Process documentation tools turn how work gets done into guides, checklists and training material that other people can follow.
This ranking prefers independent single-product vendors, then weighs the effort of the first ninety days, the price once creators, exports and sign-on are added, how a library leaves the product, and whether each tool captures, runs or only stores procedures.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What process documentation tools software does
Process documentation software records or writes how tasks are done, then publishes the steps as guides, checklists or training modules that staff can follow, update and audit.
Five tests decide the order: setup effort, real cost, how your data leaves, whether you can walk away, and who the process documentation tool was built for. On top of them sits one rule. The top three places are for challengers, which means vendors outside the big names, where the category has any, and the household brands come in from fourth place. Why those five, and why there is no score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Published per-user rate with a ten-user minimum; 30-day trial; Enterprise custom
—
Teams already keeping written procedures in a wiki and wanting answers from it
Teams wanting a permanent entry plan or step capture
We list the country the vendor operates from or contracts through. That is not the same as the hosting region, and any difference is spelled out in the entry.
Desktop app for step-by-step guides, bought once instead of rented
Ranked #1 of 14 in Best Process Documentation Tools in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Folge builds guides on your own computer, with nested steps, a blur tool for hiding sensitive data and a cover page editor for PDF exports. The Personal licence is tied to one platform and one machine, so someone using both a Mac and a Windows laptop should look at the Business licence.
Purchases carry a 7-day money-back guarantee, and prices exclude VAT. The pages read describe no workflow tracking, so the output is a document to file.
What stands out
One-time licence
Desktop app
Blur tool
Where it costs you
The free tier stops at 5 guides and 20 online guides, so a growing library needs a paid licence quickly.
A Business licence is bought per seat, so a large team pays for every person up front.
Right for
Solo operators and small teams who prefer paying once for their guide software
Wrong for
Teams that need recurring checklists, task assignment or approval steps
Not stated by the vendorFree tier within stated limits; one-time licences with published prices and no subscription
Procedure documentation on one plan that includes every feature
Ranked #2 of 14 in Best Process Documentation Tools in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
SweetProcess keeps the pricing simple by offering a single plan where every feature is included, billed monthly or yearly with a saving for the yearly option. Teams under ten employees are pointed to a separate discounted signup whose price is not shown.
The browser plugin turns recorded actions into a procedure, and AI can draft documents, while colleagues propose changes to what has been written. That makes it a documentation hub rather than a pure capture tool.
What stands out
Single plan
Browser recorder
Improvement suggestions
Where it costs you
Only a 14-day trial and a 30-day money-back guarantee are offered for testing, with no permanent entry level.
The pricing is stated for up to ten members, so a very small team pays for seats it may not fill.
Right for
Small companies that want one predictable price and a shared procedure library
Wrong for
Buyers who want a permanent entry level to run a long pilot
Not stated by the vendorSingle plan with a published monthly rate for ten members plus a small add-on per extra person; 14-day trial
Turns videos into SOPs, then wraps them in training flows
Ranked #3 of 14 in Best Process Documentation Tools in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Whale starts from a recording or a video and converts it into a written standard operating procedure, then lets you attach checklists and training flows with quizzes. The Free plan allows 20 playbook items, 1 training flow and a one-off 20 AI credits.
Scale adds PDF and Word export and MCP access, while Advance brings a video editor, AI voiceovers and enforced SSO. Extra creators are charged on both paid tiers, and nonprofits get a discount.
What stands out
Video to SOP
Training flows
US or EU hosting
Where it costs you
Scale and Advance cover 3 and 5 creators, so the first paid step costs far more than the Free plan suggests.
Whale lists approvals, redaction and API access under Enterprise alone.
Right for
Teams that want one place for SOPs, checklists and training from recorded video
Wrong for
Budget-minded teams that need redaction or approvals below Enterprise
Not stated by the vendorFree plan for one creator, then Scale and Advance tiers billed yearly with priced extra creators
Documentation platform metered by AI credits, with a self-hosted option
Ranked #4 of 14 in Best Process Documentation Tools in 2026.
Free tierSelf-hostablePublished pricingElsewhere
Docsie spreads its plans over Free, Hobby, Starter, Premium, Business, Organization and Enterprise, with annual contracts on the last. Business adds Confluence, GitHub and GitLab connectors, and Premium lists 50,000 API calls.
