PDF reader software opens, searches and marks up PDF files on a desk or phone, from single-author viewers to commercial suites that also edit and sign.
This guide orders eleven products by setup effort, what the editing tier adds to the bill, how annotations leave the file, independence from a parent group, and which operating systems each one runs on.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What PDF reader software does
PDF reader software displays PDF documents on a computer, tablet or phone, with search, navigation and annotation tools, and in some products form filling, digital signatures and light editing.
To rank PDF reader tools we asked, in turn, how much work setup takes, what it truly costs, whether data can be taken back out, whether leaving is possible, and who the product suits. One rule overrides the order: smaller vendors take the first three places when the category offers them, and the best-known brands start at four. Reasons for the choice of tests, and for skipping a score out of ten, can be read on the how we work page.
Free reader app; Standard, Pro and Studio plans published monthly, annual billed monthly or prepaid, with team licences
Yes
Recipients who only need to open files others send them
Small offices wanting a one-time purchase instead of recurring billing
Country is where the vendor is headquartered or contracts from, which is a different question from where your data is hosted. Where the two tell different stories, the entry says so.
Windows-only viewer from one named author, with a portable build
Ranked #1 of 11 in Best PDF Reader Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
The page offers a portable build that runs from removable media without installation, which suits locked-down machines where nothing may be installed. Current download is version 3.6.1, with a 3.7 pre-release listed beside it.
No company, contact address or country is shown, only the author's name. That makes it the least dependent product here, and also the one with the least paperwork to hand to a procurement team.
What stands out
Windows only
Portable build
Open source
Where it costs you
The FAQ states it is not available for Mac or Linux, so a mixed office needs a second reader.
The pages call it free and open source without naming a licence, which leaves a compliance check unfinished.
Right for
Windows desks that want a plain reader installed or carried on a USB stick
Wrong for
Mixed Mac, Linux and Windows fleets wanting one shared reader
Not stated by the vendorCompletely free and open source, with no ads, bundled software or subscription
macOS note-taking viewer with LaTeX and SyncTeX links built in
Ranked #2 of 11 in Best PDF Reader Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
The feature list centres on reading with notes: snapshots, bookmarks and a thumbnail pane sit next to the highlights. Integration with SyncTeX and PDFSync lets a typeset document and its source follow each other, and BibDesk links bring in the bibliography.
Nothing on the page mentions form filling, signing or editing, so Skim stays a reading and marking tool. The project links only to SourceForge, a bug tracker and mailing lists for help.
What stands out
macOS only
LaTeX sync
Notes and highlights
Where it costs you
The download requires macOS 10.13 or higher, which rules out every other operating system.
The page names no developer, country or licence, so ownership has to be taken on trust.
Right for
Mac researchers who write in LaTeX and annotate papers in margins
Wrong for
Anyone outside macOS, or teams needing signatures and forms
Not stated by the vendorFree download on a SourceForge page, open source badge, no price listed
KDE's GPL-licensed reader that also verifies and applies PDF signatures
Ranked #3 of 11 in Best PDF Reader Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Okular is a project of KDE, with the latest listed release announced for August 2026 and the source kept on KDE's GitLab. One reader covers PDF, DjVU, TIFF, WebP and EPub, and it visualises Markdown documents.
Digital signatures can be checked and applied inside the same window as the annotation tools. Funding comes through optional donations, so nobody sells licences or seats, and nobody is contractually obliged to answer a support question.
What stands out
GPLv2+
Signature checks
Many formats
Where it costs you
Support on any given desktop is unconfirmed, because the site uses the label 'Multi-platform' alone.
No price or support plan is listed; the site offers a download and optional KDE donations.
Right for
Teams that value a GPL reader handling signatures, comics, EPub and DjVU
Wrong for
Offices wanting a vendor-backed support contract and a rollout toolkit
Not stated by the vendorFree software under GPLv2+, no price listed, optional donations to KDE
Perpetual-licence PDF editor with a feature-restricted free version available
Ranked #4 of 11 in Best PDF Reader Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Pack sizes run from one user to ten, with Corp Site and Corp World packs above that, and Editor Plus costs more than Editor at each size. Prices are in euros and stated as one-time fees.
The free version leaves roughly 30% of features restricted, and the page gives no trial length. Tracker Software Products is a wholly owned subsidiary of PDF-XChange Co Ltd, so the seller is a corporate group rather than one individual.
What stands out
Perpetual licence
Maintenance renewals
Corporate packs
Where it costs you
Editor Plus features require an Editor Plus licence, so the free version cannot unlock them.
Maintenance beyond the first year is bought separately, in two-year or three-year blocks.
