EV charging apps find a charger, start a session and pay for it, from a phone or a card. This page ranks thirteen for drivers and the businesses behind the chargers.
We favour small independent vendors, then judge setup effort, what a session really costs, how easily you leave, and whether the vendor works without a partner.
Vendors can pay for more visibility on this website, for example a higher place in a ranking or more room on a page. Commercial relationships can also affect which products we feature and how prominently. Every vendor link is marked the same, whatever the arrangement behind it. How that works.
In short
What EV charging apps software does
An EV charging app locates public chargers, shows availability, starts and pays for sessions, and sometimes roams across networks, while operator platforms behind it manage charge points, tariffs and drivers.
Our order comes from five tests, taken in turn: effort to set up, what you really pay, what happens to your data on the way out, how locked in you are, and the intended customer. Vendors outside the best-known names fill places 1 to 3 when they exist, and the big brands rank from place 4. Our how we work page explains the choice of these five and why we give no mark out of ten.
One app and RFID card for chargers across UK and European networks
Ranked #1 of 13 in Best EV Charging Apps in 2026.
Free tierPublished pricingEurope
The offer is deliberately narrow: an app, an Electrocard for tap-to-charge, live charger availability, route planning, and navigation to chargers through Android Auto and Apple CarPlay.
Partners named on the site include Ionity, Shell Recharge, InstaVolt and Fastned, and Octopus Go customers get a 5% discount, Intelligent Octopus Go customers 8%. It opens the list because a driver can start without a contract or a monthly fee. What it cannot show you in advance is the per-session price.
What stands out
RFID Electrocard
No subscription fees
Route planning
Where it costs you
The pages read give no currency prices, so session costs can only be checked inside the app.
Coverage figures are the vendor's own claims and say nothing about how each partner network behaves at the charger.
Right for
Drivers who roam across several UK and European networks and want one card
Wrong for
Drivers who charge almost only at one operator's own stations
United KingdomFree app and Electrocard; no subscription or transaction fees, session rates set by the charge point operators
UK charger map with filters, route planning and in-app payment
Ranked #2 of 13 in Best EV Charging Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Zapmap joins discovery to payment. The web map and app filter by power and availability and help plan longer routes, while Pay with Zapmap lets a driver settle a session in the same app, on the vendor's count at 80,000-plus chargers.
Premium adds discounts at qualifying charge points and an ad-free in-car dashboard version with no usage limits. It ranks second: a single-product company, placed behind Electroverse only because its base pricing is stated less clearly.
What stands out
UK charger map
Pay with Zapmap
Premium discounts
Where it costs you
No Premium price appears on the pages read, so the value of the discounts cannot be weighed in advance.
The map is described as UK-wide, so a driver planning mostly continental trips has no stated coverage to rely on.
Right for
UK drivers who want one place to find, filter and pay at chargers
Wrong for
Drivers whose charging happens mostly outside the United Kingdom
United KingdomMap and app for finding chargers, optional Zapmap Premium subscription, price not shown on the pages read
Ultrafast public charging stations with an app that lists all providers
Ranked #3 of 13 in Best EV Charging Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Fastned is a charging operator first and an app second. The stations are the product, and the homepage asks for a payment method before anything else, which points to pay-per-use.
The app helps find locations across Europe from all providers, and the site links a separate Autocharge page. Fastned also states it is a Certified B Corporation. It ranks third because it is a specialist operator, but its facts show no price at all.
What stands out
Ultrafast stations
Autocharge
Renewable electricity
Where it costs you
The pages read show no prices or currency, so the cost per session cannot be compared before arriving.
Autocharge sits on a separate linked page that was not read, so how it works away from Fastned stations is unknown.
Right for
Drivers who do most fast charging at one dedicated station operator
Wrong for
Drivers wanting a single account that pays at rival networks
Not stated by the vendorPay per use, with the payment method chosen as the first step on the homepage; amounts and subscriptions not shown
Brand-open high-power network with an app, plans and card-paid Direct
Ranked #4 of 13 in Best EV Charging Apps in 2026.
