A music learning app teaches an instrument or voice through video courses, software that listens, or replies from a human teacher.
We ranked eleven of them on how plainly each states its price and trial, whether one small company stands behind it, how well its instrument coverage matches a single learner, and what an unpaid user can try.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What music learning apps software does
Music learning apps give instrument or singing lessons through video courses, notation that follows the player, or software that listens and scores timing, so practice continues at home between lessons.
To rank music learning apps tools we asked, in turn, how much work setup takes, what it truly costs, whether data can be taken back out, whether leaving is possible, and who the product suits. One rule sits on top of those tests: places 1 to 3 go to challengers, vendors outside the best-known brands in a category, wherever the category has them; the established names follow from place 4 in their ranked order. Why those five, and why there is no score out of ten, is on the how we work page.
Piano practice software that scores your playing and tracks sight-reading
Ranked #1 of 11 in Best Music Learning Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
Practice Mode waits for the player, while Play Mode awards scores and feedback. SASR sight-reading tests track progress over time. Songs and exercises include titles from Hal Leonard, Alfred and FJH Music Company.
It runs on iOS, Android, Windows, Mac and Chromebook, with MIDI keyboards, acoustic pianos and digital keyboards. The weak spot is the library claim: the homepage mentions 3,000+ exercises in one place and 1,200+ in another.
What stands out
Sight-reading tests
MIDI and acoustic input
Hal Leonard library
Where it costs you
The homepage gives inconsistent exercise counts, so the true library size is unclear.
The free plan holds only a fraction of the premium library.
Right for
Pianists who want scored practice and sight-reading progress they can measure
Wrong for
Learners who want video teachers rather than scored exercises
Not stated by the vendorFree plan with a monthly and an annual premium tier; a studio rate for schools
Piano lessons that wait for you to play the right notes
Ranked #2 of 11 in Best Music Learning Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
The core idea is simple: you play, the app listens, and the lesson stops until the correct notes sound. Beside the notation runs a video of an expert performance, with slow motion, looping and separate right-hand and left-hand practice.
The site mentions cooperation with Yamaha and ABRSM and lists Google Play and the Apple App Store. Pricing is hidden behind the free trial, which makes budgeting a guess.
What stands out
Wait Mode
Sheet music with video
Yamaha and ABRSM cooperation
Where it costs you
Only pianos and keyboards are covered, so a household with a guitarist needs another service.
Homepage lists no plans or prices, so cost cannot be compared before signing up.
Right for
Adult beginners who want a piano teacher on video with listening feedback
Wrong for
Anyone learning guitar, drums or voice instead of keys
GermanyTrial offered with no obligation; the homepage lists no plans
Browser notation player that syncs sheet music with recordings
Ranked #3 of 11 in Best Music Learning Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
In a music learning shortlist, Soundslice is the practice workbench rather than the course. The player ties notation to YouTube clips and MP3 files, lets you drag a loop, slow the tempo, transpose and solo parts, and a scanner converts PDFs and photos into interactive sheet music.
Teachers share lessons by link. The editor has a free tier for basic use, but you must bring the material, and plan details sat behind a link we could not read.
What stands out
Synced recordings
Notation and tab editor
Sheet music scanner
Where it costs you
Nothing in the sources shows a built-in curriculum, so a beginner has no ready path to follow.
Paid plan content was not readable, so the cost of heavier use cannot be worked out.
Right for
Players and teachers who learn from recordings and want to loop hard passages
Wrong for
Beginners looking for a structured course with a fixed order of lessons
Not stated by the vendorBasic editor use on a free tier; plan details sit behind a link
Singing practice with an AI coach, range test and song finder
Ranked #4 of 11 in Best Music Learning Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The AI Vocal Coach listens through the microphone, works out your range and leads short sessions that adapt over time. Around it sit a pitch accuracy test, a pitch game with a leaderboard and a stats dashboard.
Song Finder searches 59,000 songs, in the original key or transposed, and the Songbook adds lyrics and chords. Two courses run for 4 weeks and 21 lessons.
What stands out
AI vocal coach
Vocal range test
Song Finder
Where it costs you
No prices or plan tiers are shown, and no trial is described.
