This guide covers apps that help students with homework: solvers that read a photographed problem, tutors that explain it, and study tools that turn notes into practice.
We rank thirteen products by how little setup a family needs, what the real price becomes, whether the student can leave, whether the vendor is independent and who the tool suits.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What AI homework helpers software does
AI homework helpers take a student's problem, notes or uploaded material and return worked solutions, explanations or practice questions, usually through a photo scan, a chat window or a whiteboard.
The ranking follows five checks. Setup effort comes first, then real cost, then the route for getting data out, then lock-in, then the intended buyer. One rule sits on top of those tests: places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. Our how we work page explains the choice of these five and why we give no mark out of ten.
Whiteboard tutor that teaches from your own homework and notes
Ranked #1 of 13 in Best AI Homework Helpers in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The tutor starts from material the student supplies, so a chemistry reaction or a graph from the actual worksheet is the thing being explained. Explanations run step by step on a whiteboard and can be interrupted at any moment to ask why.
Practice questions are generated from the same uploads, with help on anything missed. The first lesson is free, but the page describes no plan, trial length or limit beyond it.
What stands out
Whiteboard tutor
Teaches from uploads
Interruptible explanations
Where it costs you
Without prices, a household cannot compare Studdy with a rival once the first lesson ends.
Country and owner are unstated, and the legal pages were not shown.
Right for
Students who want a worked explanation of their own assignment, not only a final answer
Wrong for
Buyers who must see a price before signing up
Not stated by the vendorFirst lesson costs nothing; nothing further is stated on amounts, billing or usage caps
Photo-based homework answers across many school subjects, plus PDF chat
Ranked #2 of 13 in Best AI Homework Helpers in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The core loop is a photograph of a problem and a written solution, with a round-the-clock AI copilot behind it. Uploaded PDFs can be questioned in chat, and a summarizer condenses textbooks.
Listed subjects run from maths and biology to history, social science, English and business, which is wider than a maths-only solver. The vendor counts more than 10 million users, a marketing figure the page does not support further.
What stands out
Photo problem solving
PDF chat
Textbook summarizer
Where it costs you
Plus is only a link, which leaves the difference from the all-free features unexplained.
No owner is named beyond the operating company in the footer.
Right for
Students who want quick answers from a photo across several subjects
Wrong for
Learners who need a tutor to withhold the answer
United StatesDescribed as costing nothing to use; an optional Plus upgrade is linked, with no prices shown
Flashcards, notes and practice tests generated from your course material
Ranked #3 of 13 in Best AI Homework Helpers in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Uploaded lectures, PDFs and notes become flashcards, notes and practice tests. Cards come in learn, spaced repetition, matching and practice-test modes, and an Exam Predictor builds a study plan.
A voice tutor named Kai and podcasts made from notes cover listening, while AP, ACT and SAT preparation is also listed. The page says some features are not behind a paywall, but it does not say which ones.
What stands out
Flashcards from notes
Exam Predictor
Quizlet alternative
Where it costs you
Each upload batch to the PDF summariser tops out at 30 files.
Plan prices are hidden behind links and no country is given.
Right for
Students revising for exams who want cards and tests made from their own notes
Wrong for
Anyone who needs a worked solution to one problem
Not stated by the vendorFlashcards usable without payment; student, teacher and school plans are listed but unpriced on the page
Lecture recordings and slide decks become revision material with a tutor
Ranked #4 of 13 in Best AI Homework Helpers in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Course files go in and a set of study tools comes out, with an AI tutor named Sparky included. Study Plan turns materials and deadlines into a personalised schedule, Tutor Me offers help at any hour, and Arcade reviews content in a game style.
Live Lecture writes notes and answers questions during a recording. Getting started is said to be free, with a premium step later whose terms are not given.
What stands out
Lecture to study tools
Sparky AI tutor
Live Lecture notes
Where it costs you
Premium pricing and the limits on the free start are not listed.
It is built around course material, so a lone homework question gets less attention.
Right for
Students who attend lectures and want notes, a plan and a tutor from them
Wrong for
Buyers needing published prices before they commit
United StatesGetting started costs nothing per the FAQ; premium exists but plan prices and limits are not listed
Camera scanning of maths problems with step-by-step visual explanations
Ranked #5 of 13 in Best AI Homework Helpers in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The app scans a printed or written problem, word problems included, or takes typing into a smart calculator. Each solution comes with custom visual aids and tips on how and why a step is taken.
