Best Receipt Scanner Apps in 2026

Receipt scanner apps turn a crumpled till slip into a stored, searchable record. Five kinds of product share the label: phone apps, mail-in services, bookkeeping add-ons, developer APIs and expense platforms.

We rank on cost and setup for plain capture, whether the data can leave, and whether one small vendor sells it alone.

Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.

In short

What receipt scanner apps software does

Receipt scanner software photographs or ingests receipts, reads merchant, date and total with OCR, and files the result for expense reports, bookkeeping or tax records.

01

The top three

13 tools reviewed
02

How we ranked these

5 criteria, in order

We ranked the 13 receipt scanner apps tools on setup effort first, then total cost, then data export, then exit, then fit for the buyer. Top three places belong to challengers outside the best-known brands whenever possible, and incumbents follow from four. Our how we work page explains the choice of these five and why we give no mark out of ten.

13tools reviewed
11publish a price
5have a free tier
3countries represented
03

Compared at a glance

13 tools
#ToolCountryPricingFree tier Right forNot for
#1SmartreceiptsNot stated by the vendorFree mobile plan; two paid tiers published, yearly or monthlyYesFreelancers and small teams who want to test receipt capture before paying anythingTeams outside the US and Canada wanting bank feeds
#2ShoeboxedNot stated by the vendorFour published tiers by scan volume; 30-day trial, card taken at sign-up—Owners with shoeboxes of paper receipts who want someone else to process themAnyone who only photographs a few receipts a month
#3Genius ScanNot stated by the vendorFree basic app; yearly Ultra plan and volume-priced team licences publishedYesPeople who need clean scans of receipts and documents without a subscriptionFinance teams needing reports, approvals or ledger links
#4NeatNot stated by the vendorSingle yearly plan published; two add-ons priced on top; trial button—Households and sole traders who prefer one predictable yearly feeBuyers who must compare scan limits before signing up
#5HubdocNot stated by the vendorSame monthly price on all three published cards; 30-day trial without a card—Bookkeepers feeding receipts and bills into Xero or QuickBooks OnlineTeams wanting reimbursements, approvals or corporate cards on top
#6Wave ReceiptsNot stated by the vendorFree starter plan; receipt capture is a paid add-on or part of ProYesSmall businesses already bookkeeping in Wave who add receipts graduallyAnyone wanting a standalone scanner without accounting software
#7TaggunNot stated by the vendorPublished tiers by monthly scan allowance with overage rates; 30-day trial—Software teams adding receipt reading to the product they are buildingNon-technical users who want an app on their phone
#8FyleNot stated by the vendorPublished per active user, billed annually, with seat minimums; demo only—Mid-sized finance teams where only some employees file expenses each monthIndividuals wanting to try receipt scanning on their own
#9ExpensifyNot stated by the vendorFree for individuals; company plans per member, 30-day company trialYesIndividuals starting solo who may later grow into approvals and reimbursementsBuyers wanting only a filing cabinet for receipts
#10RydooNot stated by the vendorPublished Essentials and Pro prices per user; Business and Enterprise custom—Finance teams wanting expenses, travel and payables under one vendorSolo users and tiny teams below five seats
#11SpendeskFranceQuoted: fixed monthly platform fee plus per-transaction fees; demo only—Companies issuing cards to staff and wanting spend rules around receiptsAnyone who simply wants receipts photographed and stored
#12ScanbotGermanyFlat annual licence with price quoted; trial through the docs site—App developers embedding document or barcode scanning into a productBuyers wanting a ready-made receipt app to install today
#13Receipt HogNot stated by the vendorFree to use; users earn coins redeemed as payouts or gift cardsYesShoppers who want small rewards for receipts they already keepBusinesses needing receipts filed for expenses or tax

Each country is the vendor's base. Hosting can sit somewhere else, which the entry mentions when it applies.

