Workout tracker apps record sets, repetitions and loads during a session, then turn that history into charts, records and next-session targets. This guide ranks eleven apps for people who train with weights.
Independent makers come first, followed by what the paid tier adds, whether your log can leave the app, and which phones and watches each one runs on.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What workout tracker apps software does
A workout tracker is a phone or watch app where a lifter logs exercises, sets, repetitions and loads, follows a programme, and reviews progress through charts and personal records.
Each workout tracker apps tool was put through the same five questions, in sequence: how hard is setup, what does it really cost, how does data come back out, can you leave, and who is it for. One rule overrides the order: smaller vendors take the first three places when the category offers them, and the best-known brands start at four. Reasons for the choice of tests, and for skipping a score out of ten, can be read on the how we work page.
Strength logger that proposes loads and repetitions for each working set
Ranked #1 of 11 in Best Workout Tracker Apps in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
The free version is generous: unlimited logging, your own plans, body measurements and export, all without starting a trial. Pro raises the value for people who like being told what to lift next, since recommendations work from past performance and keep working offline.
The Pro monthly rate is higher per year than the annual plan, and a 14-day trial applies only to the annual option. Android and iOS apps are the only platforms listed.
What stands out
progression recommendations
offline logging
plan generator
Where it costs you
The recommendation engine and plan generator sit behind Pro, so the free version only records what you did.
Listed prices are labelled regular US pricing and vary by region and purchase channel, so your own rate may differ.
Right for
Lifters who want weight and rep targets suggested from their own logged sessions
Wrong for
Anyone who wants a browser or desktop logger
GermanyForever-free version, Pro billed monthly or annually, 14-day annual trial for new customers
Programmable lifting tracker with scripted progressions and ready-made routines
Ranked #2 of 11 in Best Workout Tracker Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Where most trackers offer fixed templates, Liftosaur lets you write the rule. Linear, double and rep-sum progressions are built in, sets can be loaded by percentage of one-rep max or by RPE, and graphs show weekly volume per muscle group.
Native iOS and Android apps sit beside a web app and a web planner. The trade-off is effort: advanced programs mean writing script, and only one developer stands behind the product.
What stands out
Liftoscript
custom progressions
web planner
Where it costs you
No price list exists on the site, so the cost of any paid features cannot be checked before installing.
The operator states no country of establishment, only that the app is hosted in the United States.
Right for
Self-coaching lifters who want to script their own progression rules
Wrong for
Beginners who just want a plain set log
Not stated by the vendorNo plans or prices appear on the homepage or terms; the pricing URL does not exist
Five-by-five programme app that plans weights and sets automatically
Ranked #3 of 11 in Best Workout Tracker Apps in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
The strength of StrongLifts is that it removes decisions. You pick a programme such as 5x5 Plus, 5x5 Ultra or the Quarantine dumbbell version, and the app sets weights, sets and reps, then you check off completed sets.
Free spreadsheets exist for every programme, which gives an exit route off the phone. The limit is scope: the product is a programme library more than an open logbook, and no country of company is stated.
What stands out
5x5 programmes
auto-planned weights
spreadsheets
Where it costs you
The app is organised around the 5x5 family, so custom split routines are not what it advertises.
Terms name Stronglifts Limited without an address, and the About page gives a country only for the founder.
Right for
Beginners starting a barbell programme who want the app to decide loads
Wrong for
Lifters who plan their own custom bodybuilding splits
Not stated by the vendorProgrammes and app presented as free; no plan prices shown on the homepage
Swipe-based logger with correlation charts and an AI plan generator
Ranked #4 of 11 in Best Workout Tracker Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Setgraph treats logging as a fast gesture: swipe to log, copy from last time, add a cue or note. Reusable routines carry their own notes, and correlation charts show how load and repetitions change together.
The terms list monthly, yearly and lifetime subscriptions plus a trial of unstated length, with no amounts. Setgraph LLC is named as the company, but no address or country appears, so verification of the buyer side is thin.
What stands out
swipe logging
correlation charts
AI planner
Where it costs you
The homepage FAQ raises the price question and leaves it unanswered, so the real cost needs a purchase attempt.
Only iOS and an Apple Watch experience are described, with Android left unanswered.
