Photo organizer software turns piles of camera and phone files into a searchable library: albums, tags, face grouping, duplicate handling and AI search.
This ranking puts smaller independent makers first, then compares setup effort, what storage and AI add-ons do to the bill, how easily originals leave again, and whether the product organises your folders or hosts them.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What photo organizer software does
Photo organizer software catalogues pictures and videos with albums, keywords, face recognition and search, so big personal or business archives can be found, sorted and exported without hunting through folders.
Every photo organizer tool was judged on five points in a fixed order: setup effort, cost in practice, how data is exported, how easily you can leave, and the buyer it was designed for. Top three places belong to challengers outside the best-known brands whenever possible, and incumbents follow from four. Our how we work page explains the choice of these five and why we give no mark out of ten.
Self-run library tool with a free LITE plan and monthly PLUS
Ranked #1 of 13 in Best Photo Organizer Software in 2026.
Free tierSelf-hostablePublished pricingElsewhere
The pricing page splits two plans. LITE is free, and PLUS costs five dollars a month or forty-two a year, auto-renewing and before tax, which the page calls thirty percent less than monthly billing.
New PLUS subscribers get fifteen days without a credit card. Command-line validation is part of PLUS as well. Because the home page promises a permanent home on hardware you control, the real work is the NAS or desktop setup rather than the licence.
What stands out
Self-hosted
Docker on a NAS
Auto-organising
Where it costs you
Automatic organisation, archiving and trash removal belong to PLUS, not to LITE.
Neither plan states a library size limit, so large archives need a test run first.
Right for
Hobbyists who want a tidy library on their own NAS or desktop
Wrong for
People who expect a managed cloud with phone backup built in
Not stated by the vendorFree LITE plan; PLUS billed monthly or yearly with a 15-day trial that needs no card; tax excluded
Offline AI photo search sold as software, not as a subscription
Ranked #2 of 13 in Best Photo Organizer Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Search is the product here. Excire Foto 2027 looks for subjects, people, faces, moods and text visible inside pictures, and the page says it needs neither a subscription nor a cloud.
Lightroom Classic users get a separate Excire Search 2026, and businesses get an Office Edition with shared databases, while software companies can license an API for image analysis. Trial links exist for each edition, yet the missing price tags force you to open the shop.
What stands out
Offline AI search
Lightroom Classic version
Office Edition
Where it costs you
No price or billing term appears on the site, only shop links.
Foto 2027 needs Windows 11 or macOS 12 or later, which excludes older machines.
Right for
Photographers who want AI search over local files with no cloud
Wrong for
Teams wanting browser access from several remote locations
Not stated by the vendorQuoted through shop links; trial downloads exist for Foto, Search and the Office Edition
Metadata-first asset manager keeping folders and originals in your hands
Ranked #3 of 13 in Best Photo Organizer Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
Photo Supreme is built around the idea that your folders and originals stay where they are while the catalogue adds structure. Linux, Windows and macOS are covered.
The Server Edition counts concurrent licences instead of named users, sold singly or in a pack of five, and an Integrated Photo Supreme Online is also listed. All prices are in USD with indicative VAT, and a money-back guarantee accompanies the trial mentioned on the pricing page.
What stands out
Concurrent licences
Windows, macOS, Linux
Metadata control
Where it costs you
The pricing page hides every amount, so budgeting needs a separate enquiry.
Trial length is stated as 14 days on one page and 30 days on another.
Right for
Photographers with large folder trees who want hands-on metadata control
Wrong for
Buyers who want a plain per-user monthly price list
United StatesQuoted per edition (Single User, Server by concurrent licence); trial of 14 or 30 days depending on the page
KDE-family desktop manager with face recognition and no price list
Ranked #4 of 13 in Best Photo Organizer Software in 2026.
Free tierOpen sourcePublished pricingElsewhere
This is the long-running desktop option in the list, with copyright held by the digiKam team from 2001 to 2026. Albums, tags, AI-assisted tagging, facial recognition, advanced search and batch editing and publishing are all named on its home page.
The same page says it respects your freedom and privacy, and the repository lists GPL-2.0 plus two other licences. Nothing on the site mentions a paid edition, which makes the comparison with commercial rivals mostly about effort.