The web version needs Google Chrome and a microphone.
Right for
Singers who want range testing and a coach that adapts each session
Wrong for
Instrumentalists looking for tutorials on piano, guitar or drums
Not stated by the vendorPersonal plan mentioned without a price; no trial described
Video lessons and live masterclasses across many classical instruments
Ranked #5 of 11 in Best Music Learning Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Content arrives as courses, interviews and play-along lessons from instructors, plus live virtual masterclasses and a member community with personalised feedback.
Coverage also reaches trumpet and other instruments beyond the strings and keys. A 14-day trial is advertised on the homepage. What follows the trial is the open question, since neither a plan table nor a working pricing page was found.
What stands out
Live masterclasses
Many instruments
Member feedback
Where it costs you
The pricing link is a placeholder, and the site's /pricing address returned 404.
Only an email address is listed for contact, with no postal address.
Right for
Households or students spread over several orchestral and classical instruments
Wrong for
Buyers who must see plan prices before they register
Not stated by the vendorTrial of two weeks advertised; plan details are not shown on the site
Video exchange lessons where established artists answer your recordings
Ranked #6 of 11 in Best Music Learning Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
A seven-day trial opens the school's lesson structure and all its lessons. Courses and song lessons come from established artists across guitar, banjo, mandolin, fiddle, piano, ukulele, bass and vocals.
The library of past video exchanges can be browsed on every plan, which lets you judge the teaching before paying. The catch is that feedback arrives from a person, not an app, so replies depend on that artist.
What stands out
Video Exchanges
Artist feedback
Roots and folk instruments
Where it costs you
Personalised artist replies require a Premium subscription.
Neither the homepage nor the linked pricing page showed any prices.
Right for
Intermediate players who value a named artist reviewing their submitted videos
Wrong for
Casual learners wanting instant app-style feedback without waiting
Not stated by the vendorSeven-day trial; personal feedback needs a premium subscription
Large guitar video library with synced tabs and backing tracks
Ranked #7 of 11 in Best Music Learning Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The scale is 1,000+ courses with synced notation, looping, slowdown and multi-angle camera views, according to its FAQ. All Access includes backing tracks and unlimited jams.
Web browsers work, with apps for Windows, Mac, Linux, iOS and Android. A seven-day trial is offered. The footer shows sister brands, so the catalogue may overlap with other services from the same group, which you would pay for separately.
What stands out
85,000+ video lessons
Synced tabs
Backing tracks
Where it costs you
The monthly price is hidden behind a toggle, so only the annual rate is easy to read.
Unpaid access is limited to sample lessons on most course pages.
Right for
Guitarists who want a huge course catalogue with tabs they can slow down
Wrong for
Singers and pianists, as the catalogue centres on guitar
Not stated by the vendorAnnual All Access subscription listed; seven-day trial offered
Lessons for strings, keys and voice with listening feedback
Ranked #8 of 11 in Best Music Learning Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Interactive lessons draw on 2,000+ songs and 9,000+ lessons, with real-time feedback on accuracy and timing. It works with acoustic or electric instruments, needing no cables or microphones, and runs on Android, iOS and desktop.
One Family membership stretches across four people, though no price is displayed. Because one subscription spans five skills, depth on any single one may be less than a specialist offers.
What stands out
Real-time feedback
Five skills
Family membership
Where it costs you
No prices are shown on the homepage, including for the Family membership.
The only no-cost way in is a seven-day trial of Premium+.
Right for
Families where each person plays a different instrument or sings
Wrong for
Learners wanting a human teacher giving personal notes
Not stated by the vendorPremium+ is the paid plan; prices absent from the homepage; seven-day trial
Piano, guitar and singing apps from a maker of several apps
Ranked #9 of 11 in Best Music Learning Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The maker offers Simply Piano, Simply Guitar, Simply Sing, Simply Draw and Simply Tune. Simply Sing is described as an AI singing companion that adapts to the user's voice and range.
Simply Tune, a tuner for guitar, bass and ukulele, is called 100% free. Piano pages exist for Apple Vision Pro, Google Android XR and Meta AI Glasses, but no detail explains them. Only the tuner is clearly free.