Right for
iPhone lifters who want fast swipe logging and weight-versus-reps charts
Wrong for
Android users or buyers who need prices first
Not stated by the vendorTerms mention monthly, yearly and lifetime options; amounts and trial length are not shown
Minimal iPhone logger with Quick-Log and no subscription pitch
Ranked #5 of 11 in Best Workout Tracker Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
The pitch is speed. Pickers arrive pre-filled, a Quick-Log function shortens entry, and per-set settings stay available. Logs can be viewed as line graphs and doughnut charts, with weight, body fat and circumferences tracked over time, and Apple Health plus a watch app are included.
Appwise GmbH is named as the creator without a country. The homepage mentions an optional donation of no set amount, which makes the business model hard to read.
What stands out
Quick-Log
Apple Watch
Apple Health
Where it costs you
The Pro price is not displayed on the homepage, and no pricing or terms page is linked from it.
Only iOS with an Apple Watch app is listed, so Android lifters are left out.
Right for
iPhone owners who want the quickest possible set entry with little configuration
Wrong for
Android users or anyone wanting coaching and programmes
Not stated by the vendorA free tier with a Pro upgrade; the Pro price and billing period are not shown
Apple-only gym tracker with a standalone watch app and AI trainer
Ranked #6 of 11 in Best Workout Tracker Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingNorth America
Few vendors here publish as much as SmartGym. Premium+ unlocks unlimited routines, history and measurements, a family plan covers up to six people through Apple Family Sharing, and a trainer plan serves up to ten students, with larger rosters shown only in the app.
The AI Smart Trainer adjusts weights, reps and exercises after each session. The company is a Florida LLC, and the 7-day trial covers Premium+ only.
What stands out
AI Smart Trainer
standalone watch app
trainer plans
Where it costs you
The free plan holds only 2 routines, 3 workouts of history and 2 measurements, so history is lost quickly.
Platforms listed are all Apple devices, so Android users are excluded.
Right for
Apple users who also want a standalone watch app and clear published prices
Wrong for
Android users or lifters needing long free history
United StatesPublished pricing page with monthly or annual Premium+, family and trainer plans; 7-day trial on Premium+
Social logging app with routines, watch support and a separate coach product
Ranked #7 of 11 in Best Workout Tracker Apps in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Hevy covers the widest device range of any app in this guide: iOS, Android, Apple Watch, WearOS and the web, with watch tracking working offline.
Its social side lets you follow athletes and save their routines, and a one-rep-max calculator, records and exercise history round out the progress view. Hevy Studios S.L. is registered in Calonge, Spain. Whether the paid tier is worth buying depends on prices the site did not show us.
What stands out
social feed
WearOS
offline watch tracking
Where it costs you
Paid plan names and prices could not be read, so the cost of upgrading is unknown from the vendor pages.
Trainer features sit in a separate product, Hevy Coach, rather than in the individual app.
Right for
Lifters who like following friends and copying their routines across phone and watch
Wrong for
Buyers who must see paid plan prices beforehand
SpainHomepage calls the tracker free; the pricing page did not render, so paid plans are unread
Long-running iPhone logger with superset, RPE and warm-up tools
Ranked #8 of 11 in Best Workout Tracker Apps in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Strong keeps to the logging job. Superset handling, a warm-up calculator, RPE, custom exercises and advanced charts cover what most lifters track, while PRO adds best sets, estimated one-rep max and body fat percentage.
Export is promised at any time, which helps with leaving. Apple Health and Siri Shortcuts are the integrations named. Monthly, yearly and lifetime options are mentioned in terms, but without amounts, so the real price stays unclear.
What stands out
warm-up calculator
Apple Health
data export
Where it costs you
No price or billing period for Strong PRO appears on the homepage, so the upgrade cost is unreadable.
The operator is named under Singapore law, but no address or country of establishment is given.
Right for
Lifters who want a plain, quick logger with export and Apple Health
Wrong for
Buyers wanting prescribed programmes, AI suggestions or any coaching
Not stated by the vendorAccounts described as free forever, with a Strong PRO upgrade whose price is not shown
Exercise database and plan builder with an adaptive weekly planner
Ranked #9 of 11 in Best Workout Tracker Apps in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
JEFIT puts plan choice at the centre. Elite opens thousands of expert-designed plans, a custom builder handles exercises, rest times, supersets and equipment, and the Adaptive Plan reworks the following week from strength and fatigue data.