On the homepage it names Docsie Compare, for checking documents and sources against each other, and Video Analysis, for asking questions of a video. The self-hosted option is listed with the line 'Run Docsie on your own servers'.
What stands out
Self-hosted option
AI credits
MCP server
Where it costs you
Several separate meters make next year's bill harder to predict.
The Free plan gives a single seat and a one-off allowance of AI credits at signup.
Right for
Teams that want to run their documentation on their own servers
Wrong for
People who mainly want to record a screen and get steps
Not stated by the vendorFree plan, then six published tiers charged monthly or yearly and metered by AI credits, seats and storage
Screen recordings become numbered-step SOPs with optional AI voiceover
Ranked #5 of 14 in Best Process Documentation Tools in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Glitter AI prices by creators included rather than by every reader, so a company with a large audience for its SOPs avoids paying for each person who only views them.
Scale adds SCORM and PowerPoint export and sync with Intercom, Zendesk and Notion, while Enterprise brings secure embeds and a HIPAA BAA. Output can carry an AI voiceover or an AI avatar, and an MCP server and API exist. Growth and Scale carry a 7-day money-back guarantee.
What stands out
Video to SOP
Free viewers
SCORM export
Where it costs you
SAML SSO is a $300 monthly add-on, so identity features raise the bill quickly.
Free use ends after three guides or a quarter-hour of recording.
Right for
Companies with big audiences and few authors, since viewers cost nothing
Wrong for
Small teams that need several authors on a modest budget
Not stated by the vendorFree plan without a time limit; Growth and Scale published, Enterprise from a stated floor, with add-ons
Browser and desktop workflow capture priced per user
Ranked #6 of 14 in Best Process Documentation Tools in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Tango's Free plan holds 5 shared workflows and up to 10 users per workspace, enough to test the capture flow. Pro removes the workflow cap, adds voice and video embeds and lets you brand workflows and exports.
Enterprise adds an MCP connector next to SSO and SCIM. Prices carry only a dollar sign and differ between annual and monthly billing. The terms name Tango Technology, Inc. as the contracting party, with a Delaware notice address.
What stands out
Per-user pricing
Desktop capture
MCP connector
Where it costs you
Version history is only 14 days on Pro, with the longer 365-day history reserved for Enterprise.
One or two users pay a higher per-user rate than teams of three or more.
Right for
Teams of three or more that want per-user pricing and branded exports
Wrong for
Regulated teams that need audit trails below the Enterprise tier
Not stated by the vendorFree plan with a workflow cap; Pro per user with a lower rate from three users; Enterprise custom
Click-by-click guides captured from web, desktop and mobile
Ranked #7 of 14 in Best Process Documentation Tools in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Scribe lists yearly billing as a saving of 20 percent and shows Pro Personal from one seat and Pro Team from five. Pro adds web, mobile and desktop capture, branding, screenshot editing and exports in PDF, HTML and Markdown.
Enterprise brings SSO, roles, data governance, central management and translations. The terms give a San Francisco notice address for Colony Labs without naming a country of registration, and no trial of paid plans is mentioned.
What stands out
Free Basic plan
Per-seat Pro
PII redaction
Where it costs you
Basic has no desktop capture, branding or PDF and Word export, so most real use moves to Pro.
Scrubbing personal data automatically needs the Enterprise plan.
Right for
Teams that want unlimited guide creation to start and a cheap team seat later
Wrong for
Teams whose screenshots hold personal data and who need redaction cheaply
Not stated by the vendorFree Basic plan; Pro per seat with a cheaper rate from five seats; Enterprise through a sales demo
Tutorial capture across browsers and apps, priced per creator count
Ranked #8 of 14 in Best Process Documentation Tools in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Capture works through Chrome, Firefox and Edge extensions and Mac and Windows apps, so it is not tied to one browser. Integrations named include Zendesk, Slack, ServiceNow, Confluence, Salesforce and Seismic.
Team costs $500 a month for two or more creators, with one seat included and $50 a month for every extra seat, and Enterprise is quoted for twenty or more creators. Unlimited learners means the audience never adds to the bill.
What stands out
Per-creator plans
Data masking
Word and MP4 export
Where it costs you
A single creator pays $200 a month, far above seat-priced capture tools.
The pricing page gives no trial length or limits for its start buttons.