Coverage runs from arithmetic through algebra, geometry, trigonometry and statistics to calculus. All three listed plans carry identical features and no usage limits appear, so the choice is only between paying monthly, paying yearly or staying on basic.
What stands out
Camera maths scanner
Visual step explanations
Published plans
Where it costs you
Trial length and terms are not stated beside the Start trial buttons.
No country or owner appears on the page.
Right for
Students who want to photograph a maths problem and see why each step works
Wrong for
Learners with homework in subjects beyond maths
Not stated by the vendorPublished plans: a basic tier, an annual plan and a monthly plan, with trials offered on the two paid ones
Homework help, notes, flashcards and writing checks in one study app
Ranked #6 of 13 in Best AI Homework Helpers in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Homework help sits next to notes, flashcards and quizzes, so one login covers solving and revising. The model selector separates fast answers from a Pro setting aimed at deeper reasoning, and that is where paid plans are likely to bite, though the page does not say.
Writing tools include AI detection, plagiarism checking, paraphrasing and humanizing. The vendor offers free access to many tools, with no trial period or free limits stated.
What stands out
All-in-one study app
Two AI model tiers
Writing tools
Where it costs you
Plus and Ultra plans are mentioned with no prices or limits.
The company is named but no country or owner is given.
Right for
Students who want homework help and note tools inside one account
Wrong for
Buyers who dislike bundled writing-check features
Not stated by the vendorMany tools open without payment; subscription plans are mentioned but no prices appear
Socratic AI tutor from a nonprofit that guides rather than answers
Ranked #7 of 13 in Best AI Homework Helpers in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Learners are led with questions, not solutions, and the tool connects to the Khan Academy content library, which the page says will always remain 100% free.
Teachers get lesson plans, quiz questions, rubrics, exit tickets and a summary of student work, though they cannot grant student access. A separate AI writing coach exists. One parent subscription covers up to 10 children under 18, billed monthly or annually.
What stands out
Socratic prompting
Teacher planning tools
Nonprofit-backed
Where it costs you
Only U.S. residents with a U.S. billing address, adults at that, can buy.
Amounts appear only on the checkout page, and no trial is mentioned for Khanmigo itself.
Right for
American parents who want a tutor that will not simply give answers
Wrong for
Buyers outside the United States
Not stated by the vendorMonthly or annual payment for parents and learners, with amounts shown only at checkout; teacher tools sign up at no charge
Maths solver with a symbol keyboard, topic menu and practice section
Ranked #8 of 13 in Best AI Homework Helpers in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
A box with a maths symbol keyboard takes the problem, and a Choose Topic menu helps find the right category. Reference and Practice sections sit alongside, with example problems on the home page.
The interface is offered in English, Spanish, Japanese and two Chinese variants, a wider spread than most listed rivals. The page links a Premium option at /join but shows no amounts, billing terms or usage limits.
What stands out
Symbol keyboard input
Practice section
Multilingual interface
Where it costs you
A buyer cannot tell from the page what trying Cymath costs.
No prices, country or owner are shown.
Right for
Students who prefer typing a problem and want an interface in their own language
Wrong for
Anyone who wants to photograph a page of problems
Not stated by the vendorA Premium link exists, yet amounts, billing terms and plan contents stay unpublished
AI quizzes and flashcards made from notes, PDFs, slides and videos
Ranked #9 of 13 in Best AI Homework Helpers in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The product converts source material, including notes, PDFs, PowerPoint decks and YouTube videos, into flashcards and quizzes. Separate summarisers handle YouTube, PDF and PowerPoint input, and a Quizlet tool is listed for people arriving from that service.
Gizmo Live adds a live learning feature, and a mobile app is linked. The site gives no price, limit or trial detail behind its Start learning button.
What stands out
Flashcard maker
Quizzes from YouTube
Gizmo Live
Where it costs you
The Start learning button hides any plan or trial terms.
The vendor gives no country or owner, and its policy pages were not shown.
Right for
Students turning lecture videos and slides into quizzes before a test
Wrong for
Buyers who need step-by-step help with a specific problem
Not stated by the vendorA Start learning button only; no prices, plan terms or limits are shown
Step-by-step maths solver that accepts typed notation, plain language or photos
Ranked #10 of 13 in Best AI Homework Helpers in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Problems can be entered as notation, plain sentences or photos, then unpacked step by step. Around the solver sit practice problems with hints, quizzes that give feedback, Notebooks, cheat sheets, group study and a way to verify a solution.