Muscle recovery breakdowns and 1RM charts feed the analytics. Jefit, Inc. gives a Sunnyvale address in its terms. The annual price is shown as a 60 percent saving, while the page does not state the currency beyond the dollar sign.
What stands out
Elite plans
adaptive plan
muscle recovery
Where it costs you
The Elite page names no free trial and lists no lifetime option, so upgrading means committing to a plan.
Feature breadth means more screens than a plain set logger, which matters to people wanting speed.
Right for
Gym-goers who want expert plans plus recovery and strength charts in one app
Wrong for
Minimalists who only want a quick set log
United StatesPublished monthly and annual Elite prices; a Basic plan labelled free
Human-coached strength programme with nutrition and video check-ins
Ranked #10 of 11 in Best Workout Tracker Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Placing Caliber in a tracker ranking needs an honest caveat: the homepage describes a science-based coaching programme, not a gym logbook.
You get strength and cardio sessions, nutrition guidance, habit coaching and video calls with a coach, and a page connecting the service to ChatGPT and Claude. Terms name Caliber Fitness, Inc. under New York law. Cost is not shown before the consultation, and the trial length is not stated.
What stands out
coaching
nutrition guidance
video coaching
Where it costs you
No prices appear on the homepage, and access starts with a consultation rather than a sign-up.
It is a coaching service, so a lifter who only wants a log would be buying something different.
Right for
People who want a human coach plus nutrition and habit support
Wrong for
Self-directed lifters who only want to record sets
Not stated by the vendorNo plans or prices listed; consultation first, with a trial of unstated length in terms
AI-coached bodyweight and gym plans built around your schedule
Ranked #11 of 11 in Best Workout Tracker Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Freeletics asks you to choose training days and times, then hands over a plan from its AI Coach. Optional 30-day challenges and focus areas add structure, and the homepage claims over 700 exercises for home, gym or outdoor use.
Apple and Google store apps are the platforms named. Copyright is held by Freeletics GmbH, but no address, country, price or trial appeared on the pages we read, which limits any verdict on value.
What stands out
AI coach
home workouts
30-day challenges
Where it costs you
The homepage gives no plans, prices or trial wording, so cost cannot be judged from the vendor pages.
The imprint and terms pages returned only a title, so no country or entity detail could be read.
Right for
People who want a coach to design sessions around their week
Wrong for
Lifters who want an open logbook for their own barbell numbers
Not stated by the vendorNo plans or prices shown on the homepage; the pricing URL returned nothing
A workout tracker is a phone or watch app where a lifter logs exercises, sets, repetitions and loads, follows a programme, and reviews progress through charts and personal records. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is the order we would work through them.
01
Work out how much a sales call is worth to you
Only 7 of the 11 print a price; 4 quote per organisation. Comparable without a sales call: Alpha Progression, StrongLifts, GymBook, SmartGym, Hevy, Strong, JEFIT.
02
Ask which country the contract runs through
The 11 companies behind this list are established in 4 countries, by region Elsewhere 7, North America 2, Europe 2. Disclosure obligations attach to the company, so they travel with the vendor even when the servers stay at home.
Choosing workout tracker apps: logbook or programme engine
Workout tracker apps split into two camps, and mixing them up is the commonest wasted purchase. A logbook such as Strong or GymBook records what you did and leaves the plan to you. A programme engine decides what you do next.
Alpha Progression proposes weight and repetitions per working set from your own logged history, StrongLifts plans a fixed 5x5 family automatically, and Liftosaur lets you write the progression rule yourself in Liftoscript. If you already follow a coach or a spreadsheet, a plain logbook is cheaper and faster. If you stall often and want guidance, pick an engine, and confirm that its recommendations work in the gym with no signal.
Decide whether you want a log or a plan before comparing prices
Check whether recommendations work offline, as Alpha Progression states they do
Test whether you can write or edit progression rules yourself, as Liftosaur allows
Reading the free version of a workout tracker before you log a year
A free version is only useful if it keeps your history. SmartGym's free plan holds 2 routines, 3 workouts of history and 2 measurements, which suits a trial week but not a training year. Alpha Progression's free version logs unlimited workouts with 795 exercises, body measurements and data export, and states no trial is needed to use it.
GymBook's free tier allows unlimited workouts but limits the library to 50-plus exercises, with Pro raising it to 400-plus. StrongLifts presents its app and programmes as free. Check these limits first, because switching apps after months of history is exactly where logs get lost, and a capped history may force that move earlier than you planned.
