
The pricing page offers only a contact form and shows no fee schedule.
The registered address and owner are not stated.
Right for
Cross-border sellers who want stablecoin acceptance and local-currency payouts together
Wrong for
Shops that need prices before talking to anyone
SingaporeQuoted per organisation; the pricing page shows no fee schedule
Gateway, processing, plugins and API with a 0.4% headline fee
Ranked #9 of 13 in Best Crypto Payment Gateways in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The homepage lists four merchant items: a payment gateway, crypto processing, e-commerce plugins with WordPress and Telegram guides, and a unified API with documentation.
A separate spot-trading product advertises fees as low as 0.04%, which should not be confused with the 0.4% payment figure. Checkout and payouts are not described on the page read, and the footer links Privacy, Terms and AML pages. Ask for the fee schedule before integrating.
What stands out
0.4% headline fee
Unified API
WordPress and Telegram guides
Where it costs you
The 0.4% figure is 'as low as' with no stated basis.
The pricing and terms URLs returned errors, and no legal entity is shown.
Right for
Developers comparing API-first gateways who will confirm the fee in writing
Wrong for
Anyone who needs terms and an entity name visible
Not stated by the vendorAdvertised fee floor only; no plans stated on the homepage; pricing page unavailable
Acceptance fees by monthly volume plus a fixed per-payment amount
Ranked #10 of 13 in Best Crypto Payment Gateways in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Business features listed are online crypto payments, stablecoin payments, email billing and crypto payouts.
BitPay Checkout is described as letting merchants accept crypto without holding it, with bank settlement and no volatility exposure; that page names Bitcoin, Bitcoin Cash, Ether, XRP and unnamed dollar-backed stablecoins, but its text is dated 6 November 2020, so details may be outdated. Geographic restrictions apply to bill payments.
What stands out
Volume tiers
Email billing
Stablecoin payments
Where it costs you
The fixed 25 cents per payment hurts small baskets at every tier.
Fees for settlements, payouts, invoicing and email billing are not shown.
Right for
Established merchants with steady monthly volume who want settlement without holding crypto
Wrong for
Low-volume shops selling small baskets
Not stated by the vendorPublished tiers by monthly volume; higher fees for high-risk industries; settlement and payout fees not shown
Stablecoin receive, send, store and spend for high-volume businesses
Ranked #11 of 13 in Best Crypto Payment Gateways in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Receive accepts stablecoin payments and settles in fiat, Send handles global payouts, Store offers fiat and stablecoin accounts that can be embedded in a platform, Spend issues virtual cards on stablecoin balances, and Deploy supports self-managed stablecoin infrastructure.
The marketplaces page mentions stablecoin checkout. All of that is aimed at larger operators; a shop wanting a plugin and a fee table will not find either here.
What stands out
Stablecoin accounts
Fiat settlement
$500,000 monthly floor
Where it costs you
Eligibility is limited to firms with a high monthly payment floor and six months of operating history.
No fees, plans or trial are stated and the pricing URL returned an error.
Right for
Platforms and payment firms embedding stablecoin accounts and payouts
Wrong for
Small shops or start-ups without trading history
United KingdomQuoted per organisation through a contact route; no fees on the pages read
Merchant Commerce checkout beside a consumer card-buying business
Ranked #12 of 13 in Best Crypto Payment Gateways in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Most of the public site is consumer buying by Apple Pay, Google Pay or card, with PayPal, Venmo and bank transfers in some regions, so merchant checkout is one product among several.
The footer cites money transmitter licences in all 50 US states and operation in 180+ countries. Without a fee table or limits, a merchant cannot model costs, which is why it ranks below gateways that print their rates.
What stands out
Commerce checkout
Pay In for enterprises
Fiat or crypto settlement
Where it costs you
The business page claims lower fees and faster settlement with no amounts to check.
The only action offered is 'Get Started', with no stated limits or plans.
Right for
Businesses that already work with MoonPay and want checkout from the same supplier
Wrong for
Merchants who want to compare fees before contacting sales
Not stated by the vendorQuoted per organisation; the business page gives no fee amounts
Self-custodial Lightning wallet and developer tools, not a shop checkout
Ranked #13 of 13 in Best Crypto Payment Gateways in 2026.