04

The 13 tools, reviewed

Ranked

1. Smartreceipts · 2. Shoeboxed · 3. Genius Scan · 4. Neat · 5. Hubdoc · 6. Wave Receipts · 7. Taggun · 8. Fyle · 9. Expensify · 10. Rydoo · 11. Spendesk · 12. Scanbot · 13. Receipt Hog

#1 Smartreceipts

Phone receipt scanning with a free tier and cheap yearly upgrades

Ranked #1 of 13 in Best Receipt Scanner Apps in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere

Pricing runs in three steps: a free mobile plan with manual entry and basic reports, a Pro plan adding the web app, and a Max plan adding bank connections plus statement or CSV imports.

Both paid tiers cost less per month when billed yearly, and the site warns that in-app purchase prices may differ from the web prices. Terms say the services are hosted in the United States, which matters if you care where receipt images are stored.

What stands out
  • mobile app
  • mileage tracking
  • CSV export
Where it costs you
  • The free plan is limited to the mobile app with manual receipt entry.
  • Bank connections are listed for the US and Canada only.
Right for

Freelancers and small teams who want to test receipt capture before paying anything

Wrong for

Teams outside the US and Canada wanting bank feeds

Not stated by the vendorFree mobile plan; two paid tiers published, yearly or monthly

#2 Shoeboxed

Receipts by app, email or prepaid envelope, with staff-checked data

Ranked #2 of 13 in Best Receipt Scanner Apps in 2026.

Published pricingElsewhere

Receipts arrive by prepaid mail envelope, mobile app, email forwarding, Gmail plugin or upload, and staff check the OCR output.

Starter gives 50 digital scans a month and 20 paper scans a year for three users; Pro, Plus and Paper Plus raise both allowances and the user count, to ten users at the top. QuickBooks Online and Xero links sit on higher tiers. Paper is stored at a processing centre in Durham, NC.

What stands out
  • paper receipts
  • mail-in envelopes
  • staff-verified OCR
Where it costs you
  • The entry tier allows 20 paper scans a year, so paper-heavy users must move up.
  • The 30-day trial charges the card at sign-up.
Right for

Owners with shoeboxes of paper receipts who want someone else to process them

Wrong for

Anyone who only photographs a few receipts a month

Not stated by the vendorFour published tiers by scan volume; 30-day trial, card taken at sign-up

#3 Genius Scan

Mobile document scanner from a three-app studio, basic version unlimited

Ranked #3 of 13 in Best Receipt Scanner Apps in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere

Its basic tier carries the vendor's label of unlimited and fully functional, with no figures. The Ultra plan is billed annually and adds unlimited cloud backups with no stated storage cap.

A For Teams plan is priced per licence per year and falls as volume rises, with no minimum licence count shown. The Grizzly Labs sells Genius Sign, Genius Scan and Genius Fax. For receipts, think of it as a scanner that stores files, with sorting left to you.

What stands out
  • document scanning
  • cloud backup
  • team licences
Where it costs you
  • Expense reports, mileage and accounting integrations go unmentioned on the pricing and home pages.
  • No numeric limits are stated for the basic plan, so its ceiling is unclear.
Right for

People who need clean scans of receipts and documents without a subscription

Wrong for

Finance teams needing reports, approvals or ledger links

Not stated by the vendorFree basic app; yearly Ultra plan and volume-priced team licences published

#4 Neat

One yearly subscription for receipt and document filing with add-ons

Ranked #4 of 13 in Best Receipt Scanner Apps in 2026.

Published pricingElsewhere

The base Neat plan is billed yearly. VIP Service adds a further yearly amount, and Automated Insights adds a larger one; both require the base subscription, so the three combine into the full bill.

A trial can be started from the pricing page. No storage allowance or receipt cap is published, which makes it hard to judge heavy use. The about and privacy pages returned 404 errors when checked, leaving ownership unverified.

What stands out
  • yearly subscription
  • document filing
  • add-on services
Where it costs you
  • The pricing page states no storage or receipt limits.
  • Both add-ons require the base subscription on top.
Right for

Households and sole traders who prefer one predictable yearly fee

Wrong for

Buyers who must compare scan limits before signing up

Not stated by the vendorSingle yearly plan published; two add-ons priced on top; trial button

#5 Hubdoc

Document capture that pushes transactions into Xero and QuickBooks Online

Ranked #5 of 13 in Best Receipt Scanner Apps in 2026.