Algebra, calculus and trigonometry are named as covered. An Upgrade link and a coupon note are visible, but the page never states what the upgrade costs or removes.
What stands out
Step-by-step maths
Photo and notation input
Practice with hints
Where it costs you
Trial and free-plan terms are missing from the page.
Prices are absent even though an Upgrade link is shown.
Right for
Students who want hints and quizzes around each solved calculus problem
Wrong for
Buyers wanting prices up front
Not stated by the vendorAn Upgrade link and a coupon note only; no prices, trial or plan details are stated
Maths solver for eleven subjects with steps for typed or photographed problems
Ranked #11 of 13 in Best AI Homework Helpers in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Typed or photographed problems return step-by-step solutions in eleven subjects, from basic maths to physics. A library of more than 59 calculators adds an equation solver, a derivative calculator and a factoring calculator.
The FAQ says steps need no sign-up, yet the full work shown for every step is what the subscription adds. The footer reads Chegg Inc., 2003 to 2026, so ownership is stated.
What stands out
Eleven maths subjects
Photo input
59+ calculators
Where it costs you
The full work for every step sits behind an optional subscription with no price shown.
The site is backed by Chegg and carries its copyright, so it is not an independent vendor.
Right for
Students who want a quick solved answer across maths and physics topics
Wrong for
Learners who need full worked steps without paying
Not stated by the vendorUse costs nothing without sign-up; an optional subscription unlocks full work per step, with no prices shown
Computational answer engine with step-by-step solutions held back for Pro
Ranked #12 of 13 in Best AI Homework Helpers in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Answers come from computation against a knowledgebase rather than a chat model, and the two input modes are natural language and maths input. The page lists step-by-step solutions as Pro only, so the explanation that suits homework sits behind a subscription whose cost is not displayed.
Mobile apps, enterprise offerings, an API and developer programme and LLM tool integrations are also named, which shows the product serves more than students.
What stands out
Computational engine
Natural language input
API for developers
Where it costs you
Step-by-step solutions are a Pro feature, with no price shown.
No address or jurisdiction is given beyond the Wolfram name.
Right for
Students and developers who want computed answers, not a tutoring chat
Wrong for
Learners who need explained steps without a Pro account
Not stated by the vendorA Pro page is linked for step-by-step solutions; no prices or trial details appear on the page
Document library and tutor Q&A sold as a Premium account
Ranked #13 of 13 in Best AI Homework Helpers in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The offer is a library plus services: unlocked course documents, past exams and lecture notes, an expert tutor to ask, Ask AI and unlimited textbook solutions. Premium also lists Quillbot writing tools and the Symbolab maths solver, both from the same group.
The homepage claims 184M documents, 77M questions answered and 130K institutions, which are the vendor's own counts. A single Get Premium account button is the only way in.
What stands out
Document library
Expert tutor Q&A
Textbook solutions
Where it costs you
No prices or billing terms are shown before the Get Premium account button.
No trial is mentioned and the country is not stated.
Right for
Students who want a large library of past exams and shared documents
Wrong for
Buyers who compare prices before signing up
Not stated by the vendorA Premium account button only; no prices, currency or trial are shown
AI homework helpers take a student's problem, notes or uploaded material and return worked solutions, explanations or practice questions, usually through a photo scan, a chat window or a whiteboard. Work through these questions in order; they separate the products better than a feature matrix does.
01
Work out how much a sales call is worth to you
Only 1 of the 13 print a price; 12 quote per organisation. Comparable without a sales call: Photomath.
02
Ask which country the contract runs through
Check the vendor's home market (Elsewhere 11, North America 2), because that is where subpoenas and data requests arrive first, whatever region holds your files.
How AI homework helpers split between answer engines and tutors
The sharpest divide in this market is what a tool does when you give it a problem. Question.AI answers from a photo and chats over uploaded PDFs, so the result arrives fast but the learning is up to you. Studdy teaches from the material you upload on a whiteboard you can interrupt, and Khanmigo prompts Socratically instead of handing over answers, which is deliberate rather than a gap.
Wolfram Alpha computes rather than converses, and sells its steps under Pro. Decide whether the student must be able to repeat the method unaided. If so, rank explanation first and speed second. If the work is only to be checked, an answer engine is enough, and a parent should know which of the two has been set up.
