Address validation software checks and completes postal addresses as customers type or as lists are cleaned, cutting failed deliveries and returned mail.
Our order favours small independent vendors that publish prices, then weighs setup effort, yearly credit cost, usable trials, coverage beyond the home country and fit with a checkout or a mailing.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What address validation software does
Address validation software compares typed addresses with postal reference data, suggesting corrections and completing missing parts so orders, invoices and mailings reach a real delivery point.
We ranked the 11 address validation tools on setup effort first, then total cost, then data export, then exit, then fit for the buyer. On top of them sits one rule. The top three places are for challengers, which means vendors outside the big names, where the category has any, and the household brands come in from fourth place. Reasons for the choice of tests, and for skipping a score out of ten, can be read on the how we work page.
Credit packs and monthly plans from one Norwich company
Ranked #1 of 11 in Best Address Validation Software in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
The pricing page sets out nine prepaid packs from 500 to 200,000 credits, each valid for a year, beside monthly plans from 2,000 to 100,000 credits that can be changed or cancelled every 30 days.
Extra credits cost 2.9p each and land on the next bill. Public sector and charity pricing, plus the 99.99% availability SLA, sit behind a quote. That leaves clear numbers for modest use and a conversation for anything larger.
What stands out
Credit packs
Monthly plans
Availability SLA
Where it costs you
Unused monthly credits are not carried over, so a quiet month is paid for in full.
The trial length and credit allowance are not stated on the pricing page.
Right for
Small UK teams that want published packs and a monthly option from one vendor
Wrong for
Buyers who need a permanent plan at no cost
United KingdomPublished credit packs valid for 12 months, or monthly plans; larger bundles quoted
Prepaid address credits with no setup or monthly fees
Ranked #2 of 11 in Best Address Validation Software in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Each pack buys a fixed number of credits, from 200 up to 32,100, and the unit rate falls as the pack grows from 4.5p to 2.8p per credit. A trial gives 50 credits for one month without a card.
UK registered charities can apply for a discount the page puts at up to 90% against standard licensing. Anyone with unusual licensing needs is sent to a booked call instead of a price table.
What stands out
Prepaid packs
One-month trial
Charity discount
Where it costs you
Credits expire after 12 months, so a seasonal shop can lose its balance.
Custom licensing and SLAs have no published price and need a sales call.
Right for
Low-volume UK sites that want to buy credits once and forget billing
Wrong for
Teams needing guaranteed uptime terms in writing from day one
United KingdomPublished prepaid packs with credits valid for a year; large volumes by sales call
Credit-based lookups with a 30-day trial and no daily call limit
Ranked #3 of 11 in Best Address Validation Software in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
The pricing page registers the company in England and Wales and quotes London phone hours. Credits are the unit: an address validation costs one, while email, phone and bank validation cost three quarters of a credit.
High-volume usage starts from 1p per lookup, and enterprise plans add custom integrations and SLAs through a quote request. The thirty-day trial carries free support, which helps a small team wiring it into a checkout.
What stands out
Credit lookups
30-day trial
Email and phone checks
Where it costs you
No plan limits are published, so the ceiling on a starter plan is unclear.
Only the starting price is shown for tailored plans.
Right for
UK merchants wanting to test address, email and phone checks in one trial
Wrong for
Buyers who want every plan limit on the page before signing up
United KingdomAnnual starter plan and per-lookup high-volume rates published; tailored plans quoted
Dutch address API sold in yearly tiers, 14 countries
Ranked #4 of 11 in Best Address Validation Software in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
Tier prices run from the first to the fifth tier, each including validations, and the Dutch postcode API per-request rate drops from 0.005 to 0.00155 euros across the ladder.
The National Postcode Database is a separate product, the SLA is listed at a flat sum plus 2%, and the DORA addendum has its own price. Modules exist for PHP, Perl and Python, and the site says its servers are in the EU.
What stands out
Yearly tiers
Dutch postcode API
Shop plugins
Where it costs you
Autocomplete covers 14 countries, far fewer than global verification suites.
An SLA and the DORA addendum are priced as separate extras.