What stands out
GPL desktop app
100,000-image libraries
Face recognition
Where it costs you
The site names no vendor, company or support contract behind the software.
It is a desktop application, so phones and other computers need their own access route.
Right for
Enthusiasts with huge local archives who want tagging and face search
Wrong for
Teams that need a hosted service with support terms
Not stated by the vendorFree, open source desktop application with a GPL and LGPL licence; no paid plans appear
MIT-licensed self-hosted service with machine-learning face and object search
Ranked #5 of 13 in Best Photo Organizer Software in 2026.
Open sourceSelf-hostablePricing on requestElsewhere
Beyond search, the repository lists multiple users, shared albums, public links and single sign-on through OpenID Connect. A map view uses reverse geocoding, events become automatic albums, and duplicates are detected.
Existing folders can be imported and uploads arrive from web and mobile apps, with an Expo app for Android and iOS included. The sources offer no hosted edition, so every user of LibrePhotos is also its administrator.
What stands out
MIT licence
OpenID Connect sign-on
RAW and HEIC
Where it costs you
With the project website unreachable when we looked, the repository is the only source.
No company, support offer or paid edition is named anywhere.
Right for
Tinkerers who want a permissively licensed server with semantic search
Wrong for
Organisations that need a vendor to hold accountable
Not stated by the vendorOpen source under the MIT licence, run on your own server; the repository lists no price
Desktop asset manager with AI tagging billed per thousand images
Ranked #6 of 13 in Best Photo Organizer Software in 2026.
Self-hostablePricing on requestElsewhere
Daminion widens the category from photos to videos, documents and designs, adding video transcripts and document indexing. Deployment comes in three forms: on-premise on a NAS or file server, an on-cloud content hub, or a hybrid.
Non-profit and grant-funded organisations can obtain a lifetime licence at an unstated price. No user, storage or asset caps are listed, and a demo can be booked instead of downloading a trial, which puts a sales conversation before any hands-on test.
What stands out
On-premise or cloud
Metered AI tagging
Non-profit lifetime licence
Where it costs you
Core pricing is request-only and the add-on currency is not named.
Tagging fees scale with asset volume, which makes large archives unpredictable.
Right for
Organisations indexing mixed photos, videos and documents on a shared NAS
Wrong for
Individuals wanting a flat licence with open pricing
Not stated by the vendorAnnual core subscription, price on request; AI tagging add-on metered per 1,000 images; demo instead of trial
Berlin-made self-hosted library with a community edition and annual tiers
Ranked #7 of 13 in Best Photo Organizer Software in 2026.
Free tierSelf-hostablePublished pricingElsewhere
PhotoPrism is a library you run yourself, with the AGPL Community edition as the entry point. Moving to Essentials or Plus removes the rate limit on reverse geocoding, and PikaPods is the managed alternative from 6.50 USD monthly.
Only a public demo is offered for testing, and no trial of a paid plan is listed. The operator, PhotoPrism UG, says it works from Berlin.
What stands out
AGPL Community edition
PikaPods hosting
Annual billing
Where it costs you
Its managed hosting route limits images to 150 MP, compared with 900 MP on self-hosted tiers.
Essentials and Plus charges recur until cancelled and partial periods are not credited.
Right for
Self-hosters comfortable choosing between a community build and annual paid tiers
Wrong for
Buyers who want a paid tier trial before committing
Not stated by the vendorFree Community edition under AGPL; Essentials and Plus billed annually; PikaPods managed hosting; no refund for partial periods
Self-hosted photo and video server with Android and iOS apps
Ranked #8 of 13 in Best Photo Organizer Software in 2026.
Open sourceSelf-hostablePricing on requestElsewhere
Immich arrives as a server download plus Android and iOS apps, licensed AGPL-3.0 on its repository. The home page lists no prices, and a Sponsor button on GitHub carries no amounts.
Because a link called My Immich is left unexplained, readers cannot confirm a hosted route. FUTO is listed under the Company heading. In this ranking it sits mid-table: capable on paper, but the operating burden falls on you.
What stands out
AGPL-3.0 server
Phone apps
FUTO-listed
Where it costs you
Whoever installs the server also maintains it, since no hosted service is confirmed.
The page gives no price, owner country or support terms to weigh against.