Published pricingEurope
There are two ways in. Power and Motion subscriptions run monthly or as a 365 annual plan, and new monthly subscribers get a limited-time 15 kWh charging credit that the 365 plans do not receive. IONITY Direct needs no registration at all.
The subscriptions page lists kWh prices from 0,39 EUR for the 365 plans, the app and Direct, plus separate monthly fees. Because the labels are uneven, a driver should check the live country page before committing.
What stands out
908 locations
Power and Motion plans
IONITY Direct
Where it costs you
Prices are described as minimums that may change, and some labels on the subscriptions page are inconsistent.
Only IONITY locations are covered, so the network cannot replace a roaming card on its own.
Right for
Long-distance drivers of any brand who pass Ionity sites on regular routes
Wrong for
Drivers who want one account that also covers rival networks
GermanyPublished per-kWh rates that vary by plan; monthly and annual subscriptions, or Direct pay-per-use without registration
Charging platform with a driver app, roaming and operator tools
Ranked #5 of 13 in Best EV Charging Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Monta spans both sides of the plug. The site claims roaming to over 1 million charge points, support for 900+ charger models and OCPP-native hardware, and it lists grid services with 54,000+ chargers enrolled across the Nordics and UK.
For a driver the visible parts are the Monta Charge app and white-label apps built for operators. The breadth is the drawback: much of the page speaks to operators, so a driver must dig for the driver terms.
What stands out
Monta Charge app
Roaming
OCPP-native
Where it costs you
The homepage shows no prices or plan names, so the driver cost is unknown until the pricing page is opened.
Neither the registered office nor the owner is stated, so the country of the company stays unconfirmed.
Right for
Operators and drivers who want roaming, apps and fleet charging on one platform
Wrong for
Drivers who only want a plain public charger map
Not stated by the vendorA pricing page is linked from the homepage; plan names and amounts are not shown there and no trial is mentioned
Driver app tied to a hardware-agnostic charging network for operators
Ranked #6 of 13 in Best EV Charging Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The driver side is simple and the business side is broad. The app lets a driver sign in, keep favourite stations, review charging history and pay from a balance, and it can filter nearby chargers by compatibility.
For organisations the site names EvGateway Network, White Label, Fleet and Turnkey Solutions and calls them hardware-agnostic. It ranks sixth: a coherent offer, but one whose price is hidden behind Request Demo and Contact Sales.
What stands out
Driver app
White Label
Fleet solutions
Where it costs you
The site shows no prices, plan names or trial, so costs only come out of a demo or a sales call.
The site describes payment from an in-app balance, not a card charge per session.
Right for
Drivers and operators in the United States wanting a white-label route
Wrong for
Buyers who need published prices before talking to anyone
United StatesNo amounts or plan names shown; Request Demo and Contact Sales are the routes in, drivers pay from an in-app balance
North American network and driver app from a Schneider Electric company
Ranked #7 of 13 in Best EV Charging Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
EV Connect is two products under one roof. Drivers get an app that starts a session by QR code at EV Connect Network stations, with roaming partners bringing the claimed total to 140,000+ chargers in North America.
Operators get Software+, an all-inclusive, OCPP-compatible charging management platform for networks from a few stations to nationwide. Bundling the hardware and a one-year subscription is convenient, but it also ties the software to a Schneider Electric purchase.
What stands out
QR-code start
Software+
Roaming partners
Where it costs you
The site shows no prices or trial, so the only route to a number is the quote request form.
A parent company is named, so the vendor is not an independent business.
Right for
North American drivers and site owners already on Schneider Charge Pro hardware
Wrong for
Independent buyers who want a vendor with no hardware parent
United StatesQuoted through a request form; Schneider Charge Pro hardware includes a one-year Software+ subscription
Canadian network with 150 kW and 350 kW chargers, plus an app
Ranked #8 of 13 in Best EV Charging Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestNorth America
The app is the working part: it finds a station, starts and ends a session, tracks charging and takes contactless payment in-app, with Plug&Charge listed. Charger classes are Ultra-Fast 150 kW and Hyper-Fast 350 kW.