Published pricingElsewhere

All three plan cards on the pricing page show one monthly price billed after the trial, with unlimited usage as the stated limit. The trial lasts 30 days and asks for no credit card.

Xero also appears on the homepage under Works with. The page names no parent company or acquisition, so independence cannot be confirmed from the vendor's own site.

What stands out
  • bookkeeping intake
  • Xero link
  • unlimited usage
Where it costs you
  • The three plan cards carry no titles, so their differences are not visible.
  • The footer states no country, owner or address.
Right for

Bookkeepers feeding receipts and bills into Xero or QuickBooks Online

Wrong for

Teams wanting reimbursements, approvals or corporate cards on top

Not stated by the vendorSame monthly price on all three published cards; 30-day trial without a card

#6 Wave Receipts

Accounting suite where receipt capture arrives as a paid add-on

Ranked #6 of 13 in Best Receipt Scanner Apps in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere

Starter is the zero-cost plan, with card payments charged per transaction, and it excludes receipt capture. Pro's description includes digitally capturing unlimited receipts and tracking expenses, priced monthly or yearly in USD or CAD.

A capture add-on is listed for Starter users and, confusingly, for Pro too. The copyright names Wave Financial Inc., while headquarters, country and parent company go unstated, so ownership cannot be placed from the pages read.

What stands out
  • bookkeeping suite
  • receipt add-on
  • card payments
Where it costs you
  • Receipt capture is not part of the Starter plan.
  • The pricing page lists a receipt add-on for Pro, which blurs the real total.
Right for

Small businesses already bookkeeping in Wave who add receipts gradually

Wrong for

Anyone wanting a standalone scanner without accounting software

Not stated by the vendorFree starter plan; receipt capture is a paid add-on or part of Pro

#7 Taggun

Receipt OCR API sold per scan for developers

Ranked #7 of 13 in Best Receipt Scanner Apps in 2026.

Published pricingElsewhere

Developer, Startup, Business and Advanced tiers include 500, 1,800, 8,000 and 20,000 scans a month respectively, each with an overage rate that falls on higher tiers; Enterprise is custom.

The trial covers the first 30 days or 1,000 scans, whichever ends first. The homepage describes a receipt OCR API and says the company specialises exclusively in receipt and invoice scanning. The footer shows only the 2026 brand name, with no country.

What stands out
  • OCR API
  • per-scan pricing
  • developer tool
Where it costs you
  • It needs developers, since it is an API rather than a finished app.
  • Scans beyond the monthly allowance are billed at an overage rate.
Right for

Software teams adding receipt reading to the product they are building

Wrong for

Non-technical users who want an app on their phone

Not stated by the vendorPublished tiers by monthly scan allowance with overage rates; 30-day trial

#8 Fyle

Expense tool billed only for people who actually log expenses

Ranked #8 of 13 in Best Receipt Scanner Apps in 2026.

Published pricingElsewhere

Growth and Business are priced per active user per month, billed annually, with minimums of five and ten users. An active user creates at least one expense or has a card with a transaction that month, and only those users are charged.

Enterprise is custom and aimed at 250-plus employees. Calls to action are Get a Demo and Contact us. The about page returned an HTTP 404, so headquarters and country stayed unverified.

What stands out
  • active-user billing
  • expense reports
  • card transactions
Where it costs you
  • Growth and Business carry minimums of five and ten billed users.
  • The only routes in are a demo request or contact form.
Right for

Mid-sized finance teams where only some employees file expenses each month

Wrong for

Individuals wanting to try receipt scanning on their own

Not stated by the vendorPublished per active user, billed annually, with seat minimums; demo only

#9 Expensify

Receipt scanning inside expense reports, free for single users

Ranked #9 of 13 in Best Receipt Scanner Apps in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere

Receipt scanning sits next to expense reports, approvals, reimbursements and corporate cards. Individuals pay nothing; company plans carry a starting price per member, with a 30-day trial.