Right for
Households turning a home server into their own phone photo backup
Wrong for
Offices wanting a priced contract with a named support route
Not stated by the vendorOpen source AGPL-3.0 server you run yourself; no prices are listed; sponsorship offered on GitHub
Per-seat commercial licence table beside a freeware tier for home use
Ranked #9 of 13 in Best Photo Organizer Software in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingElsewhere
For this category XnView MP is the plain browsing option. The MP edition is the recommended download, with the older Classic edition kept as legacy, and a few features exist only in MP.
Home users pay nothing, and companies read a euro table that starts at 29.00 per licence and ends at 3.90 above one thousand. Since billing is not described, ask whether renewal applies before budgeting a rollout.
What stands out
Freeware for home
Volume licence table
MP and Classic editions
Where it costs you
Firms cannot rely on the freeware terms, which stop at private, educational and non-profit users.
Neither a trial nor a one-time versus recurring statement appears beside the prices.
Right for
Small offices wanting a simple browser with a price list known upfront
Wrong for
Groups needing shared catalogues or server-side search
Not stated by the vendorFreeware for home, school and charity use; published per-licence table that falls with volume; billing basis not stated
Cloud photo storage with a 10 GB plan, family sharing and self-hosting
Ranked #10 of 13 in Best Photo Organizer Software in 2026.
Free tierSelf-hostablePublished pricingNorth America
Ente leans toward storage and sync more than cataloguing. The free plan gives 10 GB with one replica, 100 Locker items and community support, while paid tiers raise this to three replicas and 1,000 Locker items.
Prices run from 2.49 USD a month at 50 GB to 19.99 USD at 2000 GB, and each referred paying customer adds 10 GB. The page also says Ente can be self-hosted through a command-line interface on your own servers.
What stands out
Storage tiers
Family sharing
Replicas
Where it costs you
Euro prices in the page data do not match the dollar prices displayed.
The free tier has one replica and community support only.
Right for
Families wanting shared storage across several phones and desktop computers
Wrong for
Photographers needing a catalogue built over local folders
United StatesFree 10 GB plan; four paid storage tiers billed monthly or yearly; up to five family members share one plan
Three 2027 editions with generative AI tools and a trial button
Ranked #11 of 13 in Best Photo Organizer Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Photo Studio 2027 lists Home at 59.95 USD in sale, Professional at 99.95 and Ultimate at 149.95, against full prices of 69.99, 119.99 and 179.99. New in this version are AI Face Edit improvements next to the other items named above.
A separate ACDSee 365 Cloud is linked as a subscription without a price. The AI list leans toward editing, so the product competes with pure organisers only partway.
What stands out
Three editions
Generative AI tools
Mac presale
Where it costs you
The billing basis is not stated, so one-off or recurring cost is unclear.
The Mac edition is a presale with no price shown.
Right for
Photographers wanting culling tags and editing together inside one suite
Wrong for
Buyers who want to settle a price without a sale
Not stated by the vendorPublished sale prices for Home, Professional and Ultimate; billing basis not stated; free trial of unstated length
Unlimited-storage plans for personal, family and business use
Ranked #12 of 13 in Best Photo Organizer Software in 2026.
Free tierPricing on requestElsewhere
The Personal plan includes personalised setup, and the Business plan includes a dedicated account manager. Both state unlimited photos, videos and docs. Mylio Family and Mylio SecureCloud, an optional cloud storage service, are listed without prices or storage limits.
Because the page offers two buttons, one reading Get Special Offer, a buyer cannot tell what the offer is until clicking through. The footer reads 2025 MYLIO, LLC.
What stands out
Unlimited storage
Business plan
SecureCloud option
Where it costs you
No price, currency or billing period is visible on the pricing page.
Trial terms behind the sign-up buttons are not given.
Right for
Households and small firms wanting plan tiers with no storage cap
Wrong for
Anyone who must see a figure before signing up
Not stated by the vendorQuoted per plan, since the pricing page shows no amounts; Personal and Business variants; optional SecureCloud storage
Open source gallery with French-hosted plans and a self-hosted route
Ranked #13 of 13 in Best Photo Organizer Software in 2026.