What stands out
Simply Sing
Simply Tune tuner
XR versions
Where it costs you
No prices are shown and no trial is mentioned on the homepage.
The headset versions are listed without any explanation of how they work.
Right for
Beginners who want a phone-first start and might add guitar or singing
Wrong for
Buyers who need cost and trial terms clear before downloading
Not stated by the vendorIndividual and family subscriptions mentioned; amounts are not shown
Structured piano courses and thirty-day challenges from Musora
Ranked #10 of 11 in Best Music Learning Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Course subjects include chords, sight-reading, harmony, technique, jazz and blues, arranged as beginner, intermediate and classical tracks. Pianote also posts free lessons on YouTube, Instagram, TikTok and Facebook, so you can sample the teaching style without registering.
A mobile app exists for iOS and Android. The unknown is what follows a start for no payment, because neither a plan list nor a working pricing page appeared.
What stands out
30-day challenges
Jazz and blues
Musora platform
Where it costs you
A /pricing address returned 404 and trial terms after sign-up are missing.
It shares a platform with sister brands, so it is not a standalone vendor.
Right for
Piano learners drawn to short challenges and styles such as jazz and blues
Wrong for
Learners wanting published plans and a single-product vendor
CanadaCourse buttons offer a start with no payment; plans do not appear on the site
Online drum courses and thirty-day programmes under the Musora banner
Ranked #11 of 11 in Best Music Learning Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Courses include 30 Day Drummer, 30 Day Double Bass, 30 Day Odd Time, Kick, Snare, Hat and Off the Charts. The 30 Day Drummer course is promoted as free when you try Musora.
Free content covers a blog, rudiment guides, a podcast and video lessons. Apps are on the App Store and Google Play, and a Drumeo Kids App is linked. No limits on devices or lesson access are stated.
What stands out
30 Day Drummer
Rudiment guides
Drumeo Kids App
Where it costs you
The homepage omits plan prices and trial length.
Drums only, so it does not help a household that wants other instruments.
Right for
Drummers who like short programmes plus a blog, podcast and rudiment guides
Wrong for
Anyone wanting piano, guitar or singing lessons instead of drums
CanadaSeveral courses start with no payment; plan prices are not shown on the homepage
Music learning apps give instrument or singing lessons through video courses, notation that follows the player, or software that listens and scores timing, so practice continues at home between lessons. Feature lists look alike, so we would settle these points one at a time instead.
01
Start with pricing transparency
Prices are public at 2 products (Piano Marvel, Soundslice) and on request at the remaining 9, so budget time for quotes if your favourite is in that second group.
02
Look at where the vendor sits
Headquarters range over 3 countries and 3 regions: Elsewhere 8, North America 2, Europe 1. Legal exposure follows the vendor, not only the data centre, so read the contracting entity before you sign.
Choosing a music learning app by teaching method, not instrument list
Three methods hide behind the phrase. Flowkey and Piano Marvel listen to you play and react; Wait Mode in Flowkey pauses until the right notes sound, and Piano Marvel scores a performance. TrueFire, Drumeo and Pianote are video libraries, where a teacher talks and you copy. ArtistWorks adds a person: you send a recording and the artist answers.
Mixing these up is the commonest reason a subscription gets abandoned. A learner who needs correction gains little from a catalogue of 85,000 videos, and a learner who wants variety may find a scoring tool narrow. Decide whether you need listening feedback, a catalogue, or a named human reviewer, then shortlist only products built around that method before comparing anything else.
Name the method you need: listening feedback, video catalogue or human review
Check that the app can hear your actual instrument, acoustic or electric
Ask who replies when you are stuck, software or a person
How to read trial terms at Yousician, Tonebase and TrueFire
Trials differ more than prices do. Yousician offers seven days of Premium+, Tonebase advertises 14 days, TrueFire gives seven days of All Access, and ArtistWorks gives seven days with access to every lesson. Pianote and Drumeo say only that courses start with no payment and do not state how long the trial runs or what follows it.
Flowkey offers a no-obligation trial and keeps its plans off the homepage. A short trial rewards a learner who can practise daily from the first evening, and punishes someone who starts on a busy week. Put the cancellation date in a calendar before you enter card details, and write down the price shown at the moment the trial converts, since several of these sites show none beforehand.