Integrations named are QuickBooks, Xero and NetSuite plus more than 45 other apps. The pricing URL we fetched showed only card accounting-export settings, so the tier list rests on the homepage. The footer names Expensify, Inc. since 2008 and gives no address.

What stands out
  • expense reports
  • reimbursements
  • accounting links
Where it costs you
  • Company plans bring approvals and cards that a plain scanning buyer may not need.
  • The pages read state no headquarters or country.
Right for

Individuals starting solo who may later grow into approvals and reimbursements

Wrong for

Buyers wanting only a filing cabinet for receipts

Not stated by the vendorFree for individuals; company plans per member, 30-day company trial

#10 Rydoo

Per-user expense management with invoice capture for payables

Ranked #10 of 13 in Best Receipt Scanner Apps in 2026.

Published pricingElsewhere

Essentials and Pro are priced per user per month in euros, dollars or pounds, cheaper on annual billing, starting at five users. Business begins at 30 active users and Enterprise at 50, both custom, under a Fair Billing policy tied to active users.

Rydoo reports availability in more than 130 countries. The pricing page names no trial, and the country of establishment is not stated on the pages read.

What stands out
  • per-user billing
  • travel expenses
  • accounts payable
Where it costs you
  • Receipt scanning is not named as a module on the homepage.
  • Both published tiers start at five users, and the larger tiers are custom.
Right for

Finance teams wanting expenses, travel and payables under one vendor

Wrong for

Solo users and tiny teams below five seats

Not stated by the vendorPublished Essentials and Pro prices per user; Business and Enterprise custom

#11 Spendesk

Company cards and spend controls with one monthly platform fee

Ranked #11 of 13 in Best Receipt Scanner Apps in 2026.

Pricing on requestEurope

One base plan, Foundations, combines a fixed monthly platform fee with per-transaction fees. It includes unlimited cards, users and control settings, cashback from 1% for eligible clients, free card orders and no active user fees.

The homepage calls the company built, regulated and profitable in Europe, and names Spendesk Financial Services as a French payment institution licensed by the ACPR. The pricing page offers a quote and a demo, nothing self-serve.

What stands out
  • company cards
  • spend controls
  • cashback
Where it costs you
  • No price is published; only a quote request or demo booking is offered.
  • The fee has a per-transaction part, so the bill moves with card volume.
Right for

Companies issuing cards to staff and wanting spend rules around receipts

Wrong for

Anyone who simply wants receipts photographed and stored

FranceQuoted: fixed monthly platform fee plus per-transaction fees; demo only

#12 Scanbot

Mobile scanning SDK for developers, not a finished receipt app

Ranked #12 of 13 in Best Receipt Scanner Apps in 2026.

Pricing on requestEurope

The products are Barcode Scanner SDK, Document Scanner SDK and Data Capture Modules for mobile apps. The pricing page describes one flat annual fee covering everything, with no limits on users or scans, though no amounts appear.

A trial starts from Try now buttons that lead to the docs site. The homepage names Scanbot SDK GmbH, located in Germany and the US, and announces the Apryse acquisition.

What stands out
  • mobile SDK
  • barcode scanning
  • document capture
Where it costs you
  • No price is shown on the page read, so cost needs a quote.
  • The company states it was acquired by Apryse.
Right for

App developers embedding document or barcode scanning into a product

Wrong for

Buyers wanting a ready-made receipt app to install today

GermanyFlat annual licence with price quoted; trial through the docs site

#13 Receipt Hog

Rewards app that pays coins for uploaded shopping receipts

Ranked #13 of 13 in Best Receipt Scanner Apps in 2026.

Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere

The homepage describes a rewards app: users upload paper or digital receipts, collect coins and redeem them for PayPal payouts or Amazon gift cards. It says the service has existed since 2011 and shows no plan or pricing section, only that using the app costs nothing.