Right for
Shops selling into the Netherlands that run Magento, WooCommerce or Shopware
Wrong for
Companies that need worldwide address verification from one contract
NetherlandsPublished yearly tiers with falling per-request rates; extra SLA and database fees listed
UK-focused address autofill with UPRN and geocodes included
Ranked #5 of 11 in Best Address Validation Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
The home page describes a SaaS address data platform with UK and international data, reached through plugins, an API or integrations naming Shopify, WooCommerce and Salesforce.
Beyond capture it lists postcode lookup, phone and email validation, cleansing of existing databases and downloadable address lists. The trial gives one month and 50 credits without a card. Pricing sits behind the trial button, so there is nothing to compare first.
What stands out
UPRN included
Autofill plugins
Address cleansing
Where it costs you
Plans and prices are not listed on the home page.
The trial is limited to 50 credits for one month.
Right for
UK teams wanting UPRN and geocodes bundled into address capture
Wrong for
Buyers who want to compare prices before creating an account
United KingdomPlans reached via the trial button; one-month trial with 50 credits
US-based address API with 42-day trial and ZIP9 geocodes
Ranked #6 of 11 in Best Address Validation Software in 2026.
Published pricingNorth America
The Professional plan comes in lookup tiers of 12K, 60K, 120K, 300K, 600K and one million per year, with the 12K tier marked popular. It includes full API access, geocodes down to ZIP9 and up to 55 metadata points per address.
Custom plans add lookup speed, legal terms, data privacy and support terms by quote, and enterprise and private-label pages carry no prices. Support runs on Mountain Time.
What stands out
ZIP9 geocodes
Lookup tiers
42-day trial
Where it costs you
Only the yearly price is displayed, though monthly billing is offered.
The currency code is not stated beside the price.
Right for
Mid-size senders needing high lookup speed and rich metadata per address
Wrong for
Teams wanting a visible monthly price without a quote
United StatesYearly Professional tiers published; custom and enterprise plans quoted
Geocoding service with daily free lookups and an on-premises option
Ranked #7 of 11 in Best Address Validation Software in 2026.
Self-hostablePublished pricingNorth America
Pay-as-you-go allows one user, five API keys and 1,000 lookups per minute, while Flex gives monthly credit tiers of 350, 650 or 850 that roll over.
The Unlimited tier is a dedicated instance with no rate limit, extra instances cost a monthly sum, and added users cost more. The on-premises option is self-hosted with quarterly data updates and a price on request. The agreement is governed by Virginia law.
What stands out
Daily free lookups
Dedicated instance
On-premises
Where it costs you
Validation functions are absent from the facts we gathered.
Extra users on Flex or Unlimited are billed on top.
Right for
Developers who need geocoding at volume and a self-hosted route
Wrong for
Buyers whose main need is postal address verification
United StatesPay-as-you-go with daily free lookups, monthly credit tiers, dedicated instances and quoted on-premises
Euro pay-as-you-go lookups across capture, verification and geocoding
Ranked #8 of 11 in Best Address Validation Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Three plans differ in lookup rates: address capture for the UK is priced below the rest of the world, verification has its own rate, and email, phone and maps lookups are cheaper or dearer again.
Credits last 12 months and prices exclude VAT. The Bespoke plan covers flexible licences, custom integrations, technical support and SLAs by contact only. The pages read do not state the country in words.
What stands out
Euro plans
Per-lookup rates
45-day trial
Where it costs you
Rates differ per function, so the monthly bill depends on your mix.
The trial gives no stated credit allowance.
Right for
Teams buying capture, verification and geocoding on one pay-as-you-go account
Wrong for
Buyers needing an SLA at a published price
Not stated by the vendorPublished euro plans with per-lookup rates and 12-month credits; bespoke plan quoted
Real-time and batch verification, CASS and NCOA, over 245 countries
Ranked #9 of 11 in Best Address Validation Software in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
The page covers an address verification API, batch address verification, CASS certification, NCOA and USPS options, and international verification graded A+, A or B by the level of detail returned.
The copyright line names Experian Information Solutions, Inc., and the site selector lists a US site, but the country of establishment is not stated. Every route ends in a Get started form, so cost and testing wait for a salesperson.
What stands out
CASS certified
Batch verification
A+ to B grading
Where it costs you
No prices, plans or trial are shown on the page.
The page gives 245 countries in one place and 240 in another.