Right for
Support and training teams with few authors and large learner audiences
Wrong for
Single authors working on a tight budget alone
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly plans by creator count; Enterprise quoted from twenty creators
Workflow and task platform in Startup, Pro and Enterprise tiers
Ranked #9 of 14 in Best Process Documentation Tools in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Startup includes unlimited workflows and tasks, 10 automation apps and 100 automation actions a month, with 5,000 data set records. Pro lists custom users and reports, data sync and BI integration, and offers invoicing alongside cards charged in USD.
Enterprise adds SCIM provisioning, a dedicated success manager and priority support. The terms name Process Street, Inc., with a San Francisco address, and say the service runs from offices in the United States.
What stands out
Workflow runs
Startup tier
Data residency
Where it costs you
Every plan shows a contact sales button instead of a price, so the real cost surfaces only in talks.
Startup caps users at 5 and public API calls at 50 a month.
Right for
Companies that want procedures executed as tracked workflow runs, not only written down
Wrong for
Teams that want quick screen capture to turn clicks into steps
Not stated by the vendorQuoted per plan through a contact sales button; Pro opens with a 14-day trial
Onboarding and training manuals sold through a booked demo
Ranked #10 of 14 in Best Process Documentation Tools in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Trainual splits its plans into Core, Pro, Premium and Enterprise, and the limits climb in steps: 2 GB, 15 GB, then unlimited video storage, with version history of 30 days, 90 days, then unlimited.
A custom domain arrives with Premium. No permanent plan or trial is named, and the demo replaces both. The terms name Trainual, Inc. in Tempe, Arizona, although the pages read give no registered office.
What stands out
Four plans
Implementation fee
Video storage caps
Where it costs you
Unpriced subscriptions come with an extra $1,000 set-up charge.
API access is limited to Enterprise and SSO to Premium or higher.
Right for
Mid-sized companies onboarding staff into written roles and training material
Wrong for
Very small teams or organisations above 1,000 staff
Not stated by the vendorQuoted per team across four plans with a booked demo; one-time implementation fee applies
Video how-to guides with AI voiceover, priced per creator
Ranked #11 of 14 in Best Process Documentation Tools in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Guidde shows Pro and Business with struck-through earlier prices and an annual discount, with a Free plan that needs no credit card. An Advanced Editor sits next to Magic Capture for tuning the result.
Business adds insights and the conversion of PDFs and PowerPoints into video, while Enterprise adds Guidde Ask and sign-on through Okta, Microsoft and OneLogin. The footer shows guidde Inc. with no address, so the country is not stated.
What stands out
Magic Capture
AI voiceover
Per-creator billing
Where it costs you
The Business trial lasts only 7 days, which is short for testing a video workflow.
SSO, SCIM and multi-language translation are limited to Enterprise.
Right for
Teams that prefer short videos with a voiceover over written step lists
Wrong for
Teams that need printable, text-first procedures for audits
Not stated by the vendorFree plan, then Pro and Business monthly per creator; Enterprise custom, with an annual discount
Interactive guides and knowledge base capped by guide views
Ranked #12 of 14 in Best Process Documentation Tools in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Stonly's entry plan lists unlimited guides and tours, multiple languages, versioning, custom branding and full-path analytics, plus integrations with Segment, Zapier, Freshpaint and Rudderstack.
Enterprise removes the fixed caps and adds private knowledge bases. The pricing page shows no amounts or currency, and the homepage footer gives only a 2026 copyright notice, so the country of establishment is not stated.
What stands out
Guide-view caps
Knowledge base
Full-path analytics
Where it costs you
Views are capped, so a popular guide can exhaust the allowance on the entry plan.
Help desk integrations, AI agents and SSO appear only on Enterprise.
Right for
Support teams guiding customers through interactive troubleshooting and help content
Wrong for
Internal teams wanting an unmetered library of company procedures
Not stated by the vendorTwo plans without listed prices, Small Business and Enterprise; 14-day trial then a Basic level
Team docs workspace with an AI agent and credit allowances
Ranked #13 of 14 in Best Process Documentation Tools in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Basic offers unlimited docs, 5 GB of storage per user and uploads up to 200 MB, along with 30 AI edits per user monthly.
Pro raises storage to 10 GB per user, lifts the upload limit, adds Slite Agent, search across connected tools, OpenID SSO and a custom domain for public docs. The trial includes 500 shared credits. Its controller details name Slite, Inc. in San Francisco.