The footer names Numerator, LLC as copyright holder from 2016 to 2026. An App Status link exists, but the cached page cannot show whether the service is live.

What stands out
  • receipt rewards
  • consumer app
  • gift cards
Where it costs you
  • It offers rewards, not expense reports or record keeping for a business.
  • Live service status could not be confirmed from the cached page.
Right for

Shoppers who want small rewards for receipts they already keep

Wrong for

Businesses needing receipts filed for expenses or tax

Not stated by the vendorFree to use; users earn coins redeemed as payouts or gift cards
06

How to choose receipt scanner apps software

Receipt scanner software photographs or ingests receipts, reads merchant, date and total with OCR, and files the result for expense reports, bookkeeping or tax records. Feature lists look alike, so we would settle these points one at a time instead.

  1. 01

    Check who publishes a price

    2 vendors on this page sell by quote, while 11 publish a pricing model you can read today: Smartreceipts, Shoeboxed, Genius Scan, Neat, Hubdoc, Wave Receipts, Taggun, Fyle, Expensify, Rydoo, Receipt Hog.

  2. 02

    Decide how much the jurisdiction matters

    2 regions are represented (Elsewhere 11, Europe 2). A vendor outside your own legal area is not a problem as such, but it changes who can compel it to hand over data.

Receipt scanner apps: choose the product type before the vendor

The label covers five different things. Smartreceipts and Genius Scan are phone apps for personal capture. Shoeboxed adds mail-in paper processing. Hubdoc and Wave Receipts feed bookkeeping. Taggun and Scanbot are developer tools that read documents inside someone else's product. Expensify, Rydoo and Spendesk are expense platforms in which scanning is one step.

Comparing prices across these types is meaningless, because a per-scan API fee and a per-seat platform fee answer different questions. Decide first whether you need a filing tool for yourself, a bookkeeping feed, a component for your own app, or a company process with approvals. Only then compare vendors inside that type, and ignore any list that ranks them on one scale.

  • Write down who captures receipts: you, staff or your own software.
  • Decide whether paper receipts will arrive in bulk or one at a time.
  • Check that the product is an app, an API or a platform before pricing it.

Real price at Shoeboxed, Wave Receipts and Neat

Headline prices in this market rarely match the bill. Shoeboxed prices by scan allowance: Starter allows 50 digital and 20 paper scans, and heavier use pushes you to Pro, Plus or Paper Plus. Wave Receipts has a zero-cost Starter plan that excludes receipt capture, so the capture add-on or Pro is the real entry price.

Neat publishes one yearly plan but sells VIP Service and Automated Insights on top, and shows no receipt limits. Taggun charges overage per scan beyond the monthly allowance. Count your receipts per month, multiply by the overage or add-on rate, and add every extra the vendor lists before comparing. A cheap base that lacks capture is not cheap.

  • Count monthly receipts, digital and paper, and compare with each tier allowance.
  • Add every add-on needed for capture and insights to the base price.
  • Ask what happens past the limit: overage charges or a forced upgrade.

Exporting data from receipt scanner apps

Exit matters because receipts must be kept for years while subscriptions come and go. Smartreceipts describes PDF and CSV exports and cloud backup, and its Max tier adds statement or CSV imports. Genius Scan sells unlimited cloud backups on its Ultra plan, and its basic plan is described as unlimited.

Hubdoc is built to create transactions in Xero and QuickBooks Online, so the ledger holds the record even if you leave. Shoeboxed lists QuickBooks Online and Xero links only on higher tiers. For any vendor, run a test export of a month of receipts before committing, and check whether images, extracted fields or both leave. A scanner that traps images behind a login turns a cancellation into a retrieval project.

  • Export one month of receipts in a usable format during the trial.
  • Confirm that both the image and the extracted fields leave together.
  • Check which tier carries the accounting link you rely on.

Business receipt tools: Fyle, Rydoo and Spendesk

Once receipts need approval, the buying question changes from capture to billing logic. Fyle charges only active users, defined as someone who creates an expense or has a card transaction in the month, with minimums of five and ten billed users on its two published tiers. Rydoo bills per user per month from five seats, and its Business tier starts at 30 active users.