Count how many workouts of history the free plan keeps
Check that exercise libraries and custom exercises are not capped
Confirm export exists before entering months of data, as Strong and Alpha Progression state
Phone, watch and platform fit: Hevy, SmartGym and GymBook compared
Where you log matters as much as what you log. Hevy lists iOS, Android, Apple Watch, WearOS and a web version, and says watch tracking works offline. SmartGym runs on iPhone, iPad, Mac and Apple Watch, with a watch app that works standalone without a phone or internet connection, and no Android version is listed.
GymBook is iOS with an Apple Watch app and Apple Health. Setgraph describes iOS and an Apple Watch experience and leaves Android unanswered. Liftosaur offers native apps plus a web app and planner. Pick the app that matches the device you will actually hold between sets, and check the platform list on the vendor page.
List every device you train with and match it to the platform page
Test the watch app without your phone if you leave it in a locker
Check for a web version if you plan sessions at a desk
Coaching services such as Caliber and Freeletics versus self-logging trackers
Some names in this market are coaching products that happen to include workouts. Caliber describes a coaching programme that bundles meal advice, habit work and video sessions with a named coach, and starts with a consultation rather than a price list. Freeletics offers an AI Coach that builds plans around your chosen days, with no prices on its homepage.
JEFIT sits between the two, with a free Basic plan, a paid Elite tier and an Adaptive Plan that builds the following week from strength and fatigue. If your aim is a record of your own barbell numbers, a coaching product pays for guidance you may not need, and the price may not be visible before you commit.
Ask what a human coach adds before paying for one
Find the price before entering payment details, which Caliber and Freeletics do not show
Check whether a trial exists and how long it lasts
What goes wrong most often when buying workout tracker apps software
Choosing a tracker for its exercise count when the real friction is how many taps one set takes during a session.
Entering months of training into an app before checking whether you can export the history to leave later.
Buying an annual plan on a regional price shown at checkout without comparing it with the vendor's published rate.
Treating a coaching programme as a logbook and discovering later that it will not record your own barbell numbers.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best workout tracker apps in 2026?
Alpha Progression takes first place among the 11 we reviewed. Alpha Progression comes from a small independent team that sells one app. The free version logs unlimited workouts against 795 exercises with video, and exports your data.
Pro adds the plan generator and set-by-set weight suggestions. Regional pricing means the quoted US rate can differ at checkout, and the web page lists only iOS and Android, so desktop-only lifters have no browser logger there.
Which workout tracker apps tools publish their pricing?
7 out of 11 state a price model on their own site:
Alpha Progression: Forever-free version, Pro billed monthly or annually, 14-day annual trial for new customers.
StrongLifts: Programmes and app presented as free; no plan prices shown on the homepage.
GymBook: A free tier with a Pro upgrade; the Pro price and billing period are not shown.
SmartGym: Published pricing page with monthly or annual Premium+, family and trainer plans; 7-day trial on Premium+.
Hevy: Homepage calls the tracker free; the pricing page did not render, so paid plans are unread.
Strong: Accounts described as free forever, with a Strong PRO upgrade whose price is not shown.
JEFIT: Published monthly and annual Elite prices; a Basic plan labelled free.
The other 4 quote per organisation.
Is there a free workout tracker apps tool?
GymBook, SmartGym offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these workout tracker apps vendors established?
Across 4 countries (Elsewhere 7, North America 2, Europe 2):
Alpha Progression: Germany.
Liftosaur: Not stated by the vendor.
StrongLifts: Not stated by the vendor.
Setgraph: Not stated by the vendor.
GymBook: Not stated by the vendor.
SmartGym: United States.
Hevy: Spain.
Strong: Not stated by the vendor.
JEFIT: United States.
Caliber: Not stated by the vendor.
Freeletics: Not stated by the vendor.
What should you use instead of Alpha Progression?
Second is Liftosaur, which suits Self-coaching lifters who want to script their own progression rules. Third is StrongLifts, which suits Beginners starting a barbell programme who want the app to decide loads.
Who should not buy Alpha Progression?
Anyone who wants a browser or desktop logger. The recommendation engine and plan generator sit behind Pro, so the free version only records what you did..
Do you make a workout tracker apps product that is not listed here? Describe what it does and who buys it. We decide on inclusion, a listing cannot be bought, and the details are under software advice.