Free tierSelf-hostablePublished pricingElsewhere
Alby Hub is a bitcoin payments wallet that can be self-hosted or deployed to the cloud, with Alby Cloud as the hosted paid version. Budgets can be set per connected app by day, week, month or year.
The free plan adds a standard Lightning and Nostr address with card and SEPA top-ups; Pro adds unlimited sub-wallets, a custom address and encrypted remote backups. None of this replaces a checkout flow for customers.
What stands out
Apache-2.0
Alby Hub
Sub-wallets
Where it costs you
The site shows no checkout, invoicing or settlement product for merchants.
The currency of the Pro price is not named and the yearly total is not shown.
Right for
Individuals or developers wanting a self-custodial Lightning wallet with app budgets
Wrong for
Shops needing hosted checkout, plugins or fiat settlement
Not stated by the vendorFree plan and a Pro plan with a published monthly price; yearly billing discounted
A crypto payment gateway creates invoices, watches the blockchain for incoming payments, and settles the proceeds to a merchant in crypto or fiat through plugins, hosted checkout or an API. Work through these questions in order; they separate the products better than a feature matrix does.
01
Decide whether you need a published price
4 vendors on this page sell by quote, while 9 publish a pricing model you can read today: BTCPay Server, Bitcart, CryptAPI, CoinGate, OpenNode, CoinPayments, NOWPayments, BitPay, Alby.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
These 13 vendors are established in 5 countries across 4 regions (Elsewhere 9, Europe 2, North America 1, Asia-Pacific 1). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
Why crypto payment gateways differ most in who holds the funds
A gateway sits between a customer's wallet and your accounts, and the first question is where the money rests between those two points. BTCPay Server and Bitcart run on your own server, so no third party touches funds, but you carry hosting and uptime. CoinPayments describes custody by separate entities in Poland, Panama and the US.
BitPay and BVNK settle to fiat, which removes price swings but adds a counterparty and a verification step. Write down the answer for each shortlisted vendor before comparing percentages, because a low fee attached to custody you cannot assess is not a saving. The vendors in this list answer that question very differently, so a table with one row per vendor is worth the ten minutes it takes.
Does the vendor hold funds before settlement, or do they go straight to your wallet?
Is settlement in crypto, stablecoins or a bank currency, and who sets the rate?
Who is the named legal entity that custody and payouts sit with?
Reading the fee on a crypto payment gateway
Percentages hide three separate charges: the gateway's cut, the blockchain network fee, and any conversion. CryptAPI states that network fees come on top of its tiers, NOWPayments excludes them from its 1% starting fee, and CoinPayments adds one network fee per payment in ASAP mode.
BitPay adds a fixed 25 cents to each percentage tier, which punishes small baskets, while CoinGate prints separate lines for payouts, refunds and withdrawals. Model one realistic month of orders against each ladder, including a refund and a withdrawal, and include whichever minimum payment a coin imposes. Ask each vendor to confirm the figures in writing, because pages change and the percentage is only one line of the bill.
Are network fees inside or on top of the percentage?
Is there a fixed amount per payment as well as a percentage?
What do refunds, withdrawals and currency exchange cost separately?
Checking limits, minimums and eligibility before you integrate
Gateways set floors and ceilings that only appear in the small print. CryptAPI ignores payments below each coin's minimum and says they cannot be recovered. BVNK sets a monthly floor of $500,000 in payments and asks for six months of history. CoinPayments requires business verification before go-live, and transactions of $350,000 or more need extra approval.
OpenNode notes higher fees for high-risk merchants, as do CoinPayments and BitPay, without figures. Ask each shortlisted vendor in writing whether your sector counts as high risk, what the smallest accepted payment is, and how long onboarding takes. Better to learn about a refusal or a delay before your shop is built around a gateway than after launch day has been announced.
What is the minimum accepted payment for the coins you offer?
Is there a monthly volume or trading-history requirement?
Does your industry attract a higher fee, and by how much?