Right for
Offices that prefer owning a licence to renting seats every year
Wrong for
Readers who only open and search files and want no purchase
Not stated by the vendorOne-time perpetual licence in two editions, a year of maintenance included, plus a restricted free version
Cross-platform annotation app with a free tier and team plans
Ranked #5 of 11 in Best PDF Reader Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Five platforms are listed: Windows, iOS, macOS, Android and the browser, which covers every desktop and phone system in the table. The step from the free tier to PRO is described only as additional storage and advanced tools.
Team plans use the names Pro Plus and Pro Unlimited, reached through Get Team Plan links. Without figures for storage or seats, the extra capacity cannot be compared with another vendor's offer.
What stands out
Windows to iOS
Team plans
Essentials tier
Where it costs you
The 30-day trial listed belongs to Drawboard Projects, so PDF PRO has no stated trial.
Team plans carry no prices or limits on the page, which blocks a budget estimate.
Right for
Mixed Windows, Apple and Android users who mark up files on tablets
Wrong for
Buyers who need a published price before asking for a quote
Not stated by the vendorFree essentials tier; PRO adds storage and advanced tools; Pro Plus and Pro Unlimited team plans are unpriced on the page
Apple-focused reader with yearly and lifetime Mac plans
Ranked #6 of 11 in Best PDF Reader Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Two paid routes exist: an annual subscription also shown as a weekly amount, and a lifetime payment limited to the Mac. Cross-device coverage therefore comes only with the subscription.
Each purchase route comes with a refund window of 30 days, which stands in for a trial, since none is described on the pricing page. The owner of record is Readdle Limited, and the pages read give neither an address nor a country for it.
What stands out
Apple devices
Lifetime option
Money-back guarantee
Where it costs you
The lifetime payment covers the Mac version only, so iPhone and iPad users still pay yearly.
The pricing page shows only Apple devices, so Windows and Android staff are not catered for.
Right for
Individuals on Apple hardware who want one payment for the Mac
Wrong for
Mixed-platform offices or buyers needing a stated trial period
Not stated by the vendorYearly subscription across iPhone, iPad and Mac, or a Mac-only lifetime payment; 30-day money-back guarantee
Browser, desktop and phone PDF tools from Apryse, metered daily
Ranked #7 of 11 in Best PDF Reader Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Platform coverage is wide: the web tool, the Xodo PDF Studio desktop edition for Windows, Mac and Linux, iOS, Android and a Google Workspace Marketplace listing. The web tools range from annotation and redaction to compressing and converting.
A banner tells visitors when the day's free use is spent, and the offer shown is 40% off a Document Suite for life. The Apryse name appears in the product title, which points to a larger group behind it.
What stands out
Daily usage cap
Over 30 web tools
Apryse family
Where it costs you
A 'Daily free use reached' banner caps casual use, and the size of the cap is not published.
The lifetime offer shows only a 40% discount, so the base price cannot be checked.
Right for
Occasional users converting or redacting files in a browser tab
Wrong for
Heavy daily users who cannot tolerate a usage ceiling
Not stated by the vendorDaily free use with an unstated limit; Document Suite offered as a discounted lifetime deal
Artifex rendering engine with bindings for C, Python, JavaScript and C#
Ranked #8 of 11 in Best PDF Reader Software in 2026.
Open sourcePricing on requestElsewhere
Input formats include PDF, Markdown, ePUB, PNG, JPG, TIFF, SVG, CBZ and XPS, while outputs cover PDF, text, HTML, PostScript, PCL and PNG. PyMuPDF serves Python, MuPDF.js serves Node.js and browsers, and MuPDF.NET serves C#.
The dual model means open source terms apply unless a commercial licence is bought. Copyright is held by Artifex Software Inc. for 2026, with owner, country and address absent from the pages.
What stands out
Developer library
Dual licence
Redaction and signing
Where it costs you
Commercial licence prices are hidden behind Contact Sales, so the cost of avoiding disclosure is unknown.
The pages are written for programmers, and no desktop reading app is described.
Right for
Developers embedding rendering, extraction or redaction inside their own product
Wrong for
Staff wanting an installable reader for daily document review
Not stated by the vendorOpen source licence for those accepting its terms; commercial licence without source disclosure quoted through Contact Sales
No-cost reader with Windows, Mac, mobile and browser versions
Ranked #9 of 11 in Best PDF Reader Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Deployment options are the strongest point: Group Policy, SCUP Catalog, XML configuration and an MSI installer, plus verified Citrix support. The reader covers XFA forms, shared reviews, handwritten and electronic signatures, and signature verification.
An AI Assistant integrating with ChatGPT is listed too. The free reader shows no feature or usage limits, but the Foxit PDF Editor offer begins with a 14-day trial and then points to a purchase page.
What stands out
Group Policy rollout
XFA forms
Citrix verified
Where it costs you
Editing needs Foxit PDF Editor, whose plan pages returned no readable prices.
The pages state neither headquarters nor ownership, only the name Foxit Software Incorporated.