Right for
Large mailers needing CASS and NCOA processing under one contract
Wrong for
Developers wanting to test an API on their own first
Not stated by the vendorQuoted through a contact form; no plans or trial shown
Print and mail API where address checks sit beside postage
Ranked #10 of 11 in Best Address Validation Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Plans are priced by yearly mailing volume and user count: Developer allows 6,000 mailings and one user, Startup 75,000 and three users, Growth 150,000 and five, and Enterprise goes beyond that by custom quote.
Per-piece rates fall on the higher plans, and the currency code is not stated. A 30-day Enterprise trial excludes print and postage. The terms name Lob.com, Inc. and are governed by California law.
What stands out
Mailing API
Per-piece postage
Enterprise trial
Where it costs you
No address verification features appear in the facts we gathered.
Print and postage are charged per piece on top of the plan fee.
Right for
Senders who mail postcards, letters or cheques through one API
Wrong for
Buyers who only need to check addresses, not send mail
Not stated by the vendorPublished monthly plans plus per-piece rates; enterprise quoted, 30-day trial
Location platform priced per tracked user or per API call
Ranked #11 of 11 in Best Address Validation Software in 2026.
Published pricingElsewhere
Protect and Optimize start at a rate per monthly tracked user, Engage at half that, and the API lines run per 1,000 calls for Reveal, Core Maps and Premium Maps. All prices are starting figures and the currency is not stated.
Agreements set a monthly committed quota, with volume rates negotiated, and the terms are governed by New York law. Treat it as a location platform that may include address lookups.
What stands out
Per-user pricing
Per-call pricing
Annual commitments
Where it costs you
Address verification features are not mentioned on the pages we read.
The length and terms of the validation period are not given.
Right for
Teams already tracking location data who want address lookups from that vendor
Wrong for
Anyone buying a plain address checker with a monthly price
Not stated by the vendorStarting rates published per tracked user or per 1,000 calls; annual commitments with a sales route
Address validation software compares typed addresses with postal reference data, suggesting corrections and completing missing parts so orders, invoices and mailings reach a real delivery point. Rather than compare features, settle the following points one after another.
01
Start with pricing transparency
2 vendors on this page sell by quote, while 9 publish a pricing model you can read today: Postcoder, getAddress.io, Fetchify, Postcode.nl, Smarty, Geocodio, Loqate, Lob, Radar Address Verification.
02
Decide how much the jurisdiction matters
Check the vendor's home market (Europe 5, Elsewhere 4, North America 2), because that is where subpoenas and data requests arrive first, whatever region holds your files.
Address validation software: what one lookup costs
Vendors count different things. Postcoder and getAddress.io sell credits that expire after 12 months, Smarty sells yearly lookup tiers, Postcode.nl sells yearly tiers where the per-request rate falls, and Geocodio lets pay-as-you-go users run 2,500 lookups a day. Fetchify charges one credit for an address check but three quarters of a credit for email, phone or bank checks, and Loqate gives each function its own rate.
Convert every quote to your own monthly lookups, retries included, including retries when a customer edits an address, then compare the yearly total. A shop with seasonal peaks loses more to expiring credits than one with steady traffic, and a developer testing a prototype may never leave the daily allowance.
Count lookups per order including edits and retries
Convert each quote to a yearly total
Check whether credits expire or roll over
Trials worth using before a contract
Trials differ more than prices. Fetchify offers 30 days with 1,000 credits and no daily call limit, Smarty gives 42 days with 1,000 lookups, Loqate advertises 45 days without saying how many credits, and getAddress.io and Ideal Postcodes each give one month with 50 credits. Postcode.nl allows six months of limited test access.
Postcoder offers a trial but states neither length nor allowance. Experian Address Validation shows no trial at all, only a contact form. Test with real addresses taken from your own database, including messy and foreign ones, and note how many credits a realistic day of use consumes in your logs, since a long trial with few credits proves little.
Run your messiest real addresses through the trial
Note credits used per realistic day of traffic
Ask for allowance and length when the page omits them
Coverage, extra data and the country you ship to
A tool that excels on one country may be thin elsewhere, and a vendor's strength at home says little about your overseas customers. Postcode.nl covers 14 countries and is deepest in the Netherlands, Ideal Postcodes includes UPRN and geocodes for UK addresses, Smarty adds ZIP9 geocodes and up to 55 metadata points, and Experian Address Validation claims over 245 countries and territories with A+, A or B grades.