Open sourceSelf-hostablePublished pricingElsewhere
Piwigo works as hosted storage first and organiser second. Four Cloud plans span 10 GB to 1000 GB with a 30-day trial on each, plus add-ons priced per month in blocks of 50 to 1000 GB.
Hosting is in France, a self-hosted option exists, and exports are allowed whenever you wish. Payment by bank transfer is offered inside the EU, yet the site names no company.
What stands out
French hosting
Storage-sized plans
Data export
Where it costs you
The entry plan offers only 10 GB, at a monthly rate that adds up quickly for archives.
Design and print formats such as PSD, TIFF or PDF are excluded from the lowest plan.
Right for
Clubs and archives wanting French-hosted storage with an easy export route
Wrong for
Individuals who compare plans by cost per gigabyte
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly plans billed annually by storage size, 30-day trial; storage add-ons priced; self-hosted option
Photo organizer software catalogues pictures and videos with albums, keywords, face recognition and search, so big personal or business archives can be found, sorted and exported without hunting through folders. Compare on the following points, in this order, before you compare features.
01
Work out how much a sales call is worth to you
6 vendors on this page sell by quote, while 7 publish a pricing model you can read today: PhotoStructure, digiKam, PhotoPrism, XnView MP, Ente Photos, ACDSee Photo Studio, Piwigo.
02
Weigh the vendor's home jurisdiction
Look at the contracting entity: these 13 vendors sit in 2 countries, split by region as Elsewhere 11, North America 2. The servers can be anywhere; the legal obligations follow the company.
03
Consider whether you want the source
Source code is available for digiKam, LibrePhotos, Immich, Piwigo. Running it yourself swaps the licence fee for your own upkeep.
Photo organizer software: folders on disk, a server at home, or a hosted cloud
Buyers of photo organizer software are choosing between three architectures before they compare features. digiKam, XnView MP and IDimager Photo Supreme work on files that stay in your folders. Immich, LibrePhotos and PhotoPrism run as servers that you install and maintain, and PhotoStructure offers the same self-run idea with Docker on a NAS. Ente Photos and Mylio Photos lean toward sync and storage across devices.
Each choice moves the weekend of work in a different place: a desktop app needs a disk plan, a server needs updates, and a cloud plan needs a card. Decide where the originals will live in three years, then drop every product that cannot keep them there. Test restores on a second machine, because a catalogue that works only on the computer where it was built is a weak archive.
Write down where originals will sit: local disk, NAS or provider storage
Separate desktop catalogues from servers before comparing features
Check the operating systems each edition runs on, such as Linux or Windows
Photo organizer software pricing: one licence, annual tier or storage plan
Price shapes in this list do not line up. XnView MP is freeware at home and publishes a falling per-licence table for companies, while PhotoPrism bills Essentials and Plus annually with no refund for partial periods. Ente Photos charges by storage size, Piwigo by hosted plan plus storage add-ons, and Daminion adds a per-1,000-image fee for AI tagging on top of an annual subscription.
Excire Foto, Mylio Photos and IDimager Photo Supreme show no amounts on the pages we read. ACDSee Photo Studio publishes sale prices without a billing basis. Convert every offer into the cost of your actual archive over three years, and ask for missing figures in writing.
Estimate your archive size in GB and your image count
Ask whether each licence is one-off or recurring
Add AI tagging and extra storage to the three-year cost
AI search in Excire Foto, digiKam and LibrePhotos: where the processing runs
AI is now the main selling point, yet vendors place it differently. Excire Foto states 'No subscription. No cloud.' and searches by subject, person, mood and visible text. digiKam names AI-assisted tagging and face recognition in an open source desktop application, and LibrePhotos lists face recognition, object detection and search by meaning on a server you run.
Daminion meters its tagging per 1,000 images, which means cost rises with every import. ACDSee Photo Studio adds generative tools, aimed more at editing than finding. Ask where the models execute, whether tagging is included or billed by volume, and whether your pictures leave your machine when it runs. Run the same test folder through two candidates and compare the hits.
Find out whether tagging runs locally or in a cloud
Test face search on 500 of your own pictures
Ask if AI tagging is included or metered per image
Leaving a photo organizer: Piwigo exports, IDimager folders and library formats
The exit decides whether an organizer was a good purchase, because a library is only as portable as its metadata. Piwigo says data can be exported at any time, and IDimager Photo Supreme keeps folders, metadata and originals under the user's control. LibrePhotos can import existing folders, so a first library is not a lock-in step, and PhotoStructure promises a permanent home for photos on hardware you control.