Right for
IT teams deploying a no-cost reader through Group Policy or MSI
Wrong for
Buyers needing a posted price for the editing step
Not stated by the vendorFree reader; the separate editor starts on a 14-day trial, with volume licensing; plan prices unseen
Subscription and three-year-licence PDF suite with eSign included
Ranked #10 of 11 in Best PDF Reader Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Three routes to buy exist, mixing subscription seats with a term licence. Standard bills per user, per month, annually, and sales tax is added at checkout.
Plus brings volume discounts through the sales team, while Classic is a one-time payment for a term of three years. The trial gives full PDF and eSign access with no watermarks and asks for no credit card.
What stands out
14-day trial
Classic term licence
Online up to 20 seats
Where it costs you
The pricing page shows no amounts for Standard, Plus or Classic, so a budget needs a quote.
Classic is Windows only and runs for a three-year term, after which it must be rebought.
Right for
Windows offices that want a term licence beside a subscription option
Wrong for
Teams with more than 20 seats wanting online self-service purchase
Not stated by the vendorQuoted per seat: Standard billed annually per user, Plus through sales, Classic as a one-time three-year Windows licence; 14-day trial only
Free reader app, with Acrobat plans sold per month or year
Ranked #11 of 11 in Best PDF Reader Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Each tier appears in three price shapes: monthly, annual billed monthly and annual prepaid, with the monthly option costing the most. Individual prices include VAT, while team licences are shown excluding VAT and a trial is offered for up to 10 licences.
Studio sits above Pro. The free Acrobat Reader app is the entry point, and its limits are not stated on the pages read; the pricing page lists no one-time option.
What stands out
Reader app
Three paid tiers
Team licences
Where it costs you
Cancelling an annual plan billed monthly after 14 days costs half the remaining commitment.
Individual Standard shows no trial, so it must be bought before it can be tested.
Right for
Recipients who only need to open files others send them
Wrong for
Small offices wanting a one-time purchase instead of recurring billing
Not stated by the vendorFree reader app; Standard, Pro and Studio plans published monthly, annual billed monthly or prepaid, with team licences
PDF reader software displays PDF documents on a computer, tablet or phone, with search, navigation and annotation tools, and in some products form filling, digital signatures and light editing. Rather than compare features, settle the following points one after another.
01
Check who publishes a price
The split is 8 published against 3 quoted. If you want to compare numbers first, start with SumatraPDF, Skim, Okular, PDF-XChange Editor, Drawboard PDF, Xodo, Foxit PDF Reader, Adobe Acrobat Reader.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
Jurisdiction is a buying criterion here. The 11 vendors are spread over 1 countries (Elsewhere 11), and the home country determines which disclosure rules bind them.
03
Decide if open source matters
3 of these are open source: SumatraPDF, Skim, MuPDF. Hosting one yourself trades a subscription for maintenance.
PDF reader software: which operating system do you actually run?
Platform coverage splits this market faster than any feature does, and it is the quickest way to shorten the list. SumatraPDF is Windows only and Skim is macOS only, while PDF Expert names only Apple devices and gives its lifetime payment to the Mac alone. Drawboard PDF lists Windows, iOS, macOS, Android and a browser, and Foxit PDF Reader adds verified Citrix support on Windows 10 and 11.
Okular's site offers just the label 'Multi-platform', with no systems listed. A reader that is perfect on one desk becomes a support ticket on the next, so count the operating systems in your office first, then drop every product that misses one of them before comparing price or features. Test one real file on every platform, including scanned pages, forms and a long document, before buying any seats.
List every operating system and phone type in use
Check each vendor's page names your platform, not just 'multi-platform'
Confirm the portable or MSI route if installs are restricted
SumatraPDF, Skim or Okular: when a no-cost reader is enough
Three products here cost nothing and carry no seat count. SumatraPDF carries no advertising or subscription, Skim shows a free open source badge on SourceForge, and Okular is released under GPLv2+ with donations to KDE optional. Differences lie in what each adds: Skim ties into LaTeX through SyncTeX and BibDesk, Okular verifies and applies digital signatures and opens EPub and DjVU, and SumatraPDF offers a portable build.
Note also what the pages leave out. SumatraPDF and Skim do not name a licence, and none of the three has a support contract, so someone in your office must own questions and updates. Treat that duty as a cost, even where the licence is nothing, and name the person before rollout day.
Decide whether you need signatures, notes or just reading
Ask who answers support questions when no vendor exists
Record which licence each reader names, if any
Pricing PDF-XChange Editor, Nitro PDF and Adobe Acrobat Reader
Commercial readers split three ways. PDF-XChange Editor is owned outright after a single purchase, and maintenance beyond year one comes in two-year and three-year blocks. Nitro PDF mixes Standard subscription seats, Plus through sales and Classic, a three-year Windows licence, and shows no amounts on its page.