The company's own page puts its start at July 2018 and its base in Ajax, Ontario. Pass+ is the only subscription named, and it comes without a stated price, so the arithmetic is left to the driver.
What stands out
Ultra-Fast 150 kW
Hyper-Fast 350 kW
Plug&Charge
Where it costs you
The Pass+ subscription is mentioned without a price or terms, so its saving cannot be calculated.
The site shows a 6,200+ charger figure for North America, which does not isolate the Canadian network.
Right for
Canadian drivers who plan trips around fast chargers of one network
Wrong for
Drivers who need coverage in many networks from one login
CanadaPass+ monthly subscription gives discounted pricing; the cost and terms are not stated on the page read
US Hyper-Fast network with Guest, Pass and Pass+ payment options
Ranked #9 of 13 in Best EV Charging Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Three ways to pay are on the pricing page: Guest by card, then Pass and Pass+ as monthly subscriptions. The page claims about 25% savings on Pass+ but shows no amounts.
Time-of-use pricing applies at select stations, idle fees may apply, and the card receives a temporary hold. The app finds stations and manages charging, with Plug&Charge as a feature. The cost is an estimate until the live station price is seen.
What stands out
Hyper-Fast chargers
Pass+ plan
Plug&Charge
Where it costs you
Time-of-use pricing at select stations and possible idle fees make the final bill harder to predict.
A temporary card hold in $20 increments is placed on the card at the start of a session.
Right for
US drivers who rely on a single large fast-charging network
Wrong for
Drivers who want a vendor with a stated owner and entity
Not stated by the vendorGuest pay-as-you-go by card, plus Pass and Pass+ monthly plans; amounts are not shown on the pricing page
Volkswagen Group charging brand with a home wallbox and electricity tariffs
Ranked #10 of 13 in Best EV Charging Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
Elli bundles three things: a Charger 2 wallbox for the home, charging tariffs plus Volkswagen Naturstrom electricity including the smart Naturstrom Connect tariff, and public charging the site puts above one million points.
Features named are charging from your own solar power, charging on a dynamic tariff and Vehicle-to-Grid. The German homepage was the source read, and it lists no prices. The result is a package suited to a household more than to a traveller.
What stands out
Elli Charger 2
Naturstrom tariffs
Vehicle-to-Grid
Where it costs you
The site shows no prices or currency, so a driver cannot compare the tariffs with those of other apps.
It belongs to a car-maker group, which means the app and tariffs are one part of a wider group offer.
Right for
Volkswagen-ecosystem drivers who want a wallbox, tariff and public charging together
Wrong for
Drivers wanting an independent app with no group ties
GermanyCharging and Volkswagen Naturstrom tariffs, plus a purchasable wallbox; no amounts or trial on the page read
eMobility platform for operators and eMSPs, with a small driver app
Ranked #11 of 13 in Best EV Charging Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestEurope
GreenFlux sells a single platform and says it has 14+ years in the EV sector. Charge point management covers thousands of charge points and tokens through a portal or APIs, and smart charging algorithms respond to energy demand in real time.
The driver items, global roaming and an EV Driver app, are mentioned without description. It sits low in an apps ranking because the buyer is an operator, which is also why prices are reached through Contact us.
What stands out
Charge point management
Smart charging
Global roaming
Where it costs you
The driver app and roaming are listed without details, so there is little to evaluate for an individual driver.
The site shows no prices or trial, so a business buyer must book a demo to learn the cost.
Right for
Operators and eMSPs needing smart charging and token management on one platform
Wrong for
Individual drivers looking for a charger map or payment app
NetherlandsNo amounts, plan names or trial shown; Contact us and Book a demo are the routes in
Smart home EV chargers with an app for scheduling and tracking
Ranked #12 of 13 in Best EV Charging Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
Wallbox belongs here only through its app. The site describes a Wallbox app and platforms for managing charging, scheduling and tracking, solar-powered charging, and dynamic load management across up to 50 chargers on one circuit.