Matching a crypto payment gateway to your shop and your exit
Plugins decide how much work integration takes. CoinGate and CryptAPI list WooCommerce, Magento and PrestaShop modules, BTCPay Server adds Shopify, and Cryptomus points to WordPress and Telegram guides. Exit matters as much: a self-run BTCPay Server or Bitcart keeps your invoices and keys with you, while a hosted vendor holds your history.
Alby is a wallet, not a gateway, and Triple-A, BVNK and MoonPay publish no fee schedule. Run one test purchase and one refund through the plugin you will actually use, then export the invoices before committing to volume. If the exported file cannot be read by your accountant, that is worth knowing now, while switching vendors is still cheap and no customers are waiting.
Does an official plugin exist for your cart, or only a raw API?
Can invoices be exported for your bookkeeping?
Who holds the records if you leave the vendor?
What goes wrong most often when buying crypto payment gateways software
Comparing headline percentages without adding the network fee and any fixed per-payment amount, such as BitPay's 25 cents.
Choosing a self-run option like BTCPay Server or Bitcart without budgeting hosting, backups and someone on call.
Counting a wallet such as Alby as a gateway when its site describes no merchant checkout.
Trusting a fee floor like Cryptomus's 0.4% when the pages give no basis, entity or terms behind it.
07
Frequently asked questions
7 answers
What is the best crypto payment gateways in 2026?
BTCPay Server leads our ranking of 13. BTCPay Server calls itself an open-source project, not a company, so there is no vendor to buy from and no named owner.
The headline claims 0% fees and the repository is MIT-licensed, while hosting and upkeep fall on the merchant. A shared server option exists for less technical users, but a shop that cannot run its own server will find the hosted entries easier.
Which crypto payment gateways tools publish their pricing?
Published pricing exists for 9 products on this page:
BTCPay Server: Free software under the MIT licence; the merchant pays only for wherever the server runs.
Bitcart: Free software with zero fees stated; the merchant bears hosting; no paid tiers described.
CryptAPI: Published tiers by trailing 30-day volume; no setup or monthly fees; network fees added on top.
CoinGate: Published per-transaction fees on a Standard plan with no monthly fee; Enterprise quoted by volume.
OpenNode: Withdrawal fees published; conversion stated as always free; custom quotes for high-risk merchants.
CoinPayments: Published percentage fees by processing mode; no subscription plans on the fees page; adjustments for high-risk industries.
NOWPayments: Starting fee published with volume discounts measured in BTC; enterprise terms on request.
BitPay: Published tiers by monthly volume; higher fees for high-risk industries; settlement and payout fees not shown.
Alby: Free plan and a Pro plan with a published monthly price; yearly billing discounted.
4 vendors do not print a price.
Is there a free crypto payment gateways tool?
BTCPay Server, Bitcart, Alby have a free plan or free self-hosted edition.
Where are these crypto payment gateways vendors established?
In 5 countries across 4 regions: Elsewhere 9, Europe 2, North America 1, Asia-Pacific 1.
BTCPay Server: Not stated by the vendor.
Bitcart: Not stated by the vendor.
CryptAPI: Not stated by the vendor.
CoinGate: Lithuania.
OpenNode: United States.
CoinPayments: Not stated by the vendor.
NOWPayments: Not stated by the vendor.
Triple-A: Singapore.
Cryptomus: Not stated by the vendor.
BitPay: Not stated by the vendor.
BVNK: United Kingdom.
MoonPay: Not stated by the vendor.
Alby: Not stated by the vendor.
Which crypto payment gateways tools can you host yourself?
BTCPay Server, Bitcart, Alby. 10 products offer no self-hosted option.
What should you use instead of BTCPay Server?
Look at Bitcart (made for Developers wanting a modular, self-run processor that covers Monero and Tron) and CryptAPI (made for small shops wanting a printed fee ladder and a plugin for their cart), which hold places two and three.
Who should not buy BTCPay Server?
Teams without anyone able to maintain a server. The site names no owning entity, and its about page returned an error, so accountability sits with whoever runs your server..
Your crypto payment gateways product is not among these 13? Tell us what it is for and who it serves, and we will consider it. The decision is editorial, and the ground rules are set out under software advice.