Loqate prices UK capture below the rest of the world. Write down the countries your customers live in and the extras you need, such as geocodes or identifiers, then check each vendor's own pages rather than assuming a global reach from a marketing line or a logo wall, and compare a sample of foreign addresses side by side.
List your top shipping countries first
Check which extra identifiers come included
Ask how international results are graded
Batch cleansing, SLAs and when a mailer is not a validator
Two needs get mixed up: validating at the point of entry and cleaning a stored list. Ideal Postcodes lists cleansing of existing databases, Experian Address Validation offers batch verification with CASS and NCOA, and Geocodio sells a dedicated instance and an on-premises route.
Lob is a print and mail platform where postage is billed per piece, so it suits sending mail, not checking a stored list of customers. Service levels also differ: Postcoder ties its 99.99% availability SLA to quoted deals, and Postcode.nl lists an SLA as an extra. Decide first which job you hire the tool for before you compare, because a vendor strong at one may only touch the other.
Separate checkout validation from list cleaning
Ask who pays for the SLA and at what volume
Confirm a mailer also checks addresses before relying on it
What goes wrong most often when buying address validation software
Buying a large prepaid pack for a seasonal business and letting a good part of the credits lapse after twelve months.
Assuming a geocoder such as Geocodio also validates postal addresses, when what it publishes describes lookups and geocoding.
Judging a trial by its length and ignoring how many credits it includes for a realistic week of traffic.
Comparing a UK specialist with a global suite on price alone, then discovering the cheaper tool does not cover the countries you ship to.
07
Frequently asked questions
7 answers
What is the best address validation software in 2026?
First of 11 on this page is Postcoder. Postcoder is run by Allies Computing Ltd in Norwich and publishes both prepaid packs and monthly plans, so a small team can price its first year without a call.
Packs expire after 12 months and monthly credits do not carry over. Only a trial is offered, with no stated length or allowance, and the 99.99% SLA belongs to quoted higher-volume deals.
Which address validation tools publish their pricing?
9 of the 11, with the pricing model each one publishes:
Postcoder: Published credit packs valid for 12 months, or monthly plans; larger bundles quoted.
getAddress.io: Published prepaid packs with credits valid for a year; large volumes by sales call.
Fetchify: Annual starter plan and per-lookup high-volume rates published; tailored plans quoted.
Postcode.nl: Published yearly tiers with falling per-request rates; extra SLA and database fees listed.
Smarty: Yearly Professional tiers published; custom and enterprise plans quoted.
Geocodio: Pay-as-you-go with daily free lookups, monthly credit tiers, dedicated instances and quoted on-premises.
Loqate: Published euro plans with per-lookup rates and 12-month credits; bespoke plan quoted.
Lob: Published monthly plans plus per-piece rates; enterprise quoted, 30-day trial.
Radar Address Verification: Starting rates published per tracked user or per 1,000 calls; annual commitments with a sales route.
Everything else on the list is priced on request.
Is there a free address validation tool?
No, every product on this page is paid.
Where are these address validation software vendors established?
In 4 countries across 3 regions: Europe 5, Elsewhere 4, North America 2.
Postcoder: United Kingdom.
getAddress.io: United Kingdom.
Fetchify: United Kingdom.
Postcode.nl: Netherlands.
Ideal Postcodes: United Kingdom.
Smarty: United States.
Geocodio: United States.
Loqate: Not stated by the vendor.
Experian Address Validation: Not stated by the vendor.
Lob: Not stated by the vendor.
Radar Address Verification: Not stated by the vendor.
Which address validation tools can you host yourself?
Geocodio. The other 10 are hosted by the vendor only.
What should you use instead of Postcoder?
The next in line are getAddress.io, aimed at Low-volume UK sites that want to buy credits once and forget billing, and Fetchify, aimed at UK merchants wanting to test address, email and phone checks in one trial.
Who should not buy Postcoder?
Buyers who need a permanent plan at no cost. Unused monthly credits are not carried over, so a quiet month is paid for in full..
If a address validation software product of yours deserves a place among these 11, say what it is and who it serves. Inclusion rests with us alone. See software advice for the rules.