The public charging offer, DC fast and commercial AC, is marketed to businesses and site operators. A 3-year warranty is stated. Prices sit behind a separate shop, so the cost of getting started is not visible on the main site.
What stands out
Home chargers
Load management
Solar charging
Where it costs you
No public charging network is described for drivers, so it cannot find or pay for charging away from home.
The site shows no prices, and the only location shown is a United States country selector.
Right for
Households wanting a smart home charger with scheduling in an app
Wrong for
Drivers who mainly charge at public stations on the road
Not stated by the vendorNo prices on the main site; a Shop now link leads to a separate shop, no trial mentioned
Charging hardware and care plans for businesses and operators
Ranked #13 of 13 in Best EV Charging Apps in 2026.
Pricing on requestElsewhere
EVBox is hardware. The site names Troniq Compact Modular (40 to 200 kW), Troniq High Power Modular (160 to 400 kW), Troniq Ultra High Power (up to 1 MW), PowerHub (up to 480 kW), DepotBox and Nomad (up to 80 kW).
Service options are a basic warranty plus Essential, Extended and Complete care plans, and the claims are 19+ years of experience and 99% availability. It is listed last, as context for buyers.
What stands out
Modular DC hardware
Care plans
Depot charging
Where it costs you
There is no driver app or driver network on the pages read, so it does nothing for a driver searching for a charger.
The about page states no headquarters, legal entity or owner, so the vendor is hard to verify.
Right for
Businesses and operators buying charge point hardware with maintenance plans
Wrong for
Drivers looking for an app to find or pay
Not stated by the vendorQuoted through a request form; the site shows no prices or currency
An EV charging app locates public chargers, shows availability, starts and pays for sessions, and sometimes roams across networks, while operator platforms behind it manage charge points, tariffs and drivers. The differences that matter are rarely in the feature list, so this is the order we would work through them.
01
Work out how much a sales call is worth to you
The split is 2 published against 11 quoted. If you want to compare numbers first, start with Electroverse, Ionity.
02
Weigh the vendor's home jurisdiction
These 13 vendors are established in 6 countries across 3 regions (Europe 5, Elsewhere 5, North America 3). That decides whose disclosure law applies to what the vendor holds, wherever the servers are.
How to choose among EV charging apps for the way you drive
Start with how many networks you actually use, because the apps in this list split into three kinds. Roaming apps such as Electroverse and Zap-Map sell one login for many operators. Network apps such as Fastned, Ionity and Electrify Canada belong to one operator's stations. Platform apps such as Monta and EVgateway front a business product for charge point operators.
Electroverse claims over 1,300 networks and an Electrocard for tap-to-charge, while Zap-Map offers in-app payment on a UK-wide map. Fastned and Ionity describe their own stations. Match the kind to your route before comparing anything else, because a card that works on paper may not cover the stations on the roads you drive every week, and a single-network app can be cheaper when your routes are fixed.
List the networks you passed on your last ten charging stops
Check that the app or card covers your own country, not just a headline total
Decide whether one login or the best single-network rate matters more
What EV charging apps really cost per session
The line on a pricing page is rarely the number on the receipt. Electroverse states no subscription or transaction fees and says rates come from the charge point operators. Ionity calls its subscription prices minimums that may change. Electrify America mentions time-of-use pricing at select stations, idle fees and a temporary authorization hold in $20 increments.
Electrify Canada and Zap-Map both sell a monthly upgrade without a price on the pages read. Several vendors here show no price at all. Compare a full session at your usual power level, and include monthly fees, idle time and card holds before judging a plan, since the listed rate is only one line of the final charge and two plans can swap places once those extras are counted.