Adobe Acrobat Reader is a free app, with Acrobat Standard, Pro and Studio listed in CHF; leaving an annual plan billed monthly early costs half the remaining commitment. Foxit PDF Reader is free, but its editor is a separate 14-day trial. Total the three-year cost of each route for your headcount, including maintenance renewals, before the first demo. A perpetual key looks cheap in year one and can cost more by year three once renewals, packs and extra editions are added.
Total three years of seats, maintenance and renewals
Ask for written Nitro PDF figures before a pilot
Check the exit fee on annual plans billed monthly
MuPDF, Xodo and Drawboard PDF: libraries, browser tools and tablets
Not every entry is a desktop reader. MuPDF presents language bindings for C, Python, Node.js and C#, with an open source licence and a commercial one sold through Contact Sales, so it belongs to developers embedding rendering and redaction. Xodo gives over 30 browser tools and stops free use at a daily limit its page never quantifies.
Drawboard PDF has an essentials tier at no charge and two team plans, left unpriced. Match the shape to the job: embed MuPDF in a product, use Xodo for occasional conversions, and ask Drawboard for figures before planning a tablet rollout across a team. Write down which job each tool is meant to do, so a browser tool is never stretched into a daily desk reader.
Separate embedding needs from reading needs
Test Xodo's daily cap on a real workload
Request Drawboard team figures in writing
What goes wrong most often when buying PDF reader software
Assuming the free Adobe Acrobat Reader app edits files, when the page puts Standard, Pro and Studio behind the paid ladder.
Buying the PDF Expert lifetime payment for iPhone use, when that tier covers the Mac version only.
Rolling out Skim or SumatraPDF to a mixed office, when one is macOS only and the other Windows only.
Reading Drawboard's 30-day trial as a PDF PRO trial, when the page ties it to Drawboard Projects.
07
Frequently asked questions
7 answers
What is the best PDF reader software in 2026?
SumatraPDF takes first place among the 11 we reviewed. SumatraPDF is made by a named individual, Krzysztof Kowalczyk, and its own page promises no ads, no bundled software and no subscription, so there is nothing to buy and nothing to leave.
It runs on Windows 7 to 11 in 32-bit, 64-bit and ARM64 builds, and a portable version starts from removable media. Mac and Linux users are excluded, and the pages name no specific licence.
Which PDF reader tools publish their pricing?
8 of the 11, with the pricing model each one publishes:
SumatraPDF: Completely free and open source, with no ads, bundled software or subscription.
Skim: Free download on a SourceForge page, open source badge, no price listed.
Okular: Free software under GPLv2+, no price listed, optional donations to KDE.
PDF-XChange Editor: One-time perpetual licence in two editions, a year of maintenance included, plus a restricted free version.
Drawboard PDF: Free essentials tier; PRO adds storage and advanced tools; Pro Plus and Pro Unlimited team plans are unpriced on the page.
Xodo: Daily free use with an unstated limit; Document Suite offered as a discounted lifetime deal.
Foxit PDF Reader: Free reader; the separate editor starts on a 14-day trial, with volume licensing; plan prices unseen.
Adobe Acrobat Reader: Free reader app; Standard, Pro and Studio plans published monthly, annual billed monthly or prepaid, with team licences.
The remaining 3 sell by quote.
Is there a free PDF reader tool?
SumatraPDF, Skim, Okular, Drawboard PDF, Foxit PDF Reader, Adobe Acrobat Reader come with a no-cost entry point, a free plan or a self-hosted edition.
Where are these PDF reader software vendors established?
Across 1 countries (Elsewhere 11):
SumatraPDF: Not stated by the vendor.
Skim: Not stated by the vendor.
Okular: Not stated by the vendor.
PDF-XChange Editor: Not stated by the vendor.
Drawboard PDF: Not stated by the vendor.
PDF Expert: Not stated by the vendor.
Xodo: Not stated by the vendor.
MuPDF: Not stated by the vendor.
Foxit PDF Reader: Not stated by the vendor.
Nitro PDF: Not stated by the vendor.
Adobe Acrobat Reader: Not stated by the vendor.
Which PDF reader tools are open source?
SumatraPDF, Skim, MuPDF.
What should you use instead of SumatraPDF?
Second is Skim, which suits Mac researchers who write in LaTeX and annotate papers in margins. Third is Okular, which suits teams that value a GPL reader handling signatures, comics, EPub and DjVU.
Who should not buy SumatraPDF?
Mixed Mac, Linux and Windows fleets wanting one shared reader. The FAQ states it is not available for Mac or Linux, so a mixed office needs a second reader..
If a PDF reader software product of yours deserves a place among these 11, say what it is and who it serves. Inclusion rests with us alone. See software advice for the rules.