Spendesk quotes a fixed monthly fee plus per-transaction fees. Each model rewards a different company shape: few claimants, many claimants, or heavy card volume. Model your own headcount and card activity against each rule before a demo, because demo pricing is built for the vendor's best case, and none of the three offers a self-serve trial on the pages read.

  • Count how many staff will claim in a typical month.
  • Compare seat minimums against your real claimant numbers.
  • Estimate card transactions if fees are charged per transaction.

What goes wrong most often when buying receipt scanner apps software

  • Treating a developer SDK such as Scanbot or an API such as Taggun as a ready-made receipt app, then discovering that someone must build the capture screen.
  • Choosing on the entry price of Wave Receipts or Shoeboxed without checking that receipt capture and paper scans are included at that tier.
  • Skipping a test export, so a year of receipt images sits in one vendor's app with no proven way out when the subscription ends.
  • Buying an expense platform such as Expensify, Rydoo or Spendesk when the real need was only a searchable folder of receipts for one person.
07

Frequently asked questions

6 answers
What is the best receipt scanner apps in 2026?

First of 13 on this page is Smartreceipts. Smartreceipts takes first place because a freelancer or small team can start on its ongoing free plan, with no card at sign-up, and pay only when web access or bank imports matter.

AI recognition, email forwarding, mileage and PDF or CSV exports are described. The weak points: the free plan is mobile only with manual entry, bank connections cover the US and Canada, and the vendor states no country.

Which receipt scanner apps tools publish their pricing?

Published pricing exists for 11 products on this page:

  • Smartreceipts: Free mobile plan; two paid tiers published, yearly or monthly.
  • Shoeboxed: Four published tiers by scan volume; 30-day trial, card taken at sign-up.
  • Genius Scan: Free basic app; yearly Ultra plan and volume-priced team licences published.
  • Neat: Single yearly plan published; two add-ons priced on top; trial button.
  • Hubdoc: Same monthly price on all three published cards; 30-day trial without a card.
  • Wave Receipts: Free starter plan; receipt capture is a paid add-on or part of Pro.
  • Taggun: Published tiers by monthly scan allowance with overage rates; 30-day trial.
  • Fyle: Published per active user, billed annually, with seat minimums; demo only.
  • Expensify: Free for individuals; company plans per member, 30-day company trial.
  • Rydoo: Published Essentials and Pro prices per user; Business and Enterprise custom.
  • Receipt Hog: Free to use; users earn coins redeemed as payouts or gift cards.

The remaining 2 sell by quote.

Is there a free receipt scanner apps tool?

Smartreceipts, Genius Scan, Wave Receipts, Expensify, Receipt Hog come with a no-cost entry point, a free plan or a self-hosted edition.

Where are these receipt scanner apps vendors established?

In 3 countries across 2 regions: Elsewhere 11, Europe 2.

  • Smartreceipts: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Shoeboxed: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Genius Scan: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Neat: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Hubdoc: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Wave Receipts: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Taggun: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Fyle: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Expensify: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Rydoo: Not stated by the vendor.
  • Spendesk: France.
  • Scanbot: Germany.
  • Receipt Hog: Not stated by the vendor.
What should you use instead of Smartreceipts?

The next in line are Shoeboxed, aimed at Owners with shoeboxes of paper receipts who want someone else to process them, and Genius Scan, aimed at People who need clean scans of receipts and documents without a subscription.

Who should not buy Smartreceipts?

Teams outside the US and Canada wanting bank feeds. The free plan is limited to the mobile app with manual receipt entry..

—

Tools reviewed

13 products
—

Replacing a product on this page

All alternatives
—

More Operations software advice

16 guides

For software vendors

Not on this list?

Missing from this receipt scanner apps ranking? Contact us with a short description of the product and its users. Adding it is an editorial choice, and software advice explains what a listing does and does not involve.

Suggest a product →