Write down the live per-kWh rate shown in the app at your usual station
Add any monthly fee and divide it by sessions per month
Ask whether idle fees or card holds apply at the stations you use
Where Monta, GreenFlux and EVConnect fit in an EV charging apps shortlist
Some names on any EV charging apps list are really operator software with a driver app attached. Monta sells a platform whose first audience is the operator, with driver roaming as one module. GreenFlux sells one eMobility platform to operators and eMSPs, and mentions an EV Driver app only briefly. EVConnect pairs a QR-code driver app with Software+, a charging management platform.
These can suit a company running its own chargers, but a private driver gets little from them directly. Ask which side of the product the pricing page actually describes, because the driver terms may sit on a separate page, and a business demo is not the same thing as an app a household can download and use today.
Read the first screen of the site and see who the headline addresses
Look for driver terms separate from operator plans
Check whether a demo is the only way to learn the price
Home hardware and group offers: Wallbox, EVBox and Elli
Hardware makers appear in searches for charging apps because their chargers come with software, but their buyer is different. Wallbox sells smart home chargers with an app for scheduling and tracking, and EVBox names modular DC hardware, PowerHub and care plans for businesses. Neither describes a public network for drivers.
Elli sits in between: it is a Volkswagen Group brand with a Charger 2 wallbox, tariffs and a claim of more than one million public charging points. Read the product pages before assuming an app comes with roaming. A charger vendor's app will usually manage the charger you bought, not pay for charging elsewhere, and the two jobs have different costs, warranties and exit routes when you replace the charger.
Confirm whether the app manages your own charger or pays at public ones
Check the warranty and care plan terms stated for the hardware
Note which group or parent company the brand belongs to
What goes wrong most often when buying EV charging apps software
Treating a claimed charger total as proof that the cards and apps work at the stations on your own commute.
Choosing a monthly Pass or Premium plan before checking the idle fees, holds and time-of-use rates that sit around it.
Comparing an operator's own app with a roaming app as if both pay at the same set of stations.
Shortlisting charger manufacturers such as Wallbox or EVBox when what you need is an app for public charging.
07
Frequently asked questions
6 answers
What is the best EV charging apps in 2026?
Our ranking of 13 puts Electroverse first. Electroverse is run by Octopus Electroverse Ltd, registered in England and Wales, and offers one app and one RFID card for chargers on many networks.
Joining costs nothing and the site states there are no subscription or transaction fees, so the driver pays the operator's rate. The pages show no currency prices, so a session's cost is only visible in the app.
Which EV charging apps tools publish their pricing?
2 out of 13 state a price model on their own site:
Electroverse: Free app and Electrocard; no subscription or transaction fees, session rates set by the charge point operators.
Ionity: Published per-kWh rates that vary by plan; monthly and annual subscriptions, or Direct pay-per-use without registration.
11 vendors do not print a price.
Is there a free EV charging apps tool?
Electroverse have a free plan or free self-hosted edition.
Where are these EV charging apps vendors established?
Across 6 countries (Europe 5, Elsewhere 5, North America 3):
Electroverse: United Kingdom.
Zap-Map: United Kingdom.
Fastned: Not stated by the vendor.
Ionity: Germany.
Monta: Not stated by the vendor.
EVgateway: United States.
EVConnect: United States.
Electrify Canada: Canada.
Electrify America: Not stated by the vendor.
Elli: Germany.
GreenFlux: Netherlands.
Wallbox: Not stated by the vendor.
EVBox: Not stated by the vendor.
What should you use instead of Electroverse?
Second is Zap-Map, which suits UK drivers who want one place to find, filter and pay at chargers. Third is Fastned, which suits Drivers who do most fast charging at one dedicated station operator.
Who should not buy Electroverse?
Drivers who charge almost only at one operator's own stations. The pages read give no currency prices, so session costs can only be checked inside the app..
If a EV charging apps product of yours deserves a place among these 13, say what it is and who it serves. Inclusion rests with us alone. See software advice for the rules.