What stands out
Per-user tiers
AI credits
Slite Agent
Where it costs you
AI edits and agent credits are capped per user each month, with paid blocks for extra use.
Nothing on the pages read describes screen capture, so steps and screenshots are added manually.
Right for
Teams keeping written procedures and notes beside their everyday documents
Wrong for
Teams that want clicks turned into steps automatically
Not stated by the vendorPublished per-user tiers billed yearly, credit add-ons sold separately; 14-day trial
Internal wiki with a question-answering bot, charged per user
Ranked #14 of 14 in Best Process Documentation Tools in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Tettra lists Scaling at a per-user monthly rate with a 20 percent reduction on yearly billing, and Enterprise on custom pricing through sales. The homepage names questions and answers by Kai and knowledge management, in addition to the internal wiki.
The FAQ mentions Basic and Professional plans that do not appear in the comparison table, so check the current plan names with the vendor. The footer shows Tettra, Inc. without a location.
What stands out
Per-user rate
Kai bot
Ten-user minimum
Where it costs you
The ten-user minimum sets a floor under the monthly bill for the smallest teams.
The trial headline says no credit card, but the FAQ says one is needed after the trial.
Right for
Teams already keeping written procedures in a wiki and wanting answers from it
Wrong for
Teams wanting a permanent entry plan or step capture
Not stated by the vendorPublished per-user rate with a ten-user minimum; 30-day trial; Enterprise custom
How to choose process documentation tools software
Process documentation software records or writes how tasks are done, then publishes the steps as guides, checklists or training modules that staff can follow, update and audit. Differences that change the outcome seldom sit in the features. Here is the sequence we would follow.
01
Check who publishes a price
3 vendors on this page sell by quote, while 11 publish a pricing model you can read today: Folge, SweetProcess, Whale, Docsie, Glitter AI, Tango, Scribe, Iorad, Guidde, Slite, Tettra.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
Headquarters range over 1 countries and 1 regions: Elsewhere 14. Legal exposure follows the vendor, not only the data centre, so read the contracting entity before you sign.
Process documentation tools: capture, run or only store
Before comparing prices, decide which job you are buying for, because this market mixes three. Scribe, Tango, Guidde, Glitter AI and Iorad capture clicks or video and write the steps for you. Process Street and Trainual run or teach a procedure, with workflow tasks in one and training roles in the other. Slite and Tettra store written pages and answer questions.
SweetProcess sits between them, with a browser plugin that records a workflow and a library where teammates suggest edits. Whale and Glitter AI start from video and produce an SOP. A team that buys a wiki hoping for capture ends up typing every step and pasting every screenshot by hand, which defeats the reason most people shop for this software in the first place.
Write down whether you need capture, execution or storage
Test one real procedure end to end during the trial
Check that the tool you pick can edit a step later
Seats, creators and viewers on the bill
Vendors count different people, and that decides who pays more as the library grows. Scribe and Tango charge per seat or user, with a lower rate for larger groups. Guidde and Iorad charge per creator, and Glitter AI includes a set number of creators while viewers cost nothing. Whale charges for extra creators beyond those in each tier.
SweetProcess bills a flat rate for ten members and a small amount per extra person, and Folge sells licences once. Stonly meters guide views instead of people. Count authors, editors and readers separately, then ask each vendor to price exactly that mix, because a company with many readers and few authors gains from creator-based pricing.
Count authors, editors and readers as three groups
Ask what happens when viewers exceed an allowance
Compare one-time licences with subscriptions over three years
Exports, redaction and branding behind higher tiers
The features a documentation team needs for audits are the ones most often held back. Scribe's Basic plan lacks PDF and Word export, branding and desktop capture, and automatic redaction of PII and PHI sits on Enterprise. Whale also places automatic redaction on Enterprise, while Folge includes a blur tool and Iorad lists data masking.
Tango reserves 365-day version history and audit logs for Enterprise, and Glitter AI sells SAML SSO as a monthly add-on. Trainual limits API access to Enterprise. If screenshots show customer or patient data, check the redaction tier before anything else. Branding matters too, since Tango and Scribe both place it behind a paid plan. Finally, confirm that a guide can still be exported once the subscription ends.