Note the trial length and diarise the cancellation date on day one
Screenshot the price shown at the point the trial converts
Confirm which lessons the trial opens, since some limit you to samples
Why one subscription rarely suits a mixed-instrument household
Yousician teaches five skills in one app, and its Family membership bundles four Premium+ accounts. Tonebase reaches strings, winds, keys and voice. Specialists go narrower: Drumeo is drums, Flowkey is piano, Singing Carrots is voice. Breadth helps a family and costs depth, because an app that teaches five skills ships fewer lessons per skill than a library built around one.
Piano Marvel shows the other end, with 25,000+ songs and exercises for a single instrument. Count who will actually practise each week, list their instruments, and test whether one broad plan beats two narrow ones before paying, because a tier shared by four people only saves money when all four log in, and one idle account costs the same as an active one.
List every learner and their instrument before choosing a plan
Compare one broad plan against two specialist subscriptions
Check how many accounts a family or household tier really includes
What Soundslice and Singing Carrots add beyond the course apps
Some tools are not courses at all. Soundslice syncs notation with YouTube videos and MP3 files, so you click a note, loop a bar and slow it down, and its editor lets a teacher build lessons and share them by link. Singing Carrots tests your vocal range, then searches 59,000 songs that suit it and coaches short sessions through the microphone.
These suit a learner who already has a teacher or a repertoire and needs better practice mechanics, rather than a curriculum. They also reduce risk, since the free editor at Soundslice lets you try the player before spending anything. Pair a practice tool with a course only when the course leaves a gap you can name, such as slowdown for a hard passage or finding songs you can sing.
Decide whether you need a curriculum or better practice mechanics
Try the free editor or range test before paying for anything
Confirm the tool runs on your device, since one needs Chrome and a microphone
What goes wrong most often when buying music learning apps software
Paying for a family tier when only one person will practise, so the extra accounts sit unused.
Assuming a long song count means a good beginner path, when a catalogue can hold thousands of titles with no order.
Forgetting that a trial converts to a paid plan automatically, then finding the price only on the card statement.
Picking a listening app for an instrument it cannot hear well, then blaming the lessons when the feedback is wrong.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best music learning apps in 2026?
Our ranking of 11 puts Piano Marvel first. Piano Marvel publishes its plans with prices, including a free plan with 150+ songs, which most rivals here do not. The scoring and sight-reading tests suit someone who wants measurement rather than entertainment.
The homepage contradicts itself on exercise counts, and the site names Piano Marvel LLC without a country, so check what the paid library holds before you commit.
Which music learning apps tools publish their pricing?
2 of the 11, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Piano Marvel: Free plan with a monthly and an annual premium tier; a studio rate for schools.
Soundslice: Basic editor use on a free tier; plan details sit behind a link.
The other 9 quote per organisation.
Is there a free music learning apps tool?
Piano Marvel, Soundslice can be used for free, either as a free plan or a self-hosted edition.
Where are these music learning apps vendors established?
In 3 countries across 3 regions: Elsewhere 8, North America 2, Europe 1.
Piano Marvel: Not stated by the vendor.
Flowkey: Germany.
Soundslice: Not stated by the vendor.
Singing Carrots: Not stated by the vendor.
Tonebase: Not stated by the vendor.
ArtistWorks: Not stated by the vendor.
TrueFire: Not stated by the vendor.
Yousician: Not stated by the vendor.
Simply Piano: Not stated by the vendor.
Pianote: Canada.
Drumeo: Canada.
What should you use instead of Piano Marvel?
The next in line are Flowkey, aimed at Adult beginners who want a piano teacher on video with listening feedback, and Soundslice, aimed at Players and teachers who learn from recordings and want to loop hard passages.
Who should not buy Piano Marvel?
Learners who want video teachers rather than scored exercises. The homepage gives inconsistent exercise counts, so the true library size is unclear..
This list covers 11 music learning apps products. A product we left out can be put to us by its maker, with a short note on its purpose and its customers; we decide on inclusion ourselves. The rules are under software advice.