Ask what the tool does when given one problem
Check whether it can be interrupted with a why question
Note whether it will refuse to give a bare answer
Choosing a maths solver: Photomath, Mathway, Symbolab or Cymath
Four of these tools are mostly maths solvers and they differ in input and in what sits behind payment. Photomath scans printed or written problems and shows visual steps from elementary level to calculus, with its prices published. Mathway covers eleven subjects through physics, offers steps without sign-up, and keeps the full work for every step for subscribers.
Symbolab accepts notation, plain language or photos and adds practice problems with hints. Cymath relies on a symbol keyboard and offers an interface in five languages. Try one real worksheet in each, including a word problem, and compare how many steps are shown before any upgrade prompt appears. A solver that stops at the answer line is a calculator, not a helper.
Test a word problem as well as a bare equation
Count steps shown before an upgrade prompt appears
Check the input method matches how the student works
Where Knowt, StudyFetch, Gizmo and StudyX fit beside homework help
Not every product here solves a set problem. Knowt builds notes, flashcards and practice tests from uploaded material, and its PDF summariser stops at 30 files per batch. StudyFetch turns lectures and slides into study tools with the Sparky tutor and a Study Plan driven by deadlines.
Gizmo converts notes, PDFs, PowerPoint and YouTube into quizzes, and StudyX puts homework help, flashcards and writing tools under one login. These suit the week before a test more than the night before a worksheet is due. A household that needs both tasks can pair one solver with one study-set tool, though the pages name no price for most of them, so the combined bill needs checking before both are adopted.
Separate solving needs from revision needs
Check the upload limits for slides and PDFs
Compare the bill if two tools are combined
Reading price and eligibility pages for AI homework helpers
Only Photomath prints its plan prices on the page. Studdy, Question.AI, Mathway and most others describe something free to start and then show an upgrade link without amounts, and Khanmigo shows amounts only at checkout. Khanmigo also restricts parent and learner access by age, residence and billing address, which rules out many families before price matters.
Course Hero presents only a Get Premium account button. Treat a missing price as an open question, not a good sign. Before paying, write down what the free side lets a student do, what the upgrade adds, who owns the service, and whether a trial is stated, because several pages in this market say none of this.
Find the price before entering card details
Read the eligibility rules on country and age
Record what the upgrade unlocks and who owns it
What goes wrong most often when buying AI homework helpers software
Treating a fast answer as proof that a student understands the method, when only Studdy, Khanmigo and similar tutors are built to make the learner do the work.
Assuming a free start means free steps, since Mathway and Wolfram Alpha both keep fuller step-by-step work for paying users.
Buying a revision tool such as Knowt or Gizmo to solve tonight's worksheet, when it is designed to turn notes into cards and quizzes.
Signing up for Khanmigo outside the United States without reading the age and billing address rules on its page.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best AI homework helpers in 2026?
Our ranking of 13 puts Studdy first. Studdy builds each lesson from what a student uploads, whether notes, textbooks, study guides or the homework itself, and explains equations, diagrams, reactions and graphs on a whiteboard that can be interrupted at any point.
It ranks first because it teaches the assignment rather than only returning an answer. The page states no prices, limits, country or owner, so later costs are unknown.
Which AI homework helpers tools publish their pricing?
1 of the 13, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Photomath: Published plans: a basic tier, an annual plan and a monthly plan, with trials offered on the two paid ones.
Everything else on the list is priced on request.
Is there a free AI homework helpers tool?
No. None of the 13 offer a usable free tier.
Where are these AI homework helpers vendors established?
The headquarters are spread over 2 countries and 2 regions, Elsewhere 11, North America 2:
Studdy: Not stated by the vendor.
Question.AI: United States.
Knowt: Not stated by the vendor.
StudyFetch: United States.
Photomath: Not stated by the vendor.
StudyX: Not stated by the vendor.
Khanmigo: Not stated by the vendor.
Cymath: Not stated by the vendor.
Gizmo: Not stated by the vendor.
Symbolab: Not stated by the vendor.
Mathway: Not stated by the vendor.
Wolfram Alpha: Not stated by the vendor.
Course Hero: Not stated by the vendor.
What should you use instead of Studdy?
Look at Question.AI (made for Students who want quick answers from a photo across several subjects) and Knowt (made for Students revising for exams who want cards and tests made from their own notes), which hold places two and three.
Who should not buy Studdy?
Buyers who must see a price before signing up. Without prices, a household cannot compare Studdy with a rival once the first lesson ends..
Missing from this AI homework helpers ranking? Contact us with a short description of the product and its users. Adding it is an editorial choice, and software advice explains what a listing does and does not involve.