Ente Photos adds replicas of paid libraries, though a hosted plan still raises the question of how the originals come back. Before committing, move 1,000 files in and out, then check that ratings, keywords and album structure survive the round trip. If a product stores its own database beside your folders, ask what that database contains and whether another program can read it later.
Export a test batch before paying
Check that captions and keywords stay with the files
Confirm originals remain in folders you can open elsewhere
What goes wrong most often when buying photo organizer software
Choosing a gallery host such as Piwigo when the real need is culling and tagging of camera files, a job closer to digiKam or IDimager Photo Supreme.
Treating a free home licence as a business licence, although XnView MP states that a company using it must buy one.
Running Immich or LibrePhotos on a spare machine without a backup plan, since both put the operation of the server on you.
Judging cost by the sale price at ACDSee Photo Studio or an entry plan at Ente Photos, then missing storage tiers and AI fees later.
07
Frequently asked questions
8 answers
What is the best photo organizer software in 2026?
Our ranking of 13 puts PhotoStructure first. PhotoStructure, Inc. keeps photos and videos on hardware you control and runs on Windows, macOS, Linux or as a Docker container on a NAS.
LITE costs nothing, while PLUS adds automatic library organisation, archiving and trash removal. It opens our list because the price list is public and the trial asks for no card. Library size limits are not stated for either plan, and no country is shown.
Which photo organizer tools publish their pricing?
7 of the 13, with the pricing model each one publishes:
PhotoStructure: Free LITE plan; PLUS billed monthly or yearly with a 15-day trial that needs no card; tax excluded.
digiKam: Free, open source desktop application with a GPL and LGPL licence; no paid plans appear.
PhotoPrism: Free Community edition under AGPL; Essentials and Plus billed annually; PikaPods managed hosting; no refund for partial periods.
XnView MP: Freeware for home, school and charity use; published per-licence table that falls with volume; billing basis not stated.
Ente Photos: Free 10 GB plan; four paid storage tiers billed monthly or yearly; up to five family members share one plan.
ACDSee Photo Studio: Published sale prices for Home, Professional and Ultimate; billing basis not stated; free trial of unstated length.
Piwigo: Published monthly plans billed annually by storage size, 30-day trial; storage add-ons priced; self-hosted option.
The other 6 quote per organisation.
Is there a free photo organizer tool?
PhotoStructure, digiKam, PhotoPrism, XnView MP, Ente Photos, Mylio Photos offer a free tier or a free self-hosted edition.
Where are these photo organizer software vendors established?
Across 2 countries (Elsewhere 11, North America 2):
PhotoStructure: Not stated by the vendor.
Excire Foto: Not stated by the vendor.
IDimager Photo Supreme: United States.
digiKam: Not stated by the vendor.
LibrePhotos: Not stated by the vendor.
Daminion: Not stated by the vendor.
PhotoPrism: Not stated by the vendor.
Immich: Not stated by the vendor.
XnView MP: Not stated by the vendor.
Ente Photos: United States.
ACDSee Photo Studio: Not stated by the vendor.
Mylio Photos: Not stated by the vendor.
Piwigo: Not stated by the vendor.
Which photo organizer tools are open source?
digiKam, LibrePhotos, Immich, Piwigo.
Which photo organizer tools can you host yourself?
PhotoStructure, LibrePhotos, Daminion, PhotoPrism, Immich, Ente Photos, Piwigo. The other 6 are hosted by the vendor only.
What should you use instead of PhotoStructure?
Excire Foto and IDimager Photo Supreme are the next two on this page. Excire Foto is for Photographers who want AI search over local files with no cloud; IDimager Photo Supreme is for Photographers with large folder trees who want hands-on metadata control.
Who should not buy PhotoStructure?
People who expect a managed cloud with phone backup built in. Automatic organisation, archiving and trash removal belong to PLUS, not to LITE..
Missing from this photo organizer software ranking? Contact us with a short description of the product and its users. Adding it is an editorial choice, and software advice explains what a listing does and does not involve.