Find the tier that includes redaction before you record
Export a finished guide to PDF or Word during the trial
Check version history length against your audit needs
Trials, setup fees and where the data lives
Entry terms vary more than the headline prices suggest. Process Street, SweetProcess and Stonly offer a 14-day trial, Guidde gives 7 days on its Business tier, and Tettra gives 30 days. Trainual replaces a trial with a demo and adds a one-time implementation fee. Docsie lists a self-hosted option through Helm charts and Docker images, and Whale lets customers pick US or EU hosting.
Process Street keeps data residency and private cloud for Enterprise. Glitter AI and Folge offer a short money-back guarantee instead of a trial. A trial only helps if you document a real procedure in it, so schedule the test around a task you genuinely need written.
Ask about setup fees before you book a demo
Confirm where data is hosted and whether you can choose
Use the trial on a live procedure, not a sample
What goes wrong most often when buying process documentation tools software
Buying a wiki such as Slite or Tettra when the real need is turning screen activity into steps, which those pages do not describe.
Comparing a per-seat price with a per-creator price without counting how many people only read the guides.
Recording screenshots that show personal data before checking which tier offers redaction, masking or blur.
Choosing a free plan for a pilot without checking its guide caps, such as the 5 guides in Folge or the 3 in Glitter AI.
07
Frequently asked questions
7 answers
What is the best process documentation tools in 2026?
Our ranking of 14 puts Folge first. Folge is a desktop app for macOS and Windows that sells guide-making as a purchase, not a subscription: a Personal licence covers one platform and one machine, while a per-seat Business licence adds offline collaboration.
Over several years that is the lowest running cost here. The trade-off is scope: it makes guides and tutorials, and the pages read name no checklists or approvals.
Which process documentation tools publish their pricing?
11 out of 14 state a price model on their own site:
Folge: Free tier within stated limits; one-time licences with published prices and no subscription.
SweetProcess: Single plan with a published monthly rate for ten members plus a small add-on per extra person; 14-day trial.
Whale: Free plan for one creator, then Scale and Advance tiers billed yearly with priced extra creators.
Docsie: Free plan, then six published tiers charged monthly or yearly and metered by AI credits, seats and storage.
Glitter AI: Free plan without a time limit; Growth and Scale published, Enterprise from a stated floor, with add-ons.
Tango: Free plan with a workflow cap; Pro per user with a lower rate from three users; Enterprise custom.
Scribe: Free Basic plan; Pro per seat with a cheaper rate from five seats; Enterprise through a sales demo.
Iorad: Published monthly plans by creator count; Enterprise quoted from twenty creators.
Guidde: Free plan, then Pro and Business monthly per creator; Enterprise custom, with an annual discount.
Slite: Published per-user tiers billed yearly, credit add-ons sold separately; 14-day trial.
Tettra: Published per-user rate with a ten-user minimum; 30-day trial; Enterprise custom.
The remaining 3 sell by quote.
Is there a free process documentation tool?
Folge, Whale, Docsie, Glitter AI, Tango, Scribe, Guidde come with a no-cost entry point, a free plan or a self-hosted edition.
Where are these process documentation tool vendors established?
In 1 countries across 1 regions: Elsewhere 14.
Folge: Not stated by the vendor.
SweetProcess: Not stated by the vendor.
Whale: Not stated by the vendor.
Docsie: Not stated by the vendor.
Glitter AI: Not stated by the vendor.
Tango: Not stated by the vendor.
Scribe: Not stated by the vendor.
Iorad: Not stated by the vendor.
Process Street: Not stated by the vendor.
Trainual: Not stated by the vendor.
Guidde: Not stated by the vendor.
Stonly: Not stated by the vendor.
Slite: Not stated by the vendor.
Tettra: Not stated by the vendor.
Which process documentation tools can you host yourself?
Docsie. The remaining 13 run only on the vendor's servers.
What should you use instead of Folge?
Look at SweetProcess (made for small companies that want one predictable price and a shared procedure library) and Whale (made for teams that want one place for SOPs, checklists and training from recorded video), which hold places two and three.
Who should not buy Folge?
Teams that need recurring checklists, task assignment or approval steps. The free tier stops at 5 guides and 20 online guides, so a growing library needs a paid licence quickly..
Sell process documentation tools and missing from the ranking? Send us a line on what the product does and who buys it. Whether it is added is our decision, though commercial arrangements can also affect it, and the terms of a listing